Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 14 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jun 16, 2012
    80
    The results are soul-corrodingly funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 14, 2012
    67
    Never underestimate the importance of guy-on-guy sentimentality in the Adam Sandler universe. It's his way of making his fans feel as if he's high-fiving them, or maybe giving them a group hug. But Sandler, bottom line, is too good at playing louts like Donny to spend this much energy getting us to like them.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jun 15, 2012
    63
    That's My Boy is pretty raunchy, and by "pretty," I mean "amazingly," as in Howard Stern- or Seth MacFarlane-style gags.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Sep 3, 2012
    60
    Not nearly as terrible as burped-out Sandler disasters of recent years, there's enough funny stuff here to remind us of his talent. Still, it's not for everyone.
  5. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    Jun 15, 2012
    60
    Depending on your POV, it's either the ne plus ultra of Hollywood calculation or a comedy simply intent on pushing its crassness to the point of surrealism.
  6. Reviewed by: Drew Hunt
    Jun 16, 2012
    50
    Despite their assorted vulgarities and lack of polish, the films of Adam Sandler are remarkably consistent in their own particular way. This one's no different.
  7. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jun 14, 2012
    50
    I did laugh. The movie is so disgusting it is worthy of the Farrelly brothers.
  8. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Jun 14, 2012
    50
    With enough wedding-related shenanigans to pull in the date crowd, the guffaw-to-gag ratio remains relatively respectable, though there's nothing here that hasn't been attempted many times over.
  9. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jun 14, 2012
    50
    No matter how much good-hearted licentiousness follows in the rest of the movie, the opening sequence brings a unshakable sourness to the whole affair.
  10. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Aug 30, 2012
    40
    Adam Sandler stumbles into his own movie about 10 minutes into That's My Boy, and that's where the fun ends.
  11. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jun 20, 2012
    40
    If you expect That's My Boy to be the Bad Dad equivalent of Bad Santa, you'll be sorely disappointed. Sandler can't quite adopt that same cynical edge, instead favoring corny and sentimental resolutions to untenable predicaments.
  12. Reviewed by: David DeWitt
    Jun 14, 2012
    40
    That's My Boy is a pretty wretched movie if you want to activate your brain cells, but its busily plotted second half approaches involving.
  13. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jun 14, 2012
    40
    That's My Boy has the same freewheeling appeal and potty-mouthed, go-for-broke mania of Sandler's earlier comedies. But there's a new undercurrent of energy that's likely the consequence of Sandler separating from his usual collaborators.
  14. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 15, 2012
    38
    In matters of personal taste, there is no right or wrong, so if erasing brain cells is your idea of a good time, That's My Boy could be your cup of turpentine.
  15. Reviewed by: Ethan Gilsdorf
    Jun 14, 2012
    38
    Sadly, That's My Boy relies on caricatures, rather than characters, to make you laugh.
  16. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jun 14, 2012
    38
    That's My Boy lazily exists in a fantasyland of Adam Sandler's perpetual adolescence, even as it generates some moderate comic friction from Sandler and Andy Samberg's testy back-and-forth.
  17. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 14, 2012
    30
    This is one of those movies you feel stupider just for having sat through. I think I'm already worse at math.
  18. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 14, 2012
    30
    All in all, it could have been worse. Puerile, crotch-fixated and very occasionally, inanely funny, Adam Sandler's raunchiest star vehicle in years has a small saving grace in Andy Samberg's performance.
  19. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 15, 2012
    25
    That's My Boy more than lives up to its R-rating - including one gross-out gag repulsive enough to make you put down your popcorn.
  20. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 14, 2012
    25
    Will be construed by the faithful as an embarrassment of riches and by the rest of us as cruel and unusual punishment.
  21. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 14, 2012
    25
    It's monumentally coarse and vulgar, aimed at the mentality of a 14-year-old locked inside his father's liquor cabinet, and nothing about it is funny, least of all Adam Sandler.
  22. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 14, 2012
    25
    That's My Boy is puerile, mean-spirited and charmless.
  23. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 15, 2012
    20
    Nobody has an excuse for being surprised by how low Sandler and company stoop in That's My Boy.
  24. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 14, 2012
    20
    As awful as most of That's My Boy is, it's sort of mesmerizing to see how Sandler - in a script credited to David Caspe - keeps his touchstones in place.
  25. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jun 13, 2012
    16
    The film is such a barren comic wasteland of scatology and misogyny that Vanilla Ice steals the film with a good-natured, self-deprecating portrayal of himself as Sandler's sleazy party buddy.
  26. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jun 14, 2012
    12
    That's My Boy is radical only in its extreme laziness.
  27. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Even with 87.5 years to go, the 21st century may never see a stupider comedy than That's My Boy.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 62
  2. Negative: 20 out of 62
  1. Jun 15, 2012
    0
    ok, we meet much Adam Sandler movies, but now appear that's my boy, and is a big disaster, same like Jack and Jill, have stupid jokes, terrible performances, Adam Sandler scream MUCH, and it's same that the other Sandler productions. Full Review »
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    3
    At this point Adam Sandler is just piling movies on top of movies that have fallen flat and have failed. This is one of those movies he can add to the pile, Thats My Boy is over hyped in both trailers and ads but really isn't special at all. Yes the film brings up good sentiments and some moments which are somewhat remotely funny but again falls flat with its crude and unsavory subject matter and material, over done with toilet humor and slapstick along with pervasive sexual humor which reaches a point were it isn't funny anymore and the overall feeling of the film which is rather annoying. Adam Sandler has spiraled down the drain to this level of film, I can say he has had great films in the past with "I Pronounce you Chuck and Larry" and "Don't Mess with the Zohan" but now its come to this and he has brought all the actors in his movie down with him. Full Review »
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    0
    I really really love Adam Sandler. I'm huge fan of him. I have seen every single movie of him. But what is that movie and Jack and Jill. We all know Adam can do much better than this. He can't even act lately. What's wrong with him.... That guy in Punch-Drunk Love and Jack and Jill isn't same... Full Review »