Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 601 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Judgment Day has come and gone. The artificial intelligence network Skynet controls the army of Terminators that roam the post-apocalyptic landscape, killing or collecting humans where they hide in the desolate cities and deserts. Only one man saw Judgment Day coming. One man, whose destinyJudgment Day has come and gone. The artificial intelligence network Skynet controls the army of Terminators that roam the post-apocalyptic landscape, killing or collecting humans where they hide in the desolate cities and deserts. Only one man saw Judgment Day coming. One man, whose destiny has always been intertwined with the fate of human existence: John Connor. Now the world is on the brink of the future that Connor has been warned about all his life. But something totally new has shaken his belief that humanity stands a chance of winning this war: the appearance of Marcus Wright, a stranger from the past whose last memory is of being on death row before awakening in this strange, new world. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Edwards
    Jul 4, 2015
    80
    The Terminator story recharges with a post-apocalyptic jolt of energy. Frantic and full of welcome ties to the past, it also ploughs new ground with purpose.
  2. A couple of scenes directly reference the Iraq war and the Holocaust (where the humans are herded into cattle cars), and this is taking things much too seriously. This is a big blow-'em-up franchise movie. It should not under any circumstances be confused with a Statement.
  3. 67
    The way-too-familiar climax feels less like a comment on destiny than like watching a finely crafted but soulless product roll off an assembly line.
  4. 50
    The movie's only unmitigated pleasure is a too-brief fight scene between Connor and a naked combatant made up to look precisely like Arnold Schwarzenegger.
  5. 50
    The most timid in the series. There's no invention in it, no sense of discovery. Only the impressively orchestrated action sequences feel fresh.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    50
    The predictable story feels as if it were written by a computer program labeled "sequel."
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jul 4, 2015
    20
    With much buzzing, beeping and whirring, the Terminator franchise comes to an absolute creative standstill, or even goes clankingly into reverse, with this fantastically dull fourth episode.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 265
  1. PaulW
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    As a huge of the first terminator film, I thought that T2 was too family friendly and moved away from the real plot. T3 although average set As a huge of the first terminator film, I thought that T2 was too family friendly and moved away from the real plot. T3 although average set the scene for T4 which was innovative, clever, told a brilliant story, and paired Bale and Sam Worthington together who were brilliant. Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2015
    9
    Também não é brilhante como T1 e T2 mas Terminator 4: Salvation supera e muito Terminator 3.
    Anton Yelchin Christian Bale e Sam Worthington
    Também não é brilhante como T1 e T2 mas Terminator 4: Salvation supera e muito Terminator 3.
    Anton Yelchin Christian Bale e Sam Worthington todos estão excelentes como Kyle Reese,John Connor E Marcus Wright respectivamente. Bryce dallas howard também faz um bom papel.
    Com cenas de ação mais empolgante do que do 3,e um bom visual pós apocalíptico,o filme funciona.
    Expand
  3. scottv
    Jan 9, 2010
    8
    Awesome action pretty much from start to finish, a wide variety of machines, and a good story line. I'm surprised this movie did not get Awesome action pretty much from start to finish, a wide variety of machines, and a good story line. I'm surprised this movie did not get much better reviews. I think this was the best terminator films since the original. Several of the action scenes reminded me of the first time that I saw the "Road Warrior" which is a very good thing. Lots of fun and only brief moments without action, most of which are very cool. Many of these reviews are way to critical of the script, are any of the terminator films really all that complicated, deep, or realistic? No they are not, so lighten up and enjoy it like you would an Indiana Jones movie for goodness sake! Expand
  4. GrahamS.
    May 22, 2009
    6
    Much as been written about the loss of humanity in this franchise. For fans- there were few surprises, but the biggest was an inability to Much as been written about the loss of humanity in this franchise. For fans- there were few surprises, but the biggest was an inability to really care about a single character on screen. It was like nascar- fast and loud- Cameron's t2 resonated with so much depth of character it made this reasonable addition seem bland and humourless- much like the future depicted here. I'm not sure I want another terminator- the story was okay- execution generally speaking was okay- but it just seemed empty at all the wrong times. Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2014
    4
    This series has finally managed to terminate itself. Why the casting directors chose Christian Bale, I will never understand. He's basicallyThis series has finally managed to terminate itself. Why the casting directors chose Christian Bale, I will never understand. He's basically Bruce Wayne in a post-apocalyptic world, somewhere he doesn't belong. The plot is too long and drawn out, with way too many explosions and not enough Arnold. The only redeeming quality about this film is the performance from Sam Worthington, which is the only thing about this flick "worth" watching. He is the reason why this movie recieves a 4, because everything else is a rotten sandwich in a dirty toilet. Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2014
    3
    So here we have yet another cynical attempt by Hollywood to make money on old property. T1 and T2 are classics. They raised my standards ofSo here we have yet another cynical attempt by Hollywood to make money on old property. T1 and T2 are classics. They raised my standards of what an acceptable action movie is. T2 wrapped up the story so well that T3 should have never existed, but it unfortunately does. After so many years since the unnecessary T3, I was really surprised that this came into fruition. Surely I thought they would have a really solid justification for bringing this back. They didn't. I'm not even going to criticize the movie for being directed by a total hack, or the lack of involvement from Schwarzenegger -- I'm just going to dissect it for what it is, and it still sucks pretty bad on its own. T1 and T2 had this pseudoscience that was fictional, but consistent: in other words it made up it's own rules per say and stuck to them. The fact that judgement day was prevented in T2 means that the post-apocalyptic setting of this movie is a flaw in itself. It just doesn't make sense. The only way this could have some coherence is if it was stated it takes place in some type of hypothetical scenario or another dimension or something of that nature, but this movie is adamant that it is a direct sequel. Due to this, comparisons to the original 2 (or even T3, which is a bad movie, but better than this) are bound to arise. And this is what dooms the movie among various other things. One of those things is the awful casting. Every character (with the exception of Yelchin, who was just OK) seemed out of place, like they belong in a soap opera. My biggest rant in this context is Christian Bale. It's apparent that they needed to snag at least one hugely popular actor for marquee value, but oh god is his performance terrible. His gravelly Batman voice/mannerisms do not translate well to this one. He just comes off like a complete douche bag: in every scene he has this exaggerated sternness, which is obviously meant to convey that this is a very intense and serious movie, but it has an adverse, almost comical effect, not to mention that this one's rated PG-13 anyways. That might seem small, but the fact that they included a PG-13 installment in an R-rated franchise makes me (correctly) assume that the studio ultimately just aimed to make money with this movie, and nothing more. Catching this notion seriously cheapens the "experience." Throughout the movie I was seriously irritated with the sloppy editing and bad dialogue. The whole thing just stank of this made for TV quality that's hard to explain, but also really cheapens the experience. This movie just simply lacks any charm or personality: it's an overproduced mess and should never have been, but studio greed has cemented yet another bad Terminator movie in the series. If you're even slightly interested in this series, watch the first 2 and forget this and 3 even exists... Expand
  7. AGuy
    May 21, 2009
    0
    McG = Franchise Killer.

See all 265 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.