User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 615 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 615

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    Much better, in my opinion, than JUDGMENT DAY, but RISE OF THE MACHINES is the third entry in the series and has still yet to reach or top THE TERMINATOR.
  2. Jun 25, 2015
    8
    Terminator 3 really did not need to happen, especially since the movie is just a retread of T2(which was also a retread of the T1). I would be offended, but only if the movie wasn't entertaining. I find it to be very enjoyable, even though its existence was just to milk more money. It's not great, but it comes very close to being great. It's more of a pointless, yet entertainingly good sequel.
  3. Jul 13, 2014
    9
    T3 has excellent special effects and a decent story but T2 is the best of the series. Furlong isn't in this
    movie, they cast Nick Stahl. Arnold is back and the femal TX is vicio the movie has thrills, action and comedy from Arnold. The movie delivers exactly what any terminator fan expects
  4. Jul 21, 2015
    8
    James Cameron is gone for Terminator 3 and the film lacks a bit missing his writing and direction but the film manages to stay fun and is still a strong action film despite being weaker than the first two movies. Arnold Schwarzenegger is great once again as the Terminator and its interesting to see a woman villain as this franchise has always been good at producing strong femaleJames Cameron is gone for Terminator 3 and the film lacks a bit missing his writing and direction but the film manages to stay fun and is still a strong action film despite being weaker than the first two movies. Arnold Schwarzenegger is great once again as the Terminator and its interesting to see a woman villain as this franchise has always been good at producing strong female characters. If you are a fan of Terminator films you will find this film weaker than the first two but the action is great and the cast is great which still makes it a fun action film. Expand
  5. May 15, 2011
    10
    So a very outdated model is going to win against a brand spanking new one that can control machines and has plasma casters in her arms. Ya, that will happen. All credit to Arnold, who is a kick ass actor, but I don't think that a (apparently) nuclear powered robot is going to beat the new girl in town.
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    8
    The movie isn't as awesome as the second one, but ignoring the flaws, it's a pretty good movie overall. Arnold Schwarzennegar does a perfect job just like the previous two. Hoping they get him back for T5...
  7. SaerA.
    Mar 5, 2004
    7
    This movie brings alot of action and alot of fun, but this movie would have been beter if Linda Hamilton was in this film.Also Terminator 3 is'nt as good as the 2nd film.
  8. AllenS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    8
    Everything you want in a summer movie: big explosions, cool fights, decent acting, funny jokes (Arnold is a real surprise in this one) and finally a decent storyline. If you want to get your money's worth at the megaplex this week, go see T3.
  9. TimL.
    Jul 1, 2003
    8
    T3 appears to be this summer's best blockbuster, mixing more than enough action with just enough plot. The pacing never lags from unneeded developments, and there are a handful of clever connections to the previous Terminator films. It's the worst of the Terminator films, but it still warrants some amount of praise -- and it's definitely better than most of this T3 appears to be this summer's best blockbuster, mixing more than enough action with just enough plot. The pacing never lags from unneeded developments, and there are a handful of clever connections to the previous Terminator films. It's the worst of the Terminator films, but it still warrants some amount of praise -- and it's definitely better than most of this summer's blockbuster films... and that alone is worth the price of admission. Expand
  10. JohnG.
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    THE action film of the summer. Forget Neo and his pals. Ahnuld's back!
  11. Scorpion
    Jul 2, 2003
    9
    Best Blockbuster this Year.
  12. MillenniumStadium
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    Good movie, and this should cancel out the deliberate 0 mark. It makes the average mark completely irrelevent otherwise.
  13. RemusL.
    Jul 2, 2003
    9
    Excellent action movie. Arnie is back in shape.
  14. AndrewF.
    Jul 24, 2003
    8
    Come on really, this movie had as much plot as T & T2, if not more. The effects were good, but maybe the film was too short! could have had more character bits, and some more guns in it. But then again, it doesn't have to be totally like T2 now does it? Could James Cameron have done better? I don't think so. I have SEEN Titanic. He would have just taken longer, shouted louder Come on really, this movie had as much plot as T & T2, if not more. The effects were good, but maybe the film was too short! could have had more character bits, and some more guns in it. But then again, it doesn't have to be totally like T2 now does it? Could James Cameron have done better? I don't think so. I have SEEN Titanic. He would have just taken longer, shouted louder and spent more money to make the movie. Expand
  15. JustinB.
    Jul 3, 2003
    10
    T3 is a funny, action packed summer blockbuster. Go see it
  16. Fantasy
    Jul 4, 2003
    9
    Wonderful sequel in the trilogy of T movies. The only reason I did not give it a 10 is that it would have been better if Arnie had remembered his previous encounter with John Conner where they bonded? He did give him information about his future so he certainly could have been programed about his past? Otherwise, the movie was very good.
  17. KenJ.
    Jul 5, 2003
    10
    The Best action movie I have ever seen I cant wait to see it again, Kristanna Loken was amazing!!!!!!!! Anyone who thinks T-2 was better then this needs to go back and watch it this is better and we have found a star in Kristanna.
  18. H.K.
    Jul 7, 2003
    10
    FEEL THE RUSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  19. ARC
    Jul 8, 2003
    7
    I'm not a huge action fan, and I was skeptical when this movie was first announced, but T3 is a worthy followup to the first two movies. It doesn't surpass them, but it still has more action, thrills, and humor than most recent action movies. The ending has a surprise twist (considering the endings of the first two movies). At 55, Arnold still looks more powerful and menacing I'm not a huge action fan, and I was skeptical when this movie was first announced, but T3 is a worthy followup to the first two movies. It doesn't surpass them, but it still has more action, thrills, and humor than most recent action movies. The ending has a surprise twist (considering the endings of the first two movies). At 55, Arnold still looks more powerful and menacing than Vin Diesel, his "successor," did in XXX. Expand
  20. MattS.
    Jul 9, 2003
    7
    Great movie with lots of action and a decent storyline. Although not even close to T2, it is a thoroughly satisfying seqel to judgement day.
  21. Tech
    Aug 3, 2006
    7
    Movie was good but no the best. It has just become far too unrealistic, what the heck is the use for a robot to make their own boobs bigger? The talk to the hand and the sunglasses was funny but still doesn't fit into the movie. [***SPOILERS***] When does a robot care if he has good looking sunglasses or not? When the TX finds blood which belongs to John Connor she seems breathes out Movie was good but no the best. It has just become far too unrealistic, what the heck is the use for a robot to make their own boobs bigger? The talk to the hand and the sunglasses was funny but still doesn't fit into the movie. [***SPOILERS***] When does a robot care if he has good looking sunglasses or not? When the TX finds blood which belongs to John Connor she seems breathes out heavily and Robots don't have feelings! Else it was good. Expand
  22. NikitaA.
    Nov 23, 2003
    7
    T3 has no chance to keep up to the level that its two predecessors have established, but keeps the tone, delivers heavy action scenes and a surprisingly decent plot. Well worth every penny spent.
  23. KelR.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Holy S*%$ this movie rocked my world. Honestly, I was very skeptical to see this because 1. of the femmebot and 2. Arnold is too old. Well, I was wrong in both cases. The woman terminator is truely badass and Arnold looks as great as he ever did. Bottom line this is the BEST action movie I've ever seen. Yeah, don't go if you want a deeply intriguing movie but DO go is you want Holy S*%$ this movie rocked my world. Honestly, I was very skeptical to see this because 1. of the femmebot and 2. Arnold is too old. Well, I was wrong in both cases. The woman terminator is truely badass and Arnold looks as great as he ever did. Bottom line this is the BEST action movie I've ever seen. Yeah, don't go if you want a deeply intriguing movie but DO go is you want to have a blast! Expand
  24. DavorinP.
    Jul 12, 2003
    8
    Kristanna Loken rox!
  25. ShaneW.
    Jul 13, 2003
    8
    I simply cannot honestly say that I understand critics. But then again, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Countless times I read critics say something like "the movie was terrible, but action lovers will get what they want." Well, I guess those critics anticipate movies that are endlessly boring? That is the opposite of action, is it not?
  26. ErwinG.
    Jul 2, 2003
    7
    [***Minor Spoiler***] Considering Cameron's plans for The Terminator series was, well, Terminated after the conclusion of Judgement Day, Terminator 3 managed to do sufficiently well in reinitiating the franchise by adopting the current hollywood trend of Prequeling their prior successes. Prequel? you may ask. Well, that's about as much of a spolier that you'll get from this[***Minor Spoiler***] Considering Cameron's plans for The Terminator series was, well, Terminated after the conclusion of Judgement Day, Terminator 3 managed to do sufficiently well in reinitiating the franchise by adopting the current hollywood trend of Prequeling their prior successes. Prequel? you may ask. Well, that's about as much of a spolier that you'll get from this review, as Terminator 3, with it's lackluster acting, rehashed storyline, and over the top (though incredibly exciting) action sequences, offers little more to the series that hasn't been explored before...except how the story truly begins. On initiation of the movie, everything churns along at virtually the same pace of the prior Terminators: big glowy time displaced orbs belch fourth two visitors from the future, one designed to destroy, the other to preserve. John Connor, the central focal point of Humanity's post apocolyptic future, is still the target; and oneliners a plenty still are being dropped deadpanned from Arnold's hewn (though drastically improved) non native speaking english mouth. Also, this Terminator movie tries to take itself not nearly as serious as the original. The jokes seem more hollywood, the pacing doesn't have the same feel as Cameron's hyper-detail oriented direction, and even the action sequences, though spectacular to watch, don't sem to have that zing the third time around. What's left to save this movie, surprisingly, is the story, and though blatantly designed to guarantee greenlighting at least two more Terminator movies, it managed to give the Terminator franchise the potential to create something unique in a series; a chance to change direction. ...Well, maybe not to change direction in the linear sense of The Terminator series, but definitely the chance to change direction in how this story is to be told from this point forward; if that doesn't make much sense, do like I did, and force yourself through the initial trauma of listening to Claire Danes try to act, and wait for the surprises to drop. Expand
  27. SebastianT800
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    Super cool.
  28. MikeH.
    Jul 2, 2003
    8
    Big, noisy, loud...but not dumb. A worthy sequel that is more an action film containing character development, than a character driven film containing action scenes (as with the first two). However, the ending is brave, the car chase (complete with Ah-nold hanging from the side of the crane) probably the best I've seen (yes - I LOVE the French Connection) and the characters Big, noisy, loud...but not dumb. A worthy sequel that is more an action film containing character development, than a character driven film containing action scenes (as with the first two). However, the ending is brave, the car chase (complete with Ah-nold hanging from the side of the crane) probably the best I've seen (yes - I LOVE the French Connection) and the characters sympathetic. While shorter in its run time than the previous installments and utterly disposible, it doesn't feel forced - and delivers more thrills than any other movie this summer. Don't miss it. Ah-nuld's back - and better than ever. Oh, and as an added bonus - director Mostow lovingly pays homage to Cameron's films through entertaining camp throughout the picture. Expand
  29. GregA
    Jul 20, 2003
    8
    I went into this movie with no expectations came out thoroughly satisfied. Arnie, along with the main cast, do a fine job. A great action flick and the humour blends in perfectly. Even if the scenes are a little rehashed...who cares!
  30. DuxaC.
    Dec 12, 2007
    9
    I just finished watching all 3 movies (T1, T2, and this T3) back to back in a marathon. And I must say that it is very good. I would say on par with T2. The plot twists keep you on the edge and action never lets go. Very enjoyable film, and I wish it would keep going.
  31. t-101
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    Awesome the best movie by far this year.
  32. Dec 4, 2015
    8
    Even without James Cameron's presence what we have is a 3rd entry that stays true to the concepts, themes, and most importantly feel of the previous two films. It's not quite as intelligent given that there are a few questionable moments and missteps in logic that are noticeable. However the plot is still complex enough to make it worth following. It's got more brains than the averageEven without James Cameron's presence what we have is a 3rd entry that stays true to the concepts, themes, and most importantly feel of the previous two films. It's not quite as intelligent given that there are a few questionable moments and missteps in logic that are noticeable. However the plot is still complex enough to make it worth following. It's got more brains than the average action film.

    Speaking of the action it's a blast to watch. Quite literally in fact. Explosions and gunfights are everywhere. It manages to keep a large level of destruction and mayhem with out coming off as excessive or just plain noisy. I love how the director incorporated the weight of the Terminators into the action. The previous two films didn't have too much of that.

    As far as the acting goes it's just as great as the other two films. The human characters are believable, and the actors playing the Terminators show just the right amount of non-expression. Schwarzenegger is just as great as ever.

    While it doesn't quite reach the heights of it's predecessors and has some questionable moments, fans of the series can still find this to be a worthy entry. It's worth watching the continuation of this sci-fi tale. With action this exciting and a plot this cool, it's easy to forgive a few mistakes.
    Expand
  33. Jul 16, 2012
    7
    Offers great action, but is overrated and lacks enough character development between John Connor and Kate Brewster. But it's fun watching the Terminator (Schwarzenegger) battling the Terminatrix until Judgment Day starts so John Connor becomes ready to enter his prophecy as the leader of the Resistance in the future war.
  34. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    Compared to the other ones, this one is by far the best. still not a fan of it, but some scenes pretty funny to watch and some action sequences were pretty impressive.
  35. Jan 31, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terminator 3 is a good movie, but... it dosent offer anything new. A female terminator? Im okay with that, but what the heck is that scene where her breasts infate about? That is so weird. Arnold can talk while he has a virus in him? What? But I will give it this: That ending is really great. It isnt a happy ending, its a dramatic ending. I like it. But as I said, it dosent offer anything new. Expand
  36. Nov 20, 2015
    7
    Although not as in dept as the previous two films; Terminator 3 gives still entertainment and a good follow up story line the keeps the franchise going. thus making this film satisfying to watch. In the end. the third installment isn't on par with the previous ones, but it's decent enough for fans to enjoy.
  37. EricY.
    Jul 2, 2003
    9
    I loved the action in the movie and it was actually much better than I anticipated. The special effects were great and the story was very good also. It also helped that Kristana Loken is HOT. Even with all of the action, there were humerous moments. I was very pleased.
  38. ZachC.
    Jul 2, 2003
    8
    T3 is very entertaining. More satisfying than Reloaded (surprisingly, because I liked Reloaded). The chase scene is unbelievable. It does seem quite a bit scaled back from the scope of T2, but it works. Kristanna Locken does an admirable job as th T/X. Arnold doesn't miss a beat after 10 years. Claire Daines is great as always. Bravest and best ending of any of the three Terminator T3 is very entertaining. More satisfying than Reloaded (surprisingly, because I liked Reloaded). The chase scene is unbelievable. It does seem quite a bit scaled back from the scope of T2, but it works. Kristanna Locken does an admirable job as th T/X. Arnold doesn't miss a beat after 10 years. Claire Daines is great as always. Bravest and best ending of any of the three Terminator films. One problem, where's the theme song? Expand
  39. ConnieE.
    Jul 3, 2003
    8
    Humor was something I was not expecting from this movie but I found it to be funny and often clever. I dont usually get excited about action movies or sequels. I was pleasantly surprised that I really liked it and plan on going a second time when its not so crowded.
  40. BitB.
    Jul 3, 2003
    7
    I must admit, I had fun watching that movie! It's good to see Arnold in such great shape and that lady-villain (Kristanna Loken) is totally HOT!
  41. BubbaFresh
    Jul 5, 2003
    10
    Haven't seen a movie this good in a long time. Thanks go out to Mostow who chose Kristanna Loken (Jaw-dropping HOT!) as the terminatrix instead of Chyna. I admit Chyna would be much more terrifying as a villian, because it's a she-man, but I'd rather have wonderful dreams of Loken than nightmares of Chyna. Only problem with this movie is that it guarantees a sequel which Haven't seen a movie this good in a long time. Thanks go out to Mostow who chose Kristanna Loken (Jaw-dropping HOT!) as the terminatrix instead of Chyna. I admit Chyna would be much more terrifying as a villian, because it's a she-man, but I'd rather have wonderful dreams of Loken than nightmares of Chyna. Only problem with this movie is that it guarantees a sequel which for it's success depends solely on Arnold's return. Let's hope He'll be back. In the meantime watch this movie because not only does it have great action, but its also funny. Dumb and Dumberer should take some hints. Expand
  42. JeffreyK.
    Jul 6, 2003
    9
    The movie was good and it lives up the Terminator series expectations.
  43. iSHii
    Jul 8, 2003
    10
    I've seen a lot of movies this year, and this is one of the best I've seen so far. The action scenes were UNBELIEVABLE and the jokes were hilarious. But then again, I'm a 16 year old and don't know sh*t.
  44. JoshuaW.
    Jul 8, 2003
    8
    I miss James Cameron. The action was there, the sroty was there (Cameron did almost direct this script, only scheduling problems prevented him) the cast was good (although Linda Hamilton is missed). It was a good solid movie, it just lacked all of the special touches that Cameron supplied the previous two with.
  45. CarlosA.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    I give this baby a 10! Thats right. But since i am Mexican you probably wount even bother :(.Any way, i really enjoyed this movie. The story was not out of this world but it was good, it is finally reaching judgement day!!! And we saw how it starts. It was cool how the machines are starting to take over, that was great. Arnold was fantastic he still is the #1 action hero! He was very I give this baby a 10! Thats right. But since i am Mexican you probably wount even bother :(.Any way, i really enjoyed this movie. The story was not out of this world but it was good, it is finally reaching judgement day!!! And we saw how it starts. It was cool how the machines are starting to take over, that was great. Arnold was fantastic he still is the #1 action hero! He was very hilarious but still had that "bad ass" look. The rest of the acting was also good, specially the girl terminator(shes very cute).Despite her beauty she still seems... you know "Terminator-ish"!. Conner was a little bit lost in the acting, like if something from him was missing. The special effects are amazing. Specially that chase..wow! The clash between the two terminators was also fabulous. And the ending was very clever. It makes you want to see T4 with anxiety( if there is one).Too bad James Cameron didnt participate, lets hope that for the next one he does!The movie was just great, exiting, funny, thrilling, suspensive......phew!! And again Arnold your the man, great job! Plus i wanna add that this web site is amazing, its so easy to find things you feel at home, awesome job guys! Expand
  46. Bob
    Jul 9, 2003
    9
    Terminator 3:Rise of the machines is a non stop rollercoaster ride of a movie and shows that not all sequels fall flat on their face.
  47. RickJ.G.
    Aug 10, 2003
    9
    Definitely better than "The Matrix Reloaded." A combination of factors make it work better than that other sequel about a machine dominated future. It's not too long, it doesn't bore us with stupid pop philosophy and it doesn't have to live up the expectations that come with being over-hyped, as Reloaded did. Yeah, it's a good thing Cameron didn't direct this one. Definitely better than "The Matrix Reloaded." A combination of factors make it work better than that other sequel about a machine dominated future. It's not too long, it doesn't bore us with stupid pop philosophy and it doesn't have to live up the expectations that come with being over-hyped, as Reloaded did. Yeah, it's a good thing Cameron didn't direct this one. They'd still be filming it right now, followed up by post-production in 2004 and a Summer 2005 release date (Only to be delayed until Christmas 2005.). They could have had a little more development of the relationship between John and Kate. They seemed to be looking to generate laughs in this film, which they did often. I wanted to see Kate go at it with John over who was going to be in charge at the end. They made fun of just about every sci-fi action movie cliche. It would have been fun to see this one brought up, the one that always sees the lead male character in charge. I mean Kate's a vet who runs her own animal hospital so she's hardly a passive housewife from the '50s. She has an advanced college degree, and she also has a pilot's license. You'd expect her to challenge the reluctant future resistance leader for the top spot once she accepts that the world as she knows it is about to come to an end. Interesting casting decision with Danes as Kate, the future Queen of the Resistance. They did a good job of transforming her into a grown woman, although I couldn't stop thinking of her as a TV sit com teen. She just can't fill Linda Hamilton's shoes here as the lead female character because she still has the face of girl. Maybe she'll look the part better next time, if they make another Terminator movie and cast her again. Overall another entertaining Terminator movie. Expand
  48. BenCozoniW.
    Aug 1, 2003
    9
    This is a succesfull installement in the franchise in my opinion. Allthough I would only give it a 7/10 next to the thought - provoking T1 and T2. The acting is merely functional as the set pieces take over etc. Terminator fans won'y have learned to much new about the Terminater universe after watching this film but it is incredibly entertaining and FUNNY! And also makes frequent This is a succesfull installement in the franchise in my opinion. Allthough I would only give it a 7/10 next to the thought - provoking T1 and T2. The acting is merely functional as the set pieces take over etc. Terminator fans won'y have learned to much new about the Terminater universe after watching this film but it is incredibly entertaining and FUNNY! And also makes frequent nods to the previous films. It is an often comical film, often mocking it self and you decide wether thats positive or negitive! At one point I do admit that I thought it was going to be a Terminator SPOOF! At the end of the day, Terminator is Jim Camerons vision, he IS the Terminator, so Jon Mostow did a good job as as an 'outsider'. My main worry is that the message Cameron wanted to give out (we can decide our own futures, there is no fate for what we make for ourselves bla bla) has been blown out of the water and now the series currently is in a pessimistic position.....which means there HAS yo be a T4 for there to be happy ending. This is a brave move from Jonathon Mostow.. Expand
  49. Cmeyer
    Aug 20, 2003
    8
    Thouroughly enjoyable ... Arnold was funny and had that same "spark" as Terminator just as in the first 2. I thought it was a great addition to the "T" series and I cant wait to see where they go w/the 4th movie (you KNOW they'll have one!).
  50. RonaldL.
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    Great Action Scenes. Full Time Power and lots of Strength. I watched this one for the 7th time. I can't get enough of it.
  51. BillS.
    Sep 21, 2003
    8
    Hey, Lord A! How can you give a film a 10 then say that the ending was terrible? Doesn't a 10 mean it was a perfect film in every respect? OK. This movie had some great action scenes but the ending was pretty flat. I don't feel drawn to see this movie multiple times like I did with T2.
  52. richm.
    Jan 10, 2005
    9
    It is the best terminator movie of the 3. Arnold is still one formidable dude. Stahl and Claire Danes did a fine job. And the young lady who played the more advanced terminator who went back in time to kill John Conner & his associates was superb!
  53. BobH.
    Jul 1, 2003
    9
    Fun movie that I saw in preview with a packed theater. Forget the reviews. This will be a 200,000,000 million summer blockbuster. If you liked the first two, this one is good as the storyline continues right along. The only negative is that "Auh-nold" has "NO RECALL" of his close association in the last flick with John Conner. Now don't you think that these geniuses from the future Fun movie that I saw in preview with a packed theater. Forget the reviews. This will be a 200,000,000 million summer blockbuster. If you liked the first two, this one is good as the storyline continues right along. The only negative is that "Auh-nold" has "NO RECALL" of his close association in the last flick with John Conner. Now don't you think that these geniuses from the future could have downloaded that information into his "TOTAL RECALL" memory bank? Otherwise, T3 held the audiences interest with suspense and set the stage for a certain T4. I guarantee "HE WILL BE BACK" again and again and again and again and again...even if they have to wheel him in when he is a senior citizen. Only if he becomes Governor of California can he be stopped. Have some popcorn and enjoy. Expand
  54. Joe
    Jul 13, 2003
    7
    T3's not as epic or mind-blowing as T2 and the original, but the repetitive chase scenes are effectively entertaining. And Arnold shows his gubernatorial campagin will be funnier than Jesse Ventura's. "I'm a cybernetic organism," indeed, guv'nor.
  55. [Anonymous]
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    Best movie so far. It got me thinking about our government secret projects. If there is something like Skynet, then you should know what may happen...
  56. TommyL.
    Jul 14, 2003
    7
    Not bad...pretty good. The first two Terminators were classics. This one is just a funny, entertaining, and action-packed ride. Definitely worth a look.
  57. ManfredB.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    THE ROBOT LEGEND POINTS WITH GOOD STUNTS AND INTELLIGENT STORY. What a movie,I love it!I do not care when other people dont like it. People have just different taste.I hope we see Terminator 4 as soon as possible.
  58. SaraM.
    Jul 17, 2003
    9
    If you're looking for action, T3 is the right place to look. But non-stop action is not the only thing T3 offers. There is state of the art effects that are mindblowing and action sequences that simply could not be done during the T2 era. Fans of the second may not be as satisfied with this one concerning story plot because it doesn't really offer anything new or shocking, but If you're looking for action, T3 is the right place to look. But non-stop action is not the only thing T3 offers. There is state of the art effects that are mindblowing and action sequences that simply could not be done during the T2 era. Fans of the second may not be as satisfied with this one concerning story plot because it doesn't really offer anything new or shocking, but it nicely ties in what has already happened in the first two movies and just adds to it, like what life is like now for John Conner. I have to say Nick Stahl has done a great job on portraying the reluctant future hero, John Conner and Kristanna Loken is so perfectly casted as the female anti-terminator terninator with her robotic movements with a side of evil tendencies. Arnold is also great of course, I was surprised at how fit and good he looked considering how long ago the second one was made. The ending may seem a little empty or sudden but I think it's perfect for leaving the possiblity open for T4 which rumors have been pointing at. Overall, I think T3 is a great movie that can be enjoyed by long-time fans and new fans alike. Expand
  59. Uter
    Jul 18, 2003
    8
    Good, but it borrowed a lot from T2. I'd recommend it.
  60. BrettS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    8
    A great movie - not perfect by any stretch, but well worthy to fit into the Terminator series; Arnold is great in T3.
  61. BrettS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    8
    A great movie - not perfect by any stretch, but well worthy to fit into the Terminator series; Arnold is great in T3.
  62. JonH.
    Jul 3, 2003
    10
    This film answered every question every Terminator fan wanted answered since 1982. I thought everything played out perfectly and I don't think it could have been made any better. Damn, that T-X model is FINE!!!
  63. ChuckD.
    Jul 4, 2003
    9
    freaking awesome
  64. Mebot02
    Jul 8, 2003
    10
    the movie was good and you people really need to get a life, move out of your moms basement sometime, meet people (not on the internet) and what is up?? Allen S. do you like live on this website or something???
  65. HoopyFroodcat
    Aug 11, 2003
    8
    Not as good as T2, but then again, what is? T3 still manages to be one of the most entertaining action movies of the summer. The conclusion is fantastic because the creators took chances with it. Instead of reverting to the storyline we know, they give is a shocking end that could serve as a welcome launch point for a T4.
  66. LordA.
    Aug 6, 2003
    10
    Well, it's Terminator so it's obviously brilliant. The ending was terrible, but the first 1hr 40 mins were simply brilliant. It's not up to the standards of its predecessors though.
  67. U.S.
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    I was watcing this movie and sadly thinking about what we get about having one more politician and loosing an one uniqe actor.Terminator story never ends?But on other hand computer technologies make miracles and who knows?perhaps we will see Terminator 4 with basic Terminator without Arnold himself.
  68. Anonymous
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    Well paced and exciting. The old soundtrack was better, though. Action scenes are great, but unlike T2, sometimes feel silly, but this can be good or bad. The idea of John connor dropping out of Jr. high to live like a bum in fear of the future feels a bit absurd, though.
  69. Brian
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    This movie is very solid. If you dont understand the premise of why it's happening then explain how John Connor can exist if the future never happens the way it is supposed to. It's a paradox. The T3 story cant end until it's seen through to the future. Not sure what more of explanation you could need.
  70. BrianK.
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Sweet movie. Better than Matrix Reloaded!!! The car scene omg it kicks ass! I really thought this movie was gonna suck but it kick a$$!If u wanna see a great action packed movie, See this one!!!!!
  71. NickB.
    Nov 15, 2003
    8
    It was not as good as the other movies but it was still great. The only thing I had a problem with the movie is that they killed off Sarah Conner. At the very ending they left it open for another movie, but I personly think that they should stop the series.
  72. MatthieuR.
    Nov 24, 2003
    8
    A decent, though not great, film. I actually really liked the Terminatrix, I thought she brought a nice new element to the franchise, because I thought Arnold's role was a bit tired. I'm one of those who really likes the ending, it is rather unusual from Hollywood not to have super-duper closure.
  73. KennethB.
    Jul 12, 2003
    8
    Terminator 3 is one of Arnold's best films to date. It's exhiterating from beginning to end. Truely remarkable!
  74. Matt
    Jul 12, 2003
    10
    I went expecting a blow'em up, beat the crap outa'em shoot'em up movie. it delivers like a pizza boy in a porno.
  75. DaveW.
    Jul 13, 2003
    9
    A "9" because it *actually* delivered what it promised: Great special effects, good script (for a summer flick,) and it wasn't completely predictable like most sequels are. How often can you say that these days? Go see it.
  76. KevinS.
    Aug 23, 2003
    9
    AWESOME movie. One of the few I actually wasn't disappointed by this year. Totally blows away 'The Matrix Reloaded' as the action-flick/sequel of the summer. It's really funny too, something you don't see much in action movies. And the car chase scene is amazing. If you haven't seen it yet, go now! You're missing one of the best movies of the year so far.
  77. RavenX301
    Sep 22, 2003
    8
    Great movie, only problem that I had was that it was almost like watching T2, because they took alot of scene's from T2 and put them in other backgrounds and stuff. Also the ending kinda left ya with a "What the hell?" kind of feeling. Other than that, great movie.
  78. FredC.
    Mar 23, 2004
    10
    This movie is excellent...probably not better then the first two. But there is more of a story then the first two...it has great action and Arnold looks AWESOME as always, better then 99% of people in their prime. Also, not saying I hate you for being a democrat or liberal, but for anyone that reads this...dis-regard all the bad negative feedback left AFTER Arnold decided to run for This movie is excellent...probably not better then the first two. But there is more of a story then the first two...it has great action and Arnold looks AWESOME as always, better then 99% of people in their prime. Also, not saying I hate you for being a democrat or liberal, but for anyone that reads this...dis-regard all the bad negative feedback left AFTER Arnold decided to run for Governor...they are obviously against him, so they come here and give the movie a bad rating...pathetic. This movie is awesome! Expand
  79. GregT.
    Nov 17, 2003
    8
    Nick B. was right, it is not as good as the other Terminator movies. But it still had lots of action and special effects. Arnie is getting a bit long in the tooth to be a non-aging robot. He is better suited to being a governor of some U.S. State.
  80. MarkS.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    This is the best movie I have ever seen. It has everything you could ever want in a movie: Action, Comedy, and the hotest chick in the world(Kristanna Loken).
  81. Aug 23, 2015
    7
    Sure, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines does not rise to the heights of its predecessors, but all the same, it is still very good. Arnold Schwarzenegger turns in a classic Schwarzenegger performance here, Nick Stahl is good, and Claire Danes is also very good. As we near Judgment Day, Rise of the Machines sports very good modern special effects and a very compelling story (as well asSure, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines does not rise to the heights of its predecessors, but all the same, it is still very good. Arnold Schwarzenegger turns in a classic Schwarzenegger performance here, Nick Stahl is good, and Claire Danes is also very good. As we near Judgment Day, Rise of the Machines sports very good modern special effects and a very compelling story (as well as another great terminator sent to, well, terminate). The film is also very well directed, even though James Cameron is not sitting in the director's chair for this one. The pacing is strong and the story comes together just as it should with a very pretty backdrop and some incredible set pieces they destroy as if destruction and chaos are goingout of style. Oddly enough, the film also has some seriously beautiful shots in it, which is always unexpected with these big blockbusters. Overall, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is a very well made and ever entertaining action sci-fi flick that continues the story of John Connor and Arnold very well. Expand
  82. Jan 18, 2015
    7
    Rewatched it recently on BD. Well they basically copied the formula and story of the second movie and added some new effects and toys. Its good but there is no originality. Everything is already seen in the Judgment Day.
  83. Jan 20, 2015
    8
    Não alcançar nem longe a obra-prima T1 e T2,e na minha opinião é ainda inferior ao Terminator 4:Salvation,mas continua um bom entretenimento Claire Danes e Nick Stahl fazem um bom trabalho como xxxx e John Connor e Kristanna Loken é uma boa T-X,Schwarzenegger continua bem.
  84. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    This third Terminator movie belongs to a completely new generation and there’s much criticism against it. But I disagree, it really is epic and it totally succeeds with action.

    The movie starts with a damn exciting, and action-packed opening scene that got the classic and hilarious Terminator touch. The first and second act got extremely great action sequences, it’s so massive and it
    This third Terminator movie belongs to a completely new generation and there’s much criticism against it. But I disagree, it really is epic and it totally succeeds with action.

    The movie starts with a damn exciting, and action-packed opening scene that got the classic and hilarious Terminator touch. The first and second act got extremely great action sequences, it’s so massive and it keep going and going. I really love it. The third act got less action-quantity but instead greater quality. Therefor is it much more epic. The plot of the movie is very entertaining, but not as original. There are many similarities between this and the previous movie; Terminator 2: Judgment Day, which makes this film less unique. The actors though, are wonderful. There’s also great chemistry between the characters, but it feels a bit too forced and dry. The movie lack character development and there’s not much magical, funny and awesome interactions between them as we saw in the previous movie.

    When it comes to the villain is the T-X awesome, she’s a real competitor to the T-1000. She’s also much cooler but unfortunately not as scary. Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is overall very well made, but there are vague CGI at many places. But the action sequences are of course fantastic and highly entertaining. I could not be more satisfied. The soundtrack gives the movie a scary and challenging feeling, but it could have been even more excessive to trigger an emotional response. The ending of the movie is great, but it made the whole film a bit meaningless. It’s still a great ending though.

    It does have some serious flaws, but it’s still an awesome action movie that worth watching!

    Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines gets an 8.2/10.
    Expand
  85. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    This film seemed to be more of a cash cow rather than practical as a beautiful slim female is sent to the past as the new Terminator robot. This movie works very well if you can ignore the fact that again these robots from the future are sent at random times to kill one man in the past. The strongest part of this film is in fact the acting and likeable characters.
  86. Sep 18, 2015
    7
    Great! IT IS a great movie for me. The action scenes are very good and at least for me, are memorable. I don't know what were the reasons for this, but I would have liked even more if the film had been longer. Having more time to work the actors / characters and to find a more dignified end to the Terminator. The film went to a hard way of working for being the 2nd sequence of a reallyGreat! IT IS a great movie for me. The action scenes are very good and at least for me, are memorable. I don't know what were the reasons for this, but I would have liked even more if the film had been longer. Having more time to work the actors / characters and to find a more dignified end to the Terminator. The film went to a hard way of working for being the 2nd sequence of a really great movie. The idea for the end of the movie seemed interesting to me but I also felt that was poorly executed. I really enjoyed some revelations and descriptions made by Schwarzenegger as the "good-terminator". Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. If none of this seems particularly fresh, you're right. "T3" is strikingly similar to "T2" and "T," reflecting Hollywood's reluctance to tamper with a hit series.
  2. 75
    It puts almost everything it has into its explosive set pieces, but manages to instill the audience with just enough emotional involvement. If, Ah-nold decides to come bach again, this installment should ensure he has an audience.
  3. Though this film doesn't have the novelty value of the first or the complex plotting of the second, it boasts the most spectacular single sequence.