Talk to Me

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. A.M.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Doesn't quite top Lemmons' "Eve's Bayou", but a gem nonetheless.
  2. Spongeee
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    Great film. Cheadle should win Best Male Lead for this role. Dont let the medicore critic reviews fool you...the emotion and genuine nature of this film is what carries it. Great acting, camera work, editing, music, and art direction overall. A MUST SEE!
  3. ShaniceT.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    An extremely well made film with wonderful performances.
  4. RhanaH
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Stunning film, terrific performances.
  5. KenG.
    Sep 5, 2007
    7
    Interesting, well-acted look at a person (Cheadle) most people today don't know about, however, movie does overstay its welcome, as the idea that the break-up between Cheadle's and Ejiofor's characters, was one of the "tragic" break-ups in the history of show business (you would think it was right up there with the break-ups of the Beatles, and Martin & Lewis) is laid-on Interesting, well-acted look at a person (Cheadle) most people today don't know about, however, movie does overstay its welcome, as the idea that the break-up between Cheadle's and Ejiofor's characters, was one of the "tragic" break-ups in the history of show business (you would think it was right up there with the break-ups of the Beatles, and Martin & Lewis) is laid-on much too thick. Also, as a couple of critics here have pointed out, the filmmakers made the ill-advised decision to follow Ejiofor's character in the last section of movie, much more than Cheadle's character, but Cheadle's character is the much more interesting character. Henson as Cheadle's girlfriend, is very appealing. Expand
  6. RonL.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    This film is great, I highly recommend it.
  7. BKetch
    Jul 14, 2007
    5
    If Cheadle were not in it, you wouldn't be seeing it because it wouldn't have found a distributor. But WITH him, wow.
  8. Rachel
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    I was completely blown away by this film. An absolute must see.
  9. Charles
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    I saw the film yesterday, and I can say is wow. This is one of the best films of the years, thus far. Don Cheadle, C. Ejiofor, and Taraji P. Henson are all spectacular.
  10. arlenem.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    I loved this movie! Cheadle and Ejiofor brought it home.
  11. JonasG
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    All I can say is wow! I saw this film last weekend and it was completely riveting. The lead performances by Cheadle and Ejiofor were brilliant, but Taraji P. Henson stole every scene she appeared in. Kudos to Kasi Lemmons as well.
  12. DP
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    Strong story, three terrific performances: Cheadle, Ejiofor, and Henson.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. While Cheadle's fearlessly robust performance absolutely galvanizes Talk to Me, it's not the only thing that makes Kasi Lemmons' third feature such a pleasure to take in.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    60
    Alternates too deliberately between jaunty comedy and serious message-making.
  3. 50
    The banality of Talk To Me is only half disappointing; at least it babbles clich├ęs with conviction.