DreamWorks SKG | Release Date: December 21, 2007
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 561 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
429
Mixed:
77
Negative:
55
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ethanfp582Oct 15, 2016
If you can get past a slightly slow beginning, you'll get used to the style. The music and the murder put together is pure, perfect, classic, Tim Burton.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeFeb 5, 2016
Hey, at least it's enjoyable just what we asked for. Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (what a weird name, right?) reminds all of us that 2007 has ended its year with such movies like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleOct 26, 2015
A bloody good time, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street is a stellar musical. The score is phenomenal and the musical numbers are entirely enthralling and brilliantly done. They are so good, in fact, you almost forget you areA bloody good time, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street is a stellar musical. The score is phenomenal and the musical numbers are entirely enthralling and brilliantly done. They are so good, in fact, you almost forget you are watching a film about a barber who slits peoples throats. The acting and singing from the entire cast is very good and this is truly a role only Johnny Depp could play. Brilliantly shot and designed, the film is simply beautiful to look at with some seriously killer costumes to be found here. Tim Burton really hits a home run with the direction of this film, managing the extreme gore with the emotional element at the center of the story, as well as not overdoing it with the musical numbers. The ones that are here are exceptionally well done, but luckily it never feels like overkill. Above all though, I fell in love with the look and feel of the film. Truly, it was really beautiful. Overall, Sweeney Todd is a winner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Jul 24, 2015
It's far from wholesome or approachable, but it's hard to deny the imaginative gears hard at work in this thrilling adaptation of Stephen Sondheim's classic musical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LoRevisorJan 16, 2015
Como um filme não é lá essas coisas,mas como musical é genial,E ainda mais Johnny Depp delira interpretando genialmente Sweeney Todd além de cantar e de fato canta bem,Alan Rickman é Incrível,Helena Borhan Carter também é ótima Tim BurtonComo um filme não é lá essas coisas,mas como musical é genial,E ainda mais Johnny Depp delira interpretando genialmente Sweeney Todd além de cantar e de fato canta bem,Alan Rickman é Incrível,Helena Borhan Carter também é ótima Tim Burton dirige brilhantemente. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
arsheeshMay 9, 2014
Even if you dislike musicals, this film is going to be a perfect treat for you. Full of feels, gore and catchy numbers, Sweeney Todd incorporates every block in the great emotion spectrum, and is undoubtedly one of the best musicalEven if you dislike musicals, this film is going to be a perfect treat for you. Full of feels, gore and catchy numbers, Sweeney Todd incorporates every block in the great emotion spectrum, and is undoubtedly one of the best musical adaptations in history. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksJan 20, 2014
A rather wonderful and original musical film. I found myself loving all the characters despite the evil nature of most of them. I was also glad to see Sasha Baron Cohen prove he is worthy of a blockbuster role.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Brandy2001Jan 14, 2014
This Is a fantástic film, i just love it
This Is the best film thath i ever atched
This Is art
I love it
And the actors are the best of the world
Is just a perfect film
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
A bloody success! The music is great and the atmosphere is perfectly creepy. Although more violent and gruesome than the stage version (which is more funny) this film is great. It makes you laugh, smile and a little sick to your stomach soA bloody success! The music is great and the atmosphere is perfectly creepy. Although more violent and gruesome than the stage version (which is more funny) this film is great. It makes you laugh, smile and a little sick to your stomach so you've gotta love it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticOct 27, 2013
Tim Burton's dark imagination blooms alive, and Johnny Depp is a shock, as he sings, with a British accent, quite well, as I don't have a clear description. The rest of the cast gets mixed in well. Disturbing, but charismatic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mpmartinJul 10, 2013
This movie/musical has the distinction of being my favorite movie, even after nearly 6 years after I saw it the first time. What's good about it? Many things. The costumes are superb, the cinematography is beautiful, and yes, everyone canThis movie/musical has the distinction of being my favorite movie, even after nearly 6 years after I saw it the first time. What's good about it? Many things. The costumes are superb, the cinematography is beautiful, and yes, everyone can sing. Johnny Depp, who is always interesting, does what became an Oscar-nominated performance in the title role. It's a reminder that when he is on his game, it's a fabulous ride. This movie is based upon the Stephen Sondheim award-winning musical but is much shorter and the humor is trimmed as well, making this a melodrama instead of a comedy. But, it's still highly entertaining and I would recommend getting a little familiar with the lyrics to the songs before watching because it just makes watching better. Sweeney Todd was Benjamin Barker, a young man with a beautiful family, who is torn apart from them by a lecherous judge, played with appropriate sliminess by Alan Rickman. The New York Times opera critic gave Depp high marks and I think was hoping for more from Helena Bonham Carter (Mrs. Lovett), but she does well enough and shines in songs like A Little Priest, By the Sea, and Not While I'm Around. I do have to admit that I am not a fan of movie musicals, but this one is the exception. One of Tim Burton's best, right up there with Edward Scissorhands and Ed Wood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 29, 2013
My favorite Tim Burton film. A dark musical that is cast perfectly especially the great Johnny Depp. Everything about this musical works from the songs to the dreery set pieces.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFMar 7, 2013
We knew Johnny Depp was a diverse actor but he really turned his hand to something different with his long time BFF Tim Burton, and this is certainly one of their finer moments in the career long collaborations.
A re-telling of the classic
We knew Johnny Depp was a diverse actor but he really turned his hand to something different with his long time BFF Tim Burton, and this is certainly one of their finer moments in the career long collaborations.
A re-telling of the classic barber in Fleet Street, Depp stars as the titular barber turned killer after tragedy befalls his happy family.
The musical score put forward by Steven Sondheim is wonderfully gripping and heartbreaking, as Sweeney Todd, formerly Benjamin Barker, returns to London to seek revenge on those who wronged him, namely Judge Turpin (Alan Rickman) and Beadle Bamford (Timothy Spall).
Todd re-opens his barber shop above the pie store, owned by Mrs Lovett (Helena Bonham Carter) and quickly establishes himself as quite the dangerously cunning and gentle barber, all aiming to the bigger picture of righting the wrongs of his past. He soon visits a market and we are introduced to the comedic Adolfo Pirelli (Sacha Baron Cohen) who is is a rip-off merchant selling hair growth elixir for bald men.
The film grows predictably darker and more horrific as the minutes tick on, as does the the musical numbers.
This is a tale of revenge and despair, and the talent involved do an excellent (and surprising) job of singing their own solo pieces along with the ensemble numbers, Depp is is stellar in what can only be described as a dark and nerving turn as the London barber.
Burton has perfectly put his own unique gothic touch to proceedings with the characters of Sweeney Todd and Mrs Lovett, who are equally as dangerous yet likeable, never really knowing who we are supposed to dislike throughout the film.
It has the perfect score to immediately capture and entice the viewer of any particular audience, whether its a catchy and humorous song (Baron Cohen's "Pirelli's Miracle Elixir") or a heartfelt and sombre tone (Todd's "Epiphany"), they all capture the mood and pace of the film, which sets up a thrilling and satisfying final act that will both please and shock.
Burton and Depp certainly chose a different direction for this film, and was an exceptionally brilliant idea to do so.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
7dogguyJan 10, 2013
This movie was was brilliant the ending is such a plot twist that i didnt expect the movie is inspirational (not because i want to kill people because no one can make good movies anymore) and well written the acting is really great and theThis movie was was brilliant the ending is such a plot twist that i didnt expect the movie is inspirational (not because i want to kill people because no one can make good movies anymore) and well written the acting is really great and the singing amazing you can really feel for all of the characters in this movie you cant do that with most others but all in all this is one of the best movies in a long time and you should watch it Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
JawsLaxerDramaDec 22, 2012
Bloody and insanely over produced, Sweeney Todd is actually a good movie aside from murders. While it's grim, dirty and just...well, I mean Jesus, look at Johnny Depp. Sweeney Todd is incredibly sad and while there is depth, it went on just aBloody and insanely over produced, Sweeney Todd is actually a good movie aside from murders. While it's grim, dirty and just...well, I mean Jesus, look at Johnny Depp. Sweeney Todd is incredibly sad and while there is depth, it went on just a bit too long. Still a good movie though. B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 6, 2012
A story from 1846, turned into a ballet in 1959, then into a Broadway musical in 1979, then into a Hollywood screenplay by Tim Burton in 2007. What I really want to know is what possessed Sir Malcom Arnold in the late 1970's to think "Hey!A story from 1846, turned into a ballet in 1959, then into a Broadway musical in 1979, then into a Hollywood screenplay by Tim Burton in 2007. What I really want to know is what possessed Sir Malcom Arnold in the late 1970's to think "Hey! This horror story would make a great musical!". This was the weirdest and most disturbing musical I have ever seen, but I guess since it's a remake of a Broadway musical it is true to its roots. +10 for Tim Burton having the guts to release Sweeney Todd as a movie. The acting and singing was superb. I'm not sure I ever want to see it again because it is so gory and violent, but it is what it is. BTW: Interesting fact: Johnny Depp was absolutely horrified when he read the script. Because of all of the violence and cannibalism in it? -- Nope. Because for the first few minutes of the film he would have to play a "normal person" - OH THE HORROR!!!! LOL Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JefersonBarbosaAug 15, 2012
Sweeney Todd, é um dos melhores musicais já produzidos no cinema!
Depp, Burton e Carter estão em sua melhor forma.
A obra é tocante, o visual imersivo e a trilha sonora impecável.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TARDISlore7Jun 18, 2012
A fantastic film from start to finish, and definitely Tim Burton's finest. Despite not having any prior musical training, both Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter are able to deliver the lines and pitches of the musical's songs with feeling,A fantastic film from start to finish, and definitely Tim Burton's finest. Despite not having any prior musical training, both Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter are able to deliver the lines and pitches of the musical's songs with feeling, and I especially enjoyed Depp's emotional, simmering performance of the song 'Epiphany'. In fact, pretty much every aspect of Sweeney Todd drips atmosphere and evokes powerful emotions - the brooding score, the mysterious, gothic and haunting depiction of Victorian London, with it's uniformly deathly dark and sombre colours contrasting perfectly with the bright red fountains of blood that gush from Todd's unwitting victims, and the excellent costumes. The only minor niggles are the film's rather short length and Ed Sander's largely too 'Oliver'-like performance. This has to be my favourite film of all time and I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Mathos22May 19, 2012
Dark, grisly, and yet oddly spellbinding, 'Sweeney Todd' comes together to be Tim Burton's best work to date. Featuring excellent performances by both Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, and Alan Rickman, The Demon Barber of Fleet Street makesDark, grisly, and yet oddly spellbinding, 'Sweeney Todd' comes together to be Tim Burton's best work to date. Featuring excellent performances by both Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, and Alan Rickman, The Demon Barber of Fleet Street makes for a superbly fun period-piece and musical. B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Dec 19, 2011
Scary, crazy, well acted, beautifully filmed and with some great music. Tim Burton's Adaptation is actually my favorite yet and I enjoyed it better than the Broadway version with Patti Lupone and Angela Lansberry. I give this movie 88%.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
gartside27Nov 1, 2011
I don't like musicals. But I am a fan of Tim Burton films, and I don't know whether its the performance of Depp or the haunting songs that drew me in to this film, its excellent. Its typical of a Tim Burton film, with all the dark and drearyI don't like musicals. But I am a fan of Tim Burton films, and I don't know whether its the performance of Depp or the haunting songs that drew me in to this film, its excellent. Its typical of a Tim Burton film, with all the dark and dreary demeanor brought to life by cunning performances. The cast is also great, Depp IS Sweeney Todd, Helena Bonam-Carter plays her part well and even Sacha Baron Cohen cannot wreck this film...not that he's a terrible actor, I just didn't expect him to fit in as well as he did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
"Sweeney Todd", the remake version directed by Burton, sticks its bloody blade right to the problems of society and mock them with Johnny Depp as the violent Barber. However beware the music; it sucks.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
lovemusicMay 20, 2011
great movie. the music was good. the acting was great. the visual effects were spectacular. i simply love this film. it was funny and evil. and sad. it was glorious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KarthXLRJan 30, 2011
The only Tim Burton movie post-2000 worth watching. Only issue is with the horrible portrayal of blood in this movie, it looks more like red paint.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
TubieNov 2, 2010
What a great movie, Tim Burton has the ability to add this charm and style to his movies that I simply love. I did not know about this story or that it was a play but from other peoples account he has done a good job at representing it in theWhat a great movie, Tim Burton has the ability to add this charm and style to his movies that I simply love. I did not know about this story or that it was a play but from other peoples account he has done a good job at representing it in the movie genre. It also has to be said that Johnny Depp is simply amazing, as well as the rest of the cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZackM.Jan 3, 2010
Not my favorite movie but it is my favorite musical. the reason being is that it is gory bloody and sadistic not like any other movie i've seen. and not to mention johnny depp truly brought out the sympathetic side of a madmen very good Not my favorite movie but it is my favorite musical. the reason being is that it is gory bloody and sadistic not like any other movie i've seen. and not to mention johnny depp truly brought out the sympathetic side of a madmen very good work on burtons part. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
GlenM.Nov 19, 2009
What genre is this apart from musical? Horror? Black comedy? Crime drama? Shakepearean style tragedy? I'd give it all of the above. It's surely the most gruesome musical ever made. Not entirely great, there are boring stretches What genre is this apart from musical? Horror? Black comedy? Crime drama? Shakepearean style tragedy? I'd give it all of the above. It's surely the most gruesome musical ever made. Not entirely great, there are boring stretches along with exhilarating ones and will be off-putting for some but it certainly has guts (pun intended). The ending would make Shakespeare envious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MadisonF.Oct 11, 2009
If it wasn't the all-star cast, it was the beautiful scenery and music that all contributed to the great success of this film. The Depp and Burton combination was, as usual, fantastic, and Bonham Carter as Mrs. Lovett was an incredible If it wasn't the all-star cast, it was the beautiful scenery and music that all contributed to the great success of this film. The Depp and Burton combination was, as usual, fantastic, and Bonham Carter as Mrs. Lovett was an incredible idea. This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
NicholasGApr 15, 2009
I felt that scenes which did not involve Johnny Depp or Helena Bonham Carter were much more interesting. The exeption to this is the shaving competition which was only good because of Sacha Baron Cohen, who by the way was my favourite I felt that scenes which did not involve Johnny Depp or Helena Bonham Carter were much more interesting. The exeption to this is the shaving competition which was only good because of Sacha Baron Cohen, who by the way was my favourite character and probably sung the best. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
LaurensJan 19, 2009
Blood curly, sad, melodramatic sensastion combined with Boham Carter, Depp and Burton to create one of the biggest motion pictures of 2007. Defiently on my favorites list. Loved it! Wonderful movie, btw: NOT FOR THE SQUEAMISH.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PooriaDec 30, 2008
The best musical of all Cinema History !
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RodrigoM.Dec 28, 2008
I Think that was a good movie, but that's all. The acting was great, the screenplay was incredible, but the singing was annoying. If the film werent a musical, i'd love it , and i'd give it a 10. Sorry for the bad english.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattSNov 24, 2008
One of the best musicals ever, made by the perfect director for the project (ending a streak of very mediocre films) and cast with intelligence and skill. Anyone who doesn't find this music glorious and terrifying is from a different One of the best musicals ever, made by the perfect director for the project (ending a streak of very mediocre films) and cast with intelligence and skill. Anyone who doesn't find this music glorious and terrifying is from a different planet. I saw it thrice in the theaters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YvetteR.Sep 15, 2008
It was a great movie!! I was introduced to it by my friend and I thoght it was going to ber gross. It turned out to be a work of art!! But I agree with Joe G. It did have a poor ending. What happened to the boy is what im still asking?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllyL.Aug 24, 2008
I just loved this movie. The way it was directed, the way the actors portrayed their characters with convincing emotions, even their voices, which actually were pretty good, appealed to me. Even though I'd first heard of this in I just loved this movie. The way it was directed, the way the actors portrayed their characters with convincing emotions, even their voices, which actually were pretty good, appealed to me. Even though I'd first heard of this in November 2007, it's still the top of my list of all-time favorite movies Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JoeB.Jul 1, 2008
A Masterpiece, made even moreso by Johnny Depp. I ask, 'is there nothing this man cannot do?'
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DominicW.Jun 18, 2008
I saw the Blu-Ray version of this film on a 1080p large screen and was treated to an awe inspiring visual treat. The film itself rates as one of the best I've seen for a very long time. And I hate musicals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErinB.Jun 4, 2008
It's official! There is absolutely nothing Johnny Depp can't do! Twisted in a beautiful way!
5 of 6 users found this helpful
9
ChristopherJ.May 28, 2008
This musical shows what happens when hate consumes you, and it does it in a brilliantly entertaining manner. It's funny, it's clever, it's visually striking, it's consuming, it's great. It's a modern tragedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeG.May 13, 2008
Good goryish film but it has a bit of a poor ending.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BrandonM.May 10, 2008
One of my favorite films! I love how the music was used to tell the story rather than to overdue the certain topic at hand; as most musical films do. This film reminds me of the old Tim Burton films, with the dark pale skin, sunken eyes, and One of my favorite films! I love how the music was used to tell the story rather than to overdue the certain topic at hand; as most musical films do. This film reminds me of the old Tim Burton films, with the dark pale skin, sunken eyes, and dark backgrounds (even though its day). Johnny Depp was extremely good in this part, even with him singing! I highly recommend this film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DevonSApr 27, 2008
The first word that pops into my mind when someone mentions Sweeney Todd is "perfect".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
keApr 13, 2008
Best Tim Burton film and best johnny depp film. The songs are good and the ending just tragic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
SorenK.Apr 6, 2008
'Sweeny' is undoubtedly a Burton film with all that that means beautifully fleshed out - indulgent sets, razor sharp acting, and a quirky, campy gothic narrative. Unfortunately, the music falls flat on it's head.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SimonB.Apr 6, 2008
I've been a movie-goer since I was little. I've been watching movies on and off the TV. There isn't much I haven't already seen and there isn't much I can't compare to something else. For once, we get a movie I've been a movie-goer since I was little. I've been watching movies on and off the TV. There isn't much I haven't already seen and there isn't much I can't compare to something else. For once, we get a movie that's quality, that's creative. It's a remake of a play and it shows. I think with all the effort put through this , some people (COUGH PHIL.D COUGH) should have more consideration. Instead of hating the movie just because it's made by Tim Burton, you should try actually watching it. I am a musician and I would say that the camera play was dead-on with the music. It always FIT it was always where it should be. Timing things such as gestures to every beat made it all the more interesting as a musical comedy. The plot was simply revenge involving Judge Turpin and Benjamin (AKA Sweeney Todd) Barker, played by J-Depp. Johnny Depp is a brilliant actor, as Tim Burton said it, the actors weren't meant to be full of life in their movements, because that's what the make-up was for. How contradictory would it be for a "cold, bitter man" to play "lively musical dancer", do you think? The singing I wouldn't find anything "embarrassing" into as some have said. Johnny Depp didn't strike a note wrong and he was singing very well. Everything playing in that movie I found catchy and it's really cruel to pretend that it's nothing but scrap heap. There was TREMENDOUS effort put through this by the actors and the crew. There aren't bad movies: Just bad audiences. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SethV.Mar 29, 2008
Fantastic movie. Burton's best, thanks mostly to Sondheim, but also to beautiful performances by Depp, Bonham Carter, Rickman and Baron Cohen. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Mar 27, 2008
This is a tough movie to rate. Johnny Depp is remarkable, the sets, costumes and cinematography are outstanding. Tim Burton's imaginative direction is great. I thought the music wasn't particularly memorable and the story was hard This is a tough movie to rate. Johnny Depp is remarkable, the sets, costumes and cinematography are outstanding. Tim Burton's imaginative direction is great. I thought the music wasn't particularly memorable and the story was hard to stay focused on, and was boring sometimes, But a good effort. Visually it is quite remarkable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Nico.Mar 10, 2008
This film is so cool, i can't forget all the songs and the blood.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
GatsbyJ.Mar 7, 2008
-I don't think Burton is a "genius" but contarary to Phil D's passionate tirade against the director, I think Burton's movies are fun to watch and I do like the visual style. But as for those brilliant reviewers who say they -I don't think Burton is a "genius" but contarary to Phil D's passionate tirade against the director, I think Burton's movies are fun to watch and I do like the visual style. But as for those brilliant reviewers who say they hate the movie and list "boring boring boring" or eloquently complain that "nobody dance" during the movie, they're not really giving much detail. -I like the movie because the plot was simple and compelling, the idea of the two lovers who can't be together (Depp's character and the woman he loved), but twisted around slightly by echoing them in a younger generation of lovers who have hope of happiness. I thought the visual style was excellent, and here's an EXAMPLE (people need to give more of these): the moment when Depp's character gets his box of barber-knives back and holds one up to his face, and you see his mad, twisted reflection in the clear silver of the blade, and he says that his arms is once again complete. Anyone want to argue that Burton's directing or Depp's acting or the script was off during that moment? London was also grim and beautifully depicted, as fits the whole Industrial Revolution look of it. -The music was fantastic and the singing was much better than I thought it would be (people tended to cringe when the first line of the movie was sung, but then they started getting into it). -Acting was great, especially Depp and Rickman. My only problem was the ending was rushed and flawed, since we don't really get any info on the young lovers. -Good movie; watch it, then judge it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChelsePFeb 26, 2008
I walked into the theatre, not knowing what to expect, and walked out humming the tunes. I didn't even really know a thing about Sondheim whatsoever, and now I'm considering tracking down the musical. My personal, and quite I walked into the theatre, not knowing what to expect, and walked out humming the tunes. I didn't even really know a thing about Sondheim whatsoever, and now I'm considering tracking down the musical. My personal, and quite unexpected, favorite movie of the year! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FelixK.Feb 23, 2008
I've seen the German version of the movie and the one and only thing that disturbed me is that we had to read subtitles while hearing the english text sung by the German dub actors. But I can't understand why this film didn't I've seen the German version of the movie and the one and only thing that disturbed me is that we had to read subtitles while hearing the english text sung by the German dub actors. But I can't understand why this film didn't receive nominees for "Best Motion Picture" ; "Best Achievement In Directing" for Tim Burton; "Best Leading Actress" for Helena Carter and "Best Supporting Actor" for Alan Rickman. Definitely worth money and time and - by the way - the best cooperation ever of Burton and Depp !!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeticiaH.Feb 22, 2008
I really liked this movie! I thought it was great and I don't like musicals at all but this was a good one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GloriaF.Feb 21, 2008
Excellent acting Some scenes hard to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneR.Feb 20, 2008
Awesome music, amazing acting, outstanding movie! One of the best films I've ever seen. I honestly was not expecting to like it, but I was pleasantly surprised! Had me singing for weeks afterward!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
Patrickd.Feb 18, 2008
Dark, surprising, fantastic actors, great picture, powerful music by Elfman. Tim Burton still makes great movies. Two things I didn't like: the lyrics are so so, and the movie is sometimes slow. But it is still a great experience.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnK.Feb 15, 2008
Excellent film, great soundtrack, great story, lovely. Definitely worth your time!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KathrynC.Feb 14, 2008
One of the best films I have ever seen. I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LetíciaL.Feb 10, 2008
The best movie I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaHFeb 9, 2008
Beautiful adaptation of the stage musical. Johnny Depp's and Helena Bonham Carter's singing wasn't that great, but the overall effect was fantastic. The cinematography was stunning, and the acting was equally amazing. I Beautiful adaptation of the stage musical. Johnny Depp's and Helena Bonham Carter's singing wasn't that great, but the overall effect was fantastic. The cinematography was stunning, and the acting was equally amazing. I can't say enough good things about the movie, although it was more gory than I expected. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KaneG.Feb 6, 2008
I loved this movie it was the most brutal thing I'v ever seen "I a diffrent kind of hate if it were a street gang I'd go to war with it ".it was like heavy Metal WITH OUT THE METAL!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TanmayS.Feb 5, 2008
too operatic to be involving, and the music gets to you after a point. But brilliant, not least for its performances.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AlbinGFeb 3, 2008
Brilliant stuff. I just find it ashame that the ratings around the net are being dragged down by people giving it poor reviews based on the fact that it is a musical. Some people have actual complaints about the music, which i have no Brilliant stuff. I just find it ashame that the ratings around the net are being dragged down by people giving it poor reviews based on the fact that it is a musical. Some people have actual complaints about the music, which i have no problem with. It's just when people give it 0 siting "it's a musical lol so it must sucks obviously". I thought the music was brilliant. I felt that Anthony was a bit weak in the long run. A few too many mushy glazed leers into the middle-distance. I thought everyone else did their job well. Good music, good singing, good entertainment. Some excellent suspense work, as well as lots of (thematically justified) blood. I was gripped after 5 minutes. Good stuff all round. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
ColinBFeb 2, 2008
The most bloodilicious film I've seen in ages, and yet the most entertaining film of the holiday season. This is certainly the best of the Depp-Burton collaborations since Edward Scissorhands. Depp will mesmerize you as he slices and The most bloodilicious film I've seen in ages, and yet the most entertaining film of the holiday season. This is certainly the best of the Depp-Burton collaborations since Edward Scissorhands. Depp will mesmerize you as he slices and sings his way through the role of Todd, and Helena Bonham Carter's exclusion from a supporting actress nomination makes me want to grind the academy into meat pies. The set design is stunning as well, portraying a filthy, undesirable, yet surprising intimate setting. While the film has to take a few deep breaths to start chugging away at the beginning, Sweeney Todd is well worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulL.Feb 2, 2008
I loved it singing very good considering nobody was a pro. (plus they sounded better than have the crap on the radio) and visually captivating, which I could see it again and again and again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AriK.Jan 31, 2008
Much better on stage. Almost shameful on screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimJJan 31, 2008
Absolutely mesmerizing, the best movie experience in years. I have seen this 4 times and plan to watch it many more times on the DVD. All that has to be said has already been said in the reviews, all that is left is for everyone to watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarenC.Jan 29, 2008
I'm sorry some of you disliked it, but I found this to be one of the best films I've ever seen. It definitely jumped to my all time favorite. Sondheim is not always a composer people take to right away, but he is undeniably one of I'm sorry some of you disliked it, but I found this to be one of the best films I've ever seen. It definitely jumped to my all time favorite. Sondheim is not always a composer people take to right away, but he is undeniably one of the most respected, and well loved composers of the American Musical and Sweeney Todd a true classic. I fully expected to be disappointed and in fact, could not contain myself over this incredible adaptation. Not a copy, not a stage on film but a true film, in itself. Yes, it has style, it has emotional depth, it is beautiful to watch and a delight to experience. I have seen it now repeated times, and unlike other films that warranted multiple viewings, no flaws showed up. No slow spots, nothing that I would want done differently. It flows with grace and elegance. People who feel there is no emotion must simply not like this type of film. The story is not a complicated on. It is a revenge tragedy. It's a 200 year old legend that is a beloved musical that has stood the test of time since it debuted in 1979. This is a fable, a legend. How complicated is any legend? It is the ultimate story with an anti-hero who is morally corrupt and yet, you shift your moral compass in watching this. More so than usual with the film. Depp presents a tragic, saddened and terribly frustrated Sweeney with whom one can sympathize. I do feel for those of you who didn't enjoy it, but the fact is that it is a musical. It was conceived as a musical, presented as a musical, it makes no apologies for being a musical. More than that it is more an operetta. And it succeeds as a musical film more than any I have seen. And does it beautifully, with outstanding performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OrenKJan 28, 2008
Absolutely one of the best movies I've ever seen. The cinematography was stunning, perfectly Tim Burton, and I found that there was not a single moment when I was bored. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CassianJ.Jan 28, 2008
If there is a musical more suited to the magical Tim Burton than Sweeney Todd I will be very surprised. This really is a match made in heaven, high octaves and oceans of blood shaken into a delightful Burton cocktail. I am not familiar with If there is a musical more suited to the magical Tim Burton than Sweeney Todd I will be very surprised. This really is a match made in heaven, high octaves and oceans of blood shaken into a delightful Burton cocktail. I am not familiar with he source material so do not know how faithful the movie is, but the movie had the feeling of a stage show with only a few sets used ah but what beautiful Gothic sets they are lending the movie a cartoonish Gothic feel). The songs are well staged with Johnny Depp in particular benefiting from no singing lessons delivery his lines instead with a sense of menace and madness. Depp as ever delivers a stunning performance helped as usual by Burton Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BLJan 25, 2008
This is the only movie in the last few years that I thought was worth spending the money on to see it more than once in a theater. After that I bought the soundtrack and am more convinced every day that it's in the best 5 musicals of This is the only movie in the last few years that I thought was worth spending the money on to see it more than once in a theater. After that I bought the soundtrack and am more convinced every day that it's in the best 5 musicals of all time.I kind of feel sorry for the people here who gave it unusually low ratings or don't "get" why the critics consider it first rate. It's also too bad that Dreamworks/Paramount is either doing so little, or just doing such a bad job at marketing it. But that I can understand. There hasn't been much like it in theaters before just as there hadn't been much like it on Broadway before it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanLJan 25, 2008
It's disappointing, but not unexpected to see reviews here from people who think film suffers because the music is not memorable. (One review here hilariously suggests to see the sub-mediocre Hairspray instead which isn't even a It's disappointing, but not unexpected to see reviews here from people who think film suffers because the music is not memorable. (One review here hilariously suggests to see the sub-mediocre Hairspray instead which isn't even a good imitation of Grease!) I'd heard the Sweeney Broadway soundtrack and knew a few of the nicer songs (covered by people like Streisand) but it took this film for me to finally get in a big way what a masterpiece Sondheim had created 25 years ago. Sorry, folks, but the greatest music isn't always likable upon first hearing and the controlled dissonance and the complex way themes intertwine here is eons beyond standard pop or even standard musicals. I put this up there with West Side Story (also Sondheim, at least in lyrics) in terms of raw genius. No time to go into the filmic aspects or acting performances (except to say that Helena Bonham Carter I think was almost equal to Depp) but this was the most compelling movie overall that I've seen in years. I agree that it's darker and has less humor than the stage version but I don't see that as a loss. Different idiom, so a different interpretation. Same with the singing. Johnny Depp's less-skilled and less powerful voice is perfect for this version. Depp uses his crackling voice to emote while singing in a way I never imagined he could. A kick-ass "pro" baritone powerhouse would have ruined it. I understand completely why this film has made so many critic top ten lists. I'd say I'm sorry it's not in the Best Picture for Oscar, but I haven't seen all the other nominees yet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JocilineJan 22, 2008
I will not deny the original was better nor that not all of the songs were interesting... but you can not judge a movie on a predepositioned hate for musicals. Burton masterfully crafts the dark atmosphere, and clashes it with characters I will not deny the original was better nor that not all of the songs were interesting... but you can not judge a movie on a predepositioned hate for musicals. Burton masterfully crafts the dark atmosphere, and clashes it with characters that do not seem to notice it (shy one rather important sub-character). Depp naturally becomes Mr. Todd, and clearly IS the film, but it's not like it's a wait to get back to the interesting psycho... rather... stuff... Either way, I went in by proclaiming that a movie can not be judged by a predeposition against that movie. It's a musical, big deal... it's not a slasher, horror, thriller or love story. It's drama. It's all about the interactions between people... and a bit about disturbing you with the psychotic nature of Mr. Todd and Mrs. Lovett. And yes, this is not the best score... often repeating the same lyrics far to often and doing reprisals of other songs within songs... but I found only a few songs detached... the rest were evoking enough to draw me in.. Going in expecting something else causes a sense of being cheated. As such, I feel the reason people disliked Sweeny Todd is because they thought it to be something it is not... and were unwilling to appreciate it for what it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidHEJan 20, 2008
At least 10 to combat the stink of the spammers with low scores which aren't deleted. Powerful film with great cash and although it doesn't capture the musical perfectly the songs are reasonably abridged. A strong 9.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JosephAJan 15, 2008
Excellent, excellent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentCJan 9, 2008
The music and singing will forever be stuck within your cranium. The blood, while pretty graphic, does not look very real due to the use of stage blood, so while it will make you squeamish (in a good, fun way) it won't make you throw The music and singing will forever be stuck within your cranium. The blood, while pretty graphic, does not look very real due to the use of stage blood, so while it will make you squeamish (in a good, fun way) it won't make you throw up. Cohen's singing is delightfully funny and Ed Sander's has a lot of potential. Almost every cast member was spot on. Some funny dialogue is also a welcomed addition. Overall, any fan of movies, musicals, or both should NOT MISS THIS MOVIE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeyKJan 8, 2008
Creepy, gory, and wildly entertaining. The acting is great. The music is not so great, but it certainly gets the job done. It's even thought provoking at times. The romantic side plot slows down the movie a lot, yet still manages to go Creepy, gory, and wildly entertaining. The acting is great. The music is not so great, but it certainly gets the job done. It's even thought provoking at times. The romantic side plot slows down the movie a lot, yet still manages to go nowhere. But it actually was an important piece of the plot. Overall: Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexQJan 8, 2008
I saw this movie 2xs on consecutive days, first at an AMC, last at a Harkins. The AMC was glorious, strong color and resonant sound. The Harkins viewing was awful--the speakers couldn't handle the higher register so Carter sounded tinny I saw this movie 2xs on consecutive days, first at an AMC, last at a Harkins. The AMC was glorious, strong color and resonant sound. The Harkins viewing was awful--the speakers couldn't handle the higher register so Carter sounded tinny & horrible. Either the film print was bad or the projector bulb weak, but the color was completely desaturated as well. Many times characters were half lost in the shadows. It was very close to a Drive in experience--which makes me wonder if those who did not enjoy the movie saw it under conditions ala Harkins. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
abJan 6, 2008
beautifully created. the songs were memorable, the acting was fabulous, and everything else just followed suit!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenyaP.Jan 5, 2008
I was so impressed with this movie and my husband who doesn't like musicals enjoyed it so much that he asked when we were going to be able to go and get the soundtrack because ever since we saw it he has been singing the songs from it!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ConnerSJan 5, 2008
Holy Freaking Crap! this was the most desturbing, amazing movie i have ever seen! The singing in great and the acting is even better! This is not a movie for the light stomached but if you can make it through the gore, it's phenominal! A++!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
SheenaL.Jan 4, 2008
Tim Burton does an honourable job and taking Sondheim's show and putting it on film. The lighting, sets and make-up paint the screen well however, his choice in casting missed the mark. Depp was too small in stature to play Todd and his Tim Burton does an honourable job and taking Sondheim's show and putting it on film. The lighting, sets and make-up paint the screen well however, his choice in casting missed the mark. Depp was too small in stature to play Todd and his voice was no match for Sondheim's score when he sang in his upper register. Bonham Carter spent most of her time looking beautiful (a beautiful Mrs. Lovette?!) and lacked the timing and punctuation needed to get all of the laughs from her songs. The extra scenes that were written into the movie were superfluous but the movie still entertained. It was the youngest three lesser known actors who delivered the vocals the way they were meant to be. I plan to be the first in line to get the DVD. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BillS.Jan 4, 2008
Having seen the original Broadway production, both revivals of the show on Broadway and several other versions of "Sweeney Todd" over the years, I was not sure of what to expect with the film version. I was very plesantly surpized, however, Having seen the original Broadway production, both revivals of the show on Broadway and several other versions of "Sweeney Todd" over the years, I was not sure of what to expect with the film version. I was very plesantly surpized, however, with the resulting film which I believe captures the essence on the original show while making it work for nthe screen. I found some of the blood-squirting a bit "over the top", but the performances, sets, costumes, screenplay and especially the orchestrations excellent. I have seen nearly all of the critically-praised films of the year and this one ranks with the best. It deserves to be nominated for a bunch of oscars and should win in several categories including "Best Picture" and Director. The original play is not easy to produce on stage and this adaptation is wonderful. It could well have been awful. I cannot wait to see it again (most of Sondheim's shows are best seen more than once because there is so much to savor). Glorious music, lots of great wit and not a dull moment. The movie holds your attention. You won't fall asleep during this one.....for Sweeney may get you if you do! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CourtneyE.Jan 4, 2008
This was the best movie ever i mean it really moved and made you just want to see it more and more times.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MSJan 3, 2008
Would have received 10 out of 10 save for a couple of things that didn't make sense: - opening scene blood is pretty poor - you're stabbing with a razor? you DO realize that the end is blunt, right? - the movie needed a conclusion Would have received 10 out of 10 save for a couple of things that didn't make sense: - opening scene blood is pretty poor - you're stabbing with a razor? you DO realize that the end is blunt, right? - the movie needed a conclusion of some sort (this isn't the stage, Tim Burton) - even if it happened during the end credits Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnB.Jan 1, 2008
I'm not much of a fan of musicals. Sitting through things like "The Sound of Music" is sheer torture for me. I was intrigued with the overall plot of Sweeney Todd, but I still had misgivings about the fact that it is still a musical. As I'm not much of a fan of musicals. Sitting through things like "The Sound of Music" is sheer torture for me. I was intrigued with the overall plot of Sweeney Todd, but I still had misgivings about the fact that it is still a musical. As it turns out, seeing this movie was a superb, if uneasy, experience. This is a dark, dark, sardonic movie, with unexpected comic turns. The dreariness of the cinematagraphy is almost numbing, and yet it mostly works given the plot. Depp is astounding in the lead. I saw the movie without any baggage from having seen any previous Broadway versions, and so I am judging the movie on its own merits rather than by comparison. Much of the music does seem to have a rather dated quality to it, which doesn't mean that it's not good. It just took me a while to be immersed in it, and before too long I was able to enjoy it about as much as most contemporary music that I like. The lyrics, in a number of instances, are just brilliantly, comically vicious. In a world in which people are routinely devouring each other, why not do it right and make folks into delicious pies. The idea rings even truer now than decades ago when this musical first hit Broadway. It's a positively Swiftian premise. I heartily recommend this movie for people who can stomach it. The gore, the cutting, the dumping of the bodies with a sickening thud 15 or so feet below Sweeney's establishment - not for the squeamish. But if you are the kind of person who finds a perverse delight in hearing lyrics like, "We all deserve to die," then this is a movie event you should not miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinD.Jan 1, 2008
Sondheim's score and Burton's vision come together perfectly. Visually appealing and aurally entrancing. A masterpiece of stage to screen adaptations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SoniaA.Jan 1, 2008
I thought this was a really Good movie!! you have Johnny depp and Helena Bothen-cart two good actors and then you have Tim burton The best Director you can't go wrong!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
KevinL.Jan 1, 2008
Once you swallow the narrative absurdity inherent in practically every musical, this is pretty decent. Burton makes the most of the actors' expressions, even behind the cake of make-up they all wear. Timothy Spall is especially good as Once you swallow the narrative absurdity inherent in practically every musical, this is pretty decent. Burton makes the most of the actors' expressions, even behind the cake of make-up they all wear. Timothy Spall is especially good as Beadle Bamford -- the play of vanity and sadism sweep across his face like dark clouds across a full moon. Burton's best since Mars Attacks! (a classic!), because he doesn't allow himself to get too sappy with his woe-begotten underdogs (who, after all, are psychotic killers). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaynaJan 1, 2008
I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS MOVIE!!! Besides the stupid unneccesary blood that they put in, it was purely wonderful!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Dec 31, 2007
There was more singing than i thought there would be...a musical lite, this aint, but still fun and worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanGDec 30, 2007
I found Sweeney to be enthralling from start to finish. And, yes, I have seen the Broadway productions (still love Angela) but Burton didn't just film the play. He made it a cinematic experience. Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArmondW.Dec 30, 2007
This isn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinP.Dec 28, 2007
Absolutely beautiful/ STUNNING! It is like a Shakespearean tragedy. Burton has outdone himself, by far!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaS.Dec 28, 2007
it was really good but if u don't like a lot of blood then do not see it but u could turn away at the parts with blood so i think if u like blood and johnny depp then see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattDec 28, 2007
one of the best films i've seen this year. Great music and singing
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Dec 27, 2007
Laugh at the man who sings showtunes and he'll slice your throat. "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" actually made me smile...at blood. It's not the blood itself; it's the blood in juxtaposition with song, and Laugh at the man who sings showtunes and he'll slice your throat. "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" actually made me smile...at blood. It's not the blood itself; it's the blood in juxtaposition with song, and that is a combination audiences have never seen before. "Sweeney Todd" is unbelievably violent. The filmmaker miraculously finds the right tone for all those slit throats that fall somewhere between graphic and whimsical. Johnny Depp(imagine Nick Cave) and Helena Bonham Carter(imagine Siouxsie Sioux) are brilliant as Sweeney Todd and Mrs. Lovett. They're sociopaths. They don't have an ounce of good in them. The filmmaker had the guts to make both leads completely ruthless and evil. "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" accomplishes the unthinkable; it's a guy's night out musical. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TaxiDec 27, 2007
The only reason I don't give it a 10 is that I really hate slasher movies, but this slasher movie has so much style, wit and artistry that I rate it amongst the best films I've seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlisonDec 27, 2007
Sheer diabolical brilliance! The weak points were the sound mixing (the voices occasionally got overwhelmed by the music) and the editing that turned Judge Turpin into a garden variety lecher, but over all a very satisfying production!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeB.Dec 27, 2007
Burton's "Sweeney Todd" is a good movie with moments of excellence, but in adapting the Broadway show for the screen he has made changes that simplify - I would call it dumb down - the characters, turning them into flat black-and-white Burton's "Sweeney Todd" is a good movie with moments of excellence, but in adapting the Broadway show for the screen he has made changes that simplify - I would call it dumb down - the characters, turning them into flat black-and-white sterotypes instead of honoring the twisted black humor of Sondheim's original concept. The fun of the show was to create a black comedy where a mass murderer and a cannibal are sympatheic protagonists. In Sondheim's version, Sweeney is not exclusively fixated on revenge; he clearly appreciates Mrs. Lovett for her humor - e.g. there's a section of "A Little Priest" where they laughingly indulge in puns and wordplay; Burton cut this bit, and all other joking between the two. More importantly, ironic twists in most of the other principals have been untwisted by Burton. (Spoilers follow.) Sondheim's Judge Turpin is not pure evil, he is conflicted and literally self-flagellating; he sentences a poor man to death. Burton's judge is just a covetous, self-righteous vouyer, who sentences to death...an innocent child. Sondheim's Antony is a good-natured idiot who falls in love with a girl in a window, vows to steal Joanna but loses his nerve and cannot fire a gun to save her; Burton's version is a doe-eyed teen idol who suceeds in the rescue. Sondheim's Joanna is a foolish and distractable girl who bravely fires the gun and later escapes from Todd; Burton's heroine is just a vapid blonde waiting to be rescued, who we last see in Todd's barber chair, waiting to be butchered. Sondheim's Lucy is a miserable beggar who makes salacious suggestions that embarrass sailors; Burton's beggar is rude but never crude. Sondheim's Toby is a victim and is driven mad; Burton's child seems to be a clear-eyed avenger. Yes, all adaptations require cuts and changes in order to create a clear and focused movie, but there's a pattern here of turning what was unique and interesting into something much shallower and closer to standard Hollywood fare. I had expected Burton to accentuate the dissonance, both musically and plotwise, but it appears that he done the opposite, and accentuated the blood instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomR.Dec 27, 2007
Visually stunning. Burton does more for black dark hued films than most black and white movies. The singing is a bit thin. Both Depp and Helena Boham Carter have comparatively quiet voices. They make up for it with their acting. If you loved Visually stunning. Burton does more for black dark hued films than most black and white movies. The singing is a bit thin. Both Depp and Helena Boham Carter have comparatively quiet voices. They make up for it with their acting. If you loved the musical you will love the movie. Audience unfamiliar with SWT may find the movie quite a shock. The movie is awash with spurting arterial blood. But then thats what you would expect. The audience we saw the film murmured a lot at the end of the picture. Actually listening to the soundtrack at home after the movie, proved richer. Theater sound systems are built more to deal with explosions and dialogue. So I think the recording does a better job at capturing music. What impressed me about the film was how I understood every lyric sung in the musical dialogue. I heard lyrics much clearer than I have often heard in live theatre. If you like Sweeney Todd the musical...I can't imagine you won't like the movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful