Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 420 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A princess stolen from her parents' castle as a baby, Rapunzel is locked in a hidden tower longing for adventure Now an imaginative and determined teenager, she takes off on a hilarious, hair-raising escapade with the help of a dashing bandit. With the secret of her royal heritage hanging inA princess stolen from her parents' castle as a baby, Rapunzel is locked in a hidden tower longing for adventure Now an imaginative and determined teenager, she takes off on a hilarious, hair-raising escapade with the help of a dashing bandit. With the secret of her royal heritage hanging in the balance and her captor in pursuit, Rapunzel and her cohort find adventure, heart, humor, and hair... lots of hair. (Walt Disney Pictures) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    They really pulled out all the stops on this one.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    This is your basic, and very enjoyable, Disney princess musical, an empowerment tale to teach bright, dreamy girls how to grow to maturity - and outgrow the adults in charge.
  3. Reviewed by: Helen O\'Hara
    Jan 24, 2011
    80
    Not just a pretty face; there's meat on its bones and a song in its heart besides. This deserves a place up there with the best of Disney's previous fairy tales.
  4. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    Much as I enjoyed this diversion, I couldn't help but think that The Princess and the Frog had better songs and (hand-painted) animation, and that Mulan was a ripping adventure that didn't need tweaking to qualify as an action flick.
  5. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    It takes a bit of doing, but when Tangled's core sweetness asserts itself and the film dares to wear its heart on its sleeve in a climactic scene featuring 46,000 paper lanterns, it's been worth the wait.
  6. Reviewed by: Dan Kois
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    The movie's real accomplishments are in its look, which was generated inside a computer but is as warm and rich as a painting.
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Tangled is a serviceable kids' picture and marks a milestone in the history of Disney animation, but it's splitting hairs to characterize it beyond that.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 120
  1. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    I know I'm about 3.5 years late, but this movie is one of my FAVORITE Disney Princess movies! I'm so upset that I didn't watch it in theatersI know I'm about 3.5 years late, but this movie is one of my FAVORITE Disney Princess movies! I'm so upset that I didn't watch it in theaters when it first came out. Everyone I know LOVES this movie. I can honestly say that I don't know a single person who dislikes this movie. Even my 46-year-old father and 16-year-old brother thoroughly enjoyed it; they quote lines from the movie all the time! I highly recommend this movie. It's absolutely phenomenal and great for all ages!! Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    I'm a HUGE fan of Pixar movies, and I must say that - with the help of the Pixar guys - Disney managed to do as good, if not better (animationI'm a HUGE fan of Pixar movies, and I must say that - with the help of the Pixar guys - Disney managed to do as good, if not better (animation is just incredible !). This movie is also a great success for my daughters (2 and 9), my wife too... The blu ray is very impressive on a HD TV (if you have to chose between BD and DVD). Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Took my kid sister to see Tangled the day it came out, because I had nothing better to do. I was expecting to bored out of my mind. TheTook my kid sister to see Tangled the day it came out, because I had nothing better to do. I was expecting to bored out of my mind. The commercials made it look like just another standard Disney princess movie a la Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Little Mermaid: movies I didn't particularly like even as a kid. And, in part, it was a standard princess movie. It had an animal sidekick, an evil "step-mother", random outbursts of singing, and, of course, a princess who doesn't know she is one. What makes Tangled special, though, is the fact that it goes above and beyond the standard. Its dark parts are darker, its humor is lighter, its singing is better, its voice acting superb. There were only a few "problems", which I only noticed because I was looking for them. In the scene where Rapunzel and Flynn are wet, for instance, the normally flawless character animation seems a bit fake. Also, the songs seem a little forced into the story, and are almost copied from The Lion King, Cinderella, The Little Mermaid, and Mulan 2 (By the way, if you haven't seen Mulan 2, I envy you). However, the singing in all these songs (particularly "Mother Knows Best") is enough to overcome any contrivity. I absolutely loved the voice acting, particularly by whoever plays Flynn Rider (I can't quite remember his name). It was completely believable, and his character comes off perfectly. Another thing that I didn't quite like was the ending (THESE NEXT 9 WORDS ARE THE ONLY PART WITH SPOILERS): but that's only because I like my girls blonde. There was really no other way to pull off the story, and the story was better for it anyway. The best of the animation was in the eyes. Through the characters' eyes, you can see every thought, every emotion, every plan forming. The eyes in Tangled are possibly the best I've seen ever in a non-Pixar film. Overall, this movie is astounding, and the best Disney, non-Pixar film since the Lion King, and should give TS3 a run for its money at the Oscars. Collapse
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    Very beautiful. That's what I can describe about the film, the characters, the environment, the story, although it is modified from theVery beautiful. That's what I can describe about the film, the characters, the environment, the story, although it is modified from the original, but it is quite good. More over, this film is very fun, I can find a lot of laugh in it. Nevertheless, the original music of the film is just a little "over mediocre", which is not match so much with the whole fascinating film. If Walt Disney had given the better music, this film would have been one of the greatest animation that they've ever created. Never mind, 9.0 points for their effort and let's hope they can make better film in the future! Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    I think that Tangled is not back to basics. Disney Renaissance passed away. "Tangled" is a good beggining for...I don't know. "Bolt" is good,I think that Tangled is not back to basics. Disney Renaissance passed away. "Tangled" is a good beggining for...I don't know. "Bolt" is good, "The Princess and the Frog" is regular but "Tangled" is better. Disney goes a new direction and it gets to innovate. Fairy tale with traditional basis but it's modern at same time. Good film, Rapunzel is the new classic character in Disney. Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    "Tangled" develops a deep plot that is entertaining and worthwhile; animation is great, and the songs can be entertaining for music lovers. It"Tangled" develops a deep plot that is entertaining and worthwhile; animation is great, and the songs can be entertaining for music lovers. It certainly is a good enough to be the 50th edition among Disney's animated features, but it isnâ Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely, searingly horrible. I'm never going to get that time back. This movie attempts to be funny and made viewers laugh but utterly and horribly fail at it. Also it's extremely unrealistic besides the magic hair and what not. In a life time someone couldn't grow 70ft of hair, it's impossible and even if they did there would be a lot of dead ends to it and it wouldn't be so pretty. My older sisters adores this movie but the plot is lame, rushed, and stupid. Hair couldn't make someone come back to life and everything moves much to fast. One moment Finn meets Rapunzel the next he's in love with her and doesn't want the damn crown back. The characters are pathetic because they have no personality and what little they do have is always changing and swinging back and forth. One moment Finn is the bad, the next he's the awesome, amazing prince for Rapunzel. Where is this movie leading I asked myself as I watched it. No where was the answer. The music is lame and the whole theme is overdone. Especially the part in the tavern when all these mean, rough tough guys turn into soft marshmallows. It's very unrealistic. Don't be stupid and waste your time watching this. Expand

See all 120 User Reviews

Trailers