Taken 2

Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 8 out of 35
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Oct 4, 2012
    60
    Less magical is the blind adherence to formula evident in most of Taken 2. As they might say in the advertising department, it's an adrenaline-fueled thrill ride. But it could have been much more.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Oct 5, 2012
    55
    On the plus side, the action sequences - desaturated, chopped up and herky-jerky as they are - are mildly thrilling.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 6, 2012
    50
    Taken 2 is more of the same, except a little bigger, a little dumber, and a little less invigorating.
  4. 50
    Just a mediocre action franchise with a solid actor at the head and a travelogue in its heart.
  5. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Oct 4, 2012
    50
    The movie's excessive and logistically goofy in a way "Taken" wasn't.
  6. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Oct 4, 2012
    50
    You know what happens in Taken 2, don't you? The same thing that happened four years ago in Taken, but different. (But the same.)
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 4, 2012
    50
    What follows seems like a nonstop car and foot chase, with Albanian after Albanian falling victim to Bryan's remarkable aim and hand-fighting skills. Foreigners bad, Americans good, box office busy.
  8. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Oct 4, 2012
    50
    It's a stupid movie by smart people who aren't smart enough to realize it's stupid.
  9. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Oct 4, 2012
    50
    The moral of Taken 2? If you're going on a family vacation, be sure that the human-trafficking ring you put out of business in that far more satisfying and suspenseful thriller from a few years ago doesn't know how to find you.
  10. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Oct 4, 2012
    50
    A movie with no surprises at all, a streamlined chase flick that is running on the fumes from recycled fuel.
  11. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Oct 3, 2012
    50
    It's fun enough on its own relatively low-budget merits, but it's really nothing to die – or kill – for.
  12. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Oct 3, 2012
    50
    None of it is particularly novel or exciting.
  13. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Oct 3, 2012
    50
    Taken 2 is 91 minutes of "See Neeson kill-kill, Neeson kill!"
  14. 40
    The screenwriters go out of their way to prepare you for Taken 3: Serbedzija has more sons, and Kim's virginity is getting harder and harder to preserve.
  15. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Oct 4, 2012
    40
    The premise is looking pretty tired.
  16. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Oct 4, 2012
    40
    Taken 2 has a plot that could have been written by a GPS program, and contains all the technical charm that conjures up.
  17. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Oct 3, 2012
    40
    Taken 2 rarely embodies the values of concision and focus that it extols, and any breathing room from the hurtling narrative illogic only allows the audience opportunity to notice slips in Mills's father-knows-best infallibility.
  18. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Sep 30, 2012
    40
    The first one offered the novel sight of Oskar Schindler going Commando. Unfortunately, this half-hearted sequel is low on novelty and lower on fun.
  19. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Sep 20, 2012
    40
    "What are you going to do?" wails Maggie. "What I do best!" growls Liam. Yet while it's fun to watch him take out the Eurotrash, we've seen him do it better.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 81
  2. Negative: 28 out of 81
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    3
    I went into this movie expecting a brainless but fun action film. Well all i got was brainless. This movie wasn't even fun. I'm a big LiamI went into this movie expecting a brainless but fun action film. Well all i got was brainless. This movie wasn't even fun. I'm a big Liam Neeson fan, especially when hes kicking ass and honestly the action sucked in this sequel to the overrated but fun first entry into the series. I even think im being generous giving it a 3. I'm not one to look for believability in a movie like taken 2 but come on, some of the crap was unbearable. The daughters using fregen grenades and nobody in istanbul seems to give a crap like chicks chuck grenades around the city on a daily basis, and how the daughter who keep in mind has failed her road test 3 times as was mentioned earlier in the film, all of a sudden becomes the worlds best getaway driver in this seemingly indestrcutible taxi that no matter what it crashes into there will never be a scratch on it. It was just unbearable. I'll give it a 3/10 which is definitely being more than generous, don't waste your time or hard-earned money! Full Review »
  2. Oct 7, 2012
    5
    Loved the first movie, struggled to enjoy this one. In the first one, you experience almost everything from Neesons point of view. You have noLoved the first movie, struggled to enjoy this one. In the first one, you experience almost everything from Neesons point of view. You have no idea of where the girl is, and who took her. You don't even know if she is still alive. This is what made the first movie very enjoyable to watch. This made the quest of finding his daughter way more dramatic and thrilling as you never knew what to expect. After watching the first 10 minutes of this movie (and the trailer) i knew i was going to be disappointed. Taken 2 detaches us from the protagonist this time, giving us the point of view of the villains, the daughter and the ex-wife. This breaks all the drama of the first one. They are no surprises, you know exactly where the bad guys are holding them, and what they are doing to them. At this point, the only way this movie could save itself is by delivering a lot of action. The actions scene are alright but they are far from amazing. They are mostly chip tricks we have all seen before. A car chase that ends with a train nearly missing the good guys and hitting the bad guys is nothing original. The action doesn't make up for the lack of drama and suspense. Taken 2 clearly doesn't live up to it's predecessor. Full Review »
  3. Oct 7, 2012
    2
    Great acting and casting BUT it still managed to be the biggest disappointed so far. Taken is a kind of movie that don't need a sequel. OhGreat acting and casting BUT it still managed to be the biggest disappointed so far. Taken is a kind of movie that don't need a sequel. Oh well, I guess they wanted to milk the cash cow. The biggest problem was with the story. Why would the enemies go after him and his family AGAIN? I mean didn't they already learn their lesson from the first film. The way the action sequences were edited was terrible. You couldn't tell who was punching whom and who was getting hit. Every half a second they would cut to another shot. It was painful to watch. Stay away from Taken 2. Full Review »