User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 463 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 463
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Thorn
    Mar 27, 2006
    4
    There were some obvious goofs in the filming of T3. [***SPOILERS***] First of all, Arnie says that each T101 has two fuel cells powering it. He dumps one cell at the beginning of the film and the other cell at the end - leaving him with no cells and no power. Yet somehow, unbelievably, he keeps operating as though he has power and the light in his eye only goes out *after* the .. um... There were some obvious goofs in the filming of T3. [***SPOILERS***] First of all, Arnie says that each T101 has two fuel cells powering it. He dumps one cell at the beginning of the film and the other cell at the end - leaving him with no cells and no power. Yet somehow, unbelievably, he keeps operating as though he has power and the light in his eye only goes out *after* the .. um... "grand finale". Where is this mysterious battery power coming from? The repeating scenes from the other T-films was absurd. Quotes were being repeated.. whole action sequences seemed to have been copy-pasted over.. I can't see this film having much rewatchability. Expand
  2. MatthewB.
    Jul 4, 2003
    4
    Lot's of interesting touches and novelties, but T3 has no punch, and had no sense of how to build tension or use timing in scenes, and only did a lukewarm job of building connection with the characters. I loved T1 and T2. But I am afraid the series is over.
  3. Jun 9, 2015
    4
    The best thing about Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is that Linda Hamilton dropped out of it because it is soulless. This is the same story we’ve heard before except with even more action and is mostly an uninspired retread of the first film. The film does take some time out to have a occasionally heartfelt moments but not enough to warrant the film’s existence. Arnold is entreatingThe best thing about Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is that Linda Hamilton dropped out of it because it is soulless. This is the same story we’ve heard before except with even more action and is mostly an uninspired retread of the first film. The film does take some time out to have a occasionally heartfelt moments but not enough to warrant the film’s existence. Arnold is entreating but that’s about it. At the end of the day this is not only an unnecessary sequel but an unpleasant one that is a slap in the face to Terminator 2: Judgement Day. Mixed feelings on the ending, which while surprising feels like a punch in the gut like being told that the Tooth Fairy isn’t real. Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    6
    "T3" lacks what made "T2" and "T1" a masterpiece, but it still has the blockbuster spirit within the movie.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    A few intensely entertaining set pieces serve to only just elevate this movie above its cheesy story and hammy dialogue.
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    Doesn't live up to the standards set by the first two, and isn't as interesting or thought-provoking, but has some more catchphrases and special effects to keep it going.
  7. Oct 26, 2010
    6
    its my least favorite in the series, but it has the charm of Arnold Schwarzenegger as the Terminator.
  8. Feb 16, 2012
    5
    While its certainly an entertaining film, the action sequences are fun to watch, and some of the one-liners are pretty funny, its essentially a dumb action film. The Terminator, who's most fascinating quality in T2 was his quest to understand Humanity, is instead reduced to a dumb joke machine. The character development is thin on the whole, and the T-X is far too over the top for myWhile its certainly an entertaining film, the action sequences are fun to watch, and some of the one-liners are pretty funny, its essentially a dumb action film. The Terminator, who's most fascinating quality in T2 was his quest to understand Humanity, is instead reduced to a dumb joke machine. The character development is thin on the whole, and the T-X is far too over the top for my liking. The T-1000 was a much more threatening villain. If you want a damn good film, watch Terminator 2. If you want a decent summer action flick for passive enjoyment, watch this. Expand
  9. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    Unfortunately this was the worst of the series. The selection for the John Connor character was terrible, the invincibility of the Terminators has gotten more and more extreme each time, and while the effects have become markedly improved over the years, the CGI looked overdone. I mean, it was still an entertaining movie but it just wasn't as good as the first two. Hopefully Christian BaleUnfortunately this was the worst of the series. The selection for the John Connor character was terrible, the invincibility of the Terminators has gotten more and more extreme each time, and while the effects have become markedly improved over the years, the CGI looked overdone. I mean, it was still an entertaining movie but it just wasn't as good as the first two. Hopefully Christian Bale makes Salvation BA because this definitely was not. Expand
  10. Dec 18, 2012
    6
    A decent yet terribly acted picture. It doesn't have the storyline or characters as the second installment but has much better single piece action sequences than many other films.
  11. Mar 8, 2014
    6
    It's not nearly as good as the second film - it lacks emotional characters and a strong heart. However, it does not fail to entertain us with its intense and explosive action sequences.
  12. Aug 7, 2012
    5
    I enjoyed watching the film, T2 being one of my favorite films to this day, however T3 did just feel like a repeat of T2 with a woman playing the villain instead of a man, and the story wasn't as memorable.
  13. Jun 12, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a good pop-corn movie but lack's that serious wow factor. The story doesn't live up to the first two movie's. The opening sequence when we first see the Terminator. Set's the tone of the movie. Enjoyable nonetheless. Expand
  14. Sep 22, 2014
    5
    Allow me to revise my previous review. This cannot even touch the first two Terminator films. There is a lot less character development, and the dialog is just doesn't have the same feel as T1 or the humor/quotability of T2. It tries to hit you emotionally in a few parts but just doesn't succeed at it. In addition, I feel that the guy who played John (Nick Stahl, I think) was prettyAllow me to revise my previous review. This cannot even touch the first two Terminator films. There is a lot less character development, and the dialog is just doesn't have the same feel as T1 or the humor/quotability of T2. It tries to hit you emotionally in a few parts but just doesn't succeed at it. In addition, I feel that the guy who played John (Nick Stahl, I think) was pretty miscast. Why? Because he looks absolutely nothing like Edward Furlong. The action scenes are decent, and Kristanna Loken is pretty good as the T-X. That's about it though, just a forgettable action movie that is in the end, an unworthy third installment in a franchise with two other far superior films. (And one equally forgettable and even more soulless sequel) Expand
  15. HenryC.
    Jul 7, 2003
    5
    This movie was hilarious and although i wanted more depth it really wasnt possible because james cameron didnt direct! so get over it, if you came with high expectations then youre a moron. theres no way t3 compares with the earlier movies, but i didnt expect it. its an OK movie. its fun then have fun.
  16. JeffreyS.
    Jul 4, 2003
    4
    (**-out of 4) For all you "Termininites" out there, & I was kind of 1 myself! With the last 2 both powerhouse stuff (***1/2) & "T2" even went on to take home 4 OSCARS & grossed: $205m. I don't think this 1 though will likely even be nominated for visuals & especially in a yr. that has: Both "Matrix," flix/ "The Hulk" which I rate stronger then this actually!? & then of course final (**-out of 4) For all you "Termininites" out there, & I was kind of 1 myself! With the last 2 both powerhouse stuff (***1/2) & "T2" even went on to take home 4 OSCARS & grossed: $205m. I don't think this 1 though will likely even be nominated for visuals & especially in a yr. that has: Both "Matrix," flix/ "The Hulk" which I rate stronger then this actually!? & then of course final in the trilogy for "LOR-ROTK!" I per. think "Matrix: Reloaded," has that gold already sewed-up. But back to the big guys film & he needs a hit also! His last to go-over $100m. was 7yrs. ago & "Eraser" He should follow the lead of fellow action-stars, like Willis, Stallone & attempt vocals for animated features-(They at this point, seem to be the better pix being made?) Arnold though is actually quite compelling in this & It's much smaller a role then other 2. & the girl, villianous "Terminatrix?" Not much to do 4 her, but she is 1 gorgeous & hot lookin' lady! Hope she has a better future then poor Robert Patrick??? & I've always & yes, before "Romeo & Juliet," liked Danes! Good & very attractive actress! 1994's "Little Women" she was 2nd only to the OSCAR nominated Winona Ryder in that wonderful re-make. Of, IRONY A *Kate Hepburn film from 1933! Anyway, this will make "smashed-machinery" of the other new flix released this weekend! Mediocre or not! But I somehow feel Pixar's gorgeous creation will still conqour all this summer? Expand
  17. RobertL.
    Jul 7, 2003
    5
    A rather disappointing follow-up to the first two movies. This one lacked the extreme suspense, seat grabbing feel of the first two. It tried to be too cute and the humor felt like it should have been left for a Mel Brooks or Leslie Neilson spoof. Simply put: This is a picture that should never have been made without James Cameron's vision on guiding it. If he balked at directing A rather disappointing follow-up to the first two movies. This one lacked the extreme suspense, seat grabbing feel of the first two. It tried to be too cute and the humor felt like it should have been left for a Mel Brooks or Leslie Neilson spoof. Simply put: This is a picture that should never have been made without James Cameron's vision on guiding it. If he balked at directing this movie because of the script, I would not be shocked. The action was decent, but nothing shocking that makes it stand out. As for academy awards, I fully expect this one to be passed over by several other movies of a similar genre this year. The ending did leave room for another movie, so hopefully they can get Cameron back to do that and do so quickly before Arnold is over 60. Expand
  18. VeezerE.
    Jul 9, 2003
    4
    Mildly entertaining, but definitely not a worthy successor to the Cameron legacy. The dialogues are bland, the story feels like a one-act drama with some mid 90s effects thrown in to justify the budget. Don't get me wrong, I don't regret watching this movie; it's not bad compared to some of the other summer flops out there now. It's just sad to see the epic grandeur Mildly entertaining, but definitely not a worthy successor to the Cameron legacy. The dialogues are bland, the story feels like a one-act drama with some mid 90s effects thrown in to justify the budget. Don't get me wrong, I don't regret watching this movie; it's not bad compared to some of the other summer flops out there now. It's just sad to see the epic grandeur and vision of the previous movies missing in this one; this could have been a great movie with a livelier and visionary script, and a more capable director. I walked out thinking "That was it?". Expand
  19. JonathanP.
    Aug 8, 2003
    6
    Too much action; some of the action scenes were filler material. T3 also didn't capture the sense of paranoia, i.e. sense of being constantly chased, as in the brilliant and best Terminator movie, T2.
  20. Melissa
    Dec 8, 2003
    5
    Yawn... Too many contradictions to resolve. The writers took temporal logic and just said who did care (sic).
  21. Ken
    Jul 15, 2003
    6
    It is not done in the same style as the previous 2 movies because it's a different director. T & T2 can stand on it's own as a dramatic movie with serious scenes. T3 can not. This movie is for kids or anyone who wanna see violence. It didn't even make sense sometimes.
  22. Pirahna
    Jul 2, 2003
    5
    INTERESTING....
  23. DamianP.
    Jul 21, 2003
    4
    Where was the plot? Why did they use actors who belong only on tv? I was worried at the beginning when JC had the dream about the machines - the FX weren't terribly good. The action scenes turned out very well, though.
  24. TonyL.
    Jul 2, 2003
    6
    This movie seemed flat to me. Arnie was OK, but I missed Linda H. and Eddie F. Claire Danes and Nick Stahl were poor substitutes. The TX was not menacing enough for me. She looked like a super model with an attitude. Do yourself a favor and rent T2 again.
  25. EricC.
    Jul 3, 2003
    5
    For a movie with a dry storyline, I was somewhat impressed by some of the action scenes. This is the kind of movie that you'd watch with a group of friends at the end of the week. It delivered what it was supposed to; fast paced action and of cousre, Arnold, who gave a very good performance once again as a machine. But I miss the great plot from the previous Terminator and the For a movie with a dry storyline, I was somewhat impressed by some of the action scenes. This is the kind of movie that you'd watch with a group of friends at the end of the week. It delivered what it was supposed to; fast paced action and of cousre, Arnold, who gave a very good performance once again as a machine. But I miss the great plot from the previous Terminator and the brilliant direction from James Cameron. That's what made the Terminator series great in the first place. In general, the movie began and ended with a sour taste in my mouth. T3 is worth seeing once, but it will not be remembered in the same way the T2 was. Expand
  26. KonradS.
    Jul 7, 2003
    6
    This Movie was such a let down. It was nothing but one liners, and I knew everyone they were gong to say before they said it. The story was week, the 'Surprise' Ending even weaker, and as nice as the special effects were, there was nothing new to make you go Awesome. It was all, ok, I've already seen that before, now show me something new! and they never did. Personally I This Movie was such a let down. It was nothing but one liners, and I knew everyone they were gong to say before they said it. The story was week, the 'Surprise' Ending even weaker, and as nice as the special effects were, there was nothing new to make you go Awesome. It was all, ok, I've already seen that before, now show me something new! and they never did. Personally I would rather see the Universal studios T3 at the theatre than watch this again. Expand
  27. FredW.
    Jul 7, 2003
    4
    This movie was awful. I only give it a 4 for some good action and chase scenes. The plot was contradictory and the content was inconsistent. The deleted scenes screamed betrayed the vacuum they created. I?ve seen better editing in amateur cinema works. This movie was not worthy of the ?Terminator? name, a point well emphasized by the obvious absence of James Cameron.
  28. AdamM.
    Jul 9, 2003
    5
    This is not the Terminator movie I was expecting and most definitely not the one that Cameron would have churned out had he been the one to direct this blockbuster crash. Where this movie really soars is in it's virtually non-stop action sequences. The first half of the movie is a thrilling ride through Los Angeles with a huge crane smashing it's way toward the detruction of This is not the Terminator movie I was expecting and most definitely not the one that Cameron would have churned out had he been the one to direct this blockbuster crash. Where this movie really soars is in it's virtually non-stop action sequences. The first half of the movie is a thrilling ride through Los Angeles with a huge crane smashing it's way toward the detruction of John Connor and his savior, The Terminator T-1000. In addition to these seat-gripping action sequences, comedy is also added to lighten the mood. Several scenes will have you laughing out loud. However, the movie seriously falls shot with a plot that is both incomplete and riddled with cliche's about a computer virus that's taking over the world's computer networks. There are several scenes in which defy simple logic, leaving the viewer more curious about how they occured then how the movie will continue. Case in point would be scene in which John Connor manages to turn on a particle accelerator without batting an eye... Note that scenes like these are all toward the end of the film, proving that the script was either very rushed or written by someone with little experience in screen writing. Bottom line, it's worth a theater screening but you'll probably never want to see it again. Expand
  29. Jun 7, 2015
    6
    "Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines" is a step back over its predecessor, with a storyline trying to achieve the same results of the previous outputs, but it's still action-packed and Arnold Schwarzenegger continues delivering successfully quotable lines of dialogue. If it wasn't for him, we would be looking at a 4/10 film.

    6/10.
  30. Dec 18, 2014
    6
    T3 no llega a ser una obra maestra como T1 y T2, sin embargo, yo no pienso que sea una perdida de tiempo o un fracaso. En T2 James Cameron acabo con la franquicia dándole un final, pues aquí vienen a continuar la historia al desirnos que el dia del juicio es inevitable por que algunas cosas simplemente no se pueden parar. Como la muerte, la creación de una I.A real, etc. Lo que molestara aT3 no llega a ser una obra maestra como T1 y T2, sin embargo, yo no pienso que sea una perdida de tiempo o un fracaso. En T2 James Cameron acabo con la franquicia dándole un final, pues aquí vienen a continuar la historia al desirnos que el dia del juicio es inevitable por que algunas cosas simplemente no se pueden parar. Como la muerte, la creación de una I.A real, etc. Lo que molestara a los fans de las películas es que el inicio no esta bien enfocado. Iniciamos con John Connor, de hay pasamos con la T-X, de hay vamos con un personaje que no conocemos pero sera importante por que la muestran muy temprano, de hay vamos con el T-101 y volvemos con John Connor. La película debió iniciar como las anteriores: Salen los Terminator, se establece la amenaza, de hay vamos con los personajes y los desarrollan y seguimos con la trama junto a escenas de acción. Aquí no esta ese orden y esta algo fuera de lugar. Pero si hablamos de las escenas de acción son increíbles, el CGI se ve bien, un poco raro aveces pero es 2003, me sorprende lo bien que se ve para su época, los efectos prácticos/reales también abundan, eso siempre ayuda. Yo fui a esta película intentando disfrutarla, el inicio puede molestar por un par de tonterías como que John Connor toma pastillas que les dan a los animales sin saber que son. Aun con sus problemas creo que se pueden sacar buenas películas en el futuro ya que podemos ver mas de la resistencia o un reinicio por un viaje en el tiempo con la película "Terminator Genesis" que saldrá en 1 año. Le doy un 06/10, no es una abominación, solo no esperes una obra maestra como las anteriores. Al final la película no esta mal. Expand
  31. Jul 18, 2015
    6
    While the characters aren't as fleshed out as it's two masterful predecessors, the action and the charisma of Arnold Schwarzenegger in Terminator 3 does just enough to compensate.
  32. Apr 23, 2015
    5
    Terminator 3 is the summer movie of 2003 that hard-core action fans have been awaiting. It's not ponderous and incomplete like The Matrix Reloaded. It's not steeped in characterization and modern-day mythology like Hulk. And it's not vapid and flashy like Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle and Bad Boys 2. Instead, it's a relatively straightforward science fiction adventure film - just whatTerminator 3 is the summer movie of 2003 that hard-core action fans have been awaiting. It's not ponderous and incomplete like The Matrix Reloaded. It's not steeped in characterization and modern-day mythology like Hulk. And it's not vapid and flashy like Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle and Bad Boys 2. Instead, it's a relatively straightforward science fiction adventure film - just what movie-goers expect from a third outing with Arnold Schwarzenegger's cybernetic alter-ego.

    The movie is not weighted down by plot, but it does have a recognizable storyline featuring legitimate characters and a few nice (but minor) twists. Some degree of attention is helpful - Terminator 3 is not an intellectual challenge, but neither is it vacuous. The film has plenty of action sequences, some of which are spectacular. Director Jonathan Mostow has wisely not relied too much on computer graphics for these. A fair amount of stunt work was required, and the computer components are incorporated seamlessly. Additionally, Mostow does not play the game of cutting every second or so, and the music never upstages the visuals. Terminator 3 gets the most bang for its buck by letting the camera linger on the spectacle, and allowing tension, not flashiness, to be its hallmark.

    If you take a step back and examine Terminator 3 from a distance, it bears all the characteristics of a road movie. Strip away the action sequences and the science fiction/time travel veneer, and that's what's left. But, since the average road movie is terminally boring, Mostow provides plenty of pyrotechnics along the way. Terminator 3 is a closer cousin to Terminator 2 than it is to the original. Like the first sequel, this movie is more concerned with elevating the pulse than stimulating the mind. There was plenty of action in The Terminator, but that movie was founded on ideas and paradoxes. In Terminator 2 and Terminator 3, the thought-provoking skeleton is still in place, but a much greater importance has been placed on the visceral impact.

    Terminator 3 has a number of impressive action sequences, including one that features two crashing helicopters and another in which the T-101 and T-X go at it, one-on-one. But none is more impressive than the crane chase, where the world's largest crane goes crashing through everything in its path in an out-of-control attempt to (literally) run down John and Kate. (When Warner Brothers became skittish about budgetary issues, Schwarzenegger chipped in $1.6 million to allow the sequence to be finished.) It's hard to say which is the summer's best chase: this one or the equally spectacular one in The Matrix Reloaded.

    Will there be a Terminator 4? The ending allows for one, and parts of the story have yet to be told. But, from an action standpoint, is there any way that way that a fourth picture could be anything other than a re-hash of its predecessors? And can the franchise succeed without its star (who, barring a failure to gain political office, will not be interested)? Those are questions for the future. However, considering how well Terminator 3 is likely to fare at the box office, the future won't be that far away. It has taken a long time to get Terminator 3 to the screen, and, while the production doesn't rock the action motion picture industry to its foundation, it's a credible and entertaining movie, and was worth the wait.
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. If none of this seems particularly fresh, you're right. "T3" is strikingly similar to "T2" and "T," reflecting Hollywood's reluctance to tamper with a hit series.
  2. 75
    It puts almost everything it has into its explosive set pieces, but manages to instill the audience with just enough emotional involvement. If, Ah-nold decides to come bach again, this installment should ensure he has an audience.
  3. Though this film doesn't have the novelty value of the first or the complex plotting of the second, it boasts the most spectacular single sequence.