User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 120
  2. Negative: 22 out of 120
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    Not all of the elements work, but Bruce Willis does a really good job, the setting and "what if" examination of a society in which robot avatars take over human interaction is reminiscent of blade runner and other pulp sci-fi movies, and the special effects are good enough to not get in the way. Is it perfect? No. Is it better than most critics say it is? Yeah. I say check it out
  2. AngelaF
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    Interesting take on the future obsession for physical perfection.
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    I quite liked Surrogates and I think Bruce Willis did an excellent job. He's a natural born actor and just fills every scene with a sort of charm only he can. However, I can't help but be confused about the message the movie sends off and I also wonder why the director overlooked so many obvious plotholes and inconsistencies, the biggest of them all being the fact that even though thatI quite liked Surrogates and I think Bruce Willis did an excellent job. He's a natural born actor and just fills every scene with a sort of charm only he can. However, I can't help but be confused about the message the movie sends off and I also wonder why the director overlooked so many obvious plotholes and inconsistencies, the biggest of them all being the fact that even though that human interaction has clearly evolved into a technolatrous extreme yet nothing else in society has. They didn't even get around to driving electric cars yet. I think he did so in order to not alienate a large part of his audience. After all, now it's an action thriller with science-fiction elements rather than an all-out science-fiction movie with social criticism. Unfortunately, because of this "ceteris paribus" situation, several large plotholes occur. It'd be best to look beyond these and just enjoy the movie for what it is: A good thriller with an excellent lead-role and some justified criticism on modern society to boot. All hail Ned Ludd. Expand
  4. KennethS.
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    Slightly predictable yet highly entertaining, and the inclusion of an underlying message make Surrogates the best film of the past few months. Definitely worth watching.
  5. ScottD.
    Sep 26, 2009
    8
    A much better movie than some reviews indicate. No, there's nothing truly original in the story; yes, it's sort of a mish-mash of 'I, Robot', 'The Matrix' and others. But Mostow gives the movie a clean and crisp direction. And he slows down enough to make the story surprisingly moving in spots.
  6. AlC
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    Clearly one of the best movies I've seen this year. Intriguing idea, very well acted, especially given the distinction between humans and surrogates, with same actor. Bruce Willis was Bruce Willis in action but with more depth. Some of the new faces---e.g., James Ginty---did excellent niche work. As technology advances, this could be a classic forerunner.
  7. BenB
    Oct 20, 2009
    7
    They idea of surrogacy is the star of this film, and in what I think was a good move by those involved in the production, surrogacy was given the most screen time, even more so than was the detective story. If you can keep yourself from being too concerned with the plot of the story, you will find that you can walk out of the movie with a lot more if you are just willing to sit down and They idea of surrogacy is the star of this film, and in what I think was a good move by those involved in the production, surrogacy was given the most screen time, even more so than was the detective story. If you can keep yourself from being too concerned with the plot of the story, you will find that you can walk out of the movie with a lot more if you are just willing to sit down and enjoy the move for what it is. Expand
  8. Colin
    Oct 3, 2009
    8
    Good movie. I enjoyed it. It has some good action.
  9. EricE
    Oct 6, 2009
    7
    Decent enough movie. I think it is worth watching. Nothing great about it, the characters could have been developed a bit deeper. Saw the ending coming a mile away. But kept me interested. Am also reading the comic right now (just the first one so far). Seems to be very similar to the movie or vice versa.
  10. JackZ
    Oct 2, 2009
    7
    'Surrogates, which borrows tone and content freely from "I, Robot," is all windup and no pitch.' ---Philadelphia Inquirer David Hiltbrand No offense. But David, do you even bother do a background check before you write shits down? This film is based on a five-issue comic book series. If you have problem with "borrowing stuff from i robot", go flame on Robert Venditti. I for one 'Surrogates, which borrows tone and content freely from "I, Robot," is all windup and no pitch.' ---Philadelphia Inquirer David Hiltbrand No offense. But David, do you even bother do a background check before you write shits down? This film is based on a five-issue comic book series. If you have problem with "borrowing stuff from i robot", go flame on Robert Venditti. I for one seriously doubt the score you give to this film because you just write shits before you even do your homework. immature and irresponsible. Expand
  11. StevenL.
    Sep 27, 2009
    8
    All say this once this movie was based off a comic that came out in the early 90's so it did not rip off I'Robot it had an original story and they stayed faithful to 90% of the comic which is more than most comic based movies *cough* I Am Legend *cough* So I won't give away the movie but really if you think about it the technology we are developing right now is stuff they All say this once this movie was based off a comic that came out in the early 90's so it did not rip off I'Robot it had an original story and they stayed faithful to 90% of the comic which is more than most comic based movies *cough* I Am Legend *cough* So I won't give away the movie but really if you think about it the technology we are developing right now is stuff they talked about in the movie like machines being controlled by thought its being developed and japans working on it to use in video games and robot technology is advancing at a steady rate so we could possibly have the robot society they talked about in the movie in the next 40-50 years so it made you think would you just control a robot that looks perfect has better abilities that you can control from your house or would you stay as you are with all your imperfections Expand
  12. ThomasS.
    Sep 27, 2009
    9
    This movie's fun, and has more brains behind it than your average big-budget sci-fi actioner. In fact, when it comes to robot movies, and pseudo-philosophical humanity vs. technology fare, this is better than most. Is it "Blade Runner".. no, but frankly I liked it a helluva lot better than "I, Robot," which seems to be the go-to comparison. Bruce Willis is great in it, and while the This movie's fun, and has more brains behind it than your average big-budget sci-fi actioner. In fact, when it comes to robot movies, and pseudo-philosophical humanity vs. technology fare, this is better than most. Is it "Blade Runner".. no, but frankly I liked it a helluva lot better than "I, Robot," which seems to be the go-to comparison. Bruce Willis is great in it, and while the plot is fairly predictable, it's what I like to refer to as "predictable, in a good way." Had it tried to throw me for a loop just for the sake of having a zany plot twist, I would've probably hated it. It went where it was logically meant to go, and I had a blast watching it get there. Expand
  13. Mr.Blake
    Sep 27, 2009
    7
    I genuinely liked this film. Being based on the graphic novel and having read it, I thought they did a pretty good job turning it into a movie. There were a few changes that I could have done without, and there were some things left unexplained that I wish went into more detail. But overall, good sci-fi. Check this one out.
  14. JasonD.
    Sep 28, 2009
    8
    I must say that I actually enjoyed this movie. I did not go into it expecting the next great action movie. I went in wanting good action and good special effects. I was very pleased. Could it of been better? Of course it could of but overall it was pretty good.
  15. PatrickL
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    Enjoyable movie. Created a hypothetical world where technology brings a complete transformation of life warning us of the potential dangers of the drastic evolution of society through adoption of technologies with unknown or complex societal consequences. More so, the setting of ubiquitous superficiality through a societal usage of a newly found technology reminds us of such classics as Enjoyable movie. Created a hypothetical world where technology brings a complete transformation of life warning us of the potential dangers of the drastic evolution of society through adoption of technologies with unknown or complex societal consequences. More so, the setting of ubiquitous superficiality through a societal usage of a newly found technology reminds us of such classics as Huxley's Brave New World. Expand
  16. JasonA
    Sep 25, 2009
    8
    Entertaining enough and although certainly reminiscent of I Robot it has some original ideas and makes you think about where we might be heading (with our "Second Life" and Wii "Mii" avatars) without getting too heavy. Solid Bruce Willis actioner with a good supporting cast.
  17. EricL.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    I liked this a lot, but it's kind of hard to describe. It reminded me of the video game, Bioshock. I thought I would give it an 8, but it was so thrilling that it's worth a 9, and it's pretty hard to dislike.
  18. JeremyB.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    This is a great movie about robots and what people would do if they could get away with a robot doing everything for them. Although not as good as suspenseful or artful as Blade Runner (Harrison Ford), it has it's own sense of portraying what a future with robots could be like. The chase scenes were a little over the top using some computer game physics more than real life physics, This is a great movie about robots and what people would do if they could get away with a robot doing everything for them. Although not as good as suspenseful or artful as Blade Runner (Harrison Ford), it has it's own sense of portraying what a future with robots could be like. The chase scenes were a little over the top using some computer game physics more than real life physics, they were entertaining and fun to watch. The perfect people used to act as robots were generally well done and robotic enough to be believable as non human. I especially liked the wife. Her robot was perfectly beautiful, but hid a woman with very serious personal problems (trying not to put a spoiler here). The desire for connection by Bruce to reconnect with the woman that he loves was beautifully done. I really felt like he missed the humanity that used to be in the world. All in all a good movie with a good plot. Expand
  19. JeffS
    Sep 29, 2009
    7
    Not a bad movie...interesting topic and the acting was pretty good. I go to the movies to be entertained and I was.
  20. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    One of the main flaws of this film is that a film based on androids that create an idealistic version of themselves revolves around the inventor, who becomes disillusioned at how they've changed from aiding less able people such as himself to somewhat empty and materialistic concerns. The college student was a fair target, considering who they were aiming for. However, this becomes a sideOne of the main flaws of this film is that a film based on androids that create an idealistic version of themselves revolves around the inventor, who becomes disillusioned at how they've changed from aiding less able people such as himself to somewhat empty and materialistic concerns. The college student was a fair target, considering who they were aiming for. However, this becomes a side issue among the division between the predictability and the actual exploration of humanity's frightening procrastination at becoming old and unable to go through life. This was in contrast with turning it into some kind of fashion statement, as if artificiality and beauty can prolong meaning of life itself. Bruce Willis is ultimately superb in this role, considerably cynical and not sarcastic, distinctive in a world of people who are plugged into androids. In turn, there are obvious cliches that you would find in an action sci-fi, albeit having action that was just as necessary as the dialogue. Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. A mechanical sci-fi'er absent of logic or emotions. It functions as an expensive place-filler on the Disney release schedule and, as such, will be welcomed by only the least discriminating thriller fans.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Mostow's smart speculative suspenser imagines a time when people can live through ideal versions of themselves while they sit wired up at home.
  3. The filmmakers were too busy throwing together potential blockbuster material to notice all the loose ends and gaping holes in logic. Which may, ultimately, explain why Willis looks so confused throughout. Maybe he, too, is straining to locate some intelligence amid all the machinery.