User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 274 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 274
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RJ
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    It's not an awesome movie, but it earned 10 for being so funny.
  2. JeffF.
    Aug 21, 2006
    0
    Not one single laugh in the whole thing. Nothing but an excuse to see how many product placements they could cram in. Unlikeable characters. The unfunny scenes go on and on.
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    A very crude movie psychologically.
  4. Michellec.
    Aug 6, 2006
    2
    This is a complete waste of time. Anything that is remotely funny has been seen in the trailers for the last two months. Too long, too short on story, too stupid. I wouldn't even waste the rental fee.
  5. Alton
    Feb 10, 2008
    3
    You laugh a little bit but its really not worth watching this movie.
  6. MikeH.
    Aug 28, 2007
    7
    This was a funny movie. There are some absolute gems. I really don't like stupid comedies, like the dumb and dumber, ace ventura variety (hmm, both the ame guy) but Will Farrel really put something together here that came alive through the cast and performances. The scene where he's in the bar playing a racing video game is priceless. Give it a shot. You WILL laugh, just maybe This was a funny movie. There are some absolute gems. I really don't like stupid comedies, like the dumb and dumber, ace ventura variety (hmm, both the ame guy) but Will Farrel really put something together here that came alive through the cast and performances. The scene where he's in the bar playing a racing video game is priceless. Give it a shot. You WILL laugh, just maybe not as much as others, or perhaps even more. Expand
  7. BobT
    Dec 18, 2006
    4
    The movie is pretty lame, although there are some funny bits. It is more or less a dud like Anchorman, and nowhere near as funny as either Elf or Old School.
  8. StevenF
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    This movie is great. It seems to be about racing, but is really about the U.S. arrogance in world affairs. It is a brilliant allegory. Amazing that not a single critic noticed the subtext....
  9. JoshuaS.
    Aug 11, 2006
    6
    If you loved Anchorman or Pootytang, than you'll kind like this movie! Reading the reviews I'm baffled. Do critics even get jokes that aren't references to something else? Where the two aforementioned films littered their screens with humor derived from their settings and characters, this one thinks its enough to pace its jokes meticulously through the plot points. I nearly If you loved Anchorman or Pootytang, than you'll kind like this movie! Reading the reviews I'm baffled. Do critics even get jokes that aren't references to something else? Where the two aforementioned films littered their screens with humor derived from their settings and characters, this one thinks its enough to pace its jokes meticulously through the plot points. I nearly counted down exactely when the "big painful laugh" moment was coming (the knife scene). While some of the dialogue snapped, "I'll come at you like a spider monkey", much of the editing gave away the jokes timing. Anchorman seemlessly integrated throwaway jokes, this movie mostly throws them away in the name of Nascar and an irrelevant story. Just make me laugh please. Expand
  10. AmyS.
    Aug 14, 2006
    9
    Besides Elf, this movie is the best Will's ever done. He is, as always, hilarious, and I love how they bust on NASCAR!!! Especially the women!
  11. BlancoA.
    Aug 4, 2006
    8
    The midnight show crowd I saw this with was roaring... There are enough hysterical individual gags to bind the film together. Of course, there are a couple of stretches toward the middle which aren't stellar, but Will Farrell is probably funnier than he's been since "Old School" and John C. Reilly is a perfect counterpart for him. Amy Adams is smokin' in her role (and The midnight show crowd I saw this with was roaring... There are enough hysterical individual gags to bind the film together. Of course, there are a couple of stretches toward the middle which aren't stellar, but Will Farrell is probably funnier than he's been since "Old School" and John C. Reilly is a perfect counterpart for him. Amy Adams is smokin' in her role (and absolutely dwarfs Leslie Bibb). Another note: the use of ACDC's "TNT" and Sepultura's "Desperate Cry [corrected!]" during the last race was absolutely dead on perfect. If you have any interest at all in NASCAR, you'll probably be in heaven. All I know is that I laughed my ass of for a good portion of this film (much like I did in "Clerks II") and it's just a damned good time. Not a classic, but you shouldn't be disappointed. [Why do I feel like a little Applebees tonight?] Expand
  12. ChuckYo
    Aug 5, 2006
    8
    So far, this is the best film of the year! This film is just as funny as Wedding Crashers.
  13. JohnB.
    Aug 7, 2006
    4
    Come see Ricky Bobby, the patriotic American defend all that is good and right in the land of the red white and blue as he takes on the dreaded gay French! The movie is as much a parody on southern culture as it is a true depiction of American society. Talladega Nights provides a few comedic moments but Ferrell's goofball humour gets old fast and by the end of the movie, everything Come see Ricky Bobby, the patriotic American defend all that is good and right in the land of the red white and blue as he takes on the dreaded gay French! The movie is as much a parody on southern culture as it is a true depiction of American society. Talladega Nights provides a few comedic moments but Ferrell's goofball humour gets old fast and by the end of the movie, everything seemed to become forced. Good for a few snickers, a couple laughs and a lot of blank staring. Expand
  14. PatrickB.
    Aug 7, 2006
    9
    This is a very funny film, especially for Southerners out there! It plays well into the typical NASCAR fan -- why else would the villan be French and gay? (Borat does a fine job with the role. The bad French accent is wonderful.) The best scenes involve Bobby's kids however. The smaller, redheaded kid is hilarious with his snide remarks. If you want a good laugh in a summer filled This is a very funny film, especially for Southerners out there! It plays well into the typical NASCAR fan -- why else would the villan be French and gay? (Borat does a fine job with the role. The bad French accent is wonderful.) The best scenes involve Bobby's kids however. The smaller, redheaded kid is hilarious with his snide remarks. If you want a good laugh in a summer filled with misses, see this film! Expand
  15. J.H.
    Aug 8, 2006
    8
    If you like Will Ferrell's type of humor, you will probably love this movie. I watched it with two friends and we all loved it! This may be Ferrell's best movie yet.
  16. DaveK.
    Aug 9, 2006
    5
    They tried, but not too funny. I thought Gary Cole was the funniest in the movie, laughed a few times at Will, but other than that it was filled with mostly not funny material. Soooo many characters were not needed (aka Blonde pit crew member, the kids, wife's dad) Not Ferell/Reily's best work...i'll go pop in Anchorman/Wedding Crashers
  17. RicardoC
    Oct 20, 2006
    0
    What's more scary than this awful movie being financed, is that it has made a lot of money. Go figure, it is simply God awful. All Ferrell does is his usual W shtick, except that he's a lot funnier as W. It certainly does not reach the comic heights of Old School or Elf for that matter. How long do I have to wait before people start to actually give this movie the trashing it deserves?
  18. JillW.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    I loved this movie! It made me laugh so hard i thought i was going to pee my pants!
  19. ukfan91
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    This is the best comedy I have seen in some time now. I loved this movie and highly recommend that you see it as well.
  20. JohnK.
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    This is by far the best Will Ferrell movie ever! You will laugh from beginning to end! Unlike some of Will Ferrell's other movies where he is the only truly funny character, in Talladega Nights Ferrell is surrounded by a hilarious cast. John C. Reilly is great as his (dumb) best friend, and Sacha Cohen will make you cry from laughing as the (gay) rival driver from "Formula "Un." And This is by far the best Will Ferrell movie ever! You will laugh from beginning to end! Unlike some of Will Ferrell's other movies where he is the only truly funny character, in Talladega Nights Ferrell is surrounded by a hilarious cast. John C. Reilly is great as his (dumb) best friend, and Sacha Cohen will make you cry from laughing as the (gay) rival driver from "Formula "Un." And they are only the beginning. This movie clearly hits on all cylinders, and is THE must-see comedy of the summer! Expand
  21. MusicaliD.
    Aug 16, 2006
    6
    Funny? Yes. Boring? Double yes. This movie has a couple of bits that are quite funny, but more often than not, I was bored, bored, bored. So slow and a lot of the jokes fell flat. I thought the "dear baby jesus" parts could have been cut out, they just dragged on and on. I don't think his dad needed to be in the film at all. However, the races looked pretty amazing. I had high hopes Funny? Yes. Boring? Double yes. This movie has a couple of bits that are quite funny, but more often than not, I was bored, bored, bored. So slow and a lot of the jokes fell flat. I thought the "dear baby jesus" parts could have been cut out, they just dragged on and on. I don't think his dad needed to be in the film at all. However, the races looked pretty amazing. I had high hopes and was dissappointed. It's not on par with Anchorman. Expand
  22. RICKYBobby
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    No, I disagree with myself! It's a 10! It's hillarious! Fucking hillarious!
  23. AMovieCritic
    Aug 18, 2006
    6
    It was alright. The first half was fairly funny, but there just weren't enough jokes in the 2nd half, and the last half hour of the movie just seemed unbearable to sit through. I don't know...just got old. I also think Will Ferrell's trying too hard. He just seems a bit desperate for laughs, and it's not as funny as Anchorman. The sentimental scenes were also really, It was alright. The first half was fairly funny, but there just weren't enough jokes in the 2nd half, and the last half hour of the movie just seemed unbearable to sit through. I don't know...just got old. I also think Will Ferrell's trying too hard. He just seems a bit desperate for laughs, and it's not as funny as Anchorman. The sentimental scenes were also really, REALLY boring. I also thought the movie was really too tame...I think if they went for an R-rating instead, it could have been a lot funnier. Plenty of jokes in the movie relied on the old "kids swearing" type of humor and just like last years remake of The Bad News Bears, it would have been funnier if what the kids said was actually shocking....but in a PG-13 movie, I guess they weren't able to have it. Even as PG-13, though, I thought Anchorman pushed the envelope a lot more than Talladega Nights does. This movie just seems way too tame, as if Ferrel is targeting a younger audience. Those issues aside, though, it was funny enough in the first half to keep the movie a C+. Not quite worth recommending but it was funny enough. Expand
  24. MikeY.
    Aug 18, 2006
    3
    It wasn't as great as everyone is saying it is. Basically all of the funny parts were in the previews. To me, elf was better than this movie.
  25. MichaelC.
    Aug 4, 2006
    9
    This Movie Was Absolutely Hilarious..I, as well as the whole audience was laughing the whole way through. Although there were definetly some uneccessary parts, you forget about them because you are laughing so hard. Will Ferrell does it again, Easily the best comedy of 2006.
  26. JonathanC.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    It was very similar and yet very different from Anchorman. I think Anchorman produced bigger laughs and is the more enjoyable film, but I think TN is right behind it. I laughed almost constantly and there were a few times that tears were coming out of my eyes. My favorite film of the summer and one of the funniest movies I've seen in quite some time.
  27. Kristin
    Aug 5, 2006
    10
    Whatever vague critiques there are here are just worthless. go see the movie. there's about 10 jokes per minute (taking conversational and character-based focus from the forty year old virgin) and extremely intelligent dialogue. priceless comedy.
  28. MeikeG.
    Aug 5, 2006
    8
    To Blanco A. i have to correct you. yes it was a Sepultura song ... but it was not "Dead Embryonic Cells" it was "Desperate Cry" that was in the movie.
  29. RogerS.
    Aug 5, 2006
    9
    Very funny movie. I laughed at the way people looked at each other and themselves. "I want to get a gun and be a friendly crack dealer" LOL. The kiss was laughing a lot too NASCAR never looked so happy.
  30. DrewF.
    Aug 5, 2006
    5
    There are two things that are exceptionally funny in this film: 1) Gary Cole. That guy is just criminally underrated. 2) The joke about the film "THE HIGHLANDER". I admit that Ferrell's brand of "Throw everything possible at you and hope SOMETHING sticks" of comedy just isn't my bag. I like sharp, smart , well-executed comedy. This film features none of the above. Never thought There are two things that are exceptionally funny in this film: 1) Gary Cole. That guy is just criminally underrated. 2) The joke about the film "THE HIGHLANDER". I admit that Ferrell's brand of "Throw everything possible at you and hope SOMETHING sticks" of comedy just isn't my bag. I like sharp, smart , well-executed comedy. This film features none of the above. Never thought i'd see the day that John C Reilly disappointed me, but here we are. Movie does have some laughs, but overall a waste of time. Expand
  31. PetrE.
    Aug 5, 2006
    10
    This movie is hilarious!
  32. ChristopherP.
    Aug 6, 2006
    1
    Talladega Nights masqarades as a filim when in reality its one big commercial.
  33. WAKOJAKO
    Aug 6, 2006
    7
    Not a great movie, but a far as comedies and most films in general, it's pretty good. My friends and I laughed our asses off all throughout.
  34. GigglesTheClown
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    I like to judge comedies by the sheer volume and frequency of the laughs that they bring, "Talladega Nights" is a solid 9 on this scale. Ignore the twats that over-intellectualize movies like this. Chances are they're that boring, depressing co-worker that never shuts up.
  35. BarryJ
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    Hillarious. Laughs throughout. Never a lull.
  36. MichaelB.
    Aug 6, 2006
    5
    This is a completely un-exceptional film. As Mendy said, there are a few laughs here and there, but not enough to recommend this movie to anyone.
  37. JustinS.
    Aug 7, 2006
    3
    In all honesty, this movie was not very funny. The whole thing seems like it was thrown together without being thought out. There is no discernable plot, the improv brings unbelievably few laughs, and there is a general sloppiness about the whole production. Maybe I'm looking at this from the point of view of a person who hates NASCAR and redneck humor, but this is a poor excuse for In all honesty, this movie was not very funny. The whole thing seems like it was thrown together without being thought out. There is no discernable plot, the improv brings unbelievably few laughs, and there is a general sloppiness about the whole production. Maybe I'm looking at this from the point of view of a person who hates NASCAR and redneck humor, but this is a poor excuse for "the movie of the summer". Oh, and prepare to be amazed at the new heights (lows?) of blatant product placement. I actually laughed at this movie more than most people in the theater, but still left with a bad taste in my mouth. Expand
  38. TomB
    Aug 8, 2006
    5
    Pretty disappointing. Not a gutsy enough satire to be truly funny. I laughed a few times, sure, but most of it was pretty by-the-numbers and not terribly funny. It's not one-tenth as funny as Anchorman.
  39. Kevin
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Hellarious! It sends up NASCAR while loving it. The acting is awesome all the way down to the minor parts. Check out Gary Cole as Ricky's dad - he actually should get a Best Supporting Actor nomination for this one. Also Amy Adams is great as the mousy assistant who turns into something very different. Sacha Baron Cohen almost steals the movie with his gay French driver, but Will Hellarious! It sends up NASCAR while loving it. The acting is awesome all the way down to the minor parts. Check out Gary Cole as Ricky's dad - he actually should get a Best Supporting Actor nomination for this one. Also Amy Adams is great as the mousy assistant who turns into something very different. Sacha Baron Cohen almost steals the movie with his gay French driver, but Will Ferrell has one of his best roles and infuses his character with alot of heart as well as some of the best jokes in the movie. See it! Expand
  40. Patrick
    Sep 20, 2006
    7
    It was good fun, but nothing compared to Anchorman.
  41. JimG
    Jan 1, 2007
    3
    Putrid. I am curious what NASCAR fans everywhere think about this film. Only if the stereotypes this pathetic movie spews out were true would an audience be stupid enough to think highly of this humor. Perhaps it appeals to homophobic jingoes as much as the double whammy gay and French slurs (and the trite gay-french connection). Even if there was a story worth telling, the acting is Putrid. I am curious what NASCAR fans everywhere think about this film. Only if the stereotypes this pathetic movie spews out were true would an audience be stupid enough to think highly of this humor. Perhaps it appeals to homophobic jingoes as much as the double whammy gay and French slurs (and the trite gay-french connection). Even if there was a story worth telling, the acting is atrocious. Will Ferrell can't act himself out of a Wonderbread bag and his on-screen improvising is second rate and all too transparent. The emperor has no jump suit. Expand
  42. WalkerR.
    Jan 20, 2007
    2
    Piece of crap. Will Ferrell is overrated and his movies consistantly suck. Where oh where are the great comedies of yesterday...Planes Trains & Automobiles anyone?
  43. ChrisM
    Jan 5, 2007
    1
    I went to the trouble of actually reserving this title at my local movie outlet and can't remember the last time I was this disappointed over a movie. I think it caused me to grin twice... very early on I have lost much respect for a number of friends who recommended it.
  44. BobL.
    Mar 3, 2007
    1
    This is one of the worst movies ever! Not funny!
  45. MarkB.
    Oct 16, 2006
    7
    If they can get past the fact that NASCAR superstar Ricky Bobby's major adversary (Sasha Baron Cohen) is not only openly gay (and French!) but more fundamentally decent, admirable and honest than the hero, fundamentalist Christians may find this movie's wonderful family dinner scene astonishingly insightful and satirically on the nose. While saying grace, Ricky insists on If they can get past the fact that NASCAR superstar Ricky Bobby's major adversary (Sasha Baron Cohen) is not only openly gay (and French!) but more fundamentally decent, admirable and honest than the hero, fundamentalist Christians may find this movie's wonderful family dinner scene astonishingly insightful and satirically on the nose. While saying grace, Ricky insists on praying not to either the crucified or the risen Jesus Christ, but to the baby in the manger. This makes sense from Ricky's point of view because he can therefore have it both ways: he can profess Christianity (and maybe even seem to believe it) without having to surrender himself to it; he can remain in control of his life and seemingly on top of the world because, after all, who takes orders from a little baby? Needless to say, Ricky's Number One position in the racing world takes a traumatic tumble as the movie follows a story arc that's surprisingly similar to that found in Rocky III: in order for the hero to return to the top he has to conquer his fears, and in fact the latter is far more important than the former. Although Talledega Nights: The Legend of Ricky Bobby never quite tops the mealtime scene (easily the funniest sequence seen so far in ANY 2006 movie), and even though it's frequently as uneven and scattershot as you'd expect from the folks who brought you Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy two years ago, it's a far sharper, more consistently amusing and cohesive film comedy that DOESN'T simultaneously implode, fall apart and spin off in twelve different directions the way Will Ferrell's and Adam McKay's 2004 hit did. Great supporting players help, especially Gary Cole (The Brady Bunch Movie), who continues his late career as a comedy stealth weapon playing Ricky's emotionally-and-every-other-way deadbeat dad, Jane Lynch, who's delightful (and remarkably sexy) as his steely mom, and especially Amy Adams, who delivered last year's best performance--lead, supporting or otherwise--as Junebug's naive but wise pregnant lady, and so immerses herself in character here as a shy Team Bobby employee that I didn't even recognize her until the final 10 minutes! And if nothing else, Talledega Nights provides welcome reassurance for us John C. Reilly fans who sat through his 2002 Loser Trilogy (Chicago, The Good Girl, The Hours) that, as Ricky's best friend and less ostentatious fellow racer, that this fine actor can do other things besides threatening to become this decade's answer to Ralph Bellamy. Expand
  46. PaulO.
    Aug 11, 2006
    8
    Very funny. Not as good story-wise as others, like 40-year Old Virgin, but still hilarious. And I think that was the whole point.
  47. Ronald
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    Its no Anchorman, but any fan of Will Ferrell with love this movie.
  48. CharlesM.
    Aug 12, 2006
    8
    It was a funny movie, but I just don't see myself recommending it to anyone. Will Ferrell was great as a Nascar driver. It seemed to make fun of Nascar and it's fans though.
  49. AdamB.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    Will Ferrell is stellar once again in this fine, all-too-enjoyable hillarious romp in a blazingly well done comedy co-starring Sacha Baron Cohen, Michael Clarke Duncan, Amy Adams, and yours truly John C. Reilly.
  50. BillyS.
    Aug 21, 2006
    5
    The latest Saturday Night Live alumni with a good idea for a 4 minute skit but stretching the joke out to a full length feature that fails miserably, again. The best part of this Will Ferrell movie was the preview for Stranger Than Fiction which looks nothing like SNL and resembles Jim Carrey's move when he did The Truman Show. As for Taledega Nights, you can only make one joke funny The latest Saturday Night Live alumni with a good idea for a 4 minute skit but stretching the joke out to a full length feature that fails miserably, again. The best part of this Will Ferrell movie was the preview for Stranger Than Fiction which looks nothing like SNL and resembles Jim Carrey's move when he did The Truman Show. As for Taledega Nights, you can only make one joke funny so long before it becomes annoying and if it wasn't for Sacha Baron Cohen as the gay French rival it would have been annoying after 10 minutes. John C. Reilly would have been the better choice for Ricky Bobby and once again proves why he's the best second-banana working today. Expand
  51. SaigeS.
    Aug 23, 2006
    9
    I loved this movie! Will Ferrel is so funny, and Sacha Baron Cohen is a comic genious! I cried at least 3 times during this movie.
  52. JasonB.
    Aug 31, 2006
    3
    There's nothing like cracking the same unfunny jokes over and over and over. I get it, his kids are bad. It wasn't funny the first time, it's still not funny the 8th time they talk back!! I loved the 40 Yr Old Virgin, Freaks & Geeks, Undeclared, and Anchorman, but what a waste of time this generic stink bomb was! This film could've been 30 minutes. John C. Riley's There's nothing like cracking the same unfunny jokes over and over and over. I get it, his kids are bad. It wasn't funny the first time, it's still not funny the 8th time they talk back!! I loved the 40 Yr Old Virgin, Freaks & Geeks, Undeclared, and Anchorman, but what a waste of time this generic stink bomb was! This film could've been 30 minutes. John C. Riley's adllibs were the only saving grace of this film. Expand
  53. RonB.
    Aug 4, 2006
    1
    A lot of content that was not needed!!! Had the makings of a real funny flim but it busted with me and I think it will with most nscar fans.
  54. MichaelS.
    Aug 5, 2006
    10
    This movie is hilarious. Brilliant work.
  55. Rev.Rikard
    Aug 5, 2006
    7
    If you like smart, thought provoking comedies (ala Woody Allen) Talladega Nights will disappoint you. However, if you want to enjoy an entertaining afternoon this film isn't bad. McKay pits a good ol boy sport against the gay lifestyle, family values against a twisted understanding of what those values are. Toss Will Ferrell at his funniest and you have Talladega Nights. It has not If you like smart, thought provoking comedies (ala Woody Allen) Talladega Nights will disappoint you. However, if you want to enjoy an entertaining afternoon this film isn't bad. McKay pits a good ol boy sport against the gay lifestyle, family values against a twisted understanding of what those values are. Toss Will Ferrell at his funniest and you have Talladega Nights. It has not been a great year for comedies, but this one is at least enjoyable. Expand
  56. MendyC.
    Aug 5, 2006
    6
    Something was off about this movie. There are a few good laughs here and there but I kept thinking of so many different funnier directions the writers could have taken this movie. Bottom line: meh.
  57. JonC.
    Aug 5, 2006
    7
    Although I did not find the film totally hysterical, it is funny. Forget what Ron B says. I can assure you that the average NASCAR fan would not understand the humor in this film.
  58. TimM.
    Aug 6, 2006
    7
    Good, not great. I liked anchorman better, thought it was funnier. this movie felt long cuz some of the material kept getting recycled. still laughed pretty f-in hard sometimes, but not all the time. and i just saw it last night and nothing about the movie sticks in my head. except applebees, powerade, wonder bread, perrier, taco bell, dominos, old spice, kfc... MUST SPEND MONEY...
  59. MattK.
    Aug 6, 2006
    7
    The advertisments were in it to parody NASCAR in general, you moron. The movie is good, if you enjoyed Ferrel's previous works. The plot does get into the way a bit, but it's worth the comedy.
  60. NickE.
    Aug 6, 2006
    8
    Well, it's 2 hours of cheap laughs, but there's a certain humanity about Ferell's performance. Also, Sasha Baron Cohen is officially the funniest human on the planet.
  61. Filmfan
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    This is a very funny film. It is less subtle but more funny than "Anchorman". Ferrell is hilarious, so too Reilly and Baron Cohen. Even the women who have smaller roles put on some great performances. The relatively low user ratings for the film surprise me. As goofy and overdrawn as the humor is, there is often a clever underlying critique of American culture that might be escaping some This is a very funny film. It is less subtle but more funny than "Anchorman". Ferrell is hilarious, so too Reilly and Baron Cohen. Even the women who have smaller roles put on some great performances. The relatively low user ratings for the film surprise me. As goofy and overdrawn as the humor is, there is often a clever underlying critique of American culture that might be escaping some viewers. Bottom line, if you like Ferrel, you will have a great time. Expand
  62. Wongit
    Aug 7, 2006
    8
    Awsome movie. Laughed my ass off and thats what your going to see the movie for right? definet check!
  63. BradL.
    Aug 8, 2006
    2
    Not nearly as funny as Ferrell's other films. The plot in general of the movie was pretty boring and all the funny moments were decent one-liners. I walked out of this film extremely disappointed.
  64. TomS.
    Aug 8, 2006
    5
    It had a lot of good bits in it, but also a lot of headscratching elements. For instance, why do we need to see the kids so much? And the blond guy in the pit-crew was a total waste of screen time. I thought that will ferrell actually got out-shined by John C. Reilly and Gary Cole, not to mention Ali G. You'll laugh at least a few times, but i gotta believe there's a better It had a lot of good bits in it, but also a lot of headscratching elements. For instance, why do we need to see the kids so much? And the blond guy in the pit-crew was a total waste of screen time. I thought that will ferrell actually got out-shined by John C. Reilly and Gary Cole, not to mention Ali G. You'll laugh at least a few times, but i gotta believe there's a better satire of nascar still waiting to be done. Expand
  65. RICKYBOBBY
    Aug 8, 2006
    5
    This movie left me with a bitter taste in my mouth. For every funny part there were 2 lame ones.
  66. ShaunaT.
    Aug 9, 2006
    7
    Very funny when you're watching it, but looking back it'll never be a favorite movie and is not smart enough to be a satire.
  67. RandyMoorhead
    Aug 9, 2006
    7
    Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby was honestly funnier than I thought it would be. That does not make it a triple A movie, but it still does provide laugh after laugh. Will Ferrell and NASCAR fans will love it. Everyone else....meh...pretty funny.
  68. KurtL.
    Sep 15, 2006
    8
    This is over the top. But who cares? It pokes fun at NASCAR culture without being condescending. Will Ferrell pulls it off well. Bringing a gay Frenchman into a movie about a WASP past time is brilliant.
  69. MIGUELGARCIA
    Sep 22, 2006
    4
    Not my type of sense of humour. Rather silly and childish
  70. Linda
    Sep 23, 2006
    9
    Thank you baby Jesus!
  71. jimlarkin
    Sep 24, 2006
    0
    Dreadful. Rapid R said "It should have never been made", she/he was right, the only reason it was made was to cash in on ferrell while he was riding high, pure and simple. no thought in story, or jokes, just a series of unfunny cliches. As if to confirm that it was cashing in, it has some of the most blatantly insulting product placement I've ever seen in a film. Watch this only if Dreadful. Rapid R said "It should have never been made", she/he was right, the only reason it was made was to cash in on ferrell while he was riding high, pure and simple. no thought in story, or jokes, just a series of unfunny cliches. As if to confirm that it was cashing in, it has some of the most blatantly insulting product placement I've ever seen in a film. Watch this only if you want to go the cinema and pay £5 to watch a shitload of adverts and unfunny jokes. Expand
  72. JordanG.
    Sep 24, 2006
    0
    Rednecks will enjoy it. They'll sit down with they're beer and laugh at this worthless movie with no plot and no comedy. For race fans: Why do you like watching cars going around in circles for 3 hours. All you like is watching people crash and burn. If you just like to watch people make left turns for hours and cheer when guys crash then you seriously need a life.
  73. S.L.O.
    Sep 3, 2006
    4
    Disappointing. I love nearly all of Farrell, Reilly and Cohen's work, but this is a generally unfunny stinker. Great cast (the aforementioned as well as Jane Lynch and Gary Cole) and lots of positive, trustworthy reviews, some of which went so far as to suggest that "Talladega ..." is funnier than "Anchorman," which is utter ........ .". I went in with high hopes, which were dashed Disappointing. I love nearly all of Farrell, Reilly and Cohen's work, but this is a generally unfunny stinker. Great cast (the aforementioned as well as Jane Lynch and Gary Cole) and lots of positive, trustworthy reviews, some of which went so far as to suggest that "Talladega ..." is funnier than "Anchorman," which is utter ........ .". I went in with high hopes, which were dashed fairly quickly. Few of the jokes worked, and it felt as though much of the dialogue resulted from uninspired improvisation. The only consistently satisfying perfomances came from the young actors playing Ricky Bobby's foul-mouthed children. But little kids shouting dirty words can't sustain an entire film. Save your dough on this one. Will Farrell has jumped the damned shark. Expand
  74. HalB
    Jan 13, 2007
    7
    A hilarious romp through southern culture and the NASCAR scene... okay, probably not entirely fair in its portrayal of the South, but generally respectful of its "targets" (NASCAR, white bread, big hair, rednecks, U.S. jingo-ism, flamboyant Frenchmen and ill-behaved children). This movie is for kicks, not for deep thought. Will Ferrell, Sasha Baron Cohen and the entire supporting cast are A hilarious romp through southern culture and the NASCAR scene... okay, probably not entirely fair in its portrayal of the South, but generally respectful of its "targets" (NASCAR, white bread, big hair, rednecks, U.S. jingo-ism, flamboyant Frenchmen and ill-behaved children). This movie is for kicks, not for deep thought. Will Ferrell, Sasha Baron Cohen and the entire supporting cast are excellent. I tip my ball cap to "Reecky Bubby" {But I don't like crepes!}. Expand
  75. DavidM.
    Jan 22, 2007
    3
    While this movie had a few moments of howling laughter, "Talladega Nights" spent most of the movie sputtering and dying like a stock car that had run into the wall too many times. Will Ferrel is as funny as ever in his typical "lovable but self-absorbed dunce" role. However, Ricky Bobby is much less likable or dimensional than his previous Ron Burgundy character. I got the sense that While this movie had a few moments of howling laughter, "Talladega Nights" spent most of the movie sputtering and dying like a stock car that had run into the wall too many times. Will Ferrel is as funny as ever in his typical "lovable but self-absorbed dunce" role. However, Ricky Bobby is much less likable or dimensional than his previous Ron Burgundy character. I got the sense that Ricky Bobby was truly a child who never grew beyond the petulant (and drug-induced) advice from his long-absent father. I tried to like Ricky Bobby, but I never could. He was simply a loser who was in the right place at the right time. Perhaps his childish antics would be funny to the NASCAR crowd, but they grew old quickly. Sasha Cohen was a marvelous foil to Ricky as the effete and arrogant French Formula-1 racer. Their staring contest at the track was probably the funniest moment in the movie. As the movie progresses, he seems relegated to a bit-role and their rivalry never reaches the payoff it should. My biggest complaint is about the subject itself. Adam McKay really went for the jugular in "Anchorman", mercilessly needling the 70's, news anchors and mysoginists everywhere. Here he has the same opportunity to satirize NASCAR and racing in general (in my opinion, a topic that is just begging to be made fun of). However, his jokes are so soft I wonder if he was afraid of alienating NASCAR fans. He sure isn't afraid of the product placements and endorsements littering the film, so I am forced to conclude that I can't be far off. The good news is that I waited to rent this movie on DVD instead of seeing it in the theaters. The better news is I can always watch Anchorman instead. Expand
  76. RikkiB.
    Sep 25, 2008
    7
    Silly movie. Ferrell and Reilly have amazing chemistry together, and Sacha Baron Cohen as a goofy Frenchman is a good addition as well. Not much plot at all, but there are a lot of silly laughs.
  77. Eldon
    Dec 14, 2006
    6
    Hilarious... if it hasn't gone over your head, which it clearly has for some reviewers here. Get a clue! And get a sense humor. Geez.
  78. MichaelaW.
    Dec 27, 2006
    8
    Fantastic. so many things in this movie were clever - I'm beginning to think the people who rated this as a dud weren't seeing the jokes. I hated the Borat film but this was so clever about Nascar and US "culture". 2 hours flew by.
  79. PATK
    Oct 27, 2006
    1
    Not funny at all; I was very disappointed.
  80. JaclynW.
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    This is just like any other Will Ferrel comedy. Absolutely hilarious! I nearly wet myself! I strongly suggest that you see this movie. There wasn't a moment in the movie where the audience was silent. Talledega Nights deserves a perfect 10! It was a comedy masterpiece.
  81. KevinR.
    Aug 12, 2006
    8
    Almost as good as Anchorman (Ferrell's only other good movie), but not quite. Still, there are moments where you just can't help but die laughing (basically any moment with Sacha Baron Cohen and Will Ferrell).
  82. TristramC.
    Aug 13, 2006
    3
    Three of my co-workers saw this movie the first weekend like I did and thought it was hilarious. I thought it was completely inane; and not in the "thats what we were going for" kind of way. To me this movie was one failed goof after another and a clumsy enough comedy to make the directors previous film with Ferrell, Anchorman, seem as smart as Office Space. Often at a film I have to pop Three of my co-workers saw this movie the first weekend like I did and thought it was hilarious. I thought it was completely inane; and not in the "thats what we were going for" kind of way. To me this movie was one failed goof after another and a clumsy enough comedy to make the directors previous film with Ferrell, Anchorman, seem as smart as Office Space. Often at a film I have to pop out a sec and hotbox a cigarette (you know cause I'm addicted to the stuff) and hope I didn't miss anything important. With this movie I took my time and walked back hoping it had ended. This film reminds of the true risk involved in coming to the theatre in the first place and slapping your $8 on the counter and makes you realize TBS serves a true public service to the world. in 8 months or so this movie should be playing there and you'll be able to see the comedy of errors for free. Expand
  83. RachelR.
    Aug 13, 2006
    8
    Totally solid. Pretty compassionate to the NASCAR set, if you ask me. Got someone like me (snooty) to understand what some of the fun of racing is about. Makes you feel a little pride in even the less-intellectual of your fellow citizens. And even mends some transatlantic fences with the French. Overall, smoother and more entertaining than the Secretary of State.
  84. Alexis
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    So entertaining. i adore will f! his character is great.
  85. [Anonymous]
    Aug 14, 2006
    7
    Basically the stereotypical Will Ferrel SNL character stretched out into a 107 minute movie.
  86. IM
    Aug 14, 2006
    7
    This movie was good, but all of the characters seemed to be poorly drawn versions of the characters from Anchorman. Ricky Bobby was essentially a southern version of Ron Burgandy. Cal Naughton Jr. was the same second Banana type that Champ Kind played originally. Michael Clark Duncan was just a black version of Ed Harken. The confused guy in the pit crew was a poor mans Brick. This movie was good, but all of the characters seemed to be poorly drawn versions of the characters from Anchorman. Ricky Bobby was essentially a southern version of Ron Burgandy. Cal Naughton Jr. was the same second Banana type that Champ Kind played originally. Michael Clark Duncan was just a black version of Ed Harken. The confused guy in the pit crew was a poor mans Brick. Sasha's rival character could have been better and his husband played by Andy Richter could have been comedy gold if they had spent a little time developing the characters. I liked the movie but it wasn't nearly as good as Anchorman. Collapse
  87. TylerK>
    Aug 14, 2006
    4
    Few rip-roaring laughs, mostly falls flat, and awkwardly is reaching throughout the movie. Gary Cole delivers nicely as Ferrell's dad. There is little chemistry between Ferrell and Reilly, and mostly this move is scraping the bottom of the barrell for poking fun at the Nascar subculture of America and doesn't click. Poor acting and even worse script doesn't help.
  88. Mase
    Aug 19, 2006
    7
    Mindless fun i guess, really just another extended snl skit type movie. The white trash humor "characters" become grating after a while, Hardly the funniest movie of the year but watchable nonetheless. Anchorman definatley grew on me after awhile and now i think it's quite brililant, maybe this will as well. but i doubt it
  89. S.K.
    Aug 19, 2006
    9
    One of the funniest this year. Will plays the part very well. Some of was a bit repetitive though. Still very funny and worth the money.
  90. JoeyK.
    Aug 19, 2006
    9
    It's an extremely solid comedy. Some of the reviews complained about inconsistency or slow-down, but they're wrong. It's a change of heart, and the laughs keep on coming. There are all kinds of bits and jokes, none are groaners, and some are just genius. It's definitely one of the best films in Ferrel's recent career, on par with Anchorman.
  91. BocceK.
    Aug 22, 2006
    9
    This is a stupid comedy that really, really works. I dislike 90% of what SNL alums have done in cinema, but this is so well executed I laughed long and loud in spite of my standards. I consider this Will Ferrell's first funny film and I would go see it again.
  92. JeremyW.
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    I have never been a huge fan of Will Ferrell--I always thought him as more of a supporting character like Old School and Austin Powers, but this movie set me straight! There were times I was in tears i was laughing so hard. To be completely honest, I can't remember the last time I laughed that hard. Definitely the funniest movie of the year and the last few years, as far as I am I have never been a huge fan of Will Ferrell--I always thought him as more of a supporting character like Old School and Austin Powers, but this movie set me straight! There were times I was in tears i was laughing so hard. To be completely honest, I can't remember the last time I laughed that hard. Definitely the funniest movie of the year and the last few years, as far as I am concerned. After a downright pathetic Summer movie season, go see Talladega Nights now!!! It has the cure for what ails you. Expand
  93. RapidR.
    Aug 23, 2006
    0
    This movies sucks....period. It should have never been made.
  94. ColleenV.
    Sep 11, 2006
    3
    I mean, really, this movie was just ridiculous. Really. It was so awful. It didn't really even have a plot, really. That's all I have to say. Okay.
  95. PaulMcGee
    Sep 22, 2006
    8
    Does exactly what it sets out to do: entertain. Hilarious comedy in the vain of anchorman (but better). Also Ali G, is hilarious as Ricky's rival, can't wait for Borat.
  96. MatthewL.
    Dec 15, 2007
    5
    This was a hit and miss film. There were some funny parts, but there were bits that failed to make me laugh out loud. The "friends, then enemies, then back to friends, then back to enemies" was a bizarre pattern that was unfunny. Plus, it also runs out of gas towards the end.
  97. MattA
    Dec 16, 2006
    8
    Sure... it was a bit cliche' ridden. However, the subtle random one-liners were enough to keep this movie afloat. Ferrell & Reilly's conversations were funny, along with Cohen's scenes. Believe me... i find redneck humor old and boring...but they didn't always focus on that one-trick pony.
  98. SteveA
    Dec 16, 2006
    7
    Had some extremely funny scenes, especially in the first half. The first dinner scene was hilarious: That grandpa and those kids! Also, I thought the John Honcho bit was hilarious, too. I loved comedian Cohen in Borat, but I didn't care for his character in this movie: his character just wasn't villianous enough. Some of the jokes, like the crepes bit at the bar, felt too long. Had some extremely funny scenes, especially in the first half. The first dinner scene was hilarious: That grandpa and those kids! Also, I thought the John Honcho bit was hilarious, too. I loved comedian Cohen in Borat, but I didn't care for his character in this movie: his character just wasn't villianous enough. Some of the jokes, like the crepes bit at the bar, felt too long. However, there were more hits than misses when it came to jokes. And I liked that it stayed true to its characters, like the dad's character. Expand
  99. KyleF.
    Dec 22, 2006
    1
    The worst comedy of 2006. Unfortunately, Will Ferrell is NOT consistently funny and truly misses the mark with this film. His POOR attempt at a southern accent is eclipsed only by the likes of Keanu Reeves' british accent in Bram Stoker's Dracula and Harrison Ford's russian growl in K-19: The Widowmaker. Ferrell's film son, Texas Ranger even has a more convincing The worst comedy of 2006. Unfortunately, Will Ferrell is NOT consistently funny and truly misses the mark with this film. His POOR attempt at a southern accent is eclipsed only by the likes of Keanu Reeves' british accent in Bram Stoker's Dracula and Harrison Ford's russian growl in K-19: The Widowmaker. Ferrell's film son, Texas Ranger even has a more convincing southern dialect and he's like 8 years old. Unless you absolutely adore Ferrell and everything he does, do NOT rent this DVD. Expand
  100. Chuck
    Nov 22, 2007
    4
    Cliche! Not very original. Probably Will Farrell's worst.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. From its pitch-perfect title through just about every detail, this sendup of sports-triumph movies maintains the right parodic pitch, if not always the highest mph on the laugh speedometer.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    70
    Simultaneously teasing and loving a subject doesn't make for easy comedy, but writer-star Will Ferrell and director/co-writer Adam McKay pull it off with good-ol'-boy good nature in Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Wilonsky
    70
    Ferrell reminds the audience of why he matters: because he's the loudest, driest, and most fearless comic actor working.