User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 463 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 463
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2015
    7
    Sure, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines does not rise to the heights of its predecessors, but all the same, it is still very good. Arnold Schwarzenegger turns in a classic Schwarzenegger performance here, Nick Stahl is good, and Claire Danes is also very good. As we near Judgment Day, Rise of the Machines sports very good modern special effects and a very compelling story (as well asSure, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines does not rise to the heights of its predecessors, but all the same, it is still very good. Arnold Schwarzenegger turns in a classic Schwarzenegger performance here, Nick Stahl is good, and Claire Danes is also very good. As we near Judgment Day, Rise of the Machines sports very good modern special effects and a very compelling story (as well as another great terminator sent to, well, terminate). The film is also very well directed, even though James Cameron is not sitting in the director's chair for this one. The pacing is strong and the story comes together just as it should with a very pretty backdrop and some incredible set pieces they destroy as if destruction and chaos are goingout of style. Oddly enough, the film also has some seriously beautiful shots in it, which is always unexpected with these big blockbusters. Overall, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is a very well made and ever entertaining action sci-fi flick that continues the story of John Connor and Arnold very well. Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2015
    9
    The third installment in the Terminator franchise may seem pointless to some diehard fans, but it's actually a solid movie that furthers the premise of the series.

    Following the events of Terminator 2, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines catches us up with John Connor (Nick Stahl) approximately a decade later. It turns out that the judgement day John and his mother thought that they
    The third installment in the Terminator franchise may seem pointless to some diehard fans, but it's actually a solid movie that furthers the premise of the series.

    Following the events of Terminator 2, Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines catches us up with John Connor (Nick Stahl) approximately a decade later. It turns out that the judgement day John and his mother thought that they derailed is happening anyway. Two more cyborgs are sent back in time--one to protect John and his future wife, and the other to terminate them.

    The movie builds upon our notions of fate and destiny and expands the universe which we grew enamored by in the first two films.

    Although it copies the formula from the previous film, it doesn't disappoint. It gives us a solid addition to the franchise without losing the spirit of where it came from.

    And believe it or not, it even deepens the Terminator character as well. It gives us some laughs and callbacks to the previous film and aims to please fans.

    Sure, certain action sequences are a bit more tiresome and unrealistic, but when you have cyborg warriors I guess anything is possible.

    Twizard Rating: 91
    Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2015
    8
    James Cameron is gone for Terminator 3 and the film lacks a bit missing his writing and direction but the film manages to stay fun and is still a strong action film despite being weaker than the first two movies. Arnold Schwarzenegger is great once again as the Terminator and its interesting to see a woman villain as this franchise has always been good at producing strong femaleJames Cameron is gone for Terminator 3 and the film lacks a bit missing his writing and direction but the film manages to stay fun and is still a strong action film despite being weaker than the first two movies. Arnold Schwarzenegger is great once again as the Terminator and its interesting to see a woman villain as this franchise has always been good at producing strong female characters. If you are a fan of Terminator films you will find this film weaker than the first two but the action is great and the cast is great which still makes it a fun action film. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2015
    6
    While the characters aren't as fleshed out as it's two masterful predecessors, the action and the charisma of Arnold Schwarzenegger in Terminator 3 does just enough to compensate.
  5. Jun 25, 2015
    8
    Terminator 3 really did not need to happen, especially since the movie is just a retread of T2(which was also a retread of the T1). I would be offended, but only if the movie wasn't entertaining. I find it to be very enjoyable, even though its existence was just to milk more money. It's not great, but it comes very close to being great. It's more of a pointless, yet entertainingly good sequel.
  6. Jun 9, 2015
    4
    The best thing about Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is that Linda Hamilton dropped out of it because it is soulless. This is the same story we’ve heard before except with even more action and is mostly an uninspired retread of the first film. The film does take some time out to have a occasionally heartfelt moments but not enough to warrant the film’s existence. Arnold is entreatingThe best thing about Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is that Linda Hamilton dropped out of it because it is soulless. This is the same story we’ve heard before except with even more action and is mostly an uninspired retread of the first film. The film does take some time out to have a occasionally heartfelt moments but not enough to warrant the film’s existence. Arnold is entreating but that’s about it. At the end of the day this is not only an unnecessary sequel but an unpleasant one that is a slap in the face to Terminator 2: Judgement Day. Mixed feelings on the ending, which while surprising feels like a punch in the gut like being told that the Tooth Fairy isn’t real. Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2015
    6
    "Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines" is a step back over its predecessor, with a storyline trying to achieve the same results of the previous outputs, but it's still action-packed and Arnold Schwarzenegger continues delivering successfully quotable lines of dialogue. If it wasn't for him, we would be looking at a 4/10 film.

    6/10.
  8. Apr 23, 2015
    5
    Terminator 3 is the summer movie of 2003 that hard-core action fans have been awaiting. It's not ponderous and incomplete like The Matrix Reloaded. It's not steeped in characterization and modern-day mythology like Hulk. And it's not vapid and flashy like Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle and Bad Boys 2. Instead, it's a relatively straightforward science fiction adventure film - just whatTerminator 3 is the summer movie of 2003 that hard-core action fans have been awaiting. It's not ponderous and incomplete like The Matrix Reloaded. It's not steeped in characterization and modern-day mythology like Hulk. And it's not vapid and flashy like Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle and Bad Boys 2. Instead, it's a relatively straightforward science fiction adventure film - just what movie-goers expect from a third outing with Arnold Schwarzenegger's cybernetic alter-ego.

    The movie is not weighted down by plot, but it does have a recognizable storyline featuring legitimate characters and a few nice (but minor) twists. Some degree of attention is helpful - Terminator 3 is not an intellectual challenge, but neither is it vacuous. The film has plenty of action sequences, some of which are spectacular. Director Jonathan Mostow has wisely not relied too much on computer graphics for these. A fair amount of stunt work was required, and the computer components are incorporated seamlessly. Additionally, Mostow does not play the game of cutting every second or so, and the music never upstages the visuals. Terminator 3 gets the most bang for its buck by letting the camera linger on the spectacle, and allowing tension, not flashiness, to be its hallmark.

    If you take a step back and examine Terminator 3 from a distance, it bears all the characteristics of a road movie. Strip away the action sequences and the science fiction/time travel veneer, and that's what's left. But, since the average road movie is terminally boring, Mostow provides plenty of pyrotechnics along the way. Terminator 3 is a closer cousin to Terminator 2 than it is to the original. Like the first sequel, this movie is more concerned with elevating the pulse than stimulating the mind. There was plenty of action in The Terminator, but that movie was founded on ideas and paradoxes. In Terminator 2 and Terminator 3, the thought-provoking skeleton is still in place, but a much greater importance has been placed on the visceral impact.

    Terminator 3 has a number of impressive action sequences, including one that features two crashing helicopters and another in which the T-101 and T-X go at it, one-on-one. But none is more impressive than the crane chase, where the world's largest crane goes crashing through everything in its path in an out-of-control attempt to (literally) run down John and Kate. (When Warner Brothers became skittish about budgetary issues, Schwarzenegger chipped in $1.6 million to allow the sequence to be finished.) It's hard to say which is the summer's best chase: this one or the equally spectacular one in The Matrix Reloaded.

    Will there be a Terminator 4? The ending allows for one, and parts of the story have yet to be told. But, from an action standpoint, is there any way that way that a fourth picture could be anything other than a re-hash of its predecessors? And can the franchise succeed without its star (who, barring a failure to gain political office, will not be interested)? Those are questions for the future. However, considering how well Terminator 3 is likely to fare at the box office, the future won't be that far away. It has taken a long time to get Terminator 3 to the screen, and, while the production doesn't rock the action motion picture industry to its foundation, it's a credible and entertaining movie, and was worth the wait.
    Expand
  9. Jan 20, 2015
    8
    Não alcançar nem longe a obra-prima T1 e T2,e na minha opinião é ainda inferior ao Terminator 4:Salvation,mas continua um bom entretenimento Claire Danes e Nick Stahl fazem um bom trabalho como xxxx e John Connor e Kristanna Loken é uma boa T-X,Schwarzenegger continua bem.
  10. Jan 18, 2015
    7
    Rewatched it recently on BD. Well they basically copied the formula and story of the second movie and added some new effects and toys. Its good but there is no originality. Everything is already seen in the Judgment Day.
  11. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    This third Terminator movie belongs to a completely new generation and there’s much criticism against it. But I disagree, it really is epic and it totally succeeds with action.

    The movie starts with a damn exciting, and action-packed opening scene that got the classic and hilarious Terminator touch. The first and second act got extremely great action sequences, it’s so massive and it
    This third Terminator movie belongs to a completely new generation and there’s much criticism against it. But I disagree, it really is epic and it totally succeeds with action.

    The movie starts with a damn exciting, and action-packed opening scene that got the classic and hilarious Terminator touch. The first and second act got extremely great action sequences, it’s so massive and it keep going and going. I really love it. The third act got less action-quantity but instead greater quality. Therefor is it much more epic. The plot of the movie is very entertaining, but not as original. There are many similarities between this and the previous movie; Terminator 2: Judgment Day, which makes this film less unique. The actors though, are wonderful. There’s also great chemistry between the characters, but it feels a bit too forced and dry. The movie lack character development and there’s not much magical, funny and awesome interactions between them as we saw in the previous movie.

    When it comes to the villain is the T-X awesome, she’s a real competitor to the T-1000. She’s also much cooler but unfortunately not as scary. Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is overall very well made, but there are vague CGI at many places. But the action sequences are of course fantastic and highly entertaining. I could not be more satisfied. The soundtrack gives the movie a scary and challenging feeling, but it could have been even more excessive to trigger an emotional response. The ending of the movie is great, but it made the whole film a bit meaningless. It’s still a great ending though.

    It does have some serious flaws, but it’s still an awesome action movie that worth watching!

    Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines gets an 8.2/10.
    Expand
  12. Dec 18, 2014
    6
    T3 no llega a ser una obra maestra como T1 y T2, sin embargo, yo no pienso que sea una perdida de tiempo o un fracaso. En T2 James Cameron acabo con la franquicia dándole un final, pues aquí vienen a continuar la historia al desirnos que el dia del juicio es inevitable por que algunas cosas simplemente no se pueden parar. Como la muerte, la creación de una I.A real, etc. Lo que molestara aT3 no llega a ser una obra maestra como T1 y T2, sin embargo, yo no pienso que sea una perdida de tiempo o un fracaso. En T2 James Cameron acabo con la franquicia dándole un final, pues aquí vienen a continuar la historia al desirnos que el dia del juicio es inevitable por que algunas cosas simplemente no se pueden parar. Como la muerte, la creación de una I.A real, etc. Lo que molestara a los fans de las películas es que el inicio no esta bien enfocado. Iniciamos con John Connor, de hay pasamos con la T-X, de hay vamos con un personaje que no conocemos pero sera importante por que la muestran muy temprano, de hay vamos con el T-101 y volvemos con John Connor. La película debió iniciar como las anteriores: Salen los Terminator, se establece la amenaza, de hay vamos con los personajes y los desarrollan y seguimos con la trama junto a escenas de acción. Aquí no esta ese orden y esta algo fuera de lugar. Pero si hablamos de las escenas de acción son increíbles, el CGI se ve bien, un poco raro aveces pero es 2003, me sorprende lo bien que se ve para su época, los efectos prácticos/reales también abundan, eso siempre ayuda. Yo fui a esta película intentando disfrutarla, el inicio puede molestar por un par de tonterías como que John Connor toma pastillas que les dan a los animales sin saber que son. Aun con sus problemas creo que se pueden sacar buenas películas en el futuro ya que podemos ver mas de la resistencia o un reinicio por un viaje en el tiempo con la película "Terminator Genesis" que saldrá en 1 año. Le doy un 06/10, no es una abominación, solo no esperes una obra maestra como las anteriores. Al final la película no esta mal. Expand
  13. Sep 22, 2014
    5
    Allow me to revise my previous review. This cannot even touch the first two Terminator films. There is a lot less character development, and the dialog is just doesn't have the same feel as T1 or the humor/quotability of T2. It tries to hit you emotionally in a few parts but just doesn't succeed at it. In addition, I feel that the guy who played John (Nick Stahl, I think) was prettyAllow me to revise my previous review. This cannot even touch the first two Terminator films. There is a lot less character development, and the dialog is just doesn't have the same feel as T1 or the humor/quotability of T2. It tries to hit you emotionally in a few parts but just doesn't succeed at it. In addition, I feel that the guy who played John (Nick Stahl, I think) was pretty miscast. Why? Because he looks absolutely nothing like Edward Furlong. The action scenes are decent, and Kristanna Loken is pretty good as the T-X. That's about it though, just a forgettable action movie that is in the end, an unworthy third installment in a franchise with two other far superior films. (And one equally forgettable and even more soulless sequel) Expand
  14. Jul 13, 2014
    9
    T3 has excellent special effects and a decent story but T2 is the best of the series. Furlong isn't in this
    movie, they cast Nick Stahl. Arnold is back and the femal TX is vicio the movie has thrills, action and comedy from Arnold. The movie delivers exactly what any terminator fan expects
  15. Mar 8, 2014
    6
    It's not nearly as good as the second film - it lacks emotional characters and a strong heart. However, it does not fail to entertain us with its intense and explosive action sequences.
  16. Feb 23, 2014
    3
    Terrible follow-up to the first two movies, which were masterpieces, this is just stupid, there is nothing worth about this crappy movie, so you can easily just stop at T2, well at least it is not Terminator Salvation.
  17. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    This film seemed to be more of a cash cow rather than practical as a beautiful slim female is sent to the past as the new Terminator robot. This movie works very well if you can ignore the fact that again these robots from the future are sent at random times to kill one man in the past. The strongest part of this film is in fact the acting and likeable characters.
  18. Jan 24, 2014
    1
    This bu-ll-sh-it have more valoration than other movies I liked, (Spiderman 3 for example) what a shame. Metacritic, you lost my credibility in the movies, no longer serve me.. you can kiss my ass.
  19. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    Doesn't live up to the standards set by the first two, and isn't as interesting or thought-provoking, but has some more catchphrases and special effects to keep it going.
  20. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Fantastic beginning of a series ruined by feminist lunacy. Nothing fits in this movie, not even her ugly dress. Disastrous casting, except Arnold, and utterly bad script and directing.
  21. Jun 12, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a good pop-corn movie but lack's that serious wow factor. The story doesn't live up to the first two movie's. The opening sequence when we first see the Terminator. Set's the tone of the movie. Enjoyable nonetheless. Expand
  22. Dec 18, 2012
    6
    A decent yet terribly acted picture. It doesn't have the storyline or characters as the second installment but has much better single piece action sequences than many other films.
  23. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    Unfortunately this was the worst of the series. The selection for the John Connor character was terrible, the invincibility of the Terminators has gotten more and more extreme each time, and while the effects have become markedly improved over the years, the CGI looked overdone. I mean, it was still an entertaining movie but it just wasn't as good as the first two. Hopefully Christian BaleUnfortunately this was the worst of the series. The selection for the John Connor character was terrible, the invincibility of the Terminators has gotten more and more extreme each time, and while the effects have become markedly improved over the years, the CGI looked overdone. I mean, it was still an entertaining movie but it just wasn't as good as the first two. Hopefully Christian Bale makes Salvation BA because this definitely was not. Expand
  24. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    A few intensely entertaining set pieces serve to only just elevate this movie above its cheesy story and hammy dialogue.
  25. Sep 9, 2012
    0
    I'd like to pretend this movie never happened.....i mean, it makes sense :p T3 pretty much contradicts everything the first two terminators did, and made the events of T2 for nothing! Skynet was blocked from ever existing, therefore could NOT send another terminator (a third one...really?! wtf) to kill john connor. Terminator Salvation is the prequel to T1, as in T1 they had already WONI'd like to pretend this movie never happened.....i mean, it makes sense :p T3 pretty much contradicts everything the first two terminators did, and made the events of T2 for nothing! Skynet was blocked from ever existing, therefore could NOT send another terminator (a third one...really?! wtf) to kill john connor. Terminator Salvation is the prequel to T1, as in T1 they had already WON the war! I believe the chronological order of the series is TSalvation, T1, and then they rid the world of skynet forever in T2. T3 is a movie that never should have seen the light of day. Expand
  26. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    Compared to the other ones, this one is by far the best. still not a fan of it, but some scenes pretty funny to watch and some action sequences were pretty impressive.
  27. Aug 7, 2012
    5
    I enjoyed watching the film, T2 being one of my favorite films to this day, however T3 did just feel like a repeat of T2 with a woman playing the villain instead of a man, and the story wasn't as memorable.
  28. Jul 16, 2012
    7
    Offers great action, but is overrated and lacks enough character development between John Connor and Kate Brewster. But it's fun watching the Terminator (Schwarzenegger) battling the Terminatrix until Judgment Day starts so John Connor becomes ready to enter his prophecy as the leader of the Resistance in the future war.
  29. Feb 16, 2012
    5
    While its certainly an entertaining film, the action sequences are fun to watch, and some of the one-liners are pretty funny, its essentially a dumb action film. The Terminator, who's most fascinating quality in T2 was his quest to understand Humanity, is instead reduced to a dumb joke machine. The character development is thin on the whole, and the T-X is far too over the top for myWhile its certainly an entertaining film, the action sequences are fun to watch, and some of the one-liners are pretty funny, its essentially a dumb action film. The Terminator, who's most fascinating quality in T2 was his quest to understand Humanity, is instead reduced to a dumb joke machine. The character development is thin on the whole, and the T-X is far too over the top for my liking. The T-1000 was a much more threatening villain. If you want a damn good film, watch Terminator 2. If you want a decent summer action flick for passive enjoyment, watch this. Expand
  30. Dec 8, 2011
    3
    A unneeded sequel that does nothing but butcher a once great series. Terrible acting and poor action/special effects makes this a disapointing end to the original trilogy.
  31. Sep 18, 2011
    6
    "T3" lacks what made "T2" and "T1" a masterpiece, but it still has the blockbuster spirit within the movie.
  32. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    Much better, in my opinion, than JUDGMENT DAY, but RISE OF THE MACHINES is the third entry in the series and has still yet to reach or top THE TERMINATOR.
  33. May 15, 2011
    10
    So a very outdated model is going to win against a brand spanking new one that can control machines and has plasma casters in her arms. Ya, that will happen. All credit to Arnold, who is a kick ass actor, but I don't think that a (apparently) nuclear powered robot is going to beat the new girl in town.
  34. May 9, 2011
    3
    Even though i think the first two Terminator films are outstanding,i wasnt expecting much from this one when i went into the cinema,& i got what i expected.This is not a good Terminator movie,or movie in general.It took a while to put my finger on it,but i realised that it didnt have the gritty feel & look of the first two movies,being way to bright & colourful.It just didnt feel right..Even though i think the first two Terminator films are outstanding,i wasnt expecting much from this one when i went into the cinema,& i got what i expected.This is not a good Terminator movie,or movie in general.It took a while to put my finger on it,but i realised that it didnt have the gritty feel & look of the first two movies,being way to bright & colourful.It just didnt feel right.. The music just seemed a little random & not stiring at all,The actor that played John Connor was ok,but he reminded me constantly of Dr Bashir in Deep Space 9(for tht longest time,i thought it was the same actor)!,& Claire wasnt particulally likeable or interesting.Another BIG critisism to this film,is casting a woman as the other Terminator.I'm sorry if this sounds sexist,but no matter how much she kept a straight face,i just couldnt take her seriously as a threatening Terminator.. Making her Boobs grow,to get positive treatment from a police officer didnt exactly help this either.. Even though the story explains how the war with the machines started,most of the film seemed pointless & unessasary.There was also too much humour,& silly bits,for example when the TX gets hit in her head,her head spins round,the afforementioned growing boobs,& the stripper he gets his clothes & 'Star shaped Sunglasses'? from. this movie seemed kind of a joke to me,& that the joke was on me.. Thank goodness Salvation was much better & more serious,though i'm not sure if Arnold Coming back for No 5 is a good thing or not,after No 3.Time will tell.. Expand
  35. Apr 27, 2011
    8
    The movie isn't as awesome as the second one, but ignoring the flaws, it's a pretty good movie overall. Arnold Schwarzennegar does a perfect job just like the previous two. Hoping they get him back for T5...
  36. Jan 5, 2011
    2
    Terminator 3 is just one of those sequels that just don't need 2 b made. At the end of T2 they had stopped Judgement Day from occurring, but in this, it's said that Judgement Day is inevitable. The Terminatrix was a horrible successor to Arnold from T1 and Robert Patrick as the T1000 in T2. John Connor was very annoying in this film. It really annoyed me that Sara Connor wasn't in thisTerminator 3 is just one of those sequels that just don't need 2 b made. At the end of T2 they had stopped Judgement Day from occurring, but in this, it's said that Judgement Day is inevitable. The Terminatrix was a horrible successor to Arnold from T1 and Robert Patrick as the T1000 in T2. John Connor was very annoying in this film. It really annoyed me that Sara Connor wasn't in this film. The pacing is abysmal, the acting is bad at best. The plot was beyond retarded. By far, the worst Terminator film 2 date. Expand
  37. Oct 26, 2010
    6
    its my least favorite in the series, but it has the charm of Arnold Schwarzenegger as the Terminator.
  38. DuxaC.
    Dec 12, 2007
    9
    I just finished watching all 3 movies (T1, T2, and this T3) back to back in a marathon. And I must say that it is very good. I would say on par with T2. The plot twists keep you on the edge and action never lets go. Very enjoyable film, and I wish it would keep going.
  39. Brian
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    This movie is very solid. If you dont understand the premise of why it's happening then explain how John Connor can exist if the future never happens the way it is supposed to. It's a paradox. The T3 story cant end until it's seen through to the future. Not sure what more of explanation you could need.
  40. MikeC.
    Mar 22, 2007
    0
    Sorry, but this is the worst movie of the trilogy. Casting is awful and actors don't look too well directed in this movie. 0/10 (BAD)
  41. ZenoM.
    Aug 7, 2006
    3
    The most unimaginative movie in years. Boring action in spite of an enormous budget. Special effects are dull and tiresome. It is simply unbelievable how they managed to clone the previous movie, in the worst manner possible. I didn't expect a masterpiece, but still this exceeded my worst pessimistic anticipation.
  42. Tech
    Aug 3, 2006
    7
    Movie was good but no the best. It has just become far too unrealistic, what the heck is the use for a robot to make their own boobs bigger? The talk to the hand and the sunglasses was funny but still doesn't fit into the movie. [***SPOILERS***] When does a robot care if he has good looking sunglasses or not? When the TX finds blood which belongs to John Connor she seems breathes out Movie was good but no the best. It has just become far too unrealistic, what the heck is the use for a robot to make their own boobs bigger? The talk to the hand and the sunglasses was funny but still doesn't fit into the movie. [***SPOILERS***] When does a robot care if he has good looking sunglasses or not? When the TX finds blood which belongs to John Connor she seems breathes out heavily and Robots don't have feelings! Else it was good. Expand
  43. DavidF.
    Apr 22, 2006
    2
    I'll set the tone of this review right away, this movie is terrible! What was Jonathan Mostow thinking when he made this mess. There is no explanation of what the hell is going on, Arnie seems like he's playing a parody of the Terminator from the earlier films, it has no heart and the story line is laughably poor. I waited over 10 years to see this film and they give no I'll set the tone of this review right away, this movie is terrible! What was Jonathan Mostow thinking when he made this mess. There is no explanation of what the hell is going on, Arnie seems like he's playing a parody of the Terminator from the earlier films, it has no heart and the story line is laughably poor. I waited over 10 years to see this film and they give no explanation as to why any of this is happenening, only that it is 'inevitable'. T3 is basically a really poor version of T2, its dumbed down and badly written, the directing also sucked. I gave it a 2 out of 10 simply because some of the special effects are quite impressive. They should have set it all in the future and had an aliens-esque story about marines instead of basically remaking T2 and soiling the franchise. Expand
  44. Thorn
    Mar 27, 2006
    4
    There were some obvious goofs in the filming of T3. [***SPOILERS***] First of all, Arnie says that each T101 has two fuel cells powering it. He dumps one cell at the beginning of the film and the other cell at the end - leaving him with no cells and no power. Yet somehow, unbelievably, he keeps operating as though he has power and the light in his eye only goes out *after* the .. um... There were some obvious goofs in the filming of T3. [***SPOILERS***] First of all, Arnie says that each T101 has two fuel cells powering it. He dumps one cell at the beginning of the film and the other cell at the end - leaving him with no cells and no power. Yet somehow, unbelievably, he keeps operating as though he has power and the light in his eye only goes out *after* the .. um... "grand finale". Where is this mysterious battery power coming from? The repeating scenes from the other T-films was absurd. Quotes were being repeated.. whole action sequences seemed to have been copy-pasted over.. I can't see this film having much rewatchability. Expand
  45. RDalvi
    Mar 14, 2006
    2
    Good to watch once. But only for Kristina, Arnold and the action sequences. Otherwise there is no no tender moment just pointless action.
  46. JohnathanR.
    Nov 14, 2005
    1
    I couldn't believe how dissapointing this film was - I really think that it was the biggest let down of all time in regards to movie sequels / trilogy. How could they get it so wrong?
  47. KyleA.
    Sep 17, 2005
    0
    I can't believe this film is actually getting good reviews at all, it's extremly awful. Remember in T2 where they destroy all the evidence in the cyberdyne building and the arm and chip from the old terminator from the 1st movie, well in this film it's showing you that it was all pointless and a waste of time. T2 ended perfectly with the emotion of the terminator having to I can't believe this film is actually getting good reviews at all, it's extremly awful. Remember in T2 where they destroy all the evidence in the cyberdyne building and the arm and chip from the old terminator from the 1st movie, well in this film it's showing you that it was all pointless and a waste of time. T2 ended perfectly with the emotion of the terminator having to destroy itself to destroy all evidence of skynet but now he comes back and he says that it has been delayed for no reason at all. There wasn't any music to the film until the end, john conner acts like a complete wimp compared to what he was like when he was 10, how the TX can just zap a car and make the pedals and steering rack move i do not know (seeing that there are no electronic parts in the pedals or steering wheel. This really is a bad film to the terminator franchise, if anyone out there thinks this is a good film to add to your terminator collection then they obviously don't know and care about the terminator story! Expand
  48. AlistairD.
    Jul 10, 2005
    0
    Not only was the film rubish and it was rubbish. It almost goes as far as too ruin the first film (a important sci-fi film and a classic altoghter). I thought the camp Arnie in T2 was bad but this was worse in that he doesn't have to be told to be camp by having his memory altered or whatever. Even the woman terminator has some crappy puns.
  49. Anonymous
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    Well paced and exciting. The old soundtrack was better, though. Action scenes are great, but unlike T2, sometimes feel silly, but this can be good or bad. The idea of John connor dropping out of Jr. high to live like a bum in fear of the future feels a bit absurd, though.
  50. richm.
    Jan 10, 2005
    9
    It is the best terminator movie of the 3. Arnold is still one formidable dude. Stahl and Claire Danes did a fine job. And the young lady who played the more advanced terminator who went back in time to kill John Conner & his associates was superb!
  51. FredC.
    Mar 23, 2004
    10
    This movie is excellent...probably not better then the first two. But there is more of a story then the first two...it has great action and Arnold looks AWESOME as always, better then 99% of people in their prime. Also, not saying I hate you for being a democrat or liberal, but for anyone that reads this...dis-regard all the bad negative feedback left AFTER Arnold decided to run for This movie is excellent...probably not better then the first two. But there is more of a story then the first two...it has great action and Arnold looks AWESOME as always, better then 99% of people in their prime. Also, not saying I hate you for being a democrat or liberal, but for anyone that reads this...dis-regard all the bad negative feedback left AFTER Arnold decided to run for Governor...they are obviously against him, so they come here and give the movie a bad rating...pathetic. This movie is awesome! Expand
  52. SaerA.
    Mar 5, 2004
    7
    This movie brings alot of action and alot of fun, but this movie would have been beter if Linda Hamilton was in this film.Also Terminator 3 is'nt as good as the 2nd film.
  53. PatC.
    Jan 5, 2004
    2
    It's a replicant of Terminator II, except there are no surprises.
  54. U.S.
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    I was watcing this movie and sadly thinking about what we get about having one more politician and loosing an one uniqe actor.Terminator story never ends?But on other hand computer technologies make miracles and who knows?perhaps we will see Terminator 4 with basic Terminator without Arnold himself.
  55. MarkS.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    This is the best movie I have ever seen. It has everything you could ever want in a movie: Action, Comedy, and the hotest chick in the world(Kristanna Loken).
  56. Melissa
    Dec 8, 2003
    5
    Yawn... Too many contradictions to resolve. The writers took temporal logic and just said who did care (sic).
  57. MatthieuR.
    Nov 24, 2003
    8
    A decent, though not great, film. I actually really liked the Terminatrix, I thought she brought a nice new element to the franchise, because I thought Arnold's role was a bit tired. I'm one of those who really likes the ending, it is rather unusual from Hollywood not to have super-duper closure.
  58. NikitaA.
    Nov 23, 2003
    7
    T3 has no chance to keep up to the level that its two predecessors have established, but keeps the tone, delivers heavy action scenes and a surprisingly decent plot. Well worth every penny spent.
  59. GregT.
    Nov 17, 2003
    8
    Nick B. was right, it is not as good as the other Terminator movies. But it still had lots of action and special effects. Arnie is getting a bit long in the tooth to be a non-aging robot. He is better suited to being a governor of some U.S. State.
  60. NickB.
    Nov 15, 2003
    8
    It was not as good as the other movies but it was still great. The only thing I had a problem with the movie is that they killed off Sarah Conner. At the very ending they left it open for another movie, but I personly think that they should stop the series.
  61. YoonMinC.
    Nov 13, 2003
    3
    Terminator 3 clarifies the importance of the director. While Cameron can be pompous and excessive, he understands someting about narrative shape and building of suspense. While Terminator 2 isn't worth repeated viewing it kept the audience on the edge of the seats first time around. Terminator 3, however, crumbles as it putters along, coming nowhere near the momumental height it Terminator 3 clarifies the importance of the director. While Cameron can be pompous and excessive, he understands someting about narrative shape and building of suspense. While Terminator 2 isn't worth repeated viewing it kept the audience on the edge of the seats first time around. Terminator 3, however, crumbles as it putters along, coming nowhere near the momumental height it strives for. As the grand finale culminating in the awakening of sentient machines and apocalypse of the world, the most dramatic emotional response it may elicit is a yawn. Schwarzenegger sleepwalks thru his mechanical role this time around, and his devasting one-liners have lost their fizz, not least because scenes lack structure, an essential element for any punchline to work. The villain here is simply a female rehashing of T-1000. Unfortunately, unlike the previous killer androids she lacks personality, she's less femme fatale than femme metale, a mannequin as killer robot, lacking both the commanding presence of Schwarz in part 1 and the menacing intensity of T-1000 in part 2. The human characters are lackluster, the action set pieces are mindnumbingly repetitious. Most crucial of all, a pervasive panic-stricken sense of doom is never felt throughout the entire movie; well, okay, there was one chilling scene with a mountain of skulls and bones beneath water but one cool image doesn't make a movie. Expand
  62. BrianK.
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Sweet movie. Better than Matrix Reloaded!!! The car scene omg it kicks ass! I really thought this movie was gonna suck but it kick a$$!If u wanna see a great action packed movie, See this one!!!!!
  63. MichaelR.
    Nov 12, 2003
    0
    It wasn't really "0" bad, more like a four or five, but I really feel that this movie shouldn't have been made, so yeah.
  64. KelR.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Holy S*%$ this movie rocked my world. Honestly, I was very skeptical to see this because 1. of the femmebot and 2. Arnold is too old. Well, I was wrong in both cases. The woman terminator is truely badass and Arnold looks as great as he ever did. Bottom line this is the BEST action movie I've ever seen. Yeah, don't go if you want a deeply intriguing movie but DO go is you want Holy S*%$ this movie rocked my world. Honestly, I was very skeptical to see this because 1. of the femmebot and 2. Arnold is too old. Well, I was wrong in both cases. The woman terminator is truely badass and Arnold looks as great as he ever did. Bottom line this is the BEST action movie I've ever seen. Yeah, don't go if you want a deeply intriguing movie but DO go is you want to have a blast! Expand
  65. RavenX301
    Sep 22, 2003
    8
    Great movie, only problem that I had was that it was almost like watching T2, because they took alot of scene's from T2 and put them in other backgrounds and stuff. Also the ending kinda left ya with a "What the hell?" kind of feeling. Other than that, great movie.
  66. BillS.
    Sep 21, 2003
    8
    Hey, Lord A! How can you give a film a 10 then say that the ending was terrible? Doesn't a 10 mean it was a perfect film in every respect? OK. This movie had some great action scenes but the ending was pretty flat. I don't feel drawn to see this movie multiple times like I did with T2.
  67. KevinS.
    Aug 23, 2003
    9
    AWESOME movie. One of the few I actually wasn't disappointed by this year. Totally blows away 'The Matrix Reloaded' as the action-flick/sequel of the summer. It's really funny too, something you don't see much in action movies. And the car chase scene is amazing. If you haven't seen it yet, go now! You're missing one of the best movies of the year so far.
  68. Cmeyer
    Aug 20, 2003
    8
    Thouroughly enjoyable ... Arnold was funny and had that same "spark" as Terminator just as in the first 2. I thought it was a great addition to the "T" series and I cant wait to see where they go w/the 4th movie (you KNOW they'll have one!).
  69. MichaelC.
    Aug 19, 2003
    3
    We live in a day and age where you can do anything on screen with the right amount of cash. Anything. Needless to say, this movie has great action scenes, but unfortunately that can't make up for the rest of the movie. The dialogue was piss-poor, the acting was mediocre at best, and the storyline definitely took a turn for the worse. Plus Nick Stahl makes "the great John Connor" look We live in a day and age where you can do anything on screen with the right amount of cash. Anything. Needless to say, this movie has great action scenes, but unfortunately that can't make up for the rest of the movie. The dialogue was piss-poor, the acting was mediocre at best, and the storyline definitely took a turn for the worse. Plus Nick Stahl makes "the great John Connor" look like the biggest pussy on the planet. They are really digging this franchise right into the ground (by the way, don't buy Terminator: Dawn of Fate either). Expand
  70. DaveC.
    Aug 18, 2003
    3
    So flat and contrived, I just didn't care about anything that was happening in this film.
  71. HoopyFroodcat
    Aug 11, 2003
    8
    Not as good as T2, but then again, what is? T3 still manages to be one of the most entertaining action movies of the summer. The conclusion is fantastic because the creators took chances with it. Instead of reverting to the storyline we know, they give is a shocking end that could serve as a welcome launch point for a T4.
  72. RickJ.G.
    Aug 10, 2003
    9
    Definitely better than "The Matrix Reloaded." A combination of factors make it work better than that other sequel about a machine dominated future. It's not too long, it doesn't bore us with stupid pop philosophy and it doesn't have to live up the expectations that come with being over-hyped, as Reloaded did. Yeah, it's a good thing Cameron didn't direct this one. Definitely better than "The Matrix Reloaded." A combination of factors make it work better than that other sequel about a machine dominated future. It's not too long, it doesn't bore us with stupid pop philosophy and it doesn't have to live up the expectations that come with being over-hyped, as Reloaded did. Yeah, it's a good thing Cameron didn't direct this one. They'd still be filming it right now, followed up by post-production in 2004 and a Summer 2005 release date (Only to be delayed until Christmas 2005.). They could have had a little more development of the relationship between John and Kate. They seemed to be looking to generate laughs in this film, which they did often. I wanted to see Kate go at it with John over who was going to be in charge at the end. They made fun of just about every sci-fi action movie cliche. It would have been fun to see this one brought up, the one that always sees the lead male character in charge. I mean Kate's a vet who runs her own animal hospital so she's hardly a passive housewife from the '50s. She has an advanced college degree, and she also has a pilot's license. You'd expect her to challenge the reluctant future resistance leader for the top spot once she accepts that the world as she knows it is about to come to an end. Interesting casting decision with Danes as Kate, the future Queen of the Resistance. They did a good job of transforming her into a grown woman, although I couldn't stop thinking of her as a TV sit com teen. She just can't fill Linda Hamilton's shoes here as the lead female character because she still has the face of girl. Maybe she'll look the part better next time, if they make another Terminator movie and cast her again. Overall another entertaining Terminator movie. Expand
  73. JonathanP.
    Aug 8, 2003
    6
    Too much action; some of the action scenes were filler material. T3 also didn't capture the sense of paranoia, i.e. sense of being constantly chased, as in the brilliant and best Terminator movie, T2.
  74. LordA.
    Aug 6, 2003
    10
    Well, it's Terminator so it's obviously brilliant. The ending was terrible, but the first 1hr 40 mins were simply brilliant. It's not up to the standards of its predecessors though.
  75. RonaldL.
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    Great Action Scenes. Full Time Power and lots of Strength. I watched this one for the 7th time. I can't get enough of it.
  76. KenK.
    Aug 1, 2003
    3
    3 for special effects & action 0 for plot 0 for acting = almost a waste of time.
  77. BenCozoniW.
    Aug 1, 2003
    9
    This is a succesfull installement in the franchise in my opinion. Allthough I would only give it a 7/10 next to the thought - provoking T1 and T2. The acting is merely functional as the set pieces take over etc. Terminator fans won'y have learned to much new about the Terminater universe after watching this film but it is incredibly entertaining and FUNNY! And also makes frequent This is a succesfull installement in the franchise in my opinion. Allthough I would only give it a 7/10 next to the thought - provoking T1 and T2. The acting is merely functional as the set pieces take over etc. Terminator fans won'y have learned to much new about the Terminater universe after watching this film but it is incredibly entertaining and FUNNY! And also makes frequent nods to the previous films. It is an often comical film, often mocking it self and you decide wether thats positive or negitive! At one point I do admit that I thought it was going to be a Terminator SPOOF! At the end of the day, Terminator is Jim Camerons vision, he IS the Terminator, so Jon Mostow did a good job as as an 'outsider'. My main worry is that the message Cameron wanted to give out (we can decide our own futures, there is no fate for what we make for ourselves bla bla) has been blown out of the water and now the series currently is in a pessimistic position.....which means there HAS yo be a T4 for there to be happy ending. This is a brave move from Jonathon Mostow.. Expand
  78. TitoY.
    Jul 31, 2003
    2
    If Arnold and the T1000 model couldn't destroy Sarah and John Connor, how a beauty girl will win this time?
  79. AndrewF.
    Jul 24, 2003
    8
    Come on really, this movie had as much plot as T & T2, if not more. The effects were good, but maybe the film was too short! could have had more character bits, and some more guns in it. But then again, it doesn't have to be totally like T2 now does it? Could James Cameron have done better? I don't think so. I have SEEN Titanic. He would have just taken longer, shouted louder Come on really, this movie had as much plot as T & T2, if not more. The effects were good, but maybe the film was too short! could have had more character bits, and some more guns in it. But then again, it doesn't have to be totally like T2 now does it? Could James Cameron have done better? I don't think so. I have SEEN Titanic. He would have just taken longer, shouted louder and spent more money to make the movie. Expand
  80. DamianP.
    Jul 21, 2003
    4
    Where was the plot? Why did they use actors who belong only on tv? I was worried at the beginning when JC had the dream about the machines - the FX weren't terribly good. The action scenes turned out very well, though.
  81. GregA
    Jul 20, 2003
    8
    I went into this movie with no expectations came out thoroughly satisfied. Arnie, along with the main cast, do a fine job. A great action flick and the humour blends in perfectly. Even if the scenes are a little rehashed...who cares!
  82. Uter
    Jul 18, 2003
    8
    Good, but it borrowed a lot from T2. I'd recommend it.
  83. SaraM.
    Jul 17, 2003
    9
    If you're looking for action, T3 is the right place to look. But non-stop action is not the only thing T3 offers. There is state of the art effects that are mindblowing and action sequences that simply could not be done during the T2 era. Fans of the second may not be as satisfied with this one concerning story plot because it doesn't really offer anything new or shocking, but If you're looking for action, T3 is the right place to look. But non-stop action is not the only thing T3 offers. There is state of the art effects that are mindblowing and action sequences that simply could not be done during the T2 era. Fans of the second may not be as satisfied with this one concerning story plot because it doesn't really offer anything new or shocking, but it nicely ties in what has already happened in the first two movies and just adds to it, like what life is like now for John Conner. I have to say Nick Stahl has done a great job on portraying the reluctant future hero, John Conner and Kristanna Loken is so perfectly casted as the female anti-terminator terninator with her robotic movements with a side of evil tendencies. Arnold is also great of course, I was surprised at how fit and good he looked considering how long ago the second one was made. The ending may seem a little empty or sudden but I think it's perfect for leaving the possiblity open for T4 which rumors have been pointing at. Overall, I think T3 is a great movie that can be enjoyed by long-time fans and new fans alike. Expand
  84. ManfredB.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    THE ROBOT LEGEND POINTS WITH GOOD STUNTS AND INTELLIGENT STORY. What a movie,I love it!I do not care when other people dont like it. People have just different taste.I hope we see Terminator 4 as soon as possible.
  85. Mike
    Jul 16, 2003
    2
    This movie was absolutely terrible. I was so disappointed after being a huge fan of the series to see what they have done to the last movie. Went into the movie not expecting to see another T2 but hoping that it would be exciting and entertaining. Well my friends, it seemed like they ran out of original ideas so lets play off of T2 and rehash things. The comedy in this movie is terrible. This movie was absolutely terrible. I was so disappointed after being a huge fan of the series to see what they have done to the last movie. Went into the movie not expecting to see another T2 but hoping that it would be exciting and entertaining. Well my friends, it seemed like they ran out of original ideas so lets play off of T2 and rehash things. The comedy in this movie is terrible. The other actors are uninspiring and add little to the movie. The new female terminator is nothing more then eyecandy and it was a huge stretch to even be mildly intimidated by her. Can't say enough about how disappointed i was and wouldn't even recommend it as a rental. Sorry guys. Expand
  86. Ken
    Jul 15, 2003
    6
    It is not done in the same style as the previous 2 movies because it's a different director. T & T2 can stand on it's own as a dramatic movie with serious scenes. T3 can not. This movie is for kids or anyone who wanna see violence. It didn't even make sense sometimes.
  87. TommyL.
    Jul 14, 2003
    7
    Not bad...pretty good. The first two Terminators were classics. This one is just a funny, entertaining, and action-packed ride. Definitely worth a look.
  88. EdMovieMan
    Jul 14, 2003
    1
    T3 is a dissapointment in every way I can imagine. The characters are bad with very little true acting, the feel is off from the last 2, this one has a feel of a cheap movie with very little extras to make a scene work, dialog that is weak and little spoofs that try to hint at humor. Everything about this one is unrealistic, from the new Terminator that steals a cops gun [even thought she T3 is a dissapointment in every way I can imagine. The characters are bad with very little true acting, the feel is off from the last 2, this one has a feel of a cheap movie with very little extras to make a scene work, dialog that is weak and little spoofs that try to hint at humor. Everything about this one is unrealistic, from the new Terminator that steals a cops gun [even thought she has her own built in beam cannon] to her remote control capabilities of machines [even though they dont have remote devices in them] this means she is telepathic. The whole point of this film is to wow an audience with chase scenes, shooting and destruction...which takes away from the original concept. Imagine going to a resturant and liking to food so you go back for a second time and the food is even better, so you go back one more time and the chef strips down the meat boosts up the flavor and puts your meal on a flashing red plate. That is what this movie is, stripped down of substance and full of cheap thrills that leaves you feeling totally unsatisfied and cheated. Needless to say I will never go back to a Terminator again. Expand
  89. [Anonymous]
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    Best movie so far. It got me thinking about our government secret projects. If there is something like Skynet, then you should know what may happen...
  90. ShaneW.
    Jul 13, 2003
    8
    I simply cannot honestly say that I understand critics. But then again, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Countless times I read critics say something like "the movie was terrible, but action lovers will get what they want." Well, I guess those critics anticipate movies that are endlessly boring? That is the opposite of action, is it not?
  91. DaveW.
    Jul 13, 2003
    9
    A "9" because it *actually* delivered what it promised: Great special effects, good script (for a summer flick,) and it wasn't completely predictable like most sequels are. How often can you say that these days? Go see it.
  92. Joe
    Jul 13, 2003
    7
    T3's not as epic or mind-blowing as T2 and the original, but the repetitive chase scenes are effectively entertaining. And Arnold shows his gubernatorial campagin will be funnier than Jesse Ventura's. "I'm a cybernetic organism," indeed, guv'nor.
  93. Matt
    Jul 12, 2003
    10
    I went expecting a blow'em up, beat the crap outa'em shoot'em up movie. it delivers like a pizza boy in a porno.
  94. KennethB.
    Jul 12, 2003
    8
    Terminator 3 is one of Arnold's best films to date. It's exhiterating from beginning to end. Truely remarkable!
  95. DavorinP.
    Jul 12, 2003
    8
    Kristanna Loken rox!
  96. Kong
    Jul 11, 2003
    3
    It didn't even try to be scary. They didn't develop Arnold enough in this movie, like they did in T2. John Conner looked like they plucked him from a future "C actors" bin. Sarah Conner wasn?t even in the movie... Oh yeah, lets not forget blatant advertising. And to top it all off they shot the majority of the movie in the bright day light ... thus leaving out the eeriness that It didn't even try to be scary. They didn't develop Arnold enough in this movie, like they did in T2. John Conner looked like they plucked him from a future "C actors" bin. Sarah Conner wasn?t even in the movie... Oh yeah, lets not forget blatant advertising. And to top it all off they shot the majority of the movie in the bright day light ... thus leaving out the eeriness that was T2. Special effects can not mask how horribly written and acted out this movie was. Expand
  97. SamL.
    Jul 11, 2003
    2
    Well, this was yet another crappy film which SHOULD have been better. Boo!
  98. t-101
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    Awesome the best movie by far this year.
  99. RajS.
    Jul 10, 2003
    3
    Wouldn't have been good if I hadn't seen T2.
  100. VeezerE.
    Jul 9, 2003
    4
    Mildly entertaining, but definitely not a worthy successor to the Cameron legacy. The dialogues are bland, the story feels like a one-act drama with some mid 90s effects thrown in to justify the budget. Don't get me wrong, I don't regret watching this movie; it's not bad compared to some of the other summer flops out there now. It's just sad to see the epic grandeur Mildly entertaining, but definitely not a worthy successor to the Cameron legacy. The dialogues are bland, the story feels like a one-act drama with some mid 90s effects thrown in to justify the budget. Don't get me wrong, I don't regret watching this movie; it's not bad compared to some of the other summer flops out there now. It's just sad to see the epic grandeur and vision of the previous movies missing in this one; this could have been a great movie with a livelier and visionary script, and a more capable director. I walked out thinking "That was it?". Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. If none of this seems particularly fresh, you're right. "T3" is strikingly similar to "T2" and "T," reflecting Hollywood's reluctance to tamper with a hit series.
  2. 75
    It puts almost everything it has into its explosive set pieces, but manages to instill the audience with just enough emotional involvement. If, Ah-nold decides to come bach again, this installment should ensure he has an audience.
  3. Though this film doesn't have the novelty value of the first or the complex plotting of the second, it boasts the most spectacular single sequence.