Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: August 1, 2008
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 32 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
6
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
EvanC.Aug 7, 2008
This was not a great movie, but it certainly was enjoyable with excellent acting. I think the critics were too harsh. Admittedly it is unplausible, but certainly not more unplausible than a lot of other inane action and sophomoric slapstick This was not a great movie, but it certainly was enjoyable with excellent acting. I think the critics were too harsh. Admittedly it is unplausible, but certainly not more unplausible than a lot of other inane action and sophomoric slapstick flicks this summer, which the critics seem to like better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
Rev.RikardAug 9, 2008
This film insults the political savy of sotherners, while melting the political process down into an oversimplified, sappy stew. Costner's "Bubba" gets old within ten minutes, which is about as long as the film should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColinG.Aug 4, 2008
Great premise, good film. A Capra-esque story that will appeal to those who like a little hokey and heart-warming in their entertainment. For those who complain this is unrealistic or absurd I would ask if it would improve the realism if Great premise, good film. A Capra-esque story that will appeal to those who like a little hokey and heart-warming in their entertainment. For those who complain this is unrealistic or absurd I would ask if it would improve the realism if Costner ran around in a latex bat suit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RedAug 5, 2008
This movie was a swing and a miss. Between the occansional chuckles and debating whether or not to refill my popcorn I was happy when the movie ended. It really was rather dull which is upsetting because Kevin Costner can do so much better. This movie was a swing and a miss. Between the occansional chuckles and debating whether or not to refill my popcorn I was happy when the movie ended. It really was rather dull which is upsetting because Kevin Costner can do so much better. As for little Madeline Carroll I'd like to say she stole the show... but really their wasn't much of a show to steal. One of the biggest let downs of the movie came towards the end with an unexpected crescendo of emotion. It comes out of no where and feels so disconnected to the rest of the film. To sum it up simply save and your money and don't go to the theatre. Better yet if you do make it out to the local cinema see a real work of art such as "The Dark Knight." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JessEAug 7, 2008
Whether you like the movie or not depends on whether you like Costner or not. In this film he delivers a charming performance along with newcomer 12yr old Madeline Carroll. The film is funniest when it depicts the two campaigns trying to fit Whether you like the movie or not depends on whether you like Costner or not. In this film he delivers a charming performance along with newcomer 12yr old Madeline Carroll. The film is funniest when it depicts the two campaigns trying to fit into Costner's character political opinions. No new ground broken here but it is a delightfullight hearted comedy that is worth seeing if you can break away from seeing the current Special effects action flicks over and over and over and over again. Don't people ever get tired of seeing a film so many times so soon. Evidently not. Catch Swing vote. It deserves an audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Aug 1, 2008
When Bud Johnson(Kevin Costner) draws the curtain in his voting booth, "Swing Vote" leaves you in limbo; you're left wondering as to which party ideology that this ordinary man will endorse with his cast ballot. But this inconclusive When Bud Johnson(Kevin Costner) draws the curtain in his voting booth, "Swing Vote" leaves you in limbo; you're left wondering as to which party ideology that this ordinary man will endorse with his cast ballot. But this inconclusive scene is double-edged. Unless you're post-cynical, the matter at hand has more to do with the validness of Bud's right in determining the next leader of the free world. "Swing Vote" hides its shrewdness behind Capraesque manipulation, but it's only a facade. "Swing Vote" implicates the public at-large, not just the candidates and their respective parties, as being culprits of our flawed, some say, broken, voting system. Molly Johnson(Madeline Carroll) is not only Bud's daughter, she functions on an extra-diegetic level; the girl is like a campaign manager for the apathetic-minded American people. Bud may be the moderator during a presidential debate, but it's Molly's words, Molly's passion for the issues, that her father delivers into the cameras. In a cameo, which reveals that this sentimental film has some teeth, Bill Maher proclaims that Americans are dumb-asses. By making her father look smart on national television, the young girl tries to prove the former-"Politically Incorrect" host wrong in creating the illusion that regular joes like her dad cares about policies and initiatives. But since Molly is growing up in such morally ambiguous times, she doesn't understand that her good intentions(and the journalist's good intentions) are as corrupt as the people who orchestrated the Florida recount(and the journalists who helped enable the coup on Al Gore) in 2000, the year of the hanging chad. Bud needs to step out of that voting booth and teach his daughter how to be ethical in an unethical world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffH.Aug 2, 2008
Sort of predictable but very fun anyway.Madeline Carroll is a very talented newcomer. Costner plays the good ol redneck very well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KathleenG.Aug 2, 2008
I was surprised that this movie was as good as it was. I know there were some absurd parts, but I really enjoyed seeing Kostner at his best. What a great job he did! And his daughter was superb. Really worth seeing - a fun and contemplative I was surprised that this movie was as good as it was. I know there were some absurd parts, but I really enjoyed seeing Kostner at his best. What a great job he did! And his daughter was superb. Really worth seeing - a fun and contemplative way to spend a couple of hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayHJan 8, 2009
The cast is very likable and Kevin Costner makes a surprisingly good redneck. The story however is so insanely far fetched that it is impossible to fully enjoy the film. It is such a silly premise. A waste of good talent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyanA.Jul 30, 2008
This movie is only good if you are white trash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AllenT.Jul 30, 2008
Why was this movie made in the first place?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesCoolJul 30, 2008
Ok Hollywood is really getting desparate here if they are honestly trying to appeal to redneck white trash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Aug 14, 2008
Making imitation Alfred Hitchcock movies isn't all that hard to do (and many of us who have watched Brian DePalma's career over the last decade wish to God he'd go back to doing them), but making imitation Frank Capra Making imitation Alfred Hitchcock movies isn't all that hard to do (and many of us who have watched Brian DePalma's career over the last decade wish to God he'd go back to doing them), but making imitation Frank Capra movies...well, that's tough. Those who try to do so often forget that the final quarter of It's A Wonderful Life is really one of the darkest movies ever made (the better, more powerful and more radiant when Capra finally turns on the light), and so for every effort that works (like last year's lovely, fanciful The Astronaut Farmer from the Polish brothers, or the 1980 John Ritter gem Hero At Large, a charming unofficial redo of Meet John Doe) you get ten or so like 2001's The Majestic, which triple Capra's speechifying and sugar content while slowing his unerring sense of pace, which in the 1930s rivaled that of Howard Hawks' screwball comedies, to a near-comatose crawl. One reason Swing Vote works so well is that it doesn't sentimentalize its hero (if you can call him that), Bud Johnson; in the film's early scenes, his job loss is clearly not that of the economy or the system, but his own damn fault. (This movie is far more honest in its discussion of the immigration issue than this year's heavily manipulative indie smash The Visitor.) This gives Kevin Costner the opportunity to do what he does best: here, as in Bull Durham and The Upside of Anger, he plays a fundamentally OK but deeply flawed good guy, with the emphasis on flawed. His personal Jiminy Cricket (whom, thanks to his very heavily liquid diet, he's usually too woodenheaded to pay much heed to) is his conscientious, civic-minded daughter Molly (newcomer Madeleine Carroll, who, had this movie gotten better reviews or box office, would have been instantly set up as the next Abigail Breslin). She begs him to vote for the next President, but since he's busy proving why maybe the old practice of closing the bars on Election Day wasn't such a bad idea after all, she takes matters into her own small hands,with resulting complications that, while totally impossible to conceive 10 years ago, subsequent history has made just amusingly improbable now. The Electoral College renders Bud's one mere do-over vote the deciding factor in who takes the White House; as a result, the Republican incumbent (Kelsey Grammer) and his Democratic challenger (Dennis Hopper) and their respective campaign managers (Stanley Tucci, Nathan Lane) go to absurd, often hilarious and occasionally chilling lengths to suck up to Bud and secure his loyalty. Those who slam Swing Vote's satire as being toothless forget that Claude Rains in Capra's Mr. Smith Goes To Washington, while the villain, wasn't a bad person but a decent, idealistic one who got corrupted along the way...sadly, in almost 70 years the more things change the more they remain the same (a hard lesson for those of us who thought that John Edwards was the greatest guy in American politics only to recently learn that he's as human as the rest of us). That's why the evenhanded Swing Vote, in true Capra fashion, works as nicely as it does, even if, like me, you have issues with what it chooses to do and not do in its final 10 minutes; neither candidate (or campaign manager, somewhat surprisingly) is evil at all. Thus, even though Swing Vote scores some of its biggest points and laughs by parallelling Hopper's inability to relate to the so-called "common man" with John Kerry's, Michael Dukakis's and Walter Mondale's similar ineptitude, Grammer's GOP antagonist is, unlike the current office holder, charming, intelligent and silver-tongued (if a bit patronizing). In the Swing Vote universe there are no equivalents to Karl Rove, Dick Cheney or George W. you-know-who. Works for me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DougR.Aug 2, 2008
If you can buy the premise and like Kevin Costner, then you'll like this movie. It had a lot of funny scenes with a GREAT cast. The reviewers are much too hard of this movie, no it isn't rocket science, but it doesn't pretend to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobWAug 5, 2008
Too long and with an annoying soundtrack, but I still liked it. The little girl is terrific.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AllyWAug 8, 2008
I did not have high expectations, but my wife and I loved this movie. Despite the outrageous premise, the movie was smart, funny, and had moving moments of profound depth. Good performances by the actresses playing Bud's daughter and ex-wife.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BobHMar 9, 2009
An extremely weak attempt at political satire that provides neither insight or entertainment. The premise is beyond absurd although I'm more than willing to suspend my disbelief for the sake of a good plot and intriguing character An extremely weak attempt at political satire that provides neither insight or entertainment. The premise is beyond absurd although I'm more than willing to suspend my disbelief for the sake of a good plot and intriguing character development. Sadly the execution of this already hackneyed script makes the preposterous premise the least of this movie's faults. Without spoiling too much (not that there's much to spoil), this movie essentially tries to get some cheap laughs at the expense of the world's easiest targets - politician. The makers of this film spend an agonizingly long two hours trying to tell us something we've known ever since we hit the age of reason - that our elected officials and their cronies are deceptive charlatans who will say or do anything to get a necessary vote. Wow, what an incredibly profound observation. The movie's greatest fault, however, lies with its unsympathetic, unappealing, bland cast of characters. The screw-up dad/precocious child tandem has already been beaten to death in myriad other films and television programs but "Swing Vote" fails to present even a moderately intriguing father-and-daughter duo with the tired old forumla. Costner's Bud character isn't a lovable screw-up. He's an idiotic, lazy, criminal alcoholic who is incapable of providing for his daughter both tangibly and emotionally and quite frankly does not mature intellectually or aesthetically or undergo any positive character development until the final five minutes of the film when he improbably transforms into a hyper-concered citizen who moderates presidential debates. Ridiculous. Equally odious is Madeline Carroll's character, an impossibly intelligent child who spends the entire film carrying on like the spawn of Satan, constantly screaming at and berating her roustabout father to the point of insufferability as well as acting like a general smartass to every other adult she encounters. A note to Touchstone Pictures - smart kids aren't cute when they're constantly acting snarky, bitchy, and mean-spirited. Kelsey Grammer, Nathan Lane, and Dennis Hopper try their best with the massive pile of excrement that was handed to them and their efforts are the only reason this movie doesn't get a zero from me. Still, they fail just as this movie fails. Paula Patton plays an irrelevant role and acts as a quasi-love interest for Costner's character that goes nowhere. The chronically unfunny George Lopez also has a minor, exceedingly pointless part too. I think Nana Visitor from Deep Space Nine was also in it for about eight seconds but I was too busy digging around for a rope to strangle myself with by that point in the movie. I'd rather watch Battlefield Earth a million times over than be subjected to viewing even a scene from this horror show again. Stay away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamesHJul 30, 2009
Premise was too far fetched, corny the little girl was annoying, it was too liberal and one sided (appealing to gay marriage and anti pro-life) the best part was when he seemed to come to his senses and start preparing to take this Premise was too far fetched, corny the little girl was annoying, it was too liberal and one sided (appealing to gay marriage and anti pro-life) the best part was when he seemed to come to his senses and start preparing to take this "situation" seriously. the best part was when the girl ran away to her mom's house. that was the best part everything leading up to it (except for the portral of the brain dead papparzzi) was pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlcaDec 11, 2014
Please delete - Please delete - Please delete - Please delete - Please delete - Please delete - Please delete - Please delete - Please delete - Please delete -
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews