Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 21, 2009
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 681 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
308
Mixed:
232
Negative:
141
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
AegisDec 5, 2009
I haven't read the other comments so I don't know if anyone else has mentioned this, but the entire movie could have ended when the machines captured Kyle Reese right? Because according to the first movie, and the plot of this I haven't read the other comments so I don't know if anyone else has mentioned this, but the entire movie could have ended when the machines captured Kyle Reese right? Because according to the first movie, and the plot of this movie, he has to go back in time to become Johns father. It's not even stuff only a fan would notice, it's a huge plot point that gets totally overlooked, and make the second half of the movie completely superfluous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MiKEDec 6, 2009
It has its cheesy moments that make you like the movie. Overall the worst terminator series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonnyBoyDec 7, 2009
Much better than Terminator 3, but still cannot match Terminator 2. Yes it did kinda use the fact that they were getting help from a terminator from the last two movies, but they did so in a way that seemed more unique I guess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerH.May 21, 2009
Again, the critics are all trying to get attention it seems by giving there negative 2 cents. This was a very good movie, but not perfect with its flaws. I was entertained, visuals were excellent, as was Bale as usual. There were some plot Again, the critics are all trying to get attention it seems by giving there negative 2 cents. This was a very good movie, but not perfect with its flaws. I was entertained, visuals were excellent, as was Bale as usual. There were some plot holes, but it didn't destroy the movie for me. It seems like a 5th movie may come forth, if for the only reason to truly tie together everything and attempt to put an end to the war. Definately worth seeing, if you don't expect a masterpiece that will leave you jizzing your pants everywhere, you'll be fine. Its a very good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ryanj.May 21, 2009
Dark and different with the best action scenes in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]May 21, 2009
Not bad for a sequel with a LOT to live up to. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed if you have some kind of pulse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CraigS.May 21, 2009
This IS a stereotypical summer blockbuster, and there are several plot holes; but that does not make this movie unwatchable, as several reviews make it out to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisB.May 21, 2009
Not what i expected for this movie but its still good, do yourself a fav, don't go by film geeks reviews. go see it, its worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MatthewA.May 21, 2009
Started off a really interesting and mysterious post-apocalyptic movie with all the intensity and mythology necessary. Once the love story and plot thicken though, it takes away from the movie and turns it into a rat-race. Still, positive Started off a really interesting and mysterious post-apocalyptic movie with all the intensity and mythology necessary. Once the love story and plot thicken though, it takes away from the movie and turns it into a rat-race. Still, positive points on a great 1st half. This could have been good if it was 3 hours long, giving more time to develop a solid plot and character; 2nd half seemed very rushed. See it on the big screen for sure! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobB.May 21, 2009
I went in expecting to laugh at Christian Bale as he shoots terminators in the face, and that is exactly what I got. Mediocre acting, stupid plot, but damn was it fun. This is the perfect summer popcorn flick-and this comes from someone who I went in expecting to laugh at Christian Bale as he shoots terminators in the face, and that is exactly what I got. Mediocre acting, stupid plot, but damn was it fun. This is the perfect summer popcorn flick-and this comes from someone who never goes to such films. In the end, any film that has some brutal gattlin-gun weildin terminators, giant lazer shooting robots, and carnage via A-10s is pretty badass. Yes, I said it: badass. Great movie? No. Enjoyable? Yes. Shut your brain off and enjoy the carnage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElliotS.May 22, 2009
Yes, it was loud. Yes, it was full of action: explosions and gunshots. But, is that not appropriate for the long-prophesied view of the post-apocalypse? The movie had a great dramatic arc, great acting, great practical/special effects, great Yes, it was loud. Yes, it was full of action: explosions and gunshots. But, is that not appropriate for the long-prophesied view of the post-apocalypse? The movie had a great dramatic arc, great acting, great practical/special effects, great music and made all the right nods to the earlier films without trying to mimic or mock them. McG made it into his own movie and his view of the future of the franchise is a dark and beautiful one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PeterMay 22, 2009
A high 7 from me. Fun to watch and mostly enjoyable. I think if you go in expecting it to be "BIGGER AND BETTER" than Terminator 1and 2, you'll be disappointed. Its not a chase movie. Its more Mad Max with Cyborgs, which is fine by me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasonH.May 22, 2009
You know, I had fun watching this. I really did. The scenery was really grim, and i though that certain areas run by robots ought to be nice, mono chrome white, and clean, but I really thought the special effects were superb. My only You know, I had fun watching this. I really did. The scenery was really grim, and i though that certain areas run by robots ought to be nice, mono chrome white, and clean, but I really thought the special effects were superb. My only complaint, aside from the not-so-great soundtrack (where's the terminator theme?) was actually the trailer. Yes, the TRAILER. Whoever made that trailer is probably the biggest idiot in the movie industry, and if you haven't seen the trailer, for the love of all that's holy, don't watch it. The reason is that the trailer gives away the most awesome part of the entire movie. My brother hadn't seen the trailer, and he was actually genuinely surprised when he saw the movie. So yeah, the movie was alright, and but would have been REALLY cool, had it not been for that trailer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GrahamS.May 22, 2009
Much as been written about the loss of humanity in this franchise. For fans- there were few surprises, but the biggest was an inability to really care about a single character on screen. It was like nascar- fast and loud- Cameron's t2 Much as been written about the loss of humanity in this franchise. For fans- there were few surprises, but the biggest was an inability to really care about a single character on screen. It was like nascar- fast and loud- Cameron's t2 resonated with so much depth of character it made this reasonable addition seem bland and humourless- much like the future depicted here. I'm not sure I want another terminator- the story was okay- execution generally speaking was okay- but it just seemed empty at all the wrong times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VilhelmB.May 22, 2009
[***SPOILERS***] There were a few nice "hat tips" to the older films. There were a few double entendres which made me chuckle (Marcus Wright asks, "do you think humans deserve a second chance?" referring to his own reincarnation, and Blair[***SPOILERS***] There were a few nice "hat tips" to the older films. There were a few double entendres which made me chuckle (Marcus Wright asks, "do you think humans deserve a second chance?" referring to his own reincarnation, and Blair Williams answers "yes", referring to humanity.) Anton Yelchin was mesmerizing as he channeled Kyle Reese perfectly. Other than that, this movie was a great big loud, goofy letdown (or perhaps I should say meltdown?) For starters, be prepared to forget everything you ever learned about physics, medicine, anatomy, nuclear weapons, electronics, metallurgy and critical thinking in general. This movie requires more suspension of disbelief than all three previous installments combined. (warning, spoilers head) For example... By now, everyone knows that atomic weapon detonations are accompanied by an EM pulse which fries electronics. Not in this film. When Little Boy was dropped on Hiroshima, the shock wave that hit the Enola Gay was enough to knock the crew off their feet. The plane was 15 miles away. At the end of this film, a blast which ostensibly was many times greater than Little Boy's had no effect on the helicopter that was perhaps a few thousand feet away. In reality, the helicopter would have been vaporized. As in most films, small arms never seem to run out of bullets, and the bullets themselves never seem to hit anyone who is running away in a dead straight line. In fact, the more guns there were shooting at a person, the less chance there seemed to be of them getting hit. It is never actually explained to us why the machines are collecting and warehousing humans, nor is it explained how gargantuan mechanized "people collectors" don't crush bodies in the process of snatching them off the ground at lightning fast speeds. For that matter, when you've got these 100' tall monster machines that can sneak up on your hideout in complete silence, and destroy it in a matter of seconds, what the heck do you need terminators for? The sophistication and invulnerability of the machine's larger aircraft makes you wonder why they simply don't follow the rebel planes back to their bases and annihilate them. One thing I was really hoping to find out is how the machines went from being tractors with machine guns mounted on them (like we saw in T3) to developing the fine motor abilities of humans, which they would obviously would have needed in order to construct all the sophisticated assembly lines that manufactured the terminators. We never really learn how Skynet made the jump from self-awareness in the "virtual world" to corporeal existence in the real world. Nor do we know how Skynet managed to stay online after it dropped the nuclear arsenals of the world on the centers of population. It's safe to say that the people operating and maintaining powerplants, refining oil, delivering fuel, etc, would not be doing this after the bombs went off. Then the are the anatomical absurdities. People (especially Conner) seem to be almost as indestructible as the terminators themselves. On numerous occasions he is thrown through the air dozens of feet, and struck by punches which would collapse the rib cage of ordinary humans. He crashes into equipment with enough force to crush it, yet gets back up and fights as if nothing happened. By the way, if you were a terminator, would you bother throwing your target across the room, or would you just rend him limb from limb? Don't answer that. It gets worse. This video game tries to have a heart. There is a soporific scene at the end where Conner has been wounded, and needs a heart transplant. Well, fortunately, Marcus' heart (which has been pounded, exposed to the air, and fried with a makeshift defibrillator) happens to be an exact fit, and coincidentally, Conner's wife (veterinarian turned cardio-surgeon) just happens to have all the facilities, assistants and preparations necessary to perform open-heart surgery in her al fresco hospital tent (she must have hoarded those anti-rejection drugs before the bombs went off. Conner, of course, makes a full recovery so he can live to fight another day - which he apparently will do in T5 which is all but guaranteed by the hokey end scene (and you thought they destroyed Skynet's headquarters - Ha! - they've got dozens of headquarters all over the world.) Don't expect to see any animals in this film - even the dogs mentioned in the first film. Don't expect to see any farms, or wells, or beds, or anything that suggests the surviving humans actually have to work, eat, drink & sleep to stay alive. Don't expect to see anything that even remotely explains how the resistance was able to go from huddling in filthy fall-out shelters in T1 to having access to A-10 jets, submarines, fully equipped military bases, and so on. Don't expect star power to save this mess - Michael Ironside plays the same cardboard character he does in all his sci-fi films, and Jane Alexander is totally wasted. Someone named "Common" plays the required "angry black man", and a child actor named "Jadagrace" who, much like the time-traveling terminators has appeared in Hollywood out of nowhere, plays the small child whose either underfoot, or saving the day. Apparently, single named actors are making a comeback (Madonna, take a bow.) Aside from Yelchin, Moon Bloodgood and Sam Worthington are the only two who seemed to care about actual acting in this film, and Bloodgood was the better of the two. Bale should just stick to what he knows best... portraying a growling vigilante, because he simply sucks in the hero role. I only wish I could time-travel back to before this film was made and terminate the writers, the director (McG), and most of the cast. On the bright side, we've still got time to stop judgment day... er... I mean Terminator 5 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
rlloydMay 23, 2009
He represents everything that disgusts me... Obviousness! Unoriginal, macho energy! Yeah, a Barfly quote pretty much somes it up. Where do you start with this mess? The casting, the dialogue, the music, the huge leaps in logic already He represents everything that disgusts me... Obviousness! Unoriginal, macho energy! Yeah, a Barfly quote pretty much somes it up. Where do you start with this mess? The casting, the dialogue, the music, the huge leaps in logic already mentioned by Vilhelm B (well done, btw) or just the extreme disappointment in what "could have been"? Let's start with the casting. Imagine the movie without the mute girl, or better yet, what was the point of her character? To add an "aww cute" factor? To remind the survivors that they have something to fight for? To bluntly tell the audience that humanity still exists in this apocalyptic world? Cute mute is a cheap plot device at best, an anchor around the movies' neck at worst. Again, imagine how this movie flows better without her character. Also, if McG fought so hard to get Christain Bale, then why not do that for the rest of the cast. Michael Ironside as one of the "tough talking" resistance leaders? Really, wow, never seen Ironside in that role before. Not Starship Troopers, Not V; Ironside has played the "tough" resistance leader ad nauseum. How about if you need a silent and hard black man? I know, GET A RAPPER!!! McG and the makers of Terminator could have worked harder on casting, instead they went for cheap easy cardboard cutouts. Maybe the thought was that with all the explosions and robots, no one would notice. You do notice the great action movies when they go the extra mile in this regard. We ALL remember Bill Paxton and Lance Henriksen in Aliens (speaking of which, note how "cute girl" was brilliantly used in this movie). How about Tina Turner in Mad Max Beyond Thunder? No one saw that coming and it made the movie. But McG and crew want to go the easy route. Nothing is more apparent than the banal dialogue. When the "I'll be back" line was used in the first Terminator, it meant something, it led to something: utter destruction. That phrase has never meant the same since. When Christian Bale uses it in Salvation, it means NOTHING. It's an obvious, and again, cheap and unnecessary way to try to tickle the audience. So obvious, it falls completely flat when he says it. The unoriginal lines don't stop there. In any movie where it's man v technology or man v the apocalypse/black hole/all hell has broken loose there is usually a question of whether or not man can keep his humanity intact. It's a given. It's kind of the UNSPOKEN point of the movie that you don't ever need to verbally remind the audience about. That is, unless your name happens to be McG and you are Captain Obvious and can't help yourself. More than once the Terminator characters have to make speeches about how human they are or need to be. "That's what separated us from the machines, we're human". Really, i would have never guessed! Being human is what the Terminator series is ALL about, we all get it by now. We build things that we can't control and can kill us, then struggle to control and overcome them. We've seen this in the Terminator series three times, we don't need the characters to verbally tell us over and over again a fourth time. But McG takes the brain eating zombie route and has to bludgeon us with speeches and overt physical cues about humanity up to the bitter end when cute mute girl compassionately holds human robot hand because, you know, THAT'S WHAT HUMANS DO. Less talking and more brooding, or maybe have one character that spouts off about humanity and is blown to bits by a terminator. McG is devoid of such irony. He just hammers away at the audience with explosions and moral statements. Nothing is more apparent in his approach than his use of music. Granted, the music is the last thing anyone should complain about in an action movie, but that's because great action movies don't usually need music and the great action movies that do use it, use it wisely. But again, McG can't help himself. Silence in desolate situations has a chilling effect. You can see feel and HEAR the loneliness of the character. Remember There Will Be Blood or the brilliant first 20 minutes of Once Upon a Time in the West? We are never allowed to be alone in Terminator Salvation. We are never allowed to experience those solitary, despondent moments. McG won't allow us to, he has to fill these moments with a Michael Baywatch type of sound. The soaring "oooh, hear the plight of my protagonist" music in these key scenes comes from a director too insecure to let well enough alone. The same director that had to remind us in print why he wouldn't screw up Terminator because everything he's touched, Sugar Ray, Charlie's Angels, the OC, has been a monumental success. Truly successful people don't remind people of their accolades. Their accolades speak for them. Similarly, a good action movie doesn't need to make a lot of hollow noise. The action will speak for itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoseQ.May 23, 2009
Movie mostly good but not great due to inconsistencies. The rating I gave is an eight mainly because the action scenes are awesome, the robots presented are amazing, and the first 4/5 of the movie are great. People have pointed out plot Movie mostly good but not great due to inconsistencies. The rating I gave is an eight mainly because the action scenes are awesome, the robots presented are amazing, and the first 4/5 of the movie are great. People have pointed out plot holes and bad logical blunders, which some are justified but some can be explained within the movie. Remember that the war has only being going on for a short time, skynet has not grown enough to control the whole world but its working to that end, some robots are huge and some fans question why skynet would need little human sized terminators if they have bigger choices, but you are all not thinking like a machine(pun intended), it obviously takes more time and resources to built bigger ones, so logically(skynet thinking) making many small sized terminators would be more efficient, (spoilers ahead) the machines are obviously collecting humans for their skin and to possibly copy their features, to make them infiltrators, there were some scenes that were in the previews that were cut out, some of these scenes unfortunately had answers to some of these questions, one scene in particular showed terminators working in the factory as regular factory workers, the writers and creators of this movie, and director mcg, should have paid more attention to detail and explained more on how skynet has reached its current existance. Now, the main reason the movie is only an 8, or lower to some people who saw it, is the last ten minutes or so, where they really dropped the ball. (major spoiler) Skynet obviously already knows about the past failed attempts to kill sara and john connor in the past, so it sets a trap, not just for john, but also for the leaders of the resistance, which is really smart. It lets them think they have the upper hand, lets john infiltrate the skynet base and factory, lets the resistance think they can shut the machines down to lure them close and kill them all while they attack the robot base, smart and logical. But instead of having an army of terminators, flying ships, and other machines ready to kill john and all the resistance, they have a grand total of TWO, yeah, just TWO small, human sized termis, and one of them without a GUN, sent to kill john and whoever comes to save him, and when the helicopter does come to save him, no robot is in sight to shot at them or at least tell them they cant park a heli in a construction zone. Now, it is possible that marcus could have disabled all defenses to allow for this while he was in the control room with skynet chick, but they at least have to show us that he did it and not just one robot he disabled when he got there. Then comes the greatest insult to medicine in a movie, he gets impaled, through and through, yet no blood bc its a pg13 film, he gets surgery OUTSIDE!! in a tent, and the one person who is not totally human has a heart that is compatible, man, i had always admired the term movies bc they kept it as real as possible when dealing with future human killing machines, but this is just hollywood completely killing the pride and brand of a franchise just for the sake of making a sequel, and the third horrible illogical blunder, they set of a NUCLEAR bomb like 50 yards away from the heli but nothing happens to the heli or them, the heli should have shut down at the very least from the EMP pulse( I agree Vilhem B). So yeah, the lesson learned is if you are going to make a high profile sequel, pay attention to detail, have a good story with a PROPER ENDING, and have amazing action. Terminator had the last one of the three perfect, but lacked in the other two, specially in the second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanLofgrenMay 24, 2009
Don't pay attention to the reviews, this movie was fan-fu#@ing-tabulous!!! They literally got everything right and I'd pay full price to see it again multiple times - it was that good. Anyone who can't appreciate the factDon't pay attention to the reviews, this movie was fan-fu#@ing-tabulous!!! They literally got everything right and I'd pay full price to see it again multiple times - it was that good. Anyone who can't appreciate the fact that this movie does a near perfect job in showing the future and war between skynet and resistance after judgment day is somehow skewed in perspective.
AWESOME film. Bravo McG.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CodyB.May 24, 2009
Intense. Exciting. Very well written. Visually superior to anything else that came out this year... and yes I mean better than Star Trek and I am a Star Trek nut. I went into Terminator not expecting much and walked out blown away. It was Intense. Exciting. Very well written. Visually superior to anything else that came out this year... and yes I mean better than Star Trek and I am a Star Trek nut. I went into Terminator not expecting much and walked out blown away. It was everything that Terminator 3 was suppose to be, and I haven't gone to a movie in a long time that made me want to turn around immediately and see it again. Too bad it was 12:30 am when I got out or else I would have. Must see. Must buy...ON BLU-RAY!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KrisC.May 24, 2009
They have really messed up with terminator. They have lost the essence that made the series. Rip-offs from transformer and mad max series make this movie seem woefully in-adequate. No points of humor were ever made, no intrigue, no caring They have really messed up with terminator. They have lost the essence that made the series. Rip-offs from transformer and mad max series make this movie seem woefully in-adequate. No points of humor were ever made, no intrigue, no caring for the characters, no need to wonder how this movie might turn out, it was just painful Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
D.C.May 24, 2009
All the psychology is gone in this sequel which is strictly a war movie without much pacing. It was just one blisteringly noisy ride to nowhere. The scenes between the pilot and Marcus are cheesier than a deli. The pilot's character as All the psychology is gone in this sequel which is strictly a war movie without much pacing. It was just one blisteringly noisy ride to nowhere. The scenes between the pilot and Marcus are cheesier than a deli. The pilot's character as post apocalyptic eye-candy was way over the top. There was no character development or tension anywhere. Watching this was like being hit on the head with a rubber mallet for 2 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilipP.May 24, 2009
Awesome movie. While I didn't much like the storyline, the creative action sequences, and original mecahical designs were the great points in this film and on-par with their predecessors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TrevorRMay 25, 2009
The computer animation was very impressive, and most of the action sequences were well done, but the plot was really weak. It was hard to follow, and it was not until 3/4 the way through the film that one is able to fully understand what is The computer animation was very impressive, and most of the action sequences were well done, but the plot was really weak. It was hard to follow, and it was not until 3/4 the way through the film that one is able to fully understand what is going on. McG did not strike me as the most suitable director for this type of film, and it showed. Bale as not in the film nearly as much as I thought he would be. The film could be have been much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinMMay 25, 2009
Tough to bring a prequel/sequel movie together and they did a fantastic job! Typical summer action movie that won't lead to any oscar nominations but leaves nothing short for action/entertainment factor. Should have been terminator 3 Tough to bring a prequel/sequel movie together and they did a fantastic job! Typical summer action movie that won't lead to any oscar nominations but leaves nothing short for action/entertainment factor. Should have been terminator 3 and wiped that terrible movie away. Great follow up to T2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CynDMay 26, 2009
Just saw it today and enjoyed it - am looking forward to the DVD release and hope that the deleted scenes will be integrated as an option for viewing (such as what the T2 DVD can do). I agree with what some people have said regarding editing Just saw it today and enjoyed it - am looking forward to the DVD release and hope that the deleted scenes will be integrated as an option for viewing (such as what the T2 DVD can do). I agree with what some people have said regarding editing and dialogue - I also think that some scenes could have been expounded upon and it would have helped somewhat with the overall flow. Loved the end, where a special appearance was made. That was awesome and so well done. Kudos to them for including something like that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VenahCMay 27, 2009
It is a good summer movie and a fairly good Terminator movie. The only thing that bothered me was the editing of the movie. Stop bashing it before you even watched it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JorgeLMay 27, 2009
This movie was awesome. So many people are followers and yes men. They can't wait to bash the next movie that isn't like "the dark knight." I thought "terminator salvation" was great. it's a return to the grim and gloominess This movie was awesome. So many people are followers and yes men. They can't wait to bash the next movie that isn't like "the dark knight." I thought "terminator salvation" was great. it's a return to the grim and gloominess that was in the first two films. It is also a billion times better than T3 thats for sure. This movie reminds me of James Cameron's "Aliens." When director McG consulted James Cameron on how to approach a new terminator film, james compared it to when he had to make "Aliens" after Ridley Scot's "Alien." I can totally see similarities in the approach. Director Mcg shows that he really cares for the material. The writers create something new and thankfully they ditch the old time travel routine that was so redundant in T3. All the actors did a great job and Bale is best Jon Conner yet. I really believe that he is the leader of the resistence. The actor that played Kyle Reeses was perfect as well. the sound was awesome too! I felt like i was really there in this grim morbid future. Thank you McG! you did a great job! Sorry, you have to live in the age of internet, where loser fanboys just can't wait to bash the next franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielMay 27, 2009
I'm not sure why this film has gotten mixed reviews. It is a flawless sci-fi action film with no weak spots. The special effects are astounding. I can literally not think of a single image in the film that did not look real. And the I'm not sure why this film has gotten mixed reviews. It is a flawless sci-fi action film with no weak spots. The special effects are astounding. I can literally not think of a single image in the film that did not look real. And the action is incredible. Solid acting too and as sci-fi films go it's got a really interesting aesthetic that puts it in the camp of Minority Report and even Bladerunner. It's gorgeous, in a post-apocalyptic kind of way. I would have given it a ten but I felt there were some logical inconsistencies in the plot having to do with the fallability of machines, and the whole Terminator franchise in general is never very good at handling the theory of time travel/causality. But this movie is bad as hell. Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
zacharytMay 27, 2009
A really terrific movie, far better than t3. I remember going into the movie thinking it would suck without arnold, but i was really surprised as to how good the movie was, i really enjoyed the marcus storyline, the effects were tremendous A really terrific movie, far better than t3. I remember going into the movie thinking it would suck without arnold, but i was really surprised as to how good the movie was, i really enjoyed the marcus storyline, the effects were tremendous at times seeming as if you were watching a live news feed. The only complaint with t4 is christian bale who at times seemed really good, but then it would seem as if he would forcefully revert to his batman voice which he didn't need to do with this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ZackBMay 28, 2009
Had potential, but missed the mark on important points. One example, if Kyle Reese is only supposed to be "a few years younger", then how old is John Connor supposed to be? 24? The best part is the T-800 sequence, by far, but... I dunno, I Had potential, but missed the mark on important points. One example, if Kyle Reese is only supposed to be "a few years younger", then how old is John Connor supposed to be? 24? The best part is the T-800 sequence, by far, but... I dunno, I feel like... if the Terminators have giant flying versions of themselves, how would humanity even have survived THIS long? In a way, I would have liked this if it was more like Road Warrior than War of the Worlds: Terminator Edition. And maybe it's just me, but you'd think time travel would at least be mentioned, right? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewCMay 31, 2009
The bastard child of the once great Terminator series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NotRealnameMay 31, 2009
I don't know why everybody is harshing on this movie. It was exactly what I wanted from a Terminator movie: explosions, machines, and lots of dun-dun-dun-dun-dun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcD.May 31, 2009
Terminator Salvation is a decidedly different beast from the first 3 films in the franchise. It's not necessarily a bad thing. Rather, it was a necessary step for a series which had begun to show signs of stagnation and stale ideas. Terminator Salvation is a decidedly different beast from the first 3 films in the franchise. It's not necessarily a bad thing. Rather, it was a necessary step for a series which had begun to show signs of stagnation and stale ideas. Following the excellent continuity affirming ending of Rise of the Machines, Salvation throws us headfirst into the future which Kyle Reese had always described. A dark apocalyptic warzone in which mankind is on the verge of 'going out for good.' Therefore, it should come as no surprise that T4 is a bleak and dark film with moments of hope amidst the copiously large amounts of human pain and suffering. The plot might be a little shallow and the acting might be a little below the dizzying standards which we have come to expect of Christian Bale...but it is entirely serviceable. And it has Michael Ironside doing what he does best. Appear as a badass. The effects are competent and the set pieces are large and mindless. It should be noted that it is almost a given amidst the summer season. You wouldn't begrudge Independence Day, Iron Man and The Dark Knight a certain amount of explosions and computer generated wizardry would you? Thought so. Alienating an existing fanbase whilst rebooting a franchise is a really dangerous tight rope act. T4 accomplishes this for the most part. Injokes, quotes ripped from the previous films and a pleasant appearance from the original face of the T-800 all goes towards making this experience a joy for any Terminator fan. The end has begun...not let's see where this goes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexHJun 12, 2009
Terminator Salvation demonstrates what our centuries cinema is coming to, and the future for the cinema doesn't look to bright. Salvation is flat-out awful, except for it's visual effects and cinematography, thats the only thing Terminator Salvation demonstrates what our centuries cinema is coming to, and the future for the cinema doesn't look to bright. Salvation is flat-out awful, except for it's visual effects and cinematography, thats the only thing holding my review back from a horrendous 0. Like a 1 isn't bad enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jacksonJun 14, 2009
A total abomination. Just horrible with poor acting and a script that is less than a High School play. Someone put this tired franchise out of its misery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IgorJun 14, 2009
Well score of 6.3 it has right now is fair for this sequel of Terminator saga. Just to point few flaws that really needed to be avoid. First John Connor himself. His character feels completely out of place here somewhat unconvincing and he Well score of 6.3 it has right now is fair for this sequel of Terminator saga. Just to point few flaws that really needed to be avoid. First John Connor himself. His character feels completely out of place here somewhat unconvincing and he completely lost it at the end of movie fighting Arnie again and bringing back Sam to life. And second is getting attached (again!) to the machine played by Sam who is giving his life (again!) for Connor. Damn the hollywood for this recycling of old ideas. I mean there is so meny fan fiction and comics out there with better stories than this movie. Just copy that and it will be fine stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaxFJun 15, 2009
Actually I give this a 6.5, but in non decimal system, this movie gets the benefit of the doubt. This is obviously not Cameron's Terminator, however, that makes this harder to compare. How can you compare Picasso to...idk...MCG? Either Actually I give this a 6.5, but in non decimal system, this movie gets the benefit of the doubt. This is obviously not Cameron's Terminator, however, that makes this harder to compare. How can you compare Picasso to...idk...MCG? Either way, some moments in this movie were GREAT. Such as Arnold's brief appearance, and a few other awesome segments. However some parts were just plain bad. Like... really bad. Hence the middle of the road rating. I do want to address the so called lack of heart. While this film certainly did not have the same heart as the first 2, let us not forget the heart behind the robot who struggles to be human. Sam Worthington's character was excellent, its no wonder why he has been pegged for Cameron's next opus, AVATAR. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChrisCJul 24, 2009
Realistically this is somewhere between 4 and 5, but I cant give this a 5, so here we are. This movie was really promising for the first ~25 minutes, then it took a sharp turn and nosedove right into the ground. Please don't make another one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonDJul 29, 2009
Has some of the greatest action scens i have ever seen and is a great movie and my 2nd favorite terminator movie. and to all you who think the movies too loud and too action packed or no plot(witch it does have a great plot) is an idiot and Has some of the greatest action scens i have ever seen and is a great movie and my 2nd favorite terminator movie. and to all you who think the movies too loud and too action packed or no plot(witch it does have a great plot) is an idiot and take movies too seriously or look at every bad detail and find something wrong with it. so go see it and if you think the plot sucks youll enjoy the action scenes and the acting. two thumbs up. way up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JustinDAug 12, 2009
One of the better action-oriented films to hit the big screen this summer. Definitely not a classic in comparison to the first two movies, but it definitely holds its own alongside the third movie and makes for a decent setup for a fifth film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
VenhAug 28, 2009
I actually enjoyed the film... at the time. In retrospect, it was just a rehash of the other films. Everything seemed too rushed. Characterization was bad and, when it wasn't needed, it over acted. It seemed like everything was I actually enjoyed the film... at the time. In retrospect, it was just a rehash of the other films. Everything seemed too rushed. Characterization was bad and, when it wasn't needed, it over acted. It seemed like everything was misplaced. However, it was nice for nostalgic reasons and hopefully they'll do better on the next one. HOWEVER, at one thing that REALLY bothered me was the *spoiler* needless death of marcus. It was completely unnecessary. Not only that but they killed off one of the best characters of this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ThomasVSep 16, 2009
While the script in itself was ok, it's those little things that ruined it for me... The makers misunderstand skynet completely: you can't enter skynetville with a vaio even if Marcus opened the gates.The idea of skynet luring While the script in itself was ok, it's those little things that ruined it for me... The makers misunderstand skynet completely: you can't enter skynetville with a vaio even if Marcus opened the gates.The idea of skynet luring Connor is ok (albeit biggest cliché ever), but at least do it in a believable way, so the viewer keeps thinking Connor is genuinely trying. The T-600 ignoring the open door? Ridiculous. Basically, Skynet is an evil supercomputer that hates humans. Why the clean white cells, why doors with buttons? Why tables, keyboards and GUIs? And why isn't the T800 killing Connor outright, instead of throwing him around? Stupid. Bale's acting was bad, but it's most apparent in the scenes together with Kate, although I have to say her acting was quite numb as well. Reese, Marcus and the A10 pilot were great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
gm101Apr 27, 2011
The weakest of all the Terminator movies. Seriously, no Arnold? As for the plot, it felt like it was supposed to be for a Terminator video game, not a full-length movie. At least the movie had great action scenes and solved a plot hole fromThe weakest of all the Terminator movies. Seriously, no Arnold? As for the plot, it felt like it was supposed to be for a Terminator video game, not a full-length movie. At least the movie had great action scenes and solved a plot hole from T3, the reasons why I gave this movie a passing grade of 6. But if they're gonna make a T5, they better focus on what made the first three great, and get Arnold back! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
bikemanJul 1, 2011
This was a dissappointment and the worst, by a long shot, of the series. Terrible, poorly written screenplay. Cheesy characters, and one of silliest endings I've seen. This one is loser in what had been one of my favorite sci-fi moviesThis was a dissappointment and the worst, by a long shot, of the series. Terrible, poorly written screenplay. Cheesy characters, and one of silliest endings I've seen. This one is loser in what had been one of my favorite sci-fi movies series. I hope the people involved in this never make another movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
danielb1982May 1, 2014
I made the mistake of taking notice of the bad reviews Salvation got, which lead me to delaying purchasing this film.

Having been a fan of the previous films, bar the third movie, I decided to buy Salvation. True, its nowhere near as
I made the mistake of taking notice of the bad reviews Salvation got, which lead me to delaying purchasing this film.

Having been a fan of the previous films, bar the third movie, I decided to buy Salvation.

True, its nowhere near as good as the first two, but having watched the film myself, I found it to be thoroughly enjoyable, Christian Bale did a great job as John Connor.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BasilZeroJun 10, 2012
Terminator Salvation might not be the sequel that most Terminator fans will be looking for, but its full of action packed scenes which will leave you in suspense and wanting for more. The storyline takes place in the somewhat distant futureTerminator Salvation might not be the sequel that most Terminator fans will be looking for, but its full of action packed scenes which will leave you in suspense and wanting for more. The storyline takes place in the somewhat distant future from the previous movies and explains on the origin of the original Terminator, however with known foresight by the main character John Conner after his adventures in T2 and T3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
pauljohnsonMay 28, 2012
A clichéd film brought down by a mediocre script riddled with plot holes. Bale unfortunately struggles in his role as John Connor, but it is somewhat elevated by the performances of Sam Worthington and Anton Yelchin. There are soA clichéd film brought down by a mediocre script riddled with plot holes. Bale unfortunately struggles in his role as John Connor, but it is somewhat elevated by the performances of Sam Worthington and Anton Yelchin. There are so many missed opportunities in this film, and while there are good CGI shots and battle sequences, the formula for these films is beginning to feel tired. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Jedi_JettsonJul 16, 2012
Not as bad as people who hate it say it is. It's actually decent. I know the story revolves around the war against the machines but at least there is some pretty good character development between John Connor (Christian Bale) and MarcusNot as bad as people who hate it say it is. It's actually decent. I know the story revolves around the war against the machines but at least there is some pretty good character development between John Connor (Christian Bale) and Marcus Wright (Sam Worthington) who also have pretty good performances. Bryce Dallas Howard was also perfectly cast as Kate Brewster. Besides, at least its a sequel that continues John Connor's prophecy as the leader of the resistance who defeated the Terminators in the war. It also provides solid PG-13-style entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oxanaAug 25, 2014
I have never watched the other Terminator movies - at least not well enough to remember them - but the lack of Schwarzenegger AND the presence of Bale & Worthington definitely made me want to watch this one. And I don't regret it for aI have never watched the other Terminator movies - at least not well enough to remember them - but the lack of Schwarzenegger AND the presence of Bale & Worthington definitely made me want to watch this one. And I don't regret it for a second!

Plus by now, I think this is the movie I've rewatched most times.

The plot is a steady roll of awesome stuff; fighting, searching, discovering.

The plot: Marcus Wright is sentenced to death, agreeing to donate his body to some new research, but wakes up in the world of 2018 where the machines and Skynet have taken over. He doesn't know exactly how he got there, and the further his road takes him, the more terrible the truth. Not to mention when he realizes he has been changed, and a certain John Connor seems to be of the opinion that he is not what he firmly believes he is: human.

I think Marcus' (Sam Worthington) story outweighed John Connor's (Christian Bale), although their stories mingled by the end. The last scenes in San Francisco were a bit of a mess, losing in coherency compared to the beginning of the movie, but nonetheless, the plot was very clear until then, and I didn't mind it too much. Besides, the story wrapped itself up pretty well.

The movie looked and sounded good, which is essential for movies like this. I think the characters also worked very well. The story was solid from beginning to end, with clear objective and no unnecessary scenes/characters/relationships to mess it up.

Some of the small references to past movies (and the TV show?) made it hard to comprehend certain things, but it wasn't too much to make me confused or annoyed, so I can recommend this movie to anyone who likes men fighting machines, and all that stuff.

Awesome!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobFeb 2, 2012
Sam Worthington made this film, That was the one thought I kept when I watched this film because it was true. He outshined everyone easily and this film was easily the film that sort of launched him into the spotlight. Christian Bale wasSam Worthington made this film, That was the one thought I kept when I watched this film because it was true. He outshined everyone easily and this film was easily the film that sort of launched him into the spotlight. Christian Bale was solid ,as was the rest of the cast, and the action was good. Yet the plot was just too boring and wasnt interesting, It was rather tough to sit through. Its just a solid action flick imo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dev92Aug 25, 2012
This wasn't a poor film it just didn't live up to the standards set in the first two. Still I thought it was a solid film with a fairly clever idea. I enjoyed it and would happily see a fifth one if it is ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JayJPAug 3, 2012
This film ruined the whole terminator story, Kyle Reese hadn't been sent back in time yet so Skynet wouldn't know who he was and when Skynet tells Marcus that he had killed John Conner something that Skynet had been trying to do for yearsThis film ruined the whole terminator story, Kyle Reese hadn't been sent back in time yet so Skynet wouldn't know who he was and when Skynet tells Marcus that he had killed John Conner something that Skynet had been trying to do for years well no time travel had taken placein the future yet so how would Skynet know that they'd been trying to kill him for years, apart from that it was a good change to have it set in the future instead of basically the same storyline with the previous 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Christian Bale's performance in this film surprisingly saves it from an otherwise tastelessly written film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
python2000Sep 11, 2013
Even worse than Terminator 3 Rise of the Machines. Terminator Salvation is a stupid science fiction action movie. The first 2 movies were clever science fiction movies. Explosions go off and the directors want you to be excited, but your notEven worse than Terminator 3 Rise of the Machines. Terminator Salvation is a stupid science fiction action movie. The first 2 movies were clever science fiction movies. Explosions go off and the directors want you to be excited, but your not because it's just Bruce Wayne meets the guy from Avatar and hits the fan. There are some scenes which will please old school Terminator fans and people just looking for mindless action. But there all about 30 minutes apart and are too infrequent to redeem the rest of the film. Terminator Salvation is a stupid science fiction movie with NO MEMORABLE LINES WHATSOEVER which is the exact opposite to the first two movies and overall it reminded me of Transformers Revenge of the Fallen drunk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Tessara_VejganJan 18, 2015
Rewatched it recently on BD. And we are finally in the future where this big war between humans and machines is waging expect there is not much to see. Yeah it has action but the story is lame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
crytechJan 11, 2014
love this film mostly christian bale`s performance, just love it. the story is very very nice, music just awe..................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
J24O1Jun 12, 2013
A much different but interesting take on The Terminator universe. Which gives the franchise that new direction it needed and gave the franchise that new life and energy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeJul 5, 2015
An action-packed continuation of the Terminator franchise, that might not be as glorious, but still great! Don't listen to the bad reviews!!!

7.8/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
marcmyworksFeb 8, 2014
A quite unfortunate attempt to be a revamp of the gone franchise. Without Arnold returning they relied on a CG cameo of his muscled form as well a convoluted amount of characters and effects. Sam Worthington was the only selling point of this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
bfoore90Aug 10, 2017
Breaks no new ground, though everyone mostly did a fine job. Terminator Salvation at the end of the day ends up being a movie that is loud, dumb but entertaining that lacks the spirit of the original trilogy. I really enjoyed Arnold's cameoBreaks no new ground, though everyone mostly did a fine job. Terminator Salvation at the end of the day ends up being a movie that is loud, dumb but entertaining that lacks the spirit of the original trilogy. I really enjoyed Arnold's cameo towards the end as the film does alot to try and make up for his presence. Overall score: C+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TimeOfTheChimpsJan 24, 2014
This series has finally managed to terminate itself. Why the casting directors chose Christian Bale, I will never understand. He's basically Bruce Wayne in a post-apocalyptic world, somewhere he doesn't belong. The plot is too long and drawnThis series has finally managed to terminate itself. Why the casting directors chose Christian Bale, I will never understand. He's basically Bruce Wayne in a post-apocalyptic world, somewhere he doesn't belong. The plot is too long and drawn out, with way too many explosions and not enough Arnold. The only redeeming quality about this film is the performance from Sam Worthington, which is the only thing about this flick "worth" watching. He is the reason why this movie recieves a 4, because everything else is a rotten sandwich in a dirty toilet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesJun 29, 2015
The weakest output from the Terminator franchise, "Terminator Salvation" is an exhaustingly boring, poorly paced and un-interestingly plotted action film that doesn't appreciate the efforts of its charismatic cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CPD98Oct 19, 2014
No entiendo las malas críticas. Esta es de lejos la mejor película de Terminator, olvida las entregas de Arnold, T4 ofrece acción de la buena y, al fin, la trama es interesante de verdad.
Muy recomendable y para nada el director ha
No entiendo las malas críticas. Esta es de lejos la mejor película de Terminator, olvida las entregas de Arnold, T4 ofrece acción de la buena y, al fin, la trama es interesante de verdad.
Muy recomendable y para nada el director ha estropeado la saga, al contrario, la ha mejorado.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NotoriousFraudAug 4, 2015
First of all this movie is no where near as bad as many critics will tell you, the acting isn't the worst in fact the leads are pretty good. The action is also fantastic using a surprising amount of practical effects for the Terminators andFirst of all this movie is no where near as bad as many critics will tell you, the acting isn't the worst in fact the leads are pretty good. The action is also fantastic using a surprising amount of practical effects for the Terminators and explosions. Downside is the writing isn't that good, which is why a lot of people don't like this movie. Personally I think it's much better than Terminator 3 even with the lack of Arnold Schwarzenegger as the titular character because at least this one does not look like a made for TV movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SkyrimGuy935Jan 26, 2015
Terminator Salvation is what nearly killed the franchise forever. Unlike T1 and T2, this movie is entirely soulless and has no heart or likability to the characters, who come across as bland and uninteresting. Not to mention, it directlyTerminator Salvation is what nearly killed the franchise forever. Unlike T1 and T2, this movie is entirely soulless and has no heart or likability to the characters, who come across as bland and uninteresting. Not to mention, it directly contradicts things that have been firmly established in Terminator lore. For example, why the heck is John Connor, the LEADER of the human resistance and mankind's last hope, taking ORDERS from some random douchebag??? In addition, at one point, a T-800, which was DESTROYED once covered in molten metal, rises up after having a huge vat of what is likely molten steel dumped all over it and starts chasing after John again with no negative repercussions. Also, Christian Bale gave in this movie apparently what was him method acting from The Dark Knight. In other words, he was almost like a gruff sounding Keanu Reeves. And Sam Worthington. He was decent in Avatar. In this, not so much.

3.8/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
vikesh2206Jul 18, 2015
Terminator Salvation plays more like a typical modern blockbuster than a Terminator film with its huge production values paired with one-note characters and military jargon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Le__XenomorphDec 16, 2014
Ehh... This movie was a mixed bag for me. It had good acting but a terrible plot. But the special effects and Christian Bale literally save this movie. Overall an OK Terminator movie but it is also unnecessary and messy. 5/10 (mediocre)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LinttaFlamingoSep 27, 2016
Christian Bale hacks a Terminator by plugging a USB to his phone. That's what this movie is. Loud, dumb, entertaining, but no actual logic or character development. No Arnie. There are some cool T-800 scenes, but for the most part the movieChristian Bale hacks a Terminator by plugging a USB to his phone. That's what this movie is. Loud, dumb, entertaining, but no actual logic or character development. No Arnie. There are some cool T-800 scenes, but for the most part the movie is just loud and wants to entertain you. It did entertain me, but from a story perspective or character or anything like that, it has pretty much nothing else but the backstory of the main characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
Let's talk about names. Character names, to be specific. As much of a rabid fan of the first two Terminator films as I am, I have always been bewildered by James Cameron's inexplicable saddling of the potential savior of all mankind with theLet's talk about names. Character names, to be specific. As much of a rabid fan of the first two Terminator films as I am, I have always been bewildered by James Cameron's inexplicable saddling of the potential savior of all mankind with the brown-envelope-bland moniker of "John Connor." It's akin to calling Bruce Wayne "Tom Smith" or having to refer to Arnold Schwarzenegger (now there's a name for you) as "Governor Arnold **** There's zero zip, nada panache; it just doesn't have the requisite hero ring to it. John Connor sounds like the name of a high school gym teacher. The wiry, wily Connor (Bale), who, in this equally ill-titled Terminator Salvation, is on a mission to locate and protect the life of his future father, Kyle Reese (Yelchin), is a model of post-nuclear industriousness, commanding a truly ragtag global resistance (via shortwave radio) against the self-aware machines of Skynet and their killer cyborgs, the Terminators. (At this point in the apocalyptic, time-traveling, man vs. machine mythos of the franchise, the year is 2018, and the parent is roughly half his son's age.) Connor has his grimy mitts full. But the name thing still rankles – and it can be extended to the director of Terminator Salvation: McG. The nickname (I assume it is a nickname) smacks of unintentional, comic mediocrity, as in McDonald's, McJob, McHammer, et al. McG previously helmed the wiseass-fun Charlie’s Angels in 2000 and hasn't done anything for my adrenaline centers since then. He stages action sequences with grand aplomb, though, and in this, at least, Terminator Salvation is worth its admission price … but only just (and it'll help if you slam a few sucrose-infused Apocalyptic Ice Slurpees – the film's tie-in with the venerable 7-Eleven summertime sugar bomb – in advance of taking your seat. There's a great sequence – the only great sequence, come to think of it – wherein a hulking, three-story, Transformer-esque Terminator tears apart an abandoned roadside gas station (and, ha-ha, former 7-Eleven) that generates some real frisson. But it's pure CGI, and when the dust fades, it still can't hold a candle to the stop-motion and very endearing goofiness of Stuart Gordon's 1990 Robot Jox. (And it never even comes close to the truly unforgettable sequence in Stanley Kramer's It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World in which an enraged Jonathan Winters demolishes a very similar human outpost while trying to terminate Phil Silvers and Buddy Hackett. Now that's entertainment.) Terminator Salvation, on the other, shinier, more metallic, and thus less human hand, is terrifically dull, full of ear-searing sound design and much yakkity-yakking about the fate of humanity but entirely lacking any sort of soul or sense of good old summer matinee fun. The film is just like its machines, which, by the end of McG's McBlockbuster deserve to win their war against humanity, if only to curtail, once and for all, uninspired and inhumanly mechanistic filmmaking such as this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BoogeeFilmGuyJul 13, 2015
I think the only way to describe this movie is that its 'alright'. It's not bad, by any means, but its not very good either. Maybe only having Schwarzenegger as a cameo wasn't the best idea.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
geo333Nov 21, 2015
Though the cast did a good job with what was given; Termination Salvation ends up being a downgrade in the Terminator franchise as the effects and the weak charter portrayal bring this film below the previous ones. Overall, for fans of theThough the cast did a good job with what was given; Termination Salvation ends up being a downgrade in the Terminator franchise as the effects and the weak charter portrayal bring this film below the previous ones. Overall, for fans of the series this will be a disappointment and for other's this is a good one time watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SuperHyperSTFeb 3, 2016
After the dreadful terminator 3.who ruined the franchise forever (remember that i didnt watch genesis yet).my hype for terminator salvation...was mediocre.but when i hitted the start button,the movie becamed one of the best terminatorAfter the dreadful terminator 3.who ruined the franchise forever (remember that i didnt watch genesis yet).my hype for terminator salvation...was mediocre.but when i hitted the start button,the movie becamed one of the best terminator movies.memorable characters,efects,duels,and of course:Mototerminators.They revealed all types of terminator aside from all the 3 we all know in love...ish(TX sucks)The mototerminators that i have mentioned before.the fish terminators.name the type and its on the movie.The bad thing is... less schwarzenegger.Althrough the movie didnt save the franchise,is a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeFeb 3, 2016
Whoever came up with this idea has better get fired right now. No Arnold Schwarzenegger or even the charming from the first two movies. Ultimately the weakest installment in the franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
FuturedirectorJul 17, 2017
Schwarzenegger's charismatic interpretation's gone; The Terminator's impressive action sequences have evidently finished and a thin script takes place.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WeAreTheJuiceSep 7, 2016
Somebody get Mr. Bale a cough drop..please!

Aside from the all too histrionic nature of Christian Bales imaginings, I sat through this film twice, both times honored to do so... This is a Terminator film written strait to me. I was on the
Somebody get Mr. Bale a cough drop..please!

Aside from the all too histrionic nature of Christian Bales imaginings, I sat through this film twice, both times honored to do so... This is a Terminator film written strait to me. I was on the edge of my seat from the get go, chuckling at some of the sarcastic quips from Mr. Yelchin, and surprised at the depth of character which Mr. Worthington portrays. The special effects felt appropriate and the costume design hasn't stood out as much since T2. While of the five movies in the series, only T1-3 complement each other in story, lock and key, both this and Genisys stand out as strong re-imaginings. Definitely popcorn worthy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews