Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Tammy (Melissa McCarthy) is having a bad day. She's totaled her clunker car, gotten fired from her thankless job at a greasy burger joint, and instead of finding comfort at home, finds her husband getting comfortable with the neighbor in her own house. It's time to take her boom box and bookTammy (Melissa McCarthy) is having a bad day. She's totaled her clunker car, gotten fired from her thankless job at a greasy burger joint, and instead of finding comfort at home, finds her husband getting comfortable with the neighbor in her own house. It's time to take her boom box and book it. The bad news is she's broke and without wheels. The worse news is her grandma, Pearl (Susan Sarandon), is her only option—with a car, cash, and an itch to see Niagara Falls. Not exactly the escape Tammy had in mind. But on the road, with grandma riding shot gun, it may be just what Tammy needs. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 36
  2. Negative: 14 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Leah Greenblatt
    Jul 1, 2014
    75
    It's a broad, helter-skelter farce whose best bits hinge almost entirely on the considerable charms of its star.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 2, 2014
    63
    When you’re balancing ridiculous slapstick right out of a live-action cartoon with well-written, well-acted scenes that feel completely of this world, that’s a tough balancing act, and “Tammy” isn’t quite up to the task on a consistent basis.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jul 2, 2014
    60
    They have little feel for the technical side of filmmaking; the imagery is flat and the editing amateurish. Most shots seem held for a beat too long or too short, wreaking havoc with the comic rhythm. Nonetheless, McCarthy and Falcone’s attempts to make Tammy more flesh-and-blood than a figure of fun are often poignant.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jul 1, 2014
    40
    There are some laughs and, at least on screen, more than a few tears. But it doesn't come together with the kind of satisfying punch a comedy should deliver.
  5. Reviewed by: David Lee Dallas
    Jul 1, 2014
    38
    Ben Falcone's film is an almost plotless doodle, with low stakes made even lower thanks to the bratty passivity of its titular antiheroine.
  6. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jul 2, 2014
    30
    Unimaginatively filmed and of a misbegotten construction, Tammy goes all in with its namesake character (played by McCarthy), hanging the entire movie around a person who is immediately and irreversibly established as being thoughtless, unperceptive, destructive, and uneducated.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jul 2, 2014
    0
    Tammy is a bummer, not least because McCarthy’s fans know she’s better than this.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 31
  2. Negative: 15 out of 31
  1. Jul 13, 2014
    8
    This movie was funny, not as laugh out loud funny as The Heat, but still had it's moments. I liked Melissa McCarthy (as usual) and SusanThis movie was funny, not as laugh out loud funny as The Heat, but still had it's moments. I liked Melissa McCarthy (as usual) and Susan Sarandon in this flick. It had a few parts where I didn't expect to feel anything, but there's actually a pretty sad moment towards the end, but of course, that ends with hilarity. I love McCarthy's acting and I hope she continues to entertain for years to come! The only issue with the movie is I didn't really remember any of the other characters besides McCarthy's, Sarandon's, and the lesbian woman's character. Sorry, idk her name. The plot is kind of sloppy as well, but I left the theater satisfied regardless. Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2014
    6
    There was nothing that wowed me in Tammy, but I still think it was entertaining enough to watch. There were definitely some funny moments andThere was nothing that wowed me in Tammy, but I still think it was entertaining enough to watch. There were definitely some funny moments and serious ones that added some depth. Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    While Melissa McCarthy manages to deliver some funny one-liners here and there, the film feels like it's neither trying too hard, nor tryingWhile Melissa McCarthy manages to deliver some funny one-liners here and there, the film feels like it's neither trying too hard, nor trying really at all. It feels like too simple of a film, but in some ways that's actually a good thing. It doesn't take any risks, but it also manages to be light-humored at the same time. And the supporting name cast that includes Susan Surandon, Sandra Oh, Kathy Bates, etc, manages to make it worthwhile as well. So overall, while "Tammy" isn't hilarious, it's still a simple, lightly funny film that isn't too raunchy and zany like many of today's R-rated comedies. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Melissa McCarthy stars in her first lead role and is a comedy mess for starters.

    It's about a woman named Tammy (Melissa McCarthy) who ends up losing her job at a fast food joint. She discovers her husband is cheating on her with the next door neighbour so she packs her clothes and walks two houses down to her mothers house. Soon after, she decides to move away but doesn't have her car or money. Her alcoholic Grandmother, Pearl (Susan Sarandon), does and tags along for the ride to Niagara Falls with a lot of booze. After falling off track and a series of misadventures that land her in hot water, she begins to re-think her life all the while dealing with her out of control grandmother who is more trouble to handle sober then she is drunk.

    Melissa became well know for her role in Bridesmaids and she made us howl laughing with Identity Thief. Her new movie Tammy is an unpleasant comedy that has no story, no evolution to it and jumps from one thing to another and continues throughout the whole film.

    Aside from the fact that it does seriously make you laugh throughout the movie, because of Tammy, the jokes are all one liners and they mostly come from her while Susan Sarandon is unfunny as her booze guzzling grandmother. The whole character is played out on laughs because she has booze hidden everywhere and it runs dry very fast. The story drags on from one thing to another while it slows to explain events of the character's life and why they don't like each other then continues on with the same thing.

    The one thing about the film that drags is that Tammy is made out to look like a slobbish piggy loser. It also attacks her weight in seriously insulting scenes that make you feel bad for the character because she wants to be human like everyone else. While everything goes wrong for her, they make her feel even worse about herself by calling her a "Cheeseburger" and "Fat slob" and it is not funny at all to watch. Melissa McCarthy is a beautiful woman and to have scenes of this nature in the film, because she is a bigger woman, is a poor excuse for jokes and ends up making you shake your head in disbelief and disgust.

    It seems like this was her dream project because she wrote it with her husband Ben Falcone, who makes his debut as well, but the acting to it is shaky and alone Melissa pulls off the acting to the movie. Kathy Bates just hangs in the shadows in some scenes and offers advice to Tammy about her life and then she even falls short soon after along with Susan who is a drunk mess.

    It's sad to see actors/actresses who are very well known, fall short in their roles and look like it is their first time on screen from either little screen time or due to bad writing that makes them look foolish. Granted, it does have laughs and will make you howl but if you look at the overall of the film, it's a wild mess that makes you wonder what happened and Melissa is the only good thing to watch for the film. She proves she can do comedy alone and make you laugh with her crude and foul mouth.

    Tammy is a mess and not what was expected. It's good for a few laughs but other pictures are a lot better and funnier.
    Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2014
    3
    Tedious and completely unfunny, not only is Tammy a complete waste of time for the audience, but a waste of time and talent for the actorsTedious and completely unfunny, not only is Tammy a complete waste of time for the audience, but a waste of time and talent for the actors included in it. Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2014
    1
    Leaving the theater after watching this paycheck made me think I realized what dog poop tastes like. Going in a expecting "Heat" just made itLeaving the theater after watching this paycheck made me think I realized what dog poop tastes like. Going in a expecting "Heat" just made it even the more disappointing. I used to fantasize about Susan Surandon in Rocky Horror and seeing her like this just made my cry out loud. The guy on the front row said "They are not going to go on a road trip are they?" so it looked like even he was disappointed too. The people behind me enjoyed that last half hour of the movie more than me because after I stopped crying out loud I fell asleep. Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2014
    0
    Congrats, It's another recycled Melissa McCarthy movie, A painfully unfunny actress who for some reason still manages to find work. It's soCongrats, It's another recycled Melissa McCarthy movie, A painfully unfunny actress who for some reason still manages to find work. It's so painfully predictable and unfunny that it hurts to sit through the first 10 minutes let alone the whole thing. It's this year's Jack and Jill and one of the worst comedies of all time. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in July

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in July Image
    Published: July 1, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in July, including Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Boyhood, Life Itself, and more.