User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 26
  2. Negative: 10 out of 26
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    3
    "Survival of Dead" is one dumb, cheap looking, and terrible B-zombie movie that looks like it was inspired from a video game. I'd suggest George A Romeo to stop directing silly zombie movies or get the **** out of Hollywood.
  2. js
    May 28, 2010
    0
    Wow! I'm a huge fan of romero's films. Plus a huge fan of any zombie films for that matter. But this, wow. What were they thinking? That's a serious question. From bad acting, (except the old guy) Cheap effects, ludicrous story, stupid characters. It's all mashes up to be one big mess. You could see they were going fro some comedic angle with this film, but it was so Wow! I'm a huge fan of romero's films. Plus a huge fan of any zombie films for that matter. But this, wow. What were they thinking? That's a serious question. From bad acting, (except the old guy) Cheap effects, ludicrous story, stupid characters. It's all mashes up to be one big mess. You could see they were going fro some comedic angle with this film, but it was so poorly done. You laugh at, but your laughing at how bad it is. You know so bad it's funny. The shootouts were horrible, they look like shots from some old cheap western, where the camera shows one guy fire, then stops, and you see the guy fall down. Honestly Romero's worst. As a Canadian, I'm disgusted this filth was filmed here. Expand
  3. DaveD
    Jun 11, 2010
    3
    Being a life long George Romero Zombie movie fanatic (I Watched the original Night of the Living Dead in 1968 at the age of 9 and every Romero "...of the Dead" movie since), I was excited when I read that his latest movie was going to be released on May 28th 2010. I was even more excited when I learned that Direct TV Channel HDNET Movies was going to show a free sneak preview of "Survival Being a life long George Romero Zombie movie fanatic (I Watched the original Night of the Living Dead in 1968 at the age of 9 and every Romero "...of the Dead" movie since), I was excited when I read that his latest movie was going to be released on May 28th 2010. I was even more excited when I learned that Direct TV Channel HDNET Movies was going to show a free sneak preview of "Survival of the Dead" on Wednesday May 26th for (with subscription) 2 days before the movie opens in the theaters. There I sat in my living room, watching George A. Romero's Survival of the Dead for free and after the movie finished I wanted my money back. What a horrible movie it is. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY IN THE THEATERS WATCHING THIS STINK BOMB OF A MOVIE. My exciteness evaporated within the first 15 mintues of this movie. This turned out to be the WORST George Romero movie ever. It was not scary. the gore factor eventhough plentiful was phony looking. the acting HORRENDOUS, the zombies FX so cheesy(Dab some gray makeup on your cheeks and face and there you have the zombie f/x for this movie). The script so lame that I wished I was somewhere else but I had to watch it to the end to see if it was going to get better, well guess what IT DIDN'T. The last scene was so stupid, I am at a loss for words. George A. Romero should retire. Well the only consolation I have is that I copied all his Great movies "Night, Dawn, Day of the Dead"onto my Zune player to enjoy, For certain Survival of the Dead will not be added to my Zune collection. Expand
  4. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    0
    Really no purpose in this movie. George A. Romero has already secured his status as among the great horror directors. Is this movie necessary? Regurgitated ideas and just a boring plot line. He really needs to move away from the zombie obsession that he has.
  5. Jan 30, 2015
    0
    Romero's ignorance of Irish politics sinks his political metaphor horror and finally kills his franchise (which was already looking on shaky ground with the previous "Diary of the Dead"). The memories of "Night", "Dawn", Day" and even "Land" will live on, but "Survival of the Dead" is not the fitting zombie finale Romero deserves. Poorly made and cheap in look, it lacks a decent script,Romero's ignorance of Irish politics sinks his political metaphor horror and finally kills his franchise (which was already looking on shaky ground with the previous "Diary of the Dead"). The memories of "Night", "Dawn", Day" and even "Land" will live on, but "Survival of the Dead" is not the fitting zombie finale Romero deserves. Poorly made and cheap in look, it lacks a decent script, seemingly rushed out for the money. Sad. Expand
  6. LawrenceO
    May 28, 2010
    8
    Enjoyable little film by Romero. Although it has to be considered as a minor film in his career, that doesn't take itself very seriously, it's clever and funny, and offers some brilliant things to the audience. I think the best way to analyze it is not thinking about the movie as a horror flick, but as a gory 50s-style western, well crafted and well directed, with a little Enjoyable little film by Romero. Although it has to be considered as a minor film in his career, that doesn't take itself very seriously, it's clever and funny, and offers some brilliant things to the audience. I think the best way to analyze it is not thinking about the movie as a horror flick, but as a gory 50s-style western, well crafted and well directed, with a little action and silly and cartoonesque gags. Kenneth Welsh is simply superb! Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2011
    7
    This has definitely mad it's way onto my favorite zombie movies of all time, it provides action and laughs, and is ultimately enjoyable and cheesy, it may not be as intense as other zombie movies but it will entertain zombie loving maniacs.
  8. CSutton
    Jun 14, 2010
    6
    Much better than Diary Of The Dead (that POV angle thing was cliche even 10 years ago). Not scary but then how many zombie films are? Not really the point. Anyway, the main lead is likable and the overall effect is a fun popcorn movie. Just don't expect anything too high brow and you won't be too disappointed.
  9. Jun 3, 2012
    2
    this movie is good zombie are his word romero movies but still not good fact is that if george took what he down back in early 70s dawn of the dead used it in his zombie here it would be good


    the was plot hole in it how could the be internet or even cell tower was still up even knowing all power down
  10. Jamie
    May 28, 2010
    5
    I'm a big Romero fan. It's hard to review his films without comparing them to the rest of his work anymore. That being said, this and "Dawn" are my two least favorite dead films. I'm never sure what to expect from a new Romero rehash, but this one is extremely over the top. It's about as close to an "Action hero" zombie flick as hes ever done. It's got more gore I'm a big Romero fan. It's hard to review his films without comparing them to the rest of his work anymore. That being said, this and "Dawn" are my two least favorite dead films. I'm never sure what to expect from a new Romero rehash, but this one is extremely over the top. It's about as close to an "Action hero" zombie flick as hes ever done. It's got more gore and slick kills than most, and there is so little continuity throughout the movie that I almost consider it a string of skits. Still, the gore is there, the thinly (and it's getting thinner) veiled social commentary, and, of course, it's funny. I was extremely happy with "Diary of the Dead" and consider it one of his better films. This does not compare. If you love Romero (and I do) you'll like this film. I just don't think you'll find it one of his best. And, taken on it's own merits, it's possible you won't like the film at all. Expand
  11. Feb 17, 2012
    0
    Ugh, Romero really REALLY should just stop making movies. This was just so DUMB I think watching it actually hurt my Brain.. A poor story badly written with badly characters and really lame effects. None of that eerie zombie feeling for even a minute in this film.
  12. Feb 1, 2013
    6
    A band of rogue militants that are attempting to escape a world overrun by the undead find themselves caught in the middle of a feud between two families when they land on a remote island in the latest entry of George Romero's epic zombie series. Here, Romero quarrels with the idea of whether or not the living dead can be domesticated and eventually cured, or whether they must beA band of rogue militants that are attempting to escape a world overrun by the undead find themselves caught in the middle of a feud between two families when they land on a remote island in the latest entry of George Romero's epic zombie series. Here, Romero quarrels with the idea of whether or not the living dead can be domesticated and eventually cured, or whether they must be eradicated to avoid any future outbreaks. This debate fuels the ongoing struggle between the O'Flynns and the Muldoons, a battle which takes center stage over any of the zombie mayhem in the film. While it cannot be argued that Romero has not attempted any new and interesting ideas in LAND, DIARY, and now SURVIVAL, the execution of each of the films always falls short. The sixth installment never manages to generate any forward momentum, and the social commentary that is worked in to the plot is never fully developed or used to effectively impact the viewer. To put it bluntly, the film is completely uninteresting. There is no one left for the audience to relate to or sympathize with between the thieving soldiers and the two warring families. The man once known for discovering Horror's greatest make-up artist has settled for cheaply-made computerized effects once again, effects which are entirely unconvincing and immediately take the viewer out of the action. Still, what the gore lacks in quality, it makes up for in quantity, with numerous attack sequences filled with head explosions and multiple maulings by the rampaging ghouls. As hard as Romero fans may try to dispute it, SURVIVAL OF THE DEAD continues the downward trend of declining interest and bland filmmaking that has plagued the director's most recent efforts.

    -Carl Manes
    I Like Horror Movies
    Collapse
  13. Oct 10, 2012
    1
    It escapes me how awful a zombie movie came from a director who started the entire movement of Zombie films and made some of the greatest in its genre. I honestly can't think of a reason to watch Survival of the Dead. Romero's longtime fans can't even defend this one.
  14. Jul 12, 2013
    6
    There are definitely better zombie films out there, especially from Romero also as I quite like him as a Director but this is not one of his great films. It focuses more on a fight between two bitter old men rather than a zombie apocalypse so it can hardly be called a zombie film at the end of the day. It has some good, and it did hold my interest, but at the end of the day there is justThere are definitely better zombie films out there, especially from Romero also as I quite like him as a Director but this is not one of his great films. It focuses more on a fight between two bitter old men rather than a zombie apocalypse so it can hardly be called a zombie film at the end of the day. It has some good, and it did hold my interest, but at the end of the day there is just better films in the genre out there worth watching when comparing them, so perhaps give this one a miss. Expand
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Still, even Romero's staunchest fans might conclude their hero is going through the motions here. Yes, almost like a zombie.
  2. 60
    Silly and not nearly scary enough, this does not rank as grade-A Romero, but the story unfolds efficiently and economically and it provides plenty of laughs.
  3. 40
    At long last, the Dead series may be ready for that final bullet between the eyes.