Texas Chainsaw 3D Image
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A chainsaw-yielding killer known as Leatherface terrorizes a group of young teens.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 4, 2013
    60
    Helmer John Luessenhop ("Takers") and a small army of scripters go back to the bloody roots of the long-running franchise to concoct a better-than-average horror-thriller that relies more on potent suspense than graphic savagery or stereoscopic tricks.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Jan 4, 2013
    50
    Ms. Daddario is adequate, while Mr. Eastwood, as a lawman, strikes sinister notes. It's nice to see briefly Marilyn Burns, the record-holder in long-distance screaming in Tobe Hooper's original 1974 "Texas Chain Saw Massacre," and Gunnar Hansen, who played Leatherface in the same.
  3. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jan 4, 2013
    40
    Unlike the restrained 1974 film which cleverly relied mainly on suggestion, this version piles on the graphic, often CGI-enhanced gore.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 9, 2013
    40
    Stick around through the credits for an extra closing scene that leaves the door of Heather's new home wide open for a sequel.
  5. 25
    There's nothing thrilling about summarily dispatching everybody who isn't meant to survive to the credits, nothing entertaining about meathook, hatchet and chainsaw murdering that we've seen scores of times.
  6. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 4, 2013
    20
    Time to fire up the critical Black & Decker: Somebody-there are six credited screenwriters-really wasn't clear on the concept.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jan 4, 2013
    12
    There's no deliberate Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2-style comedy to the film, just dim-witted gruesomeness retrofitted with gimmicky contemporary trappings.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 55
  2. Negative: 23 out of 55
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    I hate that i am gonna say this but it was stupidly-comedic and hilarious. It's a fun movie actually, and as a fan, i find it very interestingI hate that i am gonna say this but it was stupidly-comedic and hilarious. It's a fun movie actually, and as a fan, i find it very interesting to see if a 2012 type Texas Chainsaw will work and it did. No scare at all but i don't care, do you? 2 THUMBS UP! Expand
  2. May 11, 2013
    8
    A decent addition to the TCM films, but it unforntuatley had its flaws. Good setting with a good range of characters and storyline, but someA decent addition to the TCM films, but it unforntuatley had its flaws. Good setting with a good range of characters and storyline, but some of the deaths were a little disappointing and predictable, as were some of the twists also. It had it's ups and downs as far as the excitement and entertainment went, but I certainly wasn't bored at anytime while watching it. I think the two more recent TCM films from the 2000's that came out were better than this one, but Horror fans should still enjoy it. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    This reboot picks up where the original left off: The only survivor is a baby, who returns as an adult to claim her heritage. After too muchThis reboot picks up where the original left off: The only survivor is a baby, who returns as an adult to claim her heritage. After too much dialogue the killings finally begin: bloody, blunt-force-trauma butcherings. Of course, they're more explicit than the 1974 versions, but they still have the same grungy, low-budget brutality. If you liked the original (which is one of my faves) you won't be disappointed. That being said, in striving to maintain the style of the original, they've abandoned any hope of freshness. NOTES: Saw it in 2D and didn't miss anything. STAY THRU THE CREDITS for a final surprise. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    5
    I liked this movie and the 3d effect was pretty amazing. The reason i gave it a five was because it wasnt even close to texas chainsawI liked this movie and the 3d effect was pretty amazing. The reason i gave it a five was because it wasnt even close to texas chainsaw massacre in awesomeness and I got more sick than scared when i watched it Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is probably one of the dumbest, most unbelievable films in the series. There is a scene where leatherface chases one of the main characters and she falls not once, not twice, but three times. Leatherface then chases her over a fence into the middle of a carnival, where he runs past about 50 potential victims, apparently set on killing the unbelievably sexy white girl (leatherface must not have approved of her interracial relationship). The girl then decides to grab onto the bottom of a ferris-wheel carriage, because ferris wheels don't go in a circle in her mind. Low and behold, as she is almost to the bottom a cop shows up with a gun. Leatherface throws his chainsaw like a boomerang at the cop.

    That was all in the scope of a 2 min scene. This movie is pure silliness. In fact, it is still running in the background as I type this; that's how uninteresting it is. Oh wait, more silliness. Now, after leatherface has killed her boyfriend and 2 friends, this chick all of a sudden decides to save him from a rather fitting and ironic death, and then help him kill the evil hillbilly police that killled his family but somehow let him escape. Like most 3d films, this relies on a name and the fact that people will pay to see the same rehashed crap again.
    Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2013
    2
    Seriously, do I need a Texas Chainsaw Massacre reboot again and again? Truth is, I think the franchise needs to take a break or just retireSeriously, do I need a Texas Chainsaw Massacre reboot again and again? Truth is, I think the franchise needs to take a break or just retire already. Is New Line the owner of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre franchise? Of course, but not Lionsgate. The same company that bought the Saw franchise into a horror powerhouse is trying to make a mockery of Leatherface. I don't really need to paid $10 bucks to see a baffling but corny reboot that is gonna be in 3-D. Hello, there's nothing new in 3-D. I would rather kill myself if they are gonna make a Leprechaun reboot. Not happening. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    The worst horror movie I have ever seen. A terrible waste and an insult to the original. The trailer looked as bad as the movie but the movieThe worst horror movie I have ever seen. A terrible waste and an insult to the original. The trailer looked as bad as the movie but the movie was so much worse. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.