User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 53
  2. Negative: 5 out of 53

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2014
    6
    You know i didn't really care to see this movie when it first came out the trailers didn't do anything for me but after my friend said that it was actually pretty decent i decided id give it a shot and surprisingly the movie turned put better than what i thought it would. Now i find Topher Grace really annoying like most of us do but shockingly he didn't ruin the movie the movie for me. The movie surprisingly has quite a few well known actors even ones in minor roles like, Chris Pratt, Michelle Trachtenberg, Bob Odenkirk, Michael Biehn and Demetri Martin which for the most part i can't stand but his few parts in this were pretty funny. The main cast being Topher Grace, Anna Faris, Teresa Palmer, and Dan Fogler which for the most part all did solid performances but for me at least the highlight of the movie was Fogler as he has multiple scenes that were just hilarious.

    The story follows Matt Franklin (Topher Grace) a MIT graduate working at his local video store in the mall while trying to figure out what he wants to do with his life. After seeing his high school crush Tori Fredreking (Teresa Palmer) Matt makes it his plan that to ask her out. That's pretty much the whole story, yeah it may be overused and predictable it still makes for a decent romcom. Despite the movie being rated R it still plays it safe with nothing but dropping the F bomb a bunch of times oh and i guess you also get to see some boobs.

    Overall i give it a 6.0 Absolute best thing about this movie was the awesome soundtrack loaded with tons of great 80's songs.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 22, 2013
    6
    I did not want to see this movie, because it really seemed like just another film about people being idiots at a party, and that's pretty much what it was, with two major exceptions. First, it was set in 1984, and it was really cool to see the lengths they went to, to keep everything as accurate as they could. Second, both Topher Grace and Anna Faris were a breath of fresh air. It's hard to bring anything new to a film like this, which is evident by characters like Dan Fogler's, which was stale and predictable. Grace and Faris on the other hand really had great chemistry and add a unique dynamic to the typical drunken loser genre. Take Me Home Tonight isn't going to win any awards, but it was a lot more entertaining than I thought it would be. Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    6
    There were a few moments that ruined the pace of the film but overall, There are quite a few laughs through out that justify watching. It was a pretty solid movie.
  4. Jan 4, 2012
    6
    Another fun comedy with a pretty strong cast. Grace does a good job as the non-committal genius and once again, Fogler steals the show. This film hearkens back to the old day 80s and it features some of that particular era's most remembered music. All in all, this was a good film worthy of a rental price.
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    Will this ever stop ? Guys being depicted as clueless dorks, and women who take the lead ? Must be frustrating for women as well, to constantly see men without a backbone, behaving like children.
  6. Aug 1, 2011
    5
    This movie had its moments. I was a little confused about if it took place in the 80s or it was an 80s party though. What could have made it better is a little more supportive comedy. I think "Take Me Home Tonight" relied too heavily on Dan Fogler's character for comedy purposes. All in all, was surprisingly funny, but very predictable in the same aspect. Worth a look, 5/10.
  7. Jun 8, 2011
    6
    Another forgettable 80's satire film with few laughs and the simple of simple plots. However for me this film was still enjoyable and not once did I say please let this end.
  8. Mar 14, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lloyd Dobler had nothing going for him. He was a mediocre student with no apparent college plans. As for a career, don't ask: Lloyd wanted to be a kickboxer. And to boot, the slacker had this nervous talking habit where he'd be liable to say anything, and did, much to the befuddlement of his listeners. Lloyd seemed to have no future, a likely candidate to work at a video rental store or some other dead-end job, but still he somehow nabbed Diane Court, the school valedictorian, no less. Alas, that's the movies for you; the movies being primarily a patriarchal construct in which the guy always gets the girl, no matter how dubious his credentials may be. "Take Me Home Tonight", set one year before the popular Cameron Crowe film, which set hearts a flutter with its indelible boombox scene, is just the latest example of this popular male fantasy, the myth that love conquers all boundaries, and as a result, gives false hope to underachievers worldwide. Matt Franklin(Topher Grace) is a clerk, but he's no ordinary clerk: the Suncoast Video employee keeps a diploma from M.I.T. tucked away in his back pocket, and is taking his own sweet time in cashing it in, much to the chagrin of his cop father who footed the considerable bill. Two years out of college, Matt's post-graduate blues is reaching epidemic proportions, a rut that just turned official. And then, in the nick of time, Matt has a "Casablanca" moment, the kick in the pants he sorely needs to get himself motivated. It's a girl. It's always a girl. To paraphrase Humphrey Bogart in the 1942 Michael Curtiz film: "Of all the video stores, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine." It's Tori Fredkering(Teresa Palmer), in the flesh, the girl he rightfully diagnosed as being out of his league when they were both in high school. And unfortunately, is still out of his league, although it didn't have to be that way. Embarrassed by his job, Matt pretends to be a customer and tells Tori he works at Goldman Sachs, which would make him, in his estimation, worthy of her company. She invites him to a party, and if you don't like parties, "Take Me Home Tonight" will try your patience, especially if you're not a fan of eighties-era musical acts such as Men Without Hats("The Safety Dance") and Dexy's Midnight Runners("C'mon Eileen"), because the time they spend at the post-graduate kegger takes on an "Exterminating Angel(-esque)"-like length. Like the guests in the 1962 Luis Bunuel head-scratcher, the moviegoer wonders if Matt and Tori will ever leave. But if you're a fan of the milieu, the stay isn't an unwelcome one, even if the musical choices are wholly unadventurous and reduces the decade into cheesiness( whereas Crowe used the amazing Paul Westerberg-penned curio "Within Your Reach" in his 1989 classic). On what is undoubtedly the greatest night of this video clerk's life, Matt sees the inherent tragedy of his failure to launch, as he tastes life for the first time, which would be a fleeting glimpse in the real world, because in the real world, there are consequences for procrastination and fibs. Tori Fredreking likes Matt as a Goldman Sachs associate. But he's not a securities broker. He wears a name tag. In "Say Anything", the gap between Lloyd Dobler and Diane Court seemed too implausibly wide, due to the close proximity of their then-prevailing milieu(great Peter Gabirel song notwithstanding), whereas Matt and Tori, far-removed from the social hierarchy of high school that made such a unlikely pairing the stuff of teen romantic comedies, is a coupling which the moviegoer could buy. What the moviegoer can't buy, however, concerns Matt's lie about his current employer. Under false pretenses, Tori has sex with him. Feeling soiled and used upon discovering the truth, she grants him a mulligan, on the basis, by all appearances, of his ability to ride the "ball" down a steep hill without dying. That's the male fantasy at work. An act that insipid wouldn't work in the real world. The man encounters no repercussions for his dishonesty. Give Lloyd some credit. In front of Diane's father and his father's friends, he tells them the truth, not some bulls*it about wanting to start his own business or practicing law. "Kickboxing is the sport of the future," he proudly declares, and for all we know, that's what he became. Expand
  9. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    "Take Me Home Tonight , proves to live up to its main premise , laugh out loud hilarity , Topher Grace and Dan Fogler steal the show in what is sure to be remember as one of the funniest comedies this year had to offer. One film that should not be missed" .. A
  10. Mar 5, 2011
    5
    It's a fun movie - great 80's music (surprised to hear a little "Jet Fighter" from The Three O'Clock - played at my high school...). Yes, it's well-worn territory, but Barry, the friend, is hilarious and makes it for me. Grace seems to play the same role in every movie, but he works in this one. The biggest surprise for me is Anna Farris. It's refreshing to see her in the smart girl role. Her relationship with her brother (Grace) is surprisingly nuanced for an 80's flick. Angie Everhart is another pleasant surprise. So yeah, it's between a 5 and 6 for me, but I'd be loathe to recommend it to the masses. Expand
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Mar 12, 2011
    70
    The movie is amiable enough: the young Australian actress Teresa Palmer is lovely and crisp, and the Canadian writer-director Michael Dowse manages the party traffic well. [14 March 2011, p.79]
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 10, 2011
    30
    The kindest thing that might be said of this Eighties nostalgia trip is that its formulaic plot and overall mirthlessness are meant as mimetic tributes to that blasted decade.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 4, 2011
    38
    Take Me Home Tonight must have been made with people who had a great deal of nostalgia for the 1980s, a relatively unsung decade. More power to them. The movie unfortunately gives them no dialogue expanding them into recognizable human beings.