User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 422 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 422
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Took my kid sister to see Tangled the day it came out, because I had nothing better to do. I was expecting to bored out of my mind. The commercials made it look like just another standard Disney princess movie a la Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Little Mermaid: movies I didn't particularly like even as a kid. And, in part, it was a standard princess movie. It had an animal sidekick, an evilTook my kid sister to see Tangled the day it came out, because I had nothing better to do. I was expecting to bored out of my mind. The commercials made it look like just another standard Disney princess movie a la Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Little Mermaid: movies I didn't particularly like even as a kid. And, in part, it was a standard princess movie. It had an animal sidekick, an evil "step-mother", random outbursts of singing, and, of course, a princess who doesn't know she is one. What makes Tangled special, though, is the fact that it goes above and beyond the standard. Its dark parts are darker, its humor is lighter, its singing is better, its voice acting superb. There were only a few "problems", which I only noticed because I was looking for them. In the scene where Rapunzel and Flynn are wet, for instance, the normally flawless character animation seems a bit fake. Also, the songs seem a little forced into the story, and are almost copied from The Lion King, Cinderella, The Little Mermaid, and Mulan 2 (By the way, if you haven't seen Mulan 2, I envy you). However, the singing in all these songs (particularly "Mother Knows Best") is enough to overcome any contrivity. I absolutely loved the voice acting, particularly by whoever plays Flynn Rider (I can't quite remember his name). It was completely believable, and his character comes off perfectly. Another thing that I didn't quite like was the ending (THESE NEXT 9 WORDS ARE THE ONLY PART WITH SPOILERS): but that's only because I like my girls blonde. There was really no other way to pull off the story, and the story was better for it anyway. The best of the animation was in the eyes. Through the characters' eyes, you can see every thought, every emotion, every plan forming. The eyes in Tangled are possibly the best I've seen ever in a non-Pixar film. Overall, this movie is astounding, and the best Disney, non-Pixar film since the Lion King, and should give TS3 a run for its money at the Oscars. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    I went into "Tangled" skeptical and unsure of what to expect; I left extremely pleased and impressed with Disney's efforts. As an animator myself, I was blown away by the quality of the animation and the detail that obviously went into each and every one of the models. The animation in this movie is top-notch, and deserves any praise that it gets in terms of technical execution. The scriptI went into "Tangled" skeptical and unsure of what to expect; I left extremely pleased and impressed with Disney's efforts. As an animator myself, I was blown away by the quality of the animation and the detail that obviously went into each and every one of the models. The animation in this movie is top-notch, and deserves any praise that it gets in terms of technical execution. The script itself contains a fairly typical Disney love story that I must admit - I rolled my eyes at, especially upon realizing that it was a musical. However, the comedy truly won me over - I was cracking up consistently throughout the entire film. The audio engineering behind the movie and its soundtrack was also great; The voice acting is nearly perfect, the audio is crisp and clear, and though some of the songs were forgettable, none of them were a chore to watch. Essentially, I have no complaints about this film - and I am very critical of animated films, especially coming out of Disney. This may very well be a top contender right alongside Toy Story for animated film of the year. 10/10, would love to see again. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    Great movie. It takes classic Disney animation and storyline (look and feel), and gives it a modern sprucing up and some twists. Tangled has several layers of humor (child, teen, adult), some depth, and a lot of action. It's something for everyone, and one of my favorite movies (animated or not) in the last several years.
  4. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    A friend of mine asked me, Is thiz movie worth-watching? I said, Go and find out for yourself. It is Disney anyway. Not every year, Disney introduces us to their new princess. It is going to be a magical time of your life, get ready to be part of the history. Do you remember how wonderful is Snow White, Cinderella, princess Aurora the Sleeping Beauty, Ariel the Little Mermaid, beautifulA friend of mine asked me, Is thiz movie worth-watching? I said, Go and find out for yourself. It is Disney anyway. Not every year, Disney introduces us to their new princess. It is going to be a magical time of your life, get ready to be part of the history. Do you remember how wonderful is Snow White, Cinderella, princess Aurora the Sleeping Beauty, Ariel the Little Mermaid, beautiful Belle and The Beast, Aladdin princess Jasmine, Pocahontas, Mulan, up to last year Princess Tiana and her Frog? It is the time! For long-haired Rapunzel (Mandy Moore) to get out from her hidden tower, to leave vicious mother Gothel and has some adventures with her prince, errr.. I mean runaway bandit, Flynn Rider (Zachary Levi). It is also for the first time, princess Rapunzel will face the unfriendly outside world, but do not worry, she got her frying pan to protect herself and accompanies by very cool chameleon, Pascal and the white horse with dog capability, Maximus. The song When Will My Life Begin reflects that adventure spirit. The Directors are Nathan Greno and Byron Howard. Both of them had ever worked together in dog tale BOLT (2008). But I think the person that deserves the posthumous achievement to bring thiz German fairy tale comes alive is no other than Alan Menken. Menken is the regular Disney genius composer who can always provide delightful classic elements into every piece of his magical music or score. The storyline is so smooth and dynamic. Yeah it is predictable, but at least you could enjoy the joyful comedy, it is always fun to watch how Rapunzel and silly Flynn Rider tease each other. And although without dialogue, the animal characters, the chameleon Pascal and the horse Maximus are also doing an exhilarating slick slapstick performance. For visual excitement, the picture has been beautifully rendered to another level, you will be amazed by how realistic each texture and detail it has been made, the hair, the grass bit by bit. The most powerful scene is The Floating Lanterns Night Scene, when finally Rapunzel and Flynn were in the boat right outside the castle, waiting for the glow flying lanterns to be released. In that romantic moment, you could feel the pure sincerity and so much loves between them, through their innocence face expressions and breathtaking interaction with the background song: I See the Light. That scene simply gives you goosebumps and could easily bring tears in your eyes. It is very rarely, there is a movie that could touch my heart. Thiz one is definitely the one. Usually if someone asks me, Who is your favorite Disney Princess? Most of the time, I would answer, Cinderella! But after thiz movie, maybe I would give a different answer. By the way, I always love the girl with the long hair ^_^ It is certainly Disney knows best!

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Disney always gets it right, they really do. Though i guess there is some minor criticism for Tangled: it runs a bit slow in the beginning, and the musical pieces are not exactly blockbusters. But who cares... it's got everything a modern American cartoon needs: simple enough to keep the kids on track, enough adult humor to keep the adults entertained, and a very charming and heartwarmingDisney always gets it right, they really do. Though i guess there is some minor criticism for Tangled: it runs a bit slow in the beginning, and the musical pieces are not exactly blockbusters. But who cares... it's got everything a modern American cartoon needs: simple enough to keep the kids on track, enough adult humor to keep the adults entertained, and a very charming and heartwarming story to pull it together. Some of the sideshow-character development is stupendous, including Maximus the horse, and the gang of Ruffians. You don't need kids to go see this... I can tell you that personally... I don't have kids, but my girl and I had a wonderful date night... Enjoy. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Tangled is a fantastic movie! Disney did not market this movie right. I didn't realize it was a musical until we were watching it. I don't know why Disney didn't market it as a musical--if I had known it was a musical, I would have seen it opening weekend. It was so nice to finally see another Disney animated musical with music by Alan Menken again. I really like the music, but I wishTangled is a fantastic movie! Disney did not market this movie right. I didn't realize it was a musical until we were watching it. I don't know why Disney didn't market it as a musical--if I had known it was a musical, I would have seen it opening weekend. It was so nice to finally see another Disney animated musical with music by Alan Menken again. I really like the music, but I wish someone with a stronger voice than Mandy Moore was playing the lead. There were a few plot holes I noticed, but it was still highly enjoyable. I would gladly see it again, while it's still in the theatre even. I will definitely buy the DVD. Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    This one really surprised me. Was expecting a stupid Disney movie by the trailers. But it was extremely well done. Just as enjoyable for the adults as for the kids, without relying on any of the usual crass humor I've come to expect. Nothing in it that I felt my kids shouldn't see. Good message. Strong roles. A great story good complexity in the mother/ daughter role for adults andThis one really surprised me. Was expecting a stupid Disney movie by the trailers. But it was extremely well done. Just as enjoyable for the adults as for the kids, without relying on any of the usual crass humor I've come to expect. Nothing in it that I felt my kids shouldn't see. Good message. Strong roles. A great story good complexity in the mother/ daughter role for adults and discerning kids to appreciate. Thoroughly enjoyed this one. Expand
  8. Jan 7, 2011
    9
    Ol' school Disney is back ! :) You get the princess, funny animals, songs, bad guys and of course the happy end. On top of that, a gorgeous presentation. Some moments are genuinely magical, if you're in the mood. I'd recommend this movie for kids, families, but also for adults, if you like that Disney magic.
  9. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    Tangled is charming, hilarious, well animated and just fun. It doesn't have very memorable music but a few songs will get stuck in your head, and Mandy Moore gives a fantastic voice performance and the whole film just ends up being a whole lot more deep than most would think or even expect. I give this film 92%.
  10. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    I loved the film; its story, animation, music, and humor were all superb. Maybe worthy of the Disney 'Renaissance era' and proves Disney still has it in them when it comes to producing an excellent all around animated film for all ages. It holds up too as it's still great after multiple viewings over the past year.

    Highly recommend it.
  11. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    This movie is amazing. Action, comedy, romance, good characters, and who can forget, a horse eating an apple. At first, I thought this movie was going to be crap, but when I saw it, it was a beautifully made masterpiece I will never forget.
  12. Apr 23, 2012
    9
    Tangled gloriously showcases Disney's return to top-form. It's deeply heartfelt, smart, funny and looks simply gorgeous. The voice actors' performances are great - Mandy Moore's Rapunzel and Zachary Levi's Flynn Rider have great chemistry, Donna Murphy makes Mother Gothel delightfully amoral, and the most memorable Disney villain in years, and the rest of the cast, including Ron Perlman,Tangled gloriously showcases Disney's return to top-form. It's deeply heartfelt, smart, funny and looks simply gorgeous. The voice actors' performances are great - Mandy Moore's Rapunzel and Zachary Levi's Flynn Rider have great chemistry, Donna Murphy makes Mother Gothel delightfully amoral, and the most memorable Disney villain in years, and the rest of the cast, including Ron Perlman, Brad Garrett and Jeffrey Tambor all appearing to be having an immense amount of fun in their roles. The real scene-stealers, however, are not characters with dialogue (though their animalistic expressions are expertly provided by Frank Welker), but the royal horse Maximus and Rapunzel's pet chameleon Pascal - with the possible exception of Meeko and Flit from Pocahontas and WALL-E, they make two of the most entertaining mostly-silent animated characters in film history. The story is energetic and engaging, the characters compelling, the songs are catchy (particularly "Mother Knows Best" and "I've Got a Dream") and you'd have to have a heart of stone to hold back tears at the tender and beautiful lantern extravaganza scene. It's always pleasing when Disney get the balance of entertaining both adults and children just right, something they certainly achieve in Tangled. It's a hugely fitting 50th animated feature for Disney, and here's hoping they can maintain this standard in the future, and never return to the mediocrity that has plagued many of their films in the last decade. Expand
  13. May 5, 2012
    9
    When I first heard of Tangled, I automatically turned my nose up due to the fact that it was a disney movie that involved Rapunzel. I was happily proven wrong when I watched it the other week. I like how disney managed to make it appealing to both boys and girls with a male and female role who both have an equal importance to the film. The film also combines great action scenes withWhen I first heard of Tangled, I automatically turned my nose up due to the fact that it was a disney movie that involved Rapunzel. I was happily proven wrong when I watched it the other week. I like how disney managed to make it appealing to both boys and girls with a male and female role who both have an equal importance to the film. The film also combines great action scenes with broadway style songs and typical disney princess story telling. "Chuck" Star Zachary Levi voices the charming yet idiotic bandit Flynn Rider while pop star turned actress Mandy Moore plays the sweet rapunzel. this film is perfect for both the young, old and everywhere in between. I must watch and Ten times the quality on Blu-Ray Expand
  14. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Revive la emoción de los clásicos pero con un toque moderno de comedia romántica. Distrae desde el primer momento. El camaleón y el caballo son personajes muy divertidos. Tanto Rapunzel como Flynn enamoran al espectador. Buenas canciones.
  15. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    So, I'd seen the previews for this movie...and thought it might be O.K.

    But tonight I caught it with a couple of friends, and must say, Wow, it Blew Me Away. How witty is Rapunzel! She was adorable from the get-go! I loved her. The beginning of the movie reeled me right in...until the final scene. A wonderful magical journey of a kidnapped princess. This movie was SO GOOD! I saw it in
    So, I'd seen the previews for this movie...and thought it might be O.K.

    But tonight I caught it with a couple of friends, and must say, Wow, it Blew Me Away.

    How witty is Rapunzel! She was adorable from the get-go! I loved her. The beginning of the movie reeled me right in...until the final scene. A wonderful magical journey of a kidnapped princess.

    This movie was SO GOOD!

    I saw it in 2D, but I hear it's even better in 3D.

    See this movie.
    Expand
  16. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Amazing, amazing, amazing! Funny, adorable, engaging. And I'm 44. I have and would recommend this to anyone. Totally worth a full price ticket any day.
  17. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie. I had high hopes and they were definitely meant. This is a classic Disney fairytale and one that has been sorely missed in the annual collection of films that the big studios have been pumping out. I've loved the recent Disney Pixar films and even a few of the Dreamworks movies but there's been a big gaping hole where a family oriented, moral driven, and fun film thatI loved this movie. I had high hopes and they were definitely meant. This is a classic Disney fairytale and one that has been sorely missed in the annual collection of films that the big studios have been pumping out. I've loved the recent Disney Pixar films and even a few of the Dreamworks movies but there's been a big gaping hole where a family oriented, moral driven, and fun film that has quality songs used to be every year. Keep up the good work Disney! The theater I was in was packed with kids and they were all laughing up a storm.

    P.S. originally the first trailer I saw with the Pink's "Trouble" really turned me off from seeing this film. If there's someone else who feels that way, don't let that trailer deter you from seeing "Tangled"
    Expand
  18. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    I was bored on a weekend so i thought i'd go see tangled, at that time i had heard already how great it was so i watched it with very high expectations, i am glad to say it went above and beyond what I expected from a princess movie. needless to say this was the BEST movie I have seen all year. this movie has everything that you need to make an instant classic. I would recommend thisI was bored on a weekend so i thought i'd go see tangled, at that time i had heard already how great it was so i watched it with very high expectations, i am glad to say it went above and beyond what I expected from a princess movie. needless to say this was the BEST movie I have seen all year. this movie has everything that you need to make an instant classic. I would recommend this movie to anyone over 5. it is just Fabulous. Expand
  19. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Though a touch slow at first, once this movie really begins it shines. Beautifully animated, with a very wonderful "Into the Woods" vibe, this film was a little bit of everything wonderful, making it easily rewatchable. It's fun and full of energy.
  20. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Amazing animation. The movie was very cute & funny, & left me impressed, due to my expectations that it was not going to be a mind-blowing movie. The best parts of the movie were not even in the ads. The horse was hilarious, the soundtrack was intense & well-fitting, the storyline & plot was never dull & always never unexpected nor predictable. Amazing movie that exceeds expectations.Amazing animation. The movie was very cute & funny, & left me impressed, due to my expectations that it was not going to be a mind-blowing movie. The best parts of the movie were not even in the ads. The horse was hilarious, the soundtrack was intense & well-fitting, the storyline & plot was never dull & always never unexpected nor predictable. Amazing movie that exceeds expectations. Please see this movie, & people of all ages should like it! Expand
  21. Jan 2, 2011
    9
    I enjoyed Tangled very much. The animation was great, and the humor is perfect for all ages. I went with my aunt (I'm 13, my aunt's 23) and we were both laughing. I would most definitely recommend this to anyone of any age.
  22. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    What to say? It's Disney... and now is back to the basics... the classics! That old one which we grown up with...! A really brave princess, that goes beyond any boundary... a ''kinda'' prince who realices what is draming all about and two little but really important comic characters: Max and Pascal we've got what's expected, and what HAS BEEN BEING EXPECTED from a long time ago... aWhat to say? It's Disney... and now is back to the basics... the classics! That old one which we grown up with...! A really brave princess, that goes beyond any boundary... a ''kinda'' prince who realices what is draming all about and two little but really important comic characters: Max and Pascal we've got what's expected, and what HAS BEEN BEING EXPECTED from a long time ago... a CLASSIC... humor, love, and over all of this... a great dream to fulfill!!!! Expand
  23. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Even though I freaking love disney animated movies, I had low expectations for this because by looking at the trailer, I thought they'd fill the movie with lame pop culture references and jokes. Boy, was I wrong! This movie pays perfect tribute to all the great Disney movies from the 30s, 40s, 5s, and 60s by using great modern touches.
  24. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    "Tangled is Disney's 50th animated picture is Sweet , Clever and Charming as it is astounding and never misses a beat from its visuals to its heart and humor. I enjoyed the film from start to finish and i'm sure this is a movie everyone will love" .. A-
  25. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Before I saw Tangled, Toy Story 3 was for me the best animated film of 2010. But after I watched it, I was blown away how much this film is fantastic. Mandy Moore has a extremely beautiful voice, as well as Zachary Levi, and that can be seen from the plane. There is not need for nothing more to be said, an amazing film.
  26. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    Admittedly, I haven't seen a Disney movie for a while, so the magic and wonder hit me pretty hard. I watched this one last night before going to sleep, and I'm still thinking about it. I think it was an awesome movie, and it was very romantic. It's really hard to get a good romance in an animated film, and this was done excellently. Yes, I am female. The style was very casual, a la TheAdmittedly, I haven't seen a Disney movie for a while, so the magic and wonder hit me pretty hard. I watched this one last night before going to sleep, and I'm still thinking about it. I think it was an awesome movie, and it was very romantic. It's really hard to get a good romance in an animated film, and this was done excellently. Yes, I am female. The style was very casual, a la The Incredibles or Cars thanks to John Lasseter, so the magical bits just became that much more magical. I give this a two thumbs up, and I will probably have to watch it again and cry some more. Expand
  27. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    The biggest suprise of 2010, did not expect it to feel like a classic and/but feature some of the best animation in recent years. Funny, charming and actual good songs (unlike princess and the frog). Up there with Toy Story 3 and How to Train Your Dragon. This film was a moderate hit in the U.S. (it did amazing internationally) but I expect it to do much better in the future
  28. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    One of the best and hilarious movie made by Disney! I'm not really into princess stories with boring songs dumb innocence and typical handsome true love... but this movie got me tangled.
  29. May 25, 2012
    9
    When I saw previews to "Tangled", I honestly didn't have any interest to see it. It's just that Disney isn't the same anymore, I missed the Cartoon Animated types of Disney I wasn't getting into the CG Disney. I do like Toy Story, Finding Nemo, Wall-E, Up, and others from both Disney and Pixar. But it still doesn't give me that Disney feeling, I don't see the magic and imagination it useWhen I saw previews to "Tangled", I honestly didn't have any interest to see it. It's just that Disney isn't the same anymore, I missed the Cartoon Animated types of Disney I wasn't getting into the CG Disney. I do like Toy Story, Finding Nemo, Wall-E, Up, and others from both Disney and Pixar. But it still doesn't give me that Disney feeling, I don't see the magic and imagination it use to have. "Princess and the Frog" and "Winnie the Pooh" were the last Disney Animated films I saw, and I really enjoyed them. But my parents got "Tangled" on Blu-ray, and I still disproved it so much. They were begging me so much to see it, so I finally broke down and watched it. The only thing I need to be completely honest is that I am a complete moron. This movie brought back the magic and imagination that I missed and waited for Disney to do, and I regrettably disproved it so much. I really wish I saw this in theaters, I was blown away by everything about it. I loved how it explains a lot on Rapunzel's childhood and why her hair keeps growing, it made a lot of sense. Then it gets better when the adventure begins, and finally see's her unforgettable cult to her kingdom. I felt heartbroken to see the King and Queen get emotional before they throw the lantern's for their lost daughter's birthday. Rapunzel never knew that all of that was about her, and its the main reason why she wants to go to that kingdom. I loved the characters, I really loved Flynn Rider and Maximus the horse. The animation, I honestly forgot about the CG, it was mostly 2D and it looked great. I don't know what else to say, but I really loved this movie so much. I just saw it for the 1st time just now, I'm gonna see it again many times more. But still, OH GOD I just wish I saw it in theaters. This was the Disney Animated film I've waited for, and I'm so happy to see that it still has that feeling and the heart for our dreams to come true. Expand
  30. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    I'm a HUGE fan of Pixar movies, and I must say that - with the help of the Pixar guys - Disney managed to do as good, if not better (animation is just incredible !). This movie is also a great success for my daughters (2 and 9), my wife too... The blu ray is very impressive on a HD TV (if you have to chose between BD and DVD).
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O\'Hara
    Jan 24, 2011
    80
    Not just a pretty face; there's meat on its bones and a song in its heart besides. This deserves a place up there with the best of Disney's previous fairy tales.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    Disney's spirited re-telling of Rapunzel in 3D animation turns out to be a dazzler.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    There aren't that many songs this time - just a handful, reprised ad infinitum. You get to sing most of them, so I'm sure you've noticed how bland they are.