Team America: World Police

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 269

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. ChadS.
    Oct 22, 2004
    6
    Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon, and Sean Penn are not my idea of the vapid celebrity, and probably don't deserve the gory deaths imagined by Trey Parker and Matt Stone. "Seed of Chucky" has the right idea; going after a true intellectual cipher like Britney Spears, who sounds borderline retarded in "Fahrenheit 9/11". That said, "Team America: World Police" is at its funniest when Parker Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon, and Sean Penn are not my idea of the vapid celebrity, and probably don't deserve the gory deaths imagined by Trey Parker and Matt Stone. "Seed of Chucky" has the right idea; going after a true intellectual cipher like Britney Spears, who sounds borderline retarded in "Fahrenheit 9/11". That said, "Team America: World Police" is at its funniest when Parker & Stone go after Jerry Bruckenheimer. They satirize his films without any apparent exagerration. The deja vu is very strong. What Parker and Stone do here is deserving of a medal. By exposing what's banal, they're creating a more sophisticated viewer with a more discerning eye and ear for crap. Some of us were already laughing at the originals. Expand
  2. dudewhat
    Oct 31, 2004
    6
    Uneven, problematic, sometimes hilarious. Why do they hate Hollywood liberals so much? I mean, there are far bigger fish to fry, far more heinous people out there, and their tack towards Alec Baldwin et al. isn't just satiric - it's unrelentingly vicious. I mean, you would think Tim Robbins was Joseph Goebbels or something, and the movie almost implies as much. I have no problem Uneven, problematic, sometimes hilarious. Why do they hate Hollywood liberals so much? I mean, there are far bigger fish to fry, far more heinous people out there, and their tack towards Alec Baldwin et al. isn't just satiric - it's unrelentingly vicious. I mean, you would think Tim Robbins was Joseph Goebbels or something, and the movie almost implies as much. I have no problem with sharp-tongued satire, and some of the targets are worthy, but while "South Park" often has intelligent things to say about the hypocrites it lambasts, "Team America" is like a f***ing flamethrower, and not all that funny for the effort. Watch at your own risk. Expand
  3. joeh
    May 27, 2009
    4
    The directors seem to revel so much in this movies own absurdity that it never occured to them they may need a decent joke or two to carry these politically incorrect puppets across their 2 hour running time. Honestly the movie wasn't funny, and not in a "this movie's base humour falls so far below my comedic pallete that I could never laugh at the henious shenanigans displayed The directors seem to revel so much in this movies own absurdity that it never occured to them they may need a decent joke or two to carry these politically incorrect puppets across their 2 hour running time. Honestly the movie wasn't funny, and not in a "this movie's base humour falls so far below my comedic pallete that I could never laugh at the henious shenanigans displayed on screen" not funny , I just mean it wasn't funny. No decent political roasting, no poignant adressing of the issues, and not near the level of (dare I say it) intelligence that south park displays on a weekly basis. While the movie may have used the subtle fact that much of the straight faced scenes in this movie ARE stereotypically accurate of this genre, it doesn't change the fact that the directors seemed to lazy to accentuate these facts and left it to the audience to connect the dots. Only in the music (which earned this movie a four) did I find the more biting, mean spirited satire I've come to expect from these two. It's a pity, because one can see the potential contained within this movie, and all the effort and hard work the artistic crew poured into it as well, but bad writing is bad writing, puppets or not. Expand
  4. TomJ.
    Oct 11, 2004
    4
    With a heavy heart, I must admit that Team America was a disappointment. Aside from the extremely crude language, this film was much tamer than I hoped it would be. My sense is that Mssrs. Parker and Stone do better work under the constraints of cable TV. That is, they can't get away with nearly as much cursing on TV, so they slaughter cultural sacred cows instead. But when With a heavy heart, I must admit that Team America was a disappointment. Aside from the extremely crude language, this film was much tamer than I hoped it would be. My sense is that Mssrs. Parker and Stone do better work under the constraints of cable TV. That is, they can't get away with nearly as much cursing on TV, so they slaughter cultural sacred cows instead. But when they're endowed with the liberties an R rating affords, they seem to be satisfied with just being really crude. Maybe small town Colorado life is a more fertile source of humor than the war on terror. It's also possible that this movie was made too hastily. Whatever the cause, the result is that Team America is a lot less barbed and intelligent than a typical South Park episode. If this film turns out to be a flop, my big fear is that the studios will be discouraged from making puppet movies in the future. That would be a sad consequence, because there is absolutely nothing wrong with puppet movies per se. In fact, we could use a lot more of them. Expand
  5. Matt
    Nov 8, 2004
    4
    Clever premise and use of puppets, but the novelty wore off very quickly. The movie was billed as making fun of everyone/everything but it struck me that the vast majority of jokes were anti-gay/homophobic (do Trey and Matt have something to hide?) This should've been reduced to a shorter film.
  6. TravisC
    Oct 24, 2004
    5
    Sadly, much like "Shaun of the Dead," the movie promised to be among the funniest of the year, yet fell sadly short. Some of the jokes were funny, but Parker and Stone continue their increasingly wide scope of uniformed political commentary, which they are increasingly bad at. All in all, a let down.
  7. Shay
    Oct 25, 2004
    5
    The first 30 to 45 minutes were hilarious but after that the jokes seemed to be a little repetitive. Could have been a lot better.
  8. PatC.
    Sep 26, 2005
    5
    I personally enjoyed this movie, with its audaciousness, blanket ridicule and underlying message, but critically I can't say it was that good. At first I was put off by the puppet format, but quickly realized it was necessary, as real actors would not have been able, and probably not willing, to pull it off. Unfortunately, it's creators didn't stay tuned in to the I personally enjoyed this movie, with its audaciousness, blanket ridicule and underlying message, but critically I can't say it was that good. At first I was put off by the puppet format, but quickly realized it was necessary, as real actors would not have been able, and probably not willing, to pull it off. Unfortunately, it's creators didn't stay tuned in to the brilliance of their concept, and allowed the project to capitulate to its smutty decives. They were working, but were pushed too far, at least for my sensibilities. Expand
  9. SteveE.
    Oct 29, 2006
    4
    Funny-ish first time, but has NO replay value AT ALL. Plus it's too popular, that also wrecks it.
  10. EaghanD.
    Oct 14, 2004
    4
    First off, Orgazmo was horrible. If Orgazmo was a "3," South Park: The Movie was Pi to the power of a million. Team America was nice. Funny. Clever. But it all is starting to seem a little tired, a little formulaic. Compared to "Napoleon Dynamite," this is Noel Coward. But on its own merits, it's fine . . . some good yuks, but that's it.
  11. CameronO.
    Oct 23, 2004
    5
    If you really dissect the politics of this movie, you realize that it's pretty whimpy point-of-view. Go after everyone: liberals, crazy Koreans, Hollywood, hawks, etc. No doubt, the idea of being told to "Vote or Die" by the likes of Mya, Paris Hilton and P. Diddy makes one want to vomit Gary Johnston style. But I wished the movie had more balls. And too much of the comedy was flat, If you really dissect the politics of this movie, you realize that it's pretty whimpy point-of-view. Go after everyone: liberals, crazy Koreans, Hollywood, hawks, etc. No doubt, the idea of being told to "Vote or Die" by the likes of Mya, Paris Hilton and P. Diddy makes one want to vomit Gary Johnston style. But I wished the movie had more balls. And too much of the comedy was flat, with boring stretches. Expand
  12. AlbertW.
    Oct 25, 2004
    6
    I'm surprised this movie has bombed so hard at the box office. It's obviously timely, often hilarious and stunningly produced. But it's not even close to South Park the Movie. Damn shame for Matt and Trey that they deferred all their fees. A helluva lotta work for no cash!
  13. StevenH.
    Mar 25, 2005
    4
    The best scene in the entire movie was when the lead puppet puked his guts out. That was the funniest thing I have seen in a long time. But the rest was too perverted and I keep wondering if Trey and Matt are gay. One thing is for sure is that they are Pro Bush, this I had confirmed. But then again, in a matter of a year or two they will no longer be on TV so, we better sit and watch The best scene in the entire movie was when the lead puppet puked his guts out. That was the funniest thing I have seen in a long time. But the rest was too perverted and I keep wondering if Trey and Matt are gay. One thing is for sure is that they are Pro Bush, this I had confirmed. But then again, in a matter of a year or two they will no longer be on TV so, we better sit and watch South Park while we can. I am Anti Bush, why in Gods name are these two so angry and why the hell do they hate so many people is beyond me. I'd like them to make a piece on Bush for once on South Park. OR them selves. Expand
  14. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    When you see a film by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, you know you're gonna be getting two things. A lot of really stupid moments, that only they get, and moments of pure comic genius. Team America is your typical mix of both. What makes this movie amazing is that they do it all with puppets. Everything from action sequences to sex scenes are all done entirely with puppets. Their songs areWhen you see a film by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, you know you're gonna be getting two things. A lot of really stupid moments, that only they get, and moments of pure comic genius. Team America is your typical mix of both. What makes this movie amazing is that they do it all with puppets. Everything from action sequences to sex scenes are all done entirely with puppets. Their songs are hysterical as usual and the characters are great, but unlike most Parker and Stone movies, The story isn't very strong. To be honest, it got really old, really fast, and by the end, I couldn't wait for it to be over. You should see it for its funny moments, but overall it's not their best work. Expand
  15. Oct 7, 2014
    5
    Objectively, Team America is a horrible, horrible film. Offensive, formulaic, over the top, and poorly done (puppet-wise and direction-wise), Team America has very few redeeming qualities in terms of art. However, I will be damned if this is not one of the funniest films I have seen. I am not somebody who watches a ton of South Park, but in spite of every negative in this one, I canObjectively, Team America is a horrible, horrible film. Offensive, formulaic, over the top, and poorly done (puppet-wise and direction-wise), Team America has very few redeeming qualities in terms of art. However, I will be damned if this is not one of the funniest films I have seen. I am not somebody who watches a ton of South Park, but in spite of every negative in this one, I can undoubtedly see the appeal and it is on full display here as joke after joke works and, in truth, this one makes numerous very interesting stances politics. Again, this is not the film for you if you want to see something artisitic. Rather, it is for you if you do not mind seeing some offensive moments covered with some hilarious jokes that will leave you in stitches throughout. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Team America's strengths are in its musical numbers, especially Kim Jong Il's mournful "I'm So Ronery" (translation: "Lonely"), a heartfelt peek into the dictator's soul.
  2. There is no room for subtlety. Aiming a rude, foul-mouthed political satire everywhere -- left, right and center -- Trey Parker and Matt Stone blow up a good deal of the world, not to mention the egos of many Hollywood personalities
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    Goes the extra mile to piss off everybody -- which includes gleefully destroying renowned Hollywood liberals, literally and figuratively.