Magnet Releasing | Release Date: May 28, 2010
4.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 31 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
7
Mixed:
10
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
grandpajoe6191Oct 27, 2011
"Survival of Dead" is one dumb, cheap looking, and terrible B-zombie movie that looks like it was inspired from a video game. I'd suggest George A Romeo to stop directing silly zombie movies or get the **** out of Hollywood.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
jsMay 28, 2010
Wow! I'm a huge fan of romero's films. Plus a huge fan of any zombie films for that matter. But this, wow. What were they thinking? That's a serious question. From bad acting, (except the old guy) Cheap effects, ludicrous Wow! I'm a huge fan of romero's films. Plus a huge fan of any zombie films for that matter. But this, wow. What were they thinking? That's a serious question. From bad acting, (except the old guy) Cheap effects, ludicrous story, stupid characters. It's all mashes up to be one big mess. You could see they were going fro some comedic angle with this film, but it was so poorly done. You laugh at, but your laughing at how bad it is. You know so bad it's funny. The shootouts were horrible, they look like shots from some old cheap western, where the camera shows one guy fire, then stops, and you see the guy fall down. Honestly Romero's worst. As a Canadian, I'm disgusted this filth was filmed here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DaveDJun 11, 2010
Being a life long George Romero Zombie movie fanatic (I Watched the original Night of the Living Dead in 1968 at the age of 9 and every Romero "...of the Dead" movie since), I was excited when I read that his latest movie was going to be Being a life long George Romero Zombie movie fanatic (I Watched the original Night of the Living Dead in 1968 at the age of 9 and every Romero "...of the Dead" movie since), I was excited when I read that his latest movie was going to be released on May 28th 2010. I was even more excited when I learned that Direct TV Channel HDNET Movies was going to show a free sneak preview of "Survival of the Dead" on Wednesday May 26th for (with subscription) 2 days before the movie opens in the theaters. There I sat in my living room, watching George A. Romero's Survival of the Dead for free and after the movie finished I wanted my money back. What a horrible movie it is. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY IN THE THEATERS WATCHING THIS STINK BOMB OF A MOVIE. My exciteness evaporated within the first 15 mintues of this movie. This turned out to be the WORST George Romero movie ever. It was not scary. the gore factor eventhough plentiful was phony looking. the acting HORRENDOUS, the zombies FX so cheesy(Dab some gray makeup on your cheeks and face and there you have the zombie f/x for this movie). The script so lame that I wished I was somewhere else but I had to watch it to the end to see if it was going to get better, well guess what IT DIDN'T. The last scene was so stupid, I am at a loss for words. George A. Romero should retire. Well the only consolation I have is that I copied all his Great movies "Night, Dawn, Day of the Dead"onto my Zune player to enjoy, For certain Survival of the Dead will not be added to my Zune collection. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
j30Sep 22, 2011
Really no purpose in this movie. George A. Romero has already secured his status as among the great horror directors. Is this movie necessary? Regurgitated ideas and just a boring plot line. He really needs to move away from the zombieReally no purpose in this movie. George A. Romero has already secured his status as among the great horror directors. Is this movie necessary? Regurgitated ideas and just a boring plot line. He really needs to move away from the zombie obsession that he has. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
manofthemoonJan 30, 2015
Romero's ignorance of Irish politics sinks his political metaphor horror and finally kills his franchise (which was already looking on shaky ground with the previous "Diary of the Dead"). The memories of "Night", "Dawn", Day" and even "Land"Romero's ignorance of Irish politics sinks his political metaphor horror and finally kills his franchise (which was already looking on shaky ground with the previous "Diary of the Dead"). The memories of "Night", "Dawn", Day" and even "Land" will live on, but "Survival of the Dead" is not the fitting zombie finale Romero deserves. Poorly made and cheap in look, it lacks a decent script, seemingly rushed out for the money. Sad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
hollowficationJun 3, 2012
this movie is good zombie are his word romero movies but still not good fact is that if george took what he down back in early 70s dawn of the dead used it in his zombie here it would be good

the was plot hole in it how could the be
this movie is good zombie are his word romero movies but still not good fact is that if george took what he down back in early 70s dawn of the dead used it in his zombie here it would be good


the was plot hole in it how could the be internet or even cell tower was still up even knowing all power down
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
klogdFeb 17, 2012
Ugh, Romero really REALLY should just stop making movies. This was just so DUMB I think watching it actually hurt my Brain.. A poor story badly written with badly characters and really lame effects. None of that eerie zombie feeling for evenUgh, Romero really REALLY should just stop making movies. This was just so DUMB I think watching it actually hurt my Brain.. A poor story badly written with badly characters and really lame effects. None of that eerie zombie feeling for even a minute in this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
rastapastaOct 10, 2012
It escapes me how awful a zombie movie came from a director who started the entire movement of Zombie films and made some of the greatest in its genre. I honestly can't think of a reason to watch Survival of the Dead. Romero's longtime fansIt escapes me how awful a zombie movie came from a director who started the entire movement of Zombie films and made some of the greatest in its genre. I honestly can't think of a reason to watch Survival of the Dead. Romero's longtime fans can't even defend this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Meth-dudeJul 23, 2017
Romero is considered to be the master of the zombie films. If you look at his earlier work, you can actually see why. Dawn of the Dead and Night of the Living Dead are considered to be classics in the horror genre. However, in recent years,Romero is considered to be the master of the zombie films. If you look at his earlier work, you can actually see why. Dawn of the Dead and Night of the Living Dead are considered to be classics in the horror genre. However, in recent years, Romero came back to the genre that made him famous, and it wasn't for the best. His latest zombie movies have all been underwhelming and this one is no exception. Lousy acting, bad special effects, stupid characters, questionable character motivations and a zombie riding a horse are what describe the movie the best. It's dumb, it's boring and it ultimately has no reason to exist. At least the gore was good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews