Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 345 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A princess stolen from her parents' castle as a baby, Rapunzel is locked in a hidden tower longing for adventure Now an imaginative and determined teenager, she takes off on a hilarious, hair-raising escapade with the help of a dashing bandit. With the secret of her royal heritage hanging in the balance and her captor in pursuit, Rapunzel and her cohort find adventure, heart, humor, and hair... lots of hair. (Walt Disney Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    They really pulled out all the stops on this one.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    The film is picture-book pretty and fairly conventional, except for the 3-D, which is emerging as a convention in its own right. Still, the prettiness comes with brains, and the whole production, like those newly eye-catching models of American-made cars, bespeaks resurgent confidence.
  3. Reviewed by: Helen O\'Hara
    Jan 24, 2011
    80
    Not just a pretty face; there's meat on its bones and a song in its heart besides. This deserves a place up there with the best of Disney's previous fairy tales.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    The updated version of the familiar tale strikes a nice balance between humor, adventure and romance, making it a movie that will appeal to the whole family.
  5. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    A passably entertaining hodgepodge of old and new animation techniques, mixed sensibilities and hedged commercial calculations.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    Tangled is snappily paced and easy enough to get wrapped up in, propelled by a set of jaunty, serviceable songs from venerable composer Alan Menken and lyricist Glenn Slater.
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Tangled is a serviceable kids' picture and marks a milestone in the history of Disney animation, but it's splitting hairs to characterize it beyond that.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 114
  1. May 31, 2014
    10
    Great music, Singing and acting! Other Disney Masterpiece by the creators! A Comedy and a musical that works very very very very very very very very very very very awesome! Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie, I always have a good feelling when disney release a new princess. I lo ve the way is focus the "Rapunzel" story, I liked this "new perspective" about the princess wants to go oue and took the iniciative, not wating for prince who rescue her. I love the concept. Excellent movie for me. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Took my kid sister to see Tangled the day it came out, because I had nothing better to do. I was expecting to bored out of my mind. The commercials made it look like just another standard Disney princess movie a la Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Little Mermaid: movies I didn't particularly like even as a kid. And, in part, it was a standard princess movie. It had an animal sidekick, an evil "step-mother", random outbursts of singing, and, of course, a princess who doesn't know she is one. What makes Tangled special, though, is the fact that it goes above and beyond the standard. Its dark parts are darker, its humor is lighter, its singing is better, its voice acting superb. There were only a few "problems", which I only noticed because I was looking for them. In the scene where Rapunzel and Flynn are wet, for instance, the normally flawless character animation seems a bit fake. Also, the songs seem a little forced into the story, and are almost copied from The Lion King, Cinderella, The Little Mermaid, and Mulan 2 (By the way, if you haven't seen Mulan 2, I envy you). However, the singing in all these songs (particularly "Mother Knows Best") is enough to overcome any contrivity. I absolutely loved the voice acting, particularly by whoever plays Flynn Rider (I can't quite remember his name). It was completely believable, and his character comes off perfectly. Another thing that I didn't quite like was the ending (THESE NEXT 9 WORDS ARE THE ONLY PART WITH SPOILERS): but that's only because I like my girls blonde. There was really no other way to pull off the story, and the story was better for it anyway. The best of the animation was in the eyes. Through the characters' eyes, you can see every thought, every emotion, every plan forming. The eyes in Tangled are possibly the best I've seen ever in a non-Pixar film. Overall, this movie is astounding, and the best Disney, non-Pixar film since the Lion King, and should give TS3 a run for its money at the Oscars. Collapse
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    Very beautiful. That's what I can describe about the film, the characters, the environment, the story, although it is modified from the original, but it is quite good. More over, this film is very fun, I can find a lot of laugh in it. Nevertheless, the original music of the film is just a little "over mediocre", which is not match so much with the whole fascinating film. If Walt Disney had given the better music, this film would have been one of the greatest animation that they've ever created. Never mind, 9.0 points for their effort and let's hope they can make better film in the future! Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    I think that Tangled is not back to basics. Disney Renaissance passed away. "Tangled" is a good beggining for...I don't know. "Bolt" is good, "The Princess and the Frog" is regular but "Tangled" is better. Disney goes a new direction and it gets to innovate. Fairy tale with traditional basis but it's modern at same time. Good film, Rapunzel is the new classic character in Disney. Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2010
    8
    It is no secret that I am a fan of Disney movies. I don't care what anyone thinks; I like good animation and a good story. It also no secret that Disney is one sided when it comes to movies geared to girls than towards boys. The boys get crap while the "princesses" have a whole park dedicated to them. So I was a little happy to hear that Disney was doing its version of the story Rapunzel but instead calling it "Tangled" because they were going to try appeal to coed audience. How on earth did they expect to do this? I mean the movie is about an 18 year-old girl with long blond hair, little boys aren't interested in that at allâ Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely, searingly horrible. I'm never going to get that time back. This movie attempts to be funny and made viewers laugh but utterly and horribly fail at it. Also it's extremely unrealistic besides the magic hair and what not. In a life time someone couldn't grow 70ft of hair, it's impossible and even if they did there would be a lot of dead ends to it and it wouldn't be so pretty. My older sisters adores this movie but the plot is lame, rushed, and stupid. Hair couldn't make someone come back to life and everything moves much to fast. One moment Finn meets Rapunzel the next he's in love with her and doesn't want the damn crown back. The characters are pathetic because they have no personality and what little they do have is always changing and swinging back and forth. One moment Finn is the bad, the next he's the awesome, amazing prince for Rapunzel. Where is this movie leading I asked myself as I watched it. No where was the answer. The music is lame and the whole theme is overdone. Especially the part in the tavern when all these mean, rough tough guys turn into soft marshmallows. It's very unrealistic. Don't be stupid and waste your time watching this. Expand

See all 114 User Reviews

Trailers