Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thirty years before the antics of Lindsay Lohan and Britney Spears were regular gossip fodder, Miss Wyoming Joyce McKinney made her mark as a tabloid staple ne plus ultra. Morris follows the salacious adventures of this beauty queen with an IQ of 168 whose single-minded devotion to the manThirty years before the antics of Lindsay Lohan and Britney Spears were regular gossip fodder, Miss Wyoming Joyce McKinney made her mark as a tabloid staple ne plus ultra. Morris follows the salacious adventures of this beauty queen with an IQ of 168 whose single-minded devotion to the man of her dreams leads her across the globe, into jail, and onto the front page. Joyce’s labyrinthine crusade for love takes her through a surreal world of kidnapping, manacled Mormons, risqué photography, magic underwear, and celestial sex—until her dream is finally realized in a cloning laboratory in Seoul, South Korea. (Sundance Selects) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 14, 2011
    100
    It is a spellbinding enigma, and one of the damnedest films Morris has ever made.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jul 15, 2011
    90
    This story about Joyce McKinney, a one-time beauty queen who found herself not once but twice at the center of outrageous, tabloid-friendly news stories, is another of Morris' alternately hilarious and disturbing inquiries into the slippery nature of truth.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jul 12, 2011
    83
    The result is not a major work, but still a wildly funny portrait that succeeds at inducing the incredulity Morris always seeks out.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 14, 2011
    75
    It's a guaranteed good time at the movies.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Jul 15, 2011
    70
    Tabloid spins a heck of a yarn, while implicitly warning viewers not to be so entertained that they believe every gamy detail.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Jul 11, 2011
    70
    Errol Morris' Tabloid is bonkers in all the best possible ways -- a welcome return to perverse portraiture after a lengthy sojourn in the realm of more serious-minded subjects.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jul 15, 2011
    50
    The documentary Tabloid shows that an oddball lead character and a smirky style do not necessarily add up to a complete movie.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Jul 24, 2011
    8
    I'm not sure all the little comics and clips of old movies and moving cars and airplanes were necessary, but Joyce and her story and theI'm not sure all the little comics and clips of old movies and moving cars and airplanes were necessary, but Joyce and her story and the "supporting characters" are all a hoot (and perfect fodder for an Errol Morris movie); and Morris's tongue-in-cheek admiration of her strikes pretty much the right balance. (See the You Tube video of the interaction between the two [and the Booger clone] at DOC NYC for a continuation of that "interaction.") The phrase "truth is stranger than fiction" comes up in a lot of reviews and is perfectly appropriate here, as is the title "Tabloid," which is obviously very timely and ties all the incredible parts/episodes of the movie together. Ironically, the same week that I saw the movie, I also watched Piers Morgan's interview of Nancy Grace on CNN; and I couldn't help seeing the similarity between the two in terms of the fine line between truth and shameless self-promotion/self-delusion(though Joyce was a lot more entertaining). Do you think Joyce will get her own TV show on Bravo? Collapse
  2. Dec 23, 2012
    5
    A sophomoric effort that squandered a decent story line and resulted in a movie that is at times painful to sit through. It felt as though IA sophomoric effort that squandered a decent story line and resulted in a movie that is at times painful to sit through. It felt as though I was sitting through something produced in a college film class. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2011
    1
    We did not like it. It may have been well done and well rated but it was not for us. My wife fell asleep and I could not stop checking myWe did not like it. It may have been well done and well rated but it was not for us. My wife fell asleep and I could not stop checking my watch. After about 30 minutes, I woke her up and asked her if she was enjoying the movie. She was not. We left. Expand

Trailers