Samuel Goldwyn Films | Release Date: September 3, 2004
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 46 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
38
Mixed:
2
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GeorgeS.Feb 1, 2006
Awesome Movie! The saving private Ryan of Korea..I never even knew Korea had a war or it's own and that the South had conflicts with the South. I love SOUTH KOREA!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AmyR.Feb 20, 2006
Amazing movie! So much more than a war movie! I'm surprised that it didn't receive more critical acclaim from the US. I highly recommend this movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JenniferW.Sep 8, 2004
A great movie. if this had been an american production, it would have received raving reviews. the strong bond between the two brothers is heart rending. i would recommend this movie to everyone, it's a must see film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelS.May 20, 2006
This is one of the greatest movie I have ever seen. It is like a Korean Saving Private Ryan!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Apr 26, 2006
This is the best movie ever and for those who didn't give it atleast over 8 u suck omg how can u be so stupid, u obviously didn't watch the movie or your mentally challenged.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyB.Apr 26, 2006
This is a very good movie. Betta than any of those stupid American war movies that make Americans look like their doing the right thing even though they are killing. This movie portrays the South Koreans as people and as such make them look This is a very good movie. Betta than any of those stupid American war movies that make Americans look like their doing the right thing even though they are killing. This movie portrays the South Koreans as people and as such make them look bad and sometimes good and they don't always look like heroes in the movie. The drama in this movie also makes it so exiting and it is definitely worth watching! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaleK.Aug 7, 2006
This movie is one of my favorites because I wonder if my brother and I were Jin-tae and Jin-seok. People think that it is all about blood and gore, but it's actually about brotherhood. The violence is there because it is to portray the This movie is one of my favorites because I wonder if my brother and I were Jin-tae and Jin-seok. People think that it is all about blood and gore, but it's actually about brotherhood. The violence is there because it is to portray the kinds of things that happened to people in the war. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IeremiasOct 7, 2012
I'm of Korean background, so I might be biased, but I think it's not only Koreans who would say that this has to be possibly one of the best war films made to date. The realist antagonising of both the North and South is enough to satisfy anyI'm of Korean background, so I might be biased, but I think it's not only Koreans who would say that this has to be possibly one of the best war films made to date. The realist antagonising of both the North and South is enough to satisfy any impartial historian, the battle scenes are on par with famous Western staples like Saving Private Ryan (if not even better), and the story of the brotherhood woven into the plot is heart-wrenching - I couldn't see a dry eye in the cinema when I watched this movie as a kid. Now, having reached a more mature age, I now shed tears every time I watch this. It does more than just focus on the gore and tactics and indiscriminate killing that so many modern war films focus on, and it portrays a link to the family stronger than what I think was in Private Ryan ("Your brothers are dead" isn't exactly the most touching way to put something like that). But it's not unrealistic about it either (a.k.a. not as unrealistic as all the dramas that the Koreans make nowadays), and it would make even the most warmongering person want to call it quits with North Korea and just look for any peaceful solution to bring this war and any other war to an end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oblique15Apr 15, 2013
I hate movies that make me read, but this was a great movie! Made me like South Korean people even more. I watched this at a strange time with all the threats from North Korea. This movie makes you care about the characters, and hope they getI hate movies that make me read, but this was a great movie! Made me like South Korean people even more. I watched this at a strange time with all the threats from North Korea. This movie makes you care about the characters, and hope they get back to their peaceful living. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews