Team America: World Police

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 271

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 3, 2016
    9
    I wasn't really sure what to expect from "Team America" since it said "by the makers of South Park" at the cover of the DVD box and I'm not exactly a "South Park" fan, so I feared for the worst. I was pleasantly surprised it turned out to be a refreshingly original combination of satire and a bit less "civilised" humor. The idea of using puppets works great with this concept and it leftI wasn't really sure what to expect from "Team America" since it said "by the makers of South Park" at the cover of the DVD box and I'm not exactly a "South Park" fan, so I feared for the worst. I was pleasantly surprised it turned out to be a refreshingly original combination of satire and a bit less "civilised" humor. The idea of using puppets works great with this concept and it left space for a lot of original visual humor and made the spoof songs feel less forced then it would have been with real actors. Although not all the jokes worked out for me for various reasons, this is one of the few movies I've seen the last few years that actually made me laugh out loud. So would I recommend this film? F*** yeah! Watch it with some friends and you'll have a h*** of a good time. Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2015
    8
    Trey Parker and Matt stone always seem to have an arsenal of crude, racist, disgusting and quite frankly politically inconsiderate jokes at their hands. And in this movie they certainly deliver. To this day, the dick speech remains one of the best comedy scenes of all time and their portrayal of stereotypes is done so well that if you were going to take this movie seriously, you would beTrey Parker and Matt stone always seem to have an arsenal of crude, racist, disgusting and quite frankly politically inconsiderate jokes at their hands. And in this movie they certainly deliver. To this day, the dick speech remains one of the best comedy scenes of all time and their portrayal of stereotypes is done so well that if you were going to take this movie seriously, you would be pretty illogical to do so. Hilarious. Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2014
    5
    Objectively, Team America is a horrible, horrible film. Offensive, formulaic, over the top, and poorly done (puppet-wise and direction-wise), Team America has very few redeeming qualities in terms of art. However, I will be damned if this is not one of the funniest films I have seen. I am not somebody who watches a ton of South Park, but in spite of every negative in this one, I canObjectively, Team America is a horrible, horrible film. Offensive, formulaic, over the top, and poorly done (puppet-wise and direction-wise), Team America has very few redeeming qualities in terms of art. However, I will be damned if this is not one of the funniest films I have seen. I am not somebody who watches a ton of South Park, but in spite of every negative in this one, I can undoubtedly see the appeal and it is on full display here as joke after joke works and, in truth, this one makes numerous very interesting stances politics. Again, this is not the film for you if you want to see something artisitic. Rather, it is for you if you do not mind seeing some offensive moments covered with some hilarious jokes that will leave you in stitches throughout. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    A movie that heavily relies on shock value, and is designed to be offensive. It is the type of film you should get at a Charity Shop or Car Boot Sale for £3 or under. However, the music is very memorable.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    Delivers the laughs with Parker & Stone's usual antics, but what makes this comedy fresh is the hilarious use of puppets, catchy songs and making light of a serious situation.
  6. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    This movie was so stupid, but so funny. Definetly worth watching. NOT for kids. But if you like south park, you will like this alot. It's the same kind of humor except they didn't need to hold back like they do on comedy central.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Team America saves the world.
    An incredibly raunchy, extremely offensive, and in some moments a cringe worthy sickening puppet comedy; turns out to be down right hilarious. The laughs will make your jaw hurt.
  8. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This is such a funny movie. People who don't like this movie fail to realize it's a spoof movie, a parody, making fun of America. Trey Parker and Matt Stone come out with another hilarious film.
    It has an awesome theme song, it makes fun Kim Jong Il, all involving puppets.
    Now that's funny.
  9. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    When you see a film by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, you know you're gonna be getting two things. A lot of really stupid moments, that only they get, and moments of pure comic genius. Team America is your typical mix of both. What makes this movie amazing is that they do it all with puppets. Everything from action sequences to sex scenes are all done entirely with puppets. Their songs areWhen you see a film by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, you know you're gonna be getting two things. A lot of really stupid moments, that only they get, and moments of pure comic genius. Team America is your typical mix of both. What makes this movie amazing is that they do it all with puppets. Everything from action sequences to sex scenes are all done entirely with puppets. Their songs are hysterical as usual and the characters are great, but unlike most Parker and Stone movies, The story isn't very strong. To be honest, it got really old, really fast, and by the end, I couldn't wait for it to be over. You should see it for its funny moments, but overall it's not their best work. Expand
  10. Feb 2, 2013
    1
    Perhaps "Team America: World Police" just hasn't aged well, but this 'comedy' just isn't all that funny. Whereas other comedies have redeeming qualities, the slow pace and the writers' ability to take overdrawn jokes (which weren't humorous to begin with) and repeatedly smash you in the face with them, Team America is a good idea that fails in execution.
  11. Jan 29, 2013
    3
    Not what i was excepting. I hoped for an Action-Adventure genre but came a appaling movie. They use great movie actors as bad guys and bland humuor makes it bad. You like bad comedy or cheesy fails you would like this ( LIKE this movie.).
  12. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Picture South Park, but with puppets made to look like actors and famous people. They make the expressionless puppets look so dramatic and like such good actors that after seeing this movie I am convinced it is not the actors or acting that makes a great movie, but the directing. Similar to South Park which was created by the same creators, this movie contains a lot of obscene scenes andPicture South Park, but with puppets made to look like actors and famous people. They make the expressionless puppets look so dramatic and like such good actors that after seeing this movie I am convinced it is not the actors or acting that makes a great movie, but the directing. Similar to South Park which was created by the same creators, this movie contains a lot of obscene scenes and potty humour, but it is done well. A couple of scenes just start off really obscene and bad, but actually go on for much longer than they should and get much worse as they go on to shock you and gross you out even more! It is great! They basically turn Matt Daemon into a retard like Timmy from the South Park show and Kim Jong II the leader of North Korea (at the time of the original release) into Cartman, it is hilarious! There are also great satirical musical numbers in this movie too. I did not like it as much as the South Park movie, but it was still great. 10/10 Expand
  13. Oct 1, 2011
    7
    "Team America: World Police" is one hell of a funny puppet show that displays a surprising mix of several different genres.
  14. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    if i was gona do a top 3 funniest movies of the decade this film would be in there . i love how they take micheal bay and jerry bruckhiemers style of film making and poke fun of it and **** all over it HAHAHA. there are alot of great and funny as hell moments in this film . the sound track is easily the funniest one in film history . i mean "pearl harbor sucks alittle more then i miss you"if i was gona do a top 3 funniest movies of the decade this film would be in there . i love how they take micheal bay and jerry bruckhiemers style of film making and poke fun of it and **** all over it HAHAHA. there are alot of great and funny as hell moments in this film . the sound track is easily the funniest one in film history . i mean "pearl harbor sucks alittle more then i miss you" ROFL!!! suck it micheal bay!!! im glad that matt and trey hate him as much as i do. the only thing that was alittle off to me was the whole puppet sex thing . i coulda done with out that but otherwise this is one of the few films i can wach over and over again and still laugh. Expand
  15. OtisP
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This movie rocks and the soundtrack is the best ever made.
  16. JohnJ
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    Its good cos I though it was good.
  17. joeh
    May 27, 2009
    4
    The directors seem to revel so much in this movies own absurdity that it never occured to them they may need a decent joke or two to carry these politically incorrect puppets across their 2 hour running time. Honestly the movie wasn't funny, and not in a "this movie's base humour falls so far below my comedic pallete that I could never laugh at the henious shenanigans displayed The directors seem to revel so much in this movies own absurdity that it never occured to them they may need a decent joke or two to carry these politically incorrect puppets across their 2 hour running time. Honestly the movie wasn't funny, and not in a "this movie's base humour falls so far below my comedic pallete that I could never laugh at the henious shenanigans displayed on screen" not funny , I just mean it wasn't funny. No decent political roasting, no poignant adressing of the issues, and not near the level of (dare I say it) intelligence that south park displays on a weekly basis. While the movie may have used the subtle fact that much of the straight faced scenes in this movie ARE stereotypically accurate of this genre, it doesn't change the fact that the directors seemed to lazy to accentuate these facts and left it to the audience to connect the dots. Only in the music (which earned this movie a four) did I find the more biting, mean spirited satire I've come to expect from these two. It's a pity, because one can see the potential contained within this movie, and all the effort and hard work the artistic crew poured into it as well, but bad writing is bad writing, puppets or not. Expand
  18. SteveW.
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    Loved everything about it. The only actor that I feel should have been included that didn't make it was Barbara Streisand...one of the most egotistical, vocal self righteous actors/entertainers of them all. Would have loved to have seen her impaled by something outrageous or eatin by a bird or something. Guess you can't have it all.
  19. GerrickC.
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Thunderbirds meets South Park. That is esentially what Team America is. It is very funny, extremely offensive, and totally reeks of South Park. If you like South Park, then you will find love in Team America.
  20. JabezM.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    This is one of the funniest movies ever. While not for the easily offended, it has great appeal for everyone else. The music is brilliant, the political satire is spot on, and the attacks on all types of political correctness are relentless. Just when you think they cannot take a gag further, they go ten steps beyond. Completely over the top and hilarious. Bravo!
  21. SteveE.
    Oct 29, 2006
    4
    Funny-ish first time, but has NO replay value AT ALL. Plus it's too popular, that also wrecks it.
  22. GarethC.
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    What an irreverent but brilliant film. Making this film must have been awesome. What a lot of fun. The script was inspired and the music was hilarious. I have watched this movie a few times now, and always find something new to laugh at. There are some parts I anticipate in the film and can't help laughing before it even happens. A brilliant masterpiece - even the title is spot on!What an irreverent but brilliant film. Making this film must have been awesome. What a lot of fun. The script was inspired and the music was hilarious. I have watched this movie a few times now, and always find something new to laugh at. There are some parts I anticipate in the film and can't help laughing before it even happens. A brilliant masterpiece - even the title is spot on! More of this stuff please. Expand
  23. MichaelC.
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    For someone very interested in world affairs, but not a fan of South Park or puppets, I was very skeptical of this film. Brilliant and hilarious, this film is an equal opportunity satire of both conservatives and liberals. Most of the "offensive" material actually uncovers unpleasant truths underlying the attitudes, people and state of our world. Highly recommended for anyone with an open For someone very interested in world affairs, but not a fan of South Park or puppets, I was very skeptical of this film. Brilliant and hilarious, this film is an equal opportunity satire of both conservatives and liberals. Most of the "offensive" material actually uncovers unpleasant truths underlying the attitudes, people and state of our world. Highly recommended for anyone with an open mind about exposing (by hilarious ridicule and hyperbole) the polarized nature of our present social and political environment. An extremely entertaining film for the "juvenile" mind that also provokes thought about our world for the "mature" mind. Expand
  24. B.S.
    Jul 26, 2006
    2
    When I heard about the movie I thought it sounded great, a good old piss take aimed at the people who deserve it most , indeed I was most excited to see it. Sadly it was terrible. The visuals were quite stunning but the script was appaling, jokes were thin and even the spoofed plot could've been written by a thirteen year old. C'mon guys how cab "everybodys got aids aids aids" When I heard about the movie I thought it sounded great, a good old piss take aimed at the people who deserve it most , indeed I was most excited to see it. Sadly it was terrible. The visuals were quite stunning but the script was appaling, jokes were thin and even the spoofed plot could've been written by a thirteen year old. C'mon guys how cab "everybodys got aids aids aids" be funny, I'm not saying I was oofended but compared to memories like 'good aids, bad aids" from Brass eye it was terrible. A shocker. Expand
  25. RichardJ.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    I love the work of Matt and Trey and to be honest this is better then all the south park stuff they have done! I can't believe people find faults in it, this was so original. Perhaps they didn't like it as it took the piss out of Americans too much, infact that's what was so funny about it! Very clever film and so watchable! Sequel please but if not another one like this I love the work of Matt and Trey and to be honest this is better then all the south park stuff they have done! I can't believe people find faults in it, this was so original. Perhaps they didn't like it as it took the piss out of Americans too much, infact that's what was so funny about it! Very clever film and so watchable! Sequel please but if not another one like this again please! The humour is actually not vey juvenile compared to South Parks' and how the concept was done was very thought out! Critics if you want to slate the film, come up with a better arguement! I know why critics do slate it anyway because your jealous that Matt and Trey are so smart and original! Expand
  26. StephenT.
    May 23, 2006
    10
    This is the most funniest movie ever! I laughed and laughed!
  27. JacksonT.
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    What is wrong with critics? I laughed so hard the first time (and second and third...) I that I saw Team America that I laughed until my cheeks and my gut hurt, and I could barely breathe. I may be an immature teenager, but I still think that anyone who has a decent sense of humor and is not easily offended will find this movie utterly hilarious.
  28. JohnD.
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    This is my favorite movie and also one of the best Comedy/Animation movies ever.I gotta give it 10 because the puppet violence and puppet celebs being destroyed was prices just as well as the next movie.I recomend that you watch it if you haven't.
  29. joshC
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    Clever but juvenile humor. The perfect college comedy.
  30. WilliamM.
    Nov 24, 2005
    9
    Just plain funny.
  31. jon
    Oct 12, 2005
    7
    It's actually funny that is if you can stand the extremely disgusting humor.
  32. PatC.
    Sep 26, 2005
    5
    I personally enjoyed this movie, with its audaciousness, blanket ridicule and underlying message, but critically I can't say it was that good. At first I was put off by the puppet format, but quickly realized it was necessary, as real actors would not have been able, and probably not willing, to pull it off. Unfortunately, it's creators didn't stay tuned in to the I personally enjoyed this movie, with its audaciousness, blanket ridicule and underlying message, but critically I can't say it was that good. At first I was put off by the puppet format, but quickly realized it was necessary, as real actors would not have been able, and probably not willing, to pull it off. Unfortunately, it's creators didn't stay tuned in to the brilliance of their concept, and allowed the project to capitulate to its smutty decives. They were working, but were pushed too far, at least for my sensibilities. Expand
  33. JoeyK.
    Aug 10, 2005
    9
    A brilliant movie, once again, from Matt Stone and Trey Parker. There are a lot of crude laughs, but unlike what less perceptive viewers think, that's not where the true brilliant comedy comes from. It ridicules everything, excellently. They make fun of actors and puppets, action movies and special effects, liberals and conservatives and everything else that crosses their path. And A brilliant movie, once again, from Matt Stone and Trey Parker. There are a lot of crude laughs, but unlike what less perceptive viewers think, that's not where the true brilliant comedy comes from. It ridicules everything, excellently. They make fun of actors and puppets, action movies and special effects, liberals and conservatives and everything else that crosses their path. And the movie Pearl Harbor, too. The movie makes fun of every political side, which results in an unbiased and ultimately brilliantly true stance, which leans towards no side. The ultimate analogy of three types of people as three types of genitals is so insanely perfect that anyone familiar with the news will crack up in realization of just how simply true it is, then cry at the analogy itself. One thing to mention on the topic of political non-bias, they did not ridicule a single politician. Not one politician (outside the UN, Hanz Blix got his share) was mentioned. The movie has great songs, and everything is extremely well done, and that's ridiculous for a puppet movie. If you're smart and understand world events at all, you won't be able to help marveling at the brilliance of the comedy. And if you have a sense of humor, you'll already be in stiches from the rest. Expand
  34. RichardS
    Aug 8, 2005
    3
    Over-rated, only a few laughs, unnecessarily crude and stupid to the stage it's just not funny. Might have been funny as a 15 minute short. Maybe.
  35. FrankW.
    Jul 8, 2005
    9
    I want to give this movie a lower score than this. It doesn't deserve to be as funny as it is, but I haven't laughed this hard at a movie since, well, the South Park movie. If you're a liberal, like me, this movie will offend you. If you're conservative this movie will offend you. But you know what? I don't care how politcally incorrect it is. Any movie that can I want to give this movie a lower score than this. It doesn't deserve to be as funny as it is, but I haven't laughed this hard at a movie since, well, the South Park movie. If you're a liberal, like me, this movie will offend you. If you're conservative this movie will offend you. But you know what? I don't care how politcally incorrect it is. Any movie that can accurately describe the three types of people in this world using only genetallia has got to be worth something. Do I agree with the movie's politics? Ultimately, after several viewings, I'm pretty sure that the movie doesn't have much of a stance at all. Conservatives are rude, reckless and ignorant, not caring who they kill to get their job done and to promote their way of life. Liberals are whiners who talk on and on about ideals that aren't realistic, mainly because they do nothing but whine about them. Maybe what this movie really suggests is that no matter who you are, you probably suck, but you should be able to laugh at your hypocrisy. Team America doesn't make much of a political statement for either side, but it's hard to care when it's as funny as this. Expand
  36. AdamD.
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    This is another brilliant, creativly ambitous film from Matt Stone and Trey Parker.
  37. bradleyt.
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    I think this movie is fantastic and halarious how could you just give it a seven.9 4 a movie with puppets i was laugin all nite i think its top.
  38. JohnM.
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    Funny as heck. If you can't laugh at this, you can't laugh at anything. Yes, it's rude and crude, but smart. See it. yeah.
  39. StephenP.
    Jun 17, 2005
    8
    Was going to say 10 but what if something came out that was better so then was going to say 9 etc could not possibly go lower than 8. Who cares who's gay, who it insults wouldn't like to spend more than 10 minutes with anyone who objects to this film, bored now got to go xxxx.
  40. lilh.
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    The funniest movie i've ever seen!
  41. ericw.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    Brilliant!
  42. Jonathan
    Jun 12, 2005
    8
    I'm really irritated by ill informed people offering their opinions on satire without understanding satire. If you don't understand satire, then how can you possibly understand post modern satire? Not only do Parker and Stone use satire, they poke fun at satire itself, acknowledging its inability to uplift debate in a culture as debased as ours. Perhaps you could call their I'm really irritated by ill informed people offering their opinions on satire without understanding satire. If you don't understand satire, then how can you possibly understand post modern satire? Not only do Parker and Stone use satire, they poke fun at satire itself, acknowledging its inability to uplift debate in a culture as debased as ours. Perhaps you could call their style a parody of satire, if that makes any sense. At any rate, they are obviously left of center and embarassed by the earnestness of the likes of Sean Penn and other humorless Hollywood types. After a while it gets boring making fun of the right wing so you take some shots at your own side. Why waste your time making fun of someone who all the smart people already know is stupid (like the president)? Expand
  43. moviecritc
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Anyone who does not think this movie is funny, must have something up their butt, this is one of the funniest movies of all time in my opinion, and that is a bold statement, i watched this movie several times and laughed eveytime, i laughed so hard i was crying, i would recomend this movie to almost anyone, i think the people who dont like this movie , either did not get it or they are Anyone who does not think this movie is funny, must have something up their butt, this is one of the funniest movies of all time in my opinion, and that is a bold statement, i watched this movie several times and laughed eveytime, i laughed so hard i was crying, i would recomend this movie to almost anyone, i think the people who dont like this movie , either did not get it or they are just way too uptight, i think some people think they are too mature to watch a movie with puppets and that it has to be dumb, but watch and see for yourself a total package with great songs. 1 more note i dont understand how some people thought napoleon dynamite was funny and this movie was not, some people just like things because its by MTV, sorry but that movie was not funny! Expand
  44. KoreyT
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Jesse H. Man, is this ever dumb. Thats irony WTF!
  45. GreggF.
    Jun 6, 2005
    2
    Purile effort. Rude and crude is not a reasonable substitution for entertainment. On top of that it was boring to boot.
  46. RussB
    Jun 5, 2005
    2
    Has its moments, but overdoes the sight gags. Good was cancelled out by the thin plot and overkill.
  47. ArmondA.
    Jun 4, 2005
    8
    After reading the comments on this very website I had to see what the argument was all about, so I bought the disc, and I've just wrapped up two very enjoyable hours. It so happened that I was on my own tonight, which is not the way I like to see a comedy. The dog did give me a quizzical look a couple of times as I was guffawing myself into a coughing fit. Is it funny? Yes, exactly After reading the comments on this very website I had to see what the argument was all about, so I bought the disc, and I've just wrapped up two very enjoyable hours. It so happened that I was on my own tonight, which is not the way I like to see a comedy. The dog did give me a quizzical look a couple of times as I was guffawing myself into a coughing fit. Is it funny? Yes, exactly the way South Park is funny, and they even demonstrate that they can be even funnier when they aren't banging up against the tv censor's foolish boundaries. Stone and Parker are ridiculously vulgar, and it's just hilarious. The only rub with these fellows is that the people who they're toughest on might give them a hard time for being politically incorrect but when that side of the political spectrum actually is in power they steer clear of making laws that interfere with free speech. The good-old boy citizens on the right side of the aisle are all for calling a spade a spade, but they'll slap a million dollar fine on you for showing a nippl;e on the boob tube (and that's downright silly.) I'll give these boys an A for comedy and an F for political reasoning. They're as intellectually lazy as Michael Moore...BUT MUCH FUNNIER. Expand
  48. RobD.
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    People have several misconceptions about this film that i've noticed. First off, the movie is not anti-liberal. Trey and Matt don't hate Hollywood liberals for being liberal, they hate them for thinking that their status makes their opinion more special than everyone else's. Second, Trey and Matt are not pro-Bush. They hate all politicians and happen to find republicans People have several misconceptions about this film that i've noticed. First off, the movie is not anti-liberal. Trey and Matt don't hate Hollywood liberals for being liberal, they hate them for thinking that their status makes their opinion more special than everyone else's. Second, Trey and Matt are not pro-Bush. They hate all politicians and happen to find republicans particularly ignorant. The reason they don't make fun of bush is because they don't want to be like Michael Moore or other people who get rich by critiqing politicians. And lastly, Trey and Matt aren't gay. Any straight guys under 25 will admit to making sexual innuendo as a gay joke... Moving on, the only flaw with this movie is that it just isn't as fillarious the first time around, but the first time you might lose breath from laughing. Expand
  49. ErwinK.
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    No Stone and Parker are NOT pro-bush! They are out to offend, and for people that are not so intelligent out there, they may think that they are pro-bush. It is a Brukheimer parody and parodies how lefties are screwing the world. It parodies that POINT OF VIEW. It does not mean that they themselves have that point of view.
  50. JesseH.
    Jun 1, 2005
    0
    Man, is this ever dumb.
  51. jayman
    May 25, 2005
    10
    Hilarious!!!!! Does comedy have to be filled with four letter words and fecal matter....as another reviewer put it. Yeah!!!!! My gut still hurts from last December when I saw this in theatres.
  52. Rico
    May 24, 2005
    3
    Is comedy funny when it's reduced to the use of four letter words and fecal sight gags? I don't think so. Are we 8 year olds? Nope. My hat is off to the puppeteers and all the people who built the wonderful sets. this is the only reason it deserved a 3.
  53. Mobius
    May 23, 2005
    10
    If you find southpark funny and find stone & parker's humor funny then you are going to piss yourself with this film. and all you other reviewers who go on about being pro or against bush please take your polictical view elsewhere.
  54. PeterW.
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Funniest movie of last year, it was amazing. Everyone is so concerned over whether or not Parker and Stone are pro Bush, but that's not the point. What they do best is to point out the hypocrasy of EVERYONE'S views. We're all a bit hypocritical, and no matter who you are, you are mocked in this movie. The fact that there's a bit more bashing of hollywood liberals is Funniest movie of last year, it was amazing. Everyone is so concerned over whether or not Parker and Stone are pro Bush, but that's not the point. What they do best is to point out the hypocrasy of EVERYONE'S views. We're all a bit hypocritical, and no matter who you are, you are mocked in this movie. The fact that there's a bit more bashing of hollywood liberals is just because that's where they live and that's what they see the most. The best way to watch this movie is just to put your moral outrage on the shelf and laugh yourself stupid for two hours. If you can ignore any partisan feelings you may have, this is one of the most hilarious movies you'll ever see. Expand
  55. JordanN.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    What a movie it was the best flim i've seen in a while.The puppet sex was also the funnyest think i've ever seen in the cinema its worth the money!!
  56. StevenH.
    Mar 25, 2005
    4
    The best scene in the entire movie was when the lead puppet puked his guts out. That was the funniest thing I have seen in a long time. But the rest was too perverted and I keep wondering if Trey and Matt are gay. One thing is for sure is that they are Pro Bush, this I had confirmed. But then again, in a matter of a year or two they will no longer be on TV so, we better sit and watch The best scene in the entire movie was when the lead puppet puked his guts out. That was the funniest thing I have seen in a long time. But the rest was too perverted and I keep wondering if Trey and Matt are gay. One thing is for sure is that they are Pro Bush, this I had confirmed. But then again, in a matter of a year or two they will no longer be on TV so, we better sit and watch South Park while we can. I am Anti Bush, why in Gods name are these two so angry and why the hell do they hate so many people is beyond me. I'd like them to make a piece on Bush for once on South Park. OR them selves. Expand
  57. SerenaM.
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    The movie has a slightly anti-Liberal Establishment bias, and for this reason alone it has been virtually ignored by Hollywood. It is a daring, brave, hilarious film with the most gut-burstingly funny sex scene I've ever, ever watched.
  58. RandiO.
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    It's awesome!!! I never laughed so hard in my life.
  59. BrodieM.
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    Great movie, extremly funny, best comedy for the year.
  60. GrahamB.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    Any film that can make someone throwing up one of the funniest scenes in the history of film deserves to win an oscar. Simply brilliant.
  61. Anna
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    The movie is AWESOME! I'd say it's worth spending my money!
  62. LuigiP.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    I really enjoyed the humourous way in which Team America pays out typical conservatives. I like Mike Moore - and what they did to him was fine by me! Ben Afflectk (Parker & Stones favourite targe) still gets a nice serve too. Put simply - if you like South Park, you'll love Team America. F*^k Yeah! the typical society views on all aspects of how we treat "peace".
  63. TheElusivePossom
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    FUNNIEST MOVIE EVER put simply. Laugh-a-minute puppet fun, beautiful women and catchy songs make this the hit it was built up to be. It seems that anyone who doesn't like/understand this film is eager to outwardly express themselves to be really stupid (see Ben S's comment). Best sex scene ever, and no comedy will likely come close in years. Stone and Parker are gods.
  64. holz
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    OMG puppet porn!!! so hilarious 10/10.
  65. jj
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    Amzing best comedy film for ages, trey and matt pull another corker out the bag.
  66. GG
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    Amazing movie, brilliant. I like' it very much, the humour is brilliant. And you guys who hate this film, you are way too uptight, or just idiotic patriots. Go get ya self's some sense of HUMOUR!
  67. RichardT.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    This movie is bare jokes; it is one of those movies that offers a great break from the hum-drum of reality - full of 'wannabe' epic scenes, and shear frontinity!!! an enjoyable watch and definately worth ones buck. Hardly a Ben Hur, Boiler Room, or an I-robot, but for its category (comedy) its top of the game!
  68. DustinK
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    This was hands down the funniest movie i've ever seen. If you dont like this movie YOU HAVE NO SENSE OF HUMOR!
  69. BenS
    Jan 18, 2005
    0
    Awful! the number 0 is a compliment to this film (in fact the word film is a compliment) this was the worst fiver i ever spent in my entire life. It wasn't funny in the slightest and i have an extrmely crude sense of humour it was simply lame and a terrible piece of comedy cinema. I smiled twice. laughed never. almost threw up not because of how disgusting they desperately treied to Awful! the number 0 is a compliment to this film (in fact the word film is a compliment) this was the worst fiver i ever spent in my entire life. It wasn't funny in the slightest and i have an extrmely crude sense of humour it was simply lame and a terrible piece of comedy cinema. I smiled twice. laughed never. almost threw up not because of how disgusting they desperately treied to make it (and failed) but simply how bored, embarressed and simply insulted i was by this terrible piece of cinema. In terms of conetnt there was the odd humerous line, however there was also humerous liens in schindlers List, However you dont see peopel laughign at Schindlers List just as i hope never to see people laughing at Team America. Thankyou for your time. (and for those who email me asking why i am waisting my time typing this. my answer is simple. I have already waisted a perfect eveneing...hell i may aswell waist it all. thankyou. Expand
  70. ClintonP.
    Jan 14, 2005
    8
    Trey and Matt do it again! They keep me reaching back to that 13 year old malcontent I always wished I could be.
  71. Mr.Blonde
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Great satiric movie which spoofs the bush administration as well as the blockbuster crap from hollywood.
  72. MarkalH.
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    Great.
  73. AlexM.
    Dec 21, 2004
    7
    Firstly, if you don't like the humour of South Park, you will not like this film. It pushes shock-comedy to a new level (low or high depends upon your opinion) and a new medium puppetry. The production of this film is spectacular and there was an even mix of subtle cleverness to complete toilet humour to appreciate. The reason I couldn't give it a higher score is because it left Firstly, if you don't like the humour of South Park, you will not like this film. It pushes shock-comedy to a new level (low or high depends upon your opinion) and a new medium puppetry. The production of this film is spectacular and there was an even mix of subtle cleverness to complete toilet humour to appreciate. The reason I couldn't give it a higher score is because it left me very confused on what Trey's Political stance is, maybe he's just attacking anyone for having an opinion on Terrorist/Global politics. Expand
  74. FredseeD.
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    Just saw this at a screening in London, where it is about to open. Should be a hit since the entire audience, including me, laughed ourselves silly. Brilliant satire, visionary comedy: Jean-Luc Godard meets Howdy Doody.
  75. GregK.
    Dec 11, 2004
    3
    Some parts were funny, but they attack the wrong people, the puppets are funny, and the songs are, but thats it. I didn't find it offensive like some, but it seems like they were trying to be sarcastic and just came off as truthful. It seems the people they agree with, are who they attacked. I thought it was gonna be anti bush or something, instead it was like pro bush.
  76. DecepticonPom
    Dec 9, 2004
    7
    The most original production from the teenage-filmakers-in-adult-bodies for quite some time. Refreshingly different than anything else seen in cinema for some time. However let down by some slightly blunt writing and tired staples of the writers that simply don't shock anymore.
  77. KayK.
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Could not have been funnier...You gotta have a great sense of humor...and an obscure one at that. They are such brilliant writers and I am so thankful that they exist. It was about time for someone to poke fun at all these Hollywood clowns and Matt and Trey helped push them off their soap boxes. The theme songs were hysterical...by far the funniest film I have seen in ages!
  78. Matt
    Nov 8, 2004
    4
    Clever premise and use of puppets, but the novelty wore off very quickly. The movie was billed as making fun of everyone/everything but it struck me that the vast majority of jokes were anti-gay/homophobic (do Trey and Matt have something to hide?) This should've been reduced to a shorter film.
  79. EricY.
    Oct 31, 2004
    8
    Absolutely hilarious. I hadn't laughed that hard in a long time. Trey Parker and Matt Stone are always original and funny. I loved the songs they wrote for the movie. That love scene was something else. I was rollin'!
  80. ConlanM.
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    F...ing hilarious... please note this movie isn't for people who aren't open-minded.
  81. StanT.
    Oct 31, 2004
    9
    This is an excellent example of Trey Parker's true genius, in every aspect of filmmaking.
  82. dudewhat
    Oct 31, 2004
    6
    Uneven, problematic, sometimes hilarious. Why do they hate Hollywood liberals so much? I mean, there are far bigger fish to fry, far more heinous people out there, and their tack towards Alec Baldwin et al. isn't just satiric - it's unrelentingly vicious. I mean, you would think Tim Robbins was Joseph Goebbels or something, and the movie almost implies as much. I have no problem Uneven, problematic, sometimes hilarious. Why do they hate Hollywood liberals so much? I mean, there are far bigger fish to fry, far more heinous people out there, and their tack towards Alec Baldwin et al. isn't just satiric - it's unrelentingly vicious. I mean, you would think Tim Robbins was Joseph Goebbels or something, and the movie almost implies as much. I have no problem with sharp-tongued satire, and some of the targets are worthy, but while "South Park" often has intelligent things to say about the hypocrites it lambasts, "Team America" is like a f***ing flamethrower, and not all that funny for the effort. Watch at your own risk. Expand
  83. ScottD.
    Oct 30, 2004
    7
    A funny and action-packed film that doesn't have quite as much intelligence as South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut. Still, when it does eventually develop a coherent political point, it's a good one: extremism and ego coming from both left and right will be the death of us, if not terrorism. It's an energetic movie with plenty of laughs that works a bit better as a satire of A funny and action-packed film that doesn't have quite as much intelligence as South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut. Still, when it does eventually develop a coherent political point, it's a good one: extremism and ego coming from both left and right will be the death of us, if not terrorism. It's an energetic movie with plenty of laughs that works a bit better as a satire of action movies than of current politics, but as long as you don't expect the genius of the South Park movie, you'll be fine. Expand
  84. SamT
    Oct 27, 2004
    1
    After the initial novelty and comedy of the first half hour, it takes a nose dive. I actually saw two people in the audience fall asleep during the movie. I almost dozed off myself.
  85. MattA
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    Great songs, and probably one of the funniest things ive seen all year. Had some lame moments, but i had an overall good time watching it.
  86. AlbertW.
    Oct 25, 2004
    6
    I'm surprised this movie has bombed so hard at the box office. It's obviously timely, often hilarious and stunningly produced. But it's not even close to South Park the Movie. Damn shame for Matt and Trey that they deferred all their fees. A helluva lotta work for no cash!
  87. WilliamB.
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    The movie is not for everyone. It's vulgar and childish. It is a send-up of Hollywood action films and global politics - talk about easy targets. Still, I laughed hard, nearly peeing my pants at multiple points. The comedy is absurd and, as others have pointed out, the soundtrack is priceless.
  88. Shay
    Oct 25, 2004
    5
    The first 30 to 45 minutes were hilarious but after that the jokes seemed to be a little repetitive. Could have been a lot better.
  89. BenT
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    If you are looking for a movie with any particularly serious political intent, don't bother watching this, but if you just want a ridiculously irreverant movie, see it. The movement of the puppets, while at times scarily realistic, often serves to turn a serious scene (for example, when the Team America boss walks out of the room after recruiting the main character) into a hysterical If you are looking for a movie with any particularly serious political intent, don't bother watching this, but if you just want a ridiculously irreverant movie, see it. The movement of the puppets, while at times scarily realistic, often serves to turn a serious scene (for example, when the Team America boss walks out of the room after recruiting the main character) into a hysterical scene, without a word of dialogue to help - at times it reminds me of Monty Pythons Ministry of Silly Walks. Listening carefully to the songs also yields some very amusing moments, but I'll let you discover those for yourself. The use of real animals in various scenes makes for some hilarious viewing as well, and when coupled with the dialogue, you may need an oxygen mask to keep you alive throughout this movie. A personal favourite idiosyncracy in the movie is the launch of a 'top secret' mission into the terrorists lair - only involving 4 airborne military vehicles and a public announcement in a marketplace as to why helicopters are landing on top of various stalls.... Expand
  90. VidM.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    If you like South Park, you must see this movie.
  91. TravisC
    Oct 24, 2004
    5
    Sadly, much like "Shaun of the Dead," the movie promised to be among the funniest of the year, yet fell sadly short. Some of the jokes were funny, but Parker and Stone continue their increasingly wide scope of uniformed political commentary, which they are increasingly bad at. All in all, a let down.
  92. BitBurn
    Oct 24, 2004
    9
    The puppet animation is simply amazing!! Twisted laughter, totally retarded. A masterpiece of its kind!
  93. JedD.
    Oct 23, 2004
    8
    The soundtrack is hilarious. F*** Yeah. Pearl Harbour sucked and I miss you.
  94. CameronO.
    Oct 23, 2004
    5
    If you really dissect the politics of this movie, you realize that it's pretty whimpy point-of-view. Go after everyone: liberals, crazy Koreans, Hollywood, hawks, etc. No doubt, the idea of being told to "Vote or Die" by the likes of Mya, Paris Hilton and P. Diddy makes one want to vomit Gary Johnston style. But I wished the movie had more balls. And too much of the comedy was flat, If you really dissect the politics of this movie, you realize that it's pretty whimpy point-of-view. Go after everyone: liberals, crazy Koreans, Hollywood, hawks, etc. No doubt, the idea of being told to "Vote or Die" by the likes of Mya, Paris Hilton and P. Diddy makes one want to vomit Gary Johnston style. But I wished the movie had more balls. And too much of the comedy was flat, with boring stretches. Expand
  95. AdrianM.
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    Best movie i've ever seen, at the very begining you now Trey Parker had something to do with this.
  96. MelisssaC.
    Oct 22, 2004
    9
    I didn't care for the foul language and the puppet sex could have been cut, but the point was made. Matt and Trey totally get the big picture!!
  97. DallasH.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    The best movie ever! Everyone go to it and buy it!!! AMERICA... F##K YEA!!!!!
  98. KevinA.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Some of the sharpest satire I've seen on the silver screen. Great movie!
  99. ChadS.
    Oct 22, 2004
    6
    Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon, and Sean Penn are not my idea of the vapid celebrity, and probably don't deserve the gory deaths imagined by Trey Parker and Matt Stone. "Seed of Chucky" has the right idea; going after a true intellectual cipher like Britney Spears, who sounds borderline retarded in "Fahrenheit 9/11". That said, "Team America: World Police" is at its funniest when Parker Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon, and Sean Penn are not my idea of the vapid celebrity, and probably don't deserve the gory deaths imagined by Trey Parker and Matt Stone. "Seed of Chucky" has the right idea; going after a true intellectual cipher like Britney Spears, who sounds borderline retarded in "Fahrenheit 9/11". That said, "Team America: World Police" is at its funniest when Parker & Stone go after Jerry Bruckenheimer. They satirize his films without any apparent exagerration. The deja vu is very strong. What Parker and Stone do here is deserving of a medal. By exposing what's banal, they're creating a more sophisticated viewer with a more discerning eye and ear for crap. Some of us were already laughing at the originals. Expand
  100. MichaelM.
    Oct 21, 2004
    9
    From the sick and very twisted creators of the hit animated program South Park on Comedy Central, comes an even more depraved feature, acted out by puppets titled Team America: World Police. This time around, Trey Parker and Matt Stone (the film's creators) are poking fun at all new people -- including terrorists, Kim Jong Il and most of all loud mouth celebrities who voice their From the sick and very twisted creators of the hit animated program South Park on Comedy Central, comes an even more depraved feature, acted out by puppets titled Team America: World Police. This time around, Trey Parker and Matt Stone (the film's creators) are poking fun at all new people -- including terrorists, Kim Jong Il and most of all loud mouth celebrities who voice their political opinions. Most of the time the creators go after Republican conservatives, but this time around they swing the pinata bat at the Democrat liberal entertainers ...and boy, do they swing! Sean Penn has already expressed a memo of hate towards the comic duo for their potrayal of him being an idiot for going to Iraq last Christmas, and if that isn't enough controversy behind the film, the creators had to edit out over twenty minutes of the finished product for it to escape the NC-17 rating. My response to Team America: World Police was more positive then I could have ever imagined. When I was walking into the 300 seat theater, I thought I would only get a minimal amount of laughs out of it. I was sorely mistaking! I came out of the theater with a sore throat from laughing so much and so hard. The movie is easily one of the best films of the year so far, not to mention the funniest by a long shot. Although I fell in love with it's charm and amazingly vulgar sense of humor, many critics and Hollywood types alike will pan it. The reason being is the film is pretty much a personal attack on them. When the film makes it over seas to North Korea, it will surely be banned for mocking their leader Kim Jong Il. It's my guess Il won't appreciate himself being potrayed as a ruthless foul-mouthed dictator hell-bent on world domination who can't pronounce the word "inevitable". Besides Il, Alec Baldwin will be angered at the South Park guys making him out to be, well... Alec Baldwin. In conclusion, Team America: World Police not only gives Hollywood, terrorists, socialists and activists the good ribbing they deserve, but it also is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen and perhaps even THE funniest movie I've ever seen. Don't expect Team America: World Police to make many end of the year Top 10 lists, but you can sure expect it on mine. Since I can't mention everyone in the film they rip on, here's a list of a few that come to mind... Ben Affleck Alec Baldwin Hans Blitz George W. Bush Geroge Clooney Matt Damon Janeane Garofolo Danny Glover Helen Hunt Kim Jong Il John Kerry Michael Moore Samuel L. Jackson Peter Jennings Sean Penn Tim Robbins Susan Sarandon Martin Sheen the American government the French government the Panamanian government the North Korean government Middle-Easterns Egyptians the Broadway play Rent everyone who had anything to do with the movie Pearl Harbor. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Team America's strengths are in its musical numbers, especially Kim Jong Il's mournful "I'm So Ronery" (translation: "Lonely"), a heartfelt peek into the dictator's soul.
  2. There is no room for subtlety. Aiming a rude, foul-mouthed political satire everywhere -- left, right and center -- Trey Parker and Matt Stone blow up a good deal of the world, not to mention the egos of many Hollywood personalities
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    Goes the extra mile to piss off everybody -- which includes gleefully destroying renowned Hollywood liberals, literally and figuratively.