Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 400 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In a future, war-ravaged Los Angeles in which the machines have taken over the earth, a faction of human rebels led by an adult John Connor do battle with the cyborgs. Two "intelligent machines" have been dispatched to the past, one -- a replica of the Terminator model T-800 which dominated the original film -- to protect the young Connor, the other -- a shape-shifting metallic T-1000 -- to kill him. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Terminator 2 imagines things you wouldn't even be likely to dream and gets these visions onto the screen with a seamlessness that's mind-boggling. [3 July 1991, Daily Datebook, p.E1]
  2. 100
    More elaborate than the original, but just as shrewdly put together, it cleverly combines the most successful elements of its predecessor with a number of new twists (would you believe a kinder, gentler Terminator?) to produce on e hell of a wild ride, a Twilight of the Gods that takes no prisoners and leaves audiences desperate for mercy. [3 July 1991, Calendar, p.F-1]
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    80
    No-one can walk out of this and say they didn't see the whole hundred mil up there on the screen in exploding vehicles, wrecked buildings, monster effects and sheer sweaty action.
  4. 75
    A good summer movie, directed with great verve and imagination and filled with innovative, eye-popping effects. Cameron never relinquishes his grip on the audience, smoothly segueing from action sequence to action sequence and topping himself each time. [3 July 1991, Tempo, p.1]
  5. Reviewed by: Staff (Non Credited)
    70
    Trend-setting visuals compensate for a plot that lacks the imagination and edge of the 1984 original.
  6. All the virtues of the original... are present here, though when Cameron tries to milk some sentiment out of the "personality" and fate of his top machine he comes up flat and empty, and the other characters are scarcely more interesting.
  7. The surprise is that a picture made to be exciting for 136 minutes is so unexciting most of the time. It starts with a bang and keeps banging, so there's little suspense and no crescendo. [12 Aug 1991, p.28]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 72
  2. Negative: 1 out of 72
  1. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    This is a prime example of a grade-A action film, it's got drama, family values, action moments with meaning which aren't just random "spur of the moment" scenes added for filler, each scene has a reason and direction with where they're going with the film as a whole. The soundtrack, my god the soundtrack, the instrumentals are completely memorable, and i bet the intense intro song will be pounding in your head days after you've finished watching it. It's one of the most memorable and highly underrated, from the looks of the critic scores on here, action movies of all time. Expand
  2. WillA.
    Dec 31, 2007
    10
    alsome explosians, killer robots from the future, and some big guns= the best movie in the famous series so far.
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    For its release of 1991, this film was incredible, and I have watched it multiple times over the years when I have seen it on TV, each time it has been a satisfying watch. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    My all time favourite movie! Great plot, awesome special effects and dialogues that are still alive.
    Terminator looks like a real killing
    machine and you are afraid of him. Love it! Expand
  5. May 25, 2013
    9
    Yeah well, I am usually very critic about science-fiction movies, but this time the whole thing comes with a lot of action (exceptionally well done), and some light humor, which is not interfering with the mood of the movie. The time traveling aspects (yeah I know I am picky) are somewhat "flawed", but nothing I could not overlook (like in the case of Looper). One of Arnie's best, and the villain is also remarkable. Will remain a classic. The special effect were all very advanced back in the day. Some looks cheesy nowadays, but not bad. Recommended. Expand
  6. May 24, 2013
    9
    The first Terminator was a very good film but this sequel took the franchise to a level it hadn't reached before or since.

    With Sarah
    Connor from the original movie now institutionalised her son, and future leader of the resistance against the machines, John Connor is living with Foster parents. The machines that rule the future send back a cyborg, played by the terrifying Robert Patrick, whilst the humans send back their own cyborg to protect him. Schwarzenegger again excels in a role he was born to play, his voice and physique suiting his cyborg character perfectly.

    This all leads to a series of truly memorable action sequences that still largely stand up today in terms of special effects. Add to this a surprisingly good script for what is largely an action fare and you have the ultimate action blockbuster.
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    2
    From watching this movie I thought the graphics were **** and that they could of done better with the ending it's just them distorting the chips in liquid that completely does NOT look like actual melted metal. So PipeBomb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.
  3. The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies

    The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies Image
    Published: March 23, 2010
    We've traveled through the history of cinema to uncover the best and worst time travel movies -- as well as everything in between. Where do your favorites stand?
  4. All Films Considered: James Cameron

    All Films Considered: James Cameron Image
    Published: December 18, 2009
    Now that the reviews are in for Avatar, we look back at the other James Cameron-directed films in our database, to see how the critics have responded to his work.