Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 4, 2006
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 299 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
188
Mixed:
51
Negative:
60
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JeffF.Aug 21, 2006
Not one single laugh in the whole thing. Nothing but an excuse to see how many product placements they could cram in. Unlikeable characters. The unfunny scenes go on and on.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
Michellec.Aug 6, 2006
This is a complete waste of time. Anything that is remotely funny has been seen in the trailers for the last two months. Too long, too short on story, too stupid. I wouldn't even waste the rental fee.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AltonFeb 10, 2008
You laugh a little bit but its really not worth watching this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DamienDarko777May 6, 2011
I don't see why anyone would much like this, really. Most of the humor is obvious and falls flat. Maybe teenagers would enjoy it. I don't know. I thought it was boring and obnoxious. Not one of Will's shining moments.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
RicardoCOct 20, 2006
What's more scary than this awful movie being financed, is that it has made a lot of money. Go figure, it is simply God awful. All Ferrell does is his usual W shtick, except that he's a lot funnier as W. It certainly does not reach What's more scary than this awful movie being financed, is that it has made a lot of money. Go figure, it is simply God awful. All Ferrell does is his usual W shtick, except that he's a lot funnier as W. It certainly does not reach the comic heights of Old School or Elf for that matter. How long do I have to wait before people start to actually give this movie the trashing it deserves? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeY.Aug 18, 2006
It wasn't as great as everyone is saying it is. Basically all of the funny parts were in the previews. To me, elf was better than this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChristopherP.Aug 6, 2006
Talladega Nights masqarades as a filim when in reality its one big commercial.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JustinS.Aug 7, 2006
In all honesty, this movie was not very funny. The whole thing seems like it was thrown together without being thought out. There is no discernable plot, the improv brings unbelievably few laughs, and there is a general sloppiness about the In all honesty, this movie was not very funny. The whole thing seems like it was thrown together without being thought out. There is no discernable plot, the improv brings unbelievably few laughs, and there is a general sloppiness about the whole production. Maybe I'm looking at this from the point of view of a person who hates NASCAR and redneck humor, but this is a poor excuse for "the movie of the summer". Oh, and prepare to be amazed at the new heights (lows?) of blatant product placement. I actually laughed at this movie more than most people in the theater, but still left with a bad taste in my mouth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JimGJan 1, 2007
Putrid. I am curious what NASCAR fans everywhere think about this film. Only if the stereotypes this pathetic movie spews out were true would an audience be stupid enough to think highly of this humor. Perhaps it appeals to homophobic Putrid. I am curious what NASCAR fans everywhere think about this film. Only if the stereotypes this pathetic movie spews out were true would an audience be stupid enough to think highly of this humor. Perhaps it appeals to homophobic jingoes as much as the double whammy gay and French slurs (and the trite gay-french connection). Even if there was a story worth telling, the acting is atrocious. Will Ferrell can't act himself out of a Wonderbread bag and his on-screen improvising is second rate and all too transparent. The emperor has no jump suit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
WalkerR.Jan 20, 2007
Piece of crap. Will Ferrell is overrated and his movies consistantly suck. Where oh where are the great comedies of yesterday...Planes Trains & Automobiles anyone?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisMJan 5, 2007
I went to the trouble of actually reserving this title at my local movie outlet and can't remember the last time I was this disappointed over a movie. I think it caused me to grin twice... very early on I have lost much respect for a I went to the trouble of actually reserving this title at my local movie outlet and can't remember the last time I was this disappointed over a movie. I think it caused me to grin twice... very early on I have lost much respect for a number of friends who recommended it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobL.Mar 3, 2007
This is one of the worst movies ever! Not funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JasonB.Aug 31, 2006
There's nothing like cracking the same unfunny jokes over and over and over. I get it, his kids are bad. It wasn't funny the first time, it's still not funny the 8th time they talk back!! I loved the 40 Yr Old Virgin, Freaks & There's nothing like cracking the same unfunny jokes over and over and over. I get it, his kids are bad. It wasn't funny the first time, it's still not funny the 8th time they talk back!! I loved the 40 Yr Old Virgin, Freaks & Geeks, Undeclared, and Anchorman, but what a waste of time this generic stink bomb was! This film could've been 30 minutes. John C. Riley's adllibs were the only saving grace of this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RonB.Aug 4, 2006
A lot of content that was not needed!!! Had the makings of a real funny flim but it busted with me and I think it will with most nscar fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BradL.Aug 8, 2006
Not nearly as funny as Ferrell's other films. The plot in general of the movie was pretty boring and all the funny moments were decent one-liners. I walked out of this film extremely disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jimlarkinSep 24, 2006
Dreadful. Rapid R said "It should have never been made", she/he was right, the only reason it was made was to cash in on ferrell while he was riding high, pure and simple. no thought in story, or jokes, just a series of unfunny cliches. As Dreadful. Rapid R said "It should have never been made", she/he was right, the only reason it was made was to cash in on ferrell while he was riding high, pure and simple. no thought in story, or jokes, just a series of unfunny cliches. As if to confirm that it was cashing in, it has some of the most blatantly insulting product placement I've ever seen in a film. Watch this only if you want to go the cinema and pay £5 to watch a shitload of adverts and unfunny jokes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JordanG.Sep 24, 2006
Rednecks will enjoy it. They'll sit down with they're beer and laugh at this worthless movie with no plot and no comedy. For race fans: Why do you like watching cars going around in circles for 3 hours. All you like is watching Rednecks will enjoy it. They'll sit down with they're beer and laugh at this worthless movie with no plot and no comedy. For race fans: Why do you like watching cars going around in circles for 3 hours. All you like is watching people crash and burn. If you just like to watch people make left turns for hours and cheer when guys crash then you seriously need a life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidM.Jan 22, 2007
While this movie had a few moments of howling laughter, "Talladega Nights" spent most of the movie sputtering and dying like a stock car that had run into the wall too many times. Will Ferrel is as funny as ever in his typical "lovable but While this movie had a few moments of howling laughter, "Talladega Nights" spent most of the movie sputtering and dying like a stock car that had run into the wall too many times. Will Ferrel is as funny as ever in his typical "lovable but self-absorbed dunce" role. However, Ricky Bobby is much less likable or dimensional than his previous Ron Burgundy character. I got the sense that Ricky Bobby was truly a child who never grew beyond the petulant (and drug-induced) advice from his long-absent father. I tried to like Ricky Bobby, but I never could. He was simply a loser who was in the right place at the right time. Perhaps his childish antics would be funny to the NASCAR crowd, but they grew old quickly. Sasha Cohen was a marvelous foil to Ricky as the effete and arrogant French Formula-1 racer. Their staring contest at the track was probably the funniest moment in the movie. As the movie progresses, he seems relegated to a bit-role and their rivalry never reaches the payoff it should. My biggest complaint is about the subject itself. Adam McKay really went for the jugular in "Anchorman", mercilessly needling the 70's, news anchors and mysoginists everywhere. Here he has the same opportunity to satirize NASCAR and racing in general (in my opinion, a topic that is just begging to be made fun of). However, his jokes are so soft I wonder if he was afraid of alienating NASCAR fans. He sure isn't afraid of the product placements and endorsements littering the film, so I am forced to conclude that I can't be far off. The good news is that I waited to rent this movie on DVD instead of seeing it in the theaters. The better news is I can always watch Anchorman instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PATKOct 27, 2006
Not funny at all; I was very disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TristramC.Aug 13, 2006
Three of my co-workers saw this movie the first weekend like I did and thought it was hilarious. I thought it was completely inane; and not in the "thats what we were going for" kind of way. To me this movie was one failed goof after another Three of my co-workers saw this movie the first weekend like I did and thought it was hilarious. I thought it was completely inane; and not in the "thats what we were going for" kind of way. To me this movie was one failed goof after another and a clumsy enough comedy to make the directors previous film with Ferrell, Anchorman, seem as smart as Office Space. Often at a film I have to pop out a sec and hotbox a cigarette (you know cause I'm addicted to the stuff) and hope I didn't miss anything important. With this movie I took my time and walked back hoping it had ended. This film reminds of the true risk involved in coming to the theatre in the first place and slapping your $8 on the counter and makes you realize TBS serves a true public service to the world. in 8 months or so this movie should be playing there and you'll be able to see the comedy of errors for free. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RapidR.Aug 23, 2006
This movies sucks....period. It should have never been made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ColleenV.Sep 11, 2006
I mean, really, this movie was just ridiculous. Really. It was so awful. It didn't really even have a plot, really. That's all I have to say. Okay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KyleF.Dec 22, 2006
The worst comedy of 2006. Unfortunately, Will Ferrell is NOT consistently funny and truly misses the mark with this film. His POOR attempt at a southern accent is eclipsed only by the likes of Keanu Reeves' british accent in Bram The worst comedy of 2006. Unfortunately, Will Ferrell is NOT consistently funny and truly misses the mark with this film. His POOR attempt at a southern accent is eclipsed only by the likes of Keanu Reeves' british accent in Bram Stoker's Dracula and Harrison Ford's russian growl in K-19: The Widowmaker. Ferrell's film son, Texas Ranger even has a more convincing southern dialect and he's like 8 years old. Unless you absolutely adore Ferrell and everything he does, do NOT rent this DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SpangleFeb 11, 2016
I laughed far more than expected, but that was easy since I expected zero laughs. The majority of the jokes miss, but the ones that do hit are really funny. I am not a Will Ferrell fan and this one is no exception, though it was better thanI laughed far more than expected, but that was easy since I expected zero laughs. The majority of the jokes miss, but the ones that do hit are really funny. I am not a Will Ferrell fan and this one is no exception, though it was better than Step Brothers, but that was easy to do as well. The plot and writing and decent, but it is a comedy and the focus here is obviously on it being funny or not. It was not, on the whole, funny so the movie is bad from that angle anyways. The film, fortunately, is bad everywhere else too, though the direction from Adam McKay is okay, even if this material is beneath his skill level. Overall, Talladega Nights may be bad, but it is bolstered by a few laugh out loud moments. Tragically, the rest fall flat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Helly77Jan 12, 2013
I love motor-sports. I usually find Will Ferrell hilarious. So combining the two should've been heaven right? WRONG!!!! I didn't laugh once throughout this film I found the characters really irritating rather than endearing or amusing and II love motor-sports. I usually find Will Ferrell hilarious. So combining the two should've been heaven right? WRONG!!!! I didn't laugh once throughout this film I found the characters really irritating rather than endearing or amusing and I found myself having to get to the end just to see if it got better. It did improve when Amy Adams arrived in earnest in the bar talking to Ricky, but the improvement was slight and short lived. It quickly descended into corny unfunny cliches. The only reason I have given it any points at all is because of the racing scenes which were mildly entertaining if not slightly far fetched.
Ugh
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews