Terminator Salvation

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 647 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 19, 2015
    3
    Terminator Salvation does little to salvage the franchise providing another loud, dumb, and unnecessary film in the Terminator franchise. While the story is not a straight up retread of the previous films it is uninspired filled with tons of tropes; loud and dull action; and thiny written characters whose arcs are predictable and as lifeless as the machines they are fighting. A grittyTerminator Salvation does little to salvage the franchise providing another loud, dumb, and unnecessary film in the Terminator franchise. While the story is not a straight up retread of the previous films it is uninspired filled with tons of tropes; loud and dull action; and thiny written characters whose arcs are predictable and as lifeless as the machines they are fighting. A gritty Terminator film set in the future in a prequel sequel isn’t a bad idea but without anyone interesting to connect with or action scenes that are shot well the film falls on its face. Even if the film is entertaining at some level it lacks any staying power and will be forgotten about shortly after one leaves the theater. Expand
  2. SeanF
    Jan 8, 2010
    3
    Bear with me as I may find it difficult to actually express how appalled by this film I was into words - although I guess that already gives you a good idea of my opinion of this film. I'll try to keep this short and list just a few of the reasons for loathing this film. First, this film is part of a trend of films that Hollywood is churning out with much more frequency, that have Bear with me as I may find it difficult to actually express how appalled by this film I was into words - although I guess that already gives you a good idea of my opinion of this film. I'll try to keep this short and list just a few of the reasons for loathing this film. First, this film is part of a trend of films that Hollywood is churning out with much more frequency, that have forgotten that the basic principle of any good film is not how much shit you can blow up but actually having a good story and characterisation. However, I Expand
  3. DomoR
    Jun 1, 2009
    1
    Dreadful, noisy crap. The only thing, and I mean THE ONLY THING I found engaging in this film were the tiny little hairs around the lower lip of Sam Worthington. He was the best thing in the film and my eroitic fantasies of doing him 9000 ways to Pittsburg was the only thing that got me to stay. Really. During the first third of the film the continuity was so bad, I swear they were scenes Dreadful, noisy crap. The only thing, and I mean THE ONLY THING I found engaging in this film were the tiny little hairs around the lower lip of Sam Worthington. He was the best thing in the film and my eroitic fantasies of doing him 9000 ways to Pittsburg was the only thing that got me to stay. Really. During the first third of the film the continuity was so bad, I swear they were scenes shot for nine other films stitched together like a crazy quilt of celuloid. And that silent little Newt from Aliens clone shows up and I just wanted to yank the hairs on its head (gender-f much?) And then Arnold shows up and he has no genitals! What a disgrace! I mean really. What was the effing point? This had no balls, no dick and no story. I prayed for the machines to blow up the theater and let me tell you, they should have!!! Oh, and BTW, Bryce Dallas Howard should stick to her gig as a local newscaster. Expand
  4. KeirB.
    Jul 26, 2009
    2
    I'm being nice giving it a 2. The Visual Effects are the only somewhat impressive thing about this abomination of a film. Anyone that gives this film a 7 or higher is either 6 years old or incredibly stupid.
  5. brettj
    Apr 4, 2010
    0
    Insulting to any true sci fi fan. So so crap. i.e A terminator grabs john conner and throws him against a wall. WRONG! A terminator would grab john conner and kill him as quickly as possible by ripping his head off. McG needs a bullet. I want this movie erased from time and space. Maybe the next 'sequel' can send a terminator back in time and kill McG to stop this movie been Insulting to any true sci fi fan. So so crap. i.e A terminator grabs john conner and throws him against a wall. WRONG! A terminator would grab john conner and kill him as quickly as possible by ripping his head off. McG needs a bullet. I want this movie erased from time and space. Maybe the next 'sequel' can send a terminator back in time and kill McG to stop this movie been made. Now that would be worth watching. Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    2
    A very disappointing mess of a film. I am a big Christian Bale fan but not even he can save this loud, pointless, and just dumb film. The visuals aren't bad, but everything else is.
  7. Jan 7, 2014
    3
    I am wondering why actors like Bale and Worthington confirm to such a film with bad screenplay that is apparently not at all action packed but instead laughable. Without Arnold Schwarzenegger the obvious ridiculousness is missing which is not a matter to replace that with usually good actors who make a complete fool of themselves in "Terminator Salvation". Part four was an opportunity toI am wondering why actors like Bale and Worthington confirm to such a film with bad screenplay that is apparently not at all action packed but instead laughable. Without Arnold Schwarzenegger the obvious ridiculousness is missing which is not a matter to replace that with usually good actors who make a complete fool of themselves in "Terminator Salvation". Part four was an opportunity to get rid of the trifle that Schwarzenegger caused in previous parts. But no, that would have been too shrewd. Instead of that a Schwarzenegger copy appears and fights with Connor...
    I ween that Bale alias Connor didn't mean it literally as he quotes Schwarzenegger pretty much at the end of the movie: "I'll be back." So hopefully "Genesis" will not come out as soon as I fear. Although with Schwarzenegger back again it will certainly be a laughable matter again. Who knows, at least that is my point of view.
    Expand
  8. Apr 10, 2014
    3
    So here we have yet another cynical attempt by Hollywood to make money on old property. T1 and T2 are classics. They raised my standards of what an acceptable action movie is. T2 wrapped up the story so well that T3 should have never existed, but it unfortunately does. After so many years since the unnecessary T3, I was really surprised that this came into fruition. Surely I thought theySo here we have yet another cynical attempt by Hollywood to make money on old property. T1 and T2 are classics. They raised my standards of what an acceptable action movie is. T2 wrapped up the story so well that T3 should have never existed, but it unfortunately does. After so many years since the unnecessary T3, I was really surprised that this came into fruition. Surely I thought they would have a really solid justification for bringing this back. They didn't. I'm not even going to criticize the movie for being directed by a total hack, or the lack of involvement from Schwarzenegger -- I'm just going to dissect it for what it is, and it still sucks pretty bad on its own. T1 and T2 had this pseudoscience that was fictional, but consistent: in other words it made up it's own rules per say and stuck to them. The fact that judgement day was prevented in T2 means that the post-apocalyptic setting of this movie is a flaw in itself. It just doesn't make sense. The only way this could have some coherence is if it was stated it takes place in some type of hypothetical scenario or another dimension or something of that nature, but this movie is adamant that it is a direct sequel. Due to this, comparisons to the original 2 (or even T3, which is a bad movie, but better than this) are bound to arise. And this is what dooms the movie among various other things. One of those things is the awful casting. Every character (with the exception of Yelchin, who was just OK) seemed out of place, like they belong in a soap opera. My biggest rant in this context is Christian Bale. It's apparent that they needed to snag at least one hugely popular actor for marquee value, but oh god is his performance terrible. His gravelly Batman voice/mannerisms do not translate well to this one. He just comes off like a complete douche bag: in every scene he has this exaggerated sternness, which is obviously meant to convey that this is a very intense and serious movie, but it has an adverse, almost comical effect, not to mention that this one's rated PG-13 anyways. That might seem small, but the fact that they included a PG-13 installment in an R-rated franchise makes me (correctly) assume that the studio ultimately just aimed to make money with this movie, and nothing more. Catching this notion seriously cheapens the "experience." Throughout the movie I was seriously irritated with the sloppy editing and bad dialogue. The whole thing just stank of this made for TV quality that's hard to explain, but also really cheapens the experience. This movie just simply lacks any charm or personality: it's an overproduced mess and should never have been, but studio greed has cemented yet another bad Terminator movie in the series. If you're even slightly interested in this series, watch the first 2 and forget this and 3 even exists... Expand
  9. CyrusM.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Some of the effects were very good. The surprise part of the film was where Marcus realizes he is a robot. That made sense that he could be thrown so hard against a card or splash into a river and live. .. Terminators can kill quick and easy unless it's John Connor.. physics do not apply. The acting was bad... same batman character for Bale. Wait for this to come out on video...then Some of the effects were very good. The surprise part of the film was where Marcus realizes he is a robot. That made sense that he could be thrown so hard against a card or splash into a river and live. .. Terminators can kill quick and easy unless it's John Connor.. physics do not apply. The acting was bad... same batman character for Bale. Wait for this to come out on video...then rent it... Expand
  10. SheldonW.
    May 25, 2009
    3
    Reprehensible waste of studio funds. Blatantly manipulative [hey! Here's a cute, mute black girl of kindergarten age to blatantly make you feel sympathy], and poorly thought out in terms of storytelling.
  11. DeeM
    Jun 10, 2009
    3
    Great special effects and CRASH BOOM BANG action doesn't make up for a rubbish script, there were more holes in the plot than golf course. It takes a big steamy turd over James Cameron's vision. Rubbish, utter rubbish. But it's too late now, we've all already been duped.
  12. SimonA
    Jun 7, 2009
    3
    Great Sound Effects, Huge Explosions, Stunning Visual Effects, but no plot, no real character development. The whole thing felt like a really long music clip, fun to look at, but without having anything to say.
  13. MikeT
    May 22, 2009
    3
    This was one of the silliest movies I have ever seen. Christian Bale played john connor's character all wrong, and the plot made no sense. But it was very entertaining.
  14. JasonD.
    May 24, 2009
    2
    Quite an awful movie. Really boring; pointless non-stop action and explosions without a real plot behind them. Could wait for it to be over, but it just kept on going....
  15. NateH.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Too many plot holes. The movie had no point in being, other than to milk the franchise for more money. It takes the plot absolutely no where. [**SPOILERS**] First, if the machines are looking for Kyle Reese, why dont they kill him when they did in fact find him? Using him as bait for John is pointless, because its already been established that killing him would mean John doesnt exist. Too many plot holes. The movie had no point in being, other than to milk the franchise for more money. It takes the plot absolutely no where. [**SPOILERS**] First, if the machines are looking for Kyle Reese, why dont they kill him when they did in fact find him? Using him as bait for John is pointless, because its already been established that killing him would mean John doesnt exist. Remember in the first movie, the terminator went looking for Sara and instantly blew peoples heads off when he asked them their name. But in this one its suddenly different? Next to notice, is when the terminator gets covered in molten ore. That clearly killed him in the second movie. But suddenly the same model of terminator can be covered in it and not melt a single bit... only get sorta slowed down and then make the metal "shatter" off him by moving. Makes no sense at all. Movies dont need to make sense with reality, but they should make sense in the reality they create within themselves. Lets also talk about this new human/terminator/bad-australlian-actor guy. If he was made before skynet was self aware, then why was he a plan from skynet to infiltrate the rebels? Skynet wasnt trying to exterminate humans before it was self aware. Was the lady that had him sign the paper sent back to have that done? That would explain things somewhat... except for the fact that the machines wouldnt send back a "human" since humans are really on their side. And if she was a robot, then why bother making some random guy into a half-human/cyborg thing... just send one back in the first place. I'm getting nitpicky yes. But there is no plot in the movie to follow, they start at point A and end at point A. It cant be good when one of the ending lines is, "We may have won the battle, but we havent wont the war... etc". Expand
  16. jayk
    Jun 4, 2009
    3
    One or two action sequences were pretty cool. the other 1 hour and 50 mins of the movie was total piece of crap. feels like something that was made for a television episode.
  17. soveryclean
    Jun 7, 2009
    2
    Please fire the director. Did the people who made this movie even watch the first two movies? From the schlocky Hollywood ending, to the laughable dialogue, this new series has nowhere to go but down... unless they fire the director and bring someone who can pull a story together on board.
  18. KurtH
    Jun 7, 2009
    2
    Mix War of the Worlds and Transformers add direction by McG and you have the worst Terminator film to date. Just awful.
  19. SeanR
    Jun 9, 2009
    3
    Very poor. Awful story telling in show here. Amateur dialogue. Poor acting (why was Connor playing Batman, or Batman playing Connor). The opening rendered scenes of the video game was more exciting. A wasted opportunity and a waste of 200 million dollar budget. Could have made ten classic low budget movies for the same price. Wanted to love it, but just too much bad film making skills on Very poor. Awful story telling in show here. Amateur dialogue. Poor acting (why was Connor playing Batman, or Batman playing Connor). The opening rendered scenes of the video game was more exciting. A wasted opportunity and a waste of 200 million dollar budget. Could have made ten classic low budget movies for the same price. Wanted to love it, but just too much bad film making skills on display here. Expand
  20. StevenH
    Jul 17, 2009
    3
    Bale using Batman voice. Worthington as a movie version of Kane from Quake 4. Some annoying kid with a voice out of Doug as Kyle Reese. Illogical and unexplainable behavior by supposedly sentient AIs (for example, SkyNET sends a missile directly at the resistance base but treats John Connor, their actual target, like a puppy when they see him). General lack of actual battles in favor of Bale using Batman voice. Worthington as a movie version of Kane from Quake 4. Some annoying kid with a voice out of Doug as Kyle Reese. Illogical and unexplainable behavior by supposedly sentient AIs (for example, SkyNET sends a missile directly at the resistance base but treats John Connor, their actual target, like a puppy when they see him). General lack of actual battles in favor of Mad Max. The amount of Terminators in the film could probably be counted on one hand. Most ridiculous dialogue. People being blown back 100 feet on wires from explosive shells rather than being torn to shreds, and not even bleeding afterward. Generally pointless and inconsistent plot. PG-13. What do you think? Expand
  21. EvinC
    Aug 12, 2009
    3
    No.!!! Why do you have to ruin a great franchise. The terminator flicks are my favorite franchise. I didn't even have a problem with T3. This one was just terrible. Bad story, acting, and action. I think Anton Yelchin was great. He's gonna be great.
  22. JeffK
    Dec 18, 2009
    2
    I didn't like it. Distracting, unrealistic cinematography, ridiculous machines, predictable action, overly serious acting, and unrealistic characters. And memo to Christian Bale: can the gruff voice. It didn't work as Batman and it doesn't work here.
  23. AndyG.
    Dec 4, 2009
    3
    Cliché after cliché abound here - deeply stupid enemies turn this into a farce, and the malicious nature of most of the remaining humans (ridiculous in-fighting, attempted rape) bring into question the worthiness of what's being fought for. "And why isn't the T800 killing Connor outright, instead of throwing him around?" Couldn't agree more - saved him on two Cliché after cliché abound here - deeply stupid enemies turn this into a farce, and the malicious nature of most of the remaining humans (ridiculous in-fighting, attempted rape) bring into question the worthiness of what's being fought for. "And why isn't the T800 killing Connor outright, instead of throwing him around?" Couldn't agree more - saved him on two occasions in this film. Acting was fine. They just had tripe to work with. Brainless. Expand
  24. CoreyH.
    May 21, 2009
    3
    The plot was lacking. There were plenty of corny, meaningless, or unexplained scenes and pointless yelling.
  25. Fantasy
    May 21, 2009
    3
    Cold, dreary, heartless film in the vain of the old Road Warrior type movie without any soul or empathy for any of the characters. No dialogue to speak of just a "B" movie full out of CGI shoot em up and large explosions. I started yawning midway thru the flick as I couldn't wait for it end. I thought Arnie said he would be back??? They sure as hell coud have used him. Avoid.
  26. ShawnB.
    May 21, 2009
    3
    a few good action scenes and Sam Worthington are the only salvation this movie has.
  27. JohnD.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    If you thought Terminator 3 was bad, just wait until you see this movie. I don't know how you can mess up a war with robots movie, but they managed to do it. Terrible plot and you could drive a truck through the holes in it. The best part for us was when it was over.
  28. Shootsy
    May 28, 2009
    3
    The 3 rating goes to "are you professional or not?" Shane Hurlbut photography because it looks awesome, SoundFX is good also; otherwise it would be a 0. How ironic when Bale "performance" is absolute crap with a total of probably 20 lines in 2 hours. By the way the main character is Marcus Wright (Sam Worthington) definitely not John Connor. Anyway either as stand-alone or sequel it The 3 rating goes to "are you professional or not?" Shane Hurlbut photography because it looks awesome, SoundFX is good also; otherwise it would be a 0. How ironic when Bale "performance" is absolute crap with a total of probably 20 lines in 2 hours. By the way the main character is Marcus Wright (Sam Worthington) definitely not John Connor. Anyway either as stand-alone or sequel it sucks, no story, poor script, shitty score, uninteresting characters, a total boredom. Expand
  29. nacorc
    Jun 8, 2009
    3
    Total crap. you have to left your brain out to barelly enjoy this poor attemp of movie.
  30. KevinC
    Jul 17, 2009
    3
    After seeing the preview I expected so much more. It didn't deliver.
  31. AGuy
    May 21, 2009
    0
    McG = Franchise Killer.
  32. VictorB.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Sucked. Plain and simple. Terminators kill. Period. that's what they do. Not toss you around for 15 minutes. If a terminator punches you, their fist is going through you. Also, if you are a terminator's primary target. You. Are. Dead. This idea of "capture and hold" is ridiculous. Too many instances in the story made me say "come on now..." Terminators use infra red and advanced Sucked. Plain and simple. Terminators kill. Period. that's what they do. Not toss you around for 15 minutes. If a terminator punches you, their fist is going through you. Also, if you are a terminator's primary target. You. Are. Dead. This idea of "capture and hold" is ridiculous. Too many instances in the story made me say "come on now..." Terminators use infra red and advanced scanning technology but can't see a trip wire on a road on a sunny day? WTF is that? Sucked. I could go on, (terminators can scan for heat signature and can hear music from miles away but can't sense a fire in the dead of night even with infra red...good to see women can still get their hair done and make up in the post apocalyptic Skynet ruled world...etc..) but you get the point. Expand
  33. JoshK.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Craptastic.. I've never been so bored watching things blow up..
  34. WaldoJ.
    May 24, 2009
    2
    A horribly acted tedious mess, with awful dialogue and horrendous "action" Christian Bale is flat out terrible, and he is capable of better (see American Psycho, Rescue Dawn, etc.) Why he and Helena Bonham Carter agreed to star in this turd I'll never know
  35. ThomasH.
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Honestly, what was the point in that? My first thought in watching that. Action is not a filler for substance. Take away the action in this movie and what do you have? Nothing They expanded on nothing, all we know is that John Connor got to know his father before he sent him back in time to conceive him. I mean christ, they couldn't have really done more to completely dodge the Honestly, what was the point in that? My first thought in watching that. Action is not a filler for substance. Take away the action in this movie and what do you have? Nothing They expanded on nothing, all we know is that John Connor got to know his father before he sent him back in time to conceive him. I mean christ, they couldn't have really done more to completely dodge the awkward bullet of the time travel ideas. They just thought, ahhh fuck it we'll leave them out in the cold on that one. Connor and Marcus were played well by their respective actors. Kyle Reese I felt was done poorly, I don't know why they made him a teenager. It seems stupid to me, but they always have to have the rookie guy in these war films. If you ask me, the rest of the actors were generic hollywood trash, and they looked it too. You wouldn't guess they'd been in a war for years on end. The women are wearing makeup, their skin is nigh on perfect. It's retarded.. you wouldn't have thought the human race had been wiped out in a nuclear holocaust at all. And I know people are going to say "Well just enjoy the action". Yeh fine you enjoy being a moron. Terminator was not a pure action movie. It was science fiction, both T1 and T2 were heavily story driven. Also the complete lack of humor is painful, the film takes itself way too seriously. I don't think I saw a single smile in the whole thing. Example, the monologues in T1 and T2. Then T3 comes along and now this, and they just vanish. Along with the story. The fact is, this series should've been buried with T3, T3 wasn't great but it was miles better then this god awful crap, and now it's probably going to end on this TERRIBLE note, this awful movie is the final one. Such a shame that they couldn't just sit down and have taken a year to write this. Clearly just dreamt up in a few months. Expand
  36. Garp
    May 24, 2009
    3
    Laughable, the next movie should be an opening scene with Bale reasoning that if he is dead, Arnie would not be sent back to kill Sarah Conner, where his chip is back engineered, skynet created and then promptly blows his brains out, leaving at least one hour and a half to have topples super models, shooting guns and blowing up stuff.
  37. McSuck
    May 26, 2009
    3
    The story and direction is a 0 of 10. Gets a 3 because there are a couple of awesome action set pieces in the first 1/3 of the movie, and because of the borderline star-making turn from Worthington. Otherwise, this is the most inept piece of trash (along w/ that hideous Indy 4 abomination) that either my wife or I have seen in the past ten years. This makes T3 look like Citizen Kane by The story and direction is a 0 of 10. Gets a 3 because there are a couple of awesome action set pieces in the first 1/3 of the movie, and because of the borderline star-making turn from Worthington. Otherwise, this is the most inept piece of trash (along w/ that hideous Indy 4 abomination) that either my wife or I have seen in the past ten years. This makes T3 look like Citizen Kane by comparison. Never before have I seen the reigns of a $100 million+ blockbuster given to such a clueless, insecure, talentless hack. And Slow-Mo? Are you kidding me? Really? I beg you. Please save your money - or better yet, give your $11.50 to some worthy charity. Just do not lead to the propagation of future Joe Nichol films. McSuck! Expand
  38. ErickL
    May 26, 2009
    3
    Incredibly poor story, full of holes and minimal characterization. Does the action make up for it? Nope. A hallmark of the Terminator series is 'show me something I haven't seen before'. This movie not only fails to do that, it doesn't even try. Competent effects gone to waste. PG-13 rating means it lacks the visceral thrills or terror inherent to the franchise. Inept Incredibly poor story, full of holes and minimal characterization. Does the action make up for it? Nope. A hallmark of the Terminator series is 'show me something I haven't seen before'. This movie not only fails to do that, it doesn't even try. Competent effects gone to waste. PG-13 rating means it lacks the visceral thrills or terror inherent to the franchise. Inept Terminators are apparantly unable to really kill anything...they just rought you up a little. Audiences looking for epic battle sequences between the armies of the humans and machines will be disappointed, as all of the conflicts here are small scale, cliched, and ripped off from previous installments (another factory fight? Really) and other movies. A huge disappointment, the weakest of the Terminator films by far, and a sad way to cap off the franchise. Expand
  39. AlexP
    May 29, 2009
    3
    This movie was bad right from the title sequence. There was never any connection to the characters, so I found myself entirely disinterested in the action sequences. There was no story, and the only story presented felt like a friend pausing the movie to tell me what happened in T1 and T2. It's pretty apparent that McG saw the earlier movies as having done his work for him, and all This movie was bad right from the title sequence. There was never any connection to the characters, so I found myself entirely disinterested in the action sequences. There was no story, and the only story presented felt like a friend pausing the movie to tell me what happened in T1 and T2. It's pretty apparent that McG saw the earlier movies as having done his work for him, and all he had to do was "bring it home." That is lazy directing and a waste of my time. I would have left the theater if I hadn't watched T2 over 100 times in my childhood, knowing I would have to see this movie eventually. Anyone who gives this movie a high score is astroturfing. Expand
  40. CathyW
    May 29, 2009
    3
    I completely agree with Jose Q's comments...spot on! I wanted to see this movie, but I wasn't dying to see it. I really liked the first two movies, but had fallen asleep during the third. So to my surprise about 2/3 of the way through this movie, I actually thought to myself "This is really quite good. It FEELS like a stand alone movie or an original." I don't normally have I completely agree with Jose Q's comments...spot on! I wanted to see this movie, but I wasn't dying to see it. I really liked the first two movies, but had fallen asleep during the third. So to my surprise about 2/3 of the way through this movie, I actually thought to myself "This is really quite good. It FEELS like a stand alone movie or an original." I don't normally have those types of revelations during movies, so it's a testament to how much I was enjoying this one (especially after my utter disappointment with Star Trek, I was almost anticipating disappointment with this one). Unfortunately within 15 - 20 minutes of having these "good movie" thoughts...the retarded ending began. SPOLIER ALERT: When Christian Bale was trying to shock Marcus back to life (and it had definitely stopped being the character John Conners at that point for me, all I was seeing was bad acting), I was already groaning in disgust. Then when they were basically doing an open heart transplant in the field, I started feeling nauseous due to the ridiculousness. By the time the nuclear bomb was detonated (with resulting EMP) which did not bring their helicopter down, I was comatose. I gave it a 3 because I really enjoyed the first 2/3 of the movie, but the ending totally ruined it. I also found it irritating that any plot issues or back-story conflicts were summarily resolved by implying that the timeline had changed because of the actions of the characters in the previous movies. While it is true that the timeline would be different, the Expand
  41. JerryB
    Jun 11, 2009
    2
    If you are a true fan of the original Terminator films and actually care about the sequels keeping true to the originals you wont like this one. Yea it was good for the action but nothing else. CHRISTIAN BALE IS A OVERACTOR!!!!
  42. AdamD
    Jun 18, 2009
    2
    Generally horrible. A few cool special effects that are not cool enough to redeem the film. Hideous writing: for example, consider this...in each Terminator film, the machines have attempted to kill John Connor on sight. In this film, the machines identify him as John Connor, and conveniently neglect to kill him. Instead they imprison him, which, of course, gives the good guys time to Generally horrible. A few cool special effects that are not cool enough to redeem the film. Hideous writing: for example, consider this...in each Terminator film, the machines have attempted to kill John Connor on sight. In this film, the machines identify him as John Connor, and conveniently neglect to kill him. Instead they imprison him, which, of course, gives the good guys time to rescue him. Pretty much negates just about everything that happened in the first three films. Jeez. Expand
  43. May 15, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't be back! This movie had a cool effects bit, but the main character is a terminator himself! You'd figure he'd be under skynet control! And you'd think that the not being hungry or not felling anything would give something away! Expand
  44. Dec 27, 2011
    1
    "Terminator: Salvation" One Line Review! "D"

    This has to be one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Despite having a decent cast and ok acting, the plot was horrible, the dialogue was atrocious and for a movie chock full of machine guns and robots, it was boring as heck. D.
  45. Aug 2, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A Schwarzenegger-less disappointment. Terminate it, because really, it makes most sense that RISE OF THE MACHINES would be the final movie (making it a trilogy)--especially with the ending it has. Expand
  46. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was not good. At all. Open heart surgery in the desert? Who? Who does that? Killing off the ONLY human (he wasn't actually human) character in the movie? Why? He was the only one with redeeming qualities. YOU DON'T GIVE ARNOLD A GUN to kill your primary targetg!? Instead you ask him to throw the herald of your demise around as softly as possible so that he doesn't die from internal bleeding, a severe concussion, etc etc.

    Terminator:Salvation was a reminder that the future cannot be changed, John Connor cannot die until his time, and everything else in between doesn't matter. That is how this movie was treated. The Skynet A.I. lays such a bad plan to capture or eliminate John Conner, that I almost passed out from anguish. John Connor, time and time again, uses his "protected child" mentality to wade into the line of fire and get everyone but himself killed. He will stop at nothing, including alerting Skynet to the location of his base of operations. He wants Sam Worthington dead the half Terminator (...). No amount of precious resources or valuable logic will get in HIS way. Once thought of as a brilliant strategist, Chistian Bale's portrayal of John Conner leaves him as nothing more than a screaming child trying to get their parents attention.
    Expand
  47. Mar 30, 2012
    2
    This movie needs to be terminated. Without Arnold this series has no point in watching. A truly ugly film with a setting that doesn't even look like earth. The whole movie was just a bunch of dreadful noisy crap with terrible acting all around.
  48. Dec 12, 2013
    3
    A CG Arnie goes to show how this film lacks the heart of the originals, and covers it up with special effects. The problem is it gives the unique atmosphere that worked in the earlier ones a blockbuster twist, losing it completely.
  49. Feb 23, 2014
    0
    McG just killed the Terminator franchise, **** him, nothing that made the first great is here, the action is just like Transformers, **** is all over your face, there is no Arnold, or even a menacing villain like the T-1000 from T2, no just get an endless **** storm of lame CGI “terminators", the script couldn't be more cliched, the characters are bland, Christian Bale doesn't have any ofMcG just killed the Terminator franchise, **** him, nothing that made the first great is here, the action is just like Transformers, **** is all over your face, there is no Arnold, or even a menacing villain like the T-1000 from T2, no just get an endless **** storm of lame CGI “terminators", the script couldn't be more cliched, the characters are bland, Christian Bale doesn't have any of the charm that John Connor had in T2 instead he just becomes a clichéd character, who has no chemistry with anybody, the same goes for Sam Worthington, the whole movie just felt pointless, and a shameless attempt to cash in the Terminator franchise without putting any effort, which at least Terminator 3 had some effort this piece of **** however didn't. Expand
  50. johnm
    Jan 4, 2010
    1
    T1 was great but the sequels have gotten progressively worse. This was dreadful schlock. The terminators showed more acting skills than Bale and Worthington. This was a movie devoid of any content, plot, sense, suspense or meaning. The ending is a gimmick. The giant terminator was good though.
  51. DanS
    May 21, 2009
    1
    30 min in the movie you ask your self WTF. then every 5 min after thatt you think the same until to have to say it out load. this was resident evil and the matrix with a little terminator in it. his was the first time in the terminator movies i wanted john conor to die so that thier could be no more. the writers and director should be the ones are terminated.
  52. TD.
    May 22, 2009
    2
    I would not go see this movie if you paid my way. As far as I am concerned, Christian Bale has been blacklisted from my great actors list. Greatness comes from how you live your life and treat others. The guy is a dickhead. On another note, I'm not that interested in a movie where the plot is too easy to figure out. You would have thought that he would have picked a better movie if I would not go see this movie if you paid my way. As far as I am concerned, Christian Bale has been blacklisted from my great actors list. Greatness comes from how you live your life and treat others. The guy is a dickhead. On another note, I'm not that interested in a movie where the plot is too easy to figure out. You would have thought that he would have picked a better movie if he was sooo great. Expand
  53. RCR
    May 26, 2009
    0
    The movie was simply bad, but the end was so d-chill inducing it easily earns a 0. The director, a thinking-man's Michael Bay, has managed to fill 2 hours worth of cinema with neither a single character that extends past a two dimensional melodramatic archetype, nor a story that makes sense on any level above "Gee whiz, a robot!" Yeah, it wasn't for me.
  54. DeanB.
    May 21, 2009
    1
    A very bland, average and dull movie.
  55. MarianaD.
    May 21, 2009
    2
    A lot of nonsense. Early in the movie (on the first helicopter crash) he does NOT put his seatbelt on and then when it crashes upside down... he just takes it off as it saves his life?? This and other logic-defying mistakes make it DUMB compared to the previous Terminator films. Also, Connor's girl in the movie is just blah. A nice little goodie-good girl matched up with the most A lot of nonsense. Early in the movie (on the first helicopter crash) he does NOT put his seatbelt on and then when it crashes upside down... he just takes it off as it saves his life?? This and other logic-defying mistakes make it DUMB compared to the previous Terminator films. Also, Connor's girl in the movie is just blah. A nice little goodie-good girl matched up with the most rebellious soulless warrior alive?. That's nonsense if you ask me. Then, a successful heart transplant made in a filthy war camp? with what? post-apocalyptic spoons? ... you just need to have half a brain to understand that's just beyond absurd. I'd like it better if they didn't insult my intelligence that much. Expand
  56. DavidK.
    May 21, 2009
    1
    whoever thought McEffingG could direcct a movie like this should be producing high school musicals, or musicals like at the end of The Ringer.
  57. AlfredW.
    May 21, 2009
    1
    I thought Transformers was too crazy, but by comparison, Terminator is miserable, oppressive, as if McG just wanted to turn an Animatrix short into a full feature. Bad dialog and Bale continues his fossilization. Now the important question is, Do we get to yell at Bale for making crap?
  58. DavidS.
    May 22, 2009
    2
    Almost no story and what there is ranges from confusing to nonsensical. Basically there is no character development, so you never make any emotional connection to the film. Noisy action sequences pad out the time to two hours but border on irrelevant due to the lack of connection with any real story or characters.
  59. AndrewM.
    May 22, 2009
    1
    Implausible- even for a sci-fi action adventure it was utterly ridiculous. To call this piece of garbage an abortion of the franchises credibility would be kind. It gets a one only for wasted potential.
  60. BobH.
    May 23, 2009
    0
    Just awful as there are no words to describe how pathetic this flick was. No memorable lines, no chemistry, no nothing. There were more plot holes than swiss cheese. And this John Connor takes a licking and keeps on ticking. Ridiculous and tedious. Boring!
  61. Gary
    May 24, 2009
    0
    Terrible! Just CGI without any dialogue. You feel nothing for any of the characters. John Connor by the brutality of Judgment Day (C. Bale) has been reduced to a robotic warrior without emotions. The TV series on Fox was better than this. The end of the franchise.
  62. TheWhiskeyMan
    May 27, 2009
    0
    Shoot em up western taking place in the year 2018. No plot, no story, no chemistry, no nothing. Awful.
  63. BrianS
    May 28, 2009
    0
    A good movie if you're able to deactivate all of your brain cells beforehand. I expected it to be dumb, and this was below expectations. Furthermore, Christian Bale had his famous tirade because his "acting" was interrupted during filming for this?? Hah! Ive never seen worse melodrama from an actor that I even semi-respected. Awful!
  64. kgm
    Jun 12, 2009
    1
    Grim reimagining of the Terminator story
  65. Aegis
    Dec 5, 2009
    0
    I haven't read the other comments so I don't know if anyone else has mentioned this, but the entire movie could have ended when the machines captured Kyle Reese right? Because according to the first movie, and the plot of this movie, he has to go back in time to become Johns father. It's not even stuff only a fan would notice, it's a huge plot point that gets totally I haven't read the other comments so I don't know if anyone else has mentioned this, but the entire movie could have ended when the machines captured Kyle Reese right? Because according to the first movie, and the plot of this movie, he has to go back in time to become Johns father. It's not even stuff only a fan would notice, it's a huge plot point that gets totally overlooked, and make the second half of the movie completely superfluous. Expand
  66. KrisC.
    May 24, 2009
    2
    They have really messed up with terminator. They have lost the essence that made the series. Rip-offs from transformer and mad max series make this movie seem woefully in-adequate. No points of humor were ever made, no intrigue, no caring for the characters, no need to wonder how this movie might turn out, it was just painful
  67. AndrewC
    May 31, 2009
    0
    The bastard child of the once great Terminator series.
  68. AlexH
    Jun 12, 2009
    0
    Terminator Salvation demonstrates what our centuries cinema is coming to, and the future for the cinema doesn't look to bright. Salvation is flat-out awful, except for it's visual effects and cinematography, thats the only thing holding my review back from a horrendous 0. Like a 1 isn't bad enough.
  69. jackson
    Jun 14, 2009
    0
    A total abomination. Just horrible with poor acting and a script that is less than a High School play. Someone put this tired franchise out of its misery.
  70. Jul 1, 2011
    2
    This was a dissappointment and the worst, by a long shot, of the series. Terrible, poorly written screenplay. Cheesy characters, and one of silliest endings I've seen. This one is loser in what had been one of my favorite sci-fi movies series. I hope the people involved in this never make another movie.
  71. Jun 29, 2015
    3
    The weakest output from the Terminator franchise, "Terminator Salvation" is an exhaustingly boring, poorly paced and un-interestingly plotted action film that doesn't appreciate the efforts of its charismatic cast.
  72. Jan 26, 2015
    3
    Terminator Salvation is what nearly killed the franchise forever. Unlike T1 and T2, this movie is entirely soulless and has no heart or likability to the characters, who come across as bland and uninteresting. Not to mention, it directly contradicts things that have been firmly established in Terminator lore. For example, why the heck is John Connor, the LEADER of the human resistance andTerminator Salvation is what nearly killed the franchise forever. Unlike T1 and T2, this movie is entirely soulless and has no heart or likability to the characters, who come across as bland and uninteresting. Not to mention, it directly contradicts things that have been firmly established in Terminator lore. For example, why the heck is John Connor, the LEADER of the human resistance and mankind's last hope, taking ORDERS from some random douchebag??? In addition, at one point, a T-800, which was DESTROYED once covered in molten metal, rises up after having a huge vat of what is likely molten steel dumped all over it and starts chasing after John again with no negative repercussions. Also, Christian Bale gave in this movie apparently what was him method acting from The Dark Knight. In other words, he was almost like a gruff sounding Keanu Reeves. And Sam Worthington. He was decent in Avatar. In this, not so much.

    3.8/10.
    Expand
  73. Apr 23, 2015
    3
    Let's talk about names. Character names, to be specific. As much of a rabid fan of the first two Terminator films as I am, I have always been bewildered by James Cameron's inexplicable saddling of the potential savior of all mankind with the brown-envelope-bland moniker of "John Connor." It's akin to calling Bruce Wayne "Tom Smith" or having to refer to Arnold Schwarzenegger (now there's aLet's talk about names. Character names, to be specific. As much of a rabid fan of the first two Terminator films as I am, I have always been bewildered by James Cameron's inexplicable saddling of the potential savior of all mankind with the brown-envelope-bland moniker of "John Connor." It's akin to calling Bruce Wayne "Tom Smith" or having to refer to Arnold Schwarzenegger (now there's a name for you) as "Governor Arnold **** There's zero zip, nada panache; it just doesn't have the requisite hero ring to it. John Connor sounds like the name of a high school gym teacher. The wiry, wily Connor (Bale), who, in this equally ill-titled Terminator Salvation, is on a mission to locate and protect the life of his future father, Kyle Reese (Yelchin), is a model of post-nuclear industriousness, commanding a truly ragtag global resistance (via shortwave radio) against the self-aware machines of Skynet and their killer cyborgs, the Terminators. (At this point in the apocalyptic, time-traveling, man vs. machine mythos of the franchise, the year is 2018, and the parent is roughly half his son's age.) Connor has his grimy mitts full. But the name thing still rankles – and it can be extended to the director of Terminator Salvation: McG. The nickname (I assume it is a nickname) smacks of unintentional, comic mediocrity, as in McDonald's, McJob, McHammer, et al. McG previously helmed the wiseass-fun Charlie’s Angels in 2000 and hasn't done anything for my adrenaline centers since then. He stages action sequences with grand aplomb, though, and in this, at least, Terminator Salvation is worth its admission price … but only just (and it'll help if you slam a few sucrose-infused Apocalyptic Ice Slurpees – the film's tie-in with the venerable 7-Eleven summertime sugar bomb – in advance of taking your seat. There's a great sequence – the only great sequence, come to think of it – wherein a hulking, three-story, Transformer-esque Terminator tears apart an abandoned roadside gas station (and, ha-ha, former 7-Eleven) that generates some real frisson. But it's pure CGI, and when the dust fades, it still can't hold a candle to the stop-motion and very endearing goofiness of Stuart Gordon's 1990 Robot Jox. (And it never even comes close to the truly unforgettable sequence in Stanley Kramer's It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World in which an enraged Jonathan Winters demolishes a very similar human outpost while trying to terminate Phil Silvers and Buddy Hackett. Now that's entertainment.) Terminator Salvation, on the other, shinier, more metallic, and thus less human hand, is terrifically dull, full of ear-searing sound design and much yakkity-yakking about the fate of humanity but entirely lacking any sort of soul or sense of good old summer matinee fun. The film is just like its machines, which, by the end of McG's McBlockbuster deserve to win their war against humanity, if only to curtail, once and for all, uninspired and inhumanly mechanistic filmmaking such as this. Expand
  74. Feb 3, 2016
    2
    Whoever came up with this idea has better get fired right now. No Arnold Schwarzenegger or even the charming from the first two movies. Ultimately the weakest installment in the franchise.
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 4, 2015
    60
    Director McG proves perfectly adept at blowing things up in interesting ways, but there's not so much acting here as there is yelling at different volumes.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 4, 2015
    60
    Terminator Salvation is one of the most visually impressive films in the series. The action is non-stop and the look borders on dazzling.... But ironically for a series that's supposed to be about an embattled humanity struggling against those who lack it, there isn't an emotional moment in this.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 4, 2015
    50
    Terminator Salvation is a tale told idiotically, full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.