Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    As a melding of new techniques and technology with old-fashioned methods of storytelling, it's an opportunity for the Magic Kingdom to remind audiences that, when it comes to putting fairy tales on screen, they remain on a higher level.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 9, 2010
    63
    Visually, this toon is all over the place. Rapunzel's glowing hair can look alarmingly like fiber-optic cable, but some backgrounds are the computer-generated equivalents of Disney's golden-age work.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    Disney's spirited re-telling of Rapunzel in 3D animation turns out to be a dazzler.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 9, 2010
    58
    As Disney animated features go, Tangled is middling.
  5. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    There's also a Disney den of big, comically dumb-looking bad guys who turn sweet when Rapunzel sings to them. Because Happily Ever After never goes out of fashion
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    The film is picture-book pretty and fairly conventional, except for the 3-D, which is emerging as a convention in its own right. Still, the prettiness comes with brains, and the whole production, like those newly eye-catching models of American-made cars, bespeaks resurgent confidence.
  7. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 9, 2010
    63
    The movie has a field day with thousands of airborne lanterns, a troop of Neanderthal thugs (one is a mime), some surprisingly fleet camerawork, and good editing. I can't think of a cartoon more confident about how to use jump cuts for comedy. Those senses of cleverness and innovation merely underscore how shopworn the rest of this movie is.
  8. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    It takes a bit of doing, but when Tangled's core sweetness asserts itself and the film dares to wear its heart on its sleeve in a climactic scene featuring 46,000 paper lanterns, it's been worth the wait.
  9. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    Though not exactly innovative, Tangled has a snappy pace and the Broadway-style appeal of classic Disney fare.
  10. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    Tangled packs old-fashioned Disney magic as endless as Rapunzel's locks.
  11. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    Tangled is the 50th animated feature from Disney, and its look and spirit convey a modified, updated but nonetheless sincere and unmistakable quality of old-fashioned Disneyness.
  12. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Tangled is a serviceable kids' picture and marks a milestone in the history of Disney animation, but it's splitting hairs to characterize it beyond that.
  13. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    Bright and engaging, and blessed with two superb non-verbal non-human sidekicks, Tangled certainly is more like it.
  14. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    A passably entertaining hodgepodge of old and new animation techniques, mixed sensibilities and hedged commercial calculations.
  15. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Dec 9, 2010
    67
    Tangled is a lively, funny, deft and delicious musical in the vein of Disney's 1989 classic "The Little Mermaid."
  16. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    One thousand points of light never looked so fetching.
  17. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    Much as I enjoyed this diversion, I couldn't help but think that The Princess and the Frog had better songs and (hand-painted) animation, and that Mulan was a ripping adventure that didn't need tweaking to qualify as an action flick.
  18. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    There could have been more side trips on the road to self-discovery, but the plentiful lessons and derring-'do make Tangled a lock for playground pastimes. And maybe even some knotty parent-kid chats about finding your part in life.
  19. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    This is your basic, and very enjoyable, Disney princess musical, an empowerment tale to teach bright, dreamy girls how to grow to maturity - and outgrow the adults in charge.
  20. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    Animated musicals are only as good as their songs, and this one isn't on a par with "Beauty and the Beast" or even "The Princess and the Frog."
  21. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 9, 2010
    63
    Tangled is lovely to look at, but if you're not a pre-teen girl, you may be distracted by the split ends.
  22. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    The updated version of the familiar tale strikes a nice balance between humor, adventure and romance, making it a movie that will appeal to the whole family.
  23. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    Disney knows how to bewitch a crowd, but the sense that Tangled was made more by corporate mandate than artistic spark remains constant throughout.
  24. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    Tangled is snappily paced and easy enough to get wrapped up in, propelled by a set of jaunty, serviceable songs from venerable composer Alan Menken and lyricist Glenn Slater.
  25. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 9, 2010
    91
    Tangled would be a satisfying adventure on plot and 3D sensations alone.
  26. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Dec 9, 2010
    83
    The story should be a standard mismatched-couple-falls-in-love tale, but the script and the sprightly directing give the story plenty of snap and humor, and the animation is so luminously beautiful that even a falling-in-love sequence cribbed in part from The Little Mermaid is overwhelmingly magical.
  27. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    The tale of Rapunzel gets a cheeky make-over in this gorgeous Disney animation, which combines the studio's traditional hand-drawn look with the sculptural qualities of digital 3D.
  28. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    There aren't that many songs this time - just a handful, reprised ad infinitum. You get to sing most of them, so I'm sure you've noticed how bland they are.
  29. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    The story had great optics but not a lot of action, I suppose, though as a child who walked around in towel-fashioned headdresses to simulate the long hair my mother wouldn't let me have, Rapunzel's was the story I longed to thrill to on the big screen.
  30. 100
    They really pulled out all the stops on this one.
  31. 80
    Ultimately, the film is made for longevity, like all the best Disney titles are. However, it's also a ready-made Broadway show, with numbers, dialogue and even drama-club histrionics all pre-packaged for immediate adaptation to stage.
  32. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Dec 9, 2010
    90
    And now with Tangled, a delightfully fresh spin on "Rapunzel," the entertainment powerhouse delivers its first classic-caliber computer animation outside the Pixar family.
  33. Reviewed by: Helen O\'Hara
    Jan 24, 2011
    80
    Not just a pretty face; there's meat on its bones and a song in its heart besides. This deserves a place up there with the best of Disney's previous fairy tales.
  34. Reviewed by: Dan Kois
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    The movie's real accomplishments are in its look, which was generated inside a computer but is as warm and rich as a painting.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 348 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 114
  1. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Took my kid sister to see Tangled the day it came out, because I had nothing better to do. I was expecting to bored out of my mind. The commercials made it look like just another standard Disney princess movie a la Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Little Mermaid: movies I didn't particularly like even as a kid. And, in part, it was a standard princess movie. It had an animal sidekick, an evil "step-mother", random outbursts of singing, and, of course, a princess who doesn't know she is one. What makes Tangled special, though, is the fact that it goes above and beyond the standard. Its dark parts are darker, its humor is lighter, its singing is better, its voice acting superb. There were only a few "problems", which I only noticed because I was looking for them. In the scene where Rapunzel and Flynn are wet, for instance, the normally flawless character animation seems a bit fake. Also, the songs seem a little forced into the story, and are almost copied from The Lion King, Cinderella, The Little Mermaid, and Mulan 2 (By the way, if you haven't seen Mulan 2, I envy you). However, the singing in all these songs (particularly "Mother Knows Best") is enough to overcome any contrivity. I absolutely loved the voice acting, particularly by whoever plays Flynn Rider (I can't quite remember his name). It was completely believable, and his character comes off perfectly. Another thing that I didn't quite like was the ending (THESE NEXT 9 WORDS ARE THE ONLY PART WITH SPOILERS): but that's only because I like my girls blonde. There was really no other way to pull off the story, and the story was better for it anyway. The best of the animation was in the eyes. Through the characters' eyes, you can see every thought, every emotion, every plan forming. The eyes in Tangled are possibly the best I've seen ever in a non-Pixar film. Overall, this movie is astounding, and the best Disney, non-Pixar film since the Lion King, and should give TS3 a run for its money at the Oscars. Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    I went into "Tangled" skeptical and unsure of what to expect; I left extremely pleased and impressed with Disney's efforts. As an animator myself, I was blown away by the quality of the animation and the detail that obviously went into each and every one of the models. The animation in this movie is top-notch, and deserves any praise that it gets in terms of technical execution. The script itself contains a fairly typical Disney love story that I must admit - I rolled my eyes at, especially upon realizing that it was a musical. However, the comedy truly won me over - I was cracking up consistently throughout the entire film. The audio engineering behind the movie and its soundtrack was also great; The voice acting is nearly perfect, the audio is crisp and clear, and though some of the songs were forgettable, none of them were a chore to watch. Essentially, I have no complaints about this film - and I am very critical of animated films, especially coming out of Disney. This may very well be a top contender right alongside Toy Story for animated film of the year. 10/10, would love to see again. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    Not a bad animation for Walt Disney's 'princess' franchise, but it certainly lacks the purity the old animations (Beauty and the Beast, Little Mermaid) had. Full Review »