Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jan 5, 2013
    12
    All the makers of Texas Chainsaw 3D cared about was getting your $16.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 3, 2013
    20
    Texas Chainsaw 3D sees itself as over-the-top and knowing, but what we ultimately get is simply eyes without a face.
  3. 25
    There's nothing thrilling about summarily dispatching everybody who isn't meant to survive to the credits, nothing entertaining about meathook, hatchet and chainsaw murdering that we've seen scores of times.
  4. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 4, 2013
    20
    Time to fire up the critical Black & Decker: Somebody-there are six credited screenwriters-really wasn't clear on the concept.
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jan 4, 2013
    12
    There's no deliberate Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2-style comedy to the film, just dim-witted gruesomeness retrofitted with gimmicky contemporary trappings.
  6. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Jan 4, 2013
    20
    A clunky, lumbering sequel that, like its masked protagonist, has no redeeming features.
  7. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 27, 2013
    25
    The most frightening thing about the franchise at this point is that it just keeps on going, undaunted by the characteristics by which the first film made its name. Family is still family and a brand is still a brand, but the blade… well, it’s only grown dull.
  8. Reviewed by: George Bass
    Jan 7, 2013
    20
    Sadly, this leap onto the stereoscopic bandwagon marks a new low for the franchise, as far away in quality from the '74 original as it is in years.
User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 49
  2. Negative: 17 out of 49
  1. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    What a stinker!! I seriously don't understand how an army of writers came up with this dreck! I feel bad for the new generation along with no jobs they have to watch pale horrible remakes of far superior originals! Do yourself a favor and watch the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre and forget the rest! Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    6
    This is a typical horror flick with a lot of gore and insane situations. As usual with a movie like this, it is going to be polarizing. I am somewhat in the middle with this. I would have liked a bit more originality, but I don't want to jump in the bandwagon and bash it for what it is: "just" a horror movie. Full Review »
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    I like it, i will admit it could have been better but it was a good movie and it was fun the 3D was a bonus and i liked how it had a twist at the end. Overall 9/10 Full Review »