Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Tammy (Melissa McCarthy) is having a bad day. She's totaled her clunker car, gotten fired from her thankless job at a greasy burger joint, and instead of finding comfort at home, finds her husband getting comfortable with the neighbor in her own house. It's time to take her boom box and bookTammy (Melissa McCarthy) is having a bad day. She's totaled her clunker car, gotten fired from her thankless job at a greasy burger joint, and instead of finding comfort at home, finds her husband getting comfortable with the neighbor in her own house. It's time to take her boom box and book it. The bad news is she's broke and without wheels. The worse news is her grandma, Pearl (Susan Sarandon), is her only option—with a car, cash, and an itch to see Niagara Falls. Not exactly the escape Tammy had in mind. But on the road, with grandma riding shot gun, it may be just what Tammy needs. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 36
  2. Negative: 14 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Leah Greenblatt
    Jul 1, 2014
    75
    It's a broad, helter-skelter farce whose best bits hinge almost entirely on the considerable charms of its star.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 2, 2014
    63
    When you’re balancing ridiculous slapstick right out of a live-action cartoon with well-written, well-acted scenes that feel completely of this world, that’s a tough balancing act, and “Tammy” isn’t quite up to the task on a consistent basis.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jul 2, 2014
    60
    They have little feel for the technical side of filmmaking; the imagery is flat and the editing amateurish. Most shots seem held for a beat too long or too short, wreaking havoc with the comic rhythm. Nonetheless, McCarthy and Falcone’s attempts to make Tammy more flesh-and-blood than a figure of fun are often poignant.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jul 1, 2014
    40
    There are some laughs and, at least on screen, more than a few tears. But it doesn't come together with the kind of satisfying punch a comedy should deliver.
  5. Reviewed by: David Lee Dallas
    Jul 1, 2014
    38
    Ben Falcone's film is an almost plotless doodle, with low stakes made even lower thanks to the bratty passivity of its titular antiheroine.
  6. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jul 2, 2014
    30
    Unimaginatively filmed and of a misbegotten construction, Tammy goes all in with its namesake character (played by McCarthy), hanging the entire movie around a person who is immediately and irreversibly established as being thoughtless, unperceptive, destructive, and uneducated.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jul 2, 2014
    0
    Tammy is a bummer, not least because McCarthy’s fans know she’s better than this.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 35
  2. Negative: 18 out of 35
  1. Jul 13, 2014
    8
    This movie was funny, not as laugh out loud funny as The Heat, but still had it's moments. I liked Melissa McCarthy (as usual) and SusanThis movie was funny, not as laugh out loud funny as The Heat, but still had it's moments. I liked Melissa McCarthy (as usual) and Susan Sarandon in this flick. It had a few parts where I didn't expect to feel anything, but there's actually a pretty sad moment towards the end, but of course, that ends with hilarity. I love McCarthy's acting and I hope she continues to entertain for years to come! The only issue with the movie is I didn't really remember any of the other characters besides McCarthy's, Sarandon's, and the lesbian woman's character. Sorry, idk her name. The plot is kind of sloppy as well, but I left the theater satisfied regardless. Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2014
    6
    There was nothing that wowed me in Tammy, but I still think it was entertaining enough to watch. There were definitely some funny moments andThere was nothing that wowed me in Tammy, but I still think it was entertaining enough to watch. There were definitely some funny moments and serious ones that added some depth. Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2014
    6
    Melissa McCarthy is one of the funniest women and probably one of the best comedic actresses working today, we all know it is very difficultMelissa McCarthy is one of the funniest women and probably one of the best comedic actresses working today, we all know it is very difficult to recieve an OSCAR NOMINATION in a comedy, but she pulled it off with her wonderfully rhythmic and vulgar performance in "Bridesmaids". That being said, if you are a McCarthy fan like myself, you should see this film just to witness her astounding acting range jumping from hurling crude insults to full on nuanced crying scenes. Then again, if you are looking for any true structure or really any context other than several well timed and well acted one-liners from McCarthy or Susan Sarandon, then this movie isn't for you.
    I do acknowledge director and co-writer Ben Falcone for attempting to create this type of comedy featuring a largely female based cast and at least moving Hollywood blockbuster comedies in the direction it should be moving, even though it may not be a great one.
    Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2014
    3
    Melissa McCarthy doesn't stray from the formula that's worked for her in this film, which she co-write with her husband (he also directed).Melissa McCarthy doesn't stray from the formula that's worked for her in this film, which she co-write with her husband (he also directed). She plays a boisterous, obnoxious loser who rants at everybody and everything. This can be funny in controlled doses, but McCarthy doesn't understand that. It's non-stop, no holds barred, bull in a china shop broad strokes in every scene. As for plot, she sets out on a road trip with her alcoholic grandmother (Susan Sarandon), but the momentum starts to drag with they insert too many heartfelt moments in an attempt to conjure empathy for her insufferable character. If you're a fan of her style, you'll have your fill…at least for the first hour. Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2014
    2
    This movie is so awful ,That's three McCarthy movies in a row that were horrible. I'm now putting her in the same ate gory as Adam Sandler,This movie is so awful ,That's three McCarthy movies in a row that were horrible. I'm now putting her in the same ate gory as Adam Sandler, Will Farrell, and Tyler Perry. Never again. Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2014
    1
    This movie is damn near as unfunny as Scary Movie 5. I'm struggling right now through the first 30 minutes. I'm so glad I didn't waste moneyThis movie is damn near as unfunny as Scary Movie 5. I'm struggling right now through the first 30 minutes. I'm so glad I didn't waste money on this movie in theaters, like so many other morons did. Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2014
    0
    Congrats, It's another recycled Melissa McCarthy movie, A painfully unfunny actress who for some reason still manages to find work. It's soCongrats, It's another recycled Melissa McCarthy movie, A painfully unfunny actress who for some reason still manages to find work. It's so painfully predictable and unfunny that it hurts to sit through the first 10 minutes let alone the whole thing. It's this year's Jack and Jill and one of the worst comedies of all time. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in July

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in July Image
    Published: July 1, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in July, including Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Boyhood, Life Itself, and more.