User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 602 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnC
    May 25, 2009
    6
    First, if robots in the future have become so self aware as to try to destroy their creators, then they should probably have invented a better technology than USB. CHRISTIAN BALE HACKED A WRECKED TERMINATOR BY PLUGGING IN HIS LITTLE I PHONE INTO A USB 2.0 PORT. Second, the words decrypt and override would have had to have been programmed by the programmer or skynet to "over ride" and First, if robots in the future have become so self aware as to try to destroy their creators, then they should probably have invented a better technology than USB. CHRISTIAN BALE HACKED A WRECKED TERMINATOR BY PLUGGING IN HIS LITTLE I PHONE INTO A USB 2.0 PORT. Second, the words decrypt and override would have had to have been programmed by the programmer or skynet to "over ride" and "decrypt". Simply typing in these commands DO NOT decrypt or override whatever is trying to be overridden. NO SELF AWARE MACHINE WOULD BE STUPID ENOUGH TO HAVE THAT SUBROUTINE PROGRAMMED IN THERE!!!. And these are just some of the qualms I had with the film. From plot holes to poor character development and simply "yeah right" moments, the film falls flat of its former "tongue in cheek" vibe. T1 and T2 were great films, not only because of their stories, but because they didn't take themselves too seriously. The message in the first one lined up cyberdyne systems to protect humanity from any threat, and the message what that while humanity exists, they are in essence, threats to themselves, and therefore must be eliminated. In this film, robots have been relinquished to the evil plotting of taking over the world. In all, while I was mildly entertained, the film did not meet my expectations. Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While I didn't think this movie was as good as the first two, I thought it was way better than the 3rd film. The acting was great, the story was well told and tied into the story arc well, and the effects were incredible. It really is impressive to watch all four films over a short period of time. You really appreciate how far the technology has come. I thought they did a great job with the setting and overall feel of the environment. I also thought that the concept of Sam Worthington's character was really interesting and the "Arnie" cameo was pretty sweet. There were some things that I wasn't a fan of however. I thought they tried to add too many new little gizmos for Skynet. I also thought the ending seemed a bit weak and almost like an afterthought. They have paraded around the concept through the entire series of your "fate" not being set and yet the series is always determined on never wavering from the future laid forth in past films. While the argument can be made for that logic, it can also be made countering it. Lastly, while I thought the casting for Kyle Reese was fantastic, I thought having Bryce Dallas Howard play the role of Kate Connor was a terrible idea. Not only does she look nothing like Claire Danes but she also looks way too young. The timing just doesn't feel authentic at all. Shoot, they could've just used Claire Danes and kept the continuity completely. I doubt she was too busy since she hasn't really been doing anything major. Also, while she would still be young, at least she's a bit older than Howard is and they could've always made her look a little more aged. If you can make a robot look like the spitting image of Arnie, I don't think adding a decade or so to Claire Danes would've been too much of a challenge. Overall though, this was a very good movie and definitely fit into the series well. While they have yet to really show why John Connor is a threat in the first place or to show the resistance make even a dent in Skynet, they at least hinted towards a possible light to end the darkness with the frequency concept. I don't know if they're ever going to make a fifth film or even reboot the franchise which seems to have become the rage these days but if they do neither, at least we can more or less figure out how things unfold from here. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    GOOD: The main cast for the most part do a terrific job and you can really feel the sense of dread they were going for. BAD: All of the supporting cast (except Michael Ironside) just seem bored and half asleep most of the time. GOOD: Sam Worrthington is great in the lead role as Marcus. Bad: Christian Bale's John Connor is a generic one dimensional soilder. GOOD: The plot is really greatGOOD: The main cast for the most part do a terrific job and you can really feel the sense of dread they were going for. BAD: All of the supporting cast (except Michael Ironside) just seem bored and half asleep most of the time. GOOD: Sam Worrthington is great in the lead role as Marcus. Bad: Christian Bale's John Connor is a generic one dimensional soilder. GOOD: The plot is really great and interesting. Bad: The subplot of the frequency that can shut down Terminators doesn't really go anywhere. GOOD: The action scenes and effects all look and sound great. BAD: The final battle is a bit lackluster Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    5
    MacG's "Terminator: Salvation" doesn't offer anything new; just story and action revolving around wars and battles, In the end, the movie is just a CGI bridge in the Terminator series.
  5. SeanF
    Jan 8, 2010
    3
    Bear with me as I may find it difficult to actually express how appalled by this film I was into words - although I guess that already gives you a good idea of my opinion of this film. I'll try to keep this short and list just a few of the reasons for loathing this film. First, this film is part of a trend of films that Hollywood is churning out with much more frequency, that have Bear with me as I may find it difficult to actually express how appalled by this film I was into words - although I guess that already gives you a good idea of my opinion of this film. I'll try to keep this short and list just a few of the reasons for loathing this film. First, this film is part of a trend of films that Hollywood is churning out with much more frequency, that have forgotten that the basic principle of any good film is not how much shit you can blow up but actually having a good story and characterisation. However, I Expand
  6. DomoR
    Jun 1, 2009
    1
    Dreadful, noisy crap. The only thing, and I mean THE ONLY THING I found engaging in this film were the tiny little hairs around the lower lip of Sam Worthington. He was the best thing in the film and my eroitic fantasies of doing him 9000 ways to Pittsburg was the only thing that got me to stay. Really. During the first third of the film the continuity was so bad, I swear they were scenes Dreadful, noisy crap. The only thing, and I mean THE ONLY THING I found engaging in this film were the tiny little hairs around the lower lip of Sam Worthington. He was the best thing in the film and my eroitic fantasies of doing him 9000 ways to Pittsburg was the only thing that got me to stay. Really. During the first third of the film the continuity was so bad, I swear they were scenes shot for nine other films stitched together like a crazy quilt of celuloid. And that silent little Newt from Aliens clone shows up and I just wanted to yank the hairs on its head (gender-f much?) And then Arnold shows up and he has no genitals! What a disgrace! I mean really. What was the effing point? This had no balls, no dick and no story. I prayed for the machines to blow up the theater and let me tell you, they should have!!! Oh, and BTW, Bryce Dallas Howard should stick to her gig as a local newscaster. Expand
  7. FeliciaN.
    May 23, 2009
    8
    I don't know why people have such issues with this movie. It gave us exactly what it advertised, a glimpse of the war we've heard so much about. And it gave us something new that the other movies didn't tell us. The action was good, the plot was good, what's the problem? *SPOILER* I'm a bit miffed that they killed off Marcus. I LIKED that guy, what an awesome I don't know why people have such issues with this movie. It gave us exactly what it advertised, a glimpse of the war we've heard so much about. And it gave us something new that the other movies didn't tell us. The action was good, the plot was good, what's the problem? *SPOILER* I'm a bit miffed that they killed off Marcus. I LIKED that guy, what an awesome addition to the resistance! Too many movies have done this type of sacrificial story ending for it to strike me as anything but overdone and convenient. It was poignant the first few times, but now it's just cliche. And he was so cool! Okay, I'm done. Expand
  8. KeirB.
    Jul 26, 2009
    2
    I'm being nice giving it a 2. The Visual Effects are the only somewhat impressive thing about this abomination of a film. Anyone that gives this film a 7 or higher is either 6 years old or incredibly stupid.
  9. brettj
    Apr 4, 2010
    0
    Insulting to any true sci fi fan. So so crap. i.e A terminator grabs john conner and throws him against a wall. WRONG! A terminator would grab john conner and kill him as quickly as possible by ripping his head off. McG needs a bullet. I want this movie erased from time and space. Maybe the next 'sequel' can send a terminator back in time and kill McG to stop this movie been Insulting to any true sci fi fan. So so crap. i.e A terminator grabs john conner and throws him against a wall. WRONG! A terminator would grab john conner and kill him as quickly as possible by ripping his head off. McG needs a bullet. I want this movie erased from time and space. Maybe the next 'sequel' can send a terminator back in time and kill McG to stop this movie been made. Now that would be worth watching. Expand
  10. Oct 24, 2010
    8
    first things first i have to bring this up, why is Christian Bale acting like hes still in batman? lol.. GOOD: the action sequence, the acting, the setting, they picked perfect actors and the robot effects was amazing

    BAD: the story was weak, they focused way to much on this guy named Marcus when they should be focusing on the War Leader John Connor.. when terminator 5 releases make sure
    first things first i have to bring this up, why is Christian Bale acting like hes still in batman? lol.. GOOD: the action sequence, the acting, the setting, they picked perfect actors and the robot effects was amazing

    BAD:
    the story was weak, they focused way to much on this guy named Marcus when they should be focusing on the War Leader John Connor.. when terminator 5 releases make sure to give it a stronger story please
    Expand
  11. Jan 7, 2014
    3
    I am wondering why actors like Bale and Worthington confirm to such a film with bad screenplay that is apparently not at all action packed but instead laughable. Without Arnold Schwarzenegger the obvious ridiculousness is missing which is not a matter to replace that with usually good actors who make a complete fool of themselves in "Terminator Salvation". Part four was an opportunity toI am wondering why actors like Bale and Worthington confirm to such a film with bad screenplay that is apparently not at all action packed but instead laughable. Without Arnold Schwarzenegger the obvious ridiculousness is missing which is not a matter to replace that with usually good actors who make a complete fool of themselves in "Terminator Salvation". Part four was an opportunity to get rid of the trifle that Schwarzenegger caused in previous parts. But no, that would have been too shrewd. Instead of that a Schwarzenegger copy appears and fights with Connor...
    I ween that Bale alias Connor didn't mean it literally as he quotes Schwarzenegger pretty much at the end of the movie: "I'll be back." So hopefully "Genesis" will not come out as soon as I fear. Although with Schwarzenegger back again it will certainly be a laughable matter again. Who knows, at least that is my point of view.
    Expand
  12. PaulW
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    As a huge of the first terminator film, I thought that T2 was too family friendly and moved away from the real plot. T3 although average set the scene for T4 which was innovative, clever, told a brilliant story, and paired Bale and Sam Worthington together who were brilliant.
  13. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    Apparently, Christian Bale hasn't been told he's one of the great actors of his time. I'm sure if he had been, he wouldn't be wasting his time and energy with this incoherent swill.
  14. SC
    Dec 8, 2009
    6
    Really shows the difference between a good director(cameron,jackson)and a shit one(bay,mcg).The Terminators dont really terminate much at all.Where is the fear and scrambling action from the first movie?And the heart transplant???Luckily there seemed to be a nearby heart surgeon who can do a transplant in the desert with a butter knife and crossed fingers.LOLOLOL.I could crap on for hours Really shows the difference between a good director(cameron,jackson)and a shit one(bay,mcg).The Terminators dont really terminate much at all.Where is the fear and scrambling action from the first movie?And the heart transplant???Luckily there seemed to be a nearby heart surgeon who can do a transplant in the desert with a butter knife and crossed fingers.LOLOLOL.I could crap on for hours but this movie gets a 6 for being shiny. Expand
  15. CyrusM.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Some of the effects were very good. The surprise part of the film was where Marcus realizes he is a robot. That made sense that he could be thrown so hard against a card or splash into a river and live. .. Terminators can kill quick and easy unless it's John Connor.. physics do not apply. The acting was bad... same batman character for Bale. Wait for this to come out on video...then Some of the effects were very good. The surprise part of the film was where Marcus realizes he is a robot. That made sense that he could be thrown so hard against a card or splash into a river and live. .. Terminators can kill quick and easy unless it's John Connor.. physics do not apply. The acting was bad... same batman character for Bale. Wait for this to come out on video...then rent it... Expand
  16. SheldonW.
    May 25, 2009
    3
    Reprehensible waste of studio funds. Blatantly manipulative [hey! Here's a cute, mute black girl of kindergarten age to blatantly make you feel sympathy], and poorly thought out in terms of storytelling.
  17. DeeM
    Jun 10, 2009
    3
    Great special effects and CRASH BOOM BANG action doesn't make up for a rubbish script, there were more holes in the plot than golf course. It takes a big steamy turd over James Cameron's vision. Rubbish, utter rubbish. But it's too late now, we've all already been duped.
  18. SimonA
    Jun 7, 2009
    3
    Great Sound Effects, Huge Explosions, Stunning Visual Effects, but no plot, no real character development. The whole thing felt like a really long music clip, fun to look at, but without having anything to say.
  19. WinstonL
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Sam Worthington is on my Oscar-watch!
  20. MikeT
    May 22, 2009
    3
    This was one of the silliest movies I have ever seen. Christian Bale played john connor's character all wrong, and the plot made no sense. But it was very entertaining.
  21. JasonD.
    May 24, 2009
    2
    Quite an awful movie. Really boring; pointless non-stop action and explosions without a real plot behind them. Could wait for it to be over, but it just kept on going....
  22. NateH.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Too many plot holes. The movie had no point in being, other than to milk the franchise for more money. It takes the plot absolutely no where. [**SPOILERS**] First, if the machines are looking for Kyle Reese, why dont they kill him when they did in fact find him? Using him as bait for John is pointless, because its already been established that killing him would mean John doesnt exist. Too many plot holes. The movie had no point in being, other than to milk the franchise for more money. It takes the plot absolutely no where. [**SPOILERS**] First, if the machines are looking for Kyle Reese, why dont they kill him when they did in fact find him? Using him as bait for John is pointless, because its already been established that killing him would mean John doesnt exist. Remember in the first movie, the terminator went looking for Sara and instantly blew peoples heads off when he asked them their name. But in this one its suddenly different? Next to notice, is when the terminator gets covered in molten ore. That clearly killed him in the second movie. But suddenly the same model of terminator can be covered in it and not melt a single bit... only get sorta slowed down and then make the metal "shatter" off him by moving. Makes no sense at all. Movies dont need to make sense with reality, but they should make sense in the reality they create within themselves. Lets also talk about this new human/terminator/bad-australlian-actor guy. If he was made before skynet was self aware, then why was he a plan from skynet to infiltrate the rebels? Skynet wasnt trying to exterminate humans before it was self aware. Was the lady that had him sign the paper sent back to have that done? That would explain things somewhat... except for the fact that the machines wouldnt send back a "human" since humans are really on their side. And if she was a robot, then why bother making some random guy into a half-human/cyborg thing... just send one back in the first place. I'm getting nitpicky yes. But there is no plot in the movie to follow, they start at point A and end at point A. It cant be good when one of the ending lines is, "We may have won the battle, but we havent wont the war... etc". Expand
  23. jayk
    Jun 4, 2009
    3
    One or two action sequences were pretty cool. the other 1 hour and 50 mins of the movie was total piece of crap. feels like something that was made for a television episode.
  24. soveryclean
    Jun 7, 2009
    2
    Please fire the director. Did the people who made this movie even watch the first two movies? From the schlocky Hollywood ending, to the laughable dialogue, this new series has nowhere to go but down... unless they fire the director and bring someone who can pull a story together on board.
  25. KurtH
    Jun 7, 2009
    2
    Mix War of the Worlds and Transformers add direction by McG and you have the worst Terminator film to date. Just awful.
  26. SeanR
    Jun 9, 2009
    3
    Very poor. Awful story telling in show here. Amateur dialogue. Poor acting (why was Connor playing Batman, or Batman playing Connor). The opening rendered scenes of the video game was more exciting. A wasted opportunity and a waste of 200 million dollar budget. Could have made ten classic low budget movies for the same price. Wanted to love it, but just too much bad film making skills on Very poor. Awful story telling in show here. Amateur dialogue. Poor acting (why was Connor playing Batman, or Batman playing Connor). The opening rendered scenes of the video game was more exciting. A wasted opportunity and a waste of 200 million dollar budget. Could have made ten classic low budget movies for the same price. Wanted to love it, but just too much bad film making skills on display here. Expand
  27. StevenH
    Jul 17, 2009
    3
    Bale using Batman voice. Worthington as a movie version of Kane from Quake 4. Some annoying kid with a voice out of Doug as Kyle Reese. Illogical and unexplainable behavior by supposedly sentient AIs (for example, SkyNET sends a missile directly at the resistance base but treats John Connor, their actual target, like a puppy when they see him). General lack of actual battles in favor of Bale using Batman voice. Worthington as a movie version of Kane from Quake 4. Some annoying kid with a voice out of Doug as Kyle Reese. Illogical and unexplainable behavior by supposedly sentient AIs (for example, SkyNET sends a missile directly at the resistance base but treats John Connor, their actual target, like a puppy when they see him). General lack of actual battles in favor of Mad Max. The amount of Terminators in the film could probably be counted on one hand. Most ridiculous dialogue. People being blown back 100 feet on wires from explosive shells rather than being torn to shreds, and not even bleeding afterward. Generally pointless and inconsistent plot. PG-13. What do you think? Expand
  28. EvinC
    Aug 12, 2009
    3
    No.!!! Why do you have to ruin a great franchise. The terminator flicks are my favorite franchise. I didn't even have a problem with T3. This one was just terrible. Bad story, acting, and action. I think Anton Yelchin was great. He's gonna be great.
  29. JaniS
    Jan 2, 2010
    5
    The special effects are amazing, acting is amazing but the plot and the story is very poor. Clichés after clichés killed this movie for me.
  30. JeffK
    Dec 18, 2009
    2
    I didn't like it. Distracting, unrealistic cinematography, ridiculous machines, predictable action, overly serious acting, and unrealistic characters. And memo to Christian Bale: can the gruff voice. It didn't work as Batman and it doesn't work here.
  31. AndyG.
    Dec 4, 2009
    3
    Cliché after cliché abound here - deeply stupid enemies turn this into a farce, and the malicious nature of most of the remaining humans (ridiculous in-fighting, attempted rape) bring into question the worthiness of what's being fought for. "And why isn't the T800 killing Connor outright, instead of throwing him around?" Couldn't agree more - saved him on two Cliché after cliché abound here - deeply stupid enemies turn this into a farce, and the malicious nature of most of the remaining humans (ridiculous in-fighting, attempted rape) bring into question the worthiness of what's being fought for. "And why isn't the T800 killing Connor outright, instead of throwing him around?" Couldn't agree more - saved him on two occasions in this film. Acting was fine. They just had tripe to work with. Brainless. Expand
  32. CoreyH.
    May 21, 2009
    3
    The plot was lacking. There were plenty of corny, meaningless, or unexplained scenes and pointless yelling.
  33. Fantasy
    May 21, 2009
    3
    Cold, dreary, heartless film in the vain of the old Road Warrior type movie without any soul or empathy for any of the characters. No dialogue to speak of just a "B" movie full out of CGI shoot em up and large explosions. I started yawning midway thru the flick as I couldn't wait for it end. I thought Arnie said he would be back??? They sure as hell coud have used him. Avoid.
  34. ShawnB.
    May 21, 2009
    3
    a few good action scenes and Sam Worthington are the only salvation this movie has.
  35. JohnD.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    If you thought Terminator 3 was bad, just wait until you see this movie. I don't know how you can mess up a war with robots movie, but they managed to do it. Terrible plot and you could drive a truck through the holes in it. The best part for us was when it was over.
  36. Shootsy
    May 28, 2009
    3
    The 3 rating goes to "are you professional or not?" Shane Hurlbut photography because it looks awesome, SoundFX is good also; otherwise it would be a 0. How ironic when Bale "performance" is absolute crap with a total of probably 20 lines in 2 hours. By the way the main character is Marcus Wright (Sam Worthington) definitely not John Connor. Anyway either as stand-alone or sequel it The 3 rating goes to "are you professional or not?" Shane Hurlbut photography because it looks awesome, SoundFX is good also; otherwise it would be a 0. How ironic when Bale "performance" is absolute crap with a total of probably 20 lines in 2 hours. By the way the main character is Marcus Wright (Sam Worthington) definitely not John Connor. Anyway either as stand-alone or sequel it sucks, no story, poor script, shitty score, uninteresting characters, a total boredom. Expand
  37. nacorc
    Jun 8, 2009
    3
    Total crap. you have to left your brain out to barelly enjoy this poor attemp of movie.
  38. KevinC
    Jul 17, 2009
    3
    After seeing the preview I expected so much more. It didn't deliver.
  39. AGuy
    May 21, 2009
    0
    McG = Franchise Killer.
  40. VictorB.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Sucked. Plain and simple. Terminators kill. Period. that's what they do. Not toss you around for 15 minutes. If a terminator punches you, their fist is going through you. Also, if you are a terminator's primary target. You. Are. Dead. This idea of "capture and hold" is ridiculous. Too many instances in the story made me say "come on now..." Terminators use infra red and advanced Sucked. Plain and simple. Terminators kill. Period. that's what they do. Not toss you around for 15 minutes. If a terminator punches you, their fist is going through you. Also, if you are a terminator's primary target. You. Are. Dead. This idea of "capture and hold" is ridiculous. Too many instances in the story made me say "come on now..." Terminators use infra red and advanced scanning technology but can't see a trip wire on a road on a sunny day? WTF is that? Sucked. I could go on, (terminators can scan for heat signature and can hear music from miles away but can't sense a fire in the dead of night even with infra red...good to see women can still get their hair done and make up in the post apocalyptic Skynet ruled world...etc..) but you get the point. Expand
  41. JoshK.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Craptastic.. I've never been so bored watching things blow up..
  42. WaldoJ.
    May 24, 2009
    2
    A horribly acted tedious mess, with awful dialogue and horrendous "action" Christian Bale is flat out terrible, and he is capable of better (see American Psycho, Rescue Dawn, etc.) Why he and Helena Bonham Carter agreed to star in this turd I'll never know
  43. ThomasH.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Honestly, what was the point in that? My first thought in watching that. Action is not a filler for substance. Take away the action in this movie and what do you have? Nothing They expanded on nothing, all we know is that John Connor got to know his father before he sent him back in time to conceive him. I mean christ, they couldn't have really done more to completely dodge the Honestly, what was the point in that? My first thought in watching that. Action is not a filler for substance. Take away the action in this movie and what do you have? Nothing They expanded on nothing, all we know is that John Connor got to know his father before he sent him back in time to conceive him. I mean christ, they couldn't have really done more to completely dodge the awkward bullet of the time travel ideas. They just thought, ahhh fuck it we'll leave them out in the cold on that one. Connor and Marcus were played well by their respective actors. Kyle Reese I felt was done poorly, I don't know why they made him a teenager. It seems stupid to me, but they always have to have the rookie guy in these war films. If you ask me, the rest of the actors were generic hollywood trash, and they looked it too. You wouldn't guess they'd been in a war for years on end. The women are wearing makeup, their skin is nigh on perfect. It's retarded.. you wouldn't have thought the human race had been wiped out in a nuclear holocaust at all. And I know people are going to say "Well just enjoy the action". Yeh fine you enjoy being a moron. Terminator was not a pure action movie. It was science fiction, both T1 and T2 were heavily story driven. Also the complete lack of humor is painful, the film takes itself way too seriously. I don't think I saw a single smile in the whole thing. Example, the monologues in T1 and T2. Then T3 comes along and now this, and they just vanish. Along with the story. The fact is, this series should've been buried with T3, T3 wasn't great but it was miles better then this god awful crap, and now it's probably going to end on this TERRIBLE note, this awful movie is the final one. Such a shame that they couldn't just sit down and have taken a year to write this. Clearly just dreamt up in a few months. Expand
  44. Garp
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Laughable, the next movie should be an opening scene with Bale reasoning that if he is dead, Arnie would not be sent back to kill Sarah Conner, where his chip is back engineered, skynet created and then promptly blows his brains out, leaving at least one hour and a half to have topples super models, shooting guns and blowing up stuff.
  45. McSuck
    May 26, 2009
    3
    The story and direction is a 0 of 10. Gets a 3 because there are a couple of awesome action set pieces in the first 1/3 of the movie, and because of the borderline star-making turn from Worthington. Otherwise, this is the most inept piece of trash (along w/ that hideous Indy 4 abomination) that either my wife or I have seen in the past ten years. This makes T3 look like Citizen Kane by The story and direction is a 0 of 10. Gets a 3 because there are a couple of awesome action set pieces in the first 1/3 of the movie, and because of the borderline star-making turn from Worthington. Otherwise, this is the most inept piece of trash (along w/ that hideous Indy 4 abomination) that either my wife or I have seen in the past ten years. This makes T3 look like Citizen Kane by comparison. Never before have I seen the reigns of a $100 million+ blockbuster given to such a clueless, insecure, talentless hack. And Slow-Mo? Are you kidding me? Really? I beg you. Please save your money - or better yet, give your $11.50 to some worthy charity. Just do not lead to the propagation of future Joe Nichol films. McSuck! Expand
  46. ErickL
    May 26, 2009
    3
    Incredibly poor story, full of holes and minimal characterization. Does the action make up for it? Nope. A hallmark of the Terminator series is 'show me something I haven't seen before'. This movie not only fails to do that, it doesn't even try. Competent effects gone to waste. PG-13 rating means it lacks the visceral thrills or terror inherent to the franchise. Inept Incredibly poor story, full of holes and minimal characterization. Does the action make up for it? Nope. A hallmark of the Terminator series is 'show me something I haven't seen before'. This movie not only fails to do that, it doesn't even try. Competent effects gone to waste. PG-13 rating means it lacks the visceral thrills or terror inherent to the franchise. Inept Terminators are apparantly unable to really kill anything...they just rought you up a little. Audiences looking for epic battle sequences between the armies of the humans and machines will be disappointed, as all of the conflicts here are small scale, cliched, and ripped off from previous installments (another factory fight? Really) and other movies. A huge disappointment, the weakest of the Terminator films by far, and a sad way to cap off the franchise. Expand
  47. AlexP
    May 29, 2009
    3
    This movie was bad right from the title sequence. There was never any connection to the characters, so I found myself entirely disinterested in the action sequences. There was no story, and the only story presented felt like a friend pausing the movie to tell me what happened in T1 and T2. It's pretty apparent that McG saw the earlier movies as having done his work for him, and all This movie was bad right from the title sequence. There was never any connection to the characters, so I found myself entirely disinterested in the action sequences. There was no story, and the only story presented felt like a friend pausing the movie to tell me what happened in T1 and T2. It's pretty apparent that McG saw the earlier movies as having done his work for him, and all he had to do was "bring it home." That is lazy directing and a waste of my time. I would have left the theater if I hadn't watched T2 over 100 times in my childhood, knowing I would have to see this movie eventually. Anyone who gives this movie a high score is astroturfing. Expand
  48. CathyW
    May 29, 2009
    3
    I completely agree with Jose Q's comments...spot on! I wanted to see this movie, but I wasn't dying to see it. I really liked the first two movies, but had fallen asleep during the third. So to my surprise about 2/3 of the way through this movie, I actually thought to myself "This is really quite good. It FEELS like a stand alone movie or an original." I don't normally have I completely agree with Jose Q's comments...spot on! I wanted to see this movie, but I wasn't dying to see it. I really liked the first two movies, but had fallen asleep during the third. So to my surprise about 2/3 of the way through this movie, I actually thought to myself "This is really quite good. It FEELS like a stand alone movie or an original." I don't normally have those types of revelations during movies, so it's a testament to how much I was enjoying this one (especially after my utter disappointment with Star Trek, I was almost anticipating disappointment with this one). Unfortunately within 15 - 20 minutes of having these "good movie" thoughts...the retarded ending began. SPOLIER ALERT: When Christian Bale was trying to shock Marcus back to life (and it had definitely stopped being the character John Conners at that point for me, all I was seeing was bad acting), I was already groaning in disgust. Then when they were basically doing an open heart transplant in the field, I started feeling nauseous due to the ridiculousness. By the time the nuclear bomb was detonated (with resulting EMP) which did not bring their helicopter down, I was comatose. I gave it a 3 because I really enjoyed the first 2/3 of the movie, but the ending totally ruined it. I also found it irritating that any plot issues or back-story conflicts were summarily resolved by implying that the timeline had changed because of the actions of the characters in the previous movies. While it is true that the timeline would be different, the Expand
  49. JerryB
    Jun 11, 2009
    2
    If you are a true fan of the original Terminator films and actually care about the sequels keeping true to the originals you wont like this one. Yea it was good for the action but nothing else. CHRISTIAN BALE IS A OVERACTOR!!!!
  50. AdamD
    Jun 18, 2009
    2
    Generally horrible. A few cool special effects that are not cool enough to redeem the film. Hideous writing: for example, consider this...in each Terminator film, the machines have attempted to kill John Connor on sight. In this film, the machines identify him as John Connor, and conveniently neglect to kill him. Instead they imprison him, which, of course, gives the good guys time to Generally horrible. A few cool special effects that are not cool enough to redeem the film. Hideous writing: for example, consider this...in each Terminator film, the machines have attempted to kill John Connor on sight. In this film, the machines identify him as John Connor, and conveniently neglect to kill him. Instead they imprison him, which, of course, gives the good guys time to rescue him. Pretty much negates just about everything that happened in the first three films. Jeez. Expand
  51. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Terminator Salvation is a fantastic action movie. One of the best of the series. The only downside? Sam Worthington. The guy just can't keep a steady American accent. Everything else was beautiful. The cinematography, the action sequences, the acting, etc.
  52. Feb 8, 2011
    6
    Everything about this movie is average. Acting, story, cinematography, sound... actual the special effects are mostly good, but still. This movie is nowhere close to the caliber of the original terminator movies. It has its flashy and cool moments but in the end feels shallow and mostly forgettable. The governators cameo was amusing. Overall it's better than alot of whats in the theatersEverything about this movie is average. Acting, story, cinematography, sound... actual the special effects are mostly good, but still. This movie is nowhere close to the caliber of the original terminator movies. It has its flashy and cool moments but in the end feels shallow and mostly forgettable. The governators cameo was amusing. Overall it's better than alot of whats in the theaters these days, but don't go out of your way to see it Expand
  53. May 15, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't be back! This movie had a cool effects bit, but the main character is a terminator himself! You'd figure he'd be under skynet control! And you'd think that the not being hungry or not felling anything would give something away! Expand
  54. Jun 7, 2012
    4
    Terminator Salvation promised to finally let us loose in the nightmarish dystopian future we've only seen glimpses of so far in the series. Yes, the entire film is set after the machines have risen up and destroyed the vast majority of human civilisation, but does this make for a tense and exciting film? No, not really. In all the other installments (including the underwhelming TerminatorTerminator Salvation promised to finally let us loose in the nightmarish dystopian future we've only seen glimpses of so far in the series. Yes, the entire film is set after the machines have risen up and destroyed the vast majority of human civilisation, but does this make for a tense and exciting film? No, not really. In all the other installments (including the underwhelming Terminator 3) you have the constant sense of jeopardy, that judgement day is coming, and that made for some brilliant tension. In Salvation, however, all that doom has already occurred, and all that remains is the gloom. The storytelling is pedestrian, McG's action direction is competent but uninspiring, the new models of terminator we see look like rejected designs from the Transformers art department and most of the actors look like they're in it for the money alone. Christian Bale shouts and Batman growls his way through the film playing an older John Connor, Bryce Dallas Howard is wooden as John's pregnant wife Kate, Moon Bloodgood's pilot is just the typical warrior woman with truly ridiculous tousled hair and Michael Ironside really stretches himself playing yet another stern military leader. At least Anton Yelchin is decent as a young Kyle Reese and Helena Bonham Carter is good as always when she's briefly on screen as a terminally ill Cyberdyne scientist whose actions instigate many of the film's key events. The real highlight of the film, though, is Sam Worthington - his character Marcus is an incredibly tortured soul, and a fascinating tribute to numerous icons of film and literature - everyone from Frankenstein's Monster to Jason Bourne is in there somewhere. He makes for an utterly compelling protagonist in the hands of Worthington who manages to make Marcus tough and gruff, but also incredibly sympathetic. It does annoy me that the original idea for the film had Marcus as the central character, until Christian Bale was cast as John Connor, prompting the script to be re-written to focus on him instead. The original film concept would have certainly resulted in a more satisfying final product, as though John Connor is undeniably at the centre of the Terminator saga, he's not a particularly interesting character in himself. Aside from showing Sam Worthington at his very best, and having quite an entertaining finale that has some crowd-pleasing callbacks to earlier Terminator installments, Salvation offers very little apart from grey visuals, moody pessimism and a predictable plot. You only have to re-watch James Cameron's masterful first two installments, and even the flawed third film in the series (which still offered the odd thrill and plentiful camp humour) to see how much the glowing cybernetic eye has dulled over the years. Perhaps it's because of the absence of Mr Schwarzenegger, perhaps it's because there's no time travel, or that all the interesting stuff has already happened by the time film begins, or maybe it's because Christian Bale threw a tantrum and McG has very limited talent. Whatever the reason, Terminator Salvation is a rather dull film, which is almost worse than being a bad one. Is this the death of the Terminator franchise? I almost hope so. Expand
  55. Dec 27, 2011
    1
    "Terminator: Salvation" One Line Review! "D"

    This has to be one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Despite having a decent cast and ok acting, the plot was horrible, the dialogue was atrocious and for a movie chock full of machine guns and robots, it was boring as heck. D.
  56. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    Continuing to spread ever-thinly the narrative of it's progenitors, this Terminator sequel is an enjoyable couple of hours that nonetheless falls apart if you even dare to engage your brain for more than a fraction of a second. It would've been more interesting to have the story disregard John Connor and focus solely on the Marcus character; the machine-in-search-of-humanity thematic isContinuing to spread ever-thinly the narrative of it's progenitors, this Terminator sequel is an enjoyable couple of hours that nonetheless falls apart if you even dare to engage your brain for more than a fraction of a second. It would've been more interesting to have the story disregard John Connor and focus solely on the Marcus character; the machine-in-search-of-humanity thematic is one of my favourites in Science Fiction literature, the film manages to keep this concept interesting for about 10 minutes, then it degenerates quickly into typical action fare, Expand
  57. Aug 2, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A Schwarzenegger-less disappointment. Terminate it, because really, it makes most sense that RISE OF THE MACHINES would be the final movie (making it a trilogy)--especially with the ending it has. Expand
  58. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    I thought it was... okay. Felt like an average summer blockbuster, which is exactly what all the reviews prepared me for. McG is definitely no James Cameron, as if we needed further evidence.

    The second half is quite a bit of an improvement over the first half, which felt very limp. A lot of that's the fault of the editing, which is pretty choppy and not... good. I mean, maybe this is
    I thought it was... okay. Felt like an average summer blockbuster, which is exactly what all the reviews prepared me for. McG is definitely no James Cameron, as if we needed further evidence.

    The second half is quite a bit of an improvement over the first half, which felt very limp. A lot of that's the fault of the editing, which is pretty choppy and not... good. I mean, maybe this is nostalgia talking, but you look at Cameron's Terminator, Aliens, T2... (not gonna talk about Titanic cause I don't remember it much) and his storytelling is very natural, it all just flows from one scene to another. The edits are smooth and logically guide you through the plot.

    The editing in this film felt like the studio was mandating something close to 2 hours or something. Lots of scenes that just end and you're immediately jerked into another.

    And I just remembered that there's this great line Kate Connor gives in some of the trailers, something close to "If you saved us all in another future, you can save us in this one." I always really loved that line, it felt poetic and dramatic and was delivered well. But uh... I don't think it's in the film at all. Must've gotten cut, along with a lot of other things. She didn't say much of anything, I don't think. And she was pregnant, but they don't mention that at all.

    And oh yea, it definitely feels like a PG-13 film. One scene in particular has this guy trying to crawl out of a giant pen, where a T-600 immediately guns him down with a giant arm-mounted gatling gun. Except we don't see him get shot at all, it's a complete cutaway. We see a shot of the T-600 tracking him, hear some gunshots, and see him slumping and falling. It's just pathetic.

    The T-600s in this film must've gone to the stormtrooper school of shooting, because it's almost comical how lousy they are. Instead of squads of stormtroopers missing with sporadic firing though, you've just got one T-600 walking menacingly while firing his huge gatling, completely spraying everything but the side of the barn, it seems. It's a nitpick I suppose, but you'd think SkyNET would arm them all with smaller guns if their gatlings meant their aiming accuracy effectively went to nil.

    Oh, and Danny Elfman apparently just took the gig for a paycheck. Because his score is terrible. At some random points, you'll hear the classic Terminator score, but it's much too little. Elfman's own work is completely forgettable. I was hoping they were going to just play the classic Terminator score for the credits, but no dice.

    Acting's pretty much just competent. The standout's probably young Kyle Reese, who also played Chekov in Star Trek. While his Chekov wasn't to my liking, here he's channeling some serious Michael Biehn, and it was very impressive.

    Okay, let's talk visuals... the CGI in two scenes were pretty awful. First one's Marcus falling from the Transport and skipping across the river. Lots of laughter from my audience, because the CGI of his body skipping was just so fake looking and ridiculous. And of course, the second one's my Governator and yours, Arnold. Uh... it was kinda maybe sorta convincing, if you squinted your eyes a lot? Maybe if you'd been crying and your vision was all blurry from the tears? I dunno... I suppose it's the best we can do with state of the art CGI these days. But it still looked very unconvincing. And of course, you've gotta wonder why SkyNET just stuck the T-800 in that cell without a gun to shoot Connor. That would've saved a lot of chasing and punching and clawing, right? Meh... the script may have been looked at by Jonah Nolan at some point in time, but it doesn't seem like a Nolan script. Not by a long shot.

    So yea, right now... it's way below the brilliance of T1 and T2. Not sure about T3, it's been a while since I've watched it. Better then or equal to, I suppose? Somewhere in there.
    Expand
  59. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was not good. At all. Open heart surgery in the desert? Who? Who does that? Killing off the ONLY human (he wasn't actually human) character in the movie? Why? He was the only one with redeeming qualities. YOU DON'T GIVE ARNOLD A GUN to kill your primary targetg!? Instead you ask him to throw the herald of your demise around as softly as possible so that he doesn't die from internal bleeding, a severe concussion, etc etc.

    Terminator:Salvation was a reminder that the future cannot be changed, John Connor cannot die until his time, and everything else in between doesn't matter. That is how this movie was treated. The Skynet A.I. lays such a bad plan to capture or eliminate John Conner, that I almost passed out from anguish. John Connor, time and time again, uses his "protected child" mentality to wade into the line of fire and get everyone but himself killed. He will stop at nothing, including alerting Skynet to the location of his base of operations. He wants Sam Worthington dead the half Terminator (...). No amount of precious resources or valuable logic will get in HIS way. Once thought of as a brilliant strategist, Chistian Bale's portrayal of John Conner leaves him as nothing more than a screaming child trying to get their parents attention.
    Expand
  60. Mar 30, 2012
    2
    This movie needs to be terminated. Without Arnold this series has no point in watching. A truly ugly film with a setting that doesn't even look like earth. The whole movie was just a bunch of dreadful noisy crap with terrible acting all around.
  61. Mar 18, 2013
    5
    Due to its very nature, in making a film of the post nuclear war against machines between the Resistance and Skynet, director McG was already onto a hiding to nothing. James Cameron's films featured an occasional shot of the war but were always based around a single Terminator relentlessly pursuing its targets as part of an intelligent time travel plan. By focusing on the war, what madeDue to its very nature, in making a film of the post nuclear war against machines between the Resistance and Skynet, director McG was already onto a hiding to nothing. James Cameron's films featured an occasional shot of the war but were always based around a single Terminator relentlessly pursuing its targets as part of an intelligent time travel plan. By focusing on the war, what made the previous films successful is lost. Connor and Reese fight against motorbike terminators, hunter-killer planes, aerobots and giant terminator robots, proving successful against them all. To say the tension is missing would be an understatement. Bale does his deep Batman voice thing, less forgiving here, and in places the script suffers from cheese overload in places, none more so than Connor stealing (or a lazy tribute to) Arnie's seminal line, 'I'll be back'. This was almost too much to take. Yelchin is also given some equally cheesy lines that seem out of kilter with his character's previously strong willed and determined nature.

    Visually, McG does deliver some decent looking action scenes but the film doesn't have the charm of the originals. Salvation is an overblown, sledgehammer approach to the series, and as a standalone action film it would be average but as an entry into the Terminator franchise it is a weak one and one that does not need repeating.
    Expand
  62. Mar 8, 2014
    5
    It does not have enough character development, but it offers us plenty of exciting action. The first half was dull at times and disappointing, but the second was an improvement. What it needs is more emotional scenes between characters.
  63. Feb 5, 2013
    4
    Good looking and boosted by kinetic action, but the script is life-threatening stupid. Any machine with such a muddled, non-functional master-plan has to fail against even a completely unorganised human race. Characters are underdeveloped and the dialogue is barely okay. Christian Bale roars more than he speaks, which becomes quite annoying after some time. But as you expect it fromGood looking and boosted by kinetic action, but the script is life-threatening stupid. Any machine with such a muddled, non-functional master-plan has to fail against even a completely unorganised human race. Characters are underdeveloped and the dialogue is barely okay. Christian Bale roars more than he speaks, which becomes quite annoying after some time. But as you expect it from director McG, the untalented cousin of Michael Bay, this is flashy, stupid fun. Expand
  64. Jun 7, 2013
    2
    A very disappointing mess of a film. I am a big Christian Bale fan but not even he can save this loud, pointless, and just dumb film. The visuals aren't bad, but everything else is.
  65. Dec 12, 2013
    3
    A CG Arnie goes to show how this film lacks the heart of the originals, and covers it up with special effects. The problem is it gives the unique atmosphere that worked in the earlier ones a blockbuster twist, losing it completely.
  66. Feb 23, 2014
    0
    McG just killed the Terminator franchise, **** him, nothing that made the first great is here, the action is just like Transformers, **** is all over your face, there is no Arnold, or even a menacing villain like the T-1000 from T2, no just get an endless **** storm of lame CGI “terminators", the script couldn't be more cliched, the characters are bland, Christian Bale doesn't have any ofMcG just killed the Terminator franchise, **** him, nothing that made the first great is here, the action is just like Transformers, **** is all over your face, there is no Arnold, or even a menacing villain like the T-1000 from T2, no just get an endless **** storm of lame CGI “terminators", the script couldn't be more cliched, the characters are bland, Christian Bale doesn't have any of the charm that John Connor had in T2 instead he just becomes a clichéd character, who has no chemistry with anybody, the same goes for Sam Worthington, the whole movie just felt pointless, and a shameless attempt to cash in the Terminator franchise without putting any effort, which at least Terminator 3 had some effort this piece of **** however didn't. Expand
  67. Apr 10, 2014
    3
    So here we have yet another cynical attempt by Hollywood to make money on old property. T1 and T2 are classics. They raised my standards of what an acceptable action movie is. T2 wrapped up the story so well that T3 should have never existed, but it unfortunately does. After so many years since the unnecessary T3, I was really surprised that this came into fruition. Surely I thought theySo here we have yet another cynical attempt by Hollywood to make money on old property. T1 and T2 are classics. They raised my standards of what an acceptable action movie is. T2 wrapped up the story so well that T3 should have never existed, but it unfortunately does. After so many years since the unnecessary T3, I was really surprised that this came into fruition. Surely I thought they would have a really solid justification for bringing this back. They didn't. I'm not even going to criticize the movie for being directed by a total hack, or the lack of involvement from Schwarzenegger -- I'm just going to dissect it for what it is, and it still sucks pretty bad on its own. T1 and T2 had this pseudoscience that was fictional, but consistent: in other words it made up it's own rules per say and stuck to them. The fact that judgement day was prevented in T2 means that the post-apocalyptic setting of this movie is a flaw in itself. It just doesn't make sense. The only way this could have some coherence is if it was stated it takes place in some type of hypothetical scenario or another dimension or something of that nature, but this movie is adamant that it is a direct sequel. Due to this, comparisons to the original 2 (or even T3, which is a bad movie, but better than this) are bound to arise. And this is what dooms the movie among various other things. One of those things is the awful casting. Every character (with the exception of Yelchin, who was just OK) seemed out of place, like they belong in a soap opera. My biggest rant in this context is Christian Bale. It's apparent that they needed to snag at least one hugely popular actor for marquee value, but oh god is his performance terrible. His gravelly Batman voice/mannerisms do not translate well to this one. He just comes off like a complete douche bag: in every scene he has this exaggerated sternness, which is obviously meant to convey that this is a very intense and serious movie, but it has an adverse, almost comical effect, not to mention that this one's rated PG-13 anyways. That might seem small, but the fact that they included a PG-13 installment in an R-rated franchise makes me (correctly) assume that the studio ultimately just aimed to make money with this movie, and nothing more. Catching this notion seriously cheapens the "experience." Throughout the movie I was seriously irritated with the sloppy editing and bad dialogue. The whole thing just stank of this made for TV quality that's hard to explain, but also really cheapens the experience. This movie just simply lacks any charm or personality: it's an overproduced mess and should never have been, but studio greed has cemented yet another bad Terminator movie in the series. If you're even slightly interested in this series, watch the first 2 and forget this and 3 even exists... Expand
  68. FrankV
    May 28, 2009
    4
    Where's the plot? It seems to have disappeared about halfway through the movie. McG (pretentious a**h*le;who would call himself that to being with w/o a big ego?) creates an incoherent mess. What happened to the secret weapon that 'turns off' the machines? Why does SkyNet HQ look like some dirty steel factory? And why do those stacks belch fire? Pretty hokey--it makes no Where's the plot? It seems to have disappeared about halfway through the movie. McG (pretentious a**h*le;who would call himself that to being with w/o a big ego?) creates an incoherent mess. What happened to the secret weapon that 'turns off' the machines? Why does SkyNet HQ look like some dirty steel factory? And why do those stacks belch fire? Pretty hokey--it makes no sense except for some dumb special effects. Why are all those people herded? It isn't really developed. John Connor comes across ans mean and surly--not really a prophet or visionary--something else McG fails to develop. I miss 'Ahnold' as the Terminator. At least those last two movies (T1is by far the best) had a sense of not taking itself too seriously. This movie just feels kind of depressing. No need to do a sequel. Expand
  69. BrianS
    May 29, 2009
    10
    This movie clearly shows the relentless nature of the machines and the struggle of the surviving remnants of humakind against them. The movie is darker and more serious because judgement day was not prevented and the war against the machines is in full swing.
    Fear the rise of the machines.
  70. ScottJ
    Jun 1, 2009
    8
    Good action, better than T3 but story and character development weaker than expected. I also noticed they cut the part when Christian Bale was explaining why the machines were taking human prisoners for "cloning human tissue" that was in the previews! WTF? Did they release 2 different versions of the same movie?
  71. GMan
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    Really good, does exactly what it says on the tin, ignore the critics it was never going to be the next Godfather! Its a great action adventure flick!
  72. KirkC
    Jun 8, 2009
    5
    It was nice to see a squel coming. Until the movie started and the screen title became the coolest part. I heard the movie was rewritten a few times, to give it more character and... dumbness. You can see the terminators has stunt men in them. The movie feels empty half the time. Special effects where generally good, more towards the end and in the scenes in the middle of the movie. Just It was nice to see a squel coming. Until the movie started and the screen title became the coolest part. I heard the movie was rewritten a few times, to give it more character and... dumbness. You can see the terminators has stunt men in them. The movie feels empty half the time. Special effects where generally good, more towards the end and in the scenes in the middle of the movie. Just watch the movie and see. Expand
  73. Vinayu
    Jul 6, 2009
    5
    Action in this 4th edition is understandingly(since its 2009 now) way better than all editions.however i felt thats where director McG messed up.The action element was highlighted to the extent of ignoring the human element.Script witing was horrible.Even I could have written better!It restricted lead actor Christian Bale's acting skills.When we talk about a war between mankind and Action in this 4th edition is understandingly(since its 2009 now) way better than all editions.however i felt thats where director McG messed up.The action element was highlighted to the extent of ignoring the human element.Script witing was horrible.Even I could have written better!It restricted lead actor Christian Bale's acting skills.When we talk about a war between mankind and machines,thats where spine tingling speeches and dialouges where required from human resistance leader John Connor.The Terminator franchise has a beautiful and ingeniously well thought storyline.Hence handling of that requires good handling with responsibility.not cold computer generated high quality graphics.A well worked dramatic angle was missing.Otherwise(as its said in the film itself)..'What would be the difference between us and the machines?' Expand
  74. KyleR
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    I wasn't expecting to see so many bad thing's said about what i consider one of the better movies of 2009. I really enjoyed this movie acting, effect and plot. The replay value could be better, trying to figure out what the deal was the guy with from the past was interesting. Very nice special effects. I enjoyed this over GI Joe and Star Trek. Obviously a lot of people see this I wasn't expecting to see so many bad thing's said about what i consider one of the better movies of 2009. I really enjoyed this movie acting, effect and plot. The replay value could be better, trying to figure out what the deal was the guy with from the past was interesting. Very nice special effects. I enjoyed this over GI Joe and Star Trek. Obviously a lot of people see this movie as a failure but im very shocked at just how many and the 52 doesn't do this justice IMO. Expand
  75. johnm
    Jan 4, 2010
    1
    T1 was great but the sequels have gotten progressively worse. This was dreadful schlock. The terminators showed more acting skills than Bale and Worthington. This was a movie devoid of any content, plot, sense, suspense or meaning. The ending is a gimmick. The giant terminator was good though.
  76. scottv
    Jan 9, 2010
    8
    Awesome action pretty much from start to finish, a wide variety of machines, and a good story line. I'm surprised this movie did not get much better reviews. I think this was the best terminator films since the original. Several of the action scenes reminded me of the first time that I saw the "Road Warrior" which is a very good thing. Lots of fun and only brief moments without Awesome action pretty much from start to finish, a wide variety of machines, and a good story line. I'm surprised this movie did not get much better reviews. I think this was the best terminator films since the original. Several of the action scenes reminded me of the first time that I saw the "Road Warrior" which is a very good thing. Lots of fun and only brief moments without action, most of which are very cool. Many of these reviews are way to critical of the script, are any of the terminator films really all that complicated, deep, or realistic? No they are not, so lighten up and enjoy it like you would an Indiana Jones movie for goodness sake! Expand
  77. SteveF
    Dec 6, 2009
    6
    I didn't find this movie very exciting at all. Besides a couple of good robot special effects it was quite boring. Transformers 2 even had more substance.
  78. JackS.
    May 21, 2009
    10
    I checked it out about two hours ago...and what i can say IT WAS AWESOME. Entertaining and good action flick. Looking rewarding to terminator 5
  79. PaulC.
    May 21, 2009
    9
    This was a legitimate stand alone sci-fi summer blockbuster. It was drastically different from the feel of all the others in the series, but maintained many of the important story lines. If you watch the other three movies and the T:SCC, this integrated all prior plots along with providing some interesting explanations for outstanding issues. While the "professional" reviewers may be This was a legitimate stand alone sci-fi summer blockbuster. It was drastically different from the feel of all the others in the series, but maintained many of the important story lines. If you watch the other three movies and the T:SCC, this integrated all prior plots along with providing some interesting explanations for outstanding issues. While the "professional" reviewers may be judging it based on how it is not the same as prior versions or based on the absence of Arrrrrrnold, I can tell you that not one person leaving the theater last night didn't have a smile on their face or a positive thing to say about this movie. Expand
  80. DanS
    May 21, 2009
    1
    30 min in the movie you ask your self WTF. then every 5 min after thatt you think the same until to have to say it out load. this was resident evil and the matrix with a little terminator in it. his was the first time in the terminator movies i wanted john conor to die so that thier could be no more. the writers and director should be the ones are terminated.
  81. SeanE.
    May 22, 2009
    9
    Great action from start to finish. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. Visual effects are stunning and you'd swear it was real! Looking forward to more from this post-apocalyptic world. Let's finally see how the war ends!
  82. JohnM.
    May 22, 2009
    10
    Real fans of the franchise will find this installment exhilarating. Excellent performances by Bale and Worthington, as well as excellent sound design, and visual effects. The narrative, like all great narratives, is simple and to the point. Terminator Salvation expands the Terminator mythology, asks interesting questions about the machine/human dichotomy, and gives us an entertaining Real fans of the franchise will find this installment exhilarating. Excellent performances by Bale and Worthington, as well as excellent sound design, and visual effects. The narrative, like all great narratives, is simple and to the point. Terminator Salvation expands the Terminator mythology, asks interesting questions about the machine/human dichotomy, and gives us an entertaining picture of a post-apocalyptic world ruled by robots. As for those critics who have said this movie isn't "fun enough," or that it is "too dark," I can only guess that they were not real fans of the original. After all, it is not like 1984's The Terminator was a comedy!! Anyways, highly recommended! Expand
  83. TD.
    May 22, 2009
    2
    I would not go see this movie if you paid my way. As far as I am concerned, Christian Bale has been blacklisted from my great actors list. Greatness comes from how you live your life and treat others. The guy is a dickhead. On another note, I'm not that interested in a movie where the plot is too easy to figure out. You would have thought that he would have picked a better movie if I would not go see this movie if you paid my way. As far as I am concerned, Christian Bale has been blacklisted from my great actors list. Greatness comes from how you live your life and treat others. The guy is a dickhead. On another note, I'm not that interested in a movie where the plot is too easy to figure out. You would have thought that he would have picked a better movie if he was sooo great. Expand
  84. DagwoodL.
    May 22, 2009
    8
    HELL YEAH! This movie was so badass, I don't give a damn if it was corny and cliche'd. It was Christian Bale doing the awesome things he does, only as John Connor, one of the most epic sci fi characters of all time. Marcus Wright is an effing brute, what a fantastic character. The movie was great, don't listen to the naysayers. 2009 is going to be one damn good year for HELL YEAH! This movie was so badass, I don't give a damn if it was corny and cliche'd. It was Christian Bale doing the awesome things he does, only as John Connor, one of the most epic sci fi characters of all time. Marcus Wright is an effing brute, what a fantastic character. The movie was great, don't listen to the naysayers. 2009 is going to be one damn good year for movies, this is one damn good start. Expand
  85. John
    May 22, 2009
    7
    Don't want to bash this film, on par with T3, a mix of Matrix/Transformers/Robocop. If you like those types of movies then you will like T4.
  86. JnK.
    May 22, 2009
    10
    I became completely absorbed in the action and SFX. I thought the pacing was done well, since it gave some albeit "bleak" moments of rest. I found myself saying "awesome!" throughout, and Sam Worthington really took the forefront. Being well versed in Terminator mythos, it's hard to tell if non-Terminator audiences will easily grasp the main concepts of the story.
  87. WillH.
    May 23, 2009
    10
    Damn awesome is the only way to describe this move. If you are a fan of the Terminator franchise, this is a must see.
  88. DonJ.
    May 23, 2009
    10
    It was almost as good as T2... excited for the next ones... compare it to batman begins. just pretend that T3 never happened.
  89. NicholasB.
    May 24, 2009
    9
    An amazing movie. I wish some things were more elaborated on than others. Some interesting elements were thrown in. Has amazing action sequences. The story is kind of set in stone from the previous films that pretty much say what is to come. But ultimately the results are satisfying for those looking for a view at John Conner's war.
  90. ChrisH.
    May 24, 2009
    10
    It angers me that this movie has had such bad reviews. Although I admit, not as good as the first 2, but saying that it's worse than the 3rd is just insane! T4 is a creative new way to show this amazing robotic world. Two thumbs up.
  91. EricF
    May 25, 2009
    6
    Fairly predictable, some nice background story to the Terminator original, although we knew pretty much what was going to happen. Sets up future sequels nicely though, which have the potential to be more interesting from a character and plot development standpoint.
  92. RCR
    May 26, 2009
    0
    The movie was simply bad, but the end was so d-chill inducing it easily earns a 0. The director, a thinking-man's Michael Bay, has managed to fill 2 hours worth of cinema with neither a single character that extends past a two dimensional melodramatic archetype, nor a story that makes sense on any level above "Gee whiz, a robot!" Yeah, it wasn't for me.
  93. GeorgeM
    May 26, 2009
    5
    Well, Salvation is here and depending on what you're looking for...whether it be "Summer Popcorn Movie" or a "Worthy Terminator Sequel", there is every chance of walking away dissapointed. The opening is silly, whats in between is hit or miss drama and expensive action sequences, and the ending is rather lousy. This just dosen't feel like a proper Terminator sequel...and while Well, Salvation is here and depending on what you're looking for...whether it be "Summer Popcorn Movie" or a "Worthy Terminator Sequel", there is every chance of walking away dissapointed. The opening is silly, whats in between is hit or miss drama and expensive action sequences, and the ending is rather lousy. This just dosen't feel like a proper Terminator sequel...and while its expensive...it still feels "cheap", like an incredibily expensive Sci-Fi Channel movie. The "War" against humans and machines is in full force, and John Connor is merely a voice in the background, not the leader he's destined to become as he's yet to convince everyone of what he knows is coming. So while he's figuring out his issues regarding the location of his father, Kyle Reese, we have the new guy Marcus (Sam Worthington) waking up in this bleak future with no memory of whats happened over the last 15 years...even though its rather obvious the reasons behind this, given the opening. So what we have is Marcus helping Kyle then when the crap hits the fan, Marcus helping John Connor...essentially, this is Marcus's movie in a lot of ways. Without going in to detail, the movie is just chock full of moments that make little sense, and trying to make sense of the nonsense in this movie will just give you a headache. There are things that just DO NOT work in the movie and they make it obvious that it dosen't work, and when this happens it comes off as an insult to my intelligence, and when something as beloved as the Terminator series does this not once, but twice (T3) given the already complex nature of the "timeline"...its a problem. Casting-wise, Christian Bale as John Connor is a fine choice, but gone is the personality of T2 and T3, no wisecracking...no jokes...in fact...no personality at all, the guy is as interesting as a houseplant at this point...just yelling his thoughts and looking intense all the time. Sam Worthington as Marcus, VERY bland...and how this guy is the "next best thing" in Hollywood is beyond me, Bryce Dallas Howard does nothing worth mentioning...and Anton Yelchin barely skates by as Kyle Reese. As far as action goes, it delivers...its big, loud, and glitzy and the bullets and metal fly. The Terminators look great...the older models wearing the scraggily clothes, the building-size Hunter Gatherer with detachable "Motorcycle" Terminators to scoop up those pesky humans, or the introduction of the model we know and love (with a special FX-ladened cameo)...all the props and bots look great. I don't know, I left the theater with the feeling that I choked down a tall glass of flat Coke...it was sweet, but did nothing for me. The mood of this film is closer to Terminator 1 than any other...very bleak and humorless, but thats where ALL similarities end and it becomes the poorly put together movie that it is. It's not terrible and its a good fix for those craving some summer action...but its place in the Terminator series rests behind that of the other average flick, T3. So this one comes off as AVERAGE. Expand
  94. ceejay
    May 26, 2009
    4
    Opening credits would have been impressive 10 years ago. First action sequence IS AWESOME, and then the movie goes downhill, made lame by IRONY-deficiency and HORRIBLE DIALOGUE. The action becomes irrelevant. Bale, Yelchin, Howard, Bloodgood and Worthington are great but this won't help their reputations much. Is it true that any screen time is good screen time?
  95. Anonymous
    May 31, 2009
    9
    This is great! I didn't care what critics said! Super and action packed.
  96. chrisj
    May 30, 2009
    4
    This movie reminds me of water world. better special effects, but I didn't care if the robots beat the humans or not.
  97. ChrisD
    Jun 11, 2009
    8
    Highly enjoyable sequel that is pure popcorn fun!
  98. RicusS
    Jun 12, 2009
    7
    I enjoyed this movie more than what was the train wreck of the previous one. Bale as the prophet saving mankind plays the role completely understated. Knowing you will do something and doing that thing comes across in this movie as a rather hard choice to live by. Overall I definitely enjoyed it more than 3.
  99. David
    Jun 19, 2009
    5
    A big disappointment I'm afraid. This is marginally superior to the abominable T3, but only *marginally*. In other words, this film is disappointingly average. Bale and Worthington are under utilised. Pacing/continuity is off and decidedly strange. Dialogue is just plain groan inducing. There are also too many logic irregularities / blatantly non-sensical actions/happenings. The A big disappointment I'm afraid. This is marginally superior to the abominable T3, but only *marginally*. In other words, this film is disappointingly average. Bale and Worthington are under utilised. Pacing/continuity is off and decidedly strange. Dialogue is just plain groan inducing. There are also too many logic irregularities / blatantly non-sensical actions/happenings. The action sequences do not save the film. Expand
  100. ChrisB
    Jun 2, 2009
    7
    The movie was good, and it progressed the underlying story arc of the series well, but you could tell that the creators really wanted to stick with the original ending that was leaked a few months back, and the one that they ended up with felt really forced and out of place. It was like they got the word from the studio execs at some point that they had to change the ending, but they The movie was good, and it progressed the underlying story arc of the series well, but you could tell that the creators really wanted to stick with the original ending that was leaked a few months back, and the one that they ended up with felt really forced and out of place. It was like they got the word from the studio execs at some point that they had to change the ending, but they didn't really want to rewrite the last 20 minutes of the film, so they just stuck in the thing about the heart, and it didn't really make a lot of sense. Basically, you can tell that the ending that the director and head writers really wanted, or perhaps had originally intended, didn't make it into the film. Let's hope that somehow it ends up on the DVD. Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 4, 2015
    60
    Director McG proves perfectly adept at blowing things up in interesting ways, but there's not so much acting here as there is yelling at different volumes.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 4, 2015
    60
    Terminator Salvation is one of the most visually impressive films in the series. The action is non-stop and the look borders on dazzling.... But ironically for a series that's supposed to be about an embattled humanity struggling against those who lack it, there isn't an emotional moment in this.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 4, 2015
    50
    Terminator Salvation is a tale told idiotically, full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.