User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 329 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 329

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    2
    I am clearly the only person who did not like this film. Painfully predictable and very generic. The songs did not fit well at all with the movie. There were a few laughable moments but that was about the only good thing about it. Would not recommend it.
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While the beginning is interesting and funny, the ending is rushed, boring, and predictable. The last few songs made me want lie down and fall asleep. The whole princessy 'true love' concept is much too overdone and I think it's time Disney would think up something a little more original. Also, I found it strange, that in the end, Rapunzel wouldn't at least be slightly distrought at the fact that the woman whom she thought was her mother for eighteen years, suddenly became dust and fell out of a window. Very unrealsitic and much too much 'mushiness' Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely, searingly horrible. I'm never going to get that time back. This movie attempts to be funny and made viewers laugh but utterly and horribly fail at it. Also it's extremely unrealistic besides the magic hair and what not. In a life time someone couldn't grow 70ft of hair, it's impossible and even if they did there would be a lot of dead ends to it and it wouldn't be so pretty. My older sisters adores this movie but the plot is lame, rushed, and stupid. Hair couldn't make someone come back to life and everything moves much to fast. One moment Finn meets Rapunzel the next he's in love with her and doesn't want the damn crown back. The characters are pathetic because they have no personality and what little they do have is always changing and swinging back and forth. One moment Finn is the bad, the next he's the awesome, amazing prince for Rapunzel. Where is this movie leading I asked myself as I watched it. No where was the answer. The music is lame and the whole theme is overdone. Especially the part in the tavern when all these mean, rough tough guys turn into soft marshmallows. It's very unrealistic. Don't be stupid and waste your time watching this. Expand
  4. Jan 14, 2011
    1
    Absolutely horrible. Princess this, princess that. I love you. This movie was unfunny and a waste of 1 and a half hours. The reason why I gave it a 1 is the 3D effects were pretty sweet. But the overall story was horrible.
  5. Dec 29, 2010
    3
    This movie, "Tangled", displays many pieces of humor, which did make me laugh throughout the movie. Although, "Tangled", does represent a repetitive and lagging plot. Despite the humor, it did contain repetitive dialog and bland character's. Furthermore, "Tangled" is a movie that your 1 year old daughter will enjoy, but if you have a child over the age of 4 this movie will be a boring sitcom to them This movie contains mainly not dry humor but even wet humor and is the least bit dramatic and has a plot that I would not recommend to somebody fond and familiar with a good film. There was fantastic animation in the film which I came into the movie surprised and pleased. But even though of the animation, Disney's of a great fairy tale turned out to be a far worse film. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O\'Hara
    Jan 24, 2011
    80
    Not just a pretty face; there's meat on its bones and a song in its heart besides. This deserves a place up there with the best of Disney's previous fairy tales.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    Disney's spirited re-telling of Rapunzel in 3D animation turns out to be a dazzler.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    There aren't that many songs this time - just a handful, reprised ad infinitum. You get to sing most of them, so I'm sure you've noticed how bland they are.