Libero | Release Date: October 18, 2006
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 22 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
3
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
AnneJan 6, 2007
I loved this movie. My husband is Scandinavian, so right off the bat Olaf got to me. The Lutheran references were hilarious and the underlying theme of community and love was sweet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianGNov 9, 2006
Love this movie. Superbly acted, especially the actress playing Inga. I loved the way it was lit and filmed. I wish my grandparents were still alive so I could ask questions about living in this time period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReneROct 21, 2006
This is a complete film - great story, fine natural performances & beautifully shot & edited. I can't stop thinking about it's subtle beauty & itimacy. I'm spreading the word to everyone I know who appreciates good This is a complete film - great story, fine natural performances & beautifully shot & edited. I can't stop thinking about it's subtle beauty & itimacy. I'm spreading the word to everyone I know who appreciates good film-making/storytelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Bluezboy8Dec 26, 2006
This work would best represent the true definition of American Pie. It recalls the European wave of immigration of the early 20th century, and would seem to hold a mirror to the present day. The story of the arranged union of Inga and Olaf This work would best represent the true definition of American Pie. It recalls the European wave of immigration of the early 20th century, and would seem to hold a mirror to the present day. The story of the arranged union of Inga and Olaf moves at a pace that would probably be accurate for the times, and the preacher's discovery of the two dancing "during the daylight" was a realistic, and amusing symbol of cultural intolerance. The story moves in a somewhat predictable direction, but the cinematography and score fend off the notions of melodrama, and the messages of community, friendship, and commitment displayed in Sweet Land are purposely meant to be shared and absorbed by future generations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MM.Mar 11, 2007
Nicely shot and acted, sure, but boring. The boring story that i thought we all have heard about a thousand times, crept along like a slug in the garden. We all knew exactly what was going to happen, and then nothing unique arose in teh Nicely shot and acted, sure, but boring. The boring story that i thought we all have heard about a thousand times, crept along like a slug in the garden. We all knew exactly what was going to happen, and then nothing unique arose in teh journey. I wanted to like it as it is about my ancestors essentially, and wanted to care about her struggles, but she seemed empty and without personality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobG.Dec 2, 2006
I agree with Rene R on this forum board...I'm doing everything I can to spread the word about this film. Lovely, understated, and stirring. Deserves to be a huge success, not only at the box office, but at the award shows. (Just got its I agree with Rene R on this forum board...I'm doing everything I can to spread the word about this film. Lovely, understated, and stirring. Deserves to be a huge success, not only at the box office, but at the award shows. (Just got its first nominations: Best First Feature and Best Actress at the Indepenent Spirit Awards.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LewisPOct 23, 2006
Here's a film that tries so hard to be ranked up there with the best of European Art Films, unfortunately it doesn't quite make the grade. [***SPOILERS***] Before we flashback to the main story (which is set in 1920 Minnesota) Here's a film that tries so hard to be ranked up there with the best of European Art Films, unfortunately it doesn't quite make the grade. [***SPOILERS***] Before we flashback to the main story (which is set in 1920 Minnesota) we're treated to two unnecessary "flash forward" scenes, one set in the 60s when the main character, Inge, buries her husband and another scene 20 or so years later when the grandson buries Inge. These scenes add nothing to the basic story and tend to sentimentalize the characters even further. When we finally do get to the core of the story, where Inge (well played by Elizabeth Reaser) comes to America, we find out little about the personalities of the characters. Most of the first half of the movie deals with Inge trying to cope with a hostile community where she barely speaks any English (it's not really explained very clearly, but Inge is a mail-order bride from Norway but she's actually German who's been living in Norway). Her husband-to-be Olaf, is a Norwegian-America who is unable to communicate with her in German (it appears that he can speak Norwegian and so can she--well at least I thought I heard her speak some Norwegian during the film) but they choose not to because the town minister insists that she only speak English. So quite unconvincingly, when they are alone, they never converse in Norwegian which would probably help her to learn English a lot faster. Reaser does a good job at showing how difficult it is learning a new language and there are some scenes that are fairly compelling as Inge and her hard-working farmer-husband learn to love each other. But beyond that what do we find out about the characters in this film? Well there's Olaf, who's a bit of a Stoic but also a real good guy who saves his best friend's farm by bidding for it at an auction (even though he doesn't have the money!). And of course there's the minister, who is caught up in the anti-German hysteria of the day and gives Inge a real hard time. But of course, he's really not such a bad guy after all because eventually he inexplicably comes to accept her. And in fact, all the neighbors, who at first appear as though they're going to start a witch-hunt against Olaf and his potential bride, suddenly have a change of heart and actually give Olaf the cash to buy his best friend's farm which prevents the family from being evicted. Since most everybody here has a heart of gold, none of the characters come off as multi-dimensional. As we step back into 1920, we feel the author only has a superficial sense of what it was like to live back in that time. Oh yes, there's a nice attempt to recreate the look of the period with the old Model-T cars and gramophones but without in-depth characters, the film ultimately proves to be an exercise in sentimental storytelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeneB.Dec 22, 2006
We enjoyed this movie a great deal. I am not generally drawn to love stories but this film moved right a long and kept my attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful