Focus Features | Release Date: July 13, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 26 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
22
Mixed:
2
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
A.M.Jul 16, 2007
Doesn't quite top Lemmons' "Eve's Bayou", but a gem nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SpongeeeAug 6, 2007
Great film. Cheadle should win Best Male Lead for this role. Dont let the medicore critic reviews fool you...the emotion and genuine nature of this film is what carries it. Great acting, camera work, editing, music, and art direction Great film. Cheadle should win Best Male Lead for this role. Dont let the medicore critic reviews fool you...the emotion and genuine nature of this film is what carries it. Great acting, camera work, editing, music, and art direction overall. A MUST SEE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaniceT.Jul 13, 2007
An extremely well made film with wonderful performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RhanaHJul 20, 2007
Stunning film, terrific performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenG.Sep 5, 2007
Interesting, well-acted look at a person (Cheadle) most people today don't know about, however, movie does overstay its welcome, as the idea that the break-up between Cheadle's and Ejiofor's characters, was one of the "tragic" Interesting, well-acted look at a person (Cheadle) most people today don't know about, however, movie does overstay its welcome, as the idea that the break-up between Cheadle's and Ejiofor's characters, was one of the "tragic" break-ups in the history of show business (you would think it was right up there with the break-ups of the Beatles, and Martin & Lewis) is laid-on much too thick. Also, as a couple of critics here have pointed out, the filmmakers made the ill-advised decision to follow Ejiofor's character in the last section of movie, much more than Cheadle's character, but Cheadle's character is the much more interesting character. Henson as Cheadle's girlfriend, is very appealing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonL.Jul 14, 2007
This film is great, I highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BKetchJul 14, 2007
If Cheadle were not in it, you wouldn't be seeing it because it wouldn't have found a distributor. But WITH him, wow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelJul 14, 2007
I was completely blown away by this film. An absolute must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesJul 16, 2007
I saw the film yesterday, and I can say is wow. This is one of the best films of the years, thus far. Don Cheadle, C. Ejiofor, and Taraji P. Henson are all spectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
arlenem.Jul 17, 2007
I loved this movie! Cheadle and Ejiofor brought it home.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonasGJul 20, 2007
All I can say is wow! I saw this film last weekend and it was completely riveting. The lead performances by Cheadle and Ejiofor were brilliant, but Taraji P. Henson stole every scene she appeared in. Kudos to Kasi Lemmons as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DPJul 23, 2007
Strong story, three terrific performances: Cheadle, Ejiofor, and Henson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful