New Line Cinema | Release Date: November 22, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 165 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
115
Mixed:
20
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RyanM.Dec 26, 2008
Pure genius.
10 of 10 users found this helpful
8
StevenL.Aug 7, 2008
I'm rating it an eight. I enjoyed it up to ten though. I realize that it lags at times and it really should be a 7, but i enjoyed it so i bumped it up to 8. But the song's Kickapoo & Beezleboss are 10's all around. Jack Black I'm rating it an eight. I enjoyed it up to ten though. I realize that it lags at times and it really should be a 7, but i enjoyed it so i bumped it up to 8. But the song's Kickapoo & Beezleboss are 10's all around. Jack Black is money as usual, that warrants and eight. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
Alex6Oct 18, 2010
A cult classic! With laugh-out-loud rock references, an incredbile cast and two men who play off eachother perfectly. The perfect comedy duo. I suppose the film was a little on the short side and its packed with continuity errors, but soA cult classic! With laugh-out-loud rock references, an incredbile cast and two men who play off eachother perfectly. The perfect comedy duo. I suppose the film was a little on the short side and its packed with continuity errors, but so what? The bottom line is - it's easily quotable and so funny! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
rdaviesJan 3, 2013
Most reviews of this film will say something along the line of it not being a film for a large audience but more an experience for the fans, and I will say, unless you're a fan, you'll wonder what the hell is happening. If you watched thisMost reviews of this film will say something along the line of it not being a film for a large audience but more an experience for the fans, and I will say, unless you're a fan, you'll wonder what the hell is happening. If you watched this and have never heard their music before then it will come across as two wannabe rock gods in a film that makes little sense. A fan of the band or just Jack Black and it's definitely for you; the typically silly Tenacious D humour, the general relationship between JB and Kyle Gass works very well and of course a brilliant soundtrack.

The script isn't brilliant, and as others have said it starts phenomenally well but goes off track and becomes ridiculous as the film progresses only to be saved from mediocrity by a brilliant ending. Though that's not to say there aren't some very good parts in the middle, it's just a bit of a mess. Those who criticize their "ego" by calling themselves the best band in the world obviously are blind to the fact that it's the joke. You don't have to be stoned to enjoy it, maybe it helps, but there are enough laughs and outright brilliant musical entertainment to keep a fan happy, and Tenacious D are possibly the only people capable of making such low-brow humour acceptable. To someone who isn't a fan, keep an open mind and remember when it comes to this duo nothing has to make complete logical sense. It's not a good idea to over analyze this film, just enjoy it for what it is. Ridiculous, rocking and hilarious.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
monster_mealJul 24, 2013
I'm really not sure how it bombed so bad. I immediately connected with the film. I've watched it many times and consider it a comedy classic in my library. To each their own, I say! What has one person quaking with laughter doesn't do itI'm really not sure how it bombed so bad. I immediately connected with the film. I've watched it many times and consider it a comedy classic in my library. To each their own, I say! What has one person quaking with laughter doesn't do it for another. That's fine, but, if you dig the D then you should give this a shot because it's pretty drop dead hilarious. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
GazJun 8, 2013
A cheesy, low-budget movie featuring Tenacious D. It's not intended for people who aren't fans of the greatest rock and roll band of all time. It's dumb, it's rockin', it's hilarious. What more do you want?
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
IKnoGoodGamesNov 20, 2011
Really funny film with its epic questline along the way. Dont listen to the haters they are just too old to understand what awesome music is all about. Everyone must watch it. Highly recommended
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CailoreMar 27, 2012
This is more of an inside joke than a major motion picture -- you'll either get it or you'll leave wondering why it wasn't more like Avatar.

m/ m/
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Bender99Jun 9, 2012
I think its safe to say it let fans down....... but funny and awesome music! And I still watch it over and over again. I would rather watch the hbo episodes. The new album is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
chicagopianoOct 8, 2011
It will make you laugh, if you didn't laugh then you're taking it too seriously. The story is simple enough so that when/if you're high you won't get confused
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
ScoA.Apr 2, 2007
The worst movie of the year. If Jack Black didn't use the F bomb, he would have no lines.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JohnR.Nov 27, 2006
Not funny at all - from the sophomoric cartoon farting at the beginning - to the lame parody of bad rockers going nowhere - a "This is Spinal Tap" it is not.
0 of 5 users found this helpful
5
JacobC.Feb 19, 2007
Disappointing and cumbersome, even to a huge D fan as myself.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KyriakosV.Jul 12, 2007
This movie was a bad idea.Very boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KyleRJun 30, 2009
I didn't really find it that funny... i actually kind of felt bad for jack black and kyle gass' characters, more than finding them funny. also, the ending was awful. really, i can use only one word to describe it: meh.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SkuggeSep 14, 2010
Man this movie sucked. There story could have been written by a 10 year old. Dough i love both Jack Black and Dave Grohl, there is no excuse for this movie. I think turned it off 3 times. I would have called Jack and asked for my money backMan this movie sucked. There story could have been written by a 10 year old. Dough i love both Jack Black and Dave Grohl, there is no excuse for this movie. I think turned it off 3 times. I would have called Jack and asked for my money back if it didnt borrow it for free from a friend. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
It was pretty terrible. Poor acting, Poor music as well and I thought it made for a terrible musical, and the entire film is just so stupid you cant believe that you are actually watching this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
I guess you need to enjoy stoner humor to find any Apatow film funny. I just don't enjoy his work, it seems that all he really cares about is glorifying drugs (yes pot is a drug don't kid yourself). The truth is the only laughs he can conjureI guess you need to enjoy stoner humor to find any Apatow film funny. I just don't enjoy his work, it seems that all he really cares about is glorifying drugs (yes pot is a drug don't kid yourself). The truth is the only laughs he can conjure up are based off of some baked character who laughs at anything someone says. Rogen has some talent but he needs to separate himself from anything Apatow and focus in on some real comedy rather than his stoner roles. I am just not seeing peoples fascination with Apatow I have yet to see a movie of his that was quality and Knocked Up just continues the trend of unfunny writing that is just used to glorify pot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
PlaystationRyanFeb 18, 2014
It's pretty crude humor but it's awesome rock and roll and just some pure entertaining stuff which is what it all comes down to. Jack Black has always been my favorite actor and combine that with Rock and Roll and it's pure genius.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MarcD.Dec 6, 2006
This is Black unleashed...brilliance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
hihiNov 5, 2008
This movie is one of the best in all time anyone that hates it can suck eggs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
rachelt.Nov 20, 2006
Extremely funny & entertaining...def. for tenacious d fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianM.Nov 30, 2006
Brilliant opening, brilliant ending, and enough good bits in between to tie it together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewE.Nov 30, 2006
Certainly not the best movie I've seen this year, but going in one can't possibly hope to expect that. Instead, you get a solid, thoroughly entertaining flick that should keep general rockers and fans of The D equally amused.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeSethNov 30, 2006
Awesometastic rock opera of the soul.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenEDec 29, 2006
For people looking for a movie, don't watch this, for people who like the band, don' t watch it, this movie is intented for the fans of the band, and not many other people (execpt fans) will like this moive. It has typical For people looking for a movie, don't watch this, for people who like the band, don' t watch it, this movie is intented for the fans of the band, and not many other people (execpt fans) will like this moive. It has typical Tenacious D humor, typical songs, it's more of a big rock show than a movie, if you dont like this band, i dont know why you would watch this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CyberS.Jan 8, 2007
Though this movie is rated poorly [by many people who don't have half a mind to know this movie was not meant for wanna-be respectable people in society], it was, in fact, meant for teenager boys to laugh and snort and crap their pants Though this movie is rated poorly [by many people who don't have half a mind to know this movie was not meant for wanna-be respectable people in society], it was, in fact, meant for teenager boys to laugh and snort and crap their pants from the sick humor. If the viewers did not expect this, then they need to learn how to tell a teenage-boy movie from a Grade A movie. When this humor is expected, though, it's played well. Many people, mainly teenage boys, are now actually inspired to make their own movies. Though they are stoners, like the audience of the movie implies, this movie was made for them and rockers alike. Look at the population that this movie is appealing to... It's big. The D is big. See this if you have ever had a good high, or if you have a teenage boyfriend. You'll get cool points. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RockyB.Mar 10, 2007
For me as a Dutch viewer watching the film in Amsterdam - well - there could not be a better movie to go to. I'm no drug user by any means but pretty much all the humor and genius you can derive from extended soft drug use is in this For me as a Dutch viewer watching the film in Amsterdam - well - there could not be a better movie to go to. I'm no drug user by any means but pretty much all the humor and genius you can derive from extended soft drug use is in this movie. That doesn't mean that's the only thing good about this movie, seriously, the choreography and sequencing has been done terrifically. I expected to go to a B-movie, especially because we were assigned to one of the smallest rooms inside the movie theater. It turned out to be one of the best rollercoaster rides with some very good rock and photography i've been to in, well, years! Quite unbelievably, Jack Black and Kyle Gass turn out to be respectable actors, their music seems to come out quite terrifically and for some reason, Liam Lynch managed to do something convincing for a change, as opposed to the annoying humor he (and Ben Stiller for that matter) usually has. The orchestral and rock tunes are magnificent and if you are remotely attracted to fictional epics, and if you have some sense of humor and imagination, this is definitely a movie you WILL have to see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickGMar 4, 2007
Look--you already know if you're going to like this. Do you like Jack Black? Do you like silly movies? Is part of you completely in awe of Led Zeppelin? Would you think it funny to fashion a bong from Satan's horn? If you answered Look--you already know if you're going to like this. Do you like Jack Black? Do you like silly movies? Is part of you completely in awe of Led Zeppelin? Would you think it funny to fashion a bong from Satan's horn? If you answered yes to 3 or more of the above questions, you'll definitely enjoy this movie. If not, maybe take a pass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamB.Apr 8, 2007
Hilarious film! This is the kind of comedy that mixes "The Three Stooges" with "The Producers". It's good to know that Tenacious D is still the best band ever. And be amazed by the final battle with Beelzebub!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimMJul 1, 2008
You people are all nuts! This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Genius comedy! I loved every minute of it. You people take life WAY too seriously if you hate this fun movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrismApr 6, 2009
Hilarious and cool movie, i love the songs they make a perfect duo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BillS.Nov 26, 2006
Horribly unfunny. Jack Black shouldn't have a career after this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattR.Nov 26, 2006
A lame joke that lasts 90 minutes. Jack Black puts in the same performance he's been doing for 10 years, and at this point it's about as funny as watching Saved By The Bell reruns.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PennyS.Nov 27, 2006
I did not laugh once while watching this movie. This is very juvenile humor and is devoid of anything redeming whatsoever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeathNov 30, 2006
LEDGENDS!! Kage and J-Bles are Ledgends. Rock offs with the Devil and sasquatch's!!! And i have never Smoked Dope! TENACIOUS D ARE LORDS OF ROCK!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnWNov 30, 2006
This movie is awesome! I don't usually waste my time armchair reviewing but reading the other reviews I felt compelled to say something. I can
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MickDec 2, 2006
Fans of the D will enjoy the film however they may leave feeling let down. While the film certainly lives up to the D standards it doesn't compare to the episodes which so much of this film clearly stems from.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristopherW.Feb 28, 2007
I do not own any Tenacious D albums, nor have I ever seen any previous work by this band other than a music video that aired on MTV several years ago. However, I must say that 'The Pick of Destiny' is the most sustained comedy of I do not own any Tenacious D albums, nor have I ever seen any previous work by this band other than a music video that aired on MTV several years ago. However, I must say that 'The Pick of Destiny' is the most sustained comedy of the year with Kevin Smith's 'Clerks II.' I found this rock musical comedy to be gut bustingly hilarious, a film I could most assuredly watch again and again. The manic energy, unchecked enthusiasm, and uninhibited extremely well choreographed comedy stagings make this one of the very best comedies of 2006. A must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JakobK.Mar 10, 2007
If you're a fan of the TV series and their first album, you'll like this movie, which is the high-paced and humoristic culmination of the entire D mythos. It has a few flaws
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
[Anonymous]Mar 20, 2007
Jack Black is so overrated. And is he serious about the "Tenacious D" band thing? I saw them play on SNL. Really, its an overplayed joke, right?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BlisterfishCafeMar 30, 2007
I am a true, hardcore fan of JB. I admire his talent, attitude, and his body of excellent, quite original work. The word "horror" fails to touch the emotion I felt when I watched this film. Didn't make it to the end...this movie is I am a true, hardcore fan of JB. I admire his talent, attitude, and his body of excellent, quite original work. The word "horror" fails to touch the emotion I felt when I watched this film. Didn't make it to the end...this movie is unwatchable. *hangs head in sorrow*. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamH.Mar 1, 2008
Some good laughs... I have a feeling if you are high you will really enjoy it though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TimoVMar 25, 2009
I'd loved to say I loved this film, but it's such a environmental and situational issue whether you like this film or not, so I won't say anything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LydiaHAug 15, 2009
This movie is a great Rock Musical Stoner Comedy. It not only features a great cast, it also gives you Excellent Production & Direction. It is so well done! It begins with a great cartoon fart and it says "THC", then proclaims "The Audience This movie is a great Rock Musical Stoner Comedy. It not only features a great cast, it also gives you Excellent Production & Direction. It is so well done! It begins with a great cartoon fart and it says "THC", then proclaims "The Audience Is Baking". This movie is filled with lots of HERB, Lots of ROCK,& Lots of LAUGHS The intro is an awesome song that pisses young JB's father (Meatloaf) off. Leading another awesome song featuring the great Ronnie James Dio. After and amazing awesome rock intro JB end's up in Hollywood where he meets KG. The story progresses from there and they have to find the pick of Destiny.Located at the Rock and Roll History Museum. They go on a journey and meet many people along the way. There are AMAZING JAMS between dialog that fits right in with story. Like I said It's a musical. Ben Stiller makes an appearance, as well as other names like Amy Pohler, Fred Armisen, Tim Robbins, David Grohl & Paul F. Tompkins. I wont spoil the ending. All I will say is it ends in a GREAT ROCK OFF! & the B.O.D.! This movie i good. It's even better if you smoke weed and are a Tenacious D Fan. (Such as Myself) I've seen this movie over and over again. You know how every thing is enhanced when you're high? Everything is Funnier, food tastbetter, you feel the music more? Well get nice and toasted and sit back and give it a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillC.Nov 21, 2006
Great musical bits and a lot of fun overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JordanL.Nov 27, 2006
Gimme a break. There is nothing remotely funny in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TeriG.Nov 27, 2006
Unquethe worst movie of the year. What a waste of time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RayB.Nov 27, 2006
Jack Black is a mediocre actor at best. However, when he appears in a badly written movie (which he co-wrote) he blows.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianR.Nov 27, 2006
A couple of stoners that are wannabe legends in their own minds. Not original. Not funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamF.Nov 30, 2006
At least one of the greatest motion pictures of all time. Way better than Citizen Kane. This movie may have a small target audience, but those who are prepared to rock will salute it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyH.Dec 10, 2006
Seriously just a great movie. After I saw the movie, I was a little disappointed, but I went home and I listened to the soundtrack, and I realized the movie was really awesome. It wasn't quite as laugh out loud funny as I'd Seriously just a great movie. After I saw the movie, I was a little disappointed, but I went home and I listened to the soundtrack, and I realized the movie was really awesome. It wasn't quite as laugh out loud funny as I'd expected, but it was entertaining and awesome. Any rock fan should see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardH.Dec 10, 2006
Excellent, probably goes over a lot of thick peoples heads though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BennyBDec 19, 2006
A perfect summation of the D's struggle to the top. The soundtrack flows amazing well with the film, while still being distinct enough to give you a laugh. Jack Black has definitely been funnier, but Kyle Gass comes through as the ideal A perfect summation of the D's struggle to the top. The soundtrack flows amazing well with the film, while still being distinct enough to give you a laugh. Jack Black has definitely been funnier, but Kyle Gass comes through as the ideal straight-man. The greatest film ever? No. The greatest band on earth? Still, and always will be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulHDec 8, 2007
One of the funniest movies I have seen in a very long time. Turn off your pretentiousness, turn up the sound system.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IanB.Sep 27, 2007
Good not great some really solid laughs throughout the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NielsP.Aug 15, 2008
This is one of the few movies, that I have watched more than once. I love rock, especially hard rock, and this movie was just the greatest ever, and when I'm not watching the movie again and again, I'm listening to their music. This is one of the few movies, that I have watched more than once. I love rock, especially hard rock, and this movie was just the greatest ever, and when I'm not watching the movie again and again, I'm listening to their music. Great movie, I remembered JB from School of Rock, which was also a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IainF.Aug 22, 2008
This film is a classic. Rock brilliance from earths mightiest band!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
R.H.Nov 25, 2006
Kind of a prequel to the HBO series....in fact, that's what it surprisingly is (despite a continuity error with Lee's first appearance), so I'll forgive the lack of including their "later" material, which many of us have heard Kind of a prequel to the HBO series....in fact, that's what it surprisingly is (despite a continuity error with Lee's first appearance), so I'll forgive the lack of including their "later" material, which many of us have heard before. The script has some belly laughs, but it could have been much stronger, and ultimately a little disappointing for fans of the television series. Not a bad comedy by any means, but it certainly had the potential for greatness. Perhaps they can edit the three half hour HBO episodes into a proper sequel? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamieP.Nov 27, 2006
I went into the movie with serious expectations of being entertained by Jack Black. It didn't work. Bad script and bad acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LauraB.Nov 27, 2006
Lame, lame, lame. Don't bother. I walked out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobShouldiceNov 27, 2006
My 13 year old could write better material than this drivel. Very disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ElizabethP.Nov 27, 2006
Tenacious D is destined to be a bad movie disaster. There was not one LOL in the movie theater. Blows big time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PoeticChaosDec 9, 2013
Though some would argue them to be a Novelty duo, my opinion lies in saying that they make excellent Metal that just so happens to have hilarious lyrics. This highly underrated classic takes you through a journey of mixing classic metal withThough some would argue them to be a Novelty duo, my opinion lies in saying that they make excellent Metal that just so happens to have hilarious lyrics. This highly underrated classic takes you through a journey of mixing classic metal with new elements featuring Meat Loaf, Ronnie James Dio, and Dave Grohl in their musical pieces. Ben Stiller and John C Reily also make appearances as actors in comical moments. This Movie is a must see for anybody with a great sense of humor and love for metal! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
flametail23Dec 11, 2014
I first watched this when I was quite young and it was the first R rated movie I had seen, I love it. Watching it now I can say that I get more of the jokes now and it's still very funny.
8/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MisterRecklessOct 21, 2014
This is not the greatest review in the world, no. This is just a tribute.

This is one of my favourite movies ever. Anyone who gives this less than a 8/10 is just a humourless donkey and needs to go back to watching Eastenders. There is
This is not the greatest review in the world, no. This is just a tribute.

This is one of my favourite movies ever. Anyone who gives this less than a 8/10 is just a humourless donkey and needs to go back to watching Eastenders.
There is constant comedy and creates non-stop laughter. I've watched this about 100 times and not once failed to laugh at the same things over and over.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
russiangamerFeb 4, 2017
Люблю эту группу.
А вот фильм не полюбил.
Музыкальные вставки, конечно, шедевральны, но всё действие происходящее между ними довольно скучно и не смешно. Да, есть неплохие шутки, но их мало для комедии. Итог: Даже при том, что мне нравится
Люблю эту группу.
А вот фильм не полюбил.
Музыкальные вставки, конечно, шедевральны, но всё действие происходящее между ними довольно скучно и не смешно. Да, есть неплохие шутки, но их мало для комедии.
Итог: Даже при том, что мне нравится эта группа, фильм не особо зашёл. Максимально могу оценить только музыка. Она очень крутая.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wizardpickleMay 15, 2016
This is honestly one of my favorite movies. I'm so surprised to see the critics give it such a bad score. **** you guys. I love it anyway. I'm going to go watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews