User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 561 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 24, 2010
    8
    first things first i have to bring this up, why is Christian Bale acting like hes still in batman? lol.. GOOD: the action sequence, the acting, the setting, they picked perfect actors and the robot effects was amazing

    BAD: the story was weak, they focused way to much on this guy named Marcus when they should be focusing on the War Leader John Connor.. when terminator 5 releases make sure
    first things first i have to bring this up, why is Christian Bale acting like hes still in batman? lol.. GOOD: the action sequence, the acting, the setting, they picked perfect actors and the robot effects was amazing

    BAD:
    the story was weak, they focused way to much on this guy named Marcus when they should be focusing on the War Leader John Connor.. when terminator 5 releases make sure to give it a stronger story please
    Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While I didn't think this movie was as good as the first two, I thought it was way better than the 3rd film. The acting was great, the story was well told and tied into the story arc well, and the effects were incredible. It really is impressive to watch all four films over a short period of time. You really appreciate how far the technology has come. I thought they did a great job with the setting and overall feel of the environment. I also thought that the concept of Sam Worthington's character was really interesting and the "Arnie" cameo was pretty sweet. There were some things that I wasn't a fan of however. I thought they tried to add too many new little gizmos for Skynet. I also thought the ending seemed a bit weak and almost like an afterthought. They have paraded around the concept through the entire series of your "fate" not being set and yet the series is always determined on never wavering from the future laid forth in past films. While the argument can be made for that logic, it can also be made countering it. Lastly, while I thought the casting for Kyle Reese was fantastic, I thought having Bryce Dallas Howard play the role of Kate Connor was a terrible idea. Not only does she look nothing like Claire Danes but she also looks way too young. The timing just doesn't feel authentic at all. Shoot, they could've just used Claire Danes and kept the continuity completely. I doubt she was too busy since she hasn't really been doing anything major. Also, while she would still be young, at least she's a bit older than Howard is and they could've always made her look a little more aged. If you can make a robot look like the spitting image of Arnie, I don't think adding a decade or so to Claire Danes would've been too much of a challenge. Overall though, this was a very good movie and definitely fit into the series well. While they have yet to really show why John Connor is a threat in the first place or to show the resistance make even a dent in Skynet, they at least hinted towards a possible light to end the darkness with the frequency concept. I don't know if they're ever going to make a fifth film or even reboot the franchise which seems to have become the rage these days but if they do neither, at least we can more or less figure out how things unfold from here. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    GOOD: The main cast for the most part do a terrific job and you can really feel the sense of dread they were going for. BAD: All of the supporting cast (except Michael Ironside) just seem bored and half asleep most of the time. GOOD: Sam Worrthington is great in the lead role as Marcus. Bad: Christian Bale's John Connor is a generic one dimensional soilder. GOOD: The plot is really greatGOOD: The main cast for the most part do a terrific job and you can really feel the sense of dread they were going for. BAD: All of the supporting cast (except Michael Ironside) just seem bored and half asleep most of the time. GOOD: Sam Worrthington is great in the lead role as Marcus. Bad: Christian Bale's John Connor is a generic one dimensional soilder. GOOD: The plot is really great and interesting. Bad: The subplot of the frequency that can shut down Terminators doesn't really go anywhere. GOOD: The action scenes and effects all look and sound great. BAD: The final battle is a bit lackluster Expand
  4. FeliciaN.
    May 23, 2009
    8
    I don't know why people have such issues with this movie. It gave us exactly what it advertised, a glimpse of the war we've heard so much about. And it gave us something new that the other movies didn't tell us. The action was good, the plot was good, what's the problem? *SPOILER* I'm a bit miffed that they killed off Marcus. I LIKED that guy, what an awesome I don't know why people have such issues with this movie. It gave us exactly what it advertised, a glimpse of the war we've heard so much about. And it gave us something new that the other movies didn't tell us. The action was good, the plot was good, what's the problem? *SPOILER* I'm a bit miffed that they killed off Marcus. I LIKED that guy, what an awesome addition to the resistance! Too many movies have done this type of sacrificial story ending for it to strike me as anything but overdone and convenient. It was poignant the first few times, but now it's just cliche. And he was so cool! Okay, I'm done. Expand
  5. PaulW
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    As a huge of the first terminator film, I thought that T2 was too family friendly and moved away from the real plot. T3 although average set the scene for T4 which was innovative, clever, told a brilliant story, and paired Bale and Sam Worthington together who were brilliant.
  6. WinstonL
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Sam Worthington is on my Oscar-watch!
  7. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Terminator Salvation is a fantastic action movie. One of the best of the series. The only downside? Sam Worthington. The guy just can't keep a steady American accent. Everything else was beautiful. The cinematography, the action sequences, the acting, etc.
  8. BrianS
    May 29, 2009
    10
    This movie clearly shows the relentless nature of the machines and the struggle of the surviving remnants of humakind against them. The movie is darker and more serious because judgement day was not prevented and the war against the machines is in full swing.
    Fear the rise of the machines.
  9. ScottJ
    Jun 1, 2009
    8
    Good action, better than T3 but story and character development weaker than expected. I also noticed they cut the part when Christian Bale was explaining why the machines were taking human prisoners for "cloning human tissue" that was in the previews! WTF? Did they release 2 different versions of the same movie?
  10. GMan
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    Really good, does exactly what it says on the tin, ignore the critics it was never going to be the next Godfather! Its a great action adventure flick!
  11. KyleR
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    I wasn't expecting to see so many bad thing's said about what i consider one of the better movies of 2009. I really enjoyed this movie acting, effect and plot. The replay value could be better, trying to figure out what the deal was the guy with from the past was interesting. Very nice special effects. I enjoyed this over GI Joe and Star Trek. Obviously a lot of people see this I wasn't expecting to see so many bad thing's said about what i consider one of the better movies of 2009. I really enjoyed this movie acting, effect and plot. The replay value could be better, trying to figure out what the deal was the guy with from the past was interesting. Very nice special effects. I enjoyed this over GI Joe and Star Trek. Obviously a lot of people see this movie as a failure but im very shocked at just how many and the 52 doesn't do this justice IMO. Expand
  12. scottv
    Jan 9, 2010
    8
    Awesome action pretty much from start to finish, a wide variety of machines, and a good story line. I'm surprised this movie did not get much better reviews. I think this was the best terminator films since the original. Several of the action scenes reminded me of the first time that I saw the "Road Warrior" which is a very good thing. Lots of fun and only brief moments without Awesome action pretty much from start to finish, a wide variety of machines, and a good story line. I'm surprised this movie did not get much better reviews. I think this was the best terminator films since the original. Several of the action scenes reminded me of the first time that I saw the "Road Warrior" which is a very good thing. Lots of fun and only brief moments without action, most of which are very cool. Many of these reviews are way to critical of the script, are any of the terminator films really all that complicated, deep, or realistic? No they are not, so lighten up and enjoy it like you would an Indiana Jones movie for goodness sake! Expand
  13. JackS.
    May 21, 2009
    10
    I checked it out about two hours ago...and what i can say IT WAS AWESOME. Entertaining and good action flick. Looking rewarding to terminator 5
  14. PaulC.
    May 21, 2009
    9
    This was a legitimate stand alone sci-fi summer blockbuster. It was drastically different from the feel of all the others in the series, but maintained many of the important story lines. If you watch the other three movies and the T:SCC, this integrated all prior plots along with providing some interesting explanations for outstanding issues. While the "professional" reviewers may be This was a legitimate stand alone sci-fi summer blockbuster. It was drastically different from the feel of all the others in the series, but maintained many of the important story lines. If you watch the other three movies and the T:SCC, this integrated all prior plots along with providing some interesting explanations for outstanding issues. While the "professional" reviewers may be judging it based on how it is not the same as prior versions or based on the absence of Arrrrrrnold, I can tell you that not one person leaving the theater last night didn't have a smile on their face or a positive thing to say about this movie. Expand
  15. SeanE.
    May 22, 2009
    9
    Great action from start to finish. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. Visual effects are stunning and you'd swear it was real! Looking forward to more from this post-apocalyptic world. Let's finally see how the war ends!
  16. JohnM.
    May 22, 2009
    10
    Real fans of the franchise will find this installment exhilarating. Excellent performances by Bale and Worthington, as well as excellent sound design, and visual effects. The narrative, like all great narratives, is simple and to the point. Terminator Salvation expands the Terminator mythology, asks interesting questions about the machine/human dichotomy, and gives us an entertaining Real fans of the franchise will find this installment exhilarating. Excellent performances by Bale and Worthington, as well as excellent sound design, and visual effects. The narrative, like all great narratives, is simple and to the point. Terminator Salvation expands the Terminator mythology, asks interesting questions about the machine/human dichotomy, and gives us an entertaining picture of a post-apocalyptic world ruled by robots. As for those critics who have said this movie isn't "fun enough," or that it is "too dark," I can only guess that they were not real fans of the original. After all, it is not like 1984's The Terminator was a comedy!! Anyways, highly recommended! Expand
  17. DagwoodL.
    May 22, 2009
    8
    HELL YEAH! This movie was so badass, I don't give a damn if it was corny and cliche'd. It was Christian Bale doing the awesome things he does, only as John Connor, one of the most epic sci fi characters of all time. Marcus Wright is an effing brute, what a fantastic character. The movie was great, don't listen to the naysayers. 2009 is going to be one damn good year for HELL YEAH! This movie was so badass, I don't give a damn if it was corny and cliche'd. It was Christian Bale doing the awesome things he does, only as John Connor, one of the most epic sci fi characters of all time. Marcus Wright is an effing brute, what a fantastic character. The movie was great, don't listen to the naysayers. 2009 is going to be one damn good year for movies, this is one damn good start. Expand
  18. John
    May 22, 2009
    7
    Don't want to bash this film, on par with T3, a mix of Matrix/Transformers/Robocop. If you like those types of movies then you will like T4.
  19. JnK.
    May 22, 2009
    10
    I became completely absorbed in the action and SFX. I thought the pacing was done well, since it gave some albeit "bleak" moments of rest. I found myself saying "awesome!" throughout, and Sam Worthington really took the forefront. Being well versed in Terminator mythos, it's hard to tell if non-Terminator audiences will easily grasp the main concepts of the story.
  20. WillH.
    May 23, 2009
    10
    Damn awesome is the only way to describe this move. If you are a fan of the Terminator franchise, this is a must see.
  21. DonJ.
    May 23, 2009
    10
    It was almost as good as T2... excited for the next ones... compare it to batman begins. just pretend that T3 never happened.
  22. NicholasB.
    May 24, 2009
    9
    An amazing movie. I wish some things were more elaborated on than others. Some interesting elements were thrown in. Has amazing action sequences. The story is kind of set in stone from the previous films that pretty much say what is to come. But ultimately the results are satisfying for those looking for a view at John Conner's war.
  23. ChrisH.
    May 24, 2009
    10
    It angers me that this movie has had such bad reviews. Although I admit, not as good as the first 2, but saying that it's worse than the 3rd is just insane! T4 is a creative new way to show this amazing robotic world. Two thumbs up.
  24. Anonymous
    May 31, 2009
    9
    This is great! I didn't care what critics said! Super and action packed.
  25. ChrisD
    Jun 11, 2009
    8
    Highly enjoyable sequel that is pure popcorn fun!
  26. RicusS
    Jun 12, 2009
    7
    I enjoyed this movie more than what was the train wreck of the previous one. Bale as the prophet saving mankind plays the role completely understated. Knowing you will do something and doing that thing comes across in this movie as a rather hard choice to live by. Overall I definitely enjoyed it more than 3.
  27. ChrisB
    Jun 2, 2009
    7
    The movie was good, and it progressed the underlying story arc of the series well, but you could tell that the creators really wanted to stick with the original ending that was leaked a few months back, and the one that they ended up with felt really forced and out of place. It was like they got the word from the studio execs at some point that they had to change the ending, but they The movie was good, and it progressed the underlying story arc of the series well, but you could tell that the creators really wanted to stick with the original ending that was leaked a few months back, and the one that they ended up with felt really forced and out of place. It was like they got the word from the studio execs at some point that they had to change the ending, but they didn't really want to rewrite the last 20 minutes of the film, so they just stuck in the thing about the heart, and it didn't really make a lot of sense. Basically, you can tell that the ending that the director and head writers really wanted, or perhaps had originally intended, didn't make it into the film. Let's hope that somehow it ends up on the DVD. Expand
  28. ThorO
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    I loved this movie, personally I liked it even better than Star Trek because of the darker plot.
  29. CrispianB
    Jun 4, 2009
    9
    I really don't understand where all the negative criticism has come from as Terminator Salvation is a very enjoyable and entertaining popcorn movie. The effects are some of the best I have ever seen - MCG gives Michael Bay a run for his money when it comes to blowing stuff up. The first person point of view helicopter crash set piece is scarily realistic and the terminator motorbikes I really don't understand where all the negative criticism has come from as Terminator Salvation is a very enjoyable and entertaining popcorn movie. The effects are some of the best I have ever seen - MCG gives Michael Bay a run for his money when it comes to blowing stuff up. The first person point of view helicopter crash set piece is scarily realistic and the terminator motorbikes are superb. The only thing that disappointed me was the soundtrack as I love the original theme and that wasn't included. Ignore all the negative crap - I saw Star Trek the other week and this is as good if not a better summer blockbuster. Expand
  30. Splicer
    Jun 5, 2009
    7
    The 3rd best terminator movie.Where was the grim future shown in T1 and T2?Whoever decided McG would direct should be terminated.
  31. NeilR
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    This was the best sci-fi movie I've seen since the last Star Wars movie. It is much better than the most recent Star Trek reboot (and I am a huge Star Trek fan).
  32. DavidD
    Jun 8, 2009
    8
    I am a HUGE Terminator fan. Loved the first 3! I went into this with low expectations since so many people were so-so about it. I came out liking it. Personally, I do see what all the complaining is all about with the plot holes in the last 1/3 of the movie. I did wish they did that a little different and that is why I am giving this a 8. The one thing I don't understand is why I am a HUGE Terminator fan. Loved the first 3! I went into this with low expectations since so many people were so-so about it. I came out liking it. Personally, I do see what all the complaining is all about with the plot holes in the last 1/3 of the movie. I did wish they did that a little different and that is why I am giving this a 8. The one thing I don't understand is why people are ragging on the acting. I thought for the most part everyone did a great job. Expand
  33. jimmyw
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Don't be put off by the critics, Its just there job to act like spoiled little girls. I think most of them are waiting around for God himself the make a movie. Terminator 4 is one of the best action movies of our time. The acting was fantastic. It had a lot to do because T3 let the hole series down. The story was spot on. The sound was amazing really brings you back to T2.
  34. RayE.
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    Great Terminator movie it was what terminator is dont expect it to be the dark knight! Im Am a hugeee fan of T1 and T2 and even T3 was ok Incredible action scenes should get at least a 5 or 6 from people, giving this movie a 1 or 0 is insanity Marcus is a awesome new character maybe as good as arnold in the first 2 and please stop crapping on T3 looking back t3 was decent and the tx had Great Terminator movie it was what terminator is dont expect it to be the dark knight! Im Am a hugeee fan of T1 and T2 and even T3 was ok Incredible action scenes should get at least a 5 or 6 from people, giving this movie a 1 or 0 is insanity Marcus is a awesome new character maybe as good as arnold in the first 2 and please stop crapping on T3 looking back t3 was decent and the tx had amazing offensive weapons and was cool T4 was much better than T3 though I think once the directors cut of this comes we will see more blood and it will make the film even better its sad when i see people actually like the TSCC tv series more than the movies 3 or 4 the show teased john loving a Skynet girl terminator WTF??? this is the real john in the film period. in fact a fair amount of people giving this such low scores are probably just upset the show was canceled and that wb made the film and gave up on the show. Expand
  35. JS
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    Someone besides James Cameron can do a Terminator movie, it seems. The acting was great all around. I went in expecting bad acting and absent plot, like the last film, but was totally surprised. It wasn't perfect, some scenes were rather unrealistic and put in for flashiness. The characters seem to rely mostly on luck than skill to survive. This is a big step ahead, considering Someone besides James Cameron can do a Terminator movie, it seems. The acting was great all around. I went in expecting bad acting and absent plot, like the last film, but was totally surprised. It wasn't perfect, some scenes were rather unrealistic and put in for flashiness. The characters seem to rely mostly on luck than skill to survive. This is a big step ahead, considering Terminator 3 had one action scene after another without any purpose. The writers and director must have thoroughly studied John Connor and Kyle Reese throughout the series. Those familiar with the series will almost think that Bale has been playing Connor all along. The kid playing Reese seems to have a lot of the behavior of John Connor in Terminator 2. There's a lot of homages for the fans, I quite enjoyed that. The plot flowed smoothly, with a few holes, and tied some up at the end. Skynet doesn't seem nearly devious enough in this film, although, at the end, its rather ingenious when you think about it. But they certainly defeated Skynet too easily. There's no reason this should have gotten bad ratings; it certainly meets the quality of a terminator film. Perhaps not as good as the first or second movies, but still only a step down from them. That's much, much better than can be expected in this era of cinematic recession. Expand
  36. BradO
    Dec 7, 2009
    8
    While developing the back story further and not having obvious day / night inconsistencies would have been nice it's substantially better than Terminator: Rise of The Machines but no where near James Cameron's quality of Terminator or T2: Juddgement day. While it's not perfect I enjoyed the action packed romp of Terminator Salvation and would love to see more!
  37. Dan
    May 21, 2009
    8
    It was pretty good, wouldn't read to much into the score on metacritic seeing how bad a score T2 actually got. For a Terminator fan this is a must see.
  38. TomS.
    May 21, 2009
    10
    Saw the movie today and loved it. Obviously the critics are a bunch of blowhards for their mediocre reviews. The main complaints I've read are that the material is too dark and depressing, and that John Connor has no personality. First of all, a post-nuclear earth would not be all bright and cheery. And second of all, why wouldn't John Conner be drained of emotion after all the Saw the movie today and loved it. Obviously the critics are a bunch of blowhards for their mediocre reviews. The main complaints I've read are that the material is too dark and depressing, and that John Connor has no personality. First of all, a post-nuclear earth would not be all bright and cheery. And second of all, why wouldn't John Conner be drained of emotion after all the crap he's been through? I wouldn't be a comedian either if I'd been hunted by killing machines my entire life. Granted, he had some humor in T2, but that was long ago. Anyway, the movie was a great summer popcorn movie with lots of action. Can't wait for the next one. Expand
  39. ChaseAaronN.
    May 21, 2009
    8
    The action sequences were awesome. The only bad thing was the lack of integrated "Story effects". But who the hell goes to a terminator movie looking for "integrated story effects".
  40. JimiA.
    May 21, 2009
    8
    Better than the 3rd. Not as good as the first 2.
  41. MikeH.
    May 21, 2009
    10
    Saw it today, took my kids and my mother(seemed fair to take moms too considering she took me to see 1 and 2 as a kid, and she loves the franchise too) We loved it, awesome movie. I only noticed one really bad editing spot, where the scenes had no fluid transition. It was right after Marcus was asked to round up stuff for a fire. There was no legit transition from that scene to the chick Saw it today, took my kids and my mother(seemed fair to take moms too considering she took me to see 1 and 2 as a kid, and she loves the franchise too) We loved it, awesome movie. I only noticed one really bad editing spot, where the scenes had no fluid transition. It was right after Marcus was asked to round up stuff for a fire. There was no legit transition from that scene to the chick versus hick rape fest. Other then that, just a awesome movie, completely. This is coming from a big fan of the first 2 films, having the films on both Laserdisc and DVD, along with T3 on dvd, figures, ect. For me this movie delivered completely. I cant even imagine how awesome a dir. cut home release will be. Expand
  42. ArondaN.
    May 21, 2009
    7
    Visuals were good, and Worthington was awesome.
  43. StephenS.
    May 21, 2009
    9
    This movie rides on the plot/character development of the first three films and doesn't add much to it. To anyone not familiar with them (including T3) much of Salvation will probably seem esoteric and forgettable. This movie is for those who have grown up watching the franchise and anticipated each new release over the last 25 years. It is exactly the kind of Terminator I've This movie rides on the plot/character development of the first three films and doesn't add much to it. To anyone not familiar with them (including T3) much of Salvation will probably seem esoteric and forgettable. This movie is for those who have grown up watching the franchise and anticipated each new release over the last 25 years. It is exactly the kind of Terminator I've been waiting for since watching the flash forward scenes from the first two. Pure non-stop man vs. machine action for two hours; personally I wanted more. Expand
  44. MikeB.
    May 22, 2009
    10
    Perfect summer movie. Sure, not up to the first two, but way better than the third. Good action, lots of robots blowing stuff up. know what else you'd want.
  45. DerekF.
    May 22, 2009
    8
    What a great start for a new trilogy. Anyone going in wanting a terminator going back in time to kill or or protect someone then you will hate this movie. This is what Reese's flashbacks were about. B+
  46. TL
    May 22, 2009
    10
    I thought this was an exciting and action packed movie. I'm a fan of the original terminator movies, too. I don't know why some people are giving this movie such low scores, but it was a good movie.
  47. BrianW.
    May 22, 2009
    9
    Great action. Light on advancing the terminator plot as a whole, but still, it was great to get a full glimpse of the future that the earlier movies only briefly showed.
  48. MarlonE.
    May 22, 2009
    9
    Awesome action flick mixed with suspense. A great film for terminator fans that MUST be seen.
  49. LynnA.
    May 22, 2009
    8
    Not the BEST Terminator but not the worst either. Excellent plot & character development. Fits into the overall Terminator story very well. I may pay to see it again!
  50. DeeB.
    May 22, 2009
    8
    The visual effects were a tad less than those in star trek, but the story line was better. I've followed the sarah connor chronicles and if you like that series, in addition to the original movies, then you'll like this one.
  51. TylerB.
    May 22, 2009
    8
    I did not walk into the movie expecting a lot. This was probably a good thing. I feel that because of this the movie surprised me and I was pleased. Sure, its not a terminator without Arnold, but this is still a decent flick, even if just an escape from summer boredom. There are a lot of tributes to past films, and I LOVE how they chose to use models instead of CG whenever possible
  52. JP
    May 22, 2009
    10
    Great, power-packed beginning to a whole new trilogy. Gritty war film.
  53. MariaD.
    May 23, 2009
    9
    The fourth installment of the Terminator franchise provides long time fans of the series the post-apocalyptic world that was foretold and hinted at in the previous movies. Throwing back to the serious tone of the first film, Terminator Salvation gives us a taste of what the war against the machines has been, is, and will be for the next 9 years. The first in a planned new trilogy, The fourth installment of the Terminator franchise provides long time fans of the series the post-apocalyptic world that was foretold and hinted at in the previous movies. Throwing back to the serious tone of the first film, Terminator Salvation gives us a taste of what the war against the machines has been, is, and will be for the next 9 years. The first in a planned new trilogy, director McG's vision not only hits you hard and heavy with explosions and non-stop action, but it is heavily story driven as well as we follow John Connor and the Resistance. In this world, there is no room for humor and levity...it's all business, and that business is SURVIVAL. Stepping into the worn combat boots of John Connor, Christian Bale proves AGAIN that he is one of the best actors of our time (I'd like to say "the best!"). This John Connor is strong and confident, and Bale plays the final incarnation of the character with ease. Surprisingly, it is the only movie in the franchise that earned a PG-13 rating, yet it is the darkest and most grim. An awesome thrill for hardcore fans (such as myself) and a great movie for people who are just being introduced to the series. Expand
  54. SimonM.
    May 24, 2009
    10
    Great film! (for what it is) SO much better than T3! The guy playing Reese really nailed it! The Arnold digital cameo looked unbelievable (despite reports to the contrary I'd read). Can't wait for the next one! :D
  55. JudeMire
    May 24, 2009
    10
    No more "nice" terminators like in 2 and 3, this brings the franchise back to it's unrelenting, unstoppable, beginning.
  56. BenB.
    May 24, 2009
    9
    Great at being what it set out to be... post-apocalyptic, fleshing out of the storyline, not solving all the larger problems.
  57. PaulM.
    May 24, 2009
    9
    This was about as good of a "Terminator" follow-up as I could envision being made. The storyline was never completely solid to begin with, but T4 aligns with the past narrative nicely while adding a few new twists. The end was a bit too canned, but I never once found myself wondering when it would end. Looking forward to T5.
  58. JY
    May 24, 2009
    7
    I went to see TS full of skepticism considering how much I enjoyed T1 and T2, and how disappointing T3 was. But I came out of TS pleasantly surprised just how much I liked it overall. Action was good, one-liners from the first two movies were amusing reminders of the popularity of the series due to James Cameron's past direction. The actor who I thought lent his own weight to the I went to see TS full of skepticism considering how much I enjoyed T1 and T2, and how disappointing T3 was. But I came out of TS pleasantly surprised just how much I liked it overall. Action was good, one-liners from the first two movies were amusing reminders of the popularity of the series due to James Cameron's past direction. The actor who I thought lent his own weight to the success of the movie was Sam Worthington; his tough yet warm portrayal of the new generation of Terminator who is half man and half machine provided much needed balance to the grim overtone of the movie. Expand
  59. Robertf.
    May 24, 2009
    8
    I would just like to say, agree with me or not, that many people here are approaching this movie from the wrong perspective. I think this Terminator movie was meant to be a 'reboot' of the franchise in the vein of the recent James Bond, Batman, and Star Trek franchise series restarts. That being said, it doesn't necessarily have to follow perfectly in line with anything I would just like to say, agree with me or not, that many people here are approaching this movie from the wrong perspective. I think this Terminator movie was meant to be a 'reboot' of the franchise in the vein of the recent James Bond, Batman, and Star Trek franchise series restarts. That being said, it doesn't necessarily have to follow perfectly in line with anything that's come before. Also...I completely understand where everyone is coming from regarding the plot holes and distorted science, but what action movie at any point in time hasn't had these things? Is it a dumb movie? Possibly. But was it fun? I know I had a lot of fun watching it. And to me that's the most important thing. Final Verdict: It may not be the most well-written or intellectual film ever made. But, honestly, who expected that? I think it hit a pretty sweet note, actually. It was never dull and there was enough character development to make it tolerable in that regard. Cliched but a fun view. Expand
  60. JenniferW.
    May 25, 2009
    10
    Any true fan of the terminator series can appreciate this film which has both amazing casting and emotionally endearing characters. See this movie, it is without a doubt great compared to T3 which lacked the intense yet brilliant plot.
  61. DavidR
    May 25, 2009
    9
    Brilliant movie, obviously not to everyones liking but in my opinion a damn solid film and worthy of being associated with the previous films. And will everyone please stop dissing T3 - OK there are a few bits that grate (comedy glasses, expanding chest) but its a fine film overall with some great moments (the dropped beer bottle, sinking to the sea floor, lined with skulls, cut back up Brilliant movie, obviously not to everyones liking but in my opinion a damn solid film and worthy of being associated with the previous films. And will everyone please stop dissing T3 - OK there are a few bits that grate (comedy glasses, expanding chest) but its a fine film overall with some great moments (the dropped beer bottle, sinking to the sea floor, lined with skulls, cut back up above the water and into the future war...the final scene of the inevitable judgment day beginning). The T3 appreciation club starts here !! Expand
  62. JoeC
    May 26, 2009
    7
    Pros: -Special effects look great. T-800 cameo looks amazing. -Sound effects are great, they are unique and loud. -Fast paced, heart-pounding action sequences. Cons -Christian Bale growling his lines. -Forced relationships between characters. -Nothing new, same old sci-fi action movie with a bunch of explosions. This is not a terribly memorable movie. It is, however, very fun to watch. Pros: -Special effects look great. T-800 cameo looks amazing. -Sound effects are great, they are unique and loud. -Fast paced, heart-pounding action sequences. Cons -Christian Bale growling his lines. -Forced relationships between characters. -Nothing new, same old sci-fi action movie with a bunch of explosions. This is not a terribly memorable movie. It is, however, very fun to watch. It's a movie about people in the future fighting robots with machine guns, what do you expect? Expand
  63. AmandaC
    May 26, 2009
    9
    This movie was amazing! Given the reviews, I almost skipped it and I'm so glad I didn't. It was a beautifully shot film, the characters were down to earth and the action was non-stop. I loved the raw post-apocalyptic feel. I think this movie was probably too art house for most of the traditional Terminator dweebs. This is not a generic movie. These days, most of the action This movie was amazing! Given the reviews, I almost skipped it and I'm so glad I didn't. It was a beautifully shot film, the characters were down to earth and the action was non-stop. I loved the raw post-apocalyptic feel. I think this movie was probably too art house for most of the traditional Terminator dweebs. This is not a generic movie. These days, most of the action movies throw in a lot of really bad jokes and innocuous and pedestrian story lines. Sure, it had some problems but the overall product was stellar. Neither Mad Max nor Blade Runner were received well at first. I think Terminator Salvation is also destined to become a cult classic. It does't have "heart". It has "spine"! Expand
  64. ScottN
    May 26, 2009
    10
    Don't listen to the negative nellies who keep saying this movie has no plot, because they are dead wrong. Yes, there is alot of action, but it's a Terminator flick - WHAT DO YOU EXPECT??? This isn't Atonement, people, nor was it ever meant to be. Not for a moment did I ever find the movie to be dragging on, nor were there any real moments where I caught myself thinking that Don't listen to the negative nellies who keep saying this movie has no plot, because they are dead wrong. Yes, there is alot of action, but it's a Terminator flick - WHAT DO YOU EXPECT??? This isn't Atonement, people, nor was it ever meant to be. Not for a moment did I ever find the movie to be dragging on, nor were there any real moments where I caught myself thinking that the action was nothing but filler or wishing that the movie would just get to the point. Not a perfect movie, but it was pretty well written, thought out, and acted. I can't imagine any Terminator fans being disappointed with this film. Salvation is better than T3 easily, and while it may not match the original two movies (those are fantastic), it is a worthy addition to the series. Definitely worth watching despite some of the Siskel & Ebert wannabees out there who are rating this film low for "lack of substance". Expand
  65. JohnB
    May 26, 2009
    7
    A decent movie but hindered by it's inability to consider that some people may not know the first 3 movies by heart. Amusing and action packed, I'd suggest waiting for the DVD with the hopes that some included deleted scenes may provide some much needed depth and background story.
  66. BBack
    May 27, 2009
    10
    This movie was awesome. Knowing it was a setup for a new trilogy, I didn't expect complete story arcs for some characters, such as John and Kate Connor, and was satisfied with more focus put on Marcus Wright. Great action and effects. We get to see the post-apocalyptic future we have always wanted to see. Marcus Wright's story was very interesting in terms of learning why Skynet This movie was awesome. Knowing it was a setup for a new trilogy, I didn't expect complete story arcs for some characters, such as John and Kate Connor, and was satisfied with more focus put on Marcus Wright. Great action and effects. We get to see the post-apocalyptic future we have always wanted to see. Marcus Wright's story was very interesting in terms of learning why Skynet would eventually use the T-800 Arnie model to send back in time. Nit-picking this action movie to death is a waste of time. It's not Shakespeare and neither were the other 3 movies. Give McG a break as well. I hated Charlie's Angels but figure a director has to cut his teeth on whatever he/she can sometimes to get to make movies he/she really wants to make. I wanted to like Titanic when it came out b/c it was a James Cameron movie, but still hated it (didn't stop it from making over 1 billion. Anyway, $9.50 and time well spent. Going to see it again this weekend. Expand
  67. TarunK
    May 27, 2009
    8
    The action was good, and the movie kept you guessing what was going to happen in the next scene... A truly entertaining experience... on the story side, this move kind of acts like a filler for the next terminator movie (like matrix reloaded was)
  68. George
    Jun 11, 2009
    8
    If you are a fan of action movies look no further than terminator salvation. This movie has an awesome sci-fi feel to it and amazing action scenes. If you like the other terminators WATCH THIS ONE!!! I dont know why it got a bad meta score.
  69. doppelganger
    Jun 1, 2009
    9
    Good movie. Good effects. Good plot. Nice addition to the Terminator franchise. Better than T3, but not as good as T2, of course. ***SPOILER SPOILER*** minus a point for the stupid heart transplant ending. the heart was human... uhh, compatibility testing anyone?? Would have been interesting to have killed off Connor and let Marcus take the helm as Connor like the ending was supposed to Good movie. Good effects. Good plot. Nice addition to the Terminator franchise. Better than T3, but not as good as T2, of course. ***SPOILER SPOILER*** minus a point for the stupid heart transplant ending. the heart was human... uhh, compatibility testing anyone?? Would have been interesting to have killed off Connor and let Marcus take the helm as Connor like the ending was supposed to have been. This movie was about Marcus, not Connor. Having not seen any trailer but the first helped a lot in not spoiling the Marcus reveal, and keeping the movie interesting for me. Watched the trailers after finishing the movie and yup, the trailers spoiled aspects of the movie BIG TIME for those who watch trailers. Expand
  70. ChrstianD
    Jun 12, 2009
    9
    This was pretty much the WORST Batman movie ever. Batman wasn't even there! Just a bunch of Robots!
  71. JefferyY
    Jun 14, 2009
    8
    I think this movie has been severely underrated. It captures the spirit of the first movie and the effects budget of the second movie. Sam Worthington (playing Marcus) steals the spotlight in every scene and Christian Bale gives another solid performance. Overall solid sci-fi / action movie that more than makes up for Terminator 3.
  72. Terminatorgroupy
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    This movie finishes off the first three movies. Christian Bale carries the same character aspects as they are made known in the previous three that John Connor is strong and compassionate. Kyle Reese spoke in the first one of the first generation of terminators were easy to spot, clunky. In this time he spoke of a next generation which involves the use of the T800 (Arnie) terminator. This movie finishes off the first three movies. Christian Bale carries the same character aspects as they are made known in the previous three that John Connor is strong and compassionate. Kyle Reese spoke in the first one of the first generation of terminators were easy to spot, clunky. In this time he spoke of a next generation which involves the use of the T800 (Arnie) terminator. Later on you learn of the infiltrator (Marcus) terminator and how you could not tell the difference except with the help from dogs. And finally you get a chance to see Kyle Reese and Connor together and a start of a relationship. The fact that Connors wife is pregnate. The destruction of the old government and the final melting of Connors control over the rebels. And Sky net and how it has evolved to the point of damn that is some serious thinking of how to kill the last of the humans. How you can still look through the eyes of the machines. And just the overall apocalyptic feel that there is no hope left except through John Connor and the resistance as long as they can gather up the last of the survivors before Sky net does! I can not wait to see the next film!!!!!!! Expand
  73. PeterT
    Jun 3, 2009
    8
    I honestly don't understand why this movie scored such a low rating on Metacritic and Rotten Tomatoes. It's a great summer action movie, and almost as much fun as Star Trek.
  74. AlfieB
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    I'd give it a 7 out of 10, or 8 if you are a big Terminator fan like me. I don't see what people are complaining about, the film breathes new life into the story, delivering a detailed vision of the future and a nice bunch of action whilst staying true to the original films. [SPOILERS] It was nice seeing Connor as the hardcore fighter we'd been hearing about in the last I'd give it a 7 out of 10, or 8 if you are a big Terminator fan like me. I don't see what people are complaining about, the film breathes new life into the story, delivering a detailed vision of the future and a nice bunch of action whilst staying true to the original films. [SPOILERS] It was nice seeing Connor as the hardcore fighter we'd been hearing about in the last three films, whilst still showing signs of the T2 Connor, with Guns 'n' Roses and his talent at hacking. Plus it breathes new life into the relationship between Connor and Kyle, which was particularly interesting, as a whole the film glues pieces of the puzzle together, whilst still being entertaining. Particularly liked the twist at the end with Marcus and of course the revealing of the T800. [/SPOILERS] Terminator fans, unless you're really critical, should enjoy this. Expand
  75. CaseyF
    Jul 26, 2009
    8
    I enjoyed this Terminator film a lot more than the T3. This is NOT your father's Terminator. In the original Terminators the premise was action, yes, but it also had an element of survival horror and the story was amazing. The story in this film isn't as amazing, and the survival horror is gone. This film does, however, make up for that with amazing special effects, action that I enjoyed this Terminator film a lot more than the T3. This is NOT your father's Terminator. In the original Terminators the premise was action, yes, but it also had an element of survival horror and the story was amazing. The story in this film isn't as amazing, and the survival horror is gone. This film does, however, make up for that with amazing special effects, action that surpasses that of any previous Terminator film, and an ending that's corny but satisfying. Terminator: Salvation suffers from some dreadful acting (Christian Bale!) and some bad story, but the action alone is worth seeing. If you like action and want to be entertained for a few hours, see this movie. Expand
  76. Colin
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    52/100? This movie was epic and the best of the terminators. I loved it!
  77. justink
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    Amazing action, awesome graphics, and constent action which unlike transformers ROTF, never gets old. its always something new and cool. i love the huge robot.
  78. EvanP
    Mar 25, 2010
    7
    Salvation is underrated. Especially by the fans. I would agree that it lacks the comedic relief provided in the first films which then in turn feels like Salvation is taking itself too seriously. However, I think the story is going in the right direction! We've already seen terminators sent back in time to kill the Connors... 3 times actually. I want to see post rise of the machines. Salvation is underrated. Especially by the fans. I would agree that it lacks the comedic relief provided in the first films which then in turn feels like Salvation is taking itself too seriously. However, I think the story is going in the right direction! We've already seen terminators sent back in time to kill the Connors... 3 times actually. I want to see post rise of the machines. What's the story behind John Connor and sending the T-800? Lots of action and connections to the earlier films. I liked it a lot. Expand
  79. AlvinC
    Dec 27, 2009
    8
    This film was way under-rated. The 54/100 score stopped me from buying it but I got it as a christmas present and thought it was really good. Hate all these 'art-house' film critics out there who say everything other than some foreign language film is a waste of time. This film was no Terminator 2 but was definately watchable.
  80. JonnyBoy
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    Much better than Terminator 3, but still cannot match Terminator 2. Yes it did kinda use the fact that they were getting help from a terminator from the last two movies, but they did so in a way that seemed more unique I guess.
  81. TylerH.
    May 21, 2009
    8
    Again, the critics are all trying to get attention it seems by giving there negative 2 cents. This was a very good movie, but not perfect with its flaws. I was entertained, visuals were excellent, as was Bale as usual. There were some plot holes, but it didn't destroy the movie for me. It seems like a 5th movie may come forth, if for the only reason to truly tie together everything Again, the critics are all trying to get attention it seems by giving there negative 2 cents. This was a very good movie, but not perfect with its flaws. I was entertained, visuals were excellent, as was Bale as usual. There were some plot holes, but it didn't destroy the movie for me. It seems like a 5th movie may come forth, if for the only reason to truly tie together everything and attempt to put an end to the war. Definately worth seeing, if you don't expect a masterpiece that will leave you jizzing your pants everywhere, you'll be fine. Its a very good movie. Expand
  82. ryanj.
    May 21, 2009
    10
    Dark and different with the best action scenes in years.
  83. [Anonymous]
    May 21, 2009
    8
    Not bad for a sequel with a LOT to live up to. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed if you have some kind of pulse.
  84. CraigS.
    May 21, 2009
    8
    This IS a stereotypical summer blockbuster, and there are several plot holes; but that does not make this movie unwatchable, as several reviews make it out to be.
  85. ChrisB.
    May 21, 2009
    8
    Not what i expected for this movie but its still good, do yourself a fav, don't go by film geeks reviews. go see it, its worth it.
  86. MatthewA.
    May 21, 2009
    8
    Started off a really interesting and mysterious post-apocalyptic movie with all the intensity and mythology necessary. Once the love story and plot thicken though, it takes away from the movie and turns it into a rat-race. Still, positive points on a great 1st half. This could have been good if it was 3 hours long, giving more time to develop a solid plot and character; 2nd half seemed Started off a really interesting and mysterious post-apocalyptic movie with all the intensity and mythology necessary. Once the love story and plot thicken though, it takes away from the movie and turns it into a rat-race. Still, positive points on a great 1st half. This could have been good if it was 3 hours long, giving more time to develop a solid plot and character; 2nd half seemed very rushed. See it on the big screen for sure! Expand
  87. BobB.
    May 21, 2009
    7
    I went in expecting to laugh at Christian Bale as he shoots terminators in the face, and that is exactly what I got. Mediocre acting, stupid plot, but damn was it fun. This is the perfect summer popcorn flick-and this comes from someone who never goes to such films. In the end, any film that has some brutal gattlin-gun weildin terminators, giant lazer shooting robots, and carnage via I went in expecting to laugh at Christian Bale as he shoots terminators in the face, and that is exactly what I got. Mediocre acting, stupid plot, but damn was it fun. This is the perfect summer popcorn flick-and this comes from someone who never goes to such films. In the end, any film that has some brutal gattlin-gun weildin terminators, giant lazer shooting robots, and carnage via A-10s is pretty badass. Yes, I said it: badass. Great movie? No. Enjoyable? Yes. Shut your brain off and enjoy the carnage. Expand
  88. ElliotS.
    May 22, 2009
    10
    Yes, it was loud. Yes, it was full of action: explosions and gunshots. But, is that not appropriate for the long-prophesied view of the post-apocalypse? The movie had a great dramatic arc, great acting, great practical/special effects, great music and made all the right nods to the earlier films without trying to mimic or mock them. McG made it into his own movie and his view of the Yes, it was loud. Yes, it was full of action: explosions and gunshots. But, is that not appropriate for the long-prophesied view of the post-apocalypse? The movie had a great dramatic arc, great acting, great practical/special effects, great music and made all the right nods to the earlier films without trying to mimic or mock them. McG made it into his own movie and his view of the future of the franchise is a dark and beautiful one. Expand
  89. Peter
    May 22, 2009
    7
    A high 7 from me. Fun to watch and mostly enjoyable. I think if you go in expecting it to be "BIGGER AND BETTER" than Terminator 1and 2, you'll be disappointed. Its not a chase movie. Its more Mad Max with Cyborgs, which is fine by me.
  90. JasonH.
    May 22, 2009
    7
    You know, I had fun watching this. I really did. The scenery was really grim, and i though that certain areas run by robots ought to be nice, mono chrome white, and clean, but I really thought the special effects were superb. My only complaint, aside from the not-so-great soundtrack (where's the terminator theme?) was actually the trailer. Yes, the TRAILER. Whoever made that trailer You know, I had fun watching this. I really did. The scenery was really grim, and i though that certain areas run by robots ought to be nice, mono chrome white, and clean, but I really thought the special effects were superb. My only complaint, aside from the not-so-great soundtrack (where's the terminator theme?) was actually the trailer. Yes, the TRAILER. Whoever made that trailer is probably the biggest idiot in the movie industry, and if you haven't seen the trailer, for the love of all that's holy, don't watch it. The reason is that the trailer gives away the most awesome part of the entire movie. My brother hadn't seen the trailer, and he was actually genuinely surprised when he saw the movie. So yeah, the movie was alright, and but would have been REALLY cool, had it not been for that trailer. Expand
  91. JoseQ.
    May 23, 2009
    8
    Movie mostly good but not great due to inconsistencies. The rating I gave is an eight mainly because the action scenes are awesome, the robots presented are amazing, and the first 4/5 of the movie are great. People have pointed out plot holes and bad logical blunders, which some are justified but some can be explained within the movie. Remember that the war has only being going on for a Movie mostly good but not great due to inconsistencies. The rating I gave is an eight mainly because the action scenes are awesome, the robots presented are amazing, and the first 4/5 of the movie are great. People have pointed out plot holes and bad logical blunders, which some are justified but some can be explained within the movie. Remember that the war has only being going on for a short time, skynet has not grown enough to control the whole world but its working to that end, some robots are huge and some fans question why skynet would need little human sized terminators if they have bigger choices, but you are all not thinking like a machine(pun intended), it obviously takes more time and resources to built bigger ones, so logically(skynet thinking) making many small sized terminators would be more efficient, (spoilers ahead) the machines are obviously collecting humans for their skin and to possibly copy their features, to make them infiltrators, there were some scenes that were in the previews that were cut out, some of these scenes unfortunately had answers to some of these questions, one scene in particular showed terminators working in the factory as regular factory workers, the writers and creators of this movie, and director mcg, should have paid more attention to detail and explained more on how skynet has reached its current existance. Now, the main reason the movie is only an 8, or lower to some people who saw it, is the last ten minutes or so, where they really dropped the ball. (major spoiler) Skynet obviously already knows about the past failed attempts to kill sara and john connor in the past, so it sets a trap, not just for john, but also for the leaders of the resistance, which is really smart. It lets them think they have the upper hand, lets john infiltrate the skynet base and factory, lets the resistance think they can shut the machines down to lure them close and kill them all while they attack the robot base, smart and logical. But instead of having an army of terminators, flying ships, and other machines ready to kill john and all the resistance, they have a grand total of TWO, yeah, just TWO small, human sized termis, and one of them without a GUN, sent to kill john and whoever comes to save him, and when the helicopter does come to save him, no robot is in sight to shot at them or at least tell them they cant park a heli in a construction zone. Now, it is possible that marcus could have disabled all defenses to allow for this while he was in the control room with skynet chick, but they at least have to show us that he did it and not just one robot he disabled when he got there. Then comes the greatest insult to medicine in a movie, he gets impaled, through and through, yet no blood bc its a pg13 film, he gets surgery OUTSIDE!! in a tent, and the one person who is not totally human has a heart that is compatible, man, i had always admired the term movies bc they kept it as real as possible when dealing with future human killing machines, but this is just hollywood completely killing the pride and brand of a franchise just for the sake of making a sequel, and the third horrible illogical blunder, they set of a NUCLEAR bomb like 50 yards away from the heli but nothing happens to the heli or them, the heli should have shut down at the very least from the EMP pulse( I agree Vilhem B). So yeah, the lesson learned is if you are going to make a high profile sequel, pay attention to detail, have a good story with a PROPER ENDING, and have amazing action. Terminator had the last one of the three perfect, but lacked in the other two, specially in the second. Expand
  92. DanLofgren
    May 24, 2009
    10
    Don't pay attention to the reviews, this movie was fan-fu#@ing-tabulous!!! They literally got everything right and I'd pay full price to see it again multiple times - it was that good. Anyone who can't appreciate the fact that this movie does a near perfect job in showing the future and war between skynet and resistance after judgment day is somehow skewed in perspective.Don't pay attention to the reviews, this movie was fan-fu#@ing-tabulous!!! They literally got everything right and I'd pay full price to see it again multiple times - it was that good. Anyone who can't appreciate the fact that this movie does a near perfect job in showing the future and war between skynet and resistance after judgment day is somehow skewed in perspective.
    AWESOME film. Bravo McG.
    Expand
  93. CodyB.
    May 24, 2009
    9
    Intense. Exciting. Very well written. Visually superior to anything else that came out this year... and yes I mean better than Star Trek and I am a Star Trek nut. I went into Terminator not expecting much and walked out blown away. It was everything that Terminator 3 was suppose to be, and I haven't gone to a movie in a long time that made me want to turn around immediately and see Intense. Exciting. Very well written. Visually superior to anything else that came out this year... and yes I mean better than Star Trek and I am a Star Trek nut. I went into Terminator not expecting much and walked out blown away. It was everything that Terminator 3 was suppose to be, and I haven't gone to a movie in a long time that made me want to turn around immediately and see it again. Too bad it was 12:30 am when I got out or else I would have. Must see. Must buy...ON BLU-RAY!!! Expand
  94. PhilipP.
    May 24, 2009
    8
    Awesome movie. While I didn't much like the storyline, the creative action sequences, and original mecahical designs were the great points in this film and on-par with their predecessors.
  95. JustinM
    May 25, 2009
    10
    Tough to bring a prequel/sequel movie together and they did a fantastic job! Typical summer action movie that won't lead to any oscar nominations but leaves nothing short for action/entertainment factor. Should have been terminator 3 and wiped that terrible movie away. Great follow up to T2.
  96. CynD
    May 26, 2009
    9
    Just saw it today and enjoyed it - am looking forward to the DVD release and hope that the deleted scenes will be integrated as an option for viewing (such as what the T2 DVD can do). I agree with what some people have said regarding editing and dialogue - I also think that some scenes could have been expounded upon and it would have helped somewhat with the overall flow. Loved the end, Just saw it today and enjoyed it - am looking forward to the DVD release and hope that the deleted scenes will be integrated as an option for viewing (such as what the T2 DVD can do). I agree with what some people have said regarding editing and dialogue - I also think that some scenes could have been expounded upon and it would have helped somewhat with the overall flow. Loved the end, where a special appearance was made. That was awesome and so well done. Kudos to them for including something like that. Expand
  97. VenahC
    May 27, 2009
    9
    It is a good summer movie and a fairly good Terminator movie. The only thing that bothered me was the editing of the movie. Stop bashing it before you even watched it!
  98. JorgeL
    May 27, 2009
    10
    This movie was awesome. So many people are followers and yes men. They can't wait to bash the next movie that isn't like "the dark knight." I thought "terminator salvation" was great. it's a return to the grim and gloominess that was in the first two films. It is also a billion times better than T3 thats for sure. This movie reminds me of James Cameron's "Aliens." When This movie was awesome. So many people are followers and yes men. They can't wait to bash the next movie that isn't like "the dark knight." I thought "terminator salvation" was great. it's a return to the grim and gloominess that was in the first two films. It is also a billion times better than T3 thats for sure. This movie reminds me of James Cameron's "Aliens." When director McG consulted James Cameron on how to approach a new terminator film, james compared it to when he had to make "Aliens" after Ridley Scot's "Alien." I can totally see similarities in the approach. Director Mcg shows that he really cares for the material. The writers create something new and thankfully they ditch the old time travel routine that was so redundant in T3. All the actors did a great job and Bale is best Jon Conner yet. I really believe that he is the leader of the resistence. The actor that played Kyle Reeses was perfect as well. the sound was awesome too! I felt like i was really there in this grim morbid future. Thank you McG! you did a great job! Sorry, you have to live in the age of internet, where loser fanboys just can't wait to bash the next franchise. Expand
  99. Daniel
    May 27, 2009
    9
    I'm not sure why this film has gotten mixed reviews. It is a flawless sci-fi action film with no weak spots. The special effects are astounding. I can literally not think of a single image in the film that did not look real. And the action is incredible. Solid acting too and as sci-fi films go it's got a really interesting aesthetic that puts it in the camp of Minority Report I'm not sure why this film has gotten mixed reviews. It is a flawless sci-fi action film with no weak spots. The special effects are astounding. I can literally not think of a single image in the film that did not look real. And the action is incredible. Solid acting too and as sci-fi films go it's got a really interesting aesthetic that puts it in the camp of Minority Report and even Bladerunner. It's gorgeous, in a post-apocalyptic kind of way. I would have given it a ten but I felt there were some logical inconsistencies in the plot having to do with the fallability of machines, and the whole Terminator franchise in general is never very good at handling the theory of time travel/causality. But this movie is bad as hell. Go see it. Expand
  100. zacharyt
    May 27, 2009
    9
    A really terrific movie, far better than t3. I remember going into the movie thinking it would suck without arnold, but i was really surprised as to how good the movie was, i really enjoyed the marcus storyline, the effects were tremendous at times seeming as if you were watching a live news feed. The only complaint with t4 is christian bale who at times seemed really good, but then it A really terrific movie, far better than t3. I remember going into the movie thinking it would suck without arnold, but i was really surprised as to how good the movie was, i really enjoyed the marcus storyline, the effects were tremendous at times seeming as if you were watching a live news feed. The only complaint with t4 is christian bale who at times seemed really good, but then it would seem as if he would forcefully revert to his batman voice which he didn't need to do with this movie. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. With McG's migraine-inducing jerky-cam and monochromatic palette (livened only by splotches of rust), Terminator Salvation puts the numb in numskull.
  2. In Arnold's absence, an important ingredient of the "Terminator" iconography -- namely, the fun factor -- is in short supply.
  3. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    70
    Darker, grimmer and more stylistically single-minded than its two relatively giddy predecessors, Terminator Salvation boasts the kind of singular vision that distinguished the James Cameron original, the full-throttle kinetics of "Speed" and an old-fashioned regard for human (and humanoid) heroics.