User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 256
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2014
    5
    Objectively, Team America is a horrible, horrible film. Offensive, formulaic, over the top, and poorly done (puppet-wise and direction-wise), Team America has very few redeeming qualities in terms of art. However, I will be damned if this is not one of the funniest films I have seen. I am not somebody who watches a ton of South Park, but in spite of every negative in this one, I canObjectively, Team America is a horrible, horrible film. Offensive, formulaic, over the top, and poorly done (puppet-wise and direction-wise), Team America has very few redeeming qualities in terms of art. However, I will be damned if this is not one of the funniest films I have seen. I am not somebody who watches a ton of South Park, but in spite of every negative in this one, I can undoubtedly see the appeal and it is on full display here as joke after joke works and, in truth, this one makes numerous very interesting stances politics. Again, this is not the film for you if you want to see something artisitic. Rather, it is for you if you do not mind seeing some offensive moments covered with some hilarious jokes that will leave you in stitches throughout. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2011
    7
    "Team America: World Police" is one hell of a funny puppet show that displays a surprising mix of several different genres.
  3. FrancoR.
    Oct 16, 2004
    0
    This movie had some funny moments but overall was an offensive piece of Garbage! It's message was sickening, juvenile, idiotic, and perverse!
  4. OtisP
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This movie rocks and the soundtrack is the best ever made.
  5. Jan 29, 2013
    3
    Not what i was excepting. I hoped for an Action-Adventure genre but came a appaling movie. They use great movie actors as bad guys and bland humuor makes it bad. You like bad comedy or cheesy fails you would like this ( LIKE this movie.).
  6. Feb 2, 2013
    1
    Perhaps "Team America: World Police" just hasn't aged well, but this 'comedy' just isn't all that funny. Whereas other comedies have redeeming qualities, the slow pace and the writers' ability to take overdrawn jokes (which weren't humorous to begin with) and repeatedly smash you in the face with them, Team America is a good idea that fails in execution.
  7. B.S.
    Jul 26, 2006
    2
    When I heard about the movie I thought it sounded great, a good old piss take aimed at the people who deserve it most , indeed I was most excited to see it. Sadly it was terrible. The visuals were quite stunning but the script was appaling, jokes were thin and even the spoofed plot could've been written by a thirteen year old. C'mon guys how cab "everybodys got aids aids aids" When I heard about the movie I thought it sounded great, a good old piss take aimed at the people who deserve it most , indeed I was most excited to see it. Sadly it was terrible. The visuals were quite stunning but the script was appaling, jokes were thin and even the spoofed plot could've been written by a thirteen year old. C'mon guys how cab "everybodys got aids aids aids" be funny, I'm not saying I was oofended but compared to memories like 'good aids, bad aids" from Brass eye it was terrible. A shocker. Expand
  8. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    if i was gona do a top 3 funniest movies of the decade this film would be in there . i love how they take micheal bay and jerry bruckhiemers style of film making and poke fun of it and **** all over it HAHAHA. there are alot of great and funny as hell moments in this film . the sound track is easily the funniest one in film history . i mean "pearl harbor sucks alittle more then i miss you"if i was gona do a top 3 funniest movies of the decade this film would be in there . i love how they take micheal bay and jerry bruckhiemers style of film making and poke fun of it and **** all over it HAHAHA. there are alot of great and funny as hell moments in this film . the sound track is easily the funniest one in film history . i mean "pearl harbor sucks alittle more then i miss you" ROFL!!! suck it micheal bay!!! im glad that matt and trey hate him as much as i do. the only thing that was alittle off to me was the whole puppet sex thing . i coulda done with out that but otherwise this is one of the few films i can wach over and over again and still laugh. Expand
  9. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    When you see a film by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, you know you're gonna be getting two things. A lot of really stupid moments, that only they get, and moments of pure comic genius. Team America is your typical mix of both. What makes this movie amazing is that they do it all with puppets. Everything from action sequences to sex scenes are all done entirely with puppets. Their songs areWhen you see a film by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, you know you're gonna be getting two things. A lot of really stupid moments, that only they get, and moments of pure comic genius. Team America is your typical mix of both. What makes this movie amazing is that they do it all with puppets. Everything from action sequences to sex scenes are all done entirely with puppets. Their songs are hysterical as usual and the characters are great, but unlike most Parker and Stone movies, The story isn't very strong. To be honest, it got really old, really fast, and by the end, I couldn't wait for it to be over. You should see it for its funny moments, but overall it's not their best work. Expand
  10. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Picture South Park, but with puppets made to look like actors and famous people. They make the expressionless puppets look so dramatic and like such good actors that after seeing this movie I am convinced it is not the actors or acting that makes a great movie, but the directing. Similar to South Park which was created by the same creators, this movie contains a lot of obscene scenes andPicture South Park, but with puppets made to look like actors and famous people. They make the expressionless puppets look so dramatic and like such good actors that after seeing this movie I am convinced it is not the actors or acting that makes a great movie, but the directing. Similar to South Park which was created by the same creators, this movie contains a lot of obscene scenes and potty humour, but it is done well. A couple of scenes just start off really obscene and bad, but actually go on for much longer than they should and get much worse as they go on to shock you and gross you out even more! It is great! They basically turn Matt Daemon into a retard like Timmy from the South Park show and Kim Jong II the leader of North Korea (at the time of the original release) into Cartman, it is hilarious! There are also great satirical musical numbers in this movie too. I did not like it as much as the South Park movie, but it was still great. 10/10 Expand
  11. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This is such a funny movie. People who don't like this movie fail to realize it's a spoof movie, a parody, making fun of America. Trey Parker and Matt Stone come out with another hilarious film.
    It has an awesome theme song, it makes fun Kim Jong Il, all involving puppets.
    Now that's funny.
  12. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Team America saves the world.
    An incredibly raunchy, extremely offensive, and in some moments a cringe worthy sickening puppet comedy; turns out to be down right hilarious. The laughs will make your jaw hurt.
  13. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    This movie was so stupid, but so funny. Definetly worth watching. NOT for kids. But if you like south park, you will like this alot. It's the same kind of humor except they didn't need to hold back like they do on comedy central.
  14. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    Delivers the laughs with Parker & Stone's usual antics, but what makes this comedy fresh is the hilarious use of puppets, catchy songs and making light of a serious situation.
  15. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    A movie that heavily relies on shock value, and is designed to be offensive. It is the type of film you should get at a Charity Shop or Car Boot Sale for £3 or under. However, the music is very memorable.
  16. StevieG
    Oct 16, 2004
    9
    This is an R-rated (almost NC-17) THUNDERBIRDS ( a reference which may surely date me). It is also very funny, as long as your skin is not too thin and you can take a joke. The credible, albeit misguided, critique of this film from Ebert (that the movie has no specific goal other to offend everyone) misses the point. This movie, like much Parker/Stone fare is compltely oblivious to This is an R-rated (almost NC-17) THUNDERBIRDS ( a reference which may surely date me). It is also very funny, as long as your skin is not too thin and you can take a joke. The credible, albeit misguided, critique of this film from Ebert (that the movie has no specific goal other to offend everyone) misses the point. This movie, like much Parker/Stone fare is compltely oblivious to political correctness in any way. It skewers the left as well as the right. It is utterly unconcerned with any group's "sensitivity," from the vertly racist rendition of the Korean villian to the lyrical content of the songs in the movie. But if you can get past the "offensive" nature of the humor, there is political commentary here. There is a strong anti-Bush sentiment. But liberals who whine and complain about everything are equally skeward. The strong anti-Hollywood overtone is also refreshing. The story is silly. Sure. But I laughed out loud a number of times, as did most of the theater. Expand
  17. Mr.Blonde
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Great satiric movie which spoofs the bush administration as well as the blockbuster crap from hollywood.
  18. BlancoA.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    I caught the sneak preview at The Village last weekend and loved it. Caught me totally by surprise. "Orgazmo" is one of my favorite flicks, but I wasn't a huge fan of the South Park movie, so I wasn't expecting much from the puppet action. I was wrong in a big way. Feeling a little burned out from the political season?? This is the antidote. It makes fun of America as the I caught the sneak preview at The Village last weekend and loved it. Caught me totally by surprise. "Orgazmo" is one of my favorite flicks, but I wasn't a huge fan of the South Park movie, so I wasn't expecting much from the puppet action. I was wrong in a big way. Feeling a little burned out from the political season?? This is the antidote. It makes fun of America as the do-gooder of the world, but it also strikes HARD at the Hollywood elites who have needed a firm slap for a while now. Alec Baldwin & Michael Moore get it the hardest, but the boys spread the love around, believe me. Sure, there are plenty of off-color jokes in this thing, so come with your sense of humor firmly intact. And no, they didn't have to totally butcher the puppet sex scene to get the "R" rating. It had everybody in the audience ROLLING. And the original songs are funny as hell! (You definitely have to pay attention closely to the lyrics to get the most out of it.) Trey Parker should seriously consider writing a live-action musical one day. Expand
  19. ChuckY.
    Oct 17, 2004
    8
    This movie has balls.
  20. JordanN.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    What a movie it was the best flim i've seen in a while.The puppet sex was also the funnyest think i've ever seen in the cinema its worth the money!!
  21. bradleyt.
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    I think this movie is fantastic and halarious how could you just give it a seven.9 4 a movie with puppets i was laugin all nite i think its top.
  22. RussB
    Jun 5, 2005
    2
    Has its moments, but overdoes the sight gags. Good was cancelled out by the thin plot and overkill.
  23. RichardS
    Aug 8, 2005
    3
    Over-rated, only a few laughs, unnecessarily crude and stupid to the stage it's just not funny. Might have been funny as a 15 minute short. Maybe.
  24. MichaelC.
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    For someone very interested in world affairs, but not a fan of South Park or puppets, I was very skeptical of this film. Brilliant and hilarious, this film is an equal opportunity satire of both conservatives and liberals. Most of the "offensive" material actually uncovers unpleasant truths underlying the attitudes, people and state of our world. Highly recommended for anyone with an open For someone very interested in world affairs, but not a fan of South Park or puppets, I was very skeptical of this film. Brilliant and hilarious, this film is an equal opportunity satire of both conservatives and liberals. Most of the "offensive" material actually uncovers unpleasant truths underlying the attitudes, people and state of our world. Highly recommended for anyone with an open mind about exposing (by hilarious ridicule and hyperbole) the polarized nature of our present social and political environment. An extremely entertaining film for the "juvenile" mind that also provokes thought about our world for the "mature" mind. Expand
  25. DavidD.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    Not for children. Please don't take your kids. Plenty of sex and vulgar puppets. This movie was actually quite hilarious. Parker and Stone don't have a spotless track record (Orgazmo was terrible), but they have proven to push the comedy envelope when it comes to film and TV. This is no exception. Part musical, all Bruckheimer spoof. Once again, not for your children, but great Not for children. Please don't take your kids. Plenty of sex and vulgar puppets. This movie was actually quite hilarious. Parker and Stone don't have a spotless track record (Orgazmo was terrible), but they have proven to push the comedy envelope when it comes to film and TV. This is no exception. Part musical, all Bruckheimer spoof. Once again, not for your children, but great for educated adults who aren't squeamish. Expand
  26. Wongit
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    ABSOLUTELY one of the funniest movies i have ever seen. i have seen some funny films but this one surpasses them all, i didnt have high hopes for this movie, i thought it would be corny and lame. IT IS. but it is by far one of the funniest movies ever. its going to offend millions because of the puppet sex which is definetly over the top and the violence which i didnt expect...but it is ABSOLUTELY one of the funniest movies i have ever seen. i have seen some funny films but this one surpasses them all, i didnt have high hopes for this movie, i thought it would be corny and lame. IT IS. but it is by far one of the funniest movies ever. its going to offend millions because of the puppet sex which is definetly over the top and the violence which i didnt expect...but it is violent. I loved this movie. Great job Parker and Stone. Expand
  27. BubbaFresh
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    Team America... F*%K YEAH!!
  28. AmberH.
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    That movie was so f...ing funny i was laughing for most of the movie. I love how they walk it looks so funny and just everything about it!!
  29. SethP.
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    This movie is pure genius. end of story. this it is perhaps the funniest movie of all time. If you cant see that, then perhaps your brain can't understand satires, physical comedy, or anything else of that nature. its extremely difficult to make a movie with puppets, nevermind a funny one. but to pull of what trey parker did, its simply pure genius. he only gets stronger and stronger This movie is pure genius. end of story. this it is perhaps the funniest movie of all time. If you cant see that, then perhaps your brain can't understand satires, physical comedy, or anything else of that nature. its extremely difficult to make a movie with puppets, nevermind a funny one. but to pull of what trey parker did, its simply pure genius. he only gets stronger and stronger with everything negitive that comes about. so feed him. please. i need this. haha. if you liked this movie (intelligent people only) check out his older movies like orgazmo and Canibal! The musical. both amazing. Expand
  30. DeeR.
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    Wow, is Roger Ebert wrong about this film. TEAM AMERICA is the hippest film you'll see this year. It is flat-out great Rabelasian satire. It is stark raving lunacy and deleriously funny. I think buy-the-playbook Democrats will hate this film and true liberals will love it.
  31. ChadS.
    Oct 22, 2004
    6
    Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon, and Sean Penn are not my idea of the vapid celebrity, and probably don't deserve the gory deaths imagined by Trey Parker and Matt Stone. "Seed of Chucky" has the right idea; going after a true intellectual cipher like Britney Spears, who sounds borderline retarded in "Fahrenheit 9/11". That said, "Team America: World Police" is at its funniest when Parker Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon, and Sean Penn are not my idea of the vapid celebrity, and probably don't deserve the gory deaths imagined by Trey Parker and Matt Stone. "Seed of Chucky" has the right idea; going after a true intellectual cipher like Britney Spears, who sounds borderline retarded in "Fahrenheit 9/11". That said, "Team America: World Police" is at its funniest when Parker & Stone go after Jerry Bruckenheimer. They satirize his films without any apparent exagerration. The deja vu is very strong. What Parker and Stone do here is deserving of a medal. By exposing what's banal, they're creating a more sophisticated viewer with a more discerning eye and ear for crap. Some of us were already laughing at the originals. Expand
  32. AdrianM.
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    Best movie i've ever seen, at the very begining you now Trey Parker had something to do with this.
  33. BitBurn
    Oct 24, 2004
    9
    The puppet animation is simply amazing!! Twisted laughter, totally retarded. A masterpiece of its kind!
  34. BenT
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    If you are looking for a movie with any particularly serious political intent, don't bother watching this, but if you just want a ridiculously irreverant movie, see it. The movement of the puppets, while at times scarily realistic, often serves to turn a serious scene (for example, when the Team America boss walks out of the room after recruiting the main character) into a hysterical If you are looking for a movie with any particularly serious political intent, don't bother watching this, but if you just want a ridiculously irreverant movie, see it. The movement of the puppets, while at times scarily realistic, often serves to turn a serious scene (for example, when the Team America boss walks out of the room after recruiting the main character) into a hysterical scene, without a word of dialogue to help - at times it reminds me of Monty Pythons Ministry of Silly Walks. Listening carefully to the songs also yields some very amusing moments, but I'll let you discover those for yourself. The use of real animals in various scenes makes for some hilarious viewing as well, and when coupled with the dialogue, you may need an oxygen mask to keep you alive throughout this movie. A personal favourite idiosyncracy in the movie is the launch of a 'top secret' mission into the terrorists lair - only involving 4 airborne military vehicles and a public announcement in a marketplace as to why helicopters are landing on top of various stalls.... Expand
  35. dudewhat
    Oct 31, 2004
    6
    Uneven, problematic, sometimes hilarious. Why do they hate Hollywood liberals so much? I mean, there are far bigger fish to fry, far more heinous people out there, and their tack towards Alec Baldwin et al. isn't just satiric - it's unrelentingly vicious. I mean, you would think Tim Robbins was Joseph Goebbels or something, and the movie almost implies as much. I have no problem Uneven, problematic, sometimes hilarious. Why do they hate Hollywood liberals so much? I mean, there are far bigger fish to fry, far more heinous people out there, and their tack towards Alec Baldwin et al. isn't just satiric - it's unrelentingly vicious. I mean, you would think Tim Robbins was Joseph Goebbels or something, and the movie almost implies as much. I have no problem with sharp-tongued satire, and some of the targets are worthy, but while "South Park" often has intelligent things to say about the hypocrites it lambasts, "Team America" is like a f***ing flamethrower, and not all that funny for the effort. Watch at your own risk. Expand
  36. StanT.
    Oct 31, 2004
    9
    This is an excellent example of Trey Parker's true genius, in every aspect of filmmaking.
  37. RichardT.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    This movie is bare jokes; it is one of those movies that offers a great break from the hum-drum of reality - full of 'wannabe' epic scenes, and shear frontinity!!! an enjoyable watch and definately worth ones buck. Hardly a Ben Hur, Boiler Room, or an I-robot, but for its category (comedy) its top of the game!
  38. TheElusivePossom
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    FUNNIEST MOVIE EVER put simply. Laugh-a-minute puppet fun, beautiful women and catchy songs make this the hit it was built up to be. It seems that anyone who doesn't like/understand this film is eager to outwardly express themselves to be really stupid (see Ben S's comment). Best sex scene ever, and no comedy will likely come close in years. Stone and Parker are gods.
  39. BrodieM.
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    Great movie, extremly funny, best comedy for the year.
  40. LuigiP.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    I really enjoyed the humourous way in which Team America pays out typical conservatives. I like Mike Moore - and what they did to him was fine by me! Ben Afflectk (Parker & Stones favourite targe) still gets a nice serve too. Put simply - if you like South Park, you'll love Team America. F*^k Yeah! the typical society views on all aspects of how we treat "peace".
  41. Anna
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    The movie is AWESOME! I'd say it's worth spending my money!
  42. SerenaM.
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    The movie has a slightly anti-Liberal Establishment bias, and for this reason alone it has been virtually ignored by Hollywood. It is a daring, brave, hilarious film with the most gut-burstingly funny sex scene I've ever, ever watched.
  43. Mobius
    May 23, 2005
    10
    If you find southpark funny and find stone & parker's humor funny then you are going to piss yourself with this film. and all you other reviewers who go on about being pro or against bush please take your polictical view elsewhere.
  44. Rico
    May 24, 2005
    3
    Is comedy funny when it's reduced to the use of four letter words and fecal sight gags? I don't think so. Are we 8 year olds? Nope. My hat is off to the puppeteers and all the people who built the wonderful sets. this is the only reason it deserved a 3.
  45. jayman
    May 25, 2005
    10
    Hilarious!!!!! Does comedy have to be filled with four letter words and fecal matter....as another reviewer put it. Yeah!!!!! My gut still hurts from last December when I saw this in theatres.
  46. JesseH.
    Jun 1, 2005
    0
    Man, is this ever dumb.
  47. RobD.
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    People have several misconceptions about this film that i've noticed. First off, the movie is not anti-liberal. Trey and Matt don't hate Hollywood liberals for being liberal, they hate them for thinking that their status makes their opinion more special than everyone else's. Second, Trey and Matt are not pro-Bush. They hate all politicians and happen to find republicans People have several misconceptions about this film that i've noticed. First off, the movie is not anti-liberal. Trey and Matt don't hate Hollywood liberals for being liberal, they hate them for thinking that their status makes their opinion more special than everyone else's. Second, Trey and Matt are not pro-Bush. They hate all politicians and happen to find republicans particularly ignorant. The reason they don't make fun of bush is because they don't want to be like Michael Moore or other people who get rich by critiqing politicians. And lastly, Trey and Matt aren't gay. Any straight guys under 25 will admit to making sexual innuendo as a gay joke... Moving on, the only flaw with this movie is that it just isn't as fillarious the first time around, but the first time you might lose breath from laughing. Expand
  48. GreggF.
    Jun 6, 2005
    2
    Purile effort. Rude and crude is not a reasonable substitution for entertainment. On top of that it was boring to boot.
  49. moviecritc
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Anyone who does not think this movie is funny, must have something up their butt, this is one of the funniest movies of all time in my opinion, and that is a bold statement, i watched this movie several times and laughed eveytime, i laughed so hard i was crying, i would recomend this movie to almost anyone, i think the people who dont like this movie , either did not get it or they are Anyone who does not think this movie is funny, must have something up their butt, this is one of the funniest movies of all time in my opinion, and that is a bold statement, i watched this movie several times and laughed eveytime, i laughed so hard i was crying, i would recomend this movie to almost anyone, i think the people who dont like this movie , either did not get it or they are just way too uptight, i think some people think they are too mature to watch a movie with puppets and that it has to be dumb, but watch and see for yourself a total package with great songs. 1 more note i dont understand how some people thought napoleon dynamite was funny and this movie was not, some people just like things because its by MTV, sorry but that movie was not funny! Expand
  50. FrankW.
    Jul 8, 2005
    9
    I want to give this movie a lower score than this. It doesn't deserve to be as funny as it is, but I haven't laughed this hard at a movie since, well, the South Park movie. If you're a liberal, like me, this movie will offend you. If you're conservative this movie will offend you. But you know what? I don't care how politcally incorrect it is. Any movie that can I want to give this movie a lower score than this. It doesn't deserve to be as funny as it is, but I haven't laughed this hard at a movie since, well, the South Park movie. If you're a liberal, like me, this movie will offend you. If you're conservative this movie will offend you. But you know what? I don't care how politcally incorrect it is. Any movie that can accurately describe the three types of people in this world using only genetallia has got to be worth something. Do I agree with the movie's politics? Ultimately, after several viewings, I'm pretty sure that the movie doesn't have much of a stance at all. Conservatives are rude, reckless and ignorant, not caring who they kill to get their job done and to promote their way of life. Liberals are whiners who talk on and on about ideals that aren't realistic, mainly because they do nothing but whine about them. Maybe what this movie really suggests is that no matter who you are, you probably suck, but you should be able to laugh at your hypocrisy. Team America doesn't make much of a political statement for either side, but it's hard to care when it's as funny as this. Expand
  51. RichardJ.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    I love the work of Matt and Trey and to be honest this is better then all the south park stuff they have done! I can't believe people find faults in it, this was so original. Perhaps they didn't like it as it took the piss out of Americans too much, infact that's what was so funny about it! Very clever film and so watchable! Sequel please but if not another one like this I love the work of Matt and Trey and to be honest this is better then all the south park stuff they have done! I can't believe people find faults in it, this was so original. Perhaps they didn't like it as it took the piss out of Americans too much, infact that's what was so funny about it! Very clever film and so watchable! Sequel please but if not another one like this again please! The humour is actually not vey juvenile compared to South Parks' and how the concept was done was very thought out! Critics if you want to slate the film, come up with a better arguement! I know why critics do slate it anyway because your jealous that Matt and Trey are so smart and original! Expand
  52. GerrickC.
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Thunderbirds meets South Park. That is esentially what Team America is. It is very funny, extremely offensive, and totally reeks of South Park. If you like South Park, then you will find love in Team America.
  53. joeh
    May 27, 2009
    4
    The directors seem to revel so much in this movies own absurdity that it never occured to them they may need a decent joke or two to carry these politically incorrect puppets across their 2 hour running time. Honestly the movie wasn't funny, and not in a "this movie's base humour falls so far below my comedic pallete that I could never laugh at the henious shenanigans displayed The directors seem to revel so much in this movies own absurdity that it never occured to them they may need a decent joke or two to carry these politically incorrect puppets across their 2 hour running time. Honestly the movie wasn't funny, and not in a "this movie's base humour falls so far below my comedic pallete that I could never laugh at the henious shenanigans displayed on screen" not funny , I just mean it wasn't funny. No decent political roasting, no poignant adressing of the issues, and not near the level of (dare I say it) intelligence that south park displays on a weekly basis. While the movie may have used the subtle fact that much of the straight faced scenes in this movie ARE stereotypically accurate of this genre, it doesn't change the fact that the directors seemed to lazy to accentuate these facts and left it to the audience to connect the dots. Only in the music (which earned this movie a four) did I find the more biting, mean spirited satire I've come to expect from these two. It's a pity, because one can see the potential contained within this movie, and all the effort and hard work the artistic crew poured into it as well, but bad writing is bad writing, puppets or not. Expand
  54. JohnJ
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    Its good cos I though it was good.
  55. AdamL.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    Hilarious. Great Songs. See it, maybe.
  56. MikeyG.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    First off, a couple of things: Orgazmo was hilarious, David D does not know what he is talking about! Also, Trey DID do a live action musical. It's called Cannibal The Musical. Check it out at your local video store or Netflix. As for the movie, it was pure genius. For one, the special effects on the puppets were pretty good. Also, they managed to have the puppets show more emotion First off, a couple of things: Orgazmo was hilarious, David D does not know what he is talking about! Also, Trey DID do a live action musical. It's called Cannibal The Musical. Check it out at your local video store or Netflix. As for the movie, it was pure genius. For one, the special effects on the puppets were pretty good. Also, they managed to have the puppets show more emotion and acting range than Ben Affleck. Funny funny movie. Definitely not for kids, but friggen' hilarious. I think the only thing missing was another puppet sex scene with the Husker and the Asian-American puppet. Maybe on the Uncensored DVD... Expand
  57. TomJ.
    Oct 11, 2004
    4
    With a heavy heart, I must admit that Team America was a disappointment. Aside from the extremely crude language, this film was much tamer than I hoped it would be. My sense is that Mssrs. Parker and Stone do better work under the constraints of cable TV. That is, they can't get away with nearly as much cursing on TV, so they slaughter cultural sacred cows instead. But when With a heavy heart, I must admit that Team America was a disappointment. Aside from the extremely crude language, this film was much tamer than I hoped it would be. My sense is that Mssrs. Parker and Stone do better work under the constraints of cable TV. That is, they can't get away with nearly as much cursing on TV, so they slaughter cultural sacred cows instead. But when they're endowed with the liberties an R rating affords, they seem to be satisfied with just being really crude. Maybe small town Colorado life is a more fertile source of humor than the war on terror. It's also possible that this movie was made too hastily. Whatever the cause, the result is that Team America is a lot less barbed and intelligent than a typical South Park episode. If this film turns out to be a flop, my big fear is that the studios will be discouraged from making puppet movies in the future. That would be a sad consequence, because there is absolutely nothing wrong with puppet movies per se. In fact, we could use a lot more of them. Expand
  58. BobD.
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    I caught a sneak preview of this movie on Saturday and it was unequivocally the FUNNIEST movie I have seen in a long, long time. Three of us went and we all left with stomach pains and tear-stained cheeks. This movie surpasses anything Matt Stone & Trey Parker have done in their flagship television show, South Park. The humor is dark, cold and well deserved! I recommend this movie to I caught a sneak preview of this movie on Saturday and it was unequivocally the FUNNIEST movie I have seen in a long, long time. Three of us went and we all left with stomach pains and tear-stained cheeks. This movie surpasses anything Matt Stone & Trey Parker have done in their flagship television show, South Park. The humor is dark, cold and well deserved! I recommend this movie to anyone and everyone! Bring tissues and eat lightly! Expand
  59. StevenS.
    Oct 12, 2004
    9
    I want to rate this movie because I thought highly of it even though it is a total low-brow event. I laughed so much at this movie that at a couple times I was in tears....and for me that is very rare. At times I felt like..."if they take this too far it will be disappointing"....then they take it too far and I can't help but laugh uncontrollably. It is a movie you can't go into I want to rate this movie because I thought highly of it even though it is a total low-brow event. I laughed so much at this movie that at a couple times I was in tears....and for me that is very rare. At times I felt like..."if they take this too far it will be disappointing"....then they take it too far and I can't help but laugh uncontrollably. It is a movie you can't go into unsure about what is about to hit you, then you leave feeling satisfied and spitting out the funniest lines to your friends to relive the moments. Expand
  60. MartinR.
    Oct 15, 2004
    9
    By far one of the funniest movies I have seen in the past few years. It also provides some pretty stunning social commentary too. Hurray for an exploding Michael Moore!
  61. RonaldR.
    Oct 16, 2004
    7
    While I agree with some things Roger Ebert said in his review, I can't help but feel he took this WAAY too seriously. If you are going into this movie looking for thoughtful, or even just modest political or social satire, forget it. People need to realize that there really isn't any hidden message here; look people, Matt and Trey are out to push the limits and offend as many While I agree with some things Roger Ebert said in his review, I can't help but feel he took this WAAY too seriously. If you are going into this movie looking for thoughtful, or even just modest political or social satire, forget it. People need to realize that there really isn't any hidden message here; look people, Matt and Trey are out to push the limits and offend as many people as possible. As a rather left leaning person myself, maybe I should be taking offense to the notion in this film that if you have ever spoken out against government policy, you actually just work for Kim Jong Il. But why bother? Instead, enjoy the humour, the likes of which (puppets flopping around against each other for a fighting scene, puppets cursing and blowing eachother up, puppets having sex) you probably won't see in too many other movies. So yes I do actually recommend this movie because it's absolutely hillarious. In a way, while trying to make a movie making fun of Bruckheimer crap, Team America became in a way as dumb as Bruckheimer stuff. When its jokes and gags are this hillarious though, I can forgive that. Expand
  62. BrendanI.
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    The satire was amazingly funny and always on the mark, the music was incredibly funny, and the raunchy humour, although disgusting, was quite funny as well.
  63. AMovieCritic
    Oct 16, 2004
    7
    This movie was a very funny spoof on Brucheimer action movies. While, unfortunately, it DID take the spoofing a little too far, (at times, it seemed too much like his movies and not enough like a comedy,) this movie was very funny. While it would have been nice to have seen more Team America "World saving" missions, this movie was very good as it was. Very funny, and with a very good This movie was a very funny spoof on Brucheimer action movies. While, unfortunately, it DID take the spoofing a little too far, (at times, it seemed too much like his movies and not enough like a comedy,) this movie was very funny. While it would have been nice to have seen more Team America "World saving" missions, this movie was very good as it was. Very funny, and with a very good soundtrack. Maybe if they didn't get TOO carried away with the "action movie spoof" part of this movie, it would have been A LITTLE funnier. Expand
  64. JohnB.
    Oct 17, 2004
    3
    "South Park: Bigger, Longer, Uncut" was, perhaps, the funniest movie of 1999. Brilliant, biting satire. "Team America" had some genius stuff (singing Kim Il Jong, America F*%k Yeah!, even the vomit scene) and some nice send-ups of Bruckheimer. But satire this was not. It was stunningly lazy. (Not the sets and puppets, they were the best thing in the movie). The writing, the jokes were "South Park: Bigger, Longer, Uncut" was, perhaps, the funniest movie of 1999. Brilliant, biting satire. "Team America" had some genius stuff (singing Kim Il Jong, America F*%k Yeah!, even the vomit scene) and some nice send-ups of Bruckheimer. But satire this was not. It was stunningly lazy. (Not the sets and puppets, they were the best thing in the movie). The writing, the jokes were really flat. Most notably when dealing with the actors. F.A.G.? Weak the first time; super-ass-weak the 8th time. Lastly, and while this doesn't matter, Orgazmo was one of the worst movies in the last twenty years. Baseketball was infinitely better. It's time for Trey Parker to dust Matt Stone, who is not funny and a hanger-on. Shoot, I'd hang on too if I was making the sweet coin, but it's well known in Hollywood who is the one with the talent. Expand
  65. JoeyM.
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    Really, to me, this movie is a parody of how Hollywood addresses world issues in general, America in specific. While there are clear, easy to see potshots at many of the self-righteous Hollywood actors with strong liberal POVs, the plot and action is an abvious pot shot at the "rah rah America" attitude of so many blockbusters of the last 30 years - Top Gun comes to mind. The Really, to me, this movie is a parody of how Hollywood addresses world issues in general, America in specific. While there are clear, easy to see potshots at many of the self-righteous Hollywood actors with strong liberal POVs, the plot and action is an abvious pot shot at the "rah rah America" attitude of so many blockbusters of the last 30 years - Top Gun comes to mind. The jester's job is to show the king where they are being stupid and, if you imagine that Parker and Stone are being court jesters to Hollywood, they do a brilliant job in this film. Many laugh out loud moments. I went in expecting it to be a lot grosser and am not sure whather to be relieved or disappointed on that front. I'm a teacher and the ultimate test, for me, is whether my students come in quoting the movie or not. Today, they all came in laughing about "Mr. Mystopholese." A sure sign of pop culture success. Expand
  66. AlbertoT.
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    The best funny movie i recomend a part 2 movie please the best cartoon movie and you sould make episodes in comedy central ok A ++
  67. MarkB.
    Oct 18, 2004
    7
    Bad boys Trey Parker and Matt Stone's most recent cinematic offering before this, South Park: Bigger, Longer and Uncut was, quite simply, one of the best film comedies (and musicals) of all time. It both distilled and expanded the TV show perfectly; it aimed at and hit more targets than any political satire since Billy Wilder's One, Two, Three back in 1961; the songs were so Bad boys Trey Parker and Matt Stone's most recent cinematic offering before this, South Park: Bigger, Longer and Uncut was, quite simply, one of the best film comedies (and musicals) of all time. It both distilled and expanded the TV show perfectly; it aimed at and hit more targets than any political satire since Billy Wilder's One, Two, Three back in 1961; the songs were so memorable that I'm STILL humming them--and it even pulled off a genuinely sweet, heartfelt ending that didn't seem at all at odds with anything that came before. Surpassing, or even equalling something that good is an almost impossibly tall order for Trey & Matt (it really DOES seem way too formal to refer to them as Parker and Stone) to fill, and Team America: World Police proves it. Their gonzo assault on the War on Terror, Jerry Bruckheimer movies, the Hollywood left and a certain Asian dictator who talks funny, suffers in comparison mostly because of the length and pacing: SP:BL&C seemed to pack over two hours of funny stuff into 80 minutes, while Team America, maybe attempting to duplicate the overblown action epics it's mocking, takes too long to set up its premise...and out of an hour and 45 minutes running time, features maybe 40 or 45 minutes that really work. That's still a better average than most screen comedies, and when Team America is funny, it's a gutbuster. Most of the really successful gags (literally and figuratively) play upon the incongruity of seeing puppets do things that puppets don't normally do: engaging in Kama Sutra sex acts, eviscerating each other Herschell Gordon Lewis-style, projectile vomiting and uttering typically unprintable Trey & Matt language. (If Bush, Kerry, Nader or the Libertarian guy gave a speech that came close to hero Gary's climactic one to the United Nations comparing the world situation to three of the human body's more notorious nether regions, he'd have my vote in an instant!) Don't be too upset about the movie's political stance: by attacking both liberal opposition to American military operations overseas AND the arrogance of some of those operations (note carefully how many Arab belongings and livelihoods are destroyed by Team America in pursuit of international terrorists) it's "fair and balanced" in ways that even fans of Fox News admit it never really intended to be. I see no reason why some of the more imaginative and broad-minded conservative columnists, such as Kathleen Parker and the National Review's Jonah Goldberg (a self-proclaimed Simpsons fan) shouldn't enjoy this; heck, even Ann Coulter, if she watches the scenes of Michael Moore, Susan Sarandon and Sean Penn buying the farm in spectacularly bloody ways, might get a little turned on! Trey & Matt can in no way be described as liberals themselves (remember the South Park episode that came out squarely in favor of big corporations squashing mom-and-pop outfits?) but I think a key to understanding their handling of the Hollywood antiwar movement is that, along with such well-known figures as Moore, Sarandon, Penn, Tim Robbins and Alec Baldwin, they also feature such random, not overtly political people as Samuel L. Jackson and Helen Hunt as villains. Team America is satirizing not only limousine liberals but also the knee-jerk reactionary stance that's an integral part not only of bad action movies like The Green Berets but also very good ones like the original Dirty Harry. The best reason, however, to appreciate Team America is the remarkably painstaking effort that went into those marionettes and their world. In an age when entirely too much witless, heartless, soulless computer-generated junk such as Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow and Shark Tale are mucking up our screens, it's not surprising that the work of Gerry Anderson, Ray Harryhausen and Nick Park, where handcrafted figures are laboriously manipulated frame by frame, is cherished and treasured now more than ever, and Team America belongs in the same category, even if the strings are (deliberately) showing half the time! Sweet, dudes. Collapse
  68. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2004
    8
    Lighten up, America. They're just puppets!
  69. Matt
    Nov 8, 2004
    4
    Clever premise and use of puppets, but the novelty wore off very quickly. The movie was billed as making fun of everyone/everything but it struck me that the vast majority of jokes were anti-gay/homophobic (do Trey and Matt have something to hide?) This should've been reduced to a shorter film.
  70. PuddlesMacintire
    Oct 19, 2004
    9
    The funniest movie I've seen in a looong time. Man, was that filthy or what? What I really find hilarious is all the nods to the 60s British sci fi puppet TV shows like Supercar, Fireball XL5 and Thunderbirds that I grew up watching. There are dozens of references to these lost childrens shows in Team America. And I bet that 90% of the people in the theater when I saw it were too The funniest movie I've seen in a looong time. Man, was that filthy or what? What I really find hilarious is all the nods to the 60s British sci fi puppet TV shows like Supercar, Fireball XL5 and Thunderbirds that I grew up watching. There are dozens of references to these lost childrens shows in Team America. And I bet that 90% of the people in the theater when I saw it were too young to even know these shows exist. The first 30 minutes had the entire theater in tears. I suppose it depends on your political bent, but I found the depiction of the American military's brutal jingoism to be the funniest aspect and that a lot of the Hollywood star gags fell flat. But I roared at just about everything, anyhow. Kim Jung Il is not gonna be very happy being depicted as a giant cockroach from space. I hear that Sean Penn is really furious too. Learn to laugh at yourself, fellas. The sex scene was a beauty. If that was done with real actors it would have had to have been rated X. Ditto the violence. I loved the "panther" scene. The puppets looked really creepy when they were dead. Those bodies floating in the Panama flood were shockingly morbid. It was weird how affecting that was, moreso than if they had been people. They just look more dead than people can. And the songs! "America, #*@&! YEAH, gonna tell the world to lick my balls!" is a spectacular anthem that I can't WAIT to see used during July 4th fireworks shows in place of "Proud to be an 'Merican!" I also died over the love song about how bad the movie Pearl Harbor was which used lyrical analogies like "I need you like Ben Afleck needs acting lessons". I was crying, I was laughing so hard. Some reviewers are panning this movie because it pulls no punches on ANYTHING. It's interesting to see which reviewers have limited senses of humor. To those guys who say that you can't joke about terrorism I have 2 words for you. Doctor Strangelove. THAT movie was very controversial on first release too. Many reviewers thought it was too sensitive a subject, but part of Strangelove's lasting glory is that it was the first movie to have the guts to make a joke out of nuclear armageddon, until that point a very taboo subject. Yes, Team America is way more juvenile and low brow to be sure, but you can't dismiss the parallel. I wonder if Parker and Stone even realized what they were doing . . . Expand
  71. Heather
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    For a puppet movie, it really surprised me! Such a great comedy. I couldn't stop laughing. The lyrics were priceless, and the sex scene was hilarious. I'd go see it again. And then rent it. And then buy it. Yup, it was that good.
  72. ArnieG.
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    Brilliant and hilarious!
  73. 100thMonkey
    Oct 20, 2004
    9
    Thanks Matt and Trey for showing up and blowing the lid off of America ("America...F### YEA!") with such well done cleverness, unique-ness and with so many hidden yet clear messages that the average American Moron (YES YOU! ) will think it's cool, but then go home and wonder "Gee, maybe Americans could be A-holes afterall." I think the low turnout at the boxoffice is really a Thanks Matt and Trey for showing up and blowing the lid off of America ("America...F### YEA!") with such well done cleverness, unique-ness and with so many hidden yet clear messages that the average American Moron (YES YOU! ) will think it's cool, but then go home and wonder "Gee, maybe Americans could be A-holes afterall." I think the low turnout at the boxoffice is really a function of Americans not being ready for the truth. Expand
  74. JasonD.
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    Team America was supprisingly a very good movie i like the songs the most.
  75. MichaelM.
    Oct 21, 2004
    9
    From the sick and very twisted creators of the hit animated program South Park on Comedy Central, comes an even more depraved feature, acted out by puppets titled Team America: World Police. This time around, Trey Parker and Matt Stone (the film's creators) are poking fun at all new people -- including terrorists, Kim Jong Il and most of all loud mouth celebrities who voice their From the sick and very twisted creators of the hit animated program South Park on Comedy Central, comes an even more depraved feature, acted out by puppets titled Team America: World Police. This time around, Trey Parker and Matt Stone (the film's creators) are poking fun at all new people -- including terrorists, Kim Jong Il and most of all loud mouth celebrities who voice their political opinions. Most of the time the creators go after Republican conservatives, but this time around they swing the pinata bat at the Democrat liberal entertainers ...and boy, do they swing! Sean Penn has already expressed a memo of hate towards the comic duo for their potrayal of him being an idiot for going to Iraq last Christmas, and if that isn't enough controversy behind the film, the creators had to edit out over twenty minutes of the finished product for it to escape the NC-17 rating. My response to Team America: World Police was more positive then I could have ever imagined. When I was walking into the 300 seat theater, I thought I would only get a minimal amount of laughs out of it. I was sorely mistaking! I came out of the theater with a sore throat from laughing so much and so hard. The movie is easily one of the best films of the year so far, not to mention the funniest by a long shot. Although I fell in love with it's charm and amazingly vulgar sense of humor, many critics and Hollywood types alike will pan it. The reason being is the film is pretty much a personal attack on them. When the film makes it over seas to North Korea, it will surely be banned for mocking their leader Kim Jong Il. It's my guess Il won't appreciate himself being potrayed as a ruthless foul-mouthed dictator hell-bent on world domination who can't pronounce the word "inevitable". Besides Il, Alec Baldwin will be angered at the South Park guys making him out to be, well... Alec Baldwin. In conclusion, Team America: World Police not only gives Hollywood, terrorists, socialists and activists the good ribbing they deserve, but it also is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen and perhaps even THE funniest movie I've ever seen. Don't expect Team America: World Police to make many end of the year Top 10 lists, but you can sure expect it on mine. Since I can't mention everyone in the film they rip on, here's a list of a few that come to mind... Ben Affleck Alec Baldwin Hans Blitz George W. Bush Geroge Clooney Matt Damon Janeane Garofolo Danny Glover Helen Hunt Kim Jong Il John Kerry Michael Moore Samuel L. Jackson Peter Jennings Sean Penn Tim Robbins Susan Sarandon Martin Sheen the American government the French government the Panamanian government the North Korean government Middle-Easterns Egyptians the Broadway play Rent everyone who had anything to do with the movie Pearl Harbor. Expand
  76. GregK.
    Dec 11, 2004
    3
    Some parts were funny, but they attack the wrong people, the puppets are funny, and the songs are, but thats it. I didn't find it offensive like some, but it seems like they were trying to be sarcastic and just came off as truthful. It seems the people they agree with, are who they attacked. I thought it was gonna be anti bush or something, instead it was like pro bush.
  77. DeanD.
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    It was the funniest movie ever made and i loved it.
  78. Ryan
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    Funniest movie I've seen all year...or last year for that matter.
  79. JesseD.
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    This movie was great, f@#k, yea.. the songs were awesome and the comedy and 'messages' were great ...the d**ks, p....ys, a-holes speech.....priceless i definitely have to own this movie!!
  80. MelisssaC.
    Oct 22, 2004
    9
    I didn't care for the foul language and the puppet sex could have been cut, but the point was made. Matt and Trey totally get the big picture!!
  81. DallasH.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    The best movie ever! Everyone go to it and buy it!!! AMERICA... F##K YEA!!!!!
  82. JedD.
    Oct 23, 2004
    8
    The soundtrack is hilarious. F*** Yeah. Pearl Harbour sucked and I miss you.
  83. TravisC
    Oct 24, 2004
    5
    Sadly, much like "Shaun of the Dead," the movie promised to be among the funniest of the year, yet fell sadly short. Some of the jokes were funny, but Parker and Stone continue their increasingly wide scope of uniformed political commentary, which they are increasingly bad at. All in all, a let down.
  84. VidM.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    If you like South Park, you must see this movie.
  85. MattA
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    Great songs, and probably one of the funniest things ive seen all year. Had some lame moments, but i had an overall good time watching it.
  86. Shay
    Oct 25, 2004
    5
    The first 30 to 45 minutes were hilarious but after that the jokes seemed to be a little repetitive. Could have been a lot better.
  87. KayK.
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Could not have been funnier...You gotta have a great sense of humor...and an obscure one at that. They are such brilliant writers and I am so thankful that they exist. It was about time for someone to poke fun at all these Hollywood clowns and Matt and Trey helped push them off their soap boxes. The theme songs were hysterical...by far the funniest film I have seen in ages!
  88. EricY.
    Oct 31, 2004
    8
    Absolutely hilarious. I hadn't laughed that hard in a long time. Trey Parker and Matt Stone are always original and funny. I loved the songs they wrote for the movie. That love scene was something else. I was rollin'!
  89. ScottD.
    Oct 30, 2004
    7
    A funny and action-packed film that doesn't have quite as much intelligence as South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut. Still, when it does eventually develop a coherent political point, it's a good one: extremism and ego coming from both left and right will be the death of us, if not terrorism. It's an energetic movie with plenty of laughs that works a bit better as a satire of A funny and action-packed film that doesn't have quite as much intelligence as South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut. Still, when it does eventually develop a coherent political point, it's a good one: extremism and ego coming from both left and right will be the death of us, if not terrorism. It's an energetic movie with plenty of laughs that works a bit better as a satire of action movies than of current politics, but as long as you don't expect the genius of the South Park movie, you'll be fine. Expand
  90. ConlanM.
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    F...ing hilarious... please note this movie isn't for people who aren't open-minded.
  91. ClintonP.
    Jan 14, 2005
    8
    Trey and Matt do it again! They keep me reaching back to that 13 year old malcontent I always wished I could be.
  92. BenS
    Jan 18, 2005
    0
    Awful! the number 0 is a compliment to this film (in fact the word film is a compliment) this was the worst fiver i ever spent in my entire life. It wasn't funny in the slightest and i have an extrmely crude sense of humour it was simply lame and a terrible piece of comedy cinema. I smiled twice. laughed never. almost threw up not because of how disgusting they desperately treied to Awful! the number 0 is a compliment to this film (in fact the word film is a compliment) this was the worst fiver i ever spent in my entire life. It wasn't funny in the slightest and i have an extrmely crude sense of humour it was simply lame and a terrible piece of comedy cinema. I smiled twice. laughed never. almost threw up not because of how disgusting they desperately treied to make it (and failed) but simply how bored, embarressed and simply insulted i was by this terrible piece of cinema. In terms of conetnt there was the odd humerous line, however there was also humerous liens in schindlers List, However you dont see peopel laughign at Schindlers List just as i hope never to see people laughing at Team America. Thankyou for your time. (and for those who email me asking why i am waisting my time typing this. my answer is simple. I have already waisted a perfect eveneing...hell i may aswell waist it all. thankyou. Expand
  93. DustinK
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    This was hands down the funniest movie i've ever seen. If you dont like this movie YOU HAVE NO SENSE OF HUMOR!
  94. GG
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    Amazing movie, brilliant. I like' it very much, the humour is brilliant. And you guys who hate this film, you are way too uptight, or just idiotic patriots. Go get ya self's some sense of HUMOUR!
  95. GrahamB.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    Any film that can make someone throwing up one of the funniest scenes in the history of film deserves to win an oscar. Simply brilliant.
  96. RandiO.
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    It's awesome!!! I never laughed so hard in my life.
  97. Jonathan
    Jun 12, 2005
    8
    I'm really irritated by ill informed people offering their opinions on satire without understanding satire. If you don't understand satire, then how can you possibly understand post modern satire? Not only do Parker and Stone use satire, they poke fun at satire itself, acknowledging its inability to uplift debate in a culture as debased as ours. Perhaps you could call their I'm really irritated by ill informed people offering their opinions on satire without understanding satire. If you don't understand satire, then how can you possibly understand post modern satire? Not only do Parker and Stone use satire, they poke fun at satire itself, acknowledging its inability to uplift debate in a culture as debased as ours. Perhaps you could call their style a parody of satire, if that makes any sense. At any rate, they are obviously left of center and embarassed by the earnestness of the likes of Sean Penn and other humorless Hollywood types. After a while it gets boring making fun of the right wing so you take some shots at your own side. Why waste your time making fun of someone who all the smart people already know is stupid (like the president)? Expand
  98. ericw.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    Brilliant!
  99. ErwinK.
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    No Stone and Parker are NOT pro-bush! They are out to offend, and for people that are not so intelligent out there, they may think that they are pro-bush. It is a Brukheimer parody and parodies how lefties are screwing the world. It parodies that POINT OF VIEW. It does not mean that they themselves have that point of view.
  100. lilh.
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    The funniest movie i've ever seen!
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Team America's strengths are in its musical numbers, especially Kim Jong Il's mournful "I'm So Ronery" (translation: "Lonely"), a heartfelt peek into the dictator's soul.
  2. There is no room for subtlety. Aiming a rude, foul-mouthed political satire everywhere -- left, right and center -- Trey Parker and Matt Stone blow up a good deal of the world, not to mention the egos of many Hollywood personalities
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    Goes the extra mile to piss off everybody -- which includes gleefully destroying renowned Hollywood liberals, literally and figuratively.