Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: When Margot, 28, meets Daniel, their chemistry is intense and immediate. But Margot suppresses her sudden attraction; she is happily married to Lou, a cookbook writer. When she learns that Daniel lives across the street from them, the certainty about her domestic life shatters. She and Daniel steal moments throughout the steaming Toronto summer, their eroticism heightened by their restraint. Swelteringly hot, bright and colorful like a bowl of fruit, Take This Waltz leads us, laughing, through the familiar, but uncharted question of what long-term relationships do to love, sex, and our images of ourselves. (Magnet Releasing) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jun 28, 2012
    90
    Take This Waltz, Sarah Polley's honest, sure-footed, emotionally generous second feature. Ms. Williams, one of the bravest and smartest actresses working in movies today, portrays a young woman who is indecisive and confused, but never passive.
  2. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jul 5, 2012
    80
    Somehow it is the waiting - for the fall that you expect is coming, for the marriage you figure will fall apart - that makes Take This Waltz one to make room for on your dance card.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Aug 12, 2012
    80
    Sarah Polley's second film is a masterfully painted portrait of an ordinary marriage under threat, dominated by a central performance of exquisite subtlety and observation.
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jun 29, 2012
    75
    Canadian actor Kirby's bedroom-eyes shtick is infused with just the right amount of creepiness, as Polley's film plays with the blurry line between soulful romantic obsession and just plain stalking.
  5. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Jun 27, 2012
    67
    Take This Waltz is simultaneously a coming-of-age film, a love story, a breakup story, and an indie quirkfest, and it tries to do so many things at once that it can't hit many of its marks cleanly. But at least it's never boring, and rarely predictable.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Jun 23, 2012
    63
    Take This Waltz is full of chance encounters, some less likely than a lobby with nine hundred windows or a bed where the moon has been sweating.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 23, 2012
    20
    In theory, these are twentysomethings we're talking about. But they walk and talk like fortysomethings or fiftysomethings, such is their dullness and self-absorption.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    This is the first movie in years I walked out on, even asked and got my money back. The cinema manager said he understood as everyone was saying how bad it was. Badly written drivel, come on the woman's wants to write, the man is an artist who pulls a rickshaw! The in and out Of focus, the angst..do not waste your money nor your time Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2012
    9
    Beautifully done. The most authentic film from a woman's point of view I've ever seen. Even the nude scenes are different than what a man would have done. Sarah Polley is brilliant. Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the movie progressed, I kept comparing it to the superior Blue Valentine. But that doesn Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    7
    Sarah Polley, in her second outing as director, has made an absolutely beautiful film with Take This Waltz. Starring Michelle Williams as Margot and Seth Rogen as her husband of five years, Lou. As the film begins, we see a blurry Margot baking muffins. As the shot comes into focus, we see the beads of sweat on her face and the sunlight filtering through the leaves outside. We are shown her bare feet on a wooden floor as she puts the muffins in the oven to bake. She sinks to the floor as a man enters the kitchen with his back to the camera. We find out that the man is Lou. As the films progresses, it offers up a portrait of comfortable love, married love, occasionally restless love, and frustrated love between the pair. Margot is a freelance writer, and Lou is writing a chicken cookbook.He can be found at the stove most of the time and is clearly distracted with his work. Although she tries to be affectionate with him, he doesn't always find the time to stop and look at this wife. There is an awkward anniversary dinner at which Lou doesn't understand the need to talk to Margot or ask about how she is doing. Doesn't he already know all that he needs to know? And in bed, we see the familiar lovemaking of two people who have been together for a long time. In other words, the excitement seen at the beginning of a relationship has been replaced with something comfortable. Lou's family is also a huge presence in their lives, with regular "chicken tastings" at their home. His sister, Geraldine (Sarah Silverman) is a recovering alcoholic fearful of a relapse. She is quite fond of her sister-in-law, spending time with her at water aerobics and talking on the front porch. Sober for 10 months, she is the first to sense Margot's discontent. On a business trip, Margot meets Daniel (Luke Kirby), an amateur artist and professional rickshaw driver. The chemistry between them is immediate and intensifies when they realize that he lives across the street from her Toronto home. Margot is quite restless, expressing a fear of transitions, a fear of being afraid, a fear of being between things. These fears become real as she and Daniel become closer while at the same time, she remains somewhat loyal and somewhat committed to Lou. I say "somewhat" because even though they almost never touch, they share an extremely intimate and erotic moment over martinis that remain as untouched as Daniel and Margot.

    The metaphor of a waltz appears throughout the film. There is a lovely scene where Daniel and Margot swim together in sync with one another that is only interrupted when, carried away by the moment, Daniel touches Margot on the ankle. The spell is then broken and Margot runs away. A form of dance can also be seen in the interactions between Margot and Lou, at once familiar and slightly out of sync. Margot is forced to make a decision regarding her life realizing that she can't stay in between things. And as in real life, her decision affects all of the lives around her. Sarah Polley does a superb job as director. Using the camera as a sort of dance partner, she demonstrates the fluid passage of time while the characters remain in almost the same place. This technique is seen as Margot lies quietly on her bed after being rebuffed by Lou, and also in the scenes of Margot adjusting to her new life with Daniel. The muffin-making scene is repeated at the end of the film as if to say that Margot goes through so much to end up back at the same place where she started. The actors in this film turn in very strong performances, particularly Rogen in a very restrained, dramatic role, and Silverman, surprisingly adult and mature. And Michelle Williams once again demonstrates why she is an acting force to be reckoned with. And new to me, Luke Kirby is sexy and vulnerable at the same time.

    I strongly recommend this film. It is not just another romantic comedy or chick flick. It is a thought-provoking, layered story that will stay with you long after you leave the theater. Thanks for reading my review and remember, you just got buzzed!
    Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    An apt commentary on this generations view on marriage. Williams does a great job as the wife with eyes for a man who has moved in across the street. Rogen is more than serviceable as the husband who is loved but has become as uninteresting to his wife as the chicken that he cooks for the cookbook he is writing. Williams and Rogen's scenes are among my favorite in the film, and I spent most of my time wondering why she preferred the man across the street who is played, rather boringly, by Luke Kirby. While my main issue with this movie is that a good portion of the dialogue is a a little to on the nose, for the most part I thought this film was very well written and I love the overall message that is being sent. While this movie is about the characters and relationships within the story it is worth noting that for this type of movie this film is beautifully shot and never dull to look at. I highly recommend this movie Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2012
    4
    Boring and even somewhat smug, this movie was a big disappointment. As someone who liked Sarah Polley's last film I have to wonder what went wrong here. The script was particularly lame, with awful dialogue clanging like it was written in a hurry. Michelle Williams goes a long way to redeeming the formulaic plot but this was still one of the worst indie films I've seen this year. Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2012
    1
    This film is utter drivel. A waste of an hour plus of your life that you will be begging back for. The plot is so weak it is practically nonexistent. Woman unhappy and bored with marriage leaves to go crazy for a bit, then settle back into boring and unhappy. What a waste of freaking time. There is no climax, no resolution, not even a headline, and certainly not a story worth watching. The main character finally is shown smiling and happy on a fair ride that is somehow inside a disco dance building in the final sequence. So the message is save your self-induced pathetic life by visiting the fair or a good amusement park in the first place rather than shattering someone else's life? Don't even watch this on netflix or amazon instant. Save yourself the time and effort. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  2. Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF

    Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF Image
    Published: September 20, 2011
    With the 2011 installments of the three major fall film festivals now complete, we sample the reaction from professional critics and film bloggers to the movies generating the most buzz at the three festivals, including new works by Alexander Payne, Whit Stillman, Roman Polanski, David Cronenberg, Steve McQueen, and Madonna.