Tammy

Tammy Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Tammy (Melissa McCarthy) is having a bad day. She's totaled her clunker car, gotten fired from her thankless job at a greasy burger joint, and instead of finding comfort at home, finds her husband getting comfortable with the neighbor in her own house. It's time to take her boom box and bookTammy (Melissa McCarthy) is having a bad day. She's totaled her clunker car, gotten fired from her thankless job at a greasy burger joint, and instead of finding comfort at home, finds her husband getting comfortable with the neighbor in her own house. It's time to take her boom box and book it. The bad news is she's broke and without wheels. The worse news is her grandma, Pearl (Susan Sarandon), is her only option—with a car, cash, and an itch to see Niagara Falls. Not exactly the escape Tammy had in mind. But on the road, with grandma riding shot gun, it may be just what Tammy needs. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 36
  2. Negative: 14 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Leah Greenblatt
    Jul 1, 2014
    75
    It's a broad, helter-skelter farce whose best bits hinge almost entirely on the considerable charms of its star.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 2, 2014
    63
    When you’re balancing ridiculous slapstick right out of a live-action cartoon with well-written, well-acted scenes that feel completely of this world, that’s a tough balancing act, and “Tammy” isn’t quite up to the task on a consistent basis.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jul 2, 2014
    60
    They have little feel for the technical side of filmmaking; the imagery is flat and the editing amateurish. Most shots seem held for a beat too long or too short, wreaking havoc with the comic rhythm. Nonetheless, McCarthy and Falcone’s attempts to make Tammy more flesh-and-blood than a figure of fun are often poignant.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jul 1, 2014
    40
    There are some laughs and, at least on screen, more than a few tears. But it doesn't come together with the kind of satisfying punch a comedy should deliver.
  5. Reviewed by: David Lee Dallas
    Jul 1, 2014
    38
    Ben Falcone's film is an almost plotless doodle, with low stakes made even lower thanks to the bratty passivity of its titular antiheroine.
  6. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jul 2, 2014
    30
    Unimaginatively filmed and of a misbegotten construction, Tammy goes all in with its namesake character (played by McCarthy), hanging the entire movie around a person who is immediately and irreversibly established as being thoughtless, unperceptive, destructive, and uneducated.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jul 2, 2014
    0
    Tammy is a bummer, not least because McCarthy’s fans know she’s better than this.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 17 out of 39
  1. Feb 7, 2016
    9
    I found the movie to be extremely entertaining and down-right hilarious! I was laughing so hard that I cried in numerous parts throughout theI found the movie to be extremely entertaining and down-right hilarious! I was laughing so hard that I cried in numerous parts throughout the film. The story line was rather scattered but I thought it had to be considering the crazy dynamic of the character. I commend McCarthy for her humor and compliment her spontaneity when it comes to improvisation and unexpected punch lines. This is not the first time that we see McCarthy in this discombobulated, vulgar, and rather ruthless character. So it would be nice to see her in something different, but for this movie, I thought she nailed it!
    If you haven’t spent time laughing the night away with Tammy yet, I would definitely recommend you do so, you wont regret you did.
    Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    7
    This movie had it's moment's of laughter, but i wouldn't really call it a comedy. It's more of a energetic drama about two family member'sThis movie had it's moment's of laughter, but i wouldn't really call it a comedy. It's more of a energetic drama about two family member's trying to bond on a road trip. Even though it's not as good as i thought the movie shouldn't be rated lower than a 5. The movie may have not been that funny but the story and drama to it really made it a good heart warming little bit funny kind of movie. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2015
    6
    I found TAMMY was so funny, but everyone isn't like me.

    I did not get what all the whining about this movie. This film was nominated for
    I found TAMMY was so funny, but everyone isn't like me.

    I did not get what all the whining about this movie. This film was nominated for the worst actress and supporting actress at Razzie Awards, but I found they were awesome. You can't blame performers for the bad story, in fact the screenplay was okay, but again the story did not influence to build a better screenplay. Hard to predict the scenes, though one would know where the story is heading and that's the difference in this movie. Keep in mind when you're going try it, that you're not watching a Bond movie or a Peter Jackson's, but a small budget comedy. Anticipate as much what the movie weighs, overall and you would never regret for watching it.

    As usual a perfect role for Melissa McCarthy, but Susan Sarandon was surprisingly good. It was just a fun road-movie, mostly a semi-fictional to the reality, but who knows there might be people out like these film characters. Like I said, a decent story, it had all the ingredient to be a good comedy flick except one serious scene at the end needed to turn over. Yep, I would have liked to have an unexpected twist, that could have been a game changer in the movie's success. Anyone can enjoy it, if he's/she's open minded. I am already expecting the next movie from the same cast and crew combo which is due early next years.

    P.S, there's something between Melissa McCarthy and prison. In the next film I mentioned as well she will be seen in the prison.

    6/10
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2014
    4
    "Tammy" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

    The Good: There were a couple of chuckle-worthy moments. Susan Sarandon was entertaining as Tammy's
    "Tammy" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

    The Good: There were a couple of chuckle-worthy moments. Susan Sarandon was entertaining as Tammy's diabetic grandmother who is trying to make the most of what's left of her life. In fact, most of the solid comedic moments came from her. There are a few cameos that were a pleasant surprise.

    The Bad: As usual, McCarthy is the same person she is in every film which typically has mixed results. Even still, the film just isn't very good or consistently funny as the overwhelming majority of the gags fall flat. Mark Duplass, who is usually pretty good, was stiff and turned in a mediocre performance.
    Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2015
    3
    Tammy really was lame. The trailer looked really funny when I first watched it but it was really overplayed before the release and the bitsTammy really was lame. The trailer looked really funny when I first watched it but it was really overplayed before the release and the bits from the trailer were the only parts I found funny. The script is so poor and unfunny and all these talented actresses are unfunny. The movie is kind of all over the place and there is no real conflict its just a big crew of women running around acting like idiots and really I'd be okay with that if the women were funny. One of the worst movies of 2014 no doubt. Melissa McCarthy is going to have to go back to the drawing board. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2014
    2
    It doesn't show that Tammy is really the funniest Melisa McCarthy movie I saw since Identiy Theft. It needs more funny improvement forIt doesn't show that Tammy is really the funniest Melisa McCarthy movie I saw since Identiy Theft. It needs more funny improvement for McCarthy for herself. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2014
    0
    This is stupid, horrible, useless, gruesomely nauseous and dumb comedy film-making. Never see this. A reviewer from my hometown said: "IThis is stupid, horrible, useless, gruesomely nauseous and dumb comedy film-making. Never see this. A reviewer from my hometown said: "I rather see this, than Transformers: Age of Extinction". Though it's still bad, I would've just seen Transformers instead. This was an uneasy experience to go through. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in July

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in July Image
    Published: July 1, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in July, including Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Boyhood, Life Itself, and more.