User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 63
  2. Negative: 11 out of 63
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 25, 2013
    6
    Yes, the characters are wooden and the plot is entirely generic and predictable, but thanks to some utter cinematic dedication from Fuqua, a handful of cool action set pieces, and a criminally underrated score from Hans Zimmer, "Tears Of The Sun" mostly succeeds as an action thriller.
  2. Jan 28, 2015
    10
    Antoine Fuqua,dirige essa obra-prima com uma linda mensagem de moral,escrito brilhantemente por Alex Lasker e Patrick Cirillo.
    Esse Drama de guerra cheio de ação,é atuado brilhantemente por Bruce Willis E Monica Bellucci "Aquela Morena Gostosa Super Peituda".
  3. May 13, 2011
    6
    Better than your average movie of this type Tears of the sun delivers a respectable story and good acting. Worth a watch, mabye worth buying for around $3. Nothing special here though really, it is just your normal slightly above average flick.
  4. Dec 15, 2011
    4
    The movie opens brilliantly offering a new look into war in contrast to the Vietnam/World II films such as Platoon, Full Metal Jacket, or Saving Private Ryan. Unfortunately this new look is not so good and I found myself soon begging for those classics. The only basis for Tears of the Sun is not in history, but in fiction. The film thus becomes tiresome soon after Bruce Willis enters theThe movie opens brilliantly offering a new look into war in contrast to the Vietnam/World II films such as Platoon, Full Metal Jacket, or Saving Private Ryan. Unfortunately this new look is not so good and I found myself soon begging for those classics. The only basis for Tears of the Sun is not in history, but in fiction. The film thus becomes tiresome soon after Bruce Willis enters the Nigerian village. By the end, we are left with lackluster acting (save for Willis), improbable and unbelievable circumstances including Willis disobeying direct orders without consequence, a cliched and poorly created love scenario between Willis and the good doctor, an ending more cliched than the love scenario and just as poorly built, and a directing style that is at times smooth and stylish, but at others cramped and hard to stomach. Tears of the Sun stands as one of the worse war movies of recent years, though with only two battle sequences in its over 2 hour length, war movie may be an improper description. Expand
  5. ChadS.
    Mar 27, 2003
    7
    Antoine Fuqua's Nigeria is just slightly more convincing than Lars Von Trier's Seattle. Lucky for him, Bruce Willis believes he's in Africa. "Tears of the Sun" is the war movie Alan Parker never got around to directing. That's not necessarily a slag. If the Nigerian refugees were foregrounded, there would be no movie. Most of the time, "Tears of the Sun" shows Antoine Fuqua's Nigeria is just slightly more convincing than Lars Von Trier's Seattle. Lucky for him, Bruce Willis believes he's in Africa. "Tears of the Sun" is the war movie Alan Parker never got around to directing. That's not necessarily a slag. If the Nigerian refugees were foregrounded, there would be no movie. Most of the time, "Tears of the Sun" shows restraint in its portrayal of American heroism, except for a rap session Willis oversees to help decide if they should honor or shirk their added responsibilities. Monica Bellucci, as a dedicated doctor with a god complex is okay, but she'll seem miscast to those who've seen her breasts in her non-English speaking roles. Elizabeth Pena would've been dynamite in this role. Also, a little tweak in the screenplay where the Nigerians repay the favor for Willis' surrender to his conscience would've helped stave off a faint whiff of Rambo. Let it be said, however, that the final confrontation and ensuing evacuation is stirring; not because it's exceptionally well-staged, but because we'd like to see everybody make it out alive. "Tears of the Sun" is a minor war film, but it's better than "Windtalkers" and as good as "When We Were Soldiers". Expand
  6. LivyA.
    Mar 10, 2003
    9
    I don't care what the professional critics say about this movie. I thank the makers of this movie for highlighting the Biafran tragedy which the West found so convenient to "forget". That genocide was probably the first time since WWII that cold war enemies (Britain and the USSR) fought on the same side ( and against an oppressed people). Yes, the movie patronizes in some areas. Yes, I don't care what the professional critics say about this movie. I thank the makers of this movie for highlighting the Biafran tragedy which the West found so convenient to "forget". That genocide was probably the first time since WWII that cold war enemies (Britain and the USSR) fought on the same side ( and against an oppressed people). Yes, the movie patronizes in some areas. Yes, it makes the Americans the "good guys" (although they chose not to heed Biafra's pleas then--probably engrossed in Vietnam), but the reality of the genocide has been revisited. What was missing from the movie was the DIRECT and CENTRAL role of the British governmnet in both the pogrom and the war itself. may be that is another movie. A big THANK YOU to Bruce Willis & co. Expand
  7. Fantasy
    Mar 10, 2003
    1
    Hard to believe this movie was ever made? No chemistry whatsoever and very hard to follow or care for the characters. Rent it.
  8. Jeff
    Mar 7, 2003
    0
    This movie is a piece of trash. It has incredible potential, Willis was, is, and always will be a badass, but this movie is just plain bad. The characters are flat, I couldn't work up any kind of empathy for anyone in this film... no, not even the helpless innocents getting murdered. That is, by the way, a result of bad filmmaking, not some colossal personality flaw on my part. The This movie is a piece of trash. It has incredible potential, Willis was, is, and always will be a badass, but this movie is just plain bad. The characters are flat, I couldn't work up any kind of empathy for anyone in this film... no, not even the helpless innocents getting murdered. That is, by the way, a result of bad filmmaking, not some colossal personality flaw on my part. The plot is appalling, and revolves basically around a) the female lead character being an idiot, and b) Bruce Willis' character being totally whipped. The (melo)dramatic elements in the movie simply don't work, because you don't care about any of the characters. Anyway, I had really high hopes for this movie, but although Willis is his trademark self, even he can't redeem this movie over the horrible writing, plot, and mediocre action directing. Plus 1/2 point because Bruce Willis is cool, but I'm even taking that away because this one was such a letdown. Expand
  9. BubbaFresh
    Mar 9, 2003
    5
    Not a great war flick, but also not deserving of a zero.
  10. FrankK.
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    I think this is one of Bruce's best movies it shows everything it doesent try and cover up anything it shows it like it is anyone who says this movie is boring should smack themselves just cause there isent a fight seen every 2 minuets that doesent make this movie boring like most other movies its about time they come out with a now a day war movie with all this new technology.
  11. AnnaS.
    Jul 3, 2003
    5
    Tears of the sun reminds me of a video game called metal slug and another movie called the walking dead.If you have already seen this flick,you'll understand what I'm talking about,because I give this one a 5,okay?
  12. DavidS.
    Sep 7, 2003
    2
    Okay, let me say I rented this movie for free and it was a total waste of my time. The characters are so flat and cliched its hard to feel symathetic toward any one of them. I mean come on! These tough badass soldiers suddenly have a change in heart?! yeah right. The dialouge was horrible and the death scenes were so over dramatized I felt like I was reading a last-minute college term Okay, let me say I rented this movie for free and it was a total waste of my time. The characters are so flat and cliched its hard to feel symathetic toward any one of them. I mean come on! These tough badass soldiers suddenly have a change in heart?! yeah right. The dialouge was horrible and the death scenes were so over dramatized I felt like I was reading a last-minute college term paper. This is class A garbage. And the message? Well, lets just say that oddles of war movies cover the same hollywood abbused "moral message". Expand
  13. MarcusP
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    One of my all time favorite movies, great action, good story and Monica Bellucci what more can a guy ask for?
  14. J.Anderson
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    Ethnic cleansing, bull. This film, in the face of status quo, is a first. Due to a lack of reading material, it does not shock me that this fact is not known. Everywhere in the third world, where the Islamic religion gains any power, Christians are slaughtered. Is god always on there side? Or are the lions always fed with Muslim oil money. There economic power keeps this a savagely dirty Ethnic cleansing, bull. This film, in the face of status quo, is a first. Due to a lack of reading material, it does not shock me that this fact is not known. Everywhere in the third world, where the Islamic religion gains any power, Christians are slaughtered. Is god always on there side? Or are the lions always fed with Muslim oil money. There economic power keeps this a savagely dirty secret. Lebanon went from a majority Christian to a Muslim majority and where was the liberal out cry. The millions that died in Somalia from famine in the south were Christians and the north ,with no famine, was Muslim. Convert, die or get out. This is the battle cry of the worlds fastest growing religion. A 10 for guts enough to tell a story in the face of status quo. Expand
  15. NathanF.
    Mar 9, 2003
    2
    Insanely boring, full of weird inconsistancies, and featuring a whole whack of people you probably won't bother to care about. Did I mention that it takes almost an hour for anything resembling an "action" scene to take place?
  16. NormanF.
    Jun 3, 2003
    9
    An excellent search and rescue war film. Antoine Fuqua direction is letter perfect. Fuqua along with the film editor and cinematographer creates a atmospheric intense drama. The cast is pefect. Bruce Willis delivers is most brooding perfomance to date. The cast potraying the SEALS are perfect also, especially Eamonn Walker and Cole Hauser. The only down point was the beautiful Monic An excellent search and rescue war film. Antoine Fuqua direction is letter perfect. Fuqua along with the film editor and cinematographer creates a atmospheric intense drama. The cast is pefect. Bruce Willis delivers is most brooding perfomance to date. The cast potraying the SEALS are perfect also, especially Eamonn Walker and Cole Hauser. The only down point was the beautiful Monic Bellucci. Her character boarderd on the absub, but the actress herself does what she can the role. The Nigerian commanders come across as soldiers and as just illiterate savages. The climactic action sequences are first-rate. Ranks with the best film of the genre. Expand
  17. ConradC.
    Jul 10, 2003
    3
    Bruce plays what would be about the oldest 0-3 (Lieutenant) in Navy Special Ops history, and the director seemed to have almost no knowledge of Special Operations or basic military tactics. This is bad, but even worse is keeping the gorgeous Monica Bellucci covered with a bad, baggy outfit, simulated sweat and disgusting layer of grime for most of the movie. This is a woman who's not Bruce plays what would be about the oldest 0-3 (Lieutenant) in Navy Special Ops history, and the director seemed to have almost no knowledge of Special Operations or basic military tactics. This is bad, but even worse is keeping the gorgeous Monica Bellucci covered with a bad, baggy outfit, simulated sweat and disgusting layer of grime for most of the movie. This is a woman who's not afraid to show a little high quality skin, wasted in a roll some fatso could have played with gusto. I give it a THREE for the mindless action sequences and passable cinematography. The story was awful and the resulting movie a boring waste of my time. Bruce and Monica deserve better, and what the devil was Ton Skerritt thinking? The cliched "rebels" with the bloody machetes could have cut a better film! Expand
  18. TracyR.
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    I thought this movie was the greatest. I've watched it 5 times. Great great movie.
  19. AaronA.
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    One of my all time favourite films, FULL STOP.
  20. [Anonymous]
    Jul 1, 2005
    7
    The brutality of Africa is shown in great detail. the action is great, although the ending is a little cliched.
  21. ThomasS.
    Mar 14, 2003
    3
    Good God the screenplay is bad!! I almost walked out on this movie. And now I wish I had!
  22. DanB.
    Mar 17, 2003
    3
    This is a pretty awful movie, but technically speaking, it's made very well and it seems like they at least intended to shed light on Africa's problems. Monica Bellucci gives so many fiery exhalations of breath in this film that she comes off like a wronged school girl. And anyhow she looks like a J. Crew ad, not a doctor in Africa. How anyone thought they could make a serious This is a pretty awful movie, but technically speaking, it's made very well and it seems like they at least intended to shed light on Africa's problems. Monica Bellucci gives so many fiery exhalations of breath in this film that she comes off like a wronged school girl. And anyhow she looks like a J. Crew ad, not a doctor in Africa. How anyone thought they could make a serious comment on Africa by way of Bruckheimer-esque military movie is beyond me... Expand
  23. MikaelF.
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    I thought this movie showed a realistic side to how brutal ethnic cleansing really is. This movie was a true action/drama. Bruce Willis and his Navy Seals also showed a humanistic side to war.
  24. Phatman
    Mar 9, 2003
    6
    It's not a bad movie, except you can't tell what the hell is going on. Half the movie is in this dark jungle where you can't tell who's doing what.
  25. David
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    Best movie Ever!!!
  26. DinuF.
    May 4, 2003
    0
    incredible stupid movie. if it would have to be a good action movie, trash the female char, trash the refugees, just invade some country and stfu. the whole patriotic music, the extremly dumb dialogs which hurts even the intelligence of a fly can make you vomit fast if you have to watch it. disc: english isnt my main language.
  27. TylerK.
    Jun 18, 2003
    9
    Not as moving as a movie such as "Black Hawk Down" or "Saving Private Ryan", yet moving in a way that seems more real than both combined. This movie shows the best of the United States military, in a truthful manner. There are no superhuman heroes in the team that can withstand any enemy action, nor are they equipped with a "Sixth Sense" about what the enemy will do or when they will Not as moving as a movie such as "Black Hawk Down" or "Saving Private Ryan", yet moving in a way that seems more real than both combined. This movie shows the best of the United States military, in a truthful manner. There are no superhuman heroes in the team that can withstand any enemy action, nor are they equipped with a "Sixth Sense" about what the enemy will do or when they will appear. This team is realistic to the death, and the movie portrays that perfectly. A great drama and stunning story that deals with the truth of war, and not the heroes of it. This movie will grace my collection beside the greats of our time for as long as I am able to watch movies. Expand
  28. SheilaS.
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    The best war movie I've ever seen and I don't usually like them.
  29. ChazG.
    Jul 11, 2003
    6
    By far, has the most realistic tactical entry scene I have ever seen in any action film. (HK MK 23) If you can get over the lack of logical judgement in the best special forces team the U.S. has to offer, this may be perceived as not a bad movie.
  30. MichaelD.
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    F...ing excellent, best film of 2003 thus far.
  31. Spriggangirl
    Jul 3, 2003
    5
    Tears of the sun reminds me of a video game called metal slug and another movie called the patriot that I've seen before.If anyone that has already seen this film and does'nt know that tears of the sun is like metal slug,you should see it, okay?
  32. FrankL
    Feb 6, 2008
    2
    Professionally made awful movie: to be avoided. The plot is only realistic for people showing afrike in south amerika on the map. Completely undeveloped characters just relying on standard clichés (saves character build time) this movie just relies on what would be the imagination of a 12 years old writer playing with his lego-soldiers. All thumbs down.
  33. JugsterJam
    Jun 11, 2003
    9
    This is not an action packed movie. It is actuall a very serious drama. There are graphic parts and other historicaly and current issues happening in Africa. The movie is realistic in its navy seal description. The situation is realistic and special features has voices from people who were trying to escape the conflict. There is also the making and the dvd contains 6 trailers from This is not an action packed movie. It is actuall a very serious drama. There are graphic parts and other historicaly and current issues happening in Africa. The movie is realistic in its navy seal description. The situation is realistic and special features has voices from people who were trying to escape the conflict. There is also the making and the dvd contains 6 trailers from upcoming movies. I would watch it over again. Expand
  34. Mark
    Jun 28, 2003
    9
    Loved it! Thought the message was very needed and suprised it came from Hollywood. Would recommend it.
  35. C.Bass
    Jul 26, 2003
    3
    Too unrealistic...the only thing that made those guys navy seals were their weapons. The mission they were on their decisions are total bs.
  36. Soryu
    Aug 19, 2003
    10
    Great movie, very realistic battles and the best spec ops team work (especially IA drill in the last battle sentence) I ever seen inthe war movie. hooyah
  37. TimC.
    Jan 16, 2005
    9
    Excellent movie - has superb acting with an very good plot.
  38. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. It is strange to see its such - the actor whom it is difficult to present in other role, than to roles of the cool guy thrusting tens of bullets in any who will encroach on the American way of life.


    It is strange to look, how flow down on the person of the lieutenant rain drops, and to see his eyes. Eyes of the professional many long years killing by order of where will tell and in whom will specify. Eyes in which is brighter, than in the opinion of the person of any other trade, all pain of this silly is reflected, God of the damned world which is not able and doing not wish to learn to live in the consent with itself. Eyes in which depth, behind a wall of composure of the gone through fire and water person, the weariness hardly considerably decays. Both grief. And a question: what I for you, become hardened should make heart and soul Adam and Eve's living on this planet descendants that you at last have realized importance of each human life? How many still lives I that you has reached should take away, what it is impossible to kill or order to kill only because to you so it is pleasant or because you are obliged? Whom from you I should shoot down or kill, that the mankind has come round and has ceased is boastful to be trampled down knee-deep in own blood? This question is set to itself by each soldier. Not only at cinema, but also in life. But it is necessary to search for the answer to it very long. At times so happens that it comes only when the one who set, has already failed on the earth with the raked breast.


    And still each of them hopes that will find the answer not too late. That can make it still before will feel that for quite some time now to it already on all to spit, and the question that was once shone in the heart of eyes, was replaced with the cold, cynical and indifferent counter of death.


    And it... It has already found it. Not in words and not in books. And in eyes. In the opinion of Lena Kendricks, going mad of ignorance - it has survived or not. In the opinion of those whom conducted behind itself to the border and whom covered with fire in last furious and bloody firing. In the opinion of Slo, dying at it on hands. In the opinion of Lake, covered before death the body the Nigerian girl.


    The answer has appeared is simple. Easier the most simple question. Healthy fellow Mike was right, devil take it: "all it wasn't vain".


    After all if you want to rescue the whole world - begin at least with one person...
    Collapse
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 36
  2. Negative: 7 out of 36
  1. 70
    Tears of the Sun may be a flattering myth, but it’s not a bad myth to be flattered by. [17 March 2003, p. 154]
  2. The movie remains engaging, with a couple of sequences verging on stunning.
  3. Unfortunately, the movie's real setting is a sentimental fantasy world, and its story is a spectacularly incoherent exercise in geopolitical wish fulfillment.