Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A chainsaw-yielding killer known as Leatherface terrorizes a group of young teens.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 4, 2013
    60
    Helmer John Luessenhop ("Takers") and a small army of scripters go back to the bloody roots of the long-running franchise to concoct a better-than-average horror-thriller that relies more on potent suspense than graphic savagery or stereoscopic tricks.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Jan 4, 2013
    50
    Ms. Daddario is adequate, while Mr. Eastwood, as a lawman, strikes sinister notes. It's nice to see briefly Marilyn Burns, the record-holder in long-distance screaming in Tobe Hooper's original 1974 "Texas Chain Saw Massacre," and Gunnar Hansen, who played Leatherface in the same.
  3. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jan 4, 2013
    40
    Unlike the restrained 1974 film which cleverly relied mainly on suggestion, this version piles on the graphic, often CGI-enhanced gore.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 9, 2013
    40
    Stick around through the credits for an extra closing scene that leaves the door of Heather's new home wide open for a sequel.
  5. 25
    There's nothing thrilling about summarily dispatching everybody who isn't meant to survive to the credits, nothing entertaining about meathook, hatchet and chainsaw murdering that we've seen scores of times.
  6. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 4, 2013
    20
    Time to fire up the critical Black & Decker: Somebody-there are six credited screenwriters-really wasn't clear on the concept.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jan 4, 2013
    12
    There's no deliberate Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2-style comedy to the film, just dim-witted gruesomeness retrofitted with gimmicky contemporary trappings.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 46
  2. Negative: 16 out of 46
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    I hate that i am gonna say this but it was stupidly-comedic and hilarious. It's a fun movie actually, and as a fan, i find it very interesting to see if a 2012 type Texas Chainsaw will work and it did. No scare at all but i don't care, do you? 2 THUMBS UP! Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    Alot of critics are saying that this movie basically sucks. I thought the movie was overall really well done. The idea of making this a direct sequel to the original 1974 version was a creative idea. There was one big mistake in this movie such as the time gap. In the beginning it recaps the 1974 movie showing all the kills and the main protagonist in that movie barely escaping. Then, the real movie starts when the towns people show up and burn down the house where Leather face lives. Everyone thinks he dies and then the movie skips ahead to twenty years later. Twenty years later would mean that this was taking place in the 1990's. The time frame is shattered though when someone uses an iphone towards the end of the movie though. Basically everyone you expect to die does but not in the ways you expect. Alot of people didn't like one scene where a specific person falls down stairs and gets up and can't exactly run. This person fell down concrete stairs and everyone in the audience of the movie was like "Oh my gosh. Why isn't she running?" well let's see she just ate falling down some concrete stairs. The acting for all the characters was surprisingly good/above average and is probably one of the best horror movies I've seen in about 2 years. I don't recommend this movie to anyone who ever says the original is always better and all that bs. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    7
    A slick addition to the horror franchise with good production values and enough tension to keep you on the edge of your seat when you're not jumping out of it. This new film is not half bad picking up from where the original 1974 film left off. For horror fans this more than delivers. The first hour is well modulated to build the expected tension as the usual array of attractive young teens go through their paces of being terrified, hunted and finally butchered by the fearsome leatherface. The final half hour brings to the fore more everyday recognisable villains, in this case in the guise of the local police force. At this point the film effectively switches our sympathies towards leatherface against the authorities, and whilst this last section doesn't quite pack the punch of the first hour it still keeps you engaged. The film has some great photography, including low slung camera angles and overhead crane shots, which add much to the uneasy atmosphere that pervades the film. The editing also skilfully ensures that we are not let of the hook (so to speak). Let's face it this is the sort of film that gives you exactly what it says on the tin and it certainly touches a primal nerve in me. Anyone going in and then being either disappointed or disgusted obviously have not been discerning enough about their choice of movie. Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    5
    el director convierte una simple película de terror en un lió familiar que solo ciertas personas lo entenderán ademas el personaje de cara de cuero no se define si es un villano o un héroe. esta nueva entrega no ofrece nada bueno la serie de películas de la masacre de texas y como una recomendación para la próxima entrega que las películas sean coherentes una con la otra por que si uno ve las otras entregas no tienen nada que ver con esta. Collapse
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    4
    This film could've been good. But overall terrible story telling, no scary scenes what so ever, the horror scenes turned into comedy scenes. Like the Carnival that was high-larious. If your a horror film lover then you will literally want to turn away. If your looking for something to fill in some extra time TURN AWAY. This is only for people who love to watch parodies because this is basically that Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this film was going to be gory good time, how wrong was I. This distant sequel (set in a very futuristic "1994") lacks the terror of the 1974 original and the brutality of the 2006 prequel and is completely devoid of scares and suspense; Instead you get plenty of unintentional laughs and plenty of moments when you will be face-palming at the onscreen silliness. Yes, this movie did have its fun moments and some nice practical gore in the first half, but then it is ruined by the use of CG gore instead. The film is poorly written, poorly acted and with poor dialogue, though the film has an interesting twist in the latter half but the film makes a silly yet bold turn at making Leatherface, the terrifying and merciless killer, into an anti-hero which will certainly divide fans of the series. In the end, Texas Chainsaw is a disappointment and misses its chance to even have a brutal and terrifying chainsaw massacre in it, instead we get an unintentionally hilarious silly-fest that is poorly acted and written. But we do sometimes get good gore and is a little fun at times along with some good sound design and a nice colour scheme...and also an interesting twist that will certainly divide fans. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    The worst horror movie I have ever seen. A terrible waste and an insult to the original. The trailer looked as bad as the movie but the movie was so much worse. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews