Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A chainsaw-yielding killer known as Leatherface terrorizes a group of young teens.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 4, 2013
    60
    Helmer John Luessenhop ("Takers") and a small army of scripters go back to the bloody roots of the long-running franchise to concoct a better-than-average horror-thriller that relies more on potent suspense than graphic savagery or stereoscopic tricks.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Jan 4, 2013
    50
    Ms. Daddario is adequate, while Mr. Eastwood, as a lawman, strikes sinister notes. It's nice to see briefly Marilyn Burns, the record-holder in long-distance screaming in Tobe Hooper's original 1974 "Texas Chain Saw Massacre," and Gunnar Hansen, who played Leatherface in the same.
  3. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jan 4, 2013
    40
    Unlike the restrained 1974 film which cleverly relied mainly on suggestion, this version piles on the graphic, often CGI-enhanced gore.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 9, 2013
    40
    Stick around through the credits for an extra closing scene that leaves the door of Heather's new home wide open for a sequel.
  5. 25
    There's nothing thrilling about summarily dispatching everybody who isn't meant to survive to the credits, nothing entertaining about meathook, hatchet and chainsaw murdering that we've seen scores of times.
  6. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 4, 2013
    20
    Time to fire up the critical Black & Decker: Somebody-there are six credited screenwriters-really wasn't clear on the concept.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jan 4, 2013
    12
    There's no deliberate Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2-style comedy to the film, just dim-witted gruesomeness retrofitted with gimmicky contemporary trappings.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 50
  2. Negative: 18 out of 50
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    I hate that i am gonna say this but it was stupidly-comedic and hilarious. It's a fun movie actually, and as a fan, i find it very interestingI hate that i am gonna say this but it was stupidly-comedic and hilarious. It's a fun movie actually, and as a fan, i find it very interesting to see if a 2012 type Texas Chainsaw will work and it did. No scare at all but i don't care, do you? 2 THUMBS UP! Expand
  2. May 11, 2013
    8
    A decent addition to the TCM films, but it unforntuatley had its flaws. Good setting with a good range of characters and storyline, but someA decent addition to the TCM films, but it unforntuatley had its flaws. Good setting with a good range of characters and storyline, but some of the deaths were a little disappointing and predictable, as were some of the twists also. It had it's ups and downs as far as the excitement and entertainment went, but I certainly wasn't bored at anytime while watching it. I think the two more recent TCM films from the 2000's that came out were better than this one, but Horror fans should still enjoy it. Collapse
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    This reboot picks up where the original left off: The only survivor is a baby, who returns as an adult to claim her heritage. After too muchThis reboot picks up where the original left off: The only survivor is a baby, who returns as an adult to claim her heritage. After too much dialogue the killings finally begin: bloody, blunt-force-trauma butcherings. Of course, they're more explicit than the 1974 versions, but they still have the same grungy, low-budget brutality. If you liked the original (which is one of my faves) you won't be disappointed. That being said, in striving to maintain the style of the original, they've abandoned any hope of freshness. NOTES: Saw it in 2D and didn't miss anything. STAY THRU THE CREDITS for a final surprise. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    5
    I think the directors recorem this kind of movie because they think it is something simple to do, but even something simple to play has to beI think the directors recorem this kind of movie because they think it is something simple to do, but even something simple to play has to be done in a dignified manner, which in most cases here, does not happen. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2014
    4
    Interstesting movie just wished they hadn't called it Texas chainsaw massacre. Its comical because it classic big boobed lots of sex clicheInterstesting movie just wished they hadn't called it Texas chainsaw massacre. Its comical because it classic big boobed lots of sex cliche movie not Texas chainsaw Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2015
    3
    Texas Chainsaw 3D brings a few tricks to reinvigorate an already tired series but sadly fails to polish the fundamentals. When another titleTexas Chainsaw 3D brings a few tricks to reinvigorate an already tired series but sadly fails to polish the fundamentals. When another title comes of from well-known franchise such as Texas Chainsaw which has inspired many movies of its genre, people already has an expectation, while this is an allure, it's also a strain to create fresh ideas. A bunch of 3D antics and choppy script are definitely not the way to pique audience's interest.

    The story follows Heather Miller (Alexandra Daddario) as she's about to be surprised with extravagant inheritance by her unknown grandmother. This involves a visit to countryside where the famous massacre occurred, she also takes the liberty on taking her carbon copy stereotypical friends as any other nice horror leads may do. The first act goes as predictable as it comes, right down to the clumsy coincidence, common slashing and comical chase.

    I appreciate the movie's attempt to portray Leatherface as more than his usual villainous slasher persona. He's given more back story to make audience sympathize with him, however this doesn't result in an engaging character, either for protagonist or antagonist. The direction, coupled with jumbled script, makes it hard to take any of it seriously. At some points, the movie almost exclusively steers into comedy realm, this is not the path it wants to follow. The movie is as lost as a young woman running scared in the wood, and we know she's gonna trip herself and ridiculously falls.

    At the very least, the lead Alexandra Daddario tries to raise the character as her role gets more investment. It's almost good to see a stronger protagonist instead of the usual victim personality, but the way the development takes place is unnatural. Addition of 3D effect doesn't help, it gives away the gore much too obvious, and random object thrown into one's face has become the fastest tired invention on late.

    If it's only a brief visitation of old memory lane, or a few ironic chuckles, Texas Chainsaw 3D might be bearable. However, fans of the old might even be more disappointed of how the original has fallen.
    Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    The worst horror movie I have ever seen. A terrible waste and an insult to the original. The trailer looked as bad as the movie but the movieThe worst horror movie I have ever seen. A terrible waste and an insult to the original. The trailer looked as bad as the movie but the movie was so much worse. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers