Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 411 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A princess stolen from her parents' castle as a baby, Rapunzel is locked in a hidden tower longing for adventure Now an imaginative and determined teenager, she takes off on a hilarious, hair-raising escapade with the help of a dashing bandit. With the secret of her royal heritage hanging inA princess stolen from her parents' castle as a baby, Rapunzel is locked in a hidden tower longing for adventure Now an imaginative and determined teenager, she takes off on a hilarious, hair-raising escapade with the help of a dashing bandit. With the secret of her royal heritage hanging in the balance and her captor in pursuit, Rapunzel and her cohort find adventure, heart, humor, and hair... lots of hair. (Walt Disney Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    They really pulled out all the stops on this one.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    This is your basic, and very enjoyable, Disney princess musical, an empowerment tale to teach bright, dreamy girls how to grow to maturity - and outgrow the adults in charge.
  3. Reviewed by: Helen O\'Hara
    Jan 24, 2011
    80
    Not just a pretty face; there's meat on its bones and a song in its heart besides. This deserves a place up there with the best of Disney's previous fairy tales.
  4. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    Much as I enjoyed this diversion, I couldn't help but think that The Princess and the Frog had better songs and (hand-painted) animation, and that Mulan was a ripping adventure that didn't need tweaking to qualify as an action flick.
  5. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    It takes a bit of doing, but when Tangled's core sweetness asserts itself and the film dares to wear its heart on its sleeve in a climactic scene featuring 46,000 paper lanterns, it's been worth the wait.
  6. Reviewed by: Dan Kois
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    The movie's real accomplishments are in its look, which was generated inside a computer but is as warm and rich as a painting.
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Tangled is a serviceable kids' picture and marks a milestone in the history of Disney animation, but it's splitting hairs to characterize it beyond that.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 119
  1. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    Disney's 'Tangled' is a movie I did not expect to like, but ended up loving it...and I'm a guy!

    This movie is famous for being the first
    Disney's 'Tangled' is a movie I did not expect to like, but ended up loving it...and I'm a guy!

    This movie is famous for being the first "Disney Princess" movie to be animated with 3D computer technology, something Pixar is known for. This movie does have some of the best animation I've seen in any animated movie.

    The story is pretty similar to the fairy-tale "Rapunzel", but there are some changes. A drop of sun light fell from the heavens and grew a magical flower that glows every time you sing to it, this flower has the power to bring anything you desire. There is an old woman who dreams of looking young forever, and every time she sings, she ages backwards to her satisfaction.

    In the kingdom, the royal couple were about to have a baby, but when the mother falls ill, the people start to look for the flower and they liquidize it to feed to the Queen.

    When the Queen gives birth to her daughter, she is born with long, blonde hair that glows every time you sing to it, just like the flower. The evil woman named Gothel (voiced by Donna Murphy) kidnaps the child after discovering that cutting her hair would make it lose its power and she decides the raise the child as her own.

    Every night on little Rapunzel's birthday, the kingdom would release thousands of lanterns and hope that she would return, the young Rapunzel gazes at these lanterns and wants to know what they mean.

    Years later, Rapunzel has grown up and is voiced by Mandy Moore, her 18th birthday is coming up and is eager to leave the tower and see those lanterns in person. When she finds out that Gothel forbids her to, it seems like Rapunzel needs to prove herself as she realizes that she cannot spend the rest of her life in a tower.

    We also meet a charming and witty thief named Flynn Rider (Zachary Levi) who is on the run from the law and his sidekicks, the Stabbington brothers (Ron Perlman). He hides out in Rapunzel's tower and that's where the main movie begins.

    Rapunzel makes a deal with Flynn that she will give him back what's his, as long as he takes her to see those lanterns. Flynn reluctantly agrees to this and they go off on their journey, and we, the audience, hop along as well.

    'Tangled' is a surprisingly strong addition to the Disney canon, full of great animation, likeable characters, good songs and a well-written story...in fact, this movie has some of the best writing I've seen in a "Disney Princess" movie, the way they made Rapunzel end up in the tower and growing long hair, is absolutely plausible to a fault.

    'Tangled' has started off something great, a new renaissance for Walt Disney Animation Studios, with films like 'Wreck-It Ralph' (2012), 'Frozen' (2013) and 'Big Hero 6' (2014) that followed, how could Disney not be in their new renaissance?
    Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie, I always have a good feelling when disney release a new princess. I lo ve the way is focus the "Rapunzel" story, I likedI loved this movie, I always have a good feelling when disney release a new princess. I lo ve the way is focus the "Rapunzel" story, I liked this "new perspective" about the princess wants to go oue and took the iniciative, not wating for prince who rescue her. I love the concept. Excellent movie for me. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Took my kid sister to see Tangled the day it came out, because I had nothing better to do. I was expecting to bored out of my mind. TheTook my kid sister to see Tangled the day it came out, because I had nothing better to do. I was expecting to bored out of my mind. The commercials made it look like just another standard Disney princess movie a la Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Little Mermaid: movies I didn't particularly like even as a kid. And, in part, it was a standard princess movie. It had an animal sidekick, an evil "step-mother", random outbursts of singing, and, of course, a princess who doesn't know she is one. What makes Tangled special, though, is the fact that it goes above and beyond the standard. Its dark parts are darker, its humor is lighter, its singing is better, its voice acting superb. There were only a few "problems", which I only noticed because I was looking for them. In the scene where Rapunzel and Flynn are wet, for instance, the normally flawless character animation seems a bit fake. Also, the songs seem a little forced into the story, and are almost copied from The Lion King, Cinderella, The Little Mermaid, and Mulan 2 (By the way, if you haven't seen Mulan 2, I envy you). However, the singing in all these songs (particularly "Mother Knows Best") is enough to overcome any contrivity. I absolutely loved the voice acting, particularly by whoever plays Flynn Rider (I can't quite remember his name). It was completely believable, and his character comes off perfectly. Another thing that I didn't quite like was the ending (THESE NEXT 9 WORDS ARE THE ONLY PART WITH SPOILERS): but that's only because I like my girls blonde. There was really no other way to pull off the story, and the story was better for it anyway. The best of the animation was in the eyes. Through the characters' eyes, you can see every thought, every emotion, every plan forming. The eyes in Tangled are possibly the best I've seen ever in a non-Pixar film. Overall, this movie is astounding, and the best Disney, non-Pixar film since the Lion King, and should give TS3 a run for its money at the Oscars. Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    I went in thinking that this would be another kids movie that puts you to sleep. I can say I was wrong I really enjoyed it. It was well done,I went in thinking that this would be another kids movie that puts you to sleep. I can say I was wrong I really enjoyed it. It was well done, funny and kept me on my seat the whole time. animation is awesome the actors had me laughing the whole time. It was really nice to an "old school" movie with all the singing. I almost forgot that all movies used to be like that. I recommend this for a family movie night. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Divertido na dose certaDivertido na dose certa Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2011
    8
    Great movie! Usually I tend to not watch animation movies in the theatres, but according to friends, Tangled was really quite good. And IGreat movie! Usually I tend to not watch animation movies in the theatres, but according to friends, Tangled was really quite good. And I thought exactly that. What separates the movie is the fact that it toys with the stereotypical plot line of a fairytale and that it ends with a satisfying ending that lacks the corniness that too many movies now feature. The amount of detail gone into facial expressions is brilliant and conveys that of the feelings and emotions of the characters. Perhaps my only flaw with the movie are the lack of memorable Disney-esque songs, and a somewhat forced entry of the songs that were featured. Also, the plot is incredibly predictable, though I suppose it's a kid movie and happy things have to happen. Having said that, it's a great movie to lift up spirits though unfortunately I found myself yawning more than once throughout. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely, searingly horrible. I'm never going to get that time back. This movie attempts to be funny and made viewers laugh but utterly and horribly fail at it. Also it's extremely unrealistic besides the magic hair and what not. In a life time someone couldn't grow 70ft of hair, it's impossible and even if they did there would be a lot of dead ends to it and it wouldn't be so pretty. My older sisters adores this movie but the plot is lame, rushed, and stupid. Hair couldn't make someone come back to life and everything moves much to fast. One moment Finn meets Rapunzel the next he's in love with her and doesn't want the damn crown back. The characters are pathetic because they have no personality and what little they do have is always changing and swinging back and forth. One moment Finn is the bad, the next he's the awesome, amazing prince for Rapunzel. Where is this movie leading I asked myself as I watched it. No where was the answer. The music is lame and the whole theme is overdone. Especially the part in the tavern when all these mean, rough tough guys turn into soft marshmallows. It's very unrealistic. Don't be stupid and waste your time watching this. Expand

See all 119 User Reviews

Trailers