Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 2, 2003
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 652 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
420
Mixed:
157
Negative:
75
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Spielberg00Aug 2, 2011
Much better, in my opinion, than JUDGMENT DAY, but RISE OF THE MACHINES is the third entry in the series and has still yet to reach or top THE TERMINATOR.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
Terminator 3 really did not need to happen, especially since the movie is just a retread of T2(which was also a retread of the T1). I would be offended, but only if the movie wasn't entertaining. I find it to be very enjoyable, even thoughTerminator 3 really did not need to happen, especially since the movie is just a retread of T2(which was also a retread of the T1). I would be offended, but only if the movie wasn't entertaining. I find it to be very enjoyable, even though its existence was just to milk more money. It's not great, but it comes very close to being great. It's more of a pointless, yet entertainingly good sequel. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
TylerDurden900Jul 13, 2014
T3 has excellent special effects and a decent story but T2 is the best of the series. Furlong isn't in this
movie, they cast Nick Stahl. Arnold is back and the femal TX is vicio the movie has thrills, action and comedy from Arnold. The movie
T3 has excellent special effects and a decent story but T2 is the best of the series. Furlong isn't in this
movie, they cast Nick Stahl. Arnold is back and the femal TX is vicio the movie has thrills, action and comedy from Arnold. The movie delivers exactly what any terminator fan expects
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Jul 21, 2015
James Cameron is gone for Terminator 3 and the film lacks a bit missing his writing and direction but the film manages to stay fun and is still a strong action film despite being weaker than the first two movies. Arnold Schwarzenegger isJames Cameron is gone for Terminator 3 and the film lacks a bit missing his writing and direction but the film manages to stay fun and is still a strong action film despite being weaker than the first two movies. Arnold Schwarzenegger is great once again as the Terminator and its interesting to see a woman villain as this franchise has always been good at producing strong female characters. If you are a fan of Terminator films you will find this film weaker than the first two but the action is great and the cast is great which still makes it a fun action film. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
WykedEvilMay 15, 2011
So a very outdated model is going to win against a brand spanking new one that can control machines and has plasma casters in her arms. Ya, that will happen. All credit to Arnold, who is a kick ass actor, but I don't think that aSo a very outdated model is going to win against a brand spanking new one that can control machines and has plasma casters in her arms. Ya, that will happen. All credit to Arnold, who is a kick ass actor, but I don't think that a (apparently) nuclear powered robot is going to beat the new girl in town. Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
8
gm101Apr 27, 2011
The movie isn't as awesome as the second one, but ignoring the flaws, it's a pretty good movie overall. Arnold Schwarzennegar does a perfect job just like the previous two. Hoping they get him back for T5...
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
7
TechAug 3, 2006
Movie was good but no the best. It has just become far too unrealistic, what the heck is the use for a robot to make their own boobs bigger? The talk to the hand and the sunglasses was funny but still doesn't fit into the movie. Movie was good but no the best. It has just become far too unrealistic, what the heck is the use for a robot to make their own boobs bigger? The talk to the hand and the sunglasses was funny but still doesn't fit into the movie. [***SPOILERS***] When does a robot care if he has good looking sunglasses or not? When the TX finds blood which belongs to John Connor she seems breathes out heavily and Robots don't have feelings! Else it was good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DuxaC.Dec 12, 2007
I just finished watching all 3 movies (T1, T2, and this T3) back to back in a marathon. And I must say that it is very good. I would say on par with T2. The plot twists keep you on the edge and action never lets go. Very enjoyable film, and I just finished watching all 3 movies (T1, T2, and this T3) back to back in a marathon. And I must say that it is very good. I would say on par with T2. The plot twists keep you on the edge and action never lets go. Very enjoyable film, and I wish it would keep going. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TheQuietGamerDec 4, 2015
Even without James Cameron's presence what we have is a 3rd entry that stays true to the concepts, themes, and most importantly feel of the previous two films. It's not quite as intelligent given that there are a few questionable moments andEven without James Cameron's presence what we have is a 3rd entry that stays true to the concepts, themes, and most importantly feel of the previous two films. It's not quite as intelligent given that there are a few questionable moments and missteps in logic that are noticeable. However the plot is still complex enough to make it worth following. It's got more brains than the average action film.

Speaking of the action it's a blast to watch. Quite literally in fact. Explosions and gunfights are everywhere. It manages to keep a large level of destruction and mayhem with out coming off as excessive or just plain noisy. I love how the director incorporated the weight of the Terminators into the action. The previous two films didn't have too much of that.

As far as the acting goes it's just as great as the other two films. The human characters are believable, and the actors playing the Terminators show just the right amount of non-expression. Schwarzenegger is just as great as ever.

While it doesn't quite reach the heights of it's predecessors and has some questionable moments, fans of the series can still find this to be a worthy entry. It's worth watching the continuation of this sci-fi tale. With action this exciting and a plot this cool, it's easy to forgive a few mistakes.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Jedi_JettsonJul 16, 2012
Offers great action, but is overrated and lacks enough character development between John Connor and Kate Brewster. But it's fun watching the Terminator (Schwarzenegger) battling the Terminatrix until Judgment Day starts so John ConnorOffers great action, but is overrated and lacks enough character development between John Connor and Kate Brewster. But it's fun watching the Terminator (Schwarzenegger) battling the Terminatrix until Judgment Day starts so John Connor becomes ready to enter his prophecy as the leader of the Resistance in the future war. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Sep 3, 2012
Compared to the other ones, this one is by far the best. still not a fan of it, but some scenes pretty funny to watch and some action sequences were pretty impressive.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
TheMasiMan1Jan 31, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terminator 3 is a good movie, but... it dosent offer anything new. A female terminator? Im okay with that, but what the heck is that scene where her breasts infate about? That is so weird. Arnold can talk while he has a virus in him? What? But I will give it this: That ending is really great. It isnt a happy ending, its a dramatic ending. I like it. But as I said, it dosent offer anything new. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
geo333Nov 20, 2015
Although not as in dept as the previous two films; Terminator 3 gives still entertainment and a good follow up story line the keeps the franchise going. thus making this film satisfying to watch. In the end. the third installment isn't onAlthough not as in dept as the previous two films; Terminator 3 gives still entertainment and a good follow up story line the keeps the franchise going. thus making this film satisfying to watch. In the end. the third installment isn't on par with the previous ones, but it's decent enough for fans to enjoy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BrettS.Jul 2, 2003
A great movie - not perfect by any stretch, but well worthy to fit into the Terminator series; Arnold is great in T3.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianNov 18, 2007
This movie is very solid. If you dont understand the premise of why it's happening then explain how John Connor can exist if the future never happens the way it is supposed to. It's a paradox. The T3 story cant end until it's This movie is very solid. If you dont understand the premise of why it's happening then explain how John Connor can exist if the future never happens the way it is supposed to. It's a paradox. The T3 story cant end until it's seen through to the future. Not sure what more of explanation you could need. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SpangleAug 23, 2015
Sure, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines does not rise to the heights of its predecessors, but all the same, it is still very good. Arnold Schwarzenegger turns in a classic Schwarzenegger performance here, Nick Stahl is good, and Claire DanesSure, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines does not rise to the heights of its predecessors, but all the same, it is still very good. Arnold Schwarzenegger turns in a classic Schwarzenegger performance here, Nick Stahl is good, and Claire Danes is also very good. As we near Judgment Day, Rise of the Machines sports very good modern special effects and a very compelling story (as well as another great terminator sent to, well, terminate). The film is also very well directed, even though James Cameron is not sitting in the director's chair for this one. The pacing is strong and the story comes together just as it should with a very pretty backdrop and some incredible set pieces they destroy as if destruction and chaos are goingout of style. Oddly enough, the film also has some seriously beautiful shots in it, which is always unexpected with these big blockbusters. Overall, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is a very well made and ever entertaining action sci-fi flick that continues the story of John Connor and Arnold very well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tessara_VejganJan 18, 2015
Rewatched it recently on BD. Well they basically copied the formula and story of the second movie and added some new effects and toys. Its good but there is no originality. Everything is already seen in the Judgment Day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LoRevisorJan 20, 2015
Não alcançar nem longe a obra-prima T1 e T2,e na minha opinião é ainda inferior ao Terminator 4:Salvation,mas continua um bom entretenimento Claire Danes e Nick Stahl fazem um bom trabalho como xxxx e John Connor e Kristanna Loken é uma boaNão alcançar nem longe a obra-prima T1 e T2,e na minha opinião é ainda inferior ao Terminator 4:Salvation,mas continua um bom entretenimento Claire Danes e Nick Stahl fazem um bom trabalho como xxxx e John Connor e Kristanna Loken é uma boa T-X,Schwarzenegger continua bem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeDec 30, 2014
This third Terminator movie belongs to a completely new generation and there’s much criticism against it. But I disagree, it really is epic and it totally succeeds with action.

The movie starts with a damn exciting, and action-packed
This third Terminator movie belongs to a completely new generation and there’s much criticism against it. But I disagree, it really is epic and it totally succeeds with action.

The movie starts with a damn exciting, and action-packed opening scene that got the classic and hilarious Terminator touch. The first and second act got extremely great action sequences, it’s so massive and it keep going and going. I really love it. The third act got less action-quantity but instead greater quality. Therefor is it much more epic. The plot of the movie is very entertaining, but not as original. There are many similarities between this and the previous movie; Terminator 2: Judgment Day, which makes this film less unique. The actors though, are wonderful. There’s also great chemistry between the characters, but it feels a bit too forced and dry. The movie lack character development and there’s not much magical, funny and awesome interactions between them as we saw in the previous movie.

When it comes to the villain is the T-X awesome, she’s a real competitor to the T-1000. She’s also much cooler but unfortunately not as scary. Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is overall very well made, but there are vague CGI at many places. But the action sequences are of course fantastic and highly entertaining. I could not be more satisfied. The soundtrack gives the movie a scary and challenging feeling, but it could have been even more excessive to trigger an emotional response. The ending of the movie is great, but it made the whole film a bit meaningless. It’s still a great ending though.

It does have some serious flaws, but it’s still an awesome action movie that worth watching!

Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines gets an 8.2/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
marcmyworksFeb 8, 2014
This film seemed to be more of a cash cow rather than practical as a beautiful slim female is sent to the past as the new Terminator robot. This movie works very well if you can ignore the fact that again these robots from the future are sentThis film seemed to be more of a cash cow rather than practical as a beautiful slim female is sent to the past as the new Terminator robot. This movie works very well if you can ignore the fact that again these robots from the future are sent at random times to kill one man in the past. The strongest part of this film is in fact the acting and likeable characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
bhsplinterSep 18, 2015
Great! IT IS a great movie for me. The action scenes are very good and at least for me, are memorable. I don't know what were the reasons for this, but I would have liked even more if the film had been longer. Having more time to work theGreat! IT IS a great movie for me. The action scenes are very good and at least for me, are memorable. I don't know what were the reasons for this, but I would have liked even more if the film had been longer. Having more time to work the actors / characters and to find a more dignified end to the Terminator. The film went to a hard way of working for being the 2nd sequence of a really great movie. The idea for the end of the movie seemed interesting to me but I also felt that was poorly executed. I really enjoyed some revelations and descriptions made by Schwarzenegger as the "good-terminator". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews