DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: October 22, 2004
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
40
Mixed:
3
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ElaineJ.Oct 27, 2004
I enjoyed this movie, very much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DWDec 28, 2004
Off-beat, but that must be my type of humor because this movie evoked plenty of laughter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SusanM.Feb 3, 2005
I actually thought this movie was pretty funny and good, I'm not saying it deserves any Oscars, but I laughed at it a lot and I thought Ben Affleck was pretty good, I don't know why everyone is so against him and everything he does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EricS.Oct 31, 2004
Did not hate it but did not enjoy it much either..wanted to walk out at beginning , but became a decent movie almost half way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DamianP.Dec 5, 2004
I always go to Christmas movies with low expectations, and this one wasn't as bad as everyone makes it out to be. I laughed a few times, which is more than I can say for a few recent comedies. The acting was aweful, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
drlowdonDec 24, 2014
Surviving Christmas is pretty much your standard overly sentimental festive movie and, despite its fairly impressive cast that includes the late James Gandolfini and Ben Affleck, it is not a particularly memorable one.

Watched at the right
Surviving Christmas is pretty much your standard overly sentimental festive movie and, despite its fairly impressive cast that includes the late James Gandolfini and Ben Affleck, it is not a particularly memorable one.

Watched at the right time of the year it's not all bad but it makes no attempt to do anything daring or remotely original and its hard to imagine anyone adding it to their list of regular Christmas movies.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MichaelM.Oct 22, 2004
It was hard to estimate how good/bad "Surviving Christmas" would be. On one hand one of my least favorite actors of all time was in it: Ben Aflleck. On the other hand one of my favorite actors of all time was in it: James Gandolfini It was hard to estimate how good/bad "Surviving Christmas" would be. On one hand one of my least favorite actors of all time was in it: Ben Aflleck. On the other hand one of my favorite actors of all time was in it: James Gandolfini (HBO's smash hit The Sopranos). I was hoping maybe, just maybe, James Gandolfini could save this early Holiday flick from the dreadfully poor acting skills of Ben "the butt chin" Affleck. I was wrong. I went to go see the movie with my father, who summed it up perfectly, "It was an awful movie, but there were some funny freakin' parts!" Well, that's pretty much what "Surviving Christmas" is. The first half of the film tries to get laughs with tired slapstick, but fails miserably - except for when James Gandolfini smacks Affleck over the head with a shovel. That was hysterical! It was priceless to see Tony Soprano knock Ben Lo into unconsiousness. Besides that and the side-splittingly funny ending scene involving incest, interent porn and much more disturbing elements, the film just isn't anything close to witty. The plot is absolutley terrible, and that's an understatement. Wait for HBO on this one, it's not worth your time or money in the theater or at the videostore. Well, at least it was better than "Taxi". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
VinceH.Oct 23, 2004
I really hope that James Gandolfini and Catherine O'Hara got paid well to be in this. I imagine that was the only incentive, since this script is terrible with a Capital T. Not only is every Christmas movie cliche thrown in the stew, I really hope that James Gandolfini and Catherine O'Hara got paid well to be in this. I imagine that was the only incentive, since this script is terrible with a Capital T. Not only is every Christmas movie cliche thrown in the stew, but every movie that ever featured a whiny-rich boy who learns a lesson in the end (Dutch, Trading Places, etc) except without any of the comedy. The main problem is that neither Affleck's loneliness and alienation connect and we really never feel that he desperately needs help. The romance with Christina Applegate is so pre-determined that there is no real tension at all. We KNOW they will get together in the end and nothing interesting happens in-between. If you're looking for a decent Christmas comedy, skip this turkey and just wait for Meet the Fockers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
briansOct 24, 2004
I really wanted to walk out on this one, but I thought it couldn't get worse. it did get better, but only because of retread christmas schlock. No need to wait until the DVD comes out---it will be on Mystery Science Theater 3000 soon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RyanM.Feb 5, 2005
Walking out of this atrocity made me not laugh at the content which was applied in the movie...but the fact that there is someone out there so desperate to revive themselves they'll sink to starring in a movie like this. Ben Affleck had Walking out of this atrocity made me not laugh at the content which was applied in the movie...but the fact that there is someone out there so desperate to revive themselves they'll sink to starring in a movie like this. Ben Affleck had more impressive roles as in such classics as Gigli or Dogma. and yes, the following was sarcasm at its finest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RoscoeC.Oct 22, 2004
My recent bout of the clap was more enjoyable than this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SeanP.Nov 8, 2004
Oh that Affleck!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RodneyOct 23, 2004
Oh My God!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ACE!Oct 23, 2004
Dear God in heaven, I would not wish this film upon even the most vile child-molesting neo-nazi serial killer as penance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyDec 2, 2004
Was this supposed to be a comedy? Not!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DethS.Dec 24, 2004
When a movie takes less than 2 months to be put out on DVD, you know you've got a problem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful