User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 468 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 468
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2011
    6
    "T3" lacks what made "T2" and "T1" a masterpiece, but it still has the blockbuster spirit within the movie.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    A few intensely entertaining set pieces serve to only just elevate this movie above its cheesy story and hammy dialogue.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    6
    A decent yet terribly acted picture. It doesn't have the storyline or characters as the second installment but has much better single piece action sequences than many other films.
  4. Aug 23, 2015
    7
    Sure, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines does not rise to the heights of its predecessors, but all the same, it is still very good. Arnold Schwarzenegger turns in a classic Schwarzenegger performance here, Nick Stahl is good, and Claire Danes is also very good. As we near Judgment Day, Rise of the Machines sports very good modern special effects and a very compelling story (as well asSure, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines does not rise to the heights of its predecessors, but all the same, it is still very good. Arnold Schwarzenegger turns in a classic Schwarzenegger performance here, Nick Stahl is good, and Claire Danes is also very good. As we near Judgment Day, Rise of the Machines sports very good modern special effects and a very compelling story (as well as another great terminator sent to, well, terminate). The film is also very well directed, even though James Cameron is not sitting in the director's chair for this one. The pacing is strong and the story comes together just as it should with a very pretty backdrop and some incredible set pieces they destroy as if destruction and chaos are goingout of style. Oddly enough, the film also has some seriously beautiful shots in it, which is always unexpected with these big blockbusters. Overall, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is a very well made and ever entertaining action sci-fi flick that continues the story of John Connor and Arnold very well. Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    Compared to the other ones, this one is by far the best. still not a fan of it, but some scenes pretty funny to watch and some action sequences were pretty impressive.
  6. Jul 21, 2015
    8
    James Cameron is gone for Terminator 3 and the film lacks a bit missing his writing and direction but the film manages to stay fun and is still a strong action film despite being weaker than the first two movies. Arnold Schwarzenegger is great once again as the Terminator and its interesting to see a woman villain as this franchise has always been good at producing strong femaleJames Cameron is gone for Terminator 3 and the film lacks a bit missing his writing and direction but the film manages to stay fun and is still a strong action film despite being weaker than the first two movies. Arnold Schwarzenegger is great once again as the Terminator and its interesting to see a woman villain as this franchise has always been good at producing strong female characters. If you are a fan of Terminator films you will find this film weaker than the first two but the action is great and the cast is great which still makes it a fun action film. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2010
    6
    its my least favorite in the series, but it has the charm of Arnold Schwarzenegger as the Terminator.
  8. Jun 9, 2015
    4
    The best thing about Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is that Linda Hamilton dropped out of it because it is soulless. This is the same story we’ve heard before except with even more action and is mostly an uninspired retread of the first film. The film does take some time out to have a occasionally heartfelt moments but not enough to warrant the film’s existence. Arnold is entreatingThe best thing about Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is that Linda Hamilton dropped out of it because it is soulless. This is the same story we’ve heard before except with even more action and is mostly an uninspired retread of the first film. The film does take some time out to have a occasionally heartfelt moments but not enough to warrant the film’s existence. Arnold is entreating but that’s about it. At the end of the day this is not only an unnecessary sequel but an unpleasant one that is a slap in the face to Terminator 2: Judgement Day. Mixed feelings on the ending, which while surprising feels like a punch in the gut like being told that the Tooth Fairy isn’t real. Expand
  9. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    Unfortunately this was the worst of the series. The selection for the John Connor character was terrible, the invincibility of the Terminators has gotten more and more extreme each time, and while the effects have become markedly improved over the years, the CGI looked overdone. I mean, it was still an entertaining movie but it just wasn't as good as the first two. Hopefully Christian BaleUnfortunately this was the worst of the series. The selection for the John Connor character was terrible, the invincibility of the Terminators has gotten more and more extreme each time, and while the effects have become markedly improved over the years, the CGI looked overdone. I mean, it was still an entertaining movie but it just wasn't as good as the first two. Hopefully Christian Bale makes Salvation BA because this definitely was not. Expand
  10. Mar 8, 2014
    6
    It's not nearly as good as the second film - it lacks emotional characters and a strong heart. However, it does not fail to entertain us with its intense and explosive action sequences.
  11. Jun 7, 2015
    6
    "Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines" is a step back over its predecessor, with a storyline trying to achieve the same results of the previous outputs, but it's still action-packed and Arnold Schwarzenegger continues delivering successfully quotable lines of dialogue. If it wasn't for him, we would be looking at a 4/10 film.

    6/10.
  12. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    This film seemed to be more of a cash cow rather than practical as a beautiful slim female is sent to the past as the new Terminator robot. This movie works very well if you can ignore the fact that again these robots from the future are sent at random times to kill one man in the past. The strongest part of this film is in fact the acting and likeable characters.
  13. Jul 18, 2015
    6
    While the characters aren't as fleshed out as it's two masterful predecessors, the action and the charisma of Arnold Schwarzenegger in Terminator 3 does just enough to compensate.
  14. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    This third Terminator movie belongs to a completely new generation and there’s much criticism against it. But I disagree, it really is epic and it totally succeeds with action.

    The movie starts with a damn exciting, and action-packed opening scene that got the classic and hilarious Terminator touch. The first and second act got extremely great action sequences, it’s so massive and it
    This third Terminator movie belongs to a completely new generation and there’s much criticism against it. But I disagree, it really is epic and it totally succeeds with action.

    The movie starts with a damn exciting, and action-packed opening scene that got the classic and hilarious Terminator touch. The first and second act got extremely great action sequences, it’s so massive and it keep going and going. I really love it. The third act got less action-quantity but instead greater quality. Therefor is it much more epic. The plot of the movie is very entertaining, but not as original. There are many similarities between this and the previous movie; Terminator 2: Judgment Day, which makes this film less unique. The actors though, are wonderful. There’s also great chemistry between the characters, but it feels a bit too forced and dry. The movie lack character development and there’s not much magical, funny and awesome interactions between them as we saw in the previous movie.

    When it comes to the villain is the T-X awesome, she’s a real competitor to the T-1000. She’s also much cooler but unfortunately not as scary. Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is overall very well made, but there are vague CGI at many places. But the action sequences are of course fantastic and highly entertaining. I could not be more satisfied. The soundtrack gives the movie a scary and challenging feeling, but it could have been even more excessive to trigger an emotional response. The ending of the movie is great, but it made the whole film a bit meaningless. It’s still a great ending though.

    It does have some serious flaws, but it’s still an awesome action movie that worth watching!

    Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines gets an 8.2/10.
    Expand
  15. Dec 8, 2011
    3
    A unneeded sequel that does nothing but butcher a once great series. Terrible acting and poor action/special effects makes this a disapointing end to the original trilogy.
  16. Apr 23, 2015
    5
    Terminator 3 is the summer movie of 2003 that hard-core action fans have been awaiting. It's not ponderous and incomplete like The Matrix Reloaded. It's not steeped in characterization and modern-day mythology like Hulk. And it's not vapid and flashy like Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle and Bad Boys 2. Instead, it's a relatively straightforward science fiction adventure film - just whatTerminator 3 is the summer movie of 2003 that hard-core action fans have been awaiting. It's not ponderous and incomplete like The Matrix Reloaded. It's not steeped in characterization and modern-day mythology like Hulk. And it's not vapid and flashy like Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle and Bad Boys 2. Instead, it's a relatively straightforward science fiction adventure film - just what movie-goers expect from a third outing with Arnold Schwarzenegger's cybernetic alter-ego.

    The movie is not weighted down by plot, but it does have a recognizable storyline featuring legitimate characters and a few nice (but minor) twists. Some degree of attention is helpful - Terminator 3 is not an intellectual challenge, but neither is it vacuous. The film has plenty of action sequences, some of which are spectacular. Director Jonathan Mostow has wisely not relied too much on computer graphics for these. A fair amount of stunt work was required, and the computer components are incorporated seamlessly. Additionally, Mostow does not play the game of cutting every second or so, and the music never upstages the visuals. Terminator 3 gets the most bang for its buck by letting the camera linger on the spectacle, and allowing tension, not flashiness, to be its hallmark.

    If you take a step back and examine Terminator 3 from a distance, it bears all the characteristics of a road movie. Strip away the action sequences and the science fiction/time travel veneer, and that's what's left. But, since the average road movie is terminally boring, Mostow provides plenty of pyrotechnics along the way. Terminator 3 is a closer cousin to Terminator 2 than it is to the original. Like the first sequel, this movie is more concerned with elevating the pulse than stimulating the mind. There was plenty of action in The Terminator, but that movie was founded on ideas and paradoxes. In Terminator 2 and Terminator 3, the thought-provoking skeleton is still in place, but a much greater importance has been placed on the visceral impact.

    Terminator 3 has a number of impressive action sequences, including one that features two crashing helicopters and another in which the T-101 and T-X go at it, one-on-one. But none is more impressive than the crane chase, where the world's largest crane goes crashing through everything in its path in an out-of-control attempt to (literally) run down John and Kate. (When Warner Brothers became skittish about budgetary issues, Schwarzenegger chipped in $1.6 million to allow the sequence to be finished.) It's hard to say which is the summer's best chase: this one or the equally spectacular one in The Matrix Reloaded.

    Will there be a Terminator 4? The ending allows for one, and parts of the story have yet to be told. But, from an action standpoint, is there any way that way that a fourth picture could be anything other than a re-hash of its predecessors? And can the franchise succeed without its star (who, barring a failure to gain political office, will not be interested)? Those are questions for the future. However, considering how well Terminator 3 is likely to fare at the box office, the future won't be that far away. It has taken a long time to get Terminator 3 to the screen, and, while the production doesn't rock the action motion picture industry to its foundation, it's a credible and entertaining movie, and was worth the wait.
    Expand
  17. Apr 27, 2011
    8
    The movie isn't as awesome as the second one, but ignoring the flaws, it's a pretty good movie overall. Arnold Schwarzennegar does a perfect job just like the previous two. Hoping they get him back for T5...
  18. Jan 20, 2015
    8
    Não alcançar nem longe a obra-prima T1 e T2,e na minha opinião é ainda inferior ao Terminator 4:Salvation,mas continua um bom entretenimento Claire Danes e Nick Stahl fazem um bom trabalho como xxxx e John Connor e Kristanna Loken é uma boa T-X,Schwarzenegger continua bem.
  19. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    Much better, in my opinion, than JUDGMENT DAY, but RISE OF THE MACHINES is the third entry in the series and has still yet to reach or top THE TERMINATOR.
  20. Jan 18, 2015
    7
    Rewatched it recently on BD. Well they basically copied the formula and story of the second movie and added some new effects and toys. Its good but there is no originality. Everything is already seen in the Judgment Day.
  21. Jul 13, 2014
    9
    T3 has excellent special effects and a decent story but T2 is the best of the series. Furlong isn't in this
    movie, they cast Nick Stahl. Arnold is back and the femal TX is vicio the movie has thrills, action and comedy from Arnold. The movie delivers exactly what any terminator fan expects
  22. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    Doesn't live up to the standards set by the first two, and isn't as interesting or thought-provoking, but has some more catchphrases and special effects to keep it going.
  23. Jun 25, 2015
    8
    Terminator 3 really did not need to happen, especially since the movie is just a retread of T2(which was also a retread of the T1). I would be offended, but only if the movie wasn't entertaining. I find it to be very enjoyable, even though its existence was just to milk more money. It's not great, but it comes very close to being great. It's more of a pointless, yet entertainingly good sequel.
  24. Jul 16, 2012
    7
    Offers great action, but is overrated and lacks enough character development between John Connor and Kate Brewster. But it's fun watching the Terminator (Schwarzenegger) battling the Terminatrix until Judgment Day starts so John Connor becomes ready to enter his prophecy as the leader of the Resistance in the future war.
  25. Feb 23, 2014
    3
    Terrible follow-up to the first two movies, which were masterpieces, this is just stupid, there is nothing worth about this crappy movie, so you can easily just stop at T2, well at least it is not Terminator Salvation.
  26. Sep 22, 2014
    5
    Allow me to revise my previous review. This cannot even touch the first two Terminator films. There is a lot less character development, and the dialog is just doesn't have the same feel as T1 or the humor/quotability of T2. It tries to hit you emotionally in a few parts but just doesn't succeed at it. In addition, I feel that the guy who played John (Nick Stahl, I think) was prettyAllow me to revise my previous review. This cannot even touch the first two Terminator films. There is a lot less character development, and the dialog is just doesn't have the same feel as T1 or the humor/quotability of T2. It tries to hit you emotionally in a few parts but just doesn't succeed at it. In addition, I feel that the guy who played John (Nick Stahl, I think) was pretty miscast. Why? Because he looks absolutely nothing like Edward Furlong. The action scenes are decent, and Kristanna Loken is pretty good as the T-X. That's about it though, just a forgettable action movie that is in the end, an unworthy third installment in a franchise with two other far superior films. (And one equally forgettable and even more soulless sequel) Expand
  27. Feb 16, 2012
    5
    While its certainly an entertaining film, the action sequences are fun to watch, and some of the one-liners are pretty funny, its essentially a dumb action film. The Terminator, who's most fascinating quality in T2 was his quest to understand Humanity, is instead reduced to a dumb joke machine. The character development is thin on the whole, and the T-X is far too over the top for myWhile its certainly an entertaining film, the action sequences are fun to watch, and some of the one-liners are pretty funny, its essentially a dumb action film. The Terminator, who's most fascinating quality in T2 was his quest to understand Humanity, is instead reduced to a dumb joke machine. The character development is thin on the whole, and the T-X is far too over the top for my liking. The T-1000 was a much more threatening villain. If you want a damn good film, watch Terminator 2. If you want a decent summer action flick for passive enjoyment, watch this. Expand
  28. Aug 7, 2012
    5
    I enjoyed watching the film, T2 being one of my favorite films to this day, however T3 did just feel like a repeat of T2 with a woman playing the villain instead of a man, and the story wasn't as memorable.
  29. Aug 11, 2015
    9
    The third installment in the Terminator franchise may seem pointless to some diehard fans, but it's actually a solid movie that furthers the premise of the series.

    Following the events of Terminator 2, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines catches us up with John Connor (Nick Stahl) approximately a decade later. It turns out that the judgement day John and his mother thought that they
    The third installment in the Terminator franchise may seem pointless to some diehard fans, but it's actually a solid movie that furthers the premise of the series.

    Following the events of Terminator 2, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines catches us up with John Connor (Nick Stahl) approximately a decade later. It turns out that the judgement day John and his mother thought that they derailed is happening anyway. Two more cyborgs are sent back in time--one to protect John and his future wife, and the other to terminate them.

    The movie builds upon our notions of fate and destiny and expands the universe which we grew enamored by in the first two films.

    Although it copies the formula from the previous film, it doesn't disappoint. It gives us a solid addition to the franchise without losing the spirit of where it came from.

    And believe it or not, it even deepens the Terminator character as well. It gives us some laughs and callbacks to the previous film and aims to please fans.

    Sure, certain action sequences are a bit more tiresome and unrealistic, but when you have cyborg warriors I guess anything is possible.

    Twizard Rating: 91
    Expand
  30. Dec 18, 2014
    6
    T3 no llega a ser una obra maestra como T1 y T2, sin embargo, yo no pienso que sea una perdida de tiempo o un fracaso. En T2 James Cameron acabo con la franquicia dándole un final, pues aquí vienen a continuar la historia al desirnos que el dia del juicio es inevitable por que algunas cosas simplemente no se pueden parar. Como la muerte, la creación de una I.A real, etc. Lo que molestara aT3 no llega a ser una obra maestra como T1 y T2, sin embargo, yo no pienso que sea una perdida de tiempo o un fracaso. En T2 James Cameron acabo con la franquicia dándole un final, pues aquí vienen a continuar la historia al desirnos que el dia del juicio es inevitable por que algunas cosas simplemente no se pueden parar. Como la muerte, la creación de una I.A real, etc. Lo que molestara a los fans de las películas es que el inicio no esta bien enfocado. Iniciamos con John Connor, de hay pasamos con la T-X, de hay vamos con un personaje que no conocemos pero sera importante por que la muestran muy temprano, de hay vamos con el T-101 y volvemos con John Connor. La película debió iniciar como las anteriores: Salen los Terminator, se establece la amenaza, de hay vamos con los personajes y los desarrollan y seguimos con la trama junto a escenas de acción. Aquí no esta ese orden y esta algo fuera de lugar. Pero si hablamos de las escenas de acción son increíbles, el CGI se ve bien, un poco raro aveces pero es 2003, me sorprende lo bien que se ve para su época, los efectos prácticos/reales también abundan, eso siempre ayuda. Yo fui a esta película intentando disfrutarla, el inicio puede molestar por un par de tonterías como que John Connor toma pastillas que les dan a los animales sin saber que son. Aun con sus problemas creo que se pueden sacar buenas películas en el futuro ya que podemos ver mas de la resistencia o un reinicio por un viaje en el tiempo con la película "Terminator Genesis" que saldrá en 1 año. Le doy un 06/10, no es una abominación, solo no esperes una obra maestra como las anteriores. Al final la película no esta mal. Expand
  31. May 9, 2011
    3
    Even though i think the first two Terminator films are outstanding,i wasnt expecting much from this one when i went into the cinema,& i got what i expected.This is not a good Terminator movie,or movie in general.It took a while to put my finger on it,but i realised that it didnt have the gritty feel & look of the first two movies,being way to bright & colourful.It just didnt feel right..Even though i think the first two Terminator films are outstanding,i wasnt expecting much from this one when i went into the cinema,& i got what i expected.This is not a good Terminator movie,or movie in general.It took a while to put my finger on it,but i realised that it didnt have the gritty feel & look of the first two movies,being way to bright & colourful.It just didnt feel right.. The music just seemed a little random & not stiring at all,The actor that played John Connor was ok,but he reminded me constantly of Dr Bashir in Deep Space 9(for tht longest time,i thought it was the same actor)!,& Claire wasnt particulally likeable or interesting.Another BIG critisism to this film,is casting a woman as the other Terminator.I'm sorry if this sounds sexist,but no matter how much she kept a straight face,i just couldnt take her seriously as a threatening Terminator.. Making her Boobs grow,to get positive treatment from a police officer didnt exactly help this either.. Even though the story explains how the war with the machines started,most of the film seemed pointless & unessasary.There was also too much humour,& silly bits,for example when the TX gets hit in her head,her head spins round,the afforementioned growing boobs,& the stripper he gets his clothes & 'Star shaped Sunglasses'? from. this movie seemed kind of a joke to me,& that the joke was on me.. Thank goodness Salvation was much better & more serious,though i'm not sure if Arnold Coming back for No 5 is a good thing or not,after No 3.Time will tell.. Expand
  32. Sep 9, 2012
    0
    I'd like to pretend this movie never happened.....i mean, it makes sense :p T3 pretty much contradicts everything the first two terminators did, and made the events of T2 for nothing! Skynet was blocked from ever existing, therefore could NOT send another terminator (a third one...really?! wtf) to kill john connor. Terminator Salvation is the prequel to T1, as in T1 they had already WONI'd like to pretend this movie never happened.....i mean, it makes sense :p T3 pretty much contradicts everything the first two terminators did, and made the events of T2 for nothing! Skynet was blocked from ever existing, therefore could NOT send another terminator (a third one...really?! wtf) to kill john connor. Terminator Salvation is the prequel to T1, as in T1 they had already WON the war! I believe the chronological order of the series is TSalvation, T1, and then they rid the world of skynet forever in T2. T3 is a movie that never should have seen the light of day. Expand
  33. Jun 12, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a good pop-corn movie but lack's that serious wow factor. The story doesn't live up to the first two movie's. The opening sequence when we first see the Terminator. Set's the tone of the movie. Enjoyable nonetheless. Expand
  34. May 15, 2011
    10
    So a very outdated model is going to win against a brand spanking new one that can control machines and has plasma casters in her arms. Ya, that will happen. All credit to Arnold, who is a kick ass actor, but I don't think that a (apparently) nuclear powered robot is going to beat the new girl in town.
  35. AllenS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    8
    Everything you want in a summer movie: big explosions, cool fights, decent acting, funny jokes (Arnold is a real surprise in this one) and finally a decent storyline. If you want to get your money's worth at the megaplex this week, go see T3.
  36. SaerA.
    Mar 5, 2004
    7
    This movie brings alot of action and alot of fun, but this movie would have been beter if Linda Hamilton was in this film.Also Terminator 3 is'nt as good as the 2nd film.
  37. TimL.
    Jul 1, 2003
    8
    T3 appears to be this summer's best blockbuster, mixing more than enough action with just enough plot. The pacing never lags from unneeded developments, and there are a handful of clever connections to the previous Terminator films. It's the worst of the Terminator films, but it still warrants some amount of praise -- and it's definitely better than most of this T3 appears to be this summer's best blockbuster, mixing more than enough action with just enough plot. The pacing never lags from unneeded developments, and there are a handful of clever connections to the previous Terminator films. It's the worst of the Terminator films, but it still warrants some amount of praise -- and it's definitely better than most of this summer's blockbuster films... and that alone is worth the price of admission. Expand
  38. JohnG.
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    THE action film of the summer. Forget Neo and his pals. Ahnuld's back!
  39. Scorpion
    Jul 2, 2003
    9
    Best Blockbuster this Year.
  40. MillenniumStadium
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    Good movie, and this should cancel out the deliberate 0 mark. It makes the average mark completely irrelevent otherwise.
  41. RemusL.
    Jul 2, 2003
    9
    Excellent action movie. Arnie is back in shape.
  42. AndrewF.
    Jul 24, 2003
    8
    Come on really, this movie had as much plot as T & T2, if not more. The effects were good, but maybe the film was too short! could have had more character bits, and some more guns in it. But then again, it doesn't have to be totally like T2 now does it? Could James Cameron have done better? I don't think so. I have SEEN Titanic. He would have just taken longer, shouted louder Come on really, this movie had as much plot as T & T2, if not more. The effects were good, but maybe the film was too short! could have had more character bits, and some more guns in it. But then again, it doesn't have to be totally like T2 now does it? Could James Cameron have done better? I don't think so. I have SEEN Titanic. He would have just taken longer, shouted louder and spent more money to make the movie. Expand
  43. JustinB.
    Jul 3, 2003
    10
    T3 is a funny, action packed summer blockbuster. Go see it
  44. Fantasy
    Jul 4, 2003
    9
    Wonderful sequel in the trilogy of T movies. The only reason I did not give it a 10 is that it would have been better if Arnie had remembered his previous encounter with John Conner where they bonded? He did give him information about his future so he certainly could have been programed about his past? Otherwise, the movie was very good.
  45. MatthewB.
    Jul 4, 2003
    4
    Lot's of interesting touches and novelties, but T3 has no punch, and had no sense of how to build tension or use timing in scenes, and only did a lukewarm job of building connection with the characters. I loved T1 and T2. But I am afraid the series is over.
  46. KenJ.
    Jul 5, 2003
    10
    The Best action movie I have ever seen I cant wait to see it again, Kristanna Loken was amazing!!!!!!!! Anyone who thinks T-2 was better then this needs to go back and watch it this is better and we have found a star in Kristanna.
  47. Umpeik.
    Jul 6, 2003
    3
    The movie tried too hard to be emotional and serious - and it just wasn't. The humorus scenes in the movie made T3 more like a parody than a sequel (like when Arnold walks into a bar stark naked in the beggining of the movie). The dialogues were incredibly stupid, especially when the characters made blantaly obvious references to the plot (the heroin actually says, "I hate machines" The movie tried too hard to be emotional and serious - and it just wasn't. The humorus scenes in the movie made T3 more like a parody than a sequel (like when Arnold walks into a bar stark naked in the beggining of the movie). The dialogues were incredibly stupid, especially when the characters made blantaly obvious references to the plot (the heroin actually says, "I hate machines" when operating a bar code reader in a store). The action, which is what the movie is about, was O.K. Nothing that hasn't been done, and the Matrix: reloaded had a lot cooler sequences. The fight scene and the chase scene pales in comparison to what's been done in the Matrix. Special Effect was especially well done, but it didn't make up for how bad the movie was. Overall, just a bad movie. Expand
  48. LelandM.
    Jul 7, 2003
    2
    I am probably one of the biggest Terminator fans in the world. I have been waiting for this movie since 1991. Honestly I have to say I was greatly, greatly disappoined. It was too humorous and I am tired of seeing the battle fought in the present day. Show the future battle, show the Terminators being built in automated factories, show the technology behind skynet. The better idea for I am probably one of the biggest Terminator fans in the world. I have been waiting for this movie since 1991. Honestly I have to say I was greatly, greatly disappoined. It was too humorous and I am tired of seeing the battle fought in the present day. Show the future battle, show the Terminators being built in automated factories, show the technology behind skynet. The better idea for this franchise would have been to do like the Star Wars saga and take us back to before the first movie. Show us the aftermath of the holocaust and the real rise of the machines out of the ashes. Show us the early model t-700's with rubber skin and the evolution to what we know as Arnold (the T-800 series.) Show us how the skin is grated onto the endos. A great illustration of what I am saying is the teaser trailer where the T-800 model is actually being built and it ends with Arnold saying " I'll be back." That is what we want to see. The future for crying out loud. Humans running from HK's and living underground base camps. The actuall Skynet base where it all began. The come back to the past theme is totally worn out. I completely solute Arnold for his reprise on the role. He is in great shape and is convincing as usual. He just did not have anything to work with. The script had some interesting points but lacked so, so much. I am more intrigued looking at websites on the internet. To the directors, please make another final movie, but this time do it right. And please make the movie longer, do it some justice. Make the last one for the Terminator fans. Don't just patch together a few special effects, blow up some stuff and call it a day.God bless the Terminator franchise. Expand
  49. HenryC.
    Jul 7, 2003
    5
    This movie was hilarious and although i wanted more depth it really wasnt possible because james cameron didnt direct! so get over it, if you came with high expectations then youre a moron. theres no way t3 compares with the earlier movies, but i didnt expect it. its an OK movie. its fun then have fun.
  50. ChazG.
    Jul 7, 2003
    3
    This movie left me dissapointed. The original story was negativly impacted. There was stupid humor inserted to fill in the gaps. The acting was weak. Half way through, I had a feeling it was going nowhere. Two thumbs down... Note: I have always been a hardcore fan of Terminator 1&2.
  51. H.K.
    Jul 7, 2003
    10
    FEEL THE RUSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  52. ARC
    Jul 8, 2003
    7
    I'm not a huge action fan, and I was skeptical when this movie was first announced, but T3 is a worthy followup to the first two movies. It doesn't surpass them, but it still has more action, thrills, and humor than most recent action movies. The ending has a surprise twist (considering the endings of the first two movies). At 55, Arnold still looks more powerful and menacing I'm not a huge action fan, and I was skeptical when this movie was first announced, but T3 is a worthy followup to the first two movies. It doesn't surpass them, but it still has more action, thrills, and humor than most recent action movies. The ending has a surprise twist (considering the endings of the first two movies). At 55, Arnold still looks more powerful and menacing than Vin Diesel, his "successor," did in XXX. Expand
  53. MattS.
    Jul 9, 2003
    7
    Great movie with lots of action and a decent storyline. Although not even close to T2, it is a thoroughly satisfying seqel to judgement day.
  54. Tech
    Aug 3, 2006
    7
    Movie was good but no the best. It has just become far too unrealistic, what the heck is the use for a robot to make their own boobs bigger? The talk to the hand and the sunglasses was funny but still doesn't fit into the movie. [***SPOILERS***] When does a robot care if he has good looking sunglasses or not? When the TX finds blood which belongs to John Connor she seems breathes out Movie was good but no the best. It has just become far too unrealistic, what the heck is the use for a robot to make their own boobs bigger? The talk to the hand and the sunglasses was funny but still doesn't fit into the movie. [***SPOILERS***] When does a robot care if he has good looking sunglasses or not? When the TX finds blood which belongs to John Connor she seems breathes out heavily and Robots don't have feelings! Else it was good. Expand
  55. NikitaA.
    Nov 23, 2003
    7
    T3 has no chance to keep up to the level that its two predecessors have established, but keeps the tone, delivers heavy action scenes and a surprisingly decent plot. Well worth every penny spent.
  56. KelR.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Holy S*%$ this movie rocked my world. Honestly, I was very skeptical to see this because 1. of the femmebot and 2. Arnold is too old. Well, I was wrong in both cases. The woman terminator is truely badass and Arnold looks as great as he ever did. Bottom line this is the BEST action movie I've ever seen. Yeah, don't go if you want a deeply intriguing movie but DO go is you want Holy S*%$ this movie rocked my world. Honestly, I was very skeptical to see this because 1. of the femmebot and 2. Arnold is too old. Well, I was wrong in both cases. The woman terminator is truely badass and Arnold looks as great as he ever did. Bottom line this is the BEST action movie I've ever seen. Yeah, don't go if you want a deeply intriguing movie but DO go is you want to have a blast! Expand
  57. DavorinP.
    Jul 12, 2003
    8
    Kristanna Loken rox!
  58. HasanA.
    Jul 1, 2003
    0
    Re-hash.
  59. ShaneW.
    Jul 13, 2003
    8
    I simply cannot honestly say that I understand critics. But then again, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Countless times I read critics say something like "the movie was terrible, but action lovers will get what they want." Well, I guess those critics anticipate movies that are endlessly boring? That is the opposite of action, is it not?
  60. ErwinG.
    Jul 2, 2003
    7
    [***Minor Spoiler***] Considering Cameron's plans for The Terminator series was, well, Terminated after the conclusion of Judgement Day, Terminator 3 managed to do sufficiently well in reinitiating the franchise by adopting the current hollywood trend of Prequeling their prior successes. Prequel? you may ask. Well, that's about as much of a spolier that you'll get from this[***Minor Spoiler***] Considering Cameron's plans for The Terminator series was, well, Terminated after the conclusion of Judgement Day, Terminator 3 managed to do sufficiently well in reinitiating the franchise by adopting the current hollywood trend of Prequeling their prior successes. Prequel? you may ask. Well, that's about as much of a spolier that you'll get from this review, as Terminator 3, with it's lackluster acting, rehashed storyline, and over the top (though incredibly exciting) action sequences, offers little more to the series that hasn't been explored before...except how the story truly begins. On initiation of the movie, everything churns along at virtually the same pace of the prior Terminators: big glowy time displaced orbs belch fourth two visitors from the future, one designed to destroy, the other to preserve. John Connor, the central focal point of Humanity's post apocolyptic future, is still the target; and oneliners a plenty still are being dropped deadpanned from Arnold's hewn (though drastically improved) non native speaking english mouth. Also, this Terminator movie tries to take itself not nearly as serious as the original. The jokes seem more hollywood, the pacing doesn't have the same feel as Cameron's hyper-detail oriented direction, and even the action sequences, though spectacular to watch, don't sem to have that zing the third time around. What's left to save this movie, surprisingly, is the story, and though blatantly designed to guarantee greenlighting at least two more Terminator movies, it managed to give the Terminator franchise the potential to create something unique in a series; a chance to change direction. ...Well, maybe not to change direction in the linear sense of The Terminator series, but definitely the chance to change direction in how this story is to be told from this point forward; if that doesn't make much sense, do like I did, and force yourself through the initial trauma of listening to Claire Danes try to act, and wait for the surprises to drop. Expand
  61. SebastianT800
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    Super cool.
  62. MikeH.
    Jul 2, 2003
    8
    Big, noisy, loud...but not dumb. A worthy sequel that is more an action film containing character development, than a character driven film containing action scenes (as with the first two). However, the ending is brave, the car chase (complete with Ah-nold hanging from the side of the crane) probably the best I've seen (yes - I LOVE the French Connection) and the characters Big, noisy, loud...but not dumb. A worthy sequel that is more an action film containing character development, than a character driven film containing action scenes (as with the first two). However, the ending is brave, the car chase (complete with Ah-nold hanging from the side of the crane) probably the best I've seen (yes - I LOVE the French Connection) and the characters sympathetic. While shorter in its run time than the previous installments and utterly disposible, it doesn't feel forced - and delivers more thrills than any other movie this summer. Don't miss it. Ah-nuld's back - and better than ever. Oh, and as an added bonus - director Mostow lovingly pays homage to Cameron's films through entertaining camp throughout the picture. Expand
  63. EricY.
    Jul 2, 2003
    9
    I loved the action in the movie and it was actually much better than I anticipated. The special effects were great and the story was very good also. It also helped that Kristana Loken is HOT. Even with all of the action, there were humerous moments. I was very pleased.
  64. GregA
    Jul 20, 2003
    8
    I went into this movie with no expectations came out thoroughly satisfied. Arnie, along with the main cast, do a fine job. A great action flick and the humour blends in perfectly. Even if the scenes are a little rehashed...who cares!
  65. ZachC.
    Jul 2, 2003
    8
    T3 is very entertaining. More satisfying than Reloaded (surprisingly, because I liked Reloaded). The chase scene is unbelievable. It does seem quite a bit scaled back from the scope of T2, but it works. Kristanna Locken does an admirable job as th T/X. Arnold doesn't miss a beat after 10 years. Claire Daines is great as always. Bravest and best ending of any of the three Terminator T3 is very entertaining. More satisfying than Reloaded (surprisingly, because I liked Reloaded). The chase scene is unbelievable. It does seem quite a bit scaled back from the scope of T2, but it works. Kristanna Locken does an admirable job as th T/X. Arnold doesn't miss a beat after 10 years. Claire Daines is great as always. Bravest and best ending of any of the three Terminator films. One problem, where's the theme song? Expand
  66. ConnieE.
    Jul 3, 2003
    8
    Humor was something I was not expecting from this movie but I found it to be funny and often clever. I dont usually get excited about action movies or sequels. I was pleasantly surprised that I really liked it and plan on going a second time when its not so crowded.
  67. BitB.
    Jul 3, 2003
    7
    I must admit, I had fun watching that movie! It's good to see Arnold in such great shape and that lady-villain (Kristanna Loken) is totally HOT!
  68. JeffreyS.
    Jul 4, 2003
    4
    (**-out of 4) For all you "Termininites" out there, & I was kind of 1 myself! With the last 2 both powerhouse stuff (***1/2) & "T2" even went on to take home 4 OSCARS & grossed: $205m. I don't think this 1 though will likely even be nominated for visuals & especially in a yr. that has: Both "Matrix," flix/ "The Hulk" which I rate stronger then this actually!? & then of course final (**-out of 4) For all you "Termininites" out there, & I was kind of 1 myself! With the last 2 both powerhouse stuff (***1/2) & "T2" even went on to take home 4 OSCARS & grossed: $205m. I don't think this 1 though will likely even be nominated for visuals & especially in a yr. that has: Both "Matrix," flix/ "The Hulk" which I rate stronger then this actually!? & then of course final in the trilogy for "LOR-ROTK!" I per. think "Matrix: Reloaded," has that gold already sewed-up. But back to the big guys film & he needs a hit also! His last to go-over $100m. was 7yrs. ago & "Eraser" He should follow the lead of fellow action-stars, like Willis, Stallone & attempt vocals for animated features-(They at this point, seem to be the better pix being made?) Arnold though is actually quite compelling in this & It's much smaller a role then other 2. & the girl, villianous "Terminatrix?" Not much to do 4 her, but she is 1 gorgeous & hot lookin' lady! Hope she has a better future then poor Robert Patrick??? & I've always & yes, before "Romeo & Juliet," liked Danes! Good & very attractive actress! 1994's "Little Women" she was 2nd only to the OSCAR nominated Winona Ryder in that wonderful re-make. Of, IRONY A *Kate Hepburn film from 1933! Anyway, this will make "smashed-machinery" of the other new flix released this weekend! Mediocre or not! But I somehow feel Pixar's gorgeous creation will still conqour all this summer? Expand
  69. BubbaFresh
    Jul 5, 2003
    10
    Haven't seen a movie this good in a long time. Thanks go out to Mostow who chose Kristanna Loken (Jaw-dropping HOT!) as the terminatrix instead of Chyna. I admit Chyna would be much more terrifying as a villian, because it's a she-man, but I'd rather have wonderful dreams of Loken than nightmares of Chyna. Only problem with this movie is that it guarantees a sequel which Haven't seen a movie this good in a long time. Thanks go out to Mostow who chose Kristanna Loken (Jaw-dropping HOT!) as the terminatrix instead of Chyna. I admit Chyna would be much more terrifying as a villian, because it's a she-man, but I'd rather have wonderful dreams of Loken than nightmares of Chyna. Only problem with this movie is that it guarantees a sequel which for it's success depends solely on Arnold's return. Let's hope He'll be back. In the meantime watch this movie because not only does it have great action, but its also funny. Dumb and Dumberer should take some hints. Expand
  70. JeffreyK.
    Jul 6, 2003
    9
    The movie was good and it lives up the Terminator series expectations.
  71. RickM.
    Jul 7, 2003
    3
    D U M B dumb. A few spectacular special effects do not make a good (or even viewable) movie. The "plot" and action is so unbelievably stupid, that I cannot imagine anyone wanting to see this thing again -- much less buying it on DVD. What a waste!
  72. RobertL.
    Jul 7, 2003
    5
    A rather disappointing follow-up to the first two movies. This one lacked the extreme suspense, seat grabbing feel of the first two. It tried to be too cute and the humor felt like it should have been left for a Mel Brooks or Leslie Neilson spoof. Simply put: This is a picture that should never have been made without James Cameron's vision on guiding it. If he balked at directing A rather disappointing follow-up to the first two movies. This one lacked the extreme suspense, seat grabbing feel of the first two. It tried to be too cute and the humor felt like it should have been left for a Mel Brooks or Leslie Neilson spoof. Simply put: This is a picture that should never have been made without James Cameron's vision on guiding it. If he balked at directing this movie because of the script, I would not be shocked. The action was decent, but nothing shocking that makes it stand out. As for academy awards, I fully expect this one to be passed over by several other movies of a similar genre this year. The ending did leave room for another movie, so hopefully they can get Cameron back to do that and do so quickly before Arnold is over 60. Expand
  73. iSHii
    Jul 8, 2003
    10
    I've seen a lot of movies this year, and this is one of the best I've seen so far. The action scenes were UNBELIEVABLE and the jokes were hilarious. But then again, I'm a 16 year old and don't know sh*t.
  74. JoshuaW.
    Jul 8, 2003
    8
    I miss James Cameron. The action was there, the sroty was there (Cameron did almost direct this script, only scheduling problems prevented him) the cast was good (although Linda Hamilton is missed). It was a good solid movie, it just lacked all of the special touches that Cameron supplied the previous two with.
  75. CarlosA.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    I give this baby a 10! Thats right. But since i am Mexican you probably wount even bother :(.Any way, i really enjoyed this movie. The story was not out of this world but it was good, it is finally reaching judgement day!!! And we saw how it starts. It was cool how the machines are starting to take over, that was great. Arnold was fantastic he still is the #1 action hero! He was very I give this baby a 10! Thats right. But since i am Mexican you probably wount even bother :(.Any way, i really enjoyed this movie. The story was not out of this world but it was good, it is finally reaching judgement day!!! And we saw how it starts. It was cool how the machines are starting to take over, that was great. Arnold was fantastic he still is the #1 action hero! He was very hilarious but still had that "bad ass" look. The rest of the acting was also good, specially the girl terminator(shes very cute).Despite her beauty she still seems... you know "Terminator-ish"!. Conner was a little bit lost in the acting, like if something from him was missing. The special effects are amazing. Specially that chase..wow! The clash between the two terminators was also fabulous. And the ending was very clever. It makes you want to see T4 with anxiety( if there is one).Too bad James Cameron didnt participate, lets hope that for the next one he does!The movie was just great, exiting, funny, thrilling, suspensive......phew!! And again Arnold your the man, great job! Plus i wanna add that this web site is amazing, its so easy to find things you feel at home, awesome job guys! Expand
  76. VeezerE.
    Jul 9, 2003
    4
    Mildly entertaining, but definitely not a worthy successor to the Cameron legacy. The dialogues are bland, the story feels like a one-act drama with some mid 90s effects thrown in to justify the budget. Don't get me wrong, I don't regret watching this movie; it's not bad compared to some of the other summer flops out there now. It's just sad to see the epic grandeur Mildly entertaining, but definitely not a worthy successor to the Cameron legacy. The dialogues are bland, the story feels like a one-act drama with some mid 90s effects thrown in to justify the budget. Don't get me wrong, I don't regret watching this movie; it's not bad compared to some of the other summer flops out there now. It's just sad to see the epic grandeur and vision of the previous movies missing in this one; this could have been a great movie with a livelier and visionary script, and a more capable director. I walked out thinking "That was it?". Expand
  77. Bob
    Jul 9, 2003
    9
    Terminator 3:Rise of the machines is a non stop rollercoaster ride of a movie and shows that not all sequels fall flat on their face.
  78. KenK.
    Aug 1, 2003
    3
    3 for special effects & action 0 for plot 0 for acting = almost a waste of time.
  79. RickJ.G.
    Aug 10, 2003
    9
    Definitely better than "The Matrix Reloaded." A combination of factors make it work better than that other sequel about a machine dominated future. It's not too long, it doesn't bore us with stupid pop philosophy and it doesn't have to live up the expectations that come with being over-hyped, as Reloaded did. Yeah, it's a good thing Cameron didn't direct this one. Definitely better than "The Matrix Reloaded." A combination of factors make it work better than that other sequel about a machine dominated future. It's not too long, it doesn't bore us with stupid pop philosophy and it doesn't have to live up the expectations that come with being over-hyped, as Reloaded did. Yeah, it's a good thing Cameron didn't direct this one. They'd still be filming it right now, followed up by post-production in 2004 and a Summer 2005 release date (Only to be delayed until Christmas 2005.). They could have had a little more development of the relationship between John and Kate. They seemed to be looking to generate laughs in this film, which they did often. I wanted to see Kate go at it with John over who was going to be in charge at the end. They made fun of just about every sci-fi action movie cliche. It would have been fun to see this one brought up, the one that always sees the lead male character in charge. I mean Kate's a vet who runs her own animal hospital so she's hardly a passive housewife from the '50s. She has an advanced college degree, and she also has a pilot's license. You'd expect her to challenge the reluctant future resistance leader for the top spot once she accepts that the world as she knows it is about to come to an end. Interesting casting decision with Danes as Kate, the future Queen of the Resistance. They did a good job of transforming her into a grown woman, although I couldn't stop thinking of her as a TV sit com teen. She just can't fill Linda Hamilton's shoes here as the lead female character because she still has the face of girl. Maybe she'll look the part better next time, if they make another Terminator movie and cast her again. Overall another entertaining Terminator movie. Expand
  80. BenCozoniW.
    Aug 1, 2003
    9
    This is a succesfull installement in the franchise in my opinion. Allthough I would only give it a 7/10 next to the thought - provoking T1 and T2. The acting is merely functional as the set pieces take over etc. Terminator fans won'y have learned to much new about the Terminater universe after watching this film but it is incredibly entertaining and FUNNY! And also makes frequent This is a succesfull installement in the franchise in my opinion. Allthough I would only give it a 7/10 next to the thought - provoking T1 and T2. The acting is merely functional as the set pieces take over etc. Terminator fans won'y have learned to much new about the Terminater universe after watching this film but it is incredibly entertaining and FUNNY! And also makes frequent nods to the previous films. It is an often comical film, often mocking it self and you decide wether thats positive or negitive! At one point I do admit that I thought it was going to be a Terminator SPOOF! At the end of the day, Terminator is Jim Camerons vision, he IS the Terminator, so Jon Mostow did a good job as as an 'outsider'. My main worry is that the message Cameron wanted to give out (we can decide our own futures, there is no fate for what we make for ourselves bla bla) has been blown out of the water and now the series currently is in a pessimistic position.....which means there HAS yo be a T4 for there to be happy ending. This is a brave move from Jonathon Mostow.. Expand
  81. Cmeyer
    Aug 20, 2003
    8
    Thouroughly enjoyable ... Arnold was funny and had that same "spark" as Terminator just as in the first 2. I thought it was a great addition to the "T" series and I cant wait to see where they go w/the 4th movie (you KNOW they'll have one!).
  82. RonaldL.
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    Great Action Scenes. Full Time Power and lots of Strength. I watched this one for the 7th time. I can't get enough of it.
  83. JonathanP.
    Aug 8, 2003
    6
    Too much action; some of the action scenes were filler material. T3 also didn't capture the sense of paranoia, i.e. sense of being constantly chased, as in the brilliant and best Terminator movie, T2.
  84. BillS.
    Sep 21, 2003
    8
    Hey, Lord A! How can you give a film a 10 then say that the ending was terrible? Doesn't a 10 mean it was a perfect film in every respect? OK. This movie had some great action scenes but the ending was pretty flat. I don't feel drawn to see this movie multiple times like I did with T2.
  85. PatC.
    Jan 5, 2004
    2
    It's a replicant of Terminator II, except there are no surprises.
  86. richm.
    Jan 10, 2005
    9
    It is the best terminator movie of the 3. Arnold is still one formidable dude. Stahl and Claire Danes did a fine job. And the young lady who played the more advanced terminator who went back in time to kill John Conner & his associates was superb!
  87. AlistairD.
    Jul 10, 2005
    0
    Not only was the film rubish and it was rubbish. It almost goes as far as too ruin the first film (a important sci-fi film and a classic altoghter). I thought the camp Arnie in T2 was bad but this was worse in that he doesn't have to be told to be camp by having his memory altered or whatever. Even the woman terminator has some crappy puns.
  88. RDalvi
    Mar 14, 2006
    2
    Good to watch once. But only for Kristina, Arnold and the action sequences. Otherwise there is no no tender moment just pointless action.
  89. ZenoM.
    Aug 7, 2006
    3
    The most unimaginative movie in years. Boring action in spite of an enormous budget. Special effects are dull and tiresome. It is simply unbelievable how they managed to clone the previous movie, in the worst manner possible. I didn't expect a masterpiece, but still this exceeded my worst pessimistic anticipation.
  90. DuxaC.
    Dec 12, 2007
    9
    I just finished watching all 3 movies (T1, T2, and this T3) back to back in a marathon. And I must say that it is very good. I would say on par with T2. The plot twists keep you on the edge and action never lets go. Very enjoyable film, and I wish it would keep going.
  91. Melissa
    Dec 8, 2003
    5
    Yawn... Too many contradictions to resolve. The writers took temporal logic and just said who did care (sic).
  92. RajS.
    Jul 10, 2003
    3
    Wouldn't have been good if I hadn't seen T2.
  93. BobH.
    Jul 1, 2003
    9
    Fun movie that I saw in preview with a packed theater. Forget the reviews. This will be a 200,000,000 million summer blockbuster. If you liked the first two, this one is good as the storyline continues right along. The only negative is that "Auh-nold" has "NO RECALL" of his close association in the last flick with John Conner. Now don't you think that these geniuses from the future Fun movie that I saw in preview with a packed theater. Forget the reviews. This will be a 200,000,000 million summer blockbuster. If you liked the first two, this one is good as the storyline continues right along. The only negative is that "Auh-nold" has "NO RECALL" of his close association in the last flick with John Conner. Now don't you think that these geniuses from the future could have downloaded that information into his "TOTAL RECALL" memory bank? Otherwise, T3 held the audiences interest with suspense and set the stage for a certain T4. I guarantee "HE WILL BE BACK" again and again and again and again and again...even if they have to wheel him in when he is a senior citizen. Only if he becomes Governor of California can he be stopped. Have some popcorn and enjoy. Expand
  94. Joe
    Jul 13, 2003
    7
    T3's not as epic or mind-blowing as T2 and the original, but the repetitive chase scenes are effectively entertaining. And Arnold shows his gubernatorial campagin will be funnier than Jesse Ventura's. "I'm a cybernetic organism," indeed, guv'nor.
  95. [Anonymous]
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    Best movie so far. It got me thinking about our government secret projects. If there is something like Skynet, then you should know what may happen...
  96. TommyL.
    Jul 14, 2003
    7
    Not bad...pretty good. The first two Terminators were classics. This one is just a funny, entertaining, and action-packed ride. Definitely worth a look.
  97. EdMovieMan
    Jul 14, 2003
    1
    T3 is a dissapointment in every way I can imagine. The characters are bad with very little true acting, the feel is off from the last 2, this one has a feel of a cheap movie with very little extras to make a scene work, dialog that is weak and little spoofs that try to hint at humor. Everything about this one is unrealistic, from the new Terminator that steals a cops gun [even thought she T3 is a dissapointment in every way I can imagine. The characters are bad with very little true acting, the feel is off from the last 2, this one has a feel of a cheap movie with very little extras to make a scene work, dialog that is weak and little spoofs that try to hint at humor. Everything about this one is unrealistic, from the new Terminator that steals a cops gun [even thought she has her own built in beam cannon] to her remote control capabilities of machines [even though they dont have remote devices in them] this means she is telepathic. The whole point of this film is to wow an audience with chase scenes, shooting and destruction...which takes away from the original concept. Imagine going to a resturant and liking to food so you go back for a second time and the food is even better, so you go back one more time and the chef strips down the meat boosts up the flavor and puts your meal on a flashing red plate. That is what this movie is, stripped down of substance and full of cheap thrills that leaves you feeling totally unsatisfied and cheated. Needless to say I will never go back to a Terminator again. Expand
  98. Ken
    Jul 15, 2003
    6
    It is not done in the same style as the previous 2 movies because it's a different director. T & T2 can stand on it's own as a dramatic movie with serious scenes. T3 can not. This movie is for kids or anyone who wanna see violence. It didn't even make sense sometimes.
  99. ManfredB.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    THE ROBOT LEGEND POINTS WITH GOOD STUNTS AND INTELLIGENT STORY. What a movie,I love it!I do not care when other people dont like it. People have just different taste.I hope we see Terminator 4 as soon as possible.
  100. SaraM.
    Jul 17, 2003
    9
    If you're looking for action, T3 is the right place to look. But non-stop action is not the only thing T3 offers. There is state of the art effects that are mindblowing and action sequences that simply could not be done during the T2 era. Fans of the second may not be as satisfied with this one concerning story plot because it doesn't really offer anything new or shocking, but If you're looking for action, T3 is the right place to look. But non-stop action is not the only thing T3 offers. There is state of the art effects that are mindblowing and action sequences that simply could not be done during the T2 era. Fans of the second may not be as satisfied with this one concerning story plot because it doesn't really offer anything new or shocking, but it nicely ties in what has already happened in the first two movies and just adds to it, like what life is like now for John Conner. I have to say Nick Stahl has done a great job on portraying the reluctant future hero, John Conner and Kristanna Loken is so perfectly casted as the female anti-terminator terninator with her robotic movements with a side of evil tendencies. Arnold is also great of course, I was surprised at how fit and good he looked considering how long ago the second one was made. The ending may seem a little empty or sudden but I think it's perfect for leaving the possiblity open for T4 which rumors have been pointing at. Overall, I think T3 is a great movie that can be enjoyed by long-time fans and new fans alike. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. If none of this seems particularly fresh, you're right. "T3" is strikingly similar to "T2" and "T," reflecting Hollywood's reluctance to tamper with a hit series.
  2. 75
    It puts almost everything it has into its explosive set pieces, but manages to instill the audience with just enough emotional involvement. If, Ah-nold decides to come bach again, this installment should ensure he has an audience.
  3. Though this film doesn't have the novelty value of the first or the complex plotting of the second, it boasts the most spectacular single sequence.