Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 18, 1999
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 123 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
105
Mixed:
9
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 16, 2016
Enjoyable as ever, this Disney attempt of Tarzan is an enjoyable story that'll be in your heart forever. It'll be your heart; yeah, it'll be in your heart forever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 3, 2015
a great adventure of our jungle man raised by apes who surely will not forget. What I loved most is the music of Phil Collins, this and all the great works of the Disney classics have a variety of historiar we like both the younger ones asa great adventure of our jungle man raised by apes who surely will not forget. What I loved most is the music of Phil Collins, this and all the great works of the Disney classics have a variety of historiar we like both the younger ones as the greatest . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 29, 2015
A greatly entertaining roller coaster of a film that combines 2D animation with 3D background to its best extent and dazzles us with thrilling scenes of Tarzan surfing through the jungle trees, while the classic story offers us a very niceA greatly entertaining roller coaster of a film that combines 2D animation with 3D background to its best extent and dazzles us with thrilling scenes of Tarzan surfing through the jungle trees, while the classic story offers us a very nice message about acceptance and self-identity. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysApr 23, 2014
Tarzan is a daring, wildly entertaining Disney movie that makes the occasional misstep, but it is still a great film for all ages. In terms of retelling this classic story, "Tarzan" delivers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuMar 3, 2014
Tarzan is a decent Disney movie, featuring great animation and some exciting action sequences. It has a very classical feeling to it, albeit shot through with a bit more violence than usual. Good stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
divertido e com um ótimo visual divertido e com um ótimo visual Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticNov 12, 2013
Overly melodramatic, and the music makes the splendid film more corny. But the film has its moments, mostly due to the weird relationship of Tarzan and Jane. Provocatively humorous, and a friendly, childlike version to the gritty books ofOverly melodramatic, and the music makes the splendid film more corny. But the film has its moments, mostly due to the weird relationship of Tarzan and Jane. Provocatively humorous, and a friendly, childlike version to the gritty books of nineteenth century. A regular Disney movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jeff_reviewsJul 6, 2013
"Tarzan" brings a beautiful heartwarming tale, and while it does lack the strength in the middle sections of the film, it's still great fun. With bright beautiful visuals, a catchy theme, and action-filled, "Tarzan" can soar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
0987Mar 11, 2013
I love this movie, and i'm still watching it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GOOD OLD DAYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989Jan 10, 2013
One of my favourite Disney films and its a tale we all knew growing up about the Jungle Boy who fell in love when he met Jane. Disney does a pretty tame version of this for the kids of course but its still an enjoyable Family film with someOne of my favourite Disney films and its a tale we all knew growing up about the Jungle Boy who fell in love when he met Jane. Disney does a pretty tame version of this for the kids of course but its still an enjoyable Family film with some great songs from Phil Collins and some rather touching scenes in there also. Voice talents were all spot on, no real stand-outs but as a whole a great cast. Overall definitely a highlight for the more recent Disney films released and worth checking out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Tarzan is a bright and beautiful film lifted only higher by the brilliance of Phill Collins' soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
muzzikloverFeb 20, 2012
One of my favourite Disney animated films. Has a great story, interesting characters and one of the best animation the company has ever done. Seeing Tarzan sliding through the jungle like he's skating on it is just amazing to look at. TarzanOne of my favourite Disney animated films. Has a great story, interesting characters and one of the best animation the company has ever done. Seeing Tarzan sliding through the jungle like he's skating on it is just amazing to look at. Tarzan acts as he should act; like an ape but he still has a lot of humanity in him, Jane is the best damsel in distress I have ever seen in any film and the animal characters are creatively designed and well thought out. The only problem I have with this film is Phil Collins singing in and out of the film. It is out of place and is completely random. Oh and I don't like Phil Collins' singing that much. Don't get me wrong, the songs are fantastically composed but it should have been sung by the characters in the film instead of Collins and if it was just Phil Collins composing and the characters singing, it would've been one of Disney's best musical because the songs are really great. Overall, a great Disney movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
Cool, with an amazing message and score make Tarzan one of Disney's most entertaining films yet, and it also has an amazing voice performance from Rosie O'Donnell. I give this movie a 81% of a good movie.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Oct 5, 2011
"Tarzan" is one of those Disney classics that molded your brain and your heart with passion and innocence. A colorful masterpiece overall.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
anonreviewApr 23, 2011
This movie is one of Disney's greatest. Heart warming, inspiring, fantastic. The visuals, plot, and soundtrack are the stand-out features, but it is the sheer excellence in all areas of the film that make this a movie for everyone, not just aThis movie is one of Disney's greatest. Heart warming, inspiring, fantastic. The visuals, plot, and soundtrack are the stand-out features, but it is the sheer excellence in all areas of the film that make this a movie for everyone, not just a child's movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JudddyApr 22, 2011
Heartfelt, featuring terrific action and exciting animation, and based on a lovable and emotional story, 'Tarzan' works even as a great musical, but as an animated film, it stretches to the Top.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
SeriouslyDec 21, 2010
Like most of the old Disney classics, this movie just has something special about it. It seems Disney has been losing its touch the last few years. A person could almost say that the company has forgotten what Disney is about. Tarzan isLike most of the old Disney classics, this movie just has something special about it. It seems Disney has been losing its touch the last few years. A person could almost say that the company has forgotten what Disney is about. Tarzan is arguably as good as if not better than The Lion King. It has great asthetics, audio and a soundtrack that shouldn't be forgotten (but as time goes on, no doubt will be), has well developed characters, a story that one could not walk away from unfinished and of course that little bit of magic that Disney always used to have. I have no problem with Disney's Pixar films such as Toy Story, Finding Nemo and even maybe Up, but I am sorry to say that I think Disney has gotten lost in the new technology of today and may never go back to the fantastic old styles like Tarzan here. Then again, I have yet to watch The Princess and the Frog. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 23, 2010
like Mulan, Tarzan is excellent
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Oct 11, 2010
An amazing movie I loved as a kid, and I still do to this day! The music by Phil Collins is also very excellent, in fact the best since Lion King at the time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DanC.May 5, 2004
Great music by Phil Collins.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MichelleP.Mar 2, 2003
80? Tell me, why an 80? The movie didn't have a very good setting, I couldn't care less for any of the characters in the movie (especially the main character) and it just wasn't one of those "WOW! That movie was AWESOME! I 80? Tell me, why an 80? The movie didn't have a very good setting, I couldn't care less for any of the characters in the movie (especially the main character) and it just wasn't one of those "WOW! That movie was AWESOME! I wanna see it again!" movies like "The Lion King" or "Spirited Away". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful