Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: September 25, 2009
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 133 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
56
Mixed:
55
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AngelaFNov 4, 2009
Interesting take on the future obsession for physical perfection.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
bmdunhamMar 4, 2012
Not all of the elements work, but Bruce Willis does a really good job, the setting and "what if" examination of a society in which robot avatars take over human interaction is reminiscent of blade runner and other pulp sci-fi movies, and theNot all of the elements work, but Bruce Willis does a really good job, the setting and "what if" examination of a society in which robot avatars take over human interaction is reminiscent of blade runner and other pulp sci-fi movies, and the special effects are good enough to not get in the way. Is it perfect? No. Is it better than most critics say it is? Yeah. I say check it out Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KennethS.Sep 25, 2009
Slightly predictable yet highly entertaining, and the inclusion of an underlying message make Surrogates the best film of the past few months. Definitely worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottD.Sep 26, 2009
A much better movie than some reviews indicate. No, there's nothing truly original in the story; yes, it's sort of a mish-mash of 'I, Robot', 'The Matrix' and others. But Mostow gives the movie a clean and crisp A much better movie than some reviews indicate. No, there's nothing truly original in the story; yes, it's sort of a mish-mash of 'I, Robot', 'The Matrix' and others. But Mostow gives the movie a clean and crisp direction. And he slows down enough to make the story surprisingly moving in spots. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlCOct 15, 2009
Clearly one of the best movies I've seen this year. Intriguing idea, very well acted, especially given the distinction between humans and surrogates, with same actor. Bruce Willis was Bruce Willis in action but with more depth. Some of Clearly one of the best movies I've seen this year. Intriguing idea, very well acted, especially given the distinction between humans and surrogates, with same actor. Bruce Willis was Bruce Willis in action but with more depth. Some of the new faces---e.g., James Ginty---did excellent niche work. As technology advances, this could be a classic forerunner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BenBOct 20, 2009
They idea of surrogacy is the star of this film, and in what I think was a good move by those involved in the production, surrogacy was given the most screen time, even more so than was the detective story. If you can keep yourself from They idea of surrogacy is the star of this film, and in what I think was a good move by those involved in the production, surrogacy was given the most screen time, even more so than was the detective story. If you can keep yourself from being too concerned with the plot of the story, you will find that you can walk out of the movie with a lot more if you are just willing to sit down and enjoy the move for what it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ColinOct 3, 2009
Good movie. I enjoyed it. It has some good action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EricEOct 6, 2009
Decent enough movie. I think it is worth watching. Nothing great about it, the characters could have been developed a bit deeper. Saw the ending coming a mile away. But kept me interested. Am also reading the comic right now (just the first Decent enough movie. I think it is worth watching. Nothing great about it, the characters could have been developed a bit deeper. Saw the ending coming a mile away. But kept me interested. Am also reading the comic right now (just the first one so far). Seems to be very similar to the movie or vice versa. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackZOct 2, 2009
'Surrogates, which borrows tone and content freely from "I, Robot," is all windup and no pitch.' ---Philadelphia Inquirer David Hiltbrand No offense. But David, do you even bother do a background check before you write shits down? 'Surrogates, which borrows tone and content freely from "I, Robot," is all windup and no pitch.' ---Philadelphia Inquirer David Hiltbrand No offense. But David, do you even bother do a background check before you write shits down? This film is based on a five-issue comic book series. If you have problem with "borrowing stuff from i robot", go flame on Robert Venditti. I for one seriously doubt the score you give to this film because you just write shits before you even do your homework. immature and irresponsible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevenL.Sep 27, 2009
All say this once this movie was based off a comic that came out in the early 90's so it did not rip off I'Robot it had an original story and they stayed faithful to 90% of the comic which is more than most comic based movies All say this once this movie was based off a comic that came out in the early 90's so it did not rip off I'Robot it had an original story and they stayed faithful to 90% of the comic which is more than most comic based movies *cough* I Am Legend *cough* So I won't give away the movie but really if you think about it the technology we are developing right now is stuff they talked about in the movie like machines being controlled by thought its being developed and japans working on it to use in video games and robot technology is advancing at a steady rate so we could possibly have the robot society they talked about in the movie in the next 40-50 years so it made you think would you just control a robot that looks perfect has better abilities that you can control from your house or would you stay as you are with all your imperfections Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasS.Sep 27, 2009
This movie's fun, and has more brains behind it than your average big-budget sci-fi actioner. In fact, when it comes to robot movies, and pseudo-philosophical humanity vs. technology fare, this is better than most. Is it "Blade This movie's fun, and has more brains behind it than your average big-budget sci-fi actioner. In fact, when it comes to robot movies, and pseudo-philosophical humanity vs. technology fare, this is better than most. Is it "Blade Runner".. no, but frankly I liked it a helluva lot better than "I, Robot," which seems to be the go-to comparison. Bruce Willis is great in it, and while the plot is fairly predictable, it's what I like to refer to as "predictable, in a good way." Had it tried to throw me for a loop just for the sake of having a zany plot twist, I would've probably hated it. It went where it was logically meant to go, and I had a blast watching it get there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Mr.BlakeSep 27, 2009
I genuinely liked this film. Being based on the graphic novel and having read it, I thought they did a pretty good job turning it into a movie. There were a few changes that I could have done without, and there were some things left I genuinely liked this film. Being based on the graphic novel and having read it, I thought they did a pretty good job turning it into a movie. There were a few changes that I could have done without, and there were some things left unexplained that I wish went into more detail. But overall, good sci-fi. Check this one out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonD.Sep 28, 2009
I must say that I actually enjoyed this movie. I did not go into it expecting the next great action movie. I went in wanting good action and good special effects. I was very pleased. Could it of been better? Of course it could of but overall I must say that I actually enjoyed this movie. I did not go into it expecting the next great action movie. I went in wanting good action and good special effects. I was very pleased. Could it of been better? Of course it could of but overall it was pretty good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickLDec 4, 2009
Enjoyable movie. Created a hypothetical world where technology brings a complete transformation of life warning us of the potential dangers of the drastic evolution of society through adoption of technologies with unknown or complex societal Enjoyable movie. Created a hypothetical world where technology brings a complete transformation of life warning us of the potential dangers of the drastic evolution of society through adoption of technologies with unknown or complex societal consequences. More so, the setting of ubiquitous superficiality through a societal usage of a newly found technology reminds us of such classics as Huxley's Brave New World. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonASep 25, 2009
Entertaining enough and although certainly reminiscent of I Robot it has some original ideas and makes you think about where we might be heading (with our "Second Life" and Wii "Mii" avatars) without getting too heavy. Solid Bruce Willis Entertaining enough and although certainly reminiscent of I Robot it has some original ideas and makes you think about where we might be heading (with our "Second Life" and Wii "Mii" avatars) without getting too heavy. Solid Bruce Willis actioner with a good supporting cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricL.Sep 26, 2009
I liked this a lot, but it's kind of hard to describe. It reminded me of the video game, Bioshock. I thought I would give it an 8, but it was so thrilling that it's worth a 9, and it's pretty hard to dislike.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyB.Sep 26, 2009
This is a great movie about robots and what people would do if they could get away with a robot doing everything for them. Although not as good as suspenseful or artful as Blade Runner (Harrison Ford), it has it's own sense of This is a great movie about robots and what people would do if they could get away with a robot doing everything for them. Although not as good as suspenseful or artful as Blade Runner (Harrison Ford), it has it's own sense of portraying what a future with robots could be like. The chase scenes were a little over the top using some computer game physics more than real life physics, they were entertaining and fun to watch. The perfect people used to act as robots were generally well done and robotic enough to be believable as non human. I especially liked the wife. Her robot was perfectly beautiful, but hid a woman with very serious personal problems (trying not to put a spoiler here). The desire for connection by Bruce to reconnect with the woman that he loves was beautifully done. I really felt like he missed the humanity that used to be in the world. All in all a good movie with a good plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffSSep 29, 2009
Not a bad movie...interesting topic and the acting was pretty good. I go to the movies to be entertained and I was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EssenceOfSugarOct 23, 2013
One of the main flaws of this film is that a film based on androids that create an idealistic version of themselves revolves around the inventor, who becomes disillusioned at how they've changed from aiding less able people such as himself toOne of the main flaws of this film is that a film based on androids that create an idealistic version of themselves revolves around the inventor, who becomes disillusioned at how they've changed from aiding less able people such as himself to somewhat empty and materialistic concerns. The college student was a fair target, considering who they were aiming for. However, this becomes a side issue among the division between the predictability and the actual exploration of humanity's frightening procrastination at becoming old and unable to go through life. This was in contrast with turning it into some kind of fashion statement, as if artificiality and beauty can prolong meaning of life itself. Bruce Willis is ultimately superb in this role, considerably cynical and not sarcastic, distinctive in a world of people who are plugged into androids. In turn, there are obvious cliches that you would find in an action sci-fi, albeit having action that was just as necessary as the dialogue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
avamiller21Apr 28, 2016
A smart little genre outing, an endangered species in modern Hollywood.

Click here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-35b9-Surrogates-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews