Paramount Pictures | Release Date: October 15, 2004
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 273 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
213
Mixed:
25
Negative:
35
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
FrancoR.Oct 16, 2004
This movie had some funny moments but overall was an offensive piece of Garbage! It's message was sickening, juvenile, idiotic, and perverse!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
Annoymous1Jan 29, 2013
Not what i was excepting. I hoped for an Action-Adventure genre but came a appaling movie. They use great movie actors as bad guys and bland humuor makes it bad. You like bad comedy or cheesy fails you would like this ( LIKE this movie.).
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
chemicalreaperFeb 2, 2013
Perhaps "Team America: World Police" just hasn't aged well, but this 'comedy' just isn't all that funny. Whereas other comedies have redeeming qualities, the slow pace and the writers' ability to take overdrawn jokes (which weren't humorousPerhaps "Team America: World Police" just hasn't aged well, but this 'comedy' just isn't all that funny. Whereas other comedies have redeeming qualities, the slow pace and the writers' ability to take overdrawn jokes (which weren't humorous to begin with) and repeatedly smash you in the face with them, Team America is a good idea that fails in execution. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
B.S.Jul 26, 2006
When I heard about the movie I thought it sounded great, a good old piss take aimed at the people who deserve it most , indeed I was most excited to see it. Sadly it was terrible. The visuals were quite stunning but the script was appaling, When I heard about the movie I thought it sounded great, a good old piss take aimed at the people who deserve it most , indeed I was most excited to see it. Sadly it was terrible. The visuals were quite stunning but the script was appaling, jokes were thin and even the spoofed plot could've been written by a thirteen year old. C'mon guys how cab "everybodys got aids aids aids" be funny, I'm not saying I was oofended but compared to memories like 'good aids, bad aids" from Brass eye it was terrible. A shocker. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
RussBJun 5, 2005
Has its moments, but overdoes the sight gags. Good was cancelled out by the thin plot and overkill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RichardSAug 8, 2005
Over-rated, only a few laughs, unnecessarily crude and stupid to the stage it's just not funny. Might have been funny as a 15 minute short. Maybe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RicoMay 24, 2005
Is comedy funny when it's reduced to the use of four letter words and fecal sight gags? I don't think so. Are we 8 year olds? Nope. My hat is off to the puppeteers and all the people who built the wonderful sets. this is the only Is comedy funny when it's reduced to the use of four letter words and fecal sight gags? I don't think so. Are we 8 year olds? Nope. My hat is off to the puppeteers and all the people who built the wonderful sets. this is the only reason it deserved a 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JesseH.Jun 1, 2005
Man, is this ever dumb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GreggF.Jun 6, 2005
Purile effort. Rude and crude is not a reasonable substitution for entertainment. On top of that it was boring to boot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnB.Oct 17, 2004
"South Park: Bigger, Longer, Uncut" was, perhaps, the funniest movie of 1999. Brilliant, biting satire. "Team America" had some genius stuff (singing Kim Il Jong, America F*%k Yeah!, even the vomit scene) and some nice send-ups of "South Park: Bigger, Longer, Uncut" was, perhaps, the funniest movie of 1999. Brilliant, biting satire. "Team America" had some genius stuff (singing Kim Il Jong, America F*%k Yeah!, even the vomit scene) and some nice send-ups of Bruckheimer. But satire this was not. It was stunningly lazy. (Not the sets and puppets, they were the best thing in the movie). The writing, the jokes were really flat. Most notably when dealing with the actors. F.A.G.? Weak the first time; super-ass-weak the 8th time. Lastly, and while this doesn't matter, Orgazmo was one of the worst movies in the last twenty years. Baseketball was infinitely better. It's time for Trey Parker to dust Matt Stone, who is not funny and a hanger-on. Shoot, I'd hang on too if I was making the sweet coin, but it's well known in Hollywood who is the one with the talent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GregK.Dec 11, 2004
Some parts were funny, but they attack the wrong people, the puppets are funny, and the songs are, but thats it. I didn't find it offensive like some, but it seems like they were trying to be sarcastic and just came off as truthful. It Some parts were funny, but they attack the wrong people, the puppets are funny, and the songs are, but thats it. I didn't find it offensive like some, but it seems like they were trying to be sarcastic and just came off as truthful. It seems the people they agree with, are who they attacked. I thought it was gonna be anti bush or something, instead it was like pro bush. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BenSJan 18, 2005
Awful! the number 0 is a compliment to this film (in fact the word film is a compliment) this was the worst fiver i ever spent in my entire life. It wasn't funny in the slightest and i have an extrmely crude sense of humour it was Awful! the number 0 is a compliment to this film (in fact the word film is a compliment) this was the worst fiver i ever spent in my entire life. It wasn't funny in the slightest and i have an extrmely crude sense of humour it was simply lame and a terrible piece of comedy cinema. I smiled twice. laughed never. almost threw up not because of how disgusting they desperately treied to make it (and failed) but simply how bored, embarressed and simply insulted i was by this terrible piece of cinema. In terms of conetnt there was the odd humerous line, however there was also humerous liens in schindlers List, However you dont see peopel laughign at Schindlers List just as i hope never to see people laughing at Team America. Thankyou for your time. (and for those who email me asking why i am waisting my time typing this. my answer is simple. I have already waisted a perfect eveneing...hell i may aswell waist it all. thankyou. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomM.Oct 15, 2004
Wow! I have to say I had high hopes for this movie both because I really enjoyed the South Park movie and because of all the reviews I had read on this site and on others. The sets were stunning but the movie just simply was not very funny Wow! I have to say I had high hopes for this movie both because I really enjoyed the South Park movie and because of all the reviews I had read on this site and on others. The sets were stunning but the movie just simply was not very funny at all. Yes, there were a couple of good laughs but all in all this movie was flatter than a pancake. I predict a decent opening and then a quick fade into obscurity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Brian143Oct 17, 2004
Tangled in their own web As tangled as our country is in IRAQ, Trey & Matt have made a worse mess of this film. A step down from TV?s SouthPark, they have failed to leap from paper-cut-outs to the 3dimensionality of puppets. Be ware should Tangled in their own web As tangled as our country is in IRAQ, Trey & Matt have made a worse mess of this film. A step down from TV?s SouthPark, they have failed to leap from paper-cut-outs to the 3dimensionality of puppets. Be ware should they ever fund a film with real actors. I hope the actors portrayed in this film will sue for libel and apply their winnings to aiding victims of Iraq or increasing inner city votes. The arrested adolescent sensibilities never gets beyond the initial site gags which are amusing for the first 20 min. The balance of this short film doesn?t deliver your money?s worth. The dead-end cynicism is privileged and pointless. A satire on the USA?s trumped up WWW on Terror could be wonderful, if it truly took off the emperor?s clothes. But this film misses the real vulcans, our current neo-con administration and their ?allies?, a cast which would delight as puppets. Just when the world needs satire on the order of a ?Strangelove?, this film falls short by all measures: language, character, plot, acting, set-design and truth. Instead, the makers lead ad nauseam with pointless anatomical frat-boy humor, which limits their audience to draft-age males, who need the film least, because so many are: in the services (who will despise this film), not activist (when they should be), despondent and confused (amplified by a diet of SouthPark and Zoloft). And for the under-17 year olds who get in front of this film, it paints a despairing picture. Keep your kids away! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SamTOct 27, 2004
After the initial novelty and comedy of the first half hour, it takes a nose dive. I actually saw two people in the audience fall asleep during the movie. I almost dozed off myself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful