Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jun 29, 2012
    88
    The surprise of Ted is that it goes for honest Spielbergian wonder, too, and even earns some tears.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jun 28, 2012
    88
    Ted is really a rather sweet examination of loyalty, friendship, and love. Wahlberg and Kunis are charming together (though not exactly in a Cary Grant / Audrey Hepburn kind of way), and both manage to play this thing - at least the challenges-of-a-serious-relationship part of this thing - straight.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 27, 2012
    88
    The funniest movie character so far this year is a stuffed teddy bear. And the best comedy screenplay so far is Ted, the saga of the bear's friendship with a 35-year-old manchild.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jul 1, 2012
    83
    It's often convulsively funny.
  5. Reviewed by: Tony Horkins
    Jul 23, 2012
    80
    A fabulous first live-action effort, combining R-rated hilarity with skilled storytelling as it slips some real heart into the stuffing of a toy bear.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jul 1, 2012
    80
    In a universe of Hollywood comedies that seem determined to insult the audience and pander to the basest form of post-adolescent fantasy, Ted feels almost sophisticated.
  7. 80
    Ted runs out of invention in its last act (the bear is coveted by a chillingly deadpan sociopath, played by Giovanni Ribisi, and the villain's fat son), but I can't think of a better movie to see if you're male and want to get high and relive your idiot adolescence.
  8. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jul 1, 2012
    80
    MacFarlane gets an impressive amount of comic mileage from having a plush toy talk like a Boston low-life, though for gut laughs nothing compares to the brutal, frantic, and completely wordless fight scene between Wahlberg and his little buddy in a cheap hotel room.
  9. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jun 28, 2012
    80
    This is no-holds-barred humor of the finest, grossest kind, centered around the theme of arrested development.
  10. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Jun 25, 2012
    80
    Movies don't get much funnier than Ted.
  11. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jun 23, 2012
    80
    Not too many films serve up laughs that just keep on rolling with regularity from beginning to end, but Seth MacFarlane's directorial debut does so and without any feeling of strain.
  12. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jun 28, 2012
    75
    Ted may not be profound or deft, but when it hits the sweet-sour spot, which it does regularly, it can win you over.
  13. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 28, 2012
    75
    Ted is essentially a one-joke movie. Okay, it's a very funny joke, but it's still only one joke.
  14. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 28, 2012
    75
    A crass, foul-mouthed, mostly hilarious, surprisingly sentimental bromance.
  15. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 28, 2012
    75
    One of the tricks of Ted -- perhaps its smartest one -- is that everyone, not just John, knows the bear can talk.
  16. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 28, 2012
    75
    It's hysterically, gut-bustingly funny.
  17. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jun 27, 2012
    75
    Ted is never stronger than when Wahlberg and MacFarlane's Ted hang out, riff, and luxuriate in an easy friendship, but as it lurches to a conclusion, Ted unwisely devotes far too much of its time to a plot it would be better off ignoring.
  18. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jun 26, 2012
    75
    Most of Ted eludes description, analysis and explanation. You just have to hold onto your own certifiable sense of humor and let Mr. MacFarlane take you where he wants to go. Then get out of the way and enjoy it.
  19. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jun 28, 2012
    70
    The comic targets run the gamut - race, religion, relationships, reality, etc. While nothing is sacred, the sacrilege comes with just enough sweetness to offset the salt.
  20. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    Jun 28, 2012
    63
    As unabashedly idiotic movie comedies go, Ted goes fairly well.
  21. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 28, 2012
    63
    This bromance with rapid-fire quips, however, is undermined by unoriginal scenarios and a long, drawn-out chase scene.
  22. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 29, 2012
    60
    Unapologetically raw -- and very funny.
  23. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 28, 2012
    60
    True chemistry is hard to find. And by some stroke of movie magic - or sheer skill - Wahlberg and the bear make a pretty great team.
  24. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Jun 26, 2012
    60
    MacFarlane may need to jettison his adolescent belief that cramming every moment with two winks and a zinger exponentially ups the gutbusting, however, before he can hit his real artistic stride.
  25. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jun 27, 2012
    58
    And yet. And yet, Gawd help me, the always surprising Mark Wahlberg throws himself into his thespian adventure with such radiant wacko energy, so full of Boston beans, that Ted is also kind of, well, impressively nuts.
  26. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jun 28, 2012
    50
    For all of its transgressive plush-toy sex and screw-'em humor, the plot is pretty standard stuff.
  27. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 28, 2012
    50
    You can find this clever, or you can find it lazy, and this is why MacFarlane is the biggest mixed blessing in contemporary TV comedy: He is both.
  28. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 28, 2012
    50
    Ted is more of an idea than a movie, a string of jokes and homages starring a cartoon and some game actors whose performances are destined to be enjoyed in chunks, rarely from start to finish, during momentary breaks of channel surfing on late-night TV.
  29. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jun 27, 2012
    50
    So what's not to love? For starters, there's the inescapable fact that Ted is, no matter how you stuff it, yet another man-child buddy movie – and all that that implies.
  30. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 27, 2012
    50
    The one-note joke plays out longer and better than you might expect, at least for a while. But not forever.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 615 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 185
  1. Jul 15, 2012
    3
    This was a very disappointing movie. After seeing all of those people saying it was one of the funniest movies in a long time, I had high expectations for this movie. Being a fan of both Family Guy and American Dad, I felt very confident that this would be a good movie. Boy how wrong I was. I don't know why I didn't expect anything except a long episode of Family Guy but that's all this movie was in the end. The same jokes, the same cut-away style of jokes, the same everything. That would be fine if the movie was entertaining and it just wasn't. The story was terrible. The actor's were not very good and they were obviously mailing it in half the time. There were some decent moments here and there but this movie was very unoriginal and just boring most of the time. I'll stick with MacFarlane's T.V. shows from now on if this is going to be the quality of his movies. Full Review »
  2. Jul 7, 2012
    0
    This movie made me ashamed to be American. Our standards for comedy have completely deteriorated. After seeing The Dictator and now TED, I'm completely convinced that Hollywood will never release another intelligent, funny comedy ever again. The sad thing is that I was both a fan of Sacha Baron Cohen and Seth MacFarlane, but I have lost respect for both of them. This was a movie made for complete morons. How many times can you say d**k and have someone take a sh*t before it's not funny any more? Has every great comedic writer completely run out of ideas? It's absolutely pathetic. I could not believe that everyone in the theater was laughing at the worst writing and acting I've ever seen. The biggest problem was that the movie was BORING. If you're gonna make a movie about a teddy bear, could you at least not bore me to tears? When that chase scene started and they started sewing up the bear enough was enough. I'm not prude or lacking in the humor department at all, but I just think it's really sad what comedy has turned into. I miss comedies that had the ability to make me laugh without saying "s**k my d**k" 800 times. There used to be real humor with real thought behind it, it wasn't so cheap and void of any class or wit. Now all you need is someone to take a dump, a famous actor to say "s**k my d**k", and a few offensive, unoriginal jokes about homosexuals/Jews/Mexicans/Asians and you've got yourself a golden ticket. People, come on!!!! We deserve more!!!! Is there anyone out there???? Please tell me I'm not the only one who felt this way! Full Review »
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    What a funny movie it is full of laughs if you enjoy humor and dont mind if the jokes are about sex,drugs and fat kids this movie is for you not for the kids though Full Review »