Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 21, 2009
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 662 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
305
Mixed:
220
Negative:
137
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
JohnCMay 25, 2009
First, if robots in the future have become so self aware as to try to destroy their creators, then they should probably have invented a better technology than USB. CHRISTIAN BALE HACKED A WRECKED TERMINATOR BY PLUGGING IN HIS LITTLE I PHONE First, if robots in the future have become so self aware as to try to destroy their creators, then they should probably have invented a better technology than USB. CHRISTIAN BALE HACKED A WRECKED TERMINATOR BY PLUGGING IN HIS LITTLE I PHONE INTO A USB 2.0 PORT. Second, the words decrypt and override would have had to have been programmed by the programmer or skynet to "over ride" and "decrypt". Simply typing in these commands DO NOT decrypt or override whatever is trying to be overridden. NO SELF AWARE MACHINE WOULD BE STUPID ENOUGH TO HAVE THAT SUBROUTINE PROGRAMMED IN THERE!!!. And these are just some of the qualms I had with the film. From plot holes to poor character development and simply "yeah right" moments, the film falls flat of its former "tongue in cheek" vibe. T1 and T2 were great films, not only because of their stories, but because they didn't take themselves too seriously. The message in the first one lined up cyberdyne systems to protect humanity from any threat, and the message what that while humanity exists, they are in essence, threats to themselves, and therefore must be eliminated. In this film, robots have been relinquished to the evil plotting of taking over the world. In all, while I was mildly entertained, the film did not meet my expectations. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JacobJun 19, 2015
Terminator Salvation does little to salvage the franchise providing another loud, dumb, and unnecessary film in the Terminator franchise. While the story is not a straight up retread of the previous films it is uninspired filled with tons ofTerminator Salvation does little to salvage the franchise providing another loud, dumb, and unnecessary film in the Terminator franchise. While the story is not a straight up retread of the previous films it is uninspired filled with tons of tropes; loud and dull action; and thiny written characters whose arcs are predictable and as lifeless as the machines they are fighting. A gritty Terminator film set in the future in a prequel sequel isn’t a bad idea but without anyone interesting to connect with or action scenes that are shot well the film falls on its face. Even if the film is entertaining at some level it lacks any staying power and will be forgotten about shortly after one leaves the theater. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While I didn't think this movie was as good as the first two, I thought it was way better than the 3rd film. The acting was great, the story was well told and tied into the story arc well, and the effects were incredible. It really is impressive to watch all four films over a short period of time. You really appreciate how far the technology has come. I thought they did a great job with the setting and overall feel of the environment. I also thought that the concept of Sam Worthington's character was really interesting and the "Arnie" cameo was pretty sweet. There were some things that I wasn't a fan of however. I thought they tried to add too many new little gizmos for Skynet. I also thought the ending seemed a bit weak and almost like an afterthought. They have paraded around the concept through the entire series of your "fate" not being set and yet the series is always determined on never wavering from the future laid forth in past films. While the argument can be made for that logic, it can also be made countering it. Lastly, while I thought the casting for Kyle Reese was fantastic, I thought having Bryce Dallas Howard play the role of Kate Connor was a terrible idea. Not only does she look nothing like Claire Danes but she also looks way too young. The timing just doesn't feel authentic at all. Shoot, they could've just used Claire Danes and kept the continuity completely. I doubt she was too busy since she hasn't really been doing anything major. Also, while she would still be young, at least she's a bit older than Howard is and they could've always made her look a little more aged. If you can make a robot look like the spitting image of Arnie, I don't think adding a decade or so to Claire Danes would've been too much of a challenge. Overall though, this was a very good movie and definitely fit into the series well. While they have yet to really show why John Connor is a threat in the first place or to show the resistance make even a dent in Skynet, they at least hinted towards a possible light to end the darkness with the frequency concept. I don't know if they're ever going to make a fifth film or even reboot the franchise which seems to have become the rage these days but if they do neither, at least we can more or less figure out how things unfold from here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
starscream97Aug 24, 2012
GOOD: The main cast for the most part do a terrific job and you can really feel the sense of dread they were going for. BAD: All of the supporting cast (except Michael Ironside) just seem bored and half asleep most of the time. GOOD: SamGOOD: The main cast for the most part do a terrific job and you can really feel the sense of dread they were going for. BAD: All of the supporting cast (except Michael Ironside) just seem bored and half asleep most of the time. GOOD: Sam Worrthington is great in the lead role as Marcus. Bad: Christian Bale's John Connor is a generic one dimensional soilder. GOOD: The plot is really great and interesting. Bad: The subplot of the frequency that can shut down Terminators doesn't really go anywhere. GOOD: The action scenes and effects all look and sound great. BAD: The final battle is a bit lackluster Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
demolisher7778Jun 3, 2014
A huge disappointment for Terminator fans like me. The story was week and the acting was poor (with the exception of Christian Bale). However, the action was exhilarating and the special effects were stunning but that isn't enough to balanceA huge disappointment for Terminator fans like me. The story was week and the acting was poor (with the exception of Christian Bale). However, the action was exhilarating and the special effects were stunning but that isn't enough to balance with the movies poor story. Terminator Salvation was OK at best. It felt like a generic action movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
ThomasCApr 29, 2014
could have been so much better, this film is watchable but nothing more, plot is weak and not enough violence that you would expect for a terminator film. and WTF were they thinking? NO ARNIE!!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
MacG's "Terminator: Salvation" doesn't offer anything new; just story and action revolving around wars and battles, In the end, the movie is just a CGI bridge in the Terminator series.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
3
SeanFJan 8, 2010
Bear with me as I may find it difficult to actually express how appalled by this film I was into words - although I guess that already gives you a good idea of my opinion of this film. I'll try to keep this short and list just a few of Bear with me as I may find it difficult to actually express how appalled by this film I was into words - although I guess that already gives you a good idea of my opinion of this film. I'll try to keep this short and list just a few of the reasons for loathing this film. First, this film is part of a trend of films that Hollywood is churning out with much more frequency, that have forgotten that the basic principle of any good film is not how much shit you can blow up but actually having a good story and characterisation. However, I Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
1
DomoRJun 1, 2009
Dreadful, noisy crap. The only thing, and I mean THE ONLY THING I found engaging in this film were the tiny little hairs around the lower lip of Sam Worthington. He was the best thing in the film and my eroitic fantasies of doing him 9000 Dreadful, noisy crap. The only thing, and I mean THE ONLY THING I found engaging in this film were the tiny little hairs around the lower lip of Sam Worthington. He was the best thing in the film and my eroitic fantasies of doing him 9000 ways to Pittsburg was the only thing that got me to stay. Really. During the first third of the film the continuity was so bad, I swear they were scenes shot for nine other films stitched together like a crazy quilt of celuloid. And that silent little Newt from Aliens clone shows up and I just wanted to yank the hairs on its head (gender-f much?) And then Arnold shows up and he has no genitals! What a disgrace! I mean really. What was the effing point? This had no balls, no dick and no story. I prayed for the machines to blow up the theater and let me tell you, they should have!!! Oh, and BTW, Bryce Dallas Howard should stick to her gig as a local newscaster. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
FeliciaN.May 23, 2009
I don't know why people have such issues with this movie. It gave us exactly what it advertised, a glimpse of the war we've heard so much about. And it gave us something new that the other movies didn't tell us. The action was I don't know why people have such issues with this movie. It gave us exactly what it advertised, a glimpse of the war we've heard so much about. And it gave us something new that the other movies didn't tell us. The action was good, the plot was good, what's the problem? *SPOILER* I'm a bit miffed that they killed off Marcus. I LIKED that guy, what an awesome addition to the resistance! Too many movies have done this type of sacrificial story ending for it to strike me as anything but overdone and convenient. It was poignant the first few times, but now it's just cliche. And he was so cool! Okay, I'm done. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
KeirB.Jul 26, 2009
I'm being nice giving it a 2. The Visual Effects are the only somewhat impressive thing about this abomination of a film. Anyone that gives this film a 7 or higher is either 6 years old or incredibly stupid.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
brettjApr 4, 2010
Insulting to any true sci fi fan. So so crap. i.e A terminator grabs john conner and throws him against a wall. WRONG! A terminator would grab john conner and kill him as quickly as possible by ripping his head off. McG needs a bullet. I Insulting to any true sci fi fan. So so crap. i.e A terminator grabs john conner and throws him against a wall. WRONG! A terminator would grab john conner and kill him as quickly as possible by ripping his head off. McG needs a bullet. I want this movie erased from time and space. Maybe the next 'sequel' can send a terminator back in time and kill McG to stop this movie been made. Now that would be worth watching. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
SikoandrOct 24, 2010
first things first i have to bring this up, why is Christian Bale acting like hes still in batman? lol.. GOOD: the action sequence, the acting, the setting, they picked perfect actors and the robot effects was amazing

BAD: the story was
first things first i have to bring this up, why is Christian Bale acting like hes still in batman? lol.. GOOD: the action sequence, the acting, the setting, they picked perfect actors and the robot effects was amazing

BAD:
the story was weak, they focused way to much on this guy named Marcus when they should be focusing on the War Leader John Connor.. when terminator 5 releases make sure to give it a stronger story please
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
BrianMcCriticJun 7, 2013
A very disappointing mess of a film. I am a big Christian Bale fan but not even he can save this loud, pointless, and just dumb film. The visuals aren't bad, but everything else is.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
mailinhJan 7, 2014
I am wondering why actors like Bale and Worthington confirm to such a film with bad screenplay that is apparently not at all action packed but instead laughable. Without Arnold Schwarzenegger the obvious ridiculousness is missing which is notI am wondering why actors like Bale and Worthington confirm to such a film with bad screenplay that is apparently not at all action packed but instead laughable. Without Arnold Schwarzenegger the obvious ridiculousness is missing which is not a matter to replace that with usually good actors who make a complete fool of themselves in "Terminator Salvation". Part four was an opportunity to get rid of the trifle that Schwarzenegger caused in previous parts. But no, that would have been too shrewd. Instead of that a Schwarzenegger copy appears and fights with Connor...
I ween that Bale alias Connor didn't mean it literally as he quotes Schwarzenegger pretty much at the end of the movie: "I'll be back." So hopefully "Genesis" will not come out as soon as I fear. Although with Schwarzenegger back again it will certainly be a laughable matter again. Who knows, at least that is my point of view.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
PrivateJokerApr 10, 2014
So here we have yet another cynical attempt by Hollywood to make money on old property. T1 and T2 are classics. They raised my standards of what an acceptable action movie is. T2 wrapped up the story so well that T3 should have never existed,So here we have yet another cynical attempt by Hollywood to make money on old property. T1 and T2 are classics. They raised my standards of what an acceptable action movie is. T2 wrapped up the story so well that T3 should have never existed, but it unfortunately does. After so many years since the unnecessary T3, I was really surprised that this came into fruition. Surely I thought they would have a really solid justification for bringing this back. They didn't. I'm not even going to criticize the movie for being directed by a total hack, or the lack of involvement from Schwarzenegger -- I'm just going to dissect it for what it is, and it still sucks pretty bad on its own. T1 and T2 had this pseudoscience that was fictional, but consistent: in other words it made up it's own rules per say and stuck to them. The fact that judgement day was prevented in T2 means that the post-apocalyptic setting of this movie is a flaw in itself. It just doesn't make sense. The only way this could have some coherence is if it was stated it takes place in some type of hypothetical scenario or another dimension or something of that nature, but this movie is adamant that it is a direct sequel. Due to this, comparisons to the original 2 (or even T3, which is a bad movie, but better than this) are bound to arise. And this is what dooms the movie among various other things. One of those things is the awful casting. Every character (with the exception of Yelchin, who was just OK) seemed out of place, like they belong in a soap opera. My biggest rant in this context is Christian Bale. It's apparent that they needed to snag at least one hugely popular actor for marquee value, but oh god is his performance terrible. His gravelly Batman voice/mannerisms do not translate well to this one. He just comes off like a complete douche bag: in every scene he has this exaggerated sternness, which is obviously meant to convey that this is a very intense and serious movie, but it has an adverse, almost comical effect, not to mention that this one's rated PG-13 anyways. That might seem small, but the fact that they included a PG-13 installment in an R-rated franchise makes me (correctly) assume that the studio ultimately just aimed to make money with this movie, and nothing more. Catching this notion seriously cheapens the "experience." Throughout the movie I was seriously irritated with the sloppy editing and bad dialogue. The whole thing just stank of this made for TV quality that's hard to explain, but also really cheapens the experience. This movie just simply lacks any charm or personality: it's an overproduced mess and should never have been, but studio greed has cemented yet another bad Terminator movie in the series. If you're even slightly interested in this series, watch the first 2 and forget this and 3 even exists... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PaulWJan 1, 2010
As a huge of the first terminator film, I thought that T2 was too family friendly and moved away from the real plot. T3 although average set the scene for T4 which was innovative, clever, told a brilliant story, and paired Bale and Sam As a huge of the first terminator film, I thought that T2 was too family friendly and moved away from the real plot. T3 although average set the scene for T4 which was innovative, clever, told a brilliant story, and paired Bale and Sam Worthington together who were brilliant. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Apparently, Christian Bale hasn't been told he's one of the great actors of his time. I'm sure if he had been, he wouldn't be wasting his time and energy with this incoherent swill.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
SCDec 8, 2009
Really shows the difference between a good director(cameron,jackson)and a shit one(bay,mcg).The Terminators dont really terminate much at all.Where is the fear and scrambling action from the first movie?And the heart transplant???Luckily Really shows the difference between a good director(cameron,jackson)and a shit one(bay,mcg).The Terminators dont really terminate much at all.Where is the fear and scrambling action from the first movie?And the heart transplant???Luckily there seemed to be a nearby heart surgeon who can do a transplant in the desert with a butter knife and crossed fingers.LOLOLOL.I could crap on for hours but this movie gets a 6 for being shiny. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
CyrusM.May 24, 2009
Some of the effects were very good. The surprise part of the film was where Marcus realizes he is a robot. That made sense that he could be thrown so hard against a card or splash into a river and live. .. Terminators can kill quick and easy Some of the effects were very good. The surprise part of the film was where Marcus realizes he is a robot. That made sense that he could be thrown so hard against a card or splash into a river and live. .. Terminators can kill quick and easy unless it's John Connor.. physics do not apply. The acting was bad... same batman character for Bale. Wait for this to come out on video...then rent it... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SheldonW.May 25, 2009
Reprehensible waste of studio funds. Blatantly manipulative [hey! Here's a cute, mute black girl of kindergarten age to blatantly make you feel sympathy], and poorly thought out in terms of storytelling.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DeeMJun 10, 2009
Great special effects and CRASH BOOM BANG action doesn't make up for a rubbish script, there were more holes in the plot than golf course. It takes a big steamy turd over James Cameron's vision. Rubbish, utter rubbish. But Great special effects and CRASH BOOM BANG action doesn't make up for a rubbish script, there were more holes in the plot than golf course. It takes a big steamy turd over James Cameron's vision. Rubbish, utter rubbish. But it's too late now, we've all already been duped. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SimonAJun 7, 2009
Great Sound Effects, Huge Explosions, Stunning Visual Effects, but no plot, no real character development. The whole thing felt like a really long music clip, fun to look at, but without having anything to say.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WinstonLDec 6, 2009
Sam Worthington is on my Oscar-watch!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MikeTMay 22, 2009
This was one of the silliest movies I have ever seen. Christian Bale played john connor's character all wrong, and the plot made no sense. But it was very entertaining.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JasonD.May 24, 2009
Quite an awful movie. Really boring; pointless non-stop action and explosions without a real plot behind them. Could wait for it to be over, but it just kept on going....
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
NateH.May 24, 2009
Too many plot holes. The movie had no point in being, other than to milk the franchise for more money. It takes the plot absolutely no where. [**SPOILERS**] First, if the machines are looking for Kyle Reese, why dont they kill him when they Too many plot holes. The movie had no point in being, other than to milk the franchise for more money. It takes the plot absolutely no where. [**SPOILERS**] First, if the machines are looking for Kyle Reese, why dont they kill him when they did in fact find him? Using him as bait for John is pointless, because its already been established that killing him would mean John doesnt exist. Remember in the first movie, the terminator went looking for Sara and instantly blew peoples heads off when he asked them their name. But in this one its suddenly different? Next to notice, is when the terminator gets covered in molten ore. That clearly killed him in the second movie. But suddenly the same model of terminator can be covered in it and not melt a single bit... only get sorta slowed down and then make the metal "shatter" off him by moving. Makes no sense at all. Movies dont need to make sense with reality, but they should make sense in the reality they create within themselves. Lets also talk about this new human/terminator/bad-australlian-actor guy. If he was made before skynet was self aware, then why was he a plan from skynet to infiltrate the rebels? Skynet wasnt trying to exterminate humans before it was self aware. Was the lady that had him sign the paper sent back to have that done? That would explain things somewhat... except for the fact that the machines wouldnt send back a "human" since humans are really on their side. And if she was a robot, then why bother making some random guy into a half-human/cyborg thing... just send one back in the first place. I'm getting nitpicky yes. But there is no plot in the movie to follow, they start at point A and end at point A. It cant be good when one of the ending lines is, "We may have won the battle, but we havent wont the war... etc". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
jaykJun 4, 2009
One or two action sequences were pretty cool. the other 1 hour and 50 mins of the movie was total piece of crap. feels like something that was made for a television episode.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
soverycleanJun 7, 2009
Please fire the director. Did the people who made this movie even watch the first two movies? From the schlocky Hollywood ending, to the laughable dialogue, this new series has nowhere to go but down... unless they fire the director and Please fire the director. Did the people who made this movie even watch the first two movies? From the schlocky Hollywood ending, to the laughable dialogue, this new series has nowhere to go but down... unless they fire the director and bring someone who can pull a story together on board. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KurtHJun 7, 2009
Mix War of the Worlds and Transformers add direction by McG and you have the worst Terminator film to date. Just awful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SeanRJun 9, 2009
Very poor. Awful story telling in show here. Amateur dialogue. Poor acting (why was Connor playing Batman, or Batman playing Connor). The opening rendered scenes of the video game was more exciting. A wasted opportunity and a waste of 200 Very poor. Awful story telling in show here. Amateur dialogue. Poor acting (why was Connor playing Batman, or Batman playing Connor). The opening rendered scenes of the video game was more exciting. A wasted opportunity and a waste of 200 million dollar budget. Could have made ten classic low budget movies for the same price. Wanted to love it, but just too much bad film making skills on display here. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
StevenHJul 17, 2009
Bale using Batman voice. Worthington as a movie version of Kane from Quake 4. Some annoying kid with a voice out of Doug as Kyle Reese. Illogical and unexplainable behavior by supposedly sentient AIs (for example, SkyNET sends a missile Bale using Batman voice. Worthington as a movie version of Kane from Quake 4. Some annoying kid with a voice out of Doug as Kyle Reese. Illogical and unexplainable behavior by supposedly sentient AIs (for example, SkyNET sends a missile directly at the resistance base but treats John Connor, their actual target, like a puppy when they see him). General lack of actual battles in favor of Mad Max. The amount of Terminators in the film could probably be counted on one hand. Most ridiculous dialogue. People being blown back 100 feet on wires from explosive shells rather than being torn to shreds, and not even bleeding afterward. Generally pointless and inconsistent plot. PG-13. What do you think? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EvinCAug 12, 2009
No.!!! Why do you have to ruin a great franchise. The terminator flicks are my favorite franchise. I didn't even have a problem with T3. This one was just terrible. Bad story, acting, and action. I think Anton Yelchin was great. No.!!! Why do you have to ruin a great franchise. The terminator flicks are my favorite franchise. I didn't even have a problem with T3. This one was just terrible. Bad story, acting, and action. I think Anton Yelchin was great. He's gonna be great. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
JaniSJan 2, 2010
The special effects are amazing, acting is amazing but the plot and the story is very poor. Clichés after clichés killed this movie for me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JeffKDec 18, 2009
I didn't like it. Distracting, unrealistic cinematography, ridiculous machines, predictable action, overly serious acting, and unrealistic characters. And memo to Christian Bale: can the gruff voice. It didn't work as Batman and it I didn't like it. Distracting, unrealistic cinematography, ridiculous machines, predictable action, overly serious acting, and unrealistic characters. And memo to Christian Bale: can the gruff voice. It didn't work as Batman and it doesn't work here. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AndyG.Dec 4, 2009
Cliché after cliché abound here - deeply stupid enemies turn this into a farce, and the malicious nature of most of the remaining humans (ridiculous in-fighting, attempted rape) bring into question the worthiness of what's Cliché after cliché abound here - deeply stupid enemies turn this into a farce, and the malicious nature of most of the remaining humans (ridiculous in-fighting, attempted rape) bring into question the worthiness of what's being fought for. "And why isn't the T800 killing Connor outright, instead of throwing him around?" Couldn't agree more - saved him on two occasions in this film. Acting was fine. They just had tripe to work with. Brainless. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
CoreyH.May 21, 2009
The plot was lacking. There were plenty of corny, meaningless, or unexplained scenes and pointless yelling.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
FantasyMay 21, 2009
Cold, dreary, heartless film in the vain of the old Road Warrior type movie without any soul or empathy for any of the characters. No dialogue to speak of just a "B" movie full out of CGI shoot em up and large explosions. I started yawning Cold, dreary, heartless film in the vain of the old Road Warrior type movie without any soul or empathy for any of the characters. No dialogue to speak of just a "B" movie full out of CGI shoot em up and large explosions. I started yawning midway thru the flick as I couldn't wait for it end. I thought Arnie said he would be back??? They sure as hell coud have used him. Avoid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ShawnB.May 21, 2009
a few good action scenes and Sam Worthington are the only salvation this movie has.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JohnD.May 24, 2009
If you thought Terminator 3 was bad, just wait until you see this movie. I don't know how you can mess up a war with robots movie, but they managed to do it. Terrible plot and you could drive a truck through the holes in it. The best If you thought Terminator 3 was bad, just wait until you see this movie. I don't know how you can mess up a war with robots movie, but they managed to do it. Terrible plot and you could drive a truck through the holes in it. The best part for us was when it was over. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ShootsyMay 28, 2009
The 3 rating goes to "are you professional or not?" Shane Hurlbut photography because it looks awesome, SoundFX is good also; otherwise it would be a 0. How ironic when Bale "performance" is absolute crap with a total of probably 20 lines in The 3 rating goes to "are you professional or not?" Shane Hurlbut photography because it looks awesome, SoundFX is good also; otherwise it would be a 0. How ironic when Bale "performance" is absolute crap with a total of probably 20 lines in 2 hours. By the way the main character is Marcus Wright (Sam Worthington) definitely not John Connor. Anyway either as stand-alone or sequel it sucks, no story, poor script, shitty score, uninteresting characters, a total boredom. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
nacorcJun 8, 2009
Total crap. you have to left your brain out to barelly enjoy this poor attemp of movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KevinCJul 17, 2009
After seeing the preview I expected so much more. It didn't deliver.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AGuyMay 21, 2009
McG = Franchise Killer.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
VictorB.May 24, 2009
Sucked. Plain and simple. Terminators kill. Period. that's what they do. Not toss you around for 15 minutes. If a terminator punches you, their fist is going through you. Also, if you are a terminator's primary target. You. Are. Sucked. Plain and simple. Terminators kill. Period. that's what they do. Not toss you around for 15 minutes. If a terminator punches you, their fist is going through you. Also, if you are a terminator's primary target. You. Are. Dead. This idea of "capture and hold" is ridiculous. Too many instances in the story made me say "come on now..." Terminators use infra red and advanced scanning technology but can't see a trip wire on a road on a sunny day? WTF is that? Sucked. I could go on, (terminators can scan for heat signature and can hear music from miles away but can't sense a fire in the dead of night even with infra red...good to see women can still get their hair done and make up in the post apocalyptic Skynet ruled world...etc..) but you get the point. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JoshK.May 24, 2009
Craptastic.. I've never been so bored watching things blow up..
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
WaldoJ.May 24, 2009
A horribly acted tedious mess, with awful dialogue and horrendous "action" Christian Bale is flat out terrible, and he is capable of better (see American Psycho, Rescue Dawn, etc.) Why he and Helena Bonham Carter agreed to star in this turd A horribly acted tedious mess, with awful dialogue and horrendous "action" Christian Bale is flat out terrible, and he is capable of better (see American Psycho, Rescue Dawn, etc.) Why he and Helena Bonham Carter agreed to star in this turd I'll never know Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ThomasH.May 24, 2009
Honestly, what was the point in that? My first thought in watching that. Action is not a filler for substance. Take away the action in this movie and what do you have? Nothing They expanded on nothing, all we know is that John Connor got to Honestly, what was the point in that? My first thought in watching that. Action is not a filler for substance. Take away the action in this movie and what do you have? Nothing They expanded on nothing, all we know is that John Connor got to know his father before he sent him back in time to conceive him. I mean christ, they couldn't have really done more to completely dodge the awkward bullet of the time travel ideas. They just thought, ahhh fuck it we'll leave them out in the cold on that one. Connor and Marcus were played well by their respective actors. Kyle Reese I felt was done poorly, I don't know why they made him a teenager. It seems stupid to me, but they always have to have the rookie guy in these war films. If you ask me, the rest of the actors were generic hollywood trash, and they looked it too. You wouldn't guess they'd been in a war for years on end. The women are wearing makeup, their skin is nigh on perfect. It's retarded.. you wouldn't have thought the human race had been wiped out in a nuclear holocaust at all. And I know people are going to say "Well just enjoy the action". Yeh fine you enjoy being a moron. Terminator was not a pure action movie. It was science fiction, both T1 and T2 were heavily story driven. Also the complete lack of humor is painful, the film takes itself way too seriously. I don't think I saw a single smile in the whole thing. Example, the monologues in T1 and T2. Then T3 comes along and now this, and they just vanish. Along with the story. The fact is, this series should've been buried with T3, T3 wasn't great but it was miles better then this god awful crap, and now it's probably going to end on this TERRIBLE note, this awful movie is the final one. Such a shame that they couldn't just sit down and have taken a year to write this. Clearly just dreamt up in a few months. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GarpMay 24, 2009
Laughable, the next movie should be an opening scene with Bale reasoning that if he is dead, Arnie would not be sent back to kill Sarah Conner, where his chip is back engineered, skynet created and then promptly blows his brains out, leaving Laughable, the next movie should be an opening scene with Bale reasoning that if he is dead, Arnie would not be sent back to kill Sarah Conner, where his chip is back engineered, skynet created and then promptly blows his brains out, leaving at least one hour and a half to have topples super models, shooting guns and blowing up stuff. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
McSuckMay 26, 2009
The story and direction is a 0 of 10. Gets a 3 because there are a couple of awesome action set pieces in the first 1/3 of the movie, and because of the borderline star-making turn from Worthington. Otherwise, this is the most inept piece of The story and direction is a 0 of 10. Gets a 3 because there are a couple of awesome action set pieces in the first 1/3 of the movie, and because of the borderline star-making turn from Worthington. Otherwise, this is the most inept piece of trash (along w/ that hideous Indy 4 abomination) that either my wife or I have seen in the past ten years. This makes T3 look like Citizen Kane by comparison. Never before have I seen the reigns of a $100 million+ blockbuster given to such a clueless, insecure, talentless hack. And Slow-Mo? Are you kidding me? Really? I beg you. Please save your money - or better yet, give your $11.50 to some worthy charity. Just do not lead to the propagation of future Joe Nichol films. McSuck! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ErickLMay 26, 2009
Incredibly poor story, full of holes and minimal characterization. Does the action make up for it? Nope. A hallmark of the Terminator series is 'show me something I haven't seen before'. This movie not only fails to do that, Incredibly poor story, full of holes and minimal characterization. Does the action make up for it? Nope. A hallmark of the Terminator series is 'show me something I haven't seen before'. This movie not only fails to do that, it doesn't even try. Competent effects gone to waste. PG-13 rating means it lacks the visceral thrills or terror inherent to the franchise. Inept Terminators are apparantly unable to really kill anything...they just rought you up a little. Audiences looking for epic battle sequences between the armies of the humans and machines will be disappointed, as all of the conflicts here are small scale, cliched, and ripped off from previous installments (another factory fight? Really) and other movies. A huge disappointment, the weakest of the Terminator films by far, and a sad way to cap off the franchise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AlexPMay 29, 2009
This movie was bad right from the title sequence. There was never any connection to the characters, so I found myself entirely disinterested in the action sequences. There was no story, and the only story presented felt like a friend pausing This movie was bad right from the title sequence. There was never any connection to the characters, so I found myself entirely disinterested in the action sequences. There was no story, and the only story presented felt like a friend pausing the movie to tell me what happened in T1 and T2. It's pretty apparent that McG saw the earlier movies as having done his work for him, and all he had to do was "bring it home." That is lazy directing and a waste of my time. I would have left the theater if I hadn't watched T2 over 100 times in my childhood, knowing I would have to see this movie eventually. Anyone who gives this movie a high score is astroturfing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
CathyWMay 29, 2009
I completely agree with Jose Q's comments...spot on! I wanted to see this movie, but I wasn't dying to see it. I really liked the first two movies, but had fallen asleep during the third. So to my surprise about 2/3 of the way I completely agree with Jose Q's comments...spot on! I wanted to see this movie, but I wasn't dying to see it. I really liked the first two movies, but had fallen asleep during the third. So to my surprise about 2/3 of the way through this movie, I actually thought to myself "This is really quite good. It FEELS like a stand alone movie or an original." I don't normally have those types of revelations during movies, so it's a testament to how much I was enjoying this one (especially after my utter disappointment with Star Trek, I was almost anticipating disappointment with this one). Unfortunately within 15 - 20 minutes of having these "good movie" thoughts...the retarded ending began. SPOLIER ALERT: When Christian Bale was trying to shock Marcus back to life (and it had definitely stopped being the character John Conners at that point for me, all I was seeing was bad acting), I was already groaning in disgust. Then when they were basically doing an open heart transplant in the field, I started feeling nauseous due to the ridiculousness. By the time the nuclear bomb was detonated (with resulting EMP) which did not bring their helicopter down, I was comatose. I gave it a 3 because I really enjoyed the first 2/3 of the movie, but the ending totally ruined it. I also found it irritating that any plot issues or back-story conflicts were summarily resolved by implying that the timeline had changed because of the actions of the characters in the previous movies. While it is true that the timeline would be different, the Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JerryBJun 11, 2009
If you are a true fan of the original Terminator films and actually care about the sequels keeping true to the originals you wont like this one. Yea it was good for the action but nothing else. CHRISTIAN BALE IS A OVERACTOR!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AdamDJun 18, 2009
Generally horrible. A few cool special effects that are not cool enough to redeem the film. Hideous writing: for example, consider this...in each Terminator film, the machines have attempted to kill John Connor on sight. In this film, the Generally horrible. A few cool special effects that are not cool enough to redeem the film. Hideous writing: for example, consider this...in each Terminator film, the machines have attempted to kill John Connor on sight. In this film, the machines identify him as John Connor, and conveniently neglect to kill him. Instead they imprison him, which, of course, gives the good guys time to rescue him. Pretty much negates just about everything that happened in the first three films. Jeez. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EliteF50Nov 12, 2010
Terminator Salvation is a fantastic action movie. One of the best of the series. The only downside? Sam Worthington. The guy just can't keep a steady American accent. Everything else was beautiful. The cinematography, the action sequences,Terminator Salvation is a fantastic action movie. One of the best of the series. The only downside? Sam Worthington. The guy just can't keep a steady American accent. Everything else was beautiful. The cinematography, the action sequences, the acting, etc. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerJan 10, 2016
The first Terminator to take place almost entirely in the legendary future conflict between man and machines. After three movies taking place in the past (present?) that only gave us glimpses into what the future looked like, it's nice to seeThe first Terminator to take place almost entirely in the legendary future conflict between man and machines. After three movies taking place in the past (present?) that only gave us glimpses into what the future looked like, it's nice to see a movie that actually takes place during that chapter in the war. Even if it isn't how we were told it would look.

It's missing that dark, futuristic vibe the original films portrayed the world of the conflict as having at this point. What we get here is a bunch of brown. It definitely sells the apocalyptic side, but outside of the robots onscreen this doesn't feel very futuristic. To be fair though this does take place before the glimpses in the original films did. John Connor isn't the big leader yet. Still, it just would have been cool to see it portrayed more like the original films. It's a minor quibble, but still one that bugs me.

As far as the plot goes it's pretty solid. It takes cues from the original in it's set up and has plenty of references and tie-ins that definitely show how it's a continuation of the series. A plot hole shows up in the form of Kyle Reese's age. The original movie sowed him meeting John when he was a kid, but here he is a teenager. A pretty big oversight. I suppose you could chalk it up to the crazy amount of time traveling in this series leading to a few changes in the overall timeline, but given how tight the narrative and timeline changes have been handled in the series up until this point, it's pretty obvious this is just a goof up.

The movie is a lot of fun to watch thanks to the great spectacle of the action and a very talented cast. There are plenty of explosions and gunfights to behold (who said excess is always a bad thing?) so it definitely hold it's own in that department. There are a few cool, new Terminators to gawk over.

Despite some goofy moments here and there along with some questionable dialog, the non-explosive parts of the movie are often just as entertaining. Like I said before the movie has a talented cast. They do great work with the material. All that's missing is Arnold Schwarzenegger. We do get a CGI version of him as some fan service, but it's just not the same. It's hard to not miss his presence given how significant it is to the series.

Despite some writing missteps this is a very entertaining film. It doesn't live up to it's predecessors 1-3, but it's a worthy addition to the series even with it's flaws. It's nice to finally see a movie take place during the actual future war. It's just a shame the series didn't continue on from here. Especially with"Genisys" having me worried about the future of the series.

There are Terminator fans out there who will (and are) disappointed with this entry in the series, but I still find it to be a good movie regardless. One that takes place during a time that series has been pointing towards since the first movie. With action this good, a cast this great, and some cool new Terminators on display it's kind of hard for this movie to not be entertaining. Even if it didn't blow me away like the previous one's did.

My total score for the movie is a 7.8/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ZorglyFeb 8, 2011
Everything about this movie is average. Acting, story, cinematography, sound... actual the special effects are mostly good, but still. This movie is nowhere close to the caliber of the original terminator movies. It has its flashy and coolEverything about this movie is average. Acting, story, cinematography, sound... actual the special effects are mostly good, but still. This movie is nowhere close to the caliber of the original terminator movies. It has its flashy and cool moments but in the end feels shallow and mostly forgettable. The governators cameo was amusing. Overall it's better than alot of whats in the theaters these days, but don't go out of your way to see it Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
WykedEvilMay 15, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't be back! This movie had a cool effects bit, but the main character is a terminator himself! You'd figure he'd be under skynet control! And you'd think that the not being hungry or not felling anything would give something away! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
HalfwelshmanJun 7, 2012
Terminator Salvation promised to finally let us loose in the nightmarish dystopian future we've only seen glimpses of so far in the series. Yes, the entire film is set after the machines have risen up and destroyed the vast majority of humanTerminator Salvation promised to finally let us loose in the nightmarish dystopian future we've only seen glimpses of so far in the series. Yes, the entire film is set after the machines have risen up and destroyed the vast majority of human civilisation, but does this make for a tense and exciting film? No, not really. In all the other installments (including the underwhelming Terminator 3) you have the constant sense of jeopardy, that judgement day is coming, and that made for some brilliant tension. In Salvation, however, all that doom has already occurred, and all that remains is the gloom. The storytelling is pedestrian, McG's action direction is competent but uninspiring, the new models of terminator we see look like rejected designs from the Transformers art department and most of the actors look like they're in it for the money alone. Christian Bale shouts and Batman growls his way through the film playing an older John Connor, Bryce Dallas Howard is wooden as John's pregnant wife Kate, Moon Bloodgood's pilot is just the typical warrior woman with truly ridiculous tousled hair and Michael Ironside really stretches himself playing yet another stern military leader. At least Anton Yelchin is decent as a young Kyle Reese and Helena Bonham Carter is good as always when she's briefly on screen as a terminally ill Cyberdyne scientist whose actions instigate many of the film's key events. The real highlight of the film, though, is Sam Worthington - his character Marcus is an incredibly tortured soul, and a fascinating tribute to numerous icons of film and literature - everyone from Frankenstein's Monster to Jason Bourne is in there somewhere. He makes for an utterly compelling protagonist in the hands of Worthington who manages to make Marcus tough and gruff, but also incredibly sympathetic. It does annoy me that the original idea for the film had Marcus as the central character, until Christian Bale was cast as John Connor, prompting the script to be re-written to focus on him instead. The original film concept would have certainly resulted in a more satisfying final product, as though John Connor is undeniably at the centre of the Terminator saga, he's not a particularly interesting character in himself. Aside from showing Sam Worthington at his very best, and having quite an entertaining finale that has some crowd-pleasing callbacks to earlier Terminator installments, Salvation offers very little apart from grey visuals, moody pessimism and a predictable plot. You only have to re-watch James Cameron's masterful first two installments, and even the flawed third film in the series (which still offered the odd thrill and plentiful camp humour) to see how much the glowing cybernetic eye has dulled over the years. Perhaps it's because of the absence of Mr Schwarzenegger, perhaps it's because there's no time travel, or that all the interesting stuff has already happened by the time film begins, or maybe it's because Christian Bale threw a tantrum and McG has very limited talent. Whatever the reason, Terminator Salvation is a rather dull film, which is almost worse than being a bad one. Is this the death of the Terminator franchise? I almost hope so. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
LevelsAndGearDec 27, 2011
"Terminator: Salvation" One Line Review! "D"

This has to be one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Despite having a decent cast and ok acting, the plot was horrible, the dialogue was atrocious and for a movie chock full of machine guns and
"Terminator: Salvation" One Line Review! "D"

This has to be one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Despite having a decent cast and ok acting, the plot was horrible, the dialogue was atrocious and for a movie chock full of machine guns and robots, it was boring as heck. D.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
AlienSpaceBatsJul 23, 2011
Continuing to spread ever-thinly the narrative of it's progenitors, this Terminator sequel is an enjoyable couple of hours that nonetheless falls apart if you even dare to engage your brain for more than a fraction of a second. It would'veContinuing to spread ever-thinly the narrative of it's progenitors, this Terminator sequel is an enjoyable couple of hours that nonetheless falls apart if you even dare to engage your brain for more than a fraction of a second. It would've been more interesting to have the story disregard John Connor and focus solely on the Marcus character; the machine-in-search-of-humanity thematic is one of my favourites in Science Fiction literature, the film manages to keep this concept interesting for about 10 minutes, then it degenerates quickly into typical action fare, Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Spielberg00Aug 2, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A Schwarzenegger-less disappointment. Terminate it, because really, it makes most sense that RISE OF THE MACHINES would be the final movie (making it a trilogy)--especially with the ending it has. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
Delta_AssaultSep 28, 2011
I thought it was... okay. Felt like an average summer blockbuster, which is exactly what all the reviews prepared me for. McG is definitely no James Cameron, as if we needed further evidence.

The second half is quite a bit of an improvement
I thought it was... okay. Felt like an average summer blockbuster, which is exactly what all the reviews prepared me for. McG is definitely no James Cameron, as if we needed further evidence.

The second half is quite a bit of an improvement over the first half, which felt very limp. A lot of that's the fault of the editing, which is pretty choppy and not... good. I mean, maybe this is nostalgia talking, but you look at Cameron's Terminator, Aliens, T2... (not gonna talk about Titanic cause I don't remember it much) and his storytelling is very natural, it all just flows from one scene to another. The edits are smooth and logically guide you through the plot.

The editing in this film felt like the studio was mandating something close to 2 hours or something. Lots of scenes that just end and you're immediately jerked into another.

And I just remembered that there's this great line Kate Connor gives in some of the trailers, something close to "If you saved us all in another future, you can save us in this one." I always really loved that line, it felt poetic and dramatic and was delivered well. But uh... I don't think it's in the film at all. Must've gotten cut, along with a lot of other things. She didn't say much of anything, I don't think. And she was pregnant, but they don't mention that at all.

And oh yea, it definitely feels like a PG-13 film. One scene in particular has this guy trying to crawl out of a giant pen, where a T-600 immediately guns him down with a giant arm-mounted gatling gun. Except we don't see him get shot at all, it's a complete cutaway. We see a shot of the T-600 tracking him, hear some gunshots, and see him slumping and falling. It's just pathetic.

The T-600s in this film must've gone to the stormtrooper school of shooting, because it's almost comical how lousy they are. Instead of squads of stormtroopers missing with sporadic firing though, you've just got one T-600 walking menacingly while firing his huge gatling, completely spraying everything but the side of the barn, it seems. It's a nitpick I suppose, but you'd think SkyNET would arm them all with smaller guns if their gatlings meant their aiming accuracy effectively went to nil.

Oh, and Danny Elfman apparently just took the gig for a paycheck. Because his score is terrible. At some random points, you'll hear the classic Terminator score, but it's much too little. Elfman's own work is completely forgettable. I was hoping they were going to just play the classic Terminator score for the credits, but no dice.

Acting's pretty much just competent. The standout's probably young Kyle Reese, who also played Chekov in Star Trek. While his Chekov wasn't to my liking, here he's channeling some serious Michael Biehn, and it was very impressive.

Okay, let's talk visuals... the CGI in two scenes were pretty awful. First one's Marcus falling from the Transport and skipping across the river. Lots of laughter from my audience, because the CGI of his body skipping was just so fake looking and ridiculous. And of course, the second one's my Governator and yours, Arnold. Uh... it was kinda maybe sorta convincing, if you squinted your eyes a lot? Maybe if you'd been crying and your vision was all blurry from the tears? I dunno... I suppose it's the best we can do with state of the art CGI these days. But it still looked very unconvincing. And of course, you've gotta wonder why SkyNET just stuck the T-800 in that cell without a gun to shoot Connor. That would've saved a lot of chasing and punching and clawing, right? Meh... the script may have been looked at by Jonah Nolan at some point in time, but it doesn't seem like a Nolan script. Not by a long shot.

So yea, right now... it's way below the brilliance of T1 and T2. Not sure about T3, it's been a while since I've watched it. Better then or equal to, I suppose? Somewhere in there.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MattCarterWADec 13, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was not good. At all. Open heart surgery in the desert? Who? Who does that? Killing off the ONLY human (he wasn't actually human) character in the movie? Why? He was the only one with redeeming qualities. YOU DON'T GIVE ARNOLD A GUN to kill your primary targetg!? Instead you ask him to throw the herald of your demise around as softly as possible so that he doesn't die from internal bleeding, a severe concussion, etc etc.

Terminator:Salvation was a reminder that the future cannot be changed, John Connor cannot die until his time, and everything else in between doesn't matter. That is how this movie was treated. The Skynet A.I. lays such a bad plan to capture or eliminate John Conner, that I almost passed out from anguish. John Connor, time and time again, uses his "protected child" mentality to wade into the line of fire and get everyone but himself killed. He will stop at nothing, including alerting Skynet to the location of his base of operations. He wants Sam Worthington dead the half Terminator (...). No amount of precious resources or valuable logic will get in HIS way. Once thought of as a brilliant strategist, Chistian Bale's portrayal of John Conner leaves him as nothing more than a screaming child trying to get their parents attention.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Mar 30, 2012
This movie needs to be terminated. Without Arnold this series has no point in watching. A truly ugly film with a setting that doesn't even look like earth. The whole movie was just a bunch of dreadful noisy crap with terrible acting all around.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
A_NorthernerMar 18, 2013
Due to its very nature, in making a film of the post nuclear war against machines between the Resistance and Skynet, director McG was already onto a hiding to nothing. James Cameron's films featured an occasional shot of the war but wereDue to its very nature, in making a film of the post nuclear war against machines between the Resistance and Skynet, director McG was already onto a hiding to nothing. James Cameron's films featured an occasional shot of the war but were always based around a single Terminator relentlessly pursuing its targets as part of an intelligent time travel plan. By focusing on the war, what made the previous films successful is lost. Connor and Reese fight against motorbike terminators, hunter-killer planes, aerobots and giant terminator robots, proving successful against them all. To say the tension is missing would be an understatement. Bale does his deep Batman voice thing, less forgiving here, and in places the script suffers from cheese overload in places, none more so than Connor stealing (or a lazy tribute to) Arnie's seminal line, 'I'll be back'. This was almost too much to take. Yelchin is also given some equally cheesy lines that seem out of kilter with his character's previously strong willed and determined nature.

Visually, McG does deliver some decent looking action scenes but the film doesn't have the charm of the originals. Salvation is an overblown, sledgehammer approach to the series, and as a standalone action film it would be average but as an entry into the Terminator franchise it is a weak one and one that does not need repeating.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
OfficialMar 8, 2014
It does not have enough character development, but it offers us plenty of exciting action. The first half was dull at times and disappointing, but the second was an improvement. What it needs is more emotional scenes between characters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MovieBuff36Aug 24, 2012
THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE DIRECTOR'S CUT. I can see the hate on Terminator Salvation compared to James Cameron's films due to the weak writing and the fact its PG-13 but to all you haters on Metacritic, see the R-Rated Director's Cut - It is soTHIS REVIEW IS FOR THE DIRECTOR'S CUT. I can see the hate on Terminator Salvation compared to James Cameron's films due to the weak writing and the fact its PG-13 but to all you haters on Metacritic, see the R-Rated Director's Cut - It is so much better than the theatrical PG-13 version. McG just cut out the R-Rated material to give it a PG-13 rating which I know, is stupid because what he cut out were important plot points and character development, nudity, and R-Rated material violence is added that includes blood and someone being stabbed with a screwdriver. McG even cut out some character development between Blair Williams and Marcus Wright and John Connor which made the film thin on writing. Terminator Salvation doesn't capture a lot of what made the first two great or Rise of the Machines visually amazing but it is time for a new formula in a new setting. Besides, the whole "Send a Terminator back in time to kill the main character but send another Terminator to protect him/her leading to action" formula was kind of getting tired in the script of Rise of the Machines but hey, there's actually pretty good character development in Salvation even though the script could of been better and more powerful and less thin. Also, why was it lacking substance for Marcus Wright and the Terminators? Sam Worthington was actually flawed but good at his performance as Marcus Wright. James Cameron recommended to McG to have Worthington join the cast, and plays a good infiltrator that has a perfect conflict to his character: Being determined to be an Infiltrator-Terminator by SkyNet or stay as his human self. He was executed in 2003, then reborn as an Infiltrator during the War Against the Machines but his living brain and heart still remains in his body not knowing he was recreated as a Terminator-Infiltrator. Marcus Wright was actually good character communicating with the Resistance and SkyNet when joining the War Against the Machines and facing his conflict of human or infiltrator. Christian Bale was pretty good as John Connor to. He was right for the role of playing John Connor in his 30s as a Military Soldier - better than Nick Stahl in Rise of the Machines. Terminator Salvation is an important to the Terminator franchise. Why? Well, remember in the first when Kyle Reese was sent back in time by John Connor to protect Sarah Connor from the T-800? John Connor has to meet him so he can send him back in time in the future and Kyle can impregnate Sarah so John Connor exists and it shows where the T-800s modeled after Schwarzenegger came from. It also gives a reason why the T-800s in the first two and the T-850 (The infiltrators Arnold Schwarzenegger played) were sent back in time from the 2020s since Terminator Salvation is set in 2018. Though the ending was bit corny when John Connor almost lost his life to the prototype T-800 that was played by Roland Kickinger as Schwarzenegger them Marcus Wright gave him his heart so he could continue fighting the machines in the war but it was a decent resolution giving the audience the message that everyone deserves a second chance (This scene is expanded in the Director's cut with nudity and more violent material) The Director's Cut of Terminator Salvation is Rated R for some violence and brief nudity. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Jailhouse_McGeeFeb 5, 2013
Good looking and boosted by kinetic action, but the script is life-threatening stupid. Any machine with such a muddled, non-functional master-plan has to fail against even a completely unorganised human race. Characters are underdeveloped andGood looking and boosted by kinetic action, but the script is life-threatening stupid. Any machine with such a muddled, non-functional master-plan has to fail against even a completely unorganised human race. Characters are underdeveloped and the dialogue is barely okay. Christian Bale roars more than he speaks, which becomes quite annoying after some time. But as you expect it from director McG, the untalented cousin of Michael Bay, this is flashy, stupid fun. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
LoRevisorJan 20, 2015
Também não é brilhante como T1 e T2 mas Terminator 4: Salvation supera e muito Terminator 3.
Anton Yelchin Christian Bale e Sam Worthington todos estão excelentes como Kyle Reese,John Connor E Marcus Wright respectivamente. Bryce dallas
Também não é brilhante como T1 e T2 mas Terminator 4: Salvation supera e muito Terminator 3.
Anton Yelchin Christian Bale e Sam Worthington todos estão excelentes como Kyle Reese,John Connor E Marcus Wright respectivamente. Bryce dallas howard também faz um bom papel.
Com cenas de ação mais empolgante do que do 3,e um bom visual pós apocalíptico,o filme funciona.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
A CG Arnie goes to show how this film lacks the heart of the originals, and covers it up with special effects. The problem is it gives the unique atmosphere that worked in the earlier ones a blockbuster twist, losing it completely.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Leo9127Feb 23, 2014
McG just killed the Terminator franchise, **** him, nothing that made the first great is here, the action is just like Transformers, **** is all over your face, there is no Arnold, or even a menacing villain like the T-1000 from T2, no justMcG just killed the Terminator franchise, **** him, nothing that made the first great is here, the action is just like Transformers, **** is all over your face, there is no Arnold, or even a menacing villain like the T-1000 from T2, no just get an endless **** storm of lame CGI “terminators", the script couldn't be more cliched, the characters are bland, Christian Bale doesn't have any of the charm that John Connor had in T2 instead he just becomes a clichéd character, who has no chemistry with anybody, the same goes for Sam Worthington, the whole movie just felt pointless, and a shameless attempt to cash in the Terminator franchise without putting any effort, which at least Terminator 3 had some effort this piece of **** however didn't. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentNov 19, 2015
I liked this move. I thought it was a great revamp of a tired franchise. Bale was a great addition fresh off his Dark Knight boost. I thought the ending was rushed and implausible, but hey, that's the future and maybe they could do a medicalI liked this move. I thought it was a great revamp of a tired franchise. Bale was a great addition fresh off his Dark Knight boost. I thought the ending was rushed and implausible, but hey, that's the future and maybe they could do a medical procedure that quickly. I watch it periodically. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
FrankVMay 28, 2009
Where's the plot? It seems to have disappeared about halfway through the movie. McG (pretentious a**h*le;who would call himself that to being with w/o a big ego?) creates an incoherent mess. What happened to the secret weapon that Where's the plot? It seems to have disappeared about halfway through the movie. McG (pretentious a**h*le;who would call himself that to being with w/o a big ego?) creates an incoherent mess. What happened to the secret weapon that 'turns off' the machines? Why does SkyNet HQ look like some dirty steel factory? And why do those stacks belch fire? Pretty hokey--it makes no sense except for some dumb special effects. Why are all those people herded? It isn't really developed. John Connor comes across ans mean and surly--not really a prophet or visionary--something else McG fails to develop. I miss 'Ahnold' as the Terminator. At least those last two movies (T1is by far the best) had a sense of not taking itself too seriously. This movie just feels kind of depressing. No need to do a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianSMay 29, 2009
This movie clearly shows the relentless nature of the machines and the struggle of the surviving remnants of humakind against them. The movie is darker and more serious because judgement day was not prevented and the war against the machinesThis movie clearly shows the relentless nature of the machines and the struggle of the surviving remnants of humakind against them. The movie is darker and more serious because judgement day was not prevented and the war against the machines is in full swing.
Fear the rise of the machines.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottJJun 1, 2009
Good action, better than T3 but story and character development weaker than expected. I also noticed they cut the part when Christian Bale was explaining why the machines were taking human prisoners for "cloning human tissue" that was in the Good action, better than T3 but story and character development weaker than expected. I also noticed they cut the part when Christian Bale was explaining why the machines were taking human prisoners for "cloning human tissue" that was in the previews! WTF? Did they release 2 different versions of the same movie? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GManJun 6, 2009
Really good, does exactly what it says on the tin, ignore the critics it was never going to be the next Godfather! Its a great action adventure flick!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KirkCJun 8, 2009
It was nice to see a squel coming. Until the movie started and the screen title became the coolest part. I heard the movie was rewritten a few times, to give it more character and... dumbness. You can see the terminators has stunt men in It was nice to see a squel coming. Until the movie started and the screen title became the coolest part. I heard the movie was rewritten a few times, to give it more character and... dumbness. You can see the terminators has stunt men in them. The movie feels empty half the time. Special effects where generally good, more towards the end and in the scenes in the middle of the movie. Just watch the movie and see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
VinayuJul 6, 2009
Action in this 4th edition is understandingly(since its 2009 now) way better than all editions.however i felt thats where director McG messed up.The action element was highlighted to the extent of ignoring the human element.Script witing was Action in this 4th edition is understandingly(since its 2009 now) way better than all editions.however i felt thats where director McG messed up.The action element was highlighted to the extent of ignoring the human element.Script witing was horrible.Even I could have written better!It restricted lead actor Christian Bale's acting skills.When we talk about a war between mankind and machines,thats where spine tingling speeches and dialouges where required from human resistance leader John Connor.The Terminator franchise has a beautiful and ingeniously well thought storyline.Hence handling of that requires good handling with responsibility.not cold computer generated high quality graphics.A well worked dramatic angle was missing.Otherwise(as its said in the film itself)..'What would be the difference between us and the machines?' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleRJan 12, 2010
I wasn't expecting to see so many bad thing's said about what i consider one of the better movies of 2009. I really enjoyed this movie acting, effect and plot. The replay value could be better, trying to figure out what the deal I wasn't expecting to see so many bad thing's said about what i consider one of the better movies of 2009. I really enjoyed this movie acting, effect and plot. The replay value could be better, trying to figure out what the deal was the guy with from the past was interesting. Very nice special effects. I enjoyed this over GI Joe and Star Trek. Obviously a lot of people see this movie as a failure but im very shocked at just how many and the 52 doesn't do this justice IMO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
johnmJan 4, 2010
T1 was great but the sequels have gotten progressively worse. This was dreadful schlock. The terminators showed more acting skills than Bale and Worthington. This was a movie devoid of any content, plot, sense, suspense or meaning. The T1 was great but the sequels have gotten progressively worse. This was dreadful schlock. The terminators showed more acting skills than Bale and Worthington. This was a movie devoid of any content, plot, sense, suspense or meaning. The ending is a gimmick. The giant terminator was good though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
scottvJan 9, 2010
Awesome action pretty much from start to finish, a wide variety of machines, and a good story line. I'm surprised this movie did not get much better reviews. I think this was the best terminator films since the original. Several of the Awesome action pretty much from start to finish, a wide variety of machines, and a good story line. I'm surprised this movie did not get much better reviews. I think this was the best terminator films since the original. Several of the action scenes reminded me of the first time that I saw the "Road Warrior" which is a very good thing. Lots of fun and only brief moments without action, most of which are very cool. Many of these reviews are way to critical of the script, are any of the terminator films really all that complicated, deep, or realistic? No they are not, so lighten up and enjoy it like you would an Indiana Jones movie for goodness sake! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveFDec 6, 2009
I didn't find this movie very exciting at all. Besides a couple of good robot special effects it was quite boring. Transformers 2 even had more substance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackS.May 21, 2009
I checked it out about two hours ago...and what i can say IT WAS AWESOME. Entertaining and good action flick. Looking rewarding to terminator 5
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulC.May 21, 2009
This was a legitimate stand alone sci-fi summer blockbuster. It was drastically different from the feel of all the others in the series, but maintained many of the important story lines. If you watch the other three movies and the T:SCC, This was a legitimate stand alone sci-fi summer blockbuster. It was drastically different from the feel of all the others in the series, but maintained many of the important story lines. If you watch the other three movies and the T:SCC, this integrated all prior plots along with providing some interesting explanations for outstanding issues. While the "professional" reviewers may be judging it based on how it is not the same as prior versions or based on the absence of Arrrrrrnold, I can tell you that not one person leaving the theater last night didn't have a smile on their face or a positive thing to say about this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanSMay 21, 2009
30 min in the movie you ask your self WTF. then every 5 min after thatt you think the same until to have to say it out load. this was resident evil and the matrix with a little terminator in it. his was the first time in the terminator 30 min in the movie you ask your self WTF. then every 5 min after thatt you think the same until to have to say it out load. this was resident evil and the matrix with a little terminator in it. his was the first time in the terminator movies i wanted john conor to die so that thier could be no more. the writers and director should be the ones are terminated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanE.May 22, 2009
Great action from start to finish. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. Visual effects are stunning and you'd swear it was real! Looking forward to more from this post-apocalyptic world. Let's finally see how the war ends!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.May 22, 2009
Real fans of the franchise will find this installment exhilarating. Excellent performances by Bale and Worthington, as well as excellent sound design, and visual effects. The narrative, like all great narratives, is simple and to the point. Real fans of the franchise will find this installment exhilarating. Excellent performances by Bale and Worthington, as well as excellent sound design, and visual effects. The narrative, like all great narratives, is simple and to the point. Terminator Salvation expands the Terminator mythology, asks interesting questions about the machine/human dichotomy, and gives us an entertaining picture of a post-apocalyptic world ruled by robots. As for those critics who have said this movie isn't "fun enough," or that it is "too dark," I can only guess that they were not real fans of the original. After all, it is not like 1984's The Terminator was a comedy!! Anyways, highly recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TD.May 22, 2009
I would not go see this movie if you paid my way. As far as I am concerned, Christian Bale has been blacklisted from my great actors list. Greatness comes from how you live your life and treat others. The guy is a dickhead. On another note, I would not go see this movie if you paid my way. As far as I am concerned, Christian Bale has been blacklisted from my great actors list. Greatness comes from how you live your life and treat others. The guy is a dickhead. On another note, I'm not that interested in a movie where the plot is too easy to figure out. You would have thought that he would have picked a better movie if he was sooo great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DagwoodL.May 22, 2009
HELL YEAH! This movie was so badass, I don't give a damn if it was corny and cliche'd. It was Christian Bale doing the awesome things he does, only as John Connor, one of the most epic sci fi characters of all time. Marcus Wright HELL YEAH! This movie was so badass, I don't give a damn if it was corny and cliche'd. It was Christian Bale doing the awesome things he does, only as John Connor, one of the most epic sci fi characters of all time. Marcus Wright is an effing brute, what a fantastic character. The movie was great, don't listen to the naysayers. 2009 is going to be one damn good year for movies, this is one damn good start. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnMay 22, 2009
Don't want to bash this film, on par with T3, a mix of Matrix/Transformers/Robocop. If you like those types of movies then you will like T4.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JnK.May 22, 2009
I became completely absorbed in the action and SFX. I thought the pacing was done well, since it gave some albeit "bleak" moments of rest. I found myself saying "awesome!" throughout, and Sam Worthington really took the forefront. Being well I became completely absorbed in the action and SFX. I thought the pacing was done well, since it gave some albeit "bleak" moments of rest. I found myself saying "awesome!" throughout, and Sam Worthington really took the forefront. Being well versed in Terminator mythos, it's hard to tell if non-Terminator audiences will easily grasp the main concepts of the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillH.May 23, 2009
Damn awesome is the only way to describe this move. If you are a fan of the Terminator franchise, this is a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonJ.May 23, 2009
It was almost as good as T2... excited for the next ones... compare it to batman begins. just pretend that T3 never happened.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NicholasB.May 24, 2009
An amazing movie. I wish some things were more elaborated on than others. Some interesting elements were thrown in. Has amazing action sequences. The story is kind of set in stone from the previous films that pretty much say what is to come. An amazing movie. I wish some things were more elaborated on than others. Some interesting elements were thrown in. Has amazing action sequences. The story is kind of set in stone from the previous films that pretty much say what is to come. But ultimately the results are satisfying for those looking for a view at John Conner's war. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisH.May 24, 2009
It angers me that this movie has had such bad reviews. Although I admit, not as good as the first 2, but saying that it's worse than the 3rd is just insane! T4 is a creative new way to show this amazing robotic world. Two thumbs up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EricFMay 25, 2009
Fairly predictable, some nice background story to the Terminator original, although we knew pretty much what was going to happen. Sets up future sequels nicely though, which have the potential to be more interesting from a character and plot Fairly predictable, some nice background story to the Terminator original, although we knew pretty much what was going to happen. Sets up future sequels nicely though, which have the potential to be more interesting from a character and plot development standpoint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RCRMay 26, 2009
The movie was simply bad, but the end was so d-chill inducing it easily earns a 0. The director, a thinking-man's Michael Bay, has managed to fill 2 hours worth of cinema with neither a single character that extends past a two The movie was simply bad, but the end was so d-chill inducing it easily earns a 0. The director, a thinking-man's Michael Bay, has managed to fill 2 hours worth of cinema with neither a single character that extends past a two dimensional melodramatic archetype, nor a story that makes sense on any level above "Gee whiz, a robot!" Yeah, it wasn't for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GeorgeMMay 26, 2009
Well, Salvation is here and depending on what you're looking for...whether it be "Summer Popcorn Movie" or a "Worthy Terminator Sequel", there is every chance of walking away dissapointed. The opening is silly, whats in between is hit Well, Salvation is here and depending on what you're looking for...whether it be "Summer Popcorn Movie" or a "Worthy Terminator Sequel", there is every chance of walking away dissapointed. The opening is silly, whats in between is hit or miss drama and expensive action sequences, and the ending is rather lousy. This just dosen't feel like a proper Terminator sequel...and while its expensive...it still feels "cheap", like an incredibily expensive Sci-Fi Channel movie. The "War" against humans and machines is in full force, and John Connor is merely a voice in the background, not the leader he's destined to become as he's yet to convince everyone of what he knows is coming. So while he's figuring out his issues regarding the location of his father, Kyle Reese, we have the new guy Marcus (Sam Worthington) waking up in this bleak future with no memory of whats happened over the last 15 years...even though its rather obvious the reasons behind this, given the opening. So what we have is Marcus helping Kyle then when the crap hits the fan, Marcus helping John Connor...essentially, this is Marcus's movie in a lot of ways. Without going in to detail, the movie is just chock full of moments that make little sense, and trying to make sense of the nonsense in this movie will just give you a headache. There are things that just DO NOT work in the movie and they make it obvious that it dosen't work, and when this happens it comes off as an insult to my intelligence, and when something as beloved as the Terminator series does this not once, but twice (T3) given the already complex nature of the "timeline"...its a problem. Casting-wise, Christian Bale as John Connor is a fine choice, but gone is the personality of T2 and T3, no wisecracking...no jokes...in fact...no personality at all, the guy is as interesting as a houseplant at this point...just yelling his thoughts and looking intense all the time. Sam Worthington as Marcus, VERY bland...and how this guy is the "next best thing" in Hollywood is beyond me, Bryce Dallas Howard does nothing worth mentioning...and Anton Yelchin barely skates by as Kyle Reese. As far as action goes, it delivers...its big, loud, and glitzy and the bullets and metal fly. The Terminators look great...the older models wearing the scraggily clothes, the building-size Hunter Gatherer with detachable "Motorcycle" Terminators to scoop up those pesky humans, or the introduction of the model we know and love (with a special FX-ladened cameo)...all the props and bots look great. I don't know, I left the theater with the feeling that I choked down a tall glass of flat Coke...it was sweet, but did nothing for me. The mood of this film is closer to Terminator 1 than any other...very bleak and humorless, but thats where ALL similarities end and it becomes the poorly put together movie that it is. It's not terrible and its a good fix for those craving some summer action...but its place in the Terminator series rests behind that of the other average flick, T3. So this one comes off as AVERAGE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful