User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 334 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 334

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    This is a prime example of a grade-A action film, it's got drama, family values, action moments with meaning which aren't just random "spur of the moment" scenes added for filler, each scene has a reason and direction with where they're going with the film as a whole. The soundtrack, my god the soundtrack, the instrumentals are completely memorable, and i bet the intense intro song will be pounding in your head days after you've finished watching it. It's one of the most memorable and highly underrated, from the looks of the critic scores on here, action movies of all time. Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    "Terminator 2: Judgement Day" is a rare blockbuster that overly exceeds its prequel with mind blowing action, unforgettable scenes, and deep character relationship / development. It is a simple masterpiece.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    2
    From watching this movie I thought the graphics were **** and that they could of done better with the ending it's just them distorting the chips in liquid that completely does NOT look like actual melted metal. So PipeBomb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  4. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    this sequel beats the original in just one shot for its neat special effects, great acting, and awesome action scenes.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Terminator 2 is an amazing and enjoying thrill ride that is one of the best action movies ever. The plot is very well constructed, the acting (especially Arnold Schwarzennegger's Terminator) is top-notch and very memorable. The amount of depth each character has is just amazing and you identify with each character, there is such an emotional charge to each moment that you are sucked into the movie. The action scenes are top-notch and will keep you enthralled in it, there are many in the movie and suspense is well-maintained when needed as well. The movie is sure to be remembered and quoted every time for a long time ("Hasta La Vista, Baby"). Flaws, there are hardly any except for maybe it can be a bit lengthy and the action takes some time to get interesting but once it does it's awesome and it is a small flaw though. Overall, Terminater 2 is a smash-hit movie that is an example of a super-action flick deftly crafted with emotion that will be remembered forever and is almost as good as the first one. Breakdown for "Terminator 2: Judgement Day": Presentation: 9.7, Plot: 9.8, Acting: 9.9, Script: 9.7, Lasting Appeal: 10, Verdict: 9.8 out of 10 "Amazing". Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    there seems to be only one man who can take the original movie and make it better . first Aliens now the terminator . camron just takes every thing and kicks it up a few knotches and does it so well. this is deffinitly the blue print on how to make a kick ass sequel and just make a kick ass action film period . the story is nothing to new that pushes the series foward much basically machine sent from the past to kill sarah conners son instead of her . this time though arnold is the good terminator sent to protect john connor from the bad one . its nothing ground breaking but it sure is entertaining as hell to wach .the acting is pretty well done and the action just blows up on the screen with gusto . i dont think you could see this film and leave it saying it needed more action . the visuals in its day where amazing i remember seeing this in the theater and every one was loving it . even by todays standered it still holds up pretty well. so if you wana see a great action flick and have missed this then you should check it out. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    The only James Cameron movie I believe truly deserves a perfect score of 10. A classic that will be remembered by ages, but unfortunately, is in the shadows of Cameron's big and overrated movies like Titanic and Avatar.
  8. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Despite what has happened both in Arnold Schwarzenegger's personal and political life, there can be no changing of the fact that Arnold helped make some of the most thrilling, action-packed adventure movies to ever grace the big screen back in his prime. If the first movie was good with Arnold being the evil Terminator hunting down the seemingly innocent Sarah Connor (while utilizing some very top notch special effects by 1984 standards,) this 1991 sequel is even better with Arnold being the good Terminator trying to prevent John Connor from being hunted down. This movie is well-placed, and focuses mainly on the three main characters, John, Sarah, and the now good Terminator as it should. This movie also gets high marks from me as it featured special effects that were WAY ahead of its time, courtesy of the new, evil Terminator that can regenerate its body, even when it's broken into dozens of pieces! This movie demonstrates that while we don't know for certain what is going to happen in the future, we are always in control of what happens in the present, and therefore, we all play a hand in shaping what the future will eventually have in store for us. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, and I highly recommend it to people looking for some great thrills! Expand
  9. May 9, 2011
    10
    This is one OUTSTANDING movie! rarely do you see a film this ambicious realised.It was so ahead of its time when it came out,in Drama,action & special effects,& i'll never forget the first time i saw it,which was on the big screen in Leister Square in london.You know critics are generally out of touch with everyone else,when they've given this movie a meta score of 63 !?! Although its a fairly similar plot to the first movie,the acting,screenplay,music score,special effects,stunts & photography are so good,that it just puts this up with the best movies ever made.. Classic James Cameron at his best(not that he's done anything i havnt liked bar Titanic).This movie,& indeed its predecessor,are simply must see's.Now we just have to not dwell on the third movie too much.. Expand
  10. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of the best movies ever made. The script is top notch and acting is convincing and true. The soundtrack and graphical effects are great even for today. Amazing!
  11. May 24, 2013
    9
    The first Terminator was a very good film but this sequel took the franchise to a level it hadn't reached before or since.

    With Sarah Connor from the original movie now institutionalised her son, and future leader of the resistance against the machines, John Connor is living with Foster parents. The machines that rule the future send back a cyborg, played by the terrifying Robert
    Patrick, whilst the humans send back their own cyborg to protect him. Schwarzenegger again excels in a role he was born to play, his voice and physique suiting his cyborg character perfectly.

    This all leads to a series of truly memorable action sequences that still largely stand up today in terms of special effects. Add to this a surprisingly good script for what is largely an action fare and you have the ultimate action blockbuster.
    Expand
  12. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    Against the grain of what so many other people think, I don't really like JUDGMENT DAY anywhere near as much as THE TERMINATOR. It has too many unnecessary special effects. If just those had been edited to different ones / taken out completely (i.e. a Terminator coming out of the floor looking like a blob of checkers in the shape of a human body), this film would have been flawless.
  13. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    For me this is one of my favourite films of all time, if anyone doesn't like this then they clearly have mental problems. How can some of critics who gave this film a score in the red live with themselves
  14. Dec 8, 2011
    6
    While the acting is pretty terrible and plot could have been better, The good use of special effects and the solid action through out make up for it. I enjoyed it.
  15. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    Like the first one, this too is a great movie. Arnie's character has much more depth and the story develops in a really interesting way. Honestly, the only thing that held this movie back in my opinion was the T-1000 element. The whole liquid metal concept was a terrible idea and it should've never been considered. All of that robot stuff taking over and having to go back in time to save Sarah Connor, sure, that's all within my level of suspended disbelief. However, a robot breaking the laws of physics was too much and made certain scenes in the movie feel more silly than anything. That was unfortunate because without that, I feel like they could've have a legit 10/10 quality movie. Expand
  16. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    The effects are beyond breathtaking and the story is so emotional that it almost overshadows the awesome action of Terminator 2. A blockbuster beyond comparison by all means.
  17. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Movies cant get any better than this in my opinion. The action, the story, the cast, the effects, everything is so well done that it definitely deserve its praise. It also has something beyond the gunshots and explosions, the movie also has a deep message on how precious the human spirit is. If a metal, killer, robotic organism from the future can discover the value of human life, maybe we can too. My highest recommendation...11 out of 10. Expand
  18. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    First off, I would give this a 9.5 out of 10. This is a great sic-fi. The best terminator movie. Acting is good. Everyone does a good job. Score is good, and has a really good story. Really well made. The visual effects and action sequences are great. Well made and are just amazing. Overall, this is a great 90s action blockbuster. You really should see it.
  19. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    With fantastic visuals and excellent pacing, this movie boasts exactly what a sequel should look like. It has more in-depth emotion between characters, and overall, it's a much better presented film than the first. This is probably one of the best sci-fi movies made.
  20. Oct 6, 2012
    9
    A superb upgrade of the original, which is saying a lot. Terminator 2: Judgment Day is a model action sequel with iconic action sequences, powerful performances, and surprising emotional depth.
  21. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    For its release of 1991, this film was incredible, and I have watched it multiple times over the years when I have seen it on TV, each time it has been a satisfying watch.
  22. May 25, 2013
    9
    Yeah well, I am usually very critic about science-fiction movies, but this time the whole thing comes with a lot of action (exceptionally well done), and some light humor, which is not interfering with the mood of the movie. The time traveling aspects (yeah I know I am picky) are somewhat "flawed", but nothing I could not overlook (like in the case of Looper). One of Arnie's best, and the villain is also remarkable. Will remain a classic. The special effect were all very advanced back in the day. Some looks cheesy nowadays, but not bad. Recommended. Expand
  23. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Brilliant, action-filled sequel, superbly directed by James Cameron. The acting is top knotch, the suspense relentless, and the special effects are mind blowing. A rare film that lives up to, and even outdoes, the original.
  24. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    T2: Judgment Day is a violent, brutal, entertaining film which delivers on all levels. With heart racing set-pieces and some of the best action sequences in film T2: is not only a great action movie but one of the best movies ever.
  25. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    This remains one of the greatest and most adored action movies of the 90s ,Terminator 2 is a state-of-the-art action movie, all right: It gets you thinking that the most reasonable thing might just have been to blow everyone away
  26. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    I love science-fiction, its my favourite genre and this film is the peak of a masterpiece that hollywood can offer to us. James Cameron were a god behind the cameras in this film
  27. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    A continuação que conseguiu ser melhor que a original.
  28. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    é um grande filme de ficção cientifica com ação por isso é que foi o filme mais visto do seu ano e está na lista dos cem filmes com maiores receitas.
  29. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    Terminator 2 is the best movie of the entire saga. Within the futuristic robots and the Skynet technology , one of the best movies of Arnold Schwazenneger .
  30. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    This film is a simple masterpiece! Excellent cinematography, action, intense action movies, good character development, satisfying ending. Just anything you could want from a good movie. The soundtrack is just badass. This film is indescribably phenomenal, you have to see it!
  31. May 5, 2013
    9
    This is a perfect example of an amazing sequel. It's truly better than the original in everyway. It was more intense, more action-packed and definitely had more quotable lines than the first one. As far as the story goes, it's an interesting and engaging story. It's a pulse pounding sci-fi story. That's what helps make for an awesome sci-fi thriller. As far as characters go some have there moments, but none of them were as bad-a** as the Terminator (Arnold Schwarzenegger) and T-1000 (Robert Patrick). Watching those two fight was movie magic. But what really makes this movie awesome is it's super cool action and visual effects. Most action movies now of days tend to have great action, but a weak story. This movie held on to both contexts and gave it all it got in this riveting sequel. Overall, It's a rare, tremendous blockbuster done right. Expand
  32. May 19, 2013
    8
    Probably famous for being one of the few movies out there that is better than it's predecessor, this is one movie that I think is actually not as great as the last one. Allow me to explain. The first one I thought had better subtext about war and the dangers of technology, this one however does still have bits of that located in it somewhere, but is more focused on trying out new types of effects. Not that's bad, this has some of the best action out there. Some of the things I am disappointed about is the opening, it's the same as the last one, but doesn't have that same flare that it had. The effects overall in this film are quite entertaining and are still pretty good for todays standards. Arnold is still good, for not showing emotion, but the scenes where they try to insert humor for him don't always work. Unfortunately I think that this is one of Arnolds last movies that he stars in and does well, afterwards is a steady decline. The main cast does pretty well to, definitely some believable characters. The villain is really good in this, even though it's a clone of Arnolds performance in a way, he's very imposing and at times scary. This is definitely a awesome movie, but compared to the last one it's just not as well written. Expand
  33. May 19, 2013
    10
    T2 will never be equaled. If they sent Bach's music into space, they should have sent this film along with it. The Director's cut is a bit less concise but the original cinema release is devoid of any slip-ups. Each scene is there for a reason and shows us something new. The strength and weaknesses of the characters are clearly seen, but they are not brought to attention in a ham-handed way. The use of CGI is avoided for much of the film which is a godsend especially in the context of modern films. There are too many reasons to list as to why this film should be forever lauded... Aside from being the pinnacle of action films it teaches us some real lessons about the cost of human life. Expand
  34. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The greatest popcorn action movie of all time, how T1 is rated better is a joke. T1 starring Michael Biehn, come on i love him in farcry3 Bloodragon but he isn't quite Daniel Day Lewis. More of a joke is how the trainwreck they call T3 starring "fierce" female terminator and poor casting can even come close (within 2 points) of T2. T2 writes one of the best sci fi tales ever written and executes it with flawless success depicting a stunning Sarah Conner conflicted and beaten with only two goals before she expires, protecting future leader of the resistance and son John Conner, and stopping Skynet. With a decadent soundtrack featuring a 90's who's who in rock (Guns n Roses ect.) it is sure to bring any nostalgic gen exer back to their hay day. The action was top knotch and the special effects were truly groundbreaking and still hold up today. What makes the movie epic is the character development and the conflicting relationship triangle with the almost father like role the terminator plays to John Conner who in turn attempts to humanize the robot, and the stowed away hatred Sarah Conner still has for their kind after the events of T1. In the movie Sarah often has flashes of a future nuclear explosion induced by Skynet which dramatically envelopes her and the world which they describe as "D day", these moments can be moving and intense. The story eludes to a future war between the machines "Skynet" and what little is left of man after D day with the human resistance led by "son" John Conner. The sci fi aspect and the dichotomy between man and machine "what it is to be human" is truly engaging and well explored. This film is more than the candy coated paint job and explosions, it is gushing with 90's mystique and cold hard style to go with a touchingly dramatic and interesting story. T2 will always define the genre and has inspired many and spawned a legion of imitators, but none as good as the original.......... or should i say the original sequel. T2 will live forever and is a true work of art by artists at the peak of their game. Expand
  35. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    If you thought the first Terminator Movie was good then this is double the action and double the story. Great character development, More action, more explosion's and more heart. It is just one huge spectacle.
  36. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    my favorite movie of all time is full of action, suspense, and emotion. this is arnolds best film in my opinion. the special effects are amazing t2 gets an a plus
  37. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This is as good as a science fiction action movie can get. Arnold's imposing presence, the original main idea, the formidable villain, the chemistry among the good guys (mother, son and the mechanical guardian), the perfectly directed, exciting action scenes, the ominous atmosphere, constant tension and explosive ending make this a must for all fans of the genre.
    argonautis.eu
  38. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    My all time favourite movie! Great plot, awesome special effects and dialogues that are still alive.
    Terminator looks like a real killing machine and you are afraid of him. Love it!
  39. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    An exciting and well made sequel to the original, featuring amazing effects for the time and also became iconic for its lines and action sequences. A sci-fi must see!
  40. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    One of the few sequels that beats the original. More action, a down-to-earth feeling and the return of the perfectly acting Schwarzenegger make Judgment Day a classic.
  41. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This is even better than the original, it is just Nostalgia, excellent graphics which were great back in 1991, and are still great, the T-1000 is even scarier than Arnie in the first one, and guess what he's back.
    Hasta La Vista Baby!
  42. Mar 6, 2014
    9
    Terminator 2 is good example how to mix action and drama. The drama alongside the action is not forced, but a naturally developing part of the story, unlike in too many action flicks. Of course the visual side of the movie is just kick-ass.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. A great movie... A pop epiphany, marking that commercially creative point where the power of Hollywood meets the purity of myth.
  2. 67
    What is notable, though, is the amount of compassion invested in the film by Cameron and co-screenwriter William Wisher. There's a fairly well-drawn moral message in T2 that was more or less absent in the first film.
  3. 88
    The key element in any action picture, I think, is a good villain. Terminator 2 has one, along with an intriguing hero and fierce heroine, and a young boy who is played by Furlong with guts and energy.