Tammy

Tammy Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Tammy (Melissa McCarthy) is having a bad day. She's totaled her clunker car, gotten fired from her thankless job at a greasy burger joint, and instead of finding comfort at home, finds her husband getting comfortable with the neighbor in her own house. It's time to take her boom box and bookTammy (Melissa McCarthy) is having a bad day. She's totaled her clunker car, gotten fired from her thankless job at a greasy burger joint, and instead of finding comfort at home, finds her husband getting comfortable with the neighbor in her own house. It's time to take her boom box and book it. The bad news is she's broke and without wheels. The worse news is her grandma, Pearl (Susan Sarandon), is her only option—with a car, cash, and an itch to see Niagara Falls. Not exactly the escape Tammy had in mind. But on the road, with grandma riding shot gun, it may be just what Tammy needs. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 36
  2. Negative: 14 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Leah Greenblatt
    Jul 1, 2014
    75
    It's a broad, helter-skelter farce whose best bits hinge almost entirely on the considerable charms of its star.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 2, 2014
    63
    When you’re balancing ridiculous slapstick right out of a live-action cartoon with well-written, well-acted scenes that feel completely of this world, that’s a tough balancing act, and “Tammy” isn’t quite up to the task on a consistent basis.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jul 2, 2014
    60
    They have little feel for the technical side of filmmaking; the imagery is flat and the editing amateurish. Most shots seem held for a beat too long or too short, wreaking havoc with the comic rhythm. Nonetheless, McCarthy and Falcone’s attempts to make Tammy more flesh-and-blood than a figure of fun are often poignant.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jul 1, 2014
    40
    There are some laughs and, at least on screen, more than a few tears. But it doesn't come together with the kind of satisfying punch a comedy should deliver.
  5. Reviewed by: David Lee Dallas
    Jul 1, 2014
    38
    Ben Falcone's film is an almost plotless doodle, with low stakes made even lower thanks to the bratty passivity of its titular antiheroine.
  6. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jul 2, 2014
    30
    Unimaginatively filmed and of a misbegotten construction, Tammy goes all in with its namesake character (played by McCarthy), hanging the entire movie around a person who is immediately and irreversibly established as being thoughtless, unperceptive, destructive, and uneducated.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jul 2, 2014
    0
    Tammy is a bummer, not least because McCarthy’s fans know she’s better than this.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 38
  2. Negative: 17 out of 38
  1. Feb 7, 2016
    9
    I found the movie to be extremely entertaining and down-right hilarious! I was laughing so hard that I cried in numerous parts throughout theI found the movie to be extremely entertaining and down-right hilarious! I was laughing so hard that I cried in numerous parts throughout the film. The story line was rather scattered but I thought it had to be considering the crazy dynamic of the character. I commend McCarthy for her humor and compliment her spontaneity when it comes to improvisation and unexpected punch lines. This is not the first time that we see McCarthy in this discombobulated, vulgar, and rather ruthless character. So it would be nice to see her in something different, but for this movie, I thought she nailed it!
    If you haven’t spent time laughing the night away with Tammy yet, I would definitely recommend you do so, you wont regret you did.
    Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    7
    This movie had it's moment's of laughter, but i wouldn't really call it a comedy. It's more of a energetic drama about two family member'sThis movie had it's moment's of laughter, but i wouldn't really call it a comedy. It's more of a energetic drama about two family member's trying to bond on a road trip. Even though it's not as good as i thought the movie shouldn't be rated lower than a 5. The movie may have not been that funny but the story and drama to it really made it a good heart warming little bit funny kind of movie. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2015
    6
    I found TAMMY was so funny, but everyone isn't like me.

    I did not get what all the whining about this movie. This film was nominated for
    I found TAMMY was so funny, but everyone isn't like me.

    I did not get what all the whining about this movie. This film was nominated for the worst actress and supporting actress at Razzie Awards, but I found they were awesome. You can't blame performers for the bad story, in fact the screenplay was okay, but again the story did not influence to build a better screenplay. Hard to predict the scenes, though one would know where the story is heading and that's the difference in this movie. Keep in mind when you're going try it, that you're not watching a Bond movie or a Peter Jackson's, but a small budget comedy. Anticipate as much what the movie weighs, overall and you would never regret for watching it.

    As usual a perfect role for Melissa McCarthy, but Susan Sarandon was surprisingly good. It was just a fun road-movie, mostly a semi-fictional to the reality, but who knows there might be people out like these film characters. Like I said, a decent story, it had all the ingredient to be a good comedy flick except one serious scene at the end needed to turn over. Yep, I would have liked to have an unexpected twist, that could have been a game changer in the movie's success. Anyone can enjoy it, if he's/she's open minded. I am already expecting the next movie from the same cast and crew combo which is due early next years.

    P.S, there's something between Melissa McCarthy and prison. In the next film I mentioned as well she will be seen in the prison.

    6/10
    Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2014
    4
    A movie that tries to make you like some very unlikeable characters. Tammy has some funny moments but they are very few and far between.A movie that tries to make you like some very unlikeable characters. Tammy has some funny moments but they are very few and far between. McCarthy can be much funnier and I don't want to see her fall into the Sandler trap. C- Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2014
    3
    Ughhh.... What a bad comedy. The only saving grace of this movie is Melissa McCarthy having some funny lines, but other than that it is messyUghhh.... What a bad comedy. The only saving grace of this movie is Melissa McCarthy having some funny lines, but other than that it is messy and has tons of unforgettable characters. I would try to avoid this one if I were you. 3/10 (poor) Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2014
    1
    Leaving the theater after watching this paycheck made me think I realized what dog poop tastes like. Going in a expecting "Heat" just made itLeaving the theater after watching this paycheck made me think I realized what dog poop tastes like. Going in a expecting "Heat" just made it even the more disappointing. I used to fantasize about Susan Surandon in Rocky Horror and seeing her like this just made my cry out loud. The guy on the front row said "They are not going to go on a road trip are they?" so it looked like even he was disappointed too. The people behind me enjoyed that last half hour of the movie more than me because after I stopped crying out loud I fell asleep. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2014
    0
    This is stupid, horrible, useless, gruesomely nauseous and dumb comedy film-making. Never see this. A reviewer from my hometown said: "IThis is stupid, horrible, useless, gruesomely nauseous and dumb comedy film-making. Never see this. A reviewer from my hometown said: "I rather see this, than Transformers: Age of Extinction". Though it's still bad, I would've just seen Transformers instead. This was an uneasy experience to go through. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in July

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in July Image
    Published: July 1, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in July, including Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Boyhood, Life Itself, and more.
  2. Film Friday (5/9): This Week's Movie Trailers + News

    Film Friday (5/9): This Week's Movie Trailers + News Image
    Published: May 9, 2014
    Watch all of this week's new movie trailers (including new looks at Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Tammy, Maps to the Stars, Snowpiercer, and more), and catch up on the latest movie news.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 14, 2014
    Watch new trailers for Nymphomaniac, Under the Skin, Tammy, Transcendence, The Double, The Purge: Anarchy, and much more, and get a quick recap of this week's movie news.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  6. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  7. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.