User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 256
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OtisP
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This movie rocks and the soundtrack is the best ever made.
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    if i was gona do a top 3 funniest movies of the decade this film would be in there . i love how they take micheal bay and jerry bruckhiemers style of film making and poke fun of it and **** all over it HAHAHA. there are alot of great and funny as hell moments in this film . the sound track is easily the funniest one in film history . i mean "pearl harbor sucks alittle more then i miss you"if i was gona do a top 3 funniest movies of the decade this film would be in there . i love how they take micheal bay and jerry bruckhiemers style of film making and poke fun of it and **** all over it HAHAHA. there are alot of great and funny as hell moments in this film . the sound track is easily the funniest one in film history . i mean "pearl harbor sucks alittle more then i miss you" ROFL!!! suck it micheal bay!!! im glad that matt and trey hate him as much as i do. the only thing that was alittle off to me was the whole puppet sex thing . i coulda done with out that but otherwise this is one of the few films i can wach over and over again and still laugh. Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Picture South Park, but with puppets made to look like actors and famous people. They make the expressionless puppets look so dramatic and like such good actors that after seeing this movie I am convinced it is not the actors or acting that makes a great movie, but the directing. Similar to South Park which was created by the same creators, this movie contains a lot of obscene scenes andPicture South Park, but with puppets made to look like actors and famous people. They make the expressionless puppets look so dramatic and like such good actors that after seeing this movie I am convinced it is not the actors or acting that makes a great movie, but the directing. Similar to South Park which was created by the same creators, this movie contains a lot of obscene scenes and potty humour, but it is done well. A couple of scenes just start off really obscene and bad, but actually go on for much longer than they should and get much worse as they go on to shock you and gross you out even more! It is great! They basically turn Matt Daemon into a retard like Timmy from the South Park show and Kim Jong II the leader of North Korea (at the time of the original release) into Cartman, it is hilarious! There are also great satirical musical numbers in this movie too. I did not like it as much as the South Park movie, but it was still great. 10/10 Collapse
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This is such a funny movie. People who don't like this movie fail to realize it's a spoof movie, a parody, making fun of America. Trey Parker and Matt Stone come out with another hilarious film.
    It has an awesome theme song, it makes fun Kim Jong Il, all involving puppets.
    Now that's funny.
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    This movie was so stupid, but so funny. Definetly worth watching. NOT for kids. But if you like south park, you will like this alot. It's the same kind of humor except they didn't need to hold back like they do on comedy central.
  6. StevieG
    Oct 16, 2004
    9
    This is an R-rated (almost NC-17) THUNDERBIRDS ( a reference which may surely date me). It is also very funny, as long as your skin is not too thin and you can take a joke. The credible, albeit misguided, critique of this film from Ebert (that the movie has no specific goal other to offend everyone) misses the point. This movie, like much Parker/Stone fare is compltely oblivious to This is an R-rated (almost NC-17) THUNDERBIRDS ( a reference which may surely date me). It is also very funny, as long as your skin is not too thin and you can take a joke. The credible, albeit misguided, critique of this film from Ebert (that the movie has no specific goal other to offend everyone) misses the point. This movie, like much Parker/Stone fare is compltely oblivious to political correctness in any way. It skewers the left as well as the right. It is utterly unconcerned with any group's "sensitivity," from the vertly racist rendition of the Korean villian to the lyrical content of the songs in the movie. But if you can get past the "offensive" nature of the humor, there is political commentary here. There is a strong anti-Bush sentiment. But liberals who whine and complain about everything are equally skeward. The strong anti-Hollywood overtone is also refreshing. The story is silly. Sure. But I laughed out loud a number of times, as did most of the theater. Expand
  7. Mr.Blonde
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Great satiric movie which spoofs the bush administration as well as the blockbuster crap from hollywood.
  8. BlancoA.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    I caught the sneak preview at The Village last weekend and loved it. Caught me totally by surprise. "Orgazmo" is one of my favorite flicks, but I wasn't a huge fan of the South Park movie, so I wasn't expecting much from the puppet action. I was wrong in a big way. Feeling a little burned out from the political season?? This is the antidote. It makes fun of America as the I caught the sneak preview at The Village last weekend and loved it. Caught me totally by surprise. "Orgazmo" is one of my favorite flicks, but I wasn't a huge fan of the South Park movie, so I wasn't expecting much from the puppet action. I was wrong in a big way. Feeling a little burned out from the political season?? This is the antidote. It makes fun of America as the do-gooder of the world, but it also strikes HARD at the Hollywood elites who have needed a firm slap for a while now. Alec Baldwin & Michael Moore get it the hardest, but the boys spread the love around, believe me. Sure, there are plenty of off-color jokes in this thing, so come with your sense of humor firmly intact. And no, they didn't have to totally butcher the puppet sex scene to get the "R" rating. It had everybody in the audience ROLLING. And the original songs are funny as hell! (You definitely have to pay attention closely to the lyrics to get the most out of it.) Trey Parker should seriously consider writing a live-action musical one day. Expand
  9. JordanN.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    What a movie it was the best flim i've seen in a while.The puppet sex was also the funnyest think i've ever seen in the cinema its worth the money!!
  10. bradleyt.
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    I think this movie is fantastic and halarious how could you just give it a seven.9 4 a movie with puppets i was laugin all nite i think its top.
  11. MichaelC.
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    For someone very interested in world affairs, but not a fan of South Park or puppets, I was very skeptical of this film. Brilliant and hilarious, this film is an equal opportunity satire of both conservatives and liberals. Most of the "offensive" material actually uncovers unpleasant truths underlying the attitudes, people and state of our world. Highly recommended for anyone with an open For someone very interested in world affairs, but not a fan of South Park or puppets, I was very skeptical of this film. Brilliant and hilarious, this film is an equal opportunity satire of both conservatives and liberals. Most of the "offensive" material actually uncovers unpleasant truths underlying the attitudes, people and state of our world. Highly recommended for anyone with an open mind about exposing (by hilarious ridicule and hyperbole) the polarized nature of our present social and political environment. An extremely entertaining film for the "juvenile" mind that also provokes thought about our world for the "mature" mind. Expand
  12. DavidD.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    Not for children. Please don't take your kids. Plenty of sex and vulgar puppets. This movie was actually quite hilarious. Parker and Stone don't have a spotless track record (Orgazmo was terrible), but they have proven to push the comedy envelope when it comes to film and TV. This is no exception. Part musical, all Bruckheimer spoof. Once again, not for your children, but great Not for children. Please don't take your kids. Plenty of sex and vulgar puppets. This movie was actually quite hilarious. Parker and Stone don't have a spotless track record (Orgazmo was terrible), but they have proven to push the comedy envelope when it comes to film and TV. This is no exception. Part musical, all Bruckheimer spoof. Once again, not for your children, but great for educated adults who aren't squeamish. Expand
  13. Wongit
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    ABSOLUTELY one of the funniest movies i have ever seen. i have seen some funny films but this one surpasses them all, i didnt have high hopes for this movie, i thought it would be corny and lame. IT IS. but it is by far one of the funniest movies ever. its going to offend millions because of the puppet sex which is definetly over the top and the violence which i didnt expect...but it is ABSOLUTELY one of the funniest movies i have ever seen. i have seen some funny films but this one surpasses them all, i didnt have high hopes for this movie, i thought it would be corny and lame. IT IS. but it is by far one of the funniest movies ever. its going to offend millions because of the puppet sex which is definetly over the top and the violence which i didnt expect...but it is violent. I loved this movie. Great job Parker and Stone. Expand
  14. BubbaFresh
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    Team America... F*%K YEAH!!
  15. AmberH.
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    That movie was so f...ing funny i was laughing for most of the movie. I love how they walk it looks so funny and just everything about it!!
  16. SethP.
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    This movie is pure genius. end of story. this it is perhaps the funniest movie of all time. If you cant see that, then perhaps your brain can't understand satires, physical comedy, or anything else of that nature. its extremely difficult to make a movie with puppets, nevermind a funny one. but to pull of what trey parker did, its simply pure genius. he only gets stronger and stronger This movie is pure genius. end of story. this it is perhaps the funniest movie of all time. If you cant see that, then perhaps your brain can't understand satires, physical comedy, or anything else of that nature. its extremely difficult to make a movie with puppets, nevermind a funny one. but to pull of what trey parker did, its simply pure genius. he only gets stronger and stronger with everything negitive that comes about. so feed him. please. i need this. haha. if you liked this movie (intelligent people only) check out his older movies like orgazmo and Canibal! The musical. both amazing. Expand
  17. DeeR.
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    Wow, is Roger Ebert wrong about this film. TEAM AMERICA is the hippest film you'll see this year. It is flat-out great Rabelasian satire. It is stark raving lunacy and deleriously funny. I think buy-the-playbook Democrats will hate this film and true liberals will love it.
  18. AdrianM.
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    Best movie i've ever seen, at the very begining you now Trey Parker had something to do with this.
  19. BitBurn
    Oct 24, 2004
    9
    The puppet animation is simply amazing!! Twisted laughter, totally retarded. A masterpiece of its kind!
  20. BenT
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    If you are looking for a movie with any particularly serious political intent, don't bother watching this, but if you just want a ridiculously irreverant movie, see it. The movement of the puppets, while at times scarily realistic, often serves to turn a serious scene (for example, when the Team America boss walks out of the room after recruiting the main character) into a hysterical If you are looking for a movie with any particularly serious political intent, don't bother watching this, but if you just want a ridiculously irreverant movie, see it. The movement of the puppets, while at times scarily realistic, often serves to turn a serious scene (for example, when the Team America boss walks out of the room after recruiting the main character) into a hysterical scene, without a word of dialogue to help - at times it reminds me of Monty Pythons Ministry of Silly Walks. Listening carefully to the songs also yields some very amusing moments, but I'll let you discover those for yourself. The use of real animals in various scenes makes for some hilarious viewing as well, and when coupled with the dialogue, you may need an oxygen mask to keep you alive throughout this movie. A personal favourite idiosyncracy in the movie is the launch of a 'top secret' mission into the terrorists lair - only involving 4 airborne military vehicles and a public announcement in a marketplace as to why helicopters are landing on top of various stalls.... Expand
  21. StanT.
    Oct 31, 2004
    9
    This is an excellent example of Trey Parker's true genius, in every aspect of filmmaking.
  22. RichardT.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    This movie is bare jokes; it is one of those movies that offers a great break from the hum-drum of reality - full of 'wannabe' epic scenes, and shear frontinity!!! an enjoyable watch and definately worth ones buck. Hardly a Ben Hur, Boiler Room, or an I-robot, but for its category (comedy) its top of the game!
  23. TheElusivePossom
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    FUNNIEST MOVIE EVER put simply. Laugh-a-minute puppet fun, beautiful women and catchy songs make this the hit it was built up to be. It seems that anyone who doesn't like/understand this film is eager to outwardly express themselves to be really stupid (see Ben S's comment). Best sex scene ever, and no comedy will likely come close in years. Stone and Parker are gods.
  24. BrodieM.
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    Great movie, extremly funny, best comedy for the year.
  25. LuigiP.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    I really enjoyed the humourous way in which Team America pays out typical conservatives. I like Mike Moore - and what they did to him was fine by me! Ben Afflectk (Parker & Stones favourite targe) still gets a nice serve too. Put simply - if you like South Park, you'll love Team America. F*^k Yeah! the typical society views on all aspects of how we treat "peace".
  26. Anna
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    The movie is AWESOME! I'd say it's worth spending my money!
  27. SerenaM.
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    The movie has a slightly anti-Liberal Establishment bias, and for this reason alone it has been virtually ignored by Hollywood. It is a daring, brave, hilarious film with the most gut-burstingly funny sex scene I've ever, ever watched.
  28. Mobius
    May 23, 2005
    10
    If you find southpark funny and find stone & parker's humor funny then you are going to piss yourself with this film. and all you other reviewers who go on about being pro or against bush please take your polictical view elsewhere.
  29. jayman
    May 25, 2005
    10
    Hilarious!!!!! Does comedy have to be filled with four letter words and fecal matter....as another reviewer put it. Yeah!!!!! My gut still hurts from last December when I saw this in theatres.
  30. RobD.
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    People have several misconceptions about this film that i've noticed. First off, the movie is not anti-liberal. Trey and Matt don't hate Hollywood liberals for being liberal, they hate them for thinking that their status makes their opinion more special than everyone else's. Second, Trey and Matt are not pro-Bush. They hate all politicians and happen to find republicans People have several misconceptions about this film that i've noticed. First off, the movie is not anti-liberal. Trey and Matt don't hate Hollywood liberals for being liberal, they hate them for thinking that their status makes their opinion more special than everyone else's. Second, Trey and Matt are not pro-Bush. They hate all politicians and happen to find republicans particularly ignorant. The reason they don't make fun of bush is because they don't want to be like Michael Moore or other people who get rich by critiqing politicians. And lastly, Trey and Matt aren't gay. Any straight guys under 25 will admit to making sexual innuendo as a gay joke... Moving on, the only flaw with this movie is that it just isn't as fillarious the first time around, but the first time you might lose breath from laughing. Expand
  31. moviecritc
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Anyone who does not think this movie is funny, must have something up their butt, this is one of the funniest movies of all time in my opinion, and that is a bold statement, i watched this movie several times and laughed eveytime, i laughed so hard i was crying, i would recomend this movie to almost anyone, i think the people who dont like this movie , either did not get it or they are Anyone who does not think this movie is funny, must have something up their butt, this is one of the funniest movies of all time in my opinion, and that is a bold statement, i watched this movie several times and laughed eveytime, i laughed so hard i was crying, i would recomend this movie to almost anyone, i think the people who dont like this movie , either did not get it or they are just way too uptight, i think some people think they are too mature to watch a movie with puppets and that it has to be dumb, but watch and see for yourself a total package with great songs. 1 more note i dont understand how some people thought napoleon dynamite was funny and this movie was not, some people just like things because its by MTV, sorry but that movie was not funny! Expand
  32. FrankW.
    Jul 8, 2005
    9
    I want to give this movie a lower score than this. It doesn't deserve to be as funny as it is, but I haven't laughed this hard at a movie since, well, the South Park movie. If you're a liberal, like me, this movie will offend you. If you're conservative this movie will offend you. But you know what? I don't care how politcally incorrect it is. Any movie that can I want to give this movie a lower score than this. It doesn't deserve to be as funny as it is, but I haven't laughed this hard at a movie since, well, the South Park movie. If you're a liberal, like me, this movie will offend you. If you're conservative this movie will offend you. But you know what? I don't care how politcally incorrect it is. Any movie that can accurately describe the three types of people in this world using only genetallia has got to be worth something. Do I agree with the movie's politics? Ultimately, after several viewings, I'm pretty sure that the movie doesn't have much of a stance at all. Conservatives are rude, reckless and ignorant, not caring who they kill to get their job done and to promote their way of life. Liberals are whiners who talk on and on about ideals that aren't realistic, mainly because they do nothing but whine about them. Maybe what this movie really suggests is that no matter who you are, you probably suck, but you should be able to laugh at your hypocrisy. Team America doesn't make much of a political statement for either side, but it's hard to care when it's as funny as this. Expand
  33. RichardJ.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    I love the work of Matt and Trey and to be honest this is better then all the south park stuff they have done! I can't believe people find faults in it, this was so original. Perhaps they didn't like it as it took the piss out of Americans too much, infact that's what was so funny about it! Very clever film and so watchable! Sequel please but if not another one like this I love the work of Matt and Trey and to be honest this is better then all the south park stuff they have done! I can't believe people find faults in it, this was so original. Perhaps they didn't like it as it took the piss out of Americans too much, infact that's what was so funny about it! Very clever film and so watchable! Sequel please but if not another one like this again please! The humour is actually not vey juvenile compared to South Parks' and how the concept was done was very thought out! Critics if you want to slate the film, come up with a better arguement! I know why critics do slate it anyway because your jealous that Matt and Trey are so smart and original! Expand
  34. GerrickC.
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Thunderbirds meets South Park. That is esentially what Team America is. It is very funny, extremely offensive, and totally reeks of South Park. If you like South Park, then you will find love in Team America.
  35. JohnJ
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    Its good cos I though it was good.
  36. AdamL.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    Hilarious. Great Songs. See it, maybe.
  37. MikeyG.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    First off, a couple of things: Orgazmo was hilarious, David D does not know what he is talking about! Also, Trey DID do a live action musical. It's called Cannibal The Musical. Check it out at your local video store or Netflix. As for the movie, it was pure genius. For one, the special effects on the puppets were pretty good. Also, they managed to have the puppets show more emotion First off, a couple of things: Orgazmo was hilarious, David D does not know what he is talking about! Also, Trey DID do a live action musical. It's called Cannibal The Musical. Check it out at your local video store or Netflix. As for the movie, it was pure genius. For one, the special effects on the puppets were pretty good. Also, they managed to have the puppets show more emotion and acting range than Ben Affleck. Funny funny movie. Definitely not for kids, but friggen' hilarious. I think the only thing missing was another puppet sex scene with the Husker and the Asian-American puppet. Maybe on the Uncensored DVD... Expand
  38. BobD.
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    I caught a sneak preview of this movie on Saturday and it was unequivocally the FUNNIEST movie I have seen in a long, long time. Three of us went and we all left with stomach pains and tear-stained cheeks. This movie surpasses anything Matt Stone & Trey Parker have done in their flagship television show, South Park. The humor is dark, cold and well deserved! I recommend this movie to I caught a sneak preview of this movie on Saturday and it was unequivocally the FUNNIEST movie I have seen in a long, long time. Three of us went and we all left with stomach pains and tear-stained cheeks. This movie surpasses anything Matt Stone & Trey Parker have done in their flagship television show, South Park. The humor is dark, cold and well deserved! I recommend this movie to anyone and everyone! Bring tissues and eat lightly! Expand
  39. StevenS.
    Oct 12, 2004
    9
    I want to rate this movie because I thought highly of it even though it is a total low-brow event. I laughed so much at this movie that at a couple times I was in tears....and for me that is very rare. At times I felt like..."if they take this too far it will be disappointing"....then they take it too far and I can't help but laugh uncontrollably. It is a movie you can't go into I want to rate this movie because I thought highly of it even though it is a total low-brow event. I laughed so much at this movie that at a couple times I was in tears....and for me that is very rare. At times I felt like..."if they take this too far it will be disappointing"....then they take it too far and I can't help but laugh uncontrollably. It is a movie you can't go into unsure about what is about to hit you, then you leave feeling satisfied and spitting out the funniest lines to your friends to relive the moments. Expand
  40. MartinR.
    Oct 15, 2004
    9
    By far one of the funniest movies I have seen in the past few years. It also provides some pretty stunning social commentary too. Hurray for an exploding Michael Moore!
  41. BrendanI.
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    The satire was amazingly funny and always on the mark, the music was incredibly funny, and the raunchy humour, although disgusting, was quite funny as well.
  42. JoeyM.
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    Really, to me, this movie is a parody of how Hollywood addresses world issues in general, America in specific. While there are clear, easy to see potshots at many of the self-righteous Hollywood actors with strong liberal POVs, the plot and action is an abvious pot shot at the "rah rah America" attitude of so many blockbusters of the last 30 years - Top Gun comes to mind. The Really, to me, this movie is a parody of how Hollywood addresses world issues in general, America in specific. While there are clear, easy to see potshots at many of the self-righteous Hollywood actors with strong liberal POVs, the plot and action is an abvious pot shot at the "rah rah America" attitude of so many blockbusters of the last 30 years - Top Gun comes to mind. The jester's job is to show the king where they are being stupid and, if you imagine that Parker and Stone are being court jesters to Hollywood, they do a brilliant job in this film. Many laugh out loud moments. I went in expecting it to be a lot grosser and am not sure whather to be relieved or disappointed on that front. I'm a teacher and the ultimate test, for me, is whether my students come in quoting the movie or not. Today, they all came in laughing about "Mr. Mystopholese." A sure sign of pop culture success. Expand
  43. AlbertoT.
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    The best funny movie i recomend a part 2 movie please the best cartoon movie and you sould make episodes in comedy central ok A ++
  44. PuddlesMacintire
    Oct 19, 2004
    9
    The funniest movie I've seen in a looong time. Man, was that filthy or what? What I really find hilarious is all the nods to the 60s British sci fi puppet TV shows like Supercar, Fireball XL5 and Thunderbirds that I grew up watching. There are dozens of references to these lost childrens shows in Team America. And I bet that 90% of the people in the theater when I saw it were too The funniest movie I've seen in a looong time. Man, was that filthy or what? What I really find hilarious is all the nods to the 60s British sci fi puppet TV shows like Supercar, Fireball XL5 and Thunderbirds that I grew up watching. There are dozens of references to these lost childrens shows in Team America. And I bet that 90% of the people in the theater when I saw it were too young to even know these shows exist. The first 30 minutes had the entire theater in tears. I suppose it depends on your political bent, but I found the depiction of the American military's brutal jingoism to be the funniest aspect and that a lot of the Hollywood star gags fell flat. But I roared at just about everything, anyhow. Kim Jung Il is not gonna be very happy being depicted as a giant cockroach from space. I hear that Sean Penn is really furious too. Learn to laugh at yourself, fellas. The sex scene was a beauty. If that was done with real actors it would have had to have been rated X. Ditto the violence. I loved the "panther" scene. The puppets looked really creepy when they were dead. Those bodies floating in the Panama flood were shockingly morbid. It was weird how affecting that was, moreso than if they had been people. They just look more dead than people can. And the songs! "America, #*@&! YEAH, gonna tell the world to lick my balls!" is a spectacular anthem that I can't WAIT to see used during July 4th fireworks shows in place of "Proud to be an 'Merican!" I also died over the love song about how bad the movie Pearl Harbor was which used lyrical analogies like "I need you like Ben Afleck needs acting lessons". I was crying, I was laughing so hard. Some reviewers are panning this movie because it pulls no punches on ANYTHING. It's interesting to see which reviewers have limited senses of humor. To those guys who say that you can't joke about terrorism I have 2 words for you. Doctor Strangelove. THAT movie was very controversial on first release too. Many reviewers thought it was too sensitive a subject, but part of Strangelove's lasting glory is that it was the first movie to have the guts to make a joke out of nuclear armageddon, until that point a very taboo subject. Yes, Team America is way more juvenile and low brow to be sure, but you can't dismiss the parallel. I wonder if Parker and Stone even realized what they were doing . . . Expand
  45. Heather
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    For a puppet movie, it really surprised me! Such a great comedy. I couldn't stop laughing. The lyrics were priceless, and the sex scene was hilarious. I'd go see it again. And then rent it. And then buy it. Yup, it was that good.
  46. ArnieG.
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    Brilliant and hilarious!
  47. 100thMonkey
    Oct 20, 2004
    9
    Thanks Matt and Trey for showing up and blowing the lid off of America ("America...F### YEA!") with such well done cleverness, unique-ness and with so many hidden yet clear messages that the average American Moron (YES YOU! ) will think it's cool, but then go home and wonder "Gee, maybe Americans could be A-holes afterall." I think the low turnout at the boxoffice is really a Thanks Matt and Trey for showing up and blowing the lid off of America ("America...F### YEA!") with such well done cleverness, unique-ness and with so many hidden yet clear messages that the average American Moron (YES YOU! ) will think it's cool, but then go home and wonder "Gee, maybe Americans could be A-holes afterall." I think the low turnout at the boxoffice is really a function of Americans not being ready for the truth. Expand
  48. JasonD.
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    Team America was supprisingly a very good movie i like the songs the most.
  49. MichaelM.
    Oct 21, 2004
    9
    From the sick and very twisted creators of the hit animated program South Park on Comedy Central, comes an even more depraved feature, acted out by puppets titled Team America: World Police. This time around, Trey Parker and Matt Stone (the film's creators) are poking fun at all new people -- including terrorists, Kim Jong Il and most of all loud mouth celebrities who voice their From the sick and very twisted creators of the hit animated program South Park on Comedy Central, comes an even more depraved feature, acted out by puppets titled Team America: World Police. This time around, Trey Parker and Matt Stone (the film's creators) are poking fun at all new people -- including terrorists, Kim Jong Il and most of all loud mouth celebrities who voice their political opinions. Most of the time the creators go after Republican conservatives, but this time around they swing the pinata bat at the Democrat liberal entertainers ...and boy, do they swing! Sean Penn has already expressed a memo of hate towards the comic duo for their potrayal of him being an idiot for going to Iraq last Christmas, and if that isn't enough controversy behind the film, the creators had to edit out over twenty minutes of the finished product for it to escape the NC-17 rating. My response to Team America: World Police was more positive then I could have ever imagined. When I was walking into the 300 seat theater, I thought I would only get a minimal amount of laughs out of it. I was sorely mistaking! I came out of the theater with a sore throat from laughing so much and so hard. The movie is easily one of the best films of the year so far, not to mention the funniest by a long shot. Although I fell in love with it's charm and amazingly vulgar sense of humor, many critics and Hollywood types alike will pan it. The reason being is the film is pretty much a personal attack on them. When the film makes it over seas to North Korea, it will surely be banned for mocking their leader Kim Jong Il. It's my guess Il won't appreciate himself being potrayed as a ruthless foul-mouthed dictator hell-bent on world domination who can't pronounce the word "inevitable". Besides Il, Alec Baldwin will be angered at the South Park guys making him out to be, well... Alec Baldwin. In conclusion, Team America: World Police not only gives Hollywood, terrorists, socialists and activists the good ribbing they deserve, but it also is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen and perhaps even THE funniest movie I've ever seen. Don't expect Team America: World Police to make many end of the year Top 10 lists, but you can sure expect it on mine. Since I can't mention everyone in the film they rip on, here's a list of a few that come to mind... Ben Affleck Alec Baldwin Hans Blitz George W. Bush Geroge Clooney Matt Damon Janeane Garofolo Danny Glover Helen Hunt Kim Jong Il John Kerry Michael Moore Samuel L. Jackson Peter Jennings Sean Penn Tim Robbins Susan Sarandon Martin Sheen the American government the French government the Panamanian government the North Korean government Middle-Easterns Egyptians the Broadway play Rent everyone who had anything to do with the movie Pearl Harbor. Expand
  50. DeanD.
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    It was the funniest movie ever made and i loved it.
  51. Ryan
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    Funniest movie I've seen all year...or last year for that matter.
  52. JesseD.
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    This movie was great, f@#k, yea.. the songs were awesome and the comedy and 'messages' were great ...the d**ks, p....ys, a-holes speech.....priceless i definitely have to own this movie!!
  53. MelisssaC.
    Oct 22, 2004
    9
    I didn't care for the foul language and the puppet sex could have been cut, but the point was made. Matt and Trey totally get the big picture!!
  54. DallasH.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    The best movie ever! Everyone go to it and buy it!!! AMERICA... F##K YEA!!!!!
  55. VidM.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    If you like South Park, you must see this movie.
  56. MattA
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    Great songs, and probably one of the funniest things ive seen all year. Had some lame moments, but i had an overall good time watching it.
  57. KayK.
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Could not have been funnier...You gotta have a great sense of humor...and an obscure one at that. They are such brilliant writers and I am so thankful that they exist. It was about time for someone to poke fun at all these Hollywood clowns and Matt and Trey helped push them off their soap boxes. The theme songs were hysterical...by far the funniest film I have seen in ages!
  58. ConlanM.
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    F...ing hilarious... please note this movie isn't for people who aren't open-minded.
  59. DustinK
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    This was hands down the funniest movie i've ever seen. If you dont like this movie YOU HAVE NO SENSE OF HUMOR!
  60. GG
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    Amazing movie, brilliant. I like' it very much, the humour is brilliant. And you guys who hate this film, you are way too uptight, or just idiotic patriots. Go get ya self's some sense of HUMOUR!
  61. GrahamB.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    Any film that can make someone throwing up one of the funniest scenes in the history of film deserves to win an oscar. Simply brilliant.
  62. RandiO.
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    It's awesome!!! I never laughed so hard in my life.
  63. ericw.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    Brilliant!
  64. ErwinK.
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    No Stone and Parker are NOT pro-bush! They are out to offend, and for people that are not so intelligent out there, they may think that they are pro-bush. It is a Brukheimer parody and parodies how lefties are screwing the world. It parodies that POINT OF VIEW. It does not mean that they themselves have that point of view.
  65. lilh.
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    The funniest movie i've ever seen!
  66. JohnM.
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    Funny as heck. If you can't laugh at this, you can't laugh at anything. Yes, it's rude and crude, but smart. See it. yeah.
  67. KoreyT
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Jesse H. Man, is this ever dumb. Thats irony WTF!
  68. AdamD.
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    This is another brilliant, creativly ambitous film from Matt Stone and Trey Parker.
  69. JoeyK.
    Aug 10, 2005
    9
    A brilliant movie, once again, from Matt Stone and Trey Parker. There are a lot of crude laughs, but unlike what less perceptive viewers think, that's not where the true brilliant comedy comes from. It ridicules everything, excellently. They make fun of actors and puppets, action movies and special effects, liberals and conservatives and everything else that crosses their path. And A brilliant movie, once again, from Matt Stone and Trey Parker. There are a lot of crude laughs, but unlike what less perceptive viewers think, that's not where the true brilliant comedy comes from. It ridicules everything, excellently. They make fun of actors and puppets, action movies and special effects, liberals and conservatives and everything else that crosses their path. And the movie Pearl Harbor, too. The movie makes fun of every political side, which results in an unbiased and ultimately brilliantly true stance, which leans towards no side. The ultimate analogy of three types of people as three types of genitals is so insanely perfect that anyone familiar with the news will crack up in realization of just how simply true it is, then cry at the analogy itself. One thing to mention on the topic of political non-bias, they did not ridicule a single politician. Not one politician (outside the UN, Hanz Blix got his share) was mentioned. The movie has great songs, and everything is extremely well done, and that's ridiculous for a puppet movie. If you're smart and understand world events at all, you won't be able to help marveling at the brilliance of the comedy. And if you have a sense of humor, you'll already be in stiches from the rest. Expand
  70. JohnD.
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    This is my favorite movie and also one of the best Comedy/Animation movies ever.I gotta give it 10 because the puppet violence and puppet celebs being destroyed was prices just as well as the next movie.I recomend that you watch it if you haven't.
  71. StephenT.
    May 23, 2006
    10
    This is the most funniest movie ever! I laughed and laughed!
  72. GarethC.
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    What an irreverent but brilliant film. Making this film must have been awesome. What a lot of fun. The script was inspired and the music was hilarious. I have watched this movie a few times now, and always find something new to laugh at. There are some parts I anticipate in the film and can't help laughing before it even happens. A brilliant masterpiece - even the title is spot on!What an irreverent but brilliant film. Making this film must have been awesome. What a lot of fun. The script was inspired and the music was hilarious. I have watched this movie a few times now, and always find something new to laugh at. There are some parts I anticipate in the film and can't help laughing before it even happens. A brilliant masterpiece - even the title is spot on! More of this stuff please. Expand
  73. MikeF.
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    I wish i could give this movie an 11. all these critics can go shove both thumbs up their asses. I am 22 years old and this is one of the funniest movies ive seen in my life. if you have any sense of humor and think that what we are doing all over the world being "big brother " as america is a lil too much you will cry lauhghing in this movie... i dont remember the last time my stomach I wish i could give this movie an 11. all these critics can go shove both thumbs up their asses. I am 22 years old and this is one of the funniest movies ive seen in my life. if you have any sense of humor and think that what we are doing all over the world being "big brother " as america is a lil too much you will cry lauhghing in this movie... i dont remember the last time my stomach hurt so much seeing a movie.. i think it might have been something about mary or dumb ad dumber but i think laughter wise team america wins hands down ... i give a big round of applause to matt stone and tray parker for making us laugh yet again and again and again. Expand
  74. SongK.
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    One of the funniest movies ever made. If you're easily offended, do not watch this movie. By the way I am Korean and American, and I took no offense.
  75. EddB.
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    Funniest movie iv seen in years.
  76. MonkeyPastor
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    Absolutely hilarious, especially if u love the sheer, edgy jokes from South Park. All of the laughs come from crude jokes about oral sex and using the "F" word to the maximum amount. Plot is kinda iffy.. but the who the hell cares, you going to see this movie for LAUGHS, not an amazing plot! But it still delivers one. If u feel like laughing, MUST SEE THIS MOVIE. Hilarious as hell people, Absolutely hilarious, especially if u love the sheer, edgy jokes from South Park. All of the laughs come from crude jokes about oral sex and using the "F" word to the maximum amount. Plot is kinda iffy.. but the who the hell cares, you going to see this movie for LAUGHS, not an amazing plot! But it still delivers one. If u feel like laughing, MUST SEE THIS MOVIE. Hilarious as hell people, seriously. Expand
  77. TonyB.
    Oct 19, 2004
    9
    Good movie. Great if you love the musicality of Trey Parker. It's pretty much South park on politics. Make fun of both sides, hilarity insues. Good movie, quite funny.
  78. KevinA.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Some of the sharpest satire I've seen on the silver screen. Great movie!
  79. MarkalH.
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    Great.
  80. WilliamB.
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    The movie is not for everyone. It's vulgar and childish. It is a send-up of Hollywood action films and global politics - talk about easy targets. Still, I laughed hard, nearly peeing my pants at multiple points. The comedy is absurd and, as others have pointed out, the soundtrack is priceless.
  81. WilliamM.
    Nov 24, 2005
    9
    Just plain funny.
  82. joshC
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    Clever but juvenile humor. The perfect college comedy.
  83. jj
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    Amzing best comedy film for ages, trey and matt pull another corker out the bag.
  84. holz
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    OMG puppet porn!!! so hilarious 10/10.
  85. PeterW.
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Funniest movie of last year, it was amazing. Everyone is so concerned over whether or not Parker and Stone are pro Bush, but that's not the point. What they do best is to point out the hypocrasy of EVERYONE'S views. We're all a bit hypocritical, and no matter who you are, you are mocked in this movie. The fact that there's a bit more bashing of hollywood liberals is Funniest movie of last year, it was amazing. Everyone is so concerned over whether or not Parker and Stone are pro Bush, but that's not the point. What they do best is to point out the hypocrasy of EVERYONE'S views. We're all a bit hypocritical, and no matter who you are, you are mocked in this movie. The fact that there's a bit more bashing of hollywood liberals is just because that's where they live and that's what they see the most. The best way to watch this movie is just to put your moral outrage on the shelf and laugh yourself stupid for two hours. If you can ignore any partisan feelings you may have, this is one of the most hilarious movies you'll ever see. Expand
  86. JacksonT.
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    What is wrong with critics? I laughed so hard the first time (and second and third...) I that I saw Team America that I laughed until my cheeks and my gut hurt, and I could barely breathe. I may be an immature teenager, but I still think that anyone who has a decent sense of humor and is not easily offended will find this movie utterly hilarious.
  87. SteveW.
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    Loved everything about it. The only actor that I feel should have been included that didn't make it was Barbara Streisand...one of the most egotistical, vocal self righteous actors/entertainers of them all. Would have loved to have seen her impaled by something outrageous or eatin by a bird or something. Guess you can't have it all.
  88. FredseeD.
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    Just saw this at a screening in London, where it is about to open. Should be a hit since the entire audience, including me, laughed ourselves silly. Brilliant satire, visionary comedy: Jean-Luc Godard meets Howdy Doody.
  89. JabezM.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    This is one of the funniest movies ever. While not for the easily offended, it has great appeal for everyone else. The music is brilliant, the political satire is spot on, and the attacks on all types of political correctness are relentless. Just when you think they cannot take a gag further, they go ten steps beyond. Completely over the top and hilarious. Bravo!
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Team America's strengths are in its musical numbers, especially Kim Jong Il's mournful "I'm So Ronery" (translation: "Lonely"), a heartfelt peek into the dictator's soul.
  2. There is no room for subtlety. Aiming a rude, foul-mouthed political satire everywhere -- left, right and center -- Trey Parker and Matt Stone blow up a good deal of the world, not to mention the egos of many Hollywood personalities
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    Goes the extra mile to piss off everybody -- which includes gleefully destroying renowned Hollywood liberals, literally and figuratively.