Screen Gems | Release Date: October 11, 2002
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 45 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
6
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
smijatovJan 8, 2011
When one thought Madonna finally got critical acclaim with 'Evita' she does this. Gosh. It is one of the worst films I have ever had the displeasure to watch. Madonna's acting was just unbelievably bad, as well as Giannini's was (if notWhen one thought Madonna finally got critical acclaim with 'Evita' she does this. Gosh. It is one of the worst films I have ever had the displeasure to watch. Madonna's acting was just unbelievably bad, as well as Giannini's was (if not worse, even). The predictable storyline is not just predictable, but it is almost insulting to one's intelligence. Horrible story, horrible acting, dialogue that could be better used on a piece of toilet paper: that is what Swept Away is. Definitely deserved all 5 Razzie Awards it won... as well as the two it failed winning. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
itz_giologicalMay 23, 2011
Everyone involved in this could've done right. But sadly, almost everything's wrong. It's a total misstep from Madonna, Guy Ritchie and even the butchered fishes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
kowalskiAug 27, 2011
As much as you have to love Madonna as a singer, she cannot act. She just cannot. Because of that, the movie is already ruined. You have to admire her for trying, but you can't admire the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
gagaforeverMar 5, 2012
This film actually was surprisingly good. I rented the video before I read the reviews, and after I read the recviews I was a little nervous to watch it. When I did watch it, I was delighted to see that it was an actual good story line.This film actually was surprisingly good. I rented the video before I read the reviews, and after I read the recviews I was a little nervous to watch it. When I did watch it, I was delighted to see that it was an actual good story line. Despite what other critic and viewers have said, I thought Madonna's performance was pretty good! I would recommend seeing it! Although the ending was most disappointing and sad, I realized that every story can't end like a fairy tale. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
alonzoOct 28, 2011
Verdaderamente me entretuve viendo la película, me parece que ninguno de los actores principales hacen un perfecto papel pero sí lo hacen de manera adecuada. En todo caso la historia es entretenida. Puede observarse la bellezaVerdaderamente me entretuve viendo la película, me parece que ninguno de los actores principales hacen un perfecto papel pero sí lo hacen de manera adecuada. En todo caso la historia es entretenida. Puede observarse la belleza de la naturaleza, incluida la belleza de los actores principales. La tengo dentro de mi colección de películas. Por cierto: Viva la Reina Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
ChuckW.Mar 5, 2006
The original was a decent enough film, but this one is a pale copy. Don't waste your time with this drivel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MarkCAug 23, 2007
OK, it is not a movie that overloaded critics with perception disorders would expect, but it a is little fun for average viewers. One can feel so much hate towards Madonna and Ritchie prior to making an objective judgments from critics.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
BOBBBJul 23, 2011
I just discovered this movie and surprised by negative reviews. Although not as great as the original I enjoyed it a great deal. Madonna was excellent and why young Giannin never did much more is a mystery. Excellent, touching movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cezaraioanaJun 22, 2015
omg this movie was so touching! I actually liked it. I don't understand all this hate for Madonna's acting. It was pretty good. I would recommend this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tintin_tintineAug 30, 2017
Considering this movie's IMDB 3.60 (13 063 reviews) rating compared to Russian Kinopoisk 5.816 (10 099 reviews) it's evident what's the difference between these two countries is. Americans are like "it's painful to watch thus I'm not watchingConsidering this movie's IMDB 3.60 (13 063 reviews) rating compared to Russian Kinopoisk 5.816 (10 099 reviews) it's evident what's the difference between these two countries is. Americans are like "it's painful to watch thus I'm not watching it" and Russians are "it's so painful to watch and I'm rewatching it when possible". Masochistic approach. Plus, there's always this "Americans are trashing this movie - must be a good one". And, of course, according to us, Russians did it earlier with cult and still famous "The Fourty-First" (1956) winning award in Cannes. That's why Lina's version was not original, too. It's a little consolation for Madonna and Guy, of course. But, you know, Fellini was treated as **** before he was awarded at Moscow Film Festival. The only minus of this movie - no Madonna song on soundtrack. Such a waste. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews