Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 4, 2006
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 307 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
191
Mixed:
55
Negative:
61
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RJSep 16, 2006
It's not an awesome movie, but it earned 10 for being so funny.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JeffF.Aug 21, 2006
Not one single laugh in the whole thing. Nothing but an excuse to see how many product placements they could cram in. Unlikeable characters. The unfunny scenes go on and on.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
RikiegeDec 7, 2012
A very crude movie psychologically.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Man becomes NASCAR legend, new French rival, breaks arm, best friend/team mate runs off with wife, returns to racing.
Will Ferrell spoof of NASCAR with a very good supporting cast but not as funny as some of his other work. Sasha Baren Cohen
Man becomes NASCAR legend, new French rival, breaks arm, best friend/team mate runs off with wife, returns to racing.
Will Ferrell spoof of NASCAR with a very good supporting cast but not as funny as some of his other work. Sasha Baren Cohen camps it up as the OTT Jean Girard & John C Reilly is good as Ferrell's team mate.
Few cameos here & funny moments but no-where near as good as Anchorman.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
Michellec.Aug 6, 2006
This is a complete waste of time. Anything that is remotely funny has been seen in the trailers for the last two months. Too long, too short on story, too stupid. I wouldn't even waste the rental fee.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AltonFeb 10, 2008
You laugh a little bit but its really not worth watching this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DamienDarko777May 6, 2011
I don't see why anyone would much like this, really. Most of the humor is obvious and falls flat. Maybe teenagers would enjoy it. I don't know. I thought it was boring and obnoxious. Not one of Will's shining moments.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
MacsMusicJan 8, 2018
This movie is... bad. Almost every character is low-down, stupid, anger-inducing piece of trash. In an attempt to avoid Disney life lessons and good, cheesy character development, the movie makes the characters set-in-stone horrible peopleThis movie is... bad. Almost every character is low-down, stupid, anger-inducing piece of trash. In an attempt to avoid Disney life lessons and good, cheesy character development, the movie makes the characters set-in-stone horrible people who don't learn anything. The main character, his wife, his best friend, and his kids are all terrible in their own way, and made me want to scream and physically hurt them. 85% of the jokes are NOT FUNNY, AT ALL. There were a few hilarious moments and lines, and the French guy was pretty hilarious, but besides these things this movie was not funny. All in all, watching this movie was a really bad experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MikeH.Aug 28, 2007
This was a funny movie. There are some absolute gems. I really don't like stupid comedies, like the dumb and dumber, ace ventura variety (hmm, both the ame guy) but Will Farrel really put something together here that came alive through This was a funny movie. There are some absolute gems. I really don't like stupid comedies, like the dumb and dumber, ace ventura variety (hmm, both the ame guy) but Will Farrel really put something together here that came alive through the cast and performances. The scene where he's in the bar playing a racing video game is priceless. Give it a shot. You WILL laugh, just maybe not as much as others, or perhaps even more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BobTDec 18, 2006
The movie is pretty lame, although there are some funny bits. It is more or less a dud like Anchorman, and nowhere near as funny as either Elf or Old School.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenFOct 27, 2006
This movie is great. It seems to be about racing, but is really about the U.S. arrogance in world affairs. It is a brilliant allegory. Amazing that not a single critic noticed the subtext....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoshuaS.Aug 11, 2006
If you loved Anchorman or Pootytang, than you'll kind like this movie! Reading the reviews I'm baffled. Do critics even get jokes that aren't references to something else? Where the two aforementioned films littered their If you loved Anchorman or Pootytang, than you'll kind like this movie! Reading the reviews I'm baffled. Do critics even get jokes that aren't references to something else? Where the two aforementioned films littered their screens with humor derived from their settings and characters, this one thinks its enough to pace its jokes meticulously through the plot points. I nearly counted down exactely when the "big painful laugh" moment was coming (the knife scene). While some of the dialogue snapped, "I'll come at you like a spider monkey", much of the editing gave away the jokes timing. Anchorman seemlessly integrated throwaway jokes, this movie mostly throws them away in the name of Nascar and an irrelevant story. Just make me laugh please. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmyS.Aug 14, 2006
Besides Elf, this movie is the best Will's ever done. He is, as always, hilarious, and I love how they bust on NASCAR!!! Especially the women!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlancoA.Aug 4, 2006
The midnight show crowd I saw this with was roaring... There are enough hysterical individual gags to bind the film together. Of course, there are a couple of stretches toward the middle which aren't stellar, but Will Farrell is The midnight show crowd I saw this with was roaring... There are enough hysterical individual gags to bind the film together. Of course, there are a couple of stretches toward the middle which aren't stellar, but Will Farrell is probably funnier than he's been since "Old School" and John C. Reilly is a perfect counterpart for him. Amy Adams is smokin' in her role (and absolutely dwarfs Leslie Bibb). Another note: the use of ACDC's "TNT" and Sepultura's "Desperate Cry [corrected!]" during the last race was absolutely dead on perfect. If you have any interest at all in NASCAR, you'll probably be in heaven. All I know is that I laughed my ass of for a good portion of this film (much like I did in "Clerks II") and it's just a damned good time. Not a classic, but you shouldn't be disappointed. [Why do I feel like a little Applebees tonight?] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChuckYoAug 5, 2006
So far, this is the best film of the year! This film is just as funny as Wedding Crashers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JohnB.Aug 7, 2006
Come see Ricky Bobby, the patriotic American defend all that is good and right in the land of the red white and blue as he takes on the dreaded gay French! The movie is as much a parody on southern culture as it is a true depiction of Come see Ricky Bobby, the patriotic American defend all that is good and right in the land of the red white and blue as he takes on the dreaded gay French! The movie is as much a parody on southern culture as it is a true depiction of American society. Talladega Nights provides a few comedic moments but Ferrell's goofball humour gets old fast and by the end of the movie, everything seemed to become forced. Good for a few snickers, a couple laughs and a lot of blank staring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickB.Aug 7, 2006
This is a very funny film, especially for Southerners out there! It plays well into the typical NASCAR fan -- why else would the villan be French and gay? (Borat does a fine job with the role. The bad French accent is wonderful.) The best This is a very funny film, especially for Southerners out there! It plays well into the typical NASCAR fan -- why else would the villan be French and gay? (Borat does a fine job with the role. The bad French accent is wonderful.) The best scenes involve Bobby's kids however. The smaller, redheaded kid is hilarious with his snide remarks. If you want a good laugh in a summer filled with misses, see this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
J.H.Aug 8, 2006
If you like Will Ferrell's type of humor, you will probably love this movie. I watched it with two friends and we all loved it! This may be Ferrell's best movie yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DaveK.Aug 9, 2006
They tried, but not too funny. I thought Gary Cole was the funniest in the movie, laughed a few times at Will, but other than that it was filled with mostly not funny material. Soooo many characters were not needed (aka Blonde pit crew They tried, but not too funny. I thought Gary Cole was the funniest in the movie, laughed a few times at Will, but other than that it was filled with mostly not funny material. Soooo many characters were not needed (aka Blonde pit crew member, the kids, wife's dad) Not Ferell/Reily's best work...i'll go pop in Anchorman/Wedding Crashers Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RicardoCOct 20, 2006
What's more scary than this awful movie being financed, is that it has made a lot of money. Go figure, it is simply God awful. All Ferrell does is his usual W shtick, except that he's a lot funnier as W. It certainly does not reach What's more scary than this awful movie being financed, is that it has made a lot of money. Go figure, it is simply God awful. All Ferrell does is his usual W shtick, except that he's a lot funnier as W. It certainly does not reach the comic heights of Old School or Elf for that matter. How long do I have to wait before people start to actually give this movie the trashing it deserves? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JillW.Aug 14, 2006
I loved this movie! It made me laugh so hard i thought i was going to pee my pants!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ukfan91Aug 15, 2006
This is the best comedy I have seen in some time now. I loved this movie and highly recommend that you see it as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnK.Aug 15, 2006
This is by far the best Will Ferrell movie ever! You will laugh from beginning to end! Unlike some of Will Ferrell's other movies where he is the only truly funny character, in Talladega Nights Ferrell is surrounded by a hilarious cast. This is by far the best Will Ferrell movie ever! You will laugh from beginning to end! Unlike some of Will Ferrell's other movies where he is the only truly funny character, in Talladega Nights Ferrell is surrounded by a hilarious cast. John C. Reilly is great as his (dumb) best friend, and Sacha Cohen will make you cry from laughing as the (gay) rival driver from "Formula "Un." And they are only the beginning. This movie clearly hits on all cylinders, and is THE must-see comedy of the summer! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MusicaliD.Aug 16, 2006
Funny? Yes. Boring? Double yes. This movie has a couple of bits that are quite funny, but more often than not, I was bored, bored, bored. So slow and a lot of the jokes fell flat. I thought the "dear baby jesus" parts could have been cut Funny? Yes. Boring? Double yes. This movie has a couple of bits that are quite funny, but more often than not, I was bored, bored, bored. So slow and a lot of the jokes fell flat. I thought the "dear baby jesus" parts could have been cut out, they just dragged on and on. I don't think his dad needed to be in the film at all. However, the races looked pretty amazing. I had high hopes and was dissappointed. It's not on par with Anchorman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RICKYBobbyAug 10, 2006
No, I disagree with myself! It's a 10! It's hillarious! Fucking hillarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticAug 18, 2006
It was alright. The first half was fairly funny, but there just weren't enough jokes in the 2nd half, and the last half hour of the movie just seemed unbearable to sit through. I don't know...just got old. I also think Will It was alright. The first half was fairly funny, but there just weren't enough jokes in the 2nd half, and the last half hour of the movie just seemed unbearable to sit through. I don't know...just got old. I also think Will Ferrell's trying too hard. He just seems a bit desperate for laughs, and it's not as funny as Anchorman. The sentimental scenes were also really, REALLY boring. I also thought the movie was really too tame...I think if they went for an R-rating instead, it could have been a lot funnier. Plenty of jokes in the movie relied on the old "kids swearing" type of humor and just like last years remake of The Bad News Bears, it would have been funnier if what the kids said was actually shocking....but in a PG-13 movie, I guess they weren't able to have it. Even as PG-13, though, I thought Anchorman pushed the envelope a lot more than Talladega Nights does. This movie just seems way too tame, as if Ferrel is targeting a younger audience. Those issues aside, though, it was funny enough in the first half to keep the movie a C+. Not quite worth recommending but it was funny enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeY.Aug 18, 2006
It wasn't as great as everyone is saying it is. Basically all of the funny parts were in the previews. To me, elf was better than this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelC.Aug 4, 2006
This Movie Was Absolutely Hilarious..I, as well as the whole audience was laughing the whole way through. Although there were definetly some uneccessary parts, you forget about them because you are laughing so hard. Will Ferrell does it This Movie Was Absolutely Hilarious..I, as well as the whole audience was laughing the whole way through. Although there were definetly some uneccessary parts, you forget about them because you are laughing so hard. Will Ferrell does it again, Easily the best comedy of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanC.Aug 4, 2006
It was very similar and yet very different from Anchorman. I think Anchorman produced bigger laughs and is the more enjoyable film, but I think TN is right behind it. I laughed almost constantly and there were a few times that tears were It was very similar and yet very different from Anchorman. I think Anchorman produced bigger laughs and is the more enjoyable film, but I think TN is right behind it. I laughed almost constantly and there were a few times that tears were coming out of my eyes. My favorite film of the summer and one of the funniest movies I've seen in quite some time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinAug 5, 2006
Whatever vague critiques there are here are just worthless. go see the movie. there's about 10 jokes per minute (taking conversational and character-based focus from the forty year old virgin) and extremely intelligent dialogue.Whatever vague critiques there are here are just worthless. go see the movie. there's about 10 jokes per minute (taking conversational and character-based focus from the forty year old virgin) and extremely intelligent dialogue. priceless comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful